“The post-65 voters want a fair fight.  They are no longer interested in the ‘pork-barrel’ politics as practiced by the PAP (People’s Action Party)”, says Mr Goh Meng Seng, the Secretary-General of the National Solidarity Party (NSP), in his exclusive interview with The Online Citizen.

In the interview, Mr Goh says that he is not against the Non-Constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP) scheme per-se, but he is against it in its current form.

“GRC (Group Representation Constituency) scheme is the root cause of disproportionate representation of opposition politicians in parliament. And the current NCMP scheme although provides for racially proportional representation, does not provide for proportionate representation of opposition voices in parliament”, says Mr Goh.

“Although 33.3% of the electorate voted for the opposition in the last elections, there are only 2 opposition voices in parliament”, adds Mr Goh to bring home his point about proportionate representation of opposition voices in parliament.

He feels that the NCMP scheme in its current form, fails to properly reflect the wishes of the electorate by giving the opposition representation in parliament, while restricting them from voting in three key areas – the supply bills (i.e. budget), constitutional changes, as well as no confidence motions.

Mr Goh cited the example of NCMP Sylvia Lim to illustrate how despite being represented in parliament, she is not allowed to vote in the in the latest amendments to Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) and NCMP schemes.

He says that although he is “neutral” about the NCMP scheme he opposes it in its current form as he feels that it is a populist attempt by the People’s Action Party (PAP) to further their agenda of political hegemony.

“The PAP is just trying to pacify voters, that they could vote for them (PAP) and yet have opposition voices in parliament.  This is the fundamental reason why I am opposing it in its current form”, Mr Goh emphasises.

When asked if he would take up the NCMP seat if he qualified for it, Mr Goh says without any hesitation, “No! Why should I when I am not given full voting rights?”

—————-

The Secretary-General of NSP makes the same points in Channel NewsAsia’s Talking Point.

—————-

Report by: Ravi Philemon

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

49 Responses to “NSP’s sec-gen will not take up NCMP seat”

1. well done i wish you will this coming election

2. teo soh lung 2 May 2010

Mr Goh is right. After more than 2 decades of the existence of the NCMP scheme, it is clear that this scheme does not help the opposition or the people of Singapore. JBJ was absolutely right. Let the voters know that if they do not vote a candidate in, he is out of parliament.

3. dada 2 May 2010

I hope he doesn’t, dun need someone unintellectual like him to be in parliament, ever seen his replies in interviews?

4. Moe Gan Thai 2 May 2010

NCMP only collects $1500 per month.Pap very very stingy.If their own ministers, wah,very generous,able men should get sky high salary,able men also flop in investments GIC/Temasek.They are not sincere,if you don’t pay them high, they will go undertable.

5. Debra Soon should let Goh M.S. finish his sentence, instead she keeps interjecting.
    It is indeed very irritating.

Lee Kuan Yew talks tough about knuckle-duster, hatchet and cul-de-sac; let’s not go into macho-ah-beng talk.

If the PAP has got b-lls, fight one-on-one in this coming election and take away the GRC system. Let us see what the PAP MP’s are made of.

6. anonymous 2 May 2010

After 2 decades of GRC backdoor entries and mentoring, what quality was inducted? Look at the mess around. Cut out the GRC, NCMP and NMP, Singapore will progress solidly and confidently with the best of battle-tested in Parliament.

7. Fugazzi 2 May 2010

As long as this GRC,NCMP n NMP schemes or system is not jettisoned or eschewed Singaporeans as a whole are going to suffer lah.
    What ”good” is going to come out if a person who is nominated or inducted into the system is simply a ”rubber-stamper” and most likely a yes man/woman.
    The incumbents dont want questioners, all they want is someone or some people to simply throw about a few qeustions or offer views to simply add colour to the jaded parliamentary circus lor.
    At the end of it all – utter waste of tax money and hoodwinking the citizenry. Not less not more – that is what it is all about.

8. sgvoices 3 May 2010

@JW

She is helping GMS because GMS do not know alot of terminology. I was quite disappointed to see GMS, a politician, used the word “parliamentary vote” wrongly. Alot of people might misunderstand what GMS is trying to say.

Aniway I don’t see the problem with the GRC system. If all the GRCs were broken down to SMCs, the opposition STILL do not have enough candidates to field each and every seat, the result would be the same. Similarly if the opposition get 51%, they would get all the seats, then should PAP ask for proportionate representative system?

And all of you got statistics WRONG. 66.6% is VOTED, if including walkover, the PAP has around 85%+ support of citizens minimally counting votes and polls from tanjong pagar, marine parade etc.

I think NCMP is not good, not at such high levels, and should be equally applied to both PAP and Non-PAP “losers”.

NMP system is good. NMP allows people from diverse background, but without political motivation, to have their voices heard. People from economics, sociology, arts, sports, businesses, SMEs, NGOs etc. etc. will come in to share their views.

Why noone criticize on the oppositions always being a “NO person”, and the US system votes on election lines?

9. YABO 3 May 2010

I don’t know why the media people seem to now think they have stumbled upon a lovely jingle to throw at oppositions after taking a cue from the WKS-LTK exchange in parliament. LTK can’t think on his feet and looked like a fool for walking into WKS’s trap in the parliament. Now the media are simply aping their political masters.

GMS has taken the correct approach. Just say NO for now. Later, if you really lost the election and are really offered the position as dictated by constitution, just take it and reverse your position. Say something noble like: “Despite my reservations against the NCMP scheme, I feel that this is the next best way I can serve the citizenry by adding my voice in the parliamentary debates.” Easy as peas. This is politics and PAP has reversed their positions on stuff on countless occasions.

10. in the past, when there were 33% of electoral votes, how many opposition seats were there?

today, when there are 33% of electoral votes, we know the answer : 2 seats.

again, we ask the simple question – what has changed?

the way numbers are counted? 33% means something else now?

or is it that the GAME has changed? the rules of the game? the GRC? the NMP NCMP NCC NPCC RC RCC CCC?

11. WhattoDo 3 May 2010

If Goh Meng Seng personal view/interest is bigger than the communal one, in other words, he is not fit to represent us!

Then GMS, please do not run in the next GE. If you lose, you deserve it.

Just another low-grade politican’s circus act – put a safety net before the outcome of an election.

I will skip his rally.

12. whyplaytheirgame? 3 May 2010

This is exactly what should be made known to the public. NCMP can’t vote- what’s the point?! I’d say exactly what he has said if I was in his shoes.

13. samllfly 3 May 2010

My strongest and most sincere advice to Mr. Goh Meng Seng is to quit politic and join his wife and daughter in Hong Kong to lead a more meaningful and fulfilling life. What is the point of sacrificing and slogging for ungrateful Singaporeans to go-against this bunch of million-dollar nerds at the expense of his love-one without due political and monetary rewards to commiserate his sacrifices?

Selling his 4-room flat to fund his contest in the next G-election in Tampines GRC is likening to hitting an egg against a huge rock which is destined to fail and break. The despicable million-dollar nerds have abundant resources and relentless fund from the “state coffer” accumulated over a few decades to support their political propagandas and commercial rhetoric.

A typical Singaporean will never appreciate his (GMS’s) heroic sacrifices in taking on the incumbent to seek redress for the ordinary main-street-men as selfishness prevails over righteousness. As long as the residents of Tampines vote for this idiotic Mah B T, even he had “screwed-up” all his tasks as a National Development Minister, he will not lose his million-dollar annual remuneration because he can always be reshuffled to take on other political post on the condition that he is still the “blue-eye-boy” of his puppeteers.

The despicable million-dollar miw have already tweaked and twisted all political institutions and rules cum regulations to their benefits and advantages hence, it is meaningless to talk about “fair and equal” political competitions among various political parties.

The incumbent by having total political hegemony will have all resources and avenues to reach out to the critical mass with minimum effort and maximum efficiency which will further strengthen the iron grip of power on local political scene.

What is the point of taking on non-rewarding political task just for the sake of illustrating to the world that Singapore is a democratic country under the guise of G-election is likening in putting up a farce with hilarious farting scene?

14. angry_one 3 May 2010

Symbolically it’s the right move, but then that was exactly how the PAP wrestled power from the Barisan Socialist in the early days. The rivals boycotted parliament, LKY moved in and declared all of parliament belonging to PAP.

15. hahaha 3 May 2010

some guys here seem to think that politicians need to be well articulate, well groomed, speak like a toast master, etc… and they will do a better job? Lip service more likely.
    End of the day, you r still stuck with these $3m salary ministers, who care no one but themselves.
    GMS may not be the best, or even above average, not as if all the PAP clowns are any better. But if he who dares step up to fight for us, he shall have my backing!

16. GMS’s heroic sacrifices??

What heroic sacrifices has GMS made?

Claiming to sell your 4-rm apartment and then announcing it all over the internet to milk publicity is not a heroic act. As far as I know the apartment is not even sold yet!

If this is termed an “heroic sacrifice” then what would we call JBJ’s?

17. There is a theoretical dichotomy to the rationale. If both winner and loser are allowed equal voting rights, then why the need for an election?

I can understand where GMS is coming from but the argument needs to be more precise.

Having voting rights is also useless. The representation of NCMPs in parliament is too small to make a difference. However, the voice in parliament can make a diff. JBJ realised this albeit a bit late when he decided to take up the NCMP post.

18. PeterC 3 May 2010

Sorry GMS, but you do not impress me as one that can do much to voice the peoples problem and take on the PAP MPs.More of attention seeking and self glorification not unlike Tan Kin lian ex NTUC CEO sorry to be BLUNT.
    What we need are more politicians like Sylvia who talks a lot of sense and possibly Ken J with a team of dedicated young turks with new ideas.Not one announcing the sale of his flat to go into politics and should that fail pack and go join his family.That in all fairness to Singaporeans who stay and fight which includes CSJ and JBJ who fought right up to his grave is a non starter in POLITICS.

19. aurvandil 3 May 2010

If you watch the entire clip, you can see that while Goh Meng Seng was not very articulate, he did manage to corner Alvin Yeo with the point of why Alvin Yeo voiced strong opposition to the NCMP amendments but ended up voting for it without any changes. Debra Soon quickly diverted to Gillion Koh who said something which seemed to have nothing about the topic at hand. Debra Soon then cut in to buy Alvin Yeo more time. When Alvin Yeo finally spoke, all he could muster was a feeble point of how he voted for the NCMP bill because there were parts of it which he liked. This begs the obvious question. If there were parts which were not good, should Alvin Yeo have proposed an amendment to the bill? Surely we cannot have bad parts of bills passing into law simply because they were bundled with “good stuff”.

20. The SS 3 May 2010

The citizens must VOTE ONLY FULL- MP’s. not NCMP’s. The PAP-led government must wake up to the PEOPLES’ Choice and not continue to buy their fairy tale.

Wake up Citizens. It’s time to get more REAL MP’s working for US.

21. Lydia M 3 May 2010

GMS was rambling thoroughout the talking point segment about voting rights for NCMP and proportion representation, whatever the latter is. He was rambling on incoherently and the host had to interject to keep him from straying off topic.

NSP does not seem to have a united stand either. When asked about increasing NCMP seats from 3 to 9. GMS said his party was neutral. When asked if he opposed the NCMP; GMS said he opposed as NCMP does not have any voting rights.

GMS then went on to ramble about voting rights. Alvin reminded GMS and the audience that the scheme was for the opposition to showcase their skills and platform. GMS should have stopped there, but instead chose to harp on the voting rights. When GMS repeated his call this time to “give him full parliamentary vote”; Alvin told him pointedly that he and/or his team would have to win the elections first. Constitutional powers cannot be granted to the losers when the electorate had rejected them outright.

GMS then went on to add that NSP members were free to decide for themselves if they wanted the NCMP post.

Along with voting rights, GMS went on rambling about PR or proportion representation. This is something that GMS or NSP have yet to be clear about.

Unfortunately GMS came across more like a kopitiam Ah Pek than a politician.

22. Kelvin 3 May 2010

“There is a theoretical dichotomy to the rationale. If both winner and loser are allowed equal voting rights, then why the need for an election?”

Exactly. Goh Meng Seng fails to understand this.

23. David 3 May 2010

What Singaporeans want is balance of power – two-party-system – and not some NCMP or NNP treat to make-believe there are legitimate opposing voices. Our Current president is limping on one-leg and additonal crutch borrowed from pap. Thus we need to give him another leg (alternative party) to balance properly and provide true check & balance in Singapore landscape. Otherwise how to you expect ex-NKF and ex-Renchi being exposed for holding on to power for so long without any accountability and transparency in the past.

24. A Mohd 3 May 2010

GMS has been spending too much time on internet forums and has developed very strong personal views that I doubt are in any way representative of the cross-section of the electorate. This comes across crystal clear when GMS opens his mouth. Its almost as if he is telling the audience, “I knows what is best”.

He really needs to spend more time out on the streets listening to the concerns of the people rather an flaming on internet forums and being opinionated. It’s such a put-off.

25. GMS supporter 3 May 2010

please! You guys, your attacks are childish! GMS rejecting the NCMP seat and even SELLING HIS HOUSE is a BIG Sacrifice! In Singapore, he can be said to be like a WAR HERO Man! U should all RESPECT GMS, yes obviously with his years of political experience he knows what is the best, so you guys just shut up!

26. gewatchdog 4 May 2010

Talking Point is all choreograph in their favour with their people having scripted questions with prepared answer as shown by the previous pasir ris MP bullet train answer preventing Sylvia the chance to talk to previous talking point and this time round this alvin yeo came very prepared with ten years series answer except for the question posed on him by GMS. So talking point is not the right platform to gauge the performance of politician especially opposition.
    Even LKY couldn’t reply in a fluent manner when journalist posed him questions. He used to pause many times during his answers.
    Only through rallies and parliament debates you can gauge the debating skills of politicians and their performance.

27. Breadspit 4 May 2010

This is no English contest. This is no Man Hunt contest. This is not even a spatting contest. We are looking for fair fight but obviously, it is 3 against 1.

Look at both of the men. Which one looks more sincere and passionate in his beliefs? The answer is very obvious, only the blind cannot see it.

28. Da Juice 4 May 2010

GMS supporters should really stop making up excuses for his poor performance on TV. Its pathetic.

He is no threat to the PAP and gives opposition as a whole a very bad name. This is the reason why he was put on TV.

His support base should lay off the weed. Hopefully they will start to think rationally.

29. Breadspit 4 May 2010

PAP supporters and GMS detractors should face the truth! Alvin Yeo sound like reading off a script! But when asked difficult question or banged by difficult situation, he could only stammer! Luckily Debra Soon and Dr Koh came to the rescue! It is so bloody obvious that the whole thing is set up to make Alvin Yeo looks good but as a senior counsel, he could only manage to give that kind of crap answer. GMS is just too kind not to bicha his lobang, just ask him straight, did the PAP Party Whip apply during the voting? He will look extremely dumb folded.

On the other hand, GMS rebutted Alvin Yeo TWICE! One on his mumbling about coalition government is weak and one on having opposition noise makers into parliament! Can anyone here have such quick reactions to make such off the cuff rebuttals? Alvin Yeo was apparently jumping when GMS said we do not want people who agree blindly for the sake of agreeing… i.e. the PAP MPs!

Debra Soon came to the rescue again. If Alvin Yeo continues to make noise about PAP MPs being voted in, most likely he would say but you are new and you just walk into parliament just like that due to the GRC system! Look at GMS expression. He is waiting to throw that bomb at Alvin Yeo but Debra Soon stopped it!

People, look deep down, not on the surface. GMS English may not be fluent, but he has better brains than a Senior Counsel!

30. GMS supporter 4 May 2010

DA juice you should shut up, GMS’s performance was good and he is

Breadspit, GMS is highly experienced, so stop thinking that you are planning for him. He knows how to execute his moves right and this is not the time yet. You sound like you are better then GMS himself? And he obviously won in the talking point and even without a fair fight he has shown himself to be exceptional. YES GMS is SINCERE and PASSIONATE and TALENTED. We should vote him in.

GEwatchdog should just go home and be a PAP watchdog!GMS will never stoop so low to join in and participate in a chereographed show by the stupid state. This was not choreographed!

You all should show some sense of gratitude to GMS. He sold his house and claim he will not take the seat. He deserves your gratitude and respect.

31. Concerned 4 May 2010

“GMS was rambling thoroughout the talking point segment about voting rights for NCMP and proportion representation, whatever the latter is.”

I believe Goh Meng Seng is talking about the Proportional Representative system which is practiced in countries like NZ. According to Goh how it works is if the opposition wins 30% of the valid votes and the PAP wins 70%, PAP gets to chose 7 out of 10 MPs in parliament with 3 seats going to the opposition. This is what I gather Goh was attempting to say and liken it to a coalition govt. Problem is coalition govt only comes about when no party is in full control over parliament, i.e. a 2/3th majority.

Alvin Yeo countered and I correctly that it would result in a party platform that would pander to “fringe voters”. In other words, NSP being a Chinese based party, it would pander to the Chinese voters and hope to secure at least 30% or more of the votes. They will leave the PAP to sort out the issues of the minority groups. In other words, NSP would elect if they chose, to play the RACE card. I am personally against the RP system proposed by Goh for this very reason.

Goh came out of this interview rather badly and I think it has hurt is already tarnished reputation.

By the way, Goh did not say he will not take up the NCMP seat. He said he will not take up the NCMP seat if it does not come with “voting rights”. Its quite ironic when he said the PAP “wants to have their cake and eat it”. The same can be said of Goh Meng Seng as well.

32. Thank you all for your comments.

For the Proportional/proportionate representation, please be patient and I will write about it soon.

But you can read about my take on the issue on my blog:

http://singaporealternatives.blogspot.com/2010/04/grc-ncmp-vs-proportionate.html

Politics is about having voices as well as the will of the people registered in parliament. It is not just about winning or losing an election.

The most stable government in the world is Switzerland who is ruled by a coalition government, a result of proportional representation system.

There are lots of study on New Zealand case on the implications of the transition from First Past Post system to a PR.

33. Although I’m against the NCMP thing, I do feel that there is no harm for opposition party members to take up NCMP if they qualify. NCMP will allow them to have broader exposure and let Singapore citizen see his/her performance in parliament. If they do well, I’m sure people will vote for them in the next election.

What a stupid move. It’s just like the Fajar Sec School Judo team sit down protest. No benefit at all.

34. Gunny 4 May 2010

With all these obsession with voting rights for NCMP and Proportional Representation, you have to wonder if some of these so-called opposition politicians are really in it to serve the citizens or in it for their own agenda. Sadly this is the sorry state of opposition politics today. Gone are the good old days of JBJ.

35. smallfly 4 May 2010

Will all of your stop quoting JBJ! When he is alive and “countering against” this bunch of despicable million-dollar nerds of the miw, does anyone of yours help him to be discharged off his bankruptcy “pounce” upon him by the dirtiest-oldest-man-LKY? Just to illustrate an example!

Stop talking about mental and moral support to JBJ to disguise your hypocrisy and cowardice in “frightening” to stand up for your own right and expect others to “strive” for justice on your behalf!

Once again, GMS since you have the enviable opportunity, pack up and leave for greener pasture by bequeathing all these bunches of ungrateful Singaporeans!!!! It is more important to take care of yourself and your family than risking for ingrates under the tyranny rule of the despicable miw!

36. Gunny 4 May 2010

No one was quoting JBJ. All I did was point out clearly what opposition politics today has degenerated into. It is most unfortunate that some like ‘smallfry’ are in a state of denial. For them opposition any opposition, even by name only, would do. This is why we have a truly sorry opposition bunch today who will give PAP the passing mark and are willing to work withing the OB set by the PAP and grovel for scraps like 2nd class NCMP seats amongst itself.

I sincerely hope for Singapore’s sake Goh takes your advise and leave or just quit politics. Don’t wait for the elections. LEAVE NOW and take the pretenders from WP, SDA and RP with you. With opposition like this, the end result is that bona-fide oppositions are crowded out. The nation loses.

PAP have never been known to toy with political opposition they find a threat. JBJ, CSJ, Tang LH, Francis Seow, Tan Wah Piow and those incarcerated in Operation ColdStore. They would much less put their REAL political opponents on state owned national TV.

My advise to those in denial; MAN UP and face the reality of the situation.

37. Breadspit 5 May 2010

PAP IB is really working over time here. But please go back to seek your big boss advice.

GMS has done an excellent job setting Alan Yeo up right from the start. GMS is no doubt a formidable and respectable opponent that PAP has to take seriously.

GMS started from saying NSP wanted to cut down PAP dominance by reducing its MPs. Then with a twist, talking about PAP’s agenda. Why did he do that? This is directly linked to his subsequent remark about having undesirable PAP MPs who only know how to agree blindly for the sake of agreeing!

GMS laid down the trap further, talking about the root problem of GRC not providing proportionality to represent opposition voices. With another twist, he talked about the Proportional Representation System. He is fully well prepared with such a link.

Linking the two traps together, GMS was going to make the kill, saying GRC is the root problem of dis-proportionality as well as a back door for “PAP noise makers” to walk into parliament! He was going to make that precise contrasting effect to demolish Alvin Yeo’s point but Debra Soon stopped it.

With another twist, he talked about the lack of voting rights of NCMPs right from the start. And at the later part, coordinated with another attack which embarrass Alvin Yeo!

This is a very carefully planned and well coordinated attack ever seen from opposition members so far. It was carried out so beautifully that even the opponents (THREE OF THEM!)are unaware right from the start and totally caught off guard when he did it so subtely. Well, except for Debar Soon’s stopping GMS from going right into that attack of Alvin Yeo’s legitimacy.

Alvin Yeo, as a senior counsel, is totally out maneuvered by someone who have no legal training!

GMS has set up it so well, just like a Queen Counsel! He knew how to get his opponent’s knee jerk reaction, make him jump so that he could say something wrong which he could capitalize it for the final killing! He knew exactly what tick his opponent, exactly what he will say, anticipated his opponents’ angle and perspectives… best of all, laying mines along the way without even the host knowing!

If you guys really think this guy is some lightweight, a no brainer, then be prepared to be shocked into total demolition. He is one of the best tactician I have ever seen.

38. GMS supporter 5 May 2010

smallfly

GMS is the next JBJ!

Gunny how dare you! GMS is a real politician! He will definitely win one seat, with his warchest now able to fund a good campaign should his flat be sold. WE should all make donations to him to help out this war hero too!

39. rwkc 5 May 2010

We have to ask ourselves: Are we satisfied with the policies of the papies? How much has the average man in the street benefited, from papy rule, these past years?

It is evident that many people are finding it increasingly difficult to cope with ever rising costs of living, which are in the main fueled by government policies.

So, do we still want the papies to have free rein over public policies?

If the answer is NO, then vote all opposition parties in, and in the process kick out some if not all of the papy elites. The future for Singapore is having a strong opposition in Parliament.

40. Breadspit 5 May 2010

Anyone who remembers the classic Queen Counsel questioning of Goh CT in court here over JBJ and Tang LH defamation case would remember how the QC sneaked in the attack with a seemingly innocent question like “How do you feel?”

It is a classic QC technique of catching the opponents unaware by using simple innocent questions.

Think again people, we hardly have any of such quality opposition members in town who knows how to debate with such fine tactic.

41. All this talk about out-manouvreing is really meaningless to the ordinary voter. (Neither is it apparent and seems more like spin which I will explain).

One thing GMS got right imho is that its a win or lose thing in an election. Either one gets into parliament or one doesn’t.

However, the dilation of the back door argument ie that NCMP is not good but only because no voting right is not a strong one and dilutes the basis.

Ultimately to voters, the rationale for applying proportionate representation is lost on the average voter. How does this make the electoral system better?

Everyone in Singapore knows that decisions in parliament are all one-sided. Changing to have a minority voting against issues doesn’t change that perception. Its still going to be one sided. Hence the need for proportionate representation can backfire in the voter’s perception in that the suggestion is just to enable opposition politicians a slice of the MP salary rather than benefiting Singaporeans.

Registering a point by vote or words is irrelevant. Arguments by NCMP are similarly recorded in parliamentary records ie registered. A vote whether with or without opposition is still one-sided.

GMS needs to justify his desire for proportionate representation a lot more than merely that it should reflect % of voters or adopting (blindly or not) a foreign system of parliament. For every example of a proportionate/proportional electoral system, there are 2 eg UK and US that do not practice that.

42. Errata: Last sentence is incorrect. There are slightly more prop electoral systems than plurality/majority ones. However, argument remains esp when the leading democracies outside Europe do not use it in GEs.

43. Also lim 1 March 2011

Many criticise UK and US FPTF winner takes all electoral systems. In fact Continental European and Aus/NZ have moved away or are moving away from FPTP system. Even in parts of the UK they are moving away rfom FPTP system (e.g. N. Ireland). Why are they moving away? Because they realise there is a fairer system then assures minority of parliamentary representation based on their vote. US is slow to change. US still uses Imperial measurement and for weather reports does not use Celsius. So what’s so great about following US FPTP system? Look how it divides the nation into Republicans and Democrats. And outside the West, FPTP is often used by repressive regimes e.g. in Africa. Great: we chose a model favoured by repressive governments. Why can’t we follow the model in Japan or S Korea? Why must we follow USA’s, UK’s, Uganda’s and Zimbabwe’s?

44. Also lim 1 March 2011

Japan, S Korea and Thailand actually use a semi-proportional system or parallel voting system, so not all parliamentary seats are based on proportion. This may be a model for S’pore as a compromise if S’pore govt won’t stand for PR like in Continental Europe, Israel or NZ. Well, half-baked reform is better than no reform for S’pore. Of course many will argue that S’poreans won’t be able to understand the new system and this and that. If S’poreans can understand all the many complex laws and policies, S’poreans will be able to understand simple PR or semi-proporational system where say half of MPs are on FPTP system and the other half of MPs are on proportionally returned. Whatz the matter? ‘fraid of 20 opposition MPs in the house who are returned fair and square under level playing field rules?

45. He is a libertarian Republican, as far as I can tell. If he wins, and is as good as he looks, he will be a superstar in the GOP.

46. Ooh, a reflective headsweats hat! Hmm, a running favorite? I like my Nike capris. Perfect for not-too-cold and not-too-warm days!