On the 26th of April, 2009 there was supposed to be a Central Executive Committee meeting at 11 pm and on the Attendance List were ten names of CEC members.
They were Ng Teck Siong (Chairman), G Prabhakaran (Vice-Chairman), Jeremy Lim (member), Mohd Affendy B Abdul Rahim (member), Kenneth Jeyaretnam (member), Quek Teow Chuan (member), Balraj Naidu (member), Edmund Ng (member) and Abdul Rahim B. Osman Arbo (member).
Abdul Rahim B. Osman Arbo and Mohd. Affendy B Abdul Rahim were not present on that day. Only G Prabhakaran, Jeremy Lim, Balraj Naidu, Edmund Ng and I had signed the attendance list to register our presence for the CEC meeting. The rest including Kenneth Jeyaretnam, did not sign the list.
What is more important to note is that, even if you counted the CEC members who did not sign the attendance list, there were only 8 CEC members present on that day; five officially and three unofficially. But certainly not 9, as claimed by Kenneth.
At the meeting, two of the members who did not sign the attendance list, Kenneth and James Teo submitted their resignation to me.
But these letters were snatched from my hand by Balraj Naidu (the man who was later extradited to the United States of America on two terrorism related charges).
Those that did not sign the attendance list, misbehaved, refused to take their seats and banged the door before they left the meeting. They came back to the meeting a little later but left again soon after, but came back in again, each time speaking in raised voices.
At some point in this mayhem, James Teo who was only a member in the CEC called in a locksmith to change the locks to our office, without my information nor instruction.
Sensing that there is no way a proper CEC meeting can proceed under such circumstances, I exercised my rights as Chairman, subjected to the Party constitution and called off the CEC meeting.
The fact remains that I was still the chairman of the party on 26th April 2009 and that only the meeting I called will be effective on that day.
I resigned from the Party on the 27th of April, 2009, but was surprised when a minutes of the April 26, 2009 CEC meeting surfaced. My signature was conspicuously absent from it.
The truth remains that in the rush to take-over the Party’s helm, the CEC meeting where Kenneth was ‘elected’ as secretary-general was not held in accordance to the party constitution.
Is that the reason why Kenneth wanting the episodes of that day to come to a quick end, refused to answer any questions about it?
I am now forced to lay bare the happenings of that day as I have to defend not only my reputation and credibility, but also the credibility and honesty of the other members who left the Party with me.
And even if I do not bring it up now, truth of such nature will always be revealed.
I went through a painful process even writing that letter of resignation because I love the Party.
Mr J B Jeyaretnam (JBJ), G Prahbakaran and I were the three main pioneers of the Party. Since, the demise of JBJ, it became G Prahbakaran and my responsibility to ‘rope-in’ honest and capable people into the Party.
We wanted to groom these people as leaders and prepare them for the rigours of working the ground and the General Elections. With the right guidance, we felt they would one day even be able to form the next government – a government which is based on the rule of law and not on the rule of man.
We took exceptional care in searching and recruiting such men and women of calibre.
The unconstitutional coup within the Party unfortunately happened when these few good people we approached were seriously considering joining the Party.
By: Ng Teck Siong
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Seriously, I can see PAP moles at work and at a very high level.
Looks like they are very desperate now
Dear Teck Siong, there is a vacancy of SG, why not just appoint KJ and solve the problem ? Looks like the CEC do not like you, the reasons we don’t know ! And you are a petty man, you are helping PAP to win more votes. Frankly speaking, if oppositions like you pit against each other, then I have no choice but to spoil the vote by drawing tortoise on the ballot paper. I am fed up of all this selfish infighting. Look at PAP, do they fight among themselves ?
@toksehon
THEY CANT. So many problems within the opposition, imagine catfight in the parliamet. I want change, but not this kind of childish antics and nonsense!! I say don’t vote them in the next elections, and make all oppositions realize that we don’t want the petty squabbles. We can still survive one more PAP term, but if the oppositions cant wake up, then its the end! Vote them out the next election, lets their elections deposit be confiscated, let them feel the pinch! then vote them in again once they cleaned up their act!
The opposition has to get its act together.
The people want change.
All the opposition has to do is field its candidates and the people will vote for them.
The problem with political parties are the baggage they carry with them whatever new name they may register. The mindset and attitude must change in order to progress.
Reform is young and the people that registered it were people of the past with a set mindset,no change will ever incur if allowance are not given to young minds to freely roam.
We complain of PAPs arrogance and mindset and yet we are not mindful of our own.Lets look into the mirror and ask ourselves do we want change,do we allow our young with a totally different style of upbringing to lead instead of singing the old song like a broken record over and over again.In other words we are no better than PAPs and the Status Quo shall remain PERIOD
TOC , I think this article is actually helping to destroy opposition. but correct me if i am the wrong.
Why?
With all these “timing” disclosures of spats within opposition parties, only PAP will benefit.
To the veterans and new turks in the opposition parties, don’t fight for personal gains, people will not look at you at ballot box. People expect you to focus on forming aletrantive policies and change of direction…… please , don’t give PAP another 50 years of unchecked absolute power.
I think we have reached consensus that the oppositions that we have today are no more then money grubbing self serving politicians all awaiting their fat paychecks if they become MP or better yet, PM.
Now i can see why people will say everything will even go more up up up if WP is in power
The PAP knows who are the “self-serving politicians” that are prepared to work within its system anchored in neoliberal exploitation and oppression of the people.
These “fat paychecks” seeking characters are already allowed into the PAP parliament to create legitimacy to its dictatorial rule.
But one man in the recent past refused to succumb to this “fat paychecks” scam of the PAP. And that was the late JBJ who was able to get elected to the PAP dominated parliament in 1981. Again in 1984 GE, JBJ won in Anson with an increased majority.
But what did the PAP do to him? Unable to buy him over, the authoritarian PAP used its compliant judiciary to drag JBJ “through a series of mistrials for offences that he did not commit”.
JBJ was persecuted and hounded by the PAP into “relinquishing” his position as secretary general of WP by treacherous acts by someone whose main aim is the “fat paychecks” and lifelong pension as MP.
PEPPY, u are happy to wash all opposition parties down the drain, what has WP with more pay ?
Say something logically and be a matured blogger here, don’t let your parents’ investment in your education proved a mistake…
What is necessary is a good politician as well.
NST and this recent fiasco, is actually good from a political standpoint.
However, KJ, if guided well would and can make use of this publicity to improve his rating among Singaporeans. Publicity, good or bad is still publicity.
Well done from within.
We are gonna rock for another 50 years.
I don’t understand why WP is being criticised, since it has nothing to do with this whole debacle except that the late Mr JBJ was it’s sec-gen.
Does anyone else find it ironic that peppy has the name peppy?
In any case, this is an internal squabble for the Reform Party to settle.
Dear Moe Gan Thai –If U read Todays Paper which article KJ posted . It not only reflect to NTS–to the rest of the opposition party—insinuating the cadres to over throw the leader . I’m sure from now on no more other opposition party dare to associate with him any more. It causing rebellion.
peppy is not for “pap”, but a fictional character name i chose to adopt. The late JBJ was its sec gen, but why was he “ousted”? Note RP attended SDP’s anniversary, while WP gave a no-show.
LTK n CST has drawn fat paychecks as well, what did they do wif the money? Can anyone care 2 enlighten? If they are for the people, they would draw maybe half, and donate the half back to society or set up a trust or into their TC.
Keep squabbling.While the jestors bicker and wrestle, the king laughs, and slam them in the arse.
To Peppy, please quantify your statement : “LTK n CST has drawn fat paychecks as well, what did they do wif the money? ”
LTK is drawing same MP allowances as all 82 PAP MPs, we are talking about a PM’s wage of $3.8M annually, a cabinet minister draws $2.5M a year.
CST is bankcropt ands staying in a 3 room HDB flat.
Has Peppy seen their pay check ?
If they follow style of PAP, they could sue you too, wake up !
Even PAP has its infighting, Ong Eng Guan, and Barisan Societlist are two spin-off from PAP.
If The old man is no more around, do you think there would be no challenges from within to the young Lee ?
Why would the “talents” within PAP have to worship the current PM, d you think that they have no ambitions ?
Ng Teck Siong maybe JBJ’s best friend but he does not have waht it takes RP forward… sometimes veteran politicians are a burden to the party.
I wonder how many votes have Ng Teck Siong ever got in election ? Has he shown any ability to challenge the govt, maybe he is a caretaker for transistional time before KJ, but he thinks he has substances, he could follow Chiam’s foot step, go out to form a new political party too.
Opposition at any cost? No way!
Why? Because to have good-for-nothing opposition who just window dress democracy is definitely not the way to go.
They only legitimise the PAP waywardness and uncaring, arrogant nature. They condone non accountability and non transparency. They only serve to maintain the status quo – more of the same.
No way. Let’s first clear the opposition deck or else we will have endless bickerings after winning some seats.
We still have the time to do what is right and necessary.
We want change. We want real change. We want real opposition who can bring about change. This is no masak-masak or wayang. Let’s get real.
Think about it Singaporeans! Don’t be short changed!
You want somebody who tramples upon his own father’s legacy? What he is doing is as clear as daylight. He who betrays his own father would have no qualms about screwing you up. Think about it!
I am ready to sacrifice for opposition.
But 1st , an Opposition willing to sacrifice for the People should step forward and be identified.
The Demand is there.
How about the Supply?
Or wait for people to suddenly give you the votes?
WELL DONE #Anak Singapura & Political SalesMaN!
I AM PLEASED WITH YOUR ATTEMPTS TO SOW DISCORD AMONG THE OPPOSITIONS & TO MAKE NETIZENS QUESTIONS THEIR INTEGRITY.
WHILE ME, MY SON & DIL KEEP EARNING $$$ AND LET SCs PAY OUR TAXES. YES, YES, YOU TAXPAYERS PAY OUR TAXES – IT DOES NOT COME OUT OF OUR POCKETS, I AM PROUD THAT THE TWO OF YOU HAVE TURNED IT AROUND TO MAKE KJ LOOK ARROGANT & MONEY-GRABBING.
YOU 2 DESERVE A BIG BONUS FOR THIS.
To LKY no way for a Political SalesMaN which money can buy him over. Some boby with Double First with no job-Yes may be he’s hungry for the Bonus.
@pepper
Yes, they have been serving as MPs, thats why drawing fat MP paychecks as well. Bankrupt? How can that be? No bankrupt can contest in elections. Don’t anyhow bullshit. How you know they don’t have stash under their pillow incase one they get booted off. what kind of community charities have they done? I’m sure they already eat full full “jiak ba ba”, waiting for retirement.
@Queenstown kid
that was so long ago kid, b4 u were born
@reservist cpl
I’m also sure u r so pissed off about reservist and stuck in a cpl that army has left a deep scar in you and you come to quick conclusions about others.
Peppy is a toad at the bottom of the well, or a remours monger !
He does not know that Dr.Chee is bankcrupt ?! please go do homework before you open your loose mouth.
And he does not have a slight math sense, in 2007, the statistics was
The annual salary structure
With immediate effect, (in Singapore dollars):
President – $3,187,100 (up 24.9%),
Prime Minister – $3,091,200 (up 25.5%),
Senior Minister – $3,043,300 (up 13.5%),
Minister Mentor – $3,043,300 (up 13.5%),
Deputy Prime Minister – $2,452,500 (up 18.8%),
Minister and Senior Perm Sec – $1,593,500 (up 32.5% increase) (MR4 Grade),
Entry Superscale Grade – $384,000 (up 3.3%) [SR9 Grade],
Member of Parliament – $216,300 (up 23.2%).
In 2008 nd 2009, Govt leaders salary continues to increase, MP allowances stay…
Wake up and stop quoking around here.
Mr Ng, what reputation are you defending? We hardly know you. Stop it please. Let the party do its work.
U can’t vote a liar to Paliament, It will disgrace the opposition and the commoner. Call yourself Double First. Till now the public demand an explanation.
GI Joe wrote: Or wait for people to suddenly give you the votes?
Voting the PAP out under its own electoral system is just an academic exercise.
There are a number of voters who are in their 50s and 60s that have not voted in their entire life. For others, although they live in the same block, their constituencies keep changing at every election for no apparent reason.
Under the PAP-orchestrated electoral system that allows the prime minister to change and set the rules of the “game”, almost half of the seats go uncontested on nomination day.
Without having a level playing field to ensure free and fair elections, we can simply forget about voting for change in Singapore.
My old man told me that he had never seen KJ accompanying the late JBJ in his political fights, though he is now about 50 years old. He is really a ‘Johnny-come-lately’. At least 25 years too late.
My old man had seen PJ though and regretted that PJ decided not to pursue a political career. The younger brother would have made a much better leader.
My father also said that what KJ is doing now is a complete turnabout. He seems to totally ignore JBJ’s legacy. He also seems to have forgotten the injustice that the PAP had inflicted on his father.
We sometimes wonder what is he up to. He should listen to what his father had to say about CST and LTK – play the video over and over again for good effect.
Does he just want to get elected into Parliament? And then do what? His track record as a politician is a big zero. And yet wants to act so tough. The last thing he should have done was to screw up JBJ’s long time companion, treating him as though he is his male servant.
He thinks it is enough just to tell people that “I am JBJ’s son and I have a double first”. Acts like the opposition “Big Boss”. The PAP is having a good laugh!
The Malays would say “Sudahlah, pergi balik Kampung!”
Dear Henry, we know Mr Ng as the man who stood by JBJ when he was out selling his books and campaigning in the streets of Singapore.
Maybe you actually don’t know JBJ well then, since you don’t know Mr Ng was his right hand man and one of his most trusted friends. For KJ to treat such a man like that is a complete insult to the late JBJ.
@pepper
don’t lie. Please explain what happen to LTK’s and CST’s fat MP’s paycheck then? Both of them are earning way beyond us.
Peppy… you are NOT fit to yell here with empty talks as you choose to ignore facts, hard data, you are just shouting around with inability to present any substances… use your brain, guard your tongue, be matured … this is a serious blogs
//peppy
//don’t lie. Please explain what happen to LTK’s and CST’s fat MP’s paycheck then? Both of them are earning way beyond us.
1. LTK and CST didn’t set their MP pay. The pigs set these pay. They are setting it so high because they benefit from it (where else do you get a part time job paying this much) and they don’t see the point of denying themselves such high pay because 2 opposition members get it as well. (all 80 of the pigs benefit).
2. did you ask the other 80 Pigs MP how they spend their MP pay?
3. LTK and CST deserve these pay. You can do a survey here. Most will think they deserve it. They made a difference to s’poreans lives.
4. Honestly, what is relevance of your questions and what are you trying to get at? It is difficult to see what you are driving at.
It resembles mindless writing.
Even GMS makes a lot more sense than you.
Chinese saying, ” drink water must think of the source ” These people never think. KJ kicked out Ng Teck siong, Low Thia Kiang kicked out JBJ, Lee Kuan Yew kicked out Ong Eng Guan, CSJ kicked out CST, wah the lists go on… politics are dirty.. all for personal gain and interest.
The people want change.
The people are angry.
The people have enough of the Pee&Pee !
The opposition parties must put their act together and just field their candidates.
And for goodness sake, stop all these internal infighting and squabbling.