By Ng E-Jay

The registration of a new political party, the United Singapore Democrats (USD), has caused much buzz in cyberspace.
The party members, however, are keeping mum for now. They will disclose further details about the new party at a press conference that will be held at a later date.
It is understood that the time taken for the Registrar of Societies to approve the new party was only three months, and that the application came with 10 names.
It is also understood that the party will soon hold an extraordinary general meeting with the view of electing new office bearers, and also apply for a permit to publish a newsletter. The party has yet to design a logo.
According to the Straits Times, the President of the USD is Ms Narayanasamy Gogelavany (Monica Kumar), who stood as an SDP candidate in Sembawang GRC during the 2006 general elections. [1]

The Party Secretary is Ms Jaslyn Go Hui Leng, an activist who frequently represents the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) at international conferences. She represented the SDP at the Council of Asian Liberal Democrats’ (CALD) Women’s Caucus that was held at the Philippine island of Batanes in May 2009, and attended CALD’s general assembly held in Colombo, Sri Lanka, earlier last month. She also represented the SDP at Liberal International’s (LI) annual congress that was held at Cairo, Egypt in November 2009, during which SDP was formally accepted as an LI observer.
Ms Sophia Tan is the treasurer. Other pro tem committee members of the party include Mr Chong Kai Xiong, Mr Muhd Shamin, Mr Palay Kulandaivelu and Ms Rachel Zeng Rui Qing.

Mr Muhd Shamin is an up and coming political activist who is currently on a three-month internship with the European Parliament in Brussels, Belgium. He represented the SDP Youth Wing at the invitation of Malaysia’s Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) to observe the Permatang Pasir by-election held in August 2009 which resulted in a handsome win for the Parti Islam se-Malaysia (PAS).
The mainstream media has speculated that the party could serve as a vehicle for existing SDP members or supporters should the latter be wound up due to the legal damages from a defamation suit brought against it in 2006 by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew.
The USD has chosen not to comment on this.
When quizzed about unsubstantiated remarks made about the party on certain websites which include talk about a possible split within the SDP, the party rubbished those comments as being so far off the mark as to be unworthy of attention.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

i love it when people ask gossipy things instead of asking what the heck the United Singapore Democrats stand for, their political ideology, vision, etc.
so lovely and cute. just like fresh little strawberries.
btw, if it werent clear, the strawberry comment was directed at people that asked the gossipy questions that i mentioned earlier.
Really … is it necessary to have yet another political party??
Anonymous on floor one above,
It stands for USD – US Dollar, which is the best strategy to counter the PAP. As we know PAP stands for $$$$, and Temasek and GIC has been losing much USD lately, so..
Jokes aside, I would infer that USD has the same ideology and vision as the SDP, that is, A truely Democratic Singapore!
And this action shows that there is no personal ego in SDP, they work for a common vision for the good of Singapore.
Can i have a look at Jaslyn Go’s resume??
Not sure if I can trust her to run a GRC or a single-seat constituency without a stringent look at her track record
Good News for Singapore. Let’s hope the opposition parties will come together to fight the PAP which has proven over the years to be a highly incompetent party. The PAP cannot be allowed to continue ruining the country. With the PAP, we can only go downhill until we reach a living hell.
Guys,
there will be a joint walkabout by RP and SDA this coming Sunday 4th April’2010 @ 9am @ Bishan St 11 Block 152. If you are staying at the vicinity, you may want to show your support by dropping by while on your way for your breakfast.
It is time for us to do something besides kpkb at the cyberspace.
Good Luck USD
so much of work , so little time
Sincerely, good luck. It takes courage to form an opposition party.
When the late LBJ was launching his new RP, he told the press and others at a local hotel that those Singaporeans who feel that they are happy with the PAP system, should “go to Chiam or Low Thia Khiang”. And those opposed should come to the RP.
Now, his son KJ is joining hands with Chiam for a joint walkabout! I suppose, KJ is also happy with the PAP as the two long-serving opposition MPs Chiam and LTK are.
Good for Singapore, so many youths are starting to get involved to shape our future for Singapore. Its time to depend on new bloods to go forward instead of the aged old wine (PAP) that are becoming very stale and should be tucked away forever into the cold dark cellar.
Is there an internal disagreement in SDP or are they forming another party just in case SDP close down? What is the new party’s stand? What is their vision for Singapore?
OK, I think it’s too early to ask these questions. But these are definitely questions they need to answer.
“Can i have a look at Jaslyn Go’s resume??
Not sure if I can trust her to run a GRC or a single-seat constituency without a stringent look at her track record”
My, my. Jaslyn Go did not even mention any intention to run for election and you’re already asking for her resume? Do you need to see if she pass her O levels? Did you ever ask to see any PAP candidates for their resume?
Does it mean that if a MIW member is a professor or a civil servant or a lawyer that he or she qualify to run a constituency? I believe teaching in a university or arguing cases in courts is also a far-flung difference from running a constituency which consist of a micro-eco system of Singaporeans from all walks of life. No job or education ever qualify you to run a constituency nor represent it’s people in parliament. None.
And of course, we’ve also seen MIW losing money big time at constituency, GRC and National level DESPITE their sterling resume.
The ideal opposition candidate or political party is one that is prepared to support the ruling party when it is right and fight it tooth and nail when it is wrong. They represent their constituents and their aspirations; not sit on their resume nor collect their S$13,000 a month to wayang a few times in parliament.
So will PAP setup another party call SGD to counter USD ?
USD : US Dollars
SGD: Singapore Dollars
I am not against any particular opposition party, some are “damaged good” fell into the legal suit cases by PAP, some are patient, but seems laid back
Don’t forget the mighty machinery, Opposition should join hands to put together a strategy, optimize the weak resources they have , and mountain high obstacles they faces
1) Nothing wrong about Chian and Ken Jeyarathnam join hand
PAP joined hands with leftists to win in 1959
2) Stop Chee-Chiam quarrel
3) Too many new party not fully ready only to let PAP frame all opposition are un-qualified
4) Be realsitic, win 10 or 12 seats, 4 single wards + 2 GRC will give 14 already
5) Prepare manifesto and policy proposal, print leaflets early
6) have a PR machinery to rebut PAP in every opportunity
Warm up, bickle up, no empty shouting, be ready
Looks like more and more are coming forward to join the coming election. We have more choices now!!!
I just realised that this might be the first party in SG that has a woman as leader and a woman as number 2 as well. Is this a Singapore first? I don’t care if USD is the monozygotic twin of SDP. I think this a good strategic move if SDP is in any danger of being wound up.
whatever the choice, just get those white crooks out before they sell away the entire nation to the foreigner, singaporeans especially the younger working adults remember the papies already robbed us clean of our entire cpf savings, and they will continue to rob from you people.
The USD, or yet some other party, can be something egged on by men in white disguised in black or some other colour. If the opposition can be diluted and split and infighting and mutual mud slinging and cannibalism provoked, all the better for the man in white. I had always suspected Harbans Singh was a planted clown to discredit the opposition. Then I laughed, now I don’t anymore.
It’s good that we have a diverse political landscape, plus these are young upstarts with new vision and energy. I hope they keep up the momentum. Before we jump to conclusions on their performance, let’s give them some room to manouver and space to grow before we start giving judgement.
I hold a different view here, it is not about the diversity of increasing number of opposition parties, it is the quality and defined vision of the parties that must beat PAP, on both micro and macro levels and issues
PAP has been calling opposition camp as a mix of rojah, and new party that has no clear vision and resources only re-inforce PAP’s slogan, that they are the only hope ( of course that is because many able talents and professionals are deterred by the political revenge PAP use in past 5 decades that deter them from contesting GE.
It is better to be ready than get a rude awakening shock with under performance in Parliament if elected.
Silvia Lim is doing fine, I think KJ will do fine, but we can’t rely on a handful few to fight a hit and withdraw warfare, to compete with PAP, a longer term views and methodology to construct and put forward alternatiive polices is required
Anger alone may dent PAP a few seats and they will come back stronger, looks at 1991 when SDP won 2 seats, Tjio Chai Chen and Lin Howe Tong were disapointment for 5 yaers, then PAP entrenched their standing in 1997 by defeating these two and incraese their vote to 68% from 61% in 1991.
Opposition Parties must be prepared, wise voters will not be convinced and they don;t vote like going to wet market to pick and choose.
It is the vast majority of lower and middle class that normally swing and decide any election.
So, dont try to be in parliament for the sake of doing it, get ready and give PAP an aweful shock .
Now , don’t scold me,a dn brand me as pappies.
I am for a healthy and constructive oppostion(s) to voice out for Singaporean in the Parliament.
Dont win short term gains and lose another 5 decades to the elitics PAP
Together,We Can Achieve.
A Resume does not speak much a person’s performance. Performance is measured when a person actually does the job.
Many have been hired based on resume and then sacked later. Why? Why if resume so great and match the JD still got sacked? We need to have IQ to understand this simple thing.
We need to give talents braver than us, having the rare courage to step forward, a chance to prove themselves and we measure their performance. If not good, we can write a petition for his / her resignation subject to our appeal being accepted, I suspect there is a chance for early election if not talent replacement either the talent quit and be replaced or by-election be held. But then , i not sure the tecnicalities. Just what i think. correct me if i wrong.
after so many days, im disappointed that the USD still havent have a website where they can put reach out to SGreans, talk more about themselves, their political ideology, vision, etc.
singapore’s opposition has proven unable to change singapore thus far.
this new addition CAN ONLY BE POSITIVE.
keep up the good work, USD. please throw away the rotten papayas, they already expired long ago.
hmmm, is this what PAP mean when they taichi so many responsibilities to the citizens? from filial piety, child rearing, retirement money, having 1st world social grace (welcome foreigners & be more tolerant), etc…
maybe taking up a political cause is the un-intented effect of such a push to nudge people to take up certain responsibility- to champion oppsition cause?
“PAP, be careful what you wish for. it may well come true, just not the way you dudes intended!”
mua-hahaa… :D
Good luck to more and more singaporeans to be fcuked up by the papies crooks. From the recent strings of price hikes including the hijacking of your profit when you sells your hdb flats obviously tells you citizens whether you like it or not, you just have to continue being fcuked by us white crooks as and when we like. The situation is getting way out of hands and all singaporeans now have to think hard, yes VERY VERY HARD! do you still want the papies to be around any longer????? before they have already managed to fcuked our parents’ livelihood, now they want to fcuk our childrens’ futures too. Citizens should get ready to fcuk them back real hard this time or you and your childrens’ lives would be ruined in no time.
More means scattering of limited resources, and USD is in fact a refugee base for SDP members to switch over in case SDP get wrapped up by PAP, so what so new about that ?
USD does not seem ready to meet the people, is this a roadside make-shift stall approach ?
Better be prepared, PAP is a GIANT and entrenched in power, a fly can’t kill an elephant
Come on, Post 65 stand up, why are you starting the smear campaign even before they have had their first official meeting? You said, “USD does not seem ready to meet the people, is this a roadside make-shift stall approach ?”
Get your priorities straight. I really think that all you SDP critics should be questioning the PAP’s illegal actions that led to the possibiliyof the SDP getting wound up instead.
How quickly could you have done everything you are unrealistically asking them to do? This is just day 3 of the announcement. Remember that.
Post 65 stand up,
“Better be prepared, PAP is a GIANT and entrenched in power, a fly can’t kill an elephant”
if PAP is such a giant that seeks to entrench power further, is it a good thing? remember that PAP is an entity with the responsibility to serve the people, not enslave them with no choice but to do every bidding of a giant bully.
sure, no fly can kill an elephant, but this is just your subjective comparison. how about flu bugs (or any other bacteria) taking human lives for size?
Is this USD sort of a kids’ club?
//My Views
yeah, PAP is very mature. going around sueing people.
The yuppies would love to be a minister wouldn’t they?
It is high paying and glam job. No need to have loyalty to the Singapore. Just go for acting classes and talk like you’ve scored a distinction for the jc GP paper to the voters.
I want to see a no-holding-back face-to-face debate with PAP members. The job has become so cushy it looks like some Extra-Cirricular Activity.
anonymous 2 April 2010
“after so many days, im disappointed that the USD still havent have a website where they can put reach out to SGreans, talk more about themselves, their political ideology, vision, etc.”
where got many…..jus set up just 2 day ago what
GE in JUly must start working now.
GE in JUly must work now.
I congratulate Jaslyn Go and her team to form a new party USD. We need more courageous people like them to counter the dominance of despotic PAP.
Many young Singaporeans just take the opportunity to jump on the bandwagon into the comfort of PAP. Many are not in touch with the ground, only enjoy the obscene pay that come with PAP.
I show great respect to the young United Singapore Democrats. Give us a good show to trounce the Pappies.
We need your voice in parliament.
Jaslyn Go will be scrutinized for her O-level results
and whether she has stolen any bicycle in her life.
If she had stolen a bike in her life, I would vote for her.
We need leaders who have passion for Singapore and Singaporean; not some self proclaimed whiter than white 超级白。
Jaslyn GO GO GO!!!
Very chio wow…
You folks must be politically naive to believe that the USD will really hold a press conference in the “near future” to provide more info on who they are.
And just another side comment, why did USD choose the NSP CEC structure, with President instead of Sec Gen as party leader?!?!
I only wish the opposition would stop getting more fragmented by the day.
By all means, start a new party if you really want something different for the country. But no Opposition party is ever going to be able to change the fate of this country if some of the PAP are not kicked out first.
Don’t forget registration fees somehow end up in the control of the men in white anyway.
Just put a living creature to stand against pap, i will vote for him/her/it.
Too many opposition parties! Why must they create another party to weaken the present ones?!
viva, please don’t complain about too many parties. We should be complaining about too many right wing parties. The paliament is right now 100% right wing. USD is welcome to me. If SDP gets de-registered, the net effect is still zero. Plus one, minus one.
Viva,
You’d be surprised but many people don’t identify with any of the current parties, including the ruling party.
SO!!!We have seen quite a lot man!!!A lot of opposition parties coming ahead to oppose the ruling PAP such as follows……..
Workers Party
Singapore Democratic Alliance
Singapore Democratic Party
National Solidarity Party
Reform Party
United Singapore Democrats(the latest!!)
If such,where will the USD may contest in for the next year’s election and really wonder what’s the logo for this party???I would like to support it as well!!Possibilities might be quite a few of GRCs even my place as well or even a bit of SMCs along and around….Maybe some three-cornered fights as well,like a rumour of a closest SMC to my place:PAP vs SDA vs SDP………
The USD is an opposition for the new era,and may be aimed to a younger generation instead of the other way around….With new blood injected,is it wise enough to form up a brand new alliance even for the government side?????Lets hope that the USD shall contest in the upcoming elections…..May the best one wins………
Hurray, any opposition party will have my support.
So long as there is no three corners fight i think it is good to have more opposition party participating in the coming GE. More opposition party less walkovers.