Former detainee Vincent Cheng has been prohibited from speaking at the NUS History Seminar to be held on June 4th at the National Library. The organiser NUS History Society has apologised to Mr Cheng and offered to read his speech at the event. Over the phone, Cheng told me he was not surprised and is looking forward to speak when another occasion arises. Last year, police harassed the venue owners of a forum I had planned on the 1987 arrests.

Now it looks as though the event itself may be cancelled according to the latest statement by the NUS History Society on its facebook page.

I would like to inform all interested parties that we have been told by the National Library Board that the event has now been put on hold. All registered participants will receive an email by tonight. Stay tuned for more updates.

Regards,
Bernard Chen
President, NUS History Society
27 May 2010, 1636 hrs

This article by Martyn See first appeared on Singapore Rebel

78 Responses to “Ex-detainee Vincent Cheng barred from speaking in history seminar”

1. It is clear that the papy govt controls a huge chunk of the infrastructure and services that constitute this tiny red dot.

All statutory institutions are run by papies or papy supporters appointed by them.

All GLCs and almost everything that is not totally of foreign ownership are papy-controlled. That’s why that when a papy minister retires, a cushy high-ranking, high-paying job, awaits him/her at one of the GLCs.

2. I am not surprised at the silly position that the NLB took in not allowing Vincent to talk at the library.I had a similar experience last year when I wanted to launch Said Zahari’s two books in Singapore. They were naver launched in Singapore but were in KL some years ago.Said Zahari is a Singapore-born Singaporean and we are deprived of reading what he wrote about his experiences as a political prisoner in Changi for 17 years There must more concerted efforts by our youth, to regain our democratic rights. There could still be some video conferencing of Vincent with some other ex-detainees.

3. Albert 30 May 2010

I agree with History Alumnus.

Many people are voicing their thoughts vehemently online but when it comes to real action, how many will “act blur”?
    In our working environment, how many times have we seen colleagues complaining about stuff but when there’s a chance to discuss things, they put on a smile and say “Nope, I’ve got nothing to say”

4. Complaint King 30 May 2010

I hear from foreigners that singaporeans they know some are more selfish or mean and complaint very well.

But when it comes to u-know-what, they are the most tamed.

hahaha unique!

5. Jason Balua 30 May 2010

I hope FTs dun read about this article lest they get deterred from joining as PR or citizen if they are the types who likes to voice up about such thingies.

Sssshhhhh!

6. sunday times 30 May 2010

as of today, i think the Sunday Times page 13 is dedicated to announcing the people wishing to protest in Speaker’s Corner, free of charge.

tune in next issues for more free, unbiased, uncensored protest announcements next Sunday Times, until the unfree, biased and censoring authorities get wind of it.

page 13. watch that space.

7. LKY - The man and his ideas! 30 May 2010

lky ways is to resolutely to WEAR one & all THIN in resolve to think otherwise than his version of “prosperity and success in that the end justifies the means used”. Did he not say:
    “If I have to shoot 200,000 students to save China from another 100 years of disorder, so be it.” – Lee Kuan Yew endorsing the Tiananmen massacre, Straits Times, 17 August 2004

So he is The Antithesis of DEMOCRACY even within his stated version of “guided democracy”. And it was NEVER DEFINED anyway as usual to give himself unlimited “leverage without boarders”!

Ahkong asks or “lamented” of:
    “Oh my God when has LKY become a legalised gangster”… Do we remember what lky said about if the Opposition behaves like gangsters, then “We will deal with you like gangsters”

And History Alumnus rightly responded to Jeanette that:
    “Bernard can protest till the cows come home or go on a hunger strike but to what avail?”…. Indeed…. words from the “horse’s” mouth serve best to give credit t what History Alumnus and others moan about Singapore NOT being an “Open & Inclusive CIVIL SOCIETY” as lky’s son PM Loong said of us under his “stewardship”. Beyond question? Actions AFTER words uttered is the proof of the pudding “is in the eating” as follows”

1. “Repression, Sir is a habit that grows. I am told it is like making love – it is always easier the second time! The first time there may be pangs of conscience, a sense of guilt. But once embarked on this course with constant repetition you get more and more brazen in the attack. All you have to do is to dissolve organizations and societies and banish and detain the key political workers in these societies. Then miraculously everything is tranquil on the surface. Then an intimidated press and the government-controlled radio together can regularly sing your praises, and slowly and steadily the people are made to forget the evil things that have already been done, or if these things are referred to again they’re conveniently distorted and distorted with impunity, because there will be no opposition to contradict.” – Lee Kuan Yew as an opposition PAP member speaking to David Marshall, Singapore Legislative Assembly, Debates, 4 October 1956

2. And so “I make no apologies that the PAP is the Government and the Government is the PAP.” – Lee Kuan Yew, 1982, Petir

3. “If you are a troublemaker… it’s our job to politically destroy you. Put it this way. As long as JB Jeyaratnam for what he stands for – a thoroughly destructive force – we will knock him. Everybody knows that in my bag I have a hatchet, and a very sharp one. You take me on, I take my hatchet, we meet in the cul-de-sac.” – Lee Kuan Yew, The Man And His Ideas, 1997

So now is it any surprise that we are still in this ARCHAIC state? An unknown writer said about leaders this way:
    “A leader who cannot see his fellowmen as greater than himself, builds the nation and then destroys it by his own lawlessness”.

And of NLB, let’s be fully aware of the above quotes that lky stands for his ideas being greater than others’. So, from his words, NLB chiefs and any pap govt entity are just in obedience mode for “self-preservation” per lky’s 1956 of them “together can regularly sing your praises. It’s that simple. As his winning in 1959 about 2.5 yrs later with some 86+% resounding “victory” on a “left” (communist line) leaves no doubt how it has “emboldened” he ideas resolve to this day.

Please go to TNP of Sat, May 29 to read Lionel De Souza’s Voices letter headed “Go read book, he’s no tyrant” and we can see why lky keeps wining with MYOPIC people like him!: http://imcms2.mediacorp.sg/CMSFileserver/documents/006/PDF/20100529/2905VCW012.pdf

You’ll have to register at TNP if you read it from tomorrow as an archive.

Has naive and fearful Singaporeans been shallow about our nation’s long term WELLNESS?
    Have they not realize that lky is BUT ONLY 1 mind and how can he be so “supreme” like as if he is a “a creator of all things safe and good”? When he’ll have to give up his spirit like any of us. When it’s not a matter of “if” but rather a matter of WHEN in reality! Can he be “immortal” beyond his time here? Will not Natural take him on it’s course even if one does not believe in a Living God?

“There’s none so blind as those with eye but see not. Have ears but hear not”. That’s lky who is “blind” AND “deaf” to everything else! He certainly knows he is man. But to everyone else he “wantonly needs” to be “seen” to be “immortally” successfully “correct”. even it’s just in the “material” realm. And it is also hwy he pays self and “disciples” so “blindingly” high! He self “justifies” everything he does! Your ideas are NOT important!

8. lifes a pain 30 May 2010

I hope the reporters without borders dun find this another reason for criticising singapore again.

i hope the international community won’t find this article freely available on the world wide web.

9. Dead Poet 31 May 2010

True scholars have no airs and great leaders no vengeance or narrowness – Ghandi

Only a mediore leader, who is shy of his path to success will try to subvert the truth and deny any alternatate views to question his narrative. This happens because you have manufactured your greatness using your power over all the institutions. But then you always live in the fear that your will be discovered, that your greatness will be exposed. Pity the father

10. PoorRyan 31 May 2010

The M’sian ex-SIA pilot was MARKED by our gahmen. He can never stays / works here thus went to Australia for opportunities. Was not even granted a chance there. WHY ????

maybe SG influence them ???

11. Anthony Ho 31 May 2010

That is how things is over here. Like the 90.5FM advert, hear only the good things. Why so afraid of a few Socialist members? Ban them from entering Singapore and Malaysia and ban those who are here from participating in politics but rubbing shoulders with the two communist giant and calling them our friends. Don’t try to change History like the Japanese do. The communist was defeated by the British Army and not PAP. PAP was formed in 1958 after Great Britain decide to give up Malaya. For Independent sake they join the communist, prepare to sacrifice their lives to fight for our freedom and in the end what benefit did get? Like a rabbit they have to run away from the hounds. Those caught were thrown into prison. That is their reward. If i have a say i would grant them amnesty without conditions attach.

12. My Views 1 June 2010

The government might be having the public’s interests in mind when it decided to prohibit him from making public speeches. Just look at what happened in other countries and the number of people killed by terrorists. Apart from having a clean, honest and competent government, Singapore prospers on peace, stability and social orderly.

13. Perhaps, some of the various parties concerned had their own contraints, egg, NLB,NUS. Nonetheless, it commendable though its postponement raises more questions than answers…

14. Dead Poet 1 June 2010

To My View

Public interest in mind or their own interest. The public needs to know the facts and come to a informed decision. What happening in other countries cannot be used as a bogey for withholding or preventing access to information. Let the people decide if the government is clean, honest and competent by disclosing all relevant information. No need to release information which endangers our national security. Lets start by requiring all politicians to declare their assests and interest in other companies or business for public scrutiny. If they are so clean and honest,they would not need to hide. Why the need to create new laws protecting ministers from investigation. Lets not forget Mr Teh.Mr Dorai and several others were also said to be honest and clean by the same people who are claimimg to be clean and honest now. Prove it then.

15. Anthony Ho 1 June 2010

For goodness sake its already 50 years ago. Here i am talking about Chin Peng and his followers. But as for Vincent Cheng he have served his time and like any other criminals if he commit another same wrong doing again then whack him hard otherwise he should be allow to participate in politics so long as he did not mix religion with politics and abide the law of this country. I oppose any ruling party changing the country constitutions so often like they change their underwears everyday. Look at Thailand, Taksin a billionaire businessman turn PM and now lebel a terrorist. The trouble is all over the world many countries ruling parties tend to change the country constitutions for their own benefits.

16. My Views 2 June 2010

Dead Poet,
    Please do not take Singapore’s current social peace and stability for granted. Just look at what happened to Bangkok recently – buildings and stock exchange were burnt down by terrorists. Can you imagine the same scenario of 10,000 people gathered at Raffles Place for months demanding government to dissolve parliament? Thailand has agriculture and other natural resources to fall back on, what does Singapore have? We even need to rely on other countries for workers, professionals and management!

17. To My Views,

Yes, I agree with you that we cannot take Singapore’s current social peace and stability for granted.

We have come a long way since the papies came into power in 1959.

But somewhere along the line, the papy govt has introduced/implemented policies that are evidently detrimental to the average man in the street.

And some [or many?] of us here feel that certain changes need to be introduced, to address the problems that are adversely affecting our lives. One of these changes is to have a strong opposition voice in Parliament; and this may mean voting OUT papy candidates in the next GE.

And that can turn out to be a good thing for Singaporeans generally. I am looking forward to that.

18. Atobe 2 June 2010

“Communist” fever seems to be a red herring used once too often since the 1950s, when Left leaning Singaporeans who were socially concious and took up politics were branded as ‘Communists’.

In communist countries, such social activists seeking more for their society will be viewed not as ‘Communists’ but as ‘Revisionists’.

At the end of the day, all social activists threaten the status quo for a weak regime that based its own relevance and existence on a stack of lies.

If any Communist exist today in Singapore, it would have been the PAP with its insistence on the Communist ideology of One Party dominance, and LKY will branded a Stalinist for his malevolent use of State power to demolish any political challenges that will upset his carefully plotted applecart journey.

It is a surprise that after imprisoning Chia Thye Poh for 32 years, this man was released without him signing any printed assurance that he will renounce armed revolution – which he was originally accused as reason for his incarcertaion.

For 32 years, Chia was reported to decline signing such a false paper as a condition for his release, and demanded open trial based on evidence.

It is even a bigger surprise that this was not done with Chia Thye Poh prior to his release, when a few years earlier – Vincent Cheng and his band of Catholic Social Activists had to give a written and video taped undertaking to renounce armed revolution – or they would be incarcerated as Chia was.

Communists in Singapore ?

From archived reports released by the Public Record Office in London, the Special Branch – in the British Colonial Government – had reported that in the early 1950s, the last Communist spy was arrested and deported to China, and that Singapore was declared clean.

In the early political experience in Singapore – as it is in any other First World democratic countries – those social and political activists had Leftist and Liberal ideas, as there were those who held conservative political thoughts.

Even LKY had the PAP to be a member of the International Socialist-Democratic Movement during the 1960s.

Prior to his entering politics, he was a young lawyer, and had defended those young Singaporean political and social activists when they were arrested by the Colonial Government under various charges

The continued persecution of Singaporeans under the false label of being “Communists” – is no more different from the wild and unreasoned ‘McCarthyist communist witch-hunt’ carried out in the USA during the 1950s.

19. My Views 3 June 2010

So long a party does well, it does not matter how long it has been the government of a country. This is an important point because there are some people who have the foolish (or dangerous) idea that once a party has been in power for a number of years, an alternative party should be voted in. Singaporeans must not hold such naive and dangerous idea because it will destroy the country and its wealth. Good examples are the US and Philippines where their economies have been in deep troubles for decades as their governments see themselves as contract staff for 2 terms. On the other hand, China prospered during the Tang dynasty which lasted for 800 years!

20. preston loon 3 June 2010

Reply to My Views.
    you are on right on.Why do we want to change a government who has done us good all this while.The latest news we have is that the new Japanese PM has resigned.His popularity support has gone down to 29%from 76% eight months ago during the election.He has broken some of his major promises to his supporters.Did the Japan opposition government not promise more openness,more honest,more of everything from the previous ruling party.What happened?Wake up guys.

21. Dead Poet 3 June 2010

My Views
    I do not know whether you understand the argument here or are simply in denial. Does wanting to know the truth make one a terrorist or imply that we are against social peace and stability. On the contrary the situation is Thailand is happening because the people in Thailand, without proper information and knowledge have been easily swayed by the rhetoric of power hungry politician and elites. People need to know and understand history as it happened and have a healthy debate which will help them make informed decision about their future. How is my call for politician to be accountable and open about their assets detrimental to peace and stability? It is not the case that the problem in Thailand stems from politician wanting to stay in power to make money. Are we suppose to accept that it is alright for politicians to make millions either legally or illegally, as long as there is peace and stability. Have you forgotten Thaksin’s forfeited billions or Marcos’ or Suharto’s legacy, who was coincidently praised for his leadership. The latter too had a long rule. Having a opposition or change in government does not always mean chaos. Since our government calls itself first world and pays itself out-of-this world salary, let’s compare apples to apples. Heard about Finland, Swede, Denmark, the countries with mediocre government but a happy and contented population.

22. Atobe 3 June 2010

To ‘My Views’ – your post 3 June 2010.

Why look so far back into history to glorify China’s golden years during the Tang Dynasty ?

The USA and Japan had more then a few decades of glorious years after WW-2, and if it had not been the dependence of petroleum – that is largely controlled by the OPEC countries – their economies would have continued.

Why did China floundered after the Tang Dynasty ?

Was it not due to the long reign of the Manchu Dynasty, which led to the break-up of China by more powerful countries that began to cut her up into economic fiefdoms ?

Why did China stagnate and did not grow under the continuous leadership of Mao’s idiotlogy – which lasted more the 50years or about five US Presidential terms ?

If a country cannot change its leaders and are continuously held in psychological hold by a few unscrupulous politicians that do not hesistate to use state powers in some malevolent ways – simply out of self-preservation – is there any future for the Country ?

Is it not a surprise that after 53 years of continuous PAP monotonous rule, no fresh talent in the same calibre of Dr Goh Keng Swee can surface, when those who are talented have fled this environment of political suppression ?

Politics is not merely about government, it is larger then the mundane politics of political rivalries between individuals and political parties.

It is about the governance of an entire people that live together to form a country, to develop a future together.

This require the responsibility of everyone in the country to be involved, and cannot possibly be the exclusive domain of those who take politics as a profession.

This is the difference in what makes Switzerland a land-locked country without natural resources to excel, and where Singapore – despite having open access to the sea – can hope to aspire to become, but yet continue to flounder through repeated 10 year cycle of economic upheavals under the continuous rule of the PAP.

Obviously, you have not read alot to know that there are younger Singaporeans who are now aware that after 53 years of continuous PAP rule, the lives of Singaporeans today have not seen any advancement – when wages and cost of living simply degrade the present standard of living to that of earlier generations.

After 53 years, Singaporeans today still continue to struggle as hard as the generations in the 1940s through the 70s.

What happened to the supposed economic progress ?

We are still as dependent on MNCs as we were when Singapore embarked on industrialization in the late 1960s.

Has time stood still after 53 years of PAP rule with LKY at the helm ?

23. To Atobe,

Excellent observation and arguments.

Yes, what exactly has been the economic progress for the average Singaporean living in Singapore?

Maybe people like My Views and preston loon are among the haves and therefore the rising costs of living have no impact on their lives. Maybe, they need to evaluate more carefully about the economic conditions that are adversely affecting the lives of many Singaporeans.

24. Anthony Ho 3 June 2010

They say China will be in complete chaos if Chairman Mao die. They say China economy progress will falter if Deng Shou Peng die. They say China will not be able to sustain her economy growth under Jiang Tze Ming because of bubble economy. China economy at the present moment under President Hu Jing Tao is still very much alive and kicking. I remember forty years ago, inside Asia Magazine a commodity guru predict gold price will go up from then US$250 to US$1000, not a single financial experts in Singapore agree with him. Today gold price have shot up to more than US$1200 an ounce.

25. Anthony Ho 4 June 2010

What happened in Bangkok? All i know is Taksin’s party won the GE fair and square but his premiership is a legitimate one. He was thrown out of office by the military. I am surprise one of the King’s advisor is a 94 years old former army general. His coffin has one more nail to go. He is afraid Taksin will nail it for him so he make the first move by getting rid of Taksin. The selfish filthy rich in Bangkok gave the military a helping hand because they don’t like Taksin distributing taxes collect from them and give it to the poor in the countrysides.

26. Ethen, Jin-chew 19 July 2010

Hello Mr. Anthony (Tony) Ho, Do you know more than 2,500 people were killed without trial under Taksin’s War on Drugs ? Many who were killed were innocent because proper police and legal procedure was not carried out. The case is now under Thai government
    investigation. Taksin did not “distribute” collected taxes and gave it to the rural poor. He gave them
    S$ 45,000 farmer’s loan which has to be repaid with interest.
    A greater part of Taksin’s wealth comes from the sale of his Telco company Shin Corp to our Temasek Holdings. So in a way Singapore money has indirectly help Taksin in his political ambition.

27. Anthony Ho 20 July 2010

In Afghanistan Allied Forces also kill many innocent lives. Hundreds of thousands of innocent civilians was killed my American war planes during the Vietnam war. Killing an unarmed General who is supporting the “Red Shirts” in broad daylight and throwing opposition leaders and its members who conduct peaceful demonstration into prison without trial is totally different from drug warlords and their gang members and hardcore criminals. Singapore did quietly helped Thailand one billion dollars during the Asian currency crisis. Maybe that is the reason why Taksin sell Shin Corp to Temasek Holdings. I hope there plenty of Taksin type of leader in this world who dare to fight the drug warlords head-on. If you visit Changmai or Changrai the tour guide will bring you to see poppy plants grow in a small plot of land for tourism purposes. Under Taksin government he destroy and ban the growing of poppy plants. Less Thais get hooked on drugs now. Sadly more Thais working here is hook on Tiger Beer. I don’t know whether he loan his personal money to the poor or not but at lest on low interest. If you borrow from your own CPF money to purchase HDB flats you also have to pay interest, don’t you? Taksin bring tourists to Thailand countyside. The elephant camp in Changmai, the tribes village and Suthep Buddhist Temple. With tourists money and low interests loans Thais living in the countryside need not have to send or sell their under 12 years old daughters to the rich in Bangkok to work in Patpong Districts.

28. Dave1/19/2011 20 January 2011

Not really surprising especially comimg from the NUS, ranked 135th in the world. Just keep this up and continue to be the laughing stock.