I (Ravi Philemon) wrote the following letter to The Straits Times forum page but it was not published.
—My Letter—
I was the person interviewed and featured in the Al-Jazeera news clip.
I was however interviewed in my capacity as a community worker, volunteering among the people who are homeless in Singapore. I was not asked about the specific couple. In the interview, I spoke in general and said that people become homeless for various reasons and that even if they had made mistakes, they have got to be given second chances.
As a volunteer I have neither the capacity nor the resources to fact-check every story thoroughly. Sometimes, the government departments we call to verify certain information, do not even reply to us, which makes fact-checking even more difficult.
Under such circumstances, I together with other individual volunteers, offer whatever assistance we can.
Besides distributing essential items for survival and important phone numbers, we often refer them back to their own MPs, welfare organisations serving the people who are homeless and even the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS).
In the Al-Jazeera news clip, they mentioned that they had requested for an interview with MCYS, which was declined. Perhaps, the mis-representation could have been avoided if Al-Jazeera had been granted their request.

I commented on this in Ravi’s FB but the the remarks were deleted. I will include them here.
The government departments cannot be expected to provide personal data since these are confidential. NGOs and media cannot shift the responsibility to the government departments to make up for their unwillingness or inability to “verify certain information”.
The lack capacity and resources to fact-check every story thoroughly is no excuse to provide lob-sided stories. In fact, it is irresponsible to even release any remarks or stories in these circumstances.
TOC’s stand that “MCYS cannot refuse to engage a media outlet, and then claim that that media outlet “failed to ascertain facts” is an example of such a failure to hold itself responsible.
BT
@One Critigue,
So now you are shifting the blame to the online media?
Sorry, I don’t agree with you, totally!
Give us freedom of information law and we can talk about “responsibility” thereafter. The homeless might have consented to the file information being looked at under a Freedom of Information law regime. Buck passing is failed Governance. There is no credit or premium available to be handed out to public servants for buck passing.
That’s where a FOIA system is sorely needed.
Yes, dealing with people and asking for verifications under some situation is not allowed, names, nric, addresses, these are private informations which no gov dept need to share unless its a court order.
Under some other situations, i believe the gov dept can come open and assist.
as someone suggested above the freedom of information act is one to look at for a start. Singapore laws have a lot of restrictions, sometimes to protect people but sometime to fend off people.
we need to relook some draconian laws here. As for homelessness, this is real, not some make believe, so we need to look seriously into this issue and not sweep all under a carpet.
there is also a need to help those marginalized, by importing too many foreigners to do jobs locals can do at the right wages.
there cannot be so called “harmony” in all aspects if one or two groups in the minority suffers as it will revert back to us later.
Yes, Ravi, thank you for your good work, we need more people like you.
Yes, i understand what you mean when you go to some gov dept, they push you off, i’ve gone throught it myself.
Keep up the good work and God Bless you all, always.
I am not very far off the mark to remember very clearly that Wong Kan Seng mentioned before they the govt operates very trasnparently, nothing to hide.
Anyone can corroborate.
wow the compare and contrast between vivian and ravi is excellent~
vivian is paid millions to be incorruptible,
ravi is paid $0 to do volunteer work.
haa haa….
In Singapore anything that is ugly to the ruling party is well covered up even there are facts, they simply pretend nothing had happened. The only way to find the truth is to get the party out and there you will see all the ugly things being kept away from the people all these years. This is what can happened when there are totally no tranparency and accountability from those who are responsible yet powerful enough to swept away all their wrong doings under cover.
A cow gives while it is still alive whereas a pig only gives or rather all is taken from it when it dies lah.
Catch the drift?
If Ravi fights Vivian B in a SMC,I would vote for that sincere person.Having a title high up but not sincere, what is the use ? Thinking of high salary to prevent corruption is not our culture.We should kick them out in the coming election.Why worry about losing a few ministers.We have many volunteers who can work if you pay them 1 or 2 % of the ministers salary.
STRAITS TIMES is trying to cover Vivian Balakrishnan by refusing to publish articles on homeless people in Sg n what CB said, that ”…… Even if you can’t afford it, we will have meals delivered to you.”
RP
You should not have “clarified”.There was nothing to “clarify” or answeron yr part.
By “clarifying”, you are accepting the framework and assumptions of MYCS tirade.
Don’t fall into this trap again.
One Critique,
-
Yours is the kind of mindset that encourages this government to close it self to the people.
-
It is mindsets like yours that need to change so that we can get this govenrment ot be accountable to the people.
-
A Singaporean asking the government legitimate questions for the sake of his fellow Singaporean cannot be met with a cold shoulder.
been to poor Singaporeans’ homes to see if they really HAVE 24/7 of what he claimed! Until Vivian, it is all puppet talk for kids and the senile hor!
Every word you gape, every move you make, know that the very GOD you worship is listening, watching and recording too!
Heard of Bill Graham and know what he mean by being “Born again”? Not that your come out of your mom’s womb again. But that of being “Born again” in the righteous spirit of the ALMIGHTY God you worship!
Think we native as “lesser-mortals” are incapable of TEACHING old fox and his lackeys about the HIGHER ORDERS of life’s TRANSCENDING and TRANSCENDENT Values? Especially when when you hairy ones are still STUCK in the “Affluent & Materialism MUD” of living for yourselves mainly! You’ve NEVER known poverty and WE DO KNOW THAT Vivian!!!!
Just don’t ask us how we do and we also WON’T tell you not lies okay!
One has to be fairly balanced in posting critical comments.
I have my litany of grouses against the Government. The one man procession illegality law is one for example. It is ridiculous and down right unnecessary. I would venture to say that it discomforts one or two cabinet members but they have to go along with it under the convention of collective decision or responsibility. If I were to be in power I would give a gold medal to the District Judge for his reasoning and acquittal of the persons who were charged for having participated in a procession in violation of law under this section. Perhaps it is for appealing against this acquittal and for appealing and appearing in person to argue for a run of the mill case (and losing it) that saw Mr. Walter Woon, not having his tenure as AG being renewed. Another area of concern is the political space denied to the Opposition to function and grow.
But having said the above, I would say, as a local born senior citizen who has traveled widely, that we have one of the best Governments in the world. The Government has provided for the entire population of middle age generation, their housing, medical and old age remuneration (through the CPF minimum sum scheme) needs. The services for public provided in the public and private sectors are par excellent. You just take a queue number and wait for your turn to be served. You don’t require a middle man or grease the palm of the service provider (or his proxy agent) at the counter, to get your job done, which is a norm in many countries.
Coming to the issue of so called homelessness, where or what is the issue? Can anyone of middle age say that he/she is without a flat without having sold his/her previous flat for a sizable profit? It is accepted that exceptional circumstances can pull a family down. If your case is really pathetic, not self-inflicted and came about because of circumstances beyond your control and if you seek assistance from the Government, I am sure Mr. Mah Bow Tan will get you, at least a rental flat within short notice. I will bet my last dollar on it.
What about joblessness for young, middle and older aged Singaporeans? It is a crying shame for them to say that there is no job for them. Jobs are aplenty for Singaporeans. If your dire concern is to bring food to the table for your family you can get a job even tomorrow, if you are not picky and choosy. You can get at least $1200-1500 a month in the security service sector ( reserved for Singaporeans and quota intake of Malaysians) and taxi-driving (exclusively for Singaporeans). The Government would provide the subsidy for training to equip you with skills for these jobs. Even if you do not like these jobs, take them up for the time being to feed your family, until you can get an alternative job to your liking. Be practical and realistic instead of blaming others or the Government for every of your plight.
well said Kdas
K Das – the haven called Singapore!!!
‘From AFP “Indonesia chafes at graft ‘safe haven’ in Singapore”
Singapore promotes itself as a model of financial integrity. But, officials in Jakarta say, the wealthy city-state is a haven for some of the most corrupt Indonesians and their ill-gotten gains.
Singapore denies that it turns a blind eye to dirty money and says that if sufficient evidence is provided, it is ready to take “swift and necessary action” against corruption suspects.
But Indonesia’s Deputy Attorney General Darmono said: “Singapore is the most strategic country for corruptors to run away to.
“It’s geographically the closest to Indonesia and the policy of the Singaporean government enables corruptors to live there,” he told AFP.
Precise information on the extent of the illegal wealth allegedly smuggled out of Indonesia to Singapore is hard to find due to the small republic’s strict bank secrecy laws and the sensitivity of the subject.
But a report by Indonesia’s financial intelligence unit in late 2006 said around 200 fugitives from Indonesian state debt were residing there.
Three years ago extradition requests were lodged with Singapore for 15 corruption suspects, but the process has stalled due to complications surrounding a 2007 extradition treaty, Indonesian officials said.’
You can read on yourself.
http://singaporeuncletrader.wordpress.com/2010/04/28/afp-singapore-a-bolthole-for-indonesian-dirty-money/
//But having said the above, I would say, as a local born senior citizen who has traveled widely, that we have one of the best Governments in the world.
Yeah right, for having worked almost all our lives, we actually cannot retire in tranquility.
Where did the monies went?
You mean the other dragons didn’t have its people profiteering from the property market and do we see as many poor people by proportion.
As if people here don’t travel around?
what a joke!
I refer to “Garmen Transparency”
Yes. The government have nothing to hide. All the information are freely available to all the minister. And since we are the one who elected them, we must trust them. If you think they are not transparent enough? Don’t elect them. Singaporean only have ourselve to blame for electing PAP election after election.
All I can said is good luck to you all. May the better person come forward.
This looks like a “wayang”!!!
@ One Critigue
Confidential data? Really? The minister divulged all the so-called confidential info in Parliament.
Ravi,
The shame that is Singapore:
No one seems interested in commenting on this. Do you have any opionion as to why?
‘From AFP “Indonesia chafes at graft ‘safe haven’ in Singapore”
Singapore promotes itself as a model of financial integrity. But, officials in Jakarta say, the wealthy city-state is a haven for some of the most corrupt Indonesians and their ill-gotten gains.
Singapore denies that it turns a blind eye to dirty money and says that if sufficient evidence is provided, it is ready to take “swift and necessary action” against corruption suspects.
But Indonesia’s Deputy Attorney General Darmono said: “Singapore is the most strategic country for corruptors to run away to.
“It’s geographically the closest to Indonesia and the policy of the Singaporean government enables corruptors to live there,” he told AFP.
Precise information on the extent of the illegal wealth allegedly smuggled out of Indonesia to Singapore is hard to find due to the small republic’s strict bank secrecy laws and the sensitivity of the subject.
But a report by Indonesia’s financial intelligence unit in late 2006 said around 200 fugitives from Indonesian state debt were residing there.
Three years ago extradition requests were lodged with Singapore for 15 corruption suspects, but the process has stalled due to complications surrounding a 2007 extradition treaty, Indonesian officials said.’
You can read on yourself.
http://singaporeuncletrader.wordpress.com/2010/04/28/afp-singapore-a-bolthole-for-indonesian-dirty-money/
I thought K Das put things into pretty fair perspective. Be it judging state or individuals (for that matter), it is often too convenient to first pre-set a preferred conclusion, before digging out the corresponding accolades, or flak, to substantiate that conclusion.
That said, it is also all too easy to say that we should all strive to maintain a balanced approach; as the partisan nature of political discourse may undermine such best intentions, whether one is inherently pro- or anti-Govt.