Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

25 Responses to “Highlights of Pink Dot 2010”

1. buay tah han!…. again pink ?

Kao liao lah!!…

2. well done, TOC!

3. Stranger 20 May 2010

Kenneth Jeyaretnam says that the lgbt are minorities. Should we make provision for them in GRC Mr Jeyaretnam?

4. Ah Nam 20 May 2010

After watching the turn out at Hong Lim Park, I , Straight macho man , citizen of the dot, feel ashamed for having missed so many Hong Lim turn outs and events because i scared.

I dun feel as manly as before.

But i just talking about myself. you the man, may be different case.

Thanks to the LGBTs , including foreigners and their frens and relates, i will attend Hong Lim park events from now on as long as i support the calling. eg. last time the mini bon bon i so scared of cameras, i dare not go leh. i coward la. but just me only lah.

5. Incred 20 May 2010

While I support their right to be treated as a person first, I feel their agenda is being hijacked by groups who are pushing for alternative lifestyles to be acceptable.

6. How the Come? 20 May 2010

I like to seriously understand why singaporeans kpkb about many cost of living, job security issues but dare not come to hong lim park and listen to speakers but Gays dare ?

Gays more daring? More fight for their rights? More Gutsy? More stand up for themselves?

I so confused liao. Straight men, pls advise lor. cans? or nots?

7. humph 21 May 2010

@Incred: Very interesting points you’ve brought up. If you don’t mind elaborating, I’d like to understand what you mean by “agenda is being hijacked by groups who are pushing for alternative lifestyles to be acceptable”.

Specifically, whose agenda is being hijacked? By which groups? And if groups should not be “pushing for alternative lifestyles to be acceptable”, what should the groups be doing? Did you find Pink Dot to be particularly offensive (without linking it to pride parades you see overseas)? Why or why not?

@How the Come?: Perhaps to a lot of people, love, being such a central facet of being, is more important than bread and butter issues. For without the meaning of life, why even live?

8. preston loon 21 May 2010

Many Thanks to TOC.Now i know where KJ stance on gay issues.

9. gemami 21 May 2010

Incred,
    -
    I think a lot depends on where you are and where you have been.
    -
    I grew up with people in the arts industry, the entertainment industry, the hair industry, the beauty industry and the service industry. I was surrounded by the gay, lesbian, bi-sexual and transgender; transvestite even, every day, for a good fifteen years.
    -
    What you have described is no where near what I have seen and experienced with my own eyes.
    -
    For illustration, I suggest you look at our very own Mediacorpse. Besides Kim Ng and Yifeng, I do not remember seeing any of the other ladies dressing up as men. But when it comes to the men in the industry, we have seen Jerky Neo, Moses Lim, Henry Thia, Adrian Pang, Mark Lee, Gurmit Singh, Piere Png and practically every other male actor you can name, cross-dressed as female characters.
    -
    Very much like this platform. Taken over by the gay, run by the gay resulting in the constant feeding of gay values and what not for general public consumption.
    -
    Innocent children have been heard to ask their parents: “Why these men dressed up as women, behaving like women and talking like women”?
    -
    This is a concern as it enters beyond the doorsteps of our homes unlike the more subtle ones like the plays we now know that Ivan and the likes have projected.
    -
    This is the gay agenda and like the Singaporeans that we are, we are blind to such subtle attacks from all fronts. Guess we can fault the PAP here?
    -
    There are gays who seriously work behind the scenes, quietly going about proving their worth and giving real reasons why they should not be discriminated against, and I take my hats off to these real heroes of their community.
    -
    Unfortunately, the loud, gawky crusader types have been setting them back each time they appear in public to stereotype themselves even more, with their actions, their stories and their deeds.
    -
    How The Come,
    -
    I agree with you that the gays seem to be the ones with the dare, if you think showing their faces once a year amounts to anything, that is. Daring does not equal getting things done. In fact it can have the opposite repercussions when approached wrongly.
    -
    Dare has to be accompanied by Sensitivity and Intelligence BEFORE Drive.

10. lobo76 21 May 2010

Incred,
    While I support their right to be treated as a person first, I feel their agenda is being hijacked by groups who are pushing for alternative lifestyles to be acceptable.

What is this ‘alternative’ lifestyle you are talking about? Vegatarian-ism? Actually, I think becoming a monk/nun is quite ‘alternative’ as well…

So what is exactly is wrong with the ‘alternative lifestyle’ you had in mind, that it should not be acceptable?
    -
    Gemami
    Besides Kim Ng and Yifeng, I do not remember seeing any of the other ladies dressing up as men. But when it comes to the men in the industry, we have seen Jerky Neo, Moses Lim, Henry Thia, Adrian Pang, Mark Lee, Gurmit Singh, Piere Png and practically every other male actor you can name, cross-dressed as female characters.

That’s easy (for me). Traditionally, male is the ‘stronger’ sex, so it is a much bigger step (make oneself ‘weak’) to dress as women. Women being the traditionally ‘weaker’ sex, wants to be stronger, so not too much qualms about dressing as male.

For entertainment business, the ‘bigger’ step you take, the more unbelievable it is, the more exaggerated your actions, I believe leads to better response from the audience.

For me, there is no ‘agenda’ or whatever to do with pink dot, or gay-ism with regards to this phenomena.

11. gemami 21 May 2010

But Lobo, you speak without any artistic inclinations whatsoever. You’ve admitted to this yourself, remember?
    -
    Perhaps that’s the difference between you and me. Can you say I am too artistic for my own good? Hmmm……
    -
    I’m beginning to see why there is a bump on my forehead.

12. lobo76 21 May 2010

Gemami,
    But Lobo, you speak without any artistic inclinations whatsoever. You’ve admitted to this yourself, remember?

So? It’s doesn’t take an artist to understand slapstick comedy, does it? Common sense, right?

… wait.. maybe you are so artistic, that common sense is not common anymore? hmm….

13. lee mun wai 21 May 2010

thanks again for the coverage. I really enjoyed that part where the middle aged, heartlander-style lady spoke in mandarin. it truly shows that openminded people exist in all walks of life. i’m comforted by that fact.

14. everyone is diff. 21 May 2010

I hope the event might also promote people to learn to get to know others first before labeling them Singaporeans, Indians, FT, Chinese, gays, expats.

15. gemami 21 May 2010

Precisely Lobo, why then do you prevent me from expressing my opinion on the artistic interpretation of what I see, but yet expect me to see them like you do, as ‘slapstick’ comedy?
    -
    It’s so comical isn’t it?

16. lobo76 21 May 2010

gemami,

Can you qualify when I ever prevented you from expressing your opinion?

Is it that my point of view (I emphasized it at least 3 times in my post with ‘for me’ and ‘I believe’) rings so loudly of the truth, tat you felt that it make you look stupid, thus ‘preventing’ you from expressing your opinion.

Well, I can’t very help that, can I? ;)

17. gemami 21 May 2010

I concede to you Lobo. The bump on my head is getting too large for me to continue with you.
    -
    Thanks for the fun.

18. Bengini 21 May 2010

To many viewers of the video, the Gay people seem like enjoying at Hong Lim Park and like very easy thing for them.

There are video and still cameras all over the place. I think the hong lim cameras may have been operational too.
    News people may have been there too.

Singapore being such a conservative place and small place , these people even dare to show their faces and dress in pink and not afraid of being known as gay. This is remarkable.

In short, the LGBTs of singapore are indeed more man than many men i know. I am a hetero. But i cannot hold a candle to them.

I am not manly.

19. Incred 22 May 2010

To Humph & Lobo76.

My contention is about a real cause (which is about the rights being treated as a person) being hijacked by people with hidden agendas.

It could be by people who promote the irresponsible sexual lifestyle of unprotected sex with multiple partners. I was there at the park to support them and I was ‘hit on’ at least 4 times by men.

It could be by people who wants their 10minutes of fame. Seems the event is being run by the people from the Arts.

I noticed, majority don’t even know what is the common cause they are fighting for. Some wants to be respected, others want to be treated equally and there are those who are there just to look and see and ‘testing waters’.

I am just an outside observer, I am not one of them, so I can never know how they truly feel. But, IMHO, majority are naive to think that segments of our society (hetero or homosexual) would really fight for their rights without any form of hidden agenda.

20. in case anyone is blur, the bump on Germami’s head is due to knocking himself on the wall.

the Hokkien saying of “long Pia”.

21. Mythsuckers 22 May 2010

I think the Pink Dot participants have refused to be scared of the little cameras.

22. Liu Dong from the northern east 22 May 2010

hong Lim park uses money for its maintenance. This plot of land in the city area is costly.

More utilization of this piece of land is only bringing more value to the People.

Whose money is used to maintain it?

23. lobo76 22 May 2010

Incred,

Not sure what you meant exactly by ‘hit on’. If you were at an event where only Singles are invited, would you ‘hit on’ the opposite sex? How else would you start a relationship if you are so passive?

So, it does not necessarily translate into irresponsible unprotected sex with multiple partners. It could just be the first step to finding a life long partner.

p.s why auto assumed the sex to be ‘unprotected’ anyway?

24. Jerome Au Yong Kan 22 May 2010

wow, these pink dotters are really brave!

With the installed hong lim video cameras, they still dare to turn up and show their support.

This seems like a well organized event. Has been successful since the initial one.

I am impressed and disappointed when compare the organizing and turnout of this event with basically all other hong lim turn outs. Even mini bon turn out is not as impressive as i felt that attendees in the mini bon ones were much much much more shy than these lively and energetic sons and daugthers of singapore.

It tells me 1 thing :
    1. Hire Pink Dot organizers or engage their service, if any, to organize all other Hong Lim Events.

2. The cameras need not be feared. So many thousands here have not shown fear facing the cameras.

25. Contribution of Gays 23 May 2010

First off, i like to say that i accept Gays.

While sexual inclinations can vary, as long as they do not commit sexual inappropriateness on others I can be their friend.

A hetero can also commit sexual crimes. So, lets not view gays as criminals or bad people. They willingly become gays or cannot not be gays even if they try.

My feeling is that Gays have proven:

1. They are more CREATIVE. BOLD. DARING. FIGHT FOR THEIR RIGHTS.

2. They are what is lacking in singapore in terms of their above strenghts and mentality. Singaporeans in general are as STRONG.

3. I foresee that Change can only come to singapore if we have a Strong Gay MP to represent the minority of opposition supporters. The gays have proven unafraid to stand up for their rights where many heteros have proven too fearful to do so.