A spokesperson from the Ministry of Health (MOH) speaking to The New Paper said that Minister for Health Khaw Boon Wan, 57,  had by-pass surgery on Tuesday.

The New Paper reported that Mr Khaw’s doctors advised him to go for the surgery after a health check last week.

Writing his blog in December 2009, the Health Minister said that Singaporeans with underlying chronic diseases should try and avoid future medical complications by monitoring and managing the disease.  In the blog, he also stressed the importance of early intervention based on good family physician-patient relationship and timely medical advice.

Picture: Courtesy of Asiaone Health

———–

Here is Today’s report about it, posted on its website at 05.55 am on 6 May.

Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan (picture) has undergone a heart bypass on the advice of his doctor.

The decision for the surgery, which was performed on Tuesday, was made after Mr Khaw had gone for a coronary angiogram, which is an X-ray test to check the blood vessels and chambers of the heart.

A spokesperson from the Ministry of Health said Mr Khaw was fit and well prior to the operation.

She added that the procedure went smoothly and Mr Khaw is doing well and is hopeful of a speedy recovery.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

87 Responses to “Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan has by-pass surgery”

1. Old Guy 6 May 2010

health minister in hospital

all the doctors attending him must be on high alert !!

if he complains service no good

you’re all going to the firing squad !!

2. Chiper 6 May 2010

I’ve always found KBW a decent chap and one of the better PAP ministers, certain gaffes like sending parents to JB notwithstanding. I would vote for him even if I won’t vote for PAP in general.

I wish him well.

3. I always say that it is always a humbling experience when we are confronted with our own mortalily…

For anyone who is arrogant and foolish enough to think that they are in control of everything, i would recommend a simple visit to the hospital (whether as a visitor or as a patient). It is a awesome humbling exprience.

4. JB Cheaper, save Singapore some money 6 May 2010

I wish him well. But he should practise what he preach, go JB to have his by pass and save Singaporeans some money.

5. CrazyBum 6 May 2010

The main difference between us and them is:

We pay for their hospital bills, while we pay our own hospital bills

6. Rest well Mr Khaw and take care of yourself.

7. The Real Thing 6 May 2010

CrazyBum,

Get Real.
    Look at the contagion swine flu in Europe now. PIIGS is spreading.
    One word – Bad governance.
    Portugal, Ireland, Italy, Greece and Spain.
    This tiny, resourceless, no-economies-of-scale, no hinterland island is still safe and sound.
    Thanks to ministers like Khaw, LKY, etc. Common sense tells us we would have gone to the dogs a long time ago or even swallowed up by our envious neighbour(s).
    Count our blessings.
    Pay PEANUTS and we have dead Mongolians and monkeys.

8. CrazyBum 6 May 2010

For the PIIGS, the govts are in debt. For Singapore, the people are in debt. Hurray!

9. Vanc 6 May 2010

I also wish Mr KBW well. He’s the only PAP MP that is more down to earth and listen to the plight of the people. Most importantly, he don’t blame the people for mistakes, unlike the others. In the last GE, his constituency won the most support, even the PM ward is far behind him.

10. Alison 6 May 2010

I am not going to wish him well or speedy recovery here becoz I dun subscribe to his health-reform policies. They sucks big-time.

Anyhow, Khaw should set the precedence by receding back to his home town (ie M’sia) for surgery/recovery, in tune with his advocated policy of seeking cheaper medical treatment in our neighbour’s soil.

11. agongkia 6 May 2010

Wish you a speedy recovery

12. CLARANCE 6 May 2010

The Real Thing – May 2010

“CrazyBum,
    Get Real.
    Look at the contagion swine flu in Europe now. PIIGS is spreading.
    One word – Bad governance.
    Portugal, Ireland, Italy, Greece and Spain.
    This tiny, resourceless, no-economies-of-scale, no hinterland island is still safe and sound.
    Thanks to ministers like Khaw, LKY, etc. Common sense tells us we would have gone to the dogs a long time ago or even swallowed up by our envious neighbour(s).
    Count our blessings.
    Pay PEANUTS and we have dead Mongolians and monkeys.”

Or, are you SISSY LEE or his moronic father the OLD FART in disguise ?

13. highFlyer 6 May 2010

The entire staff of HEALTH MINISTRY must be extremely buzy with their incessant posting of well wishes here.

Good job guys, continue to lick the arse of your boss while he is still alive!!

14. spirited-centred 6 May 2010

We must show concern to him from the bottom of our heart, so must the government show concern to Singaporean who are out of jobs, out of a roof over their heads, out of money to pay for PUB and their own meals from the bottom of their hearts. This is a reflection for people in government to check their own hearts to find out whether they are blocked, diseased or corrupted.

15. Old And Senile 6 May 2010

I wish Minister Khaw all the best and a speedy recovery. I pray that I will not have to undergo such an operation. Health is wealth, so stay healthy and live happily.

16. I wish him and his family well. Have a speedy recovery.

17. angry_one 6 May 2010

Obviously he will receive nothing but first-class care from our hospital, that reserved for medial tourists and VIPs. And then he’ll praise our healthcare system sky-high.

Meanwhile, citizens are getting sloppy care from 3rd-world imported health workers, and their kidneys removed to be sold to the highest bidder.

Healthcare has been a failure and i will never support him with a vote.

18. Currie 6 May 2010

All the best Minister Khaw.
    Take care and Godsped recovery.

19. Chiper 6 May 2010

@highFlyer

Like someone mentioned his constituency got the highest amount of votes. Are all the residents MoH staff? It’s quite clear that he is genuinely popular, especially when you consider that even high powered guys like LHL got smacked in the polls.

And he has done a good job. Compared to trash like the public transport system and the FT policy, the healthcare system can really be considered world class.

Even as opposition supporters we should not blanket bash politicians simply because they’re from PAP. That only reduces our own credibility.

20. myviewsareHEALTHY 6 May 2010

no comment..no wishes..no flower either
    defiteniteLEe no ferro rasa chocolates

21. Moe Gan Thai 6 May 2010

…timely early intervention…is for rich people like him and MM Lee,people like me no money,what timely intervention is he talking about,you die your business.

22. David 6 May 2010

He should go JB to use the facilities there since he has been harping about how good it was for old people to seek treatment across the border. He should do by what he preached unless he finds it inconvenient for him and his family.

23. Richard Tan 6 May 2010

Who say he did his by pass in Singapore? May be did it in Malaysia which is cheaper. Paper never mention which hospital he is in. Support Malaysia Hospital!!!!! LOL.

24. Is it 6 May 2010

Karma? I think so! :)

25. Political SalesMaN 6 May 2010

Every Hospital must make profit. This is what previous President Ong Teng Cheong has said, so Khaw Boon Wan make no difference.

26. leesjuanpat 6 May 2010

I wish KBW a speedy recovery. To him, surgery is all paid for and he gets the EXTRA attention being a VIP. Never a problem for him or any MIWs. Staying in A1 ward and will be served like a king.
    The reality of the human classification
    and who you are.

It is the poor folks that find it hard to fall sick and have surgery with the surging cost of hospitalisation.

Many lamented it is better to die than to be seriously ill. God bless.

27. Shake Head 6 May 2010

Lets not get personal. Yes, he has no answers for the masses of Sporeans who cannot afford proper medical care even when desperate(forget early intervention), but it does not mean we cannot wish him well. It just means don’t vote in the same establishment.

“This tiny, resourceless, no-economies-of-scale, no hinterland island is still safe and sound.” – by The Real Thing, 6 May 2010

Are all the other countries including Hongkong, China, S Korea, Malaysia suffering the flu as well? Is it really only Spore is safe & sound?

Some of the propaganda message reminds me of Communist China in the early days of its regime. I get goose pimples.

28. Thinktok 6 May 2010

I always believe in a society there are the noble and there are the thrash. It seems that there are quite a few thrash in this blogs. Why berate Mr Khaw for a lot of things that he is not responsible of?

When one is sick, surely the poor will receive attention but will not be in A1 ward. That is to be expected.

That Mr Khaw dared to do his bypass in Singapore should be a confort to all of us.

Please pull your handbrake a bit, at least for your parents. It reflects on your upbringing.

29. Thinktok 6 May 2010

David:
    He should go JB to use the facilities there since he has been harping about how good it was for old people to seek treatment across the border. He should do by what he preached unless he finds it inconvenient for him and his family.

Mr Khaw was just thinking aloud about retirement homes because land in our neighbouring countries are much cheaper. It is only a suggestion and I think it is a very good one. With the rate of exchange, retiring Singaporeans can get a very good deal.

It is up to the individual. No one is forced. If you are thinking of welfare states, just look at Greece today!

Don’t be a dud!

30. Shake head 6 May 2010

Thinktok

You are stretching the meaning of the words “welfare states” way too much.

Sudy what is in it before you CONCLUDE that all countries which go bankrupt are due to this.

According to what you wrote, Mr Khaw should think out aloud more, at least we know he has no solution.

Anyone can be a Minister in Spore if s/he can just ask Sporeans to turn to outsiders as an alternative.

Who is the dud here?

31. commentator 6 May 2010

Apparently, the Health Minister has some health issues. May our Health Minister be a healthy minister as well.

32. Heart no good 6 May 2010

Mr Khaw how do you pay your hospital bills ah? Do you use medisave, medishield, cash or tax payers money?

33. "C" bedded 6 May 2010

Don’t worry no “C” class or C(annot) G(o) H(ome) for him

34. Hold on! Now before we go ..... 6 May 2010

lovey dovey over this guy, can anyone remember who’s the chap who denied means-testing during the elections but implemented it after?

who’s the guy who was comparing Rwanda with Singapore’s opposition politics?

who’s the guy who was talking about nursing homes in JB ?

And oh, by the way, this operation came about because of the elites’ entitlement to a quarterly comprehensive medical checkup, a luxury which most of us cannot afford.

And, hor, the hospital bill is foot by the state, that is paid by you and me.

So, save your empathy and well-wishes for those more in need of it.

For this bunch of highly-paid pompous arrogant elites, I do not wish them ill, but neither do I send forth any good will.

35. Malu 6 May 2010

Hope he will enjoy all the “showers”n “Specials” by the “Swamp” of PRC n Sri Lankan Nurses !
    Btw, Hospital Business Centre has no records of his Bills.

36. KBW is not decent chap. Don’t be fooled by the PAP media.

He is the one who introduced MEANs Testing. MEANs Testing essentially transfers govt subsidy from S”proe citizens to PRs. Citizens pay more so that PRs can enjoy some subsidy at govt hospitals.

Retribution

37. prettyplace 6 May 2010

I did not vote for him, in the last election.
    However, after watching him move and getting into things like, the chronic illness issues and finding solutions, this guy, makes me wonder.
    He deserves alot more credit for going deep into statistics and finding solutions.For asking people to go to Malaysia for treatment and to have retirement villages in JB or Batam, certainly makes economic sense, no matter how we like to politicise.
    He seems to be a nice chap and IS DOING his job.
    Given a 2nd chance, i will vote for him.
    Wis him a speedy recovery.

38. prettyplace 6 May 2010

I did not vote for him, in the last election.
    However, after watching him move and getting into things like, the chronic illness issues and finding solutions, this guy, makes me wonder.
    He deserves alot more credit for going deep into statistics and finding solutions.For asking people to go to Malaysia for treatment and to have retirement villages in JB or Batam, certainly makes economic sense, no matter how we like to politicise.
    He seems to be a nice chap and IS DOING his job.
    Given a 2nd chance, i will vote for him.
    Wish him a speedy recovery.

39. doctorwho 6 May 2010

how come no1 tell me Ah Cow got heart one?

Which hospital he goes to?

AH – Always Home
    CGH – Can’t Go Home
    SGH – Sure Go Heaven
    TTSH – Tiam Tiam Si Hospital
    KTPH – ?

40. ACACIA 6 May 2010

He’s one of the few PAP blokes that I respect. Wish and pray for a speedy recovery and rest. God bless sir.

41. nawaz 6 May 2010

Why didn’t he have his heart surgery in JB?

42. SingaSingaporean 6 May 2010

how many people here have experienced healthcare for low income patients? I must be thankful that they waived hospital charges for my parents during times they do not have money. All we have to do is write in, many consultation charges and drugs are provided free, even x-rays and stuff. Sometimes they allowed us deferred payment or instalments. Many here have political agenda for the politicians and cannot be trusted.

And what is wrong with him bring pragmatic for singaporeans to seek alternative care in malaysia?

43. spirited-centred 7 May 2010

We are not faulting on his suggestion of seeking alternative health care in malaysia but we are faulting him of not able to make healthcare in Singapore ‘cheaper, better and faster’–the fashionable buzz word in PAP government propaganda.
    Many of us who have been to hospital must have experienced paying through our nose even after government’s so call subsidies.

44. SingaSingaporean 7 May 2010

Have you ever considered whats the true price of medical care? And have you been to msia or some othr public health sectors to look at it? Comparatively, Singapore is easily top of the list.

So whats the true market price? Just look at our private hospitals, if you are in there, you’ll not be only paying through ur nose, but mouth, eyes and ears as well.

High price doesnt mean no subsidies, similar low price doesnt mean you do.

Please don’t let healthcare be hijacked by politicians with an agenda.

45. CrazyBum 7 May 2010

“I must be thankful that they waived hospital charges for my parents during times they do not have money.”

Please elaborate more and how this was done. Which hospital is it? Thanks

46. CrazyBum 7 May 2010

“Comparatively, Singapore is easily top of the list. ”

Taiwan has a pretty good “Jian Bao” system, which I think tops Singapore’s. High price does not mean best

47. Gondu 7 May 2010

CrazyBum 6 May 2010
    For the PIIGS, the govts are in debt. For Singapore, the people are in debt. Hurray!

Are you ok?
    There are arsons in Athens and more than 20 people are already killed in the street protests.
    Apparently you are uneducated.
    If Greece is unable to service her current massive foreign loans she would have to morgtage or even sell off her ports, power plants, banks, etc., to the debtors. What’s this rich govt poor people rubbish. The govt represents the country. It can even sign away oil fields like what Badawi did to Brunei.
    Did you know Singapore is No 12 highest in terms of per capita income (average) in the whole world.
    Wasting my time explaining logic to blockheads. Go back to JC please.

48. taxiahkong 7 May 2010

Wish for a speedy recovery Mr.Khaw. Hope to see you next parliament debate.

49. Old guy 7 May 2010

which hospital he is staying??

and where??

in JB, Batam, Bintan or KL??

50. myviewsarechallengin 7 May 2010

prettyplace 6 May 2010
    after watching him move and getting into things like, the chronic illness issues and finding solutions, this guy, makes me wonder.
    ………………………

nothin realLEE happenned…
    i went to my regular semi government hospital..the day he announced his super wonderbar chronin disease $300 outpatient deals…
    i checkin the same outpatient counter where i regular paid my prescriptions.. i asked the reception concerned where do i filled my $300 medicsaves deals…
    you know what the receptionist says?
    1st.. you rego for full checkup AGAIN…
    ($70 upfront for clinic consultation)
    than you go for all the neccessary test (every test you go..there is a net machines..you zapped 1st before testin commerce…) by the end of the day..you already spent no less or near $300 just to be qualified for YOUR annual medicsaves outpatient bill of a mere $300 entitlement… i asked the same receptionist..you know my account here? backdated to my armforces day (by the way i am an INFANTRY man private class)
    so i asked the receptionist WTF? who make all this redtapes? she replied the same minister who tell you to visit Jb for your nursin home…ring a bell?