Singapore has a nascent national identity despite being lacking the depth of culture, linguistics and history which many other nations possess, said a group of panelists representing academia, the legislature and civil society.
And while this represents good progress in the country’s 45 years of existence, significant challenges still remain in its developing of a strong and coherent sense of nationhood, they said.
This was the consensus the four panelists reached on the question of whether Singapore was a nation or merely a state during the Singapore Forum on Politics, held on Saturday (15 May) at the National University of Singapore. Organised by the NUS Political Science Alumni, the bi-annual event – in its sixth edition this year – was attended by over 80 members of the public.
While Singapore may not be considered a nation in a cultural sense of the term, it could be regarded as one in the political sense, Associate Professor Kenneth Paul Tan of the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy. Singapore does exist as a political community, in which the State articulates a common will and shared destiny and thereby seeks to “concretise” a national identity, he said.
Social and communal ties between citizens have also fostered a unique Singaporean identity, NUS Associate Professor Paulin Tay Straughan said.
The sociologist and Nominated Member of Parliament said that existence of such an identity is evident from the sense of otherness and the awareness of differences from foreign communities and countries, something which Singaporeans feel when they travel overseas.
For People’s Action Party Member of Parliament Hri Kumar Nair, the fact that Singaporeans are concerned with issues like immigration and influx of foreigners shows that there is a growing sense of national identity. Rather, it would be a problem if no such reaction occurs, as it would indicate that citizens had no sense of belonging and identity.
He added that nation building in Singapore is a “work in progress”. He noted that similar debates over national identity are occurring in countries with comparatively longer and richer histories and cultural identities, such as Germany and the United States.
The panel also included Mohd Nizam Ismail, chairman of the Association of Muslim Professionals and banking professional, who focused on offering the perspective of a member of an ethnic minority and civil society activist.
The 80-strong audience raised concerns on various factors that could undermine the development of a strong national identity, such as immigration, S’s economically-driven corporatist ethos, lack of space for political activism and unstable race relations.
With regards to the corporatist nature of Singaporean society, Professor Tan acknowledged that the focus on tangibles and quantitative approach to decision-making in Singapore “may be too technocratic, too narrow and not democratic enough”.
He also agreed with the observation by a member of the audience that political activism was an important expression of citizens’ sense of ownership and national identity, noting that that there have been signs of growing civic action and grassroots activism. These include the petitions against the demolition of the old National Library and the redevelopment of Chek Jawa.
Mohd Nizam agreed with Professor Tan on the potential pitfalls of an economically-driven Singaporean ethos, saying that it may result in greater resentment from minorities against government policy. This was especially so on the labour front.
Many top employment opportunities and scholarships have been taken up by foreigners, especially from China, as a result of foreign talent schemes and the meritocratic system. This creates an impression that minorities have to face greater competition from both the majority group and foreigners when seeking top-level opportunities, which in turn could damage race relations, he said.
Race-based policies may too undermine the efforts to build a strong national identity, Mohd Nizam said. These include racial categorisation on identity cards and the ethnic in public housing, with the latter placing undue disadvantages for minorities in terms of a limited market size when selling flats. This is because flat owners from ethnic minorities are forced to sell their flats to members of their minority group, in order to preserve the quotas.
In response to these concerns, Hri Kumar acknowledged that the system of meritocracy and some of the race-based policies, such as the various ethnic self-help organizations and Special Assistance Plan schools, may result in lack of interaction between people of different races and thereby inadvertently foster racial intolerance.
While acknowledging the problems the existing model throws up, he said that “meritocracy is what we settle on”, as a “not perfect, but sensible system”. He also emphasised the need for the government to govern within the context of the situation on the ground, citing the recent debate over mother tongue education as an indicator of strong feelings on the importance of cultural education in Singapore.
Nonetheless, race relations in Singapore and the progress made in this area is at the same time something to be celebrated, Hri Kumar said.
He related an experience he had whilst travelling in Thailand with two Chinese friends. As the trio approached a drinks stall on the streets of Bangkok, the vendor immediately identified them as Singaporean, even though they had not yet spoken to him.
“He said, ‘People of different skin colour walking together must be Singaporean’,” Hri Kumar said. Racial diversity and harmonious race relations have become a significant aspect of the Singaporean identity, locally and abroad.
“That’s our branding in the eyes of a Bangkok drinks seller,” he said.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Repeat after me:
Singapore is not a nation.
Singapore is not a state.
Singapore IS a corporation.
Cheaper better faster.
You die your business.
I cannot understand why we are always at this topic of Singapore having no culture.
Singaporeans are for one, fiercely patriotic and proud of our country; we possess a unique accent, distinct from any country in the world; we can switch up languages without the slightest hesitation up to 5-6 different languages in a single sentence, also uniquely Singapore; we held our own and fiercely defended our identity when we are associated with neighbouring Malaysia and Indonesia; Our Malays view themselves differently from Malaysian Malays; Our Chinese see China Chinese as a totally different breed of human beings; we are usually obedient and oxymoronically rebellious in our own quiet way, mystifying all foreigners who visited us; we accept nothing less than excellence; we embraces influences from both East and West and blend it in our own uniquely Singaporean way; we are civilised to the point of ultimate tolerance even when our government often make decisions that we dun agree with; whereever we go, we astound ppl and leave a mark of Singaporean-ness there…
What no-culture are you talking abt?
What non-history are you talking abt?
What lack of identity are you talking abt?
Perhaps only those “elites” whom lives among the angmohs and foreigners; speaks exclusively english and almost never bought mixed-veg rice from the kopitiam ; would feel the lack of identity and culture.
We have a culture, we have an identity; just stop letting unskilled immigrants into our country – they are the one whom are diluting the identity and culture.
whether it’s a nation or state, it does not regard its own citizens in the same way other countries regard them.
this is probably because those in power got used to the insignificance of the citizen’s status such that it can perpetuate its agenda without due regard for the status of its citizens, and yet suffer no repercussions.
except that this is not entirely true nowadays – it understands it is in a fix, and that’s why you don’t see an election called right now. that would be foolish.
WHATS WORSE THAN BEING A 2ND CITIZEN IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY IS BEING A 2ND CITIZEN IN OWN COUNTRY.
Why would a state require a military force?
If we are a state, which country are we a state of? China?
I agree in that regardless of the status. the citizens are treated like shit.
Singapore IS a corporation.
Cheaper better faster.
You die your business.
One swallow does not make a summer. Four swallows (panelists) make a whole season of spring, summer, autumn and winter.
It does not represent the general consensus of the population’s opinion. A wider poll should be conduct, not only from professional point of view. How much do these four chaps know about our emotions and sentiments to our nationhood and cultural diversity.
Singapore is neither a nation nor a state, it is the dynasty of the famiLEE.
Our national identity and citizenry is encroahed by the influx of over a million foreigners. Are we a nation for Singaporeans or a nation for foreigners?
Singaporeans definitely form a nation – we have common points of experience – our public school system, National Service, etc which bind us together. Perhaps not as fiercely as any nation with centuries of history, but we are one people.
Our current enemy currently controls the apparatus of the state – the ruling party which has decided that foreigners are superior to us in every other way, allowing them to come here to compete with us on a non-level playing field.
LOL, finally a PAP MP calling a spade a spade.
“Hri Kumar acknowledged ……..some of the race-based policies, such as the various ethnic self-help organizations and Special Assistance Plan schools…”
Looks like Hri Kumar going to be out of work soon or going to receive a ‘tea’ invite from LKY or LHL.
Singapore IS a FamiLEE BUSINESS.
Cheaper better faster.
The FamiLEE will drive spurs into your hide if you are not Cheaper Better or Faster
You die your business, die someplace else please.
Singapore is not a nation
Singapore is not a state
Singapore is famiLee
i didn’t look at the comments when i type mine. looks like every1 thinks the same ~
‘The Pledge is not an Ideology but an Aspiration’ – what does this line signal? Statehood is not an ideology, but an aspiration. Nationhood is not an ideology, but an aspiration. Aspire all we want but until Chief CEO says it is an ideology that is accessible to all, it is merely an aspiration.
Singapore IS a corporation with the famiLee as the shareholders.
Cheaper better faster.
You die your business.
Singapore is not a country.
I wonder why they have “Nation-al” service when we are not a nation.
Do not sing “Majulah Toalanpa”
If no political scientist knows for sure whether Singapore is a nation or a state or it is ‘work in progress,why no let Singapore firstly be called a city-state.In many ways it has a lot of advantages.Also,the political structure could have a vast different between a nation and a city.
Firstly, city citizens do not need a PM or SM or a MM.Just a Mayor is enough to replace them all,thus saving hundred of millions of taxpayers money a yr.We are willing to pay a sum of say $500,000 a yr and a comfortable home for a mayor managing this city.Secondly,instead of having 80+ MPs and their Cabinet posts,why not have just two dozens of elected city-councilors to replace them,thus another hundred of millions dollars saved.The best of all is the elimination of the Presidential position.Wondered how much money could have been saved without Mr.Nathan staying in Istana palace?Security and maintenance per yrs cost us millions of dollars a yr.without adding his salary and perks entitlements.Any disagreement on this one?
Everyone posts the same memes when trolled by the notion that Singapore is anything other than a nation.
It’s all a load of definitional wank anyway. At any rate, perhaps we could discuss the qualities possessed by Singapore that are not possessed by a city, a state or a corporation? All of the above possess shared history, culture, values and internal lingo.
We were on the cusp of nationhood. Then CDAC, Mendaki, Sinda were formed, taking us a step back. The ‘FT’ policy moved us a few steps back. Now very clear that we’re a corporatocracy.
If Singapore is not a nation, why do NATIONal Service for men.
The politician who first said that Singapore is not a country (Mr Shanmugam) should first be sacked immediately.
Other than the implication of national service, the other grave implication is this:
Pedra Banca.
It cannot belong to a state. You know the implications, i need not pen it.
zero
In my opinion, the whole debate is waste of resources and time by a bunch of people with nothing better to do.
Whether the people running it (MM, SM, PM, MPs, Ministeries, etc) treated it as one does not change the fundamental fact that Singapore is a nation, a country.
I just do not undserstand why Singapore needs to maintain a “FULL ARM FORCES” in terms of both offencive and deffensive where Singapore is just merely a State and not a Country?
Why are the million-dollar nerds so stupid in wasting billions of Taxpayers’ money to build and maintain a strong SAF?
All these money spend on Ministry of Defense should be channelled to better use!
Perhaps the constant harping of ‘sg is not a nation’ serves as a prelude to something more sinister – like LKY selling sg to china and all his PAP dogs running off.
Race-based policies may too undermine the efforts to build a strong national identity, Mohd Nizam said.
Yet, he is the president of Association of Muslim professionals.
He is not walking his talk !
Hasn’t Law Minister K Shanmugam said that “We are not a nation but a city”! WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sure deserving of the MULTI-Millions he gets ANNUALLY like his “roommates” for such “volcanic lave”! What UTTER CONTRADICTION to the other Mil-Ministers!
sg is a factory that builds cheap dormitories and rented them out at a high price to her workers. and when workers are old and useless, they will be shipped elsewhere and left to die.
Agree. Let’s disband Mendaki which was the first formed. Then Sinda, CDAC and AMP.
WE just need a Mayor & a few helpers to manage Singapore. Why have so many leeches in the Parliament? All I know is that they talk rubbish & waste tonnes of our money!! We have MM, SM, PM & another 7 in the PM office!! If he couldnt do the job, perhaps someone that’s cheaper & faster gets a shot! Stop wasting our money if you cant do the job & stop telling us how to live our lives!
I wonder what all these MPs do, except to fall asleep during Parliament meeting & telling us take up low paying jobs! BTW, I love my country Singapore; just that, I cant stand these Elites & their better than thou mentality!
we have 5 mayors already wat ! you want one more ah ? no need lah.what for ? siow !
the day i accept that singapore is merely a city rather than a nation, i stop caring about the influx of people coming into the city of Singapore.
The transition from british rule to LKY rule is just like the changing of corporate ownership.
The citizens are just like workers. I’m looking forward to the day of changing company..and maybe for once live in a real nation.
What a bunch of useless idiots – sure, some of the points they brought up have merits but is that the complete & accurate picture. Firstly, which of them had served NS/reservist? The late GKS started NS because he cared for a NATION, not a city state. I seriously doubt he foresee using NS to create a safe haven for 37% of the population to be foreigner, who can come and go as they please. In GKS words, these (4 panelists) are just Dreamers – talk only, action zero.
There is always this mistaken presumption that to build a nation, the way is to clobber together a bunch of races, religions, different skins colors, languages, etc… in other words, we need to integrate foreigners into our society. It is true that an atmosphere of harmony is very important for an large mass of people to live/work together, but is this the only silver bullet? Does that mean countries with predominantly one race, religion, skin color, etc… can never become a nation? What is always NOT brought up is that the citizens of a nation must always be accorded some privileges/benefits above that of foreigners, and not just on an equal footing. Are there 2nd class citizenry after 50 years of self-rule while foreigners are considered as 1st class? Is there elitism in our society? Do our leaders raise the wage rate of the general population first before giving themselves 8.8% pay raise in the worst recession of our “city” history?
The issue of this “…city state rather than seeing ourselves as a nation…” came up because the garhem found they couldn’t justify why there is ‘suddenly’ 37% of population made up of foreigners. So they are now selling that Singapore should be analogous with some CITIES that have more foreigners than natives. But they still have not come up with an analogous for the highest paid ministers in the world, except that they are the “Best”.
Let’s do some critical thinking and history recall.
1. How we can be a “nation” when we now have 4 classes of people here with many TONGUES-IN-CHEEK “attachment” reasons against us natives:
a. harry and his elites?
b. FT elites promoted by harry and harry elites till we the native PMETs also become 3rd class to the FTs?
c. FWs who are here to do jobs we “refuse” to do because we’re lazy and daft?
d. Then there’s the $10 MILS of OUR MONEY SPENT FOR INVIGORATING US “to integrate” with bot newbie FT citizens AND PRs TOO? – See thier PLOY to even USE US natives as “carrots & OUR money” to ENTICE new PRs to take up citizenship?
e. And so we were asked by stupid labour “chief” to be cheaper better faster when it’s KNOWN that it is some of the FTs & most FWs that brought down the “Productivity” to “average” only 1% a year in the last 10 yrs as told by former & last PM GCT?
f. NOW……… Are WE NATIVES now being MADE 3rd,4th or 5th class citizens IN OUR COUNTRY? And have “their” latest law minister them tell US THAT “WE ARE NOT A NATION”? Only a city? IS THAT an Insult? An injury” OR A “MURDER” of OUR NATIONHOOD FOLKS?
2. Of Mayors and Town Councils? Was it not harry who said said City Councils (with Mayors too!) inherited from the British don’t work as we don’t need them? As MPs are sufficient? WHY THE DID he then introduce “Town Councils” – See the harry PLOY once again folks?
3. Last but not least – Is harry a “twiddler” of sorts? Tell us folks or otherwise as I am dying to know the thinking and CONSENSUS out there!
Native Folks,
work harder. meritocrazy the Singapore style. they had always been consistent. no surprises. just being pragmatic.
A nation is not a destination – it is a struggle to transcend……….our problem is we thought we had arrived. Had we?
Kudos to theforgottongeneration.
Well thought, well written, well analysed.
Even if s’pore is not a nation (it is not at the moment), so what ? Does it matter ?
If singapore is a State, who is the motherland? Who is the country of Singapore, the state, if that is the case?
by the heading, is SFP saying that A State can be without a Country? Yes or No?
why din the panelist invite LTK or Chiam or Sylvia ? These represent the 33.3% right?
@ zero
You are right ON THE DOT. If we are not a “country”, then I guess we must be some swamps right at the ar*e end of Asia, geographically, at least.
Former Australian PM, Paul Keating, famously said Australia is the ar*se end of the world.
Where did we got most of our recent migrants? Two of the world’s most populous “country” in the world. If we are not a country, then we must be “bucket”, maybe just like our sanitation 50 years ago.
Our national pledge is highfalutin.
If you feel this place is no good, by all means be the guest of other countries. The door is not close
Can’t handle rational irrefutable truths, so attack the host messenger? Bunker mentality works when all else failed?
A country without soul is like a wind without destiny – worse than a cork floating aimlessly in the ocean drift that was 45 years ago and still is today. How come we are in this state?
It is because some westernized people still refused to accept the importance of mother tonque
I feel that Singapore is a nation, a young nation as all other nations would had to begin with. We maybe still on the road of pathfinding, but definately a nation, a country with its sovernity.
I think that NS is a must to protect our interests. With the hostile regional environment, it is possible that any forces could just cross over and raid your wealth, rape your wife, and kill your family, if without the deterrence X of a huge combat force presence. Leaving the defences to the hand of others will be a fool. No one own you a living, and interventions by other powers in an event of invasion will depend on their interest in the region.