“Of course we have to put up with more crowded trains, more crowded buses, (but) it cannot be helped.” - MM Lee Kuan Yew, 18 Feb 2010, Channelnewsasia.
8 May 2010, letter to Straits Times Forum Page:
I TRAVEL regularly by MRT between Bukit Batok and Raffles Place during peak hours and often it is difficult to board the trains both in the morning and evening. Although peak-hour rush is inevitable and understandable, I would like to present some observations which may suggest some tips on easing the congestion.
SMRT runs several direct train services during morning peak hour to Pasir Ris, thus avoiding changing trains at Jurong East, which is very useful. However, it is very difficult to get on these direct services as they are jam-packed (especially at Bukit Batok), although a sizeable crowd gets off at Jurong East. To maximise the number of passengers heading into town on these direct services, they could skip Jurong East.
It would be useful if this service was extended in the reverse direction during even peak hour.
Sometimes, a few trains come one after the other in one- or two-minute gaps, after which there is a longer gap of three to five minutes before the next train arrives. Because of this unequal frequency, the last trains in the first batch have fewer passengers, while the first trains in the next batch are overly crowded. It would be useful if the frequency of services was adjusted so every train carries an optimum commuter load.
It is not uncommon to see a less crowded train closing its doors and pulling out from Jurong East towards Pasir Ris while a North-South train that has just arrived is about to open its doors. As a result, passengers need to wait for the next service. But many times, the next train may be heading to the terminus. Then by the time the service after that arrives, another trainload of people would have arrived on the North-South Line. If it is possible to synchronise these services, such situations can be avoided.
During evening peak hours, it appears the frequency of services on the North-South and East-West lines do not quite match the crowd that changes trains at Jurong East. Services in either direction on the East-West Line offload large crowds at Jurong East, while there are far fewer services on the North-South Line. Of course, the North-South Line has only one track and some additional tracks are being laid.
I also think that the number of grab-poles in the carriages is minimal – there is one row on either side or just one row in the middle. I do not know if this is one reason why passengers often choose to stay near the doors. To make people move towards the centre, more grab-pole rows may be required.
Krishnan Muralidharan
————
Pictures from pkchukiss flickr
If you have pictures of crowds at MRT stations, or if you want to share your experiences, please do email them to: theonlinecitizen@gmail.com.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

“Of course we have to put up with more crowded trains, more crowded buses, (but) it cannot be helped.”
Of course it cannot be helped….Speaking from a profit-generating view, i will want to squeeze the most people into the least number of train
Nowsaday with the “safety gates” installed..they seems to squeeze more people on platform…no danger mah
Of course we have to put up more ERP gantries, it cannot be helped!!
Of course we have to increase the GST from 5% to 7% to ‘help the poor,” it cannot be helped!!
Of course we have to “decrease” the transport fares 2.5% inorder to make more money for the shareholders, it cannot be helped!!
Of course we have to implement the ‘means-testing’ for patients in hospitals,so that the rich will pay more,
it cannot be helped!!
Of course we have to bring in people who have ‘spurs stuck in their hides’ to replace those ‘daft’ Singaporeans, else
there will be no one left voting for us,
it cannot be helped!!
You all can die! it’s your business,it cannot be helped!!!
The synchronising of connecting trains should be done at every interchange regardless of peak or off-peak hours. Been saying for years that it’s dangerous to have so many people at a station at any one time just waiting following the (failed) bomb attack back then.
As someone who lives in Pasir Ris and has been travelling to the west daily in the past month, the train frequency really needs to be adjusted. Sometimes the train is packed by the time it rolls into Tampines, and nobody can get in after Eunos.
The last time SMRT was MRT, a massive project funded by the govt and built for Singaporeans.
Then came TIBS, who took over MRT and changed the name to SMRT.
Now old man says the it is bound to be crowded.
Suffer all you fools with the bodily stench next to you and added bad breath.
For voting the PAP time and again.
Punishment for not thinking and not able to think.
Too bad. Compare Japan with this tiny red dot.
Have you taken a train in Japan’s subway during the peak hours.
Retired sumos are used to push and pack “sardines”.
So if you’re pressed on the glass window against the face; upon arrival your face could be asymmitrical and rearranged.
That’s development.
Any solutions?
Pink coach(es)?
Why bring up old news by an old fart made months ago ?
I think he is saying ‘We screwed up’ in politically correct terminology.
The issue is actually very fundamental–the MRT wasn’t designed for 5 or 6.6 million population. I recall the first few stations were designed by foreigners; you know their professionalism – what you specs, they deliver, no more no less. The station size is therefore just the length of the train. If the stations were build slightly bigger, then you can add 1-2 more carriages during peak times while holding to predictable arrivals & departures. Of course, with the train shorter than the station platform, people can get onto the tracks. Therefore you need barriers doors AS INITIALLY designed. Alas, we seem to go for the DFD concept (Design for Disaster) instead – no CCTVs, no handicapped access, no barrier screens, no air-con, no toilets, etc. Being pragmatic ppl, these will be added ONLY after a few have actually jumped onto the tracks, thereby disrupting operations and revenue$.
So, can’t be helped, lah! Per army folklore, actually 40 ppl can fit into a 3-tonner if everyone cooperates. We did 8 on a jeep once.
WE vote for a gov that cannot plan the population growth, transport infrastructure, housing requirement and even the late president of Singapore “Ong Teng Cheong” being part keeper of our reserve dosen’t know how much have we accumulated or worst how much we have lost. Well done Singaporean. We sow what we reap but unfortunately, our next generation is going to reap.
I would tell LKY that I will vote for opposition parties at the next election because “it cannot be helped”.
Looking at the frequency of the peak hour trains, I would boycott the trains should they increase the frequency further. The trains will crash or the tracks will fall apart. Of course, the problem cannot be helped. In the first place if they had wanted so many people in Singapore, at least 2 more carriages should have been added. Alas most train stations can only accomodate 6 carriages. Major reno is needed to increase that.
This train service is slow, jerky, noisy, long-winded, expensive, crammed and leads us to no-where, thanks to this highly incompetent PAP govt.
When is it damned crammed as is normally the case, I sometimes get ” molested” and “raped” by strangers. The offender? The PAP govt.
MM talks with a twisted tongue. If only he has the balls to take the train at peak hours, he is likely to be squeezed and trampled to death on his first ride. So MM, put your money where your mouth is. Go take a ride and then talk.
leekuanyew forever says this same phrase..whats wrong with you people? squeeze abit you all cowpei cowbus..my son travelled so far to teckgheephuat community centre from the cte he can see crowded mrt trains..he also don’t make noise..
than again what would leekuanyew know? he don’t even know which is the train head or the train tail…as for his son the prime minister..WORST he still holdin on his mrt ticket lookin for the bus conductor to punch his ticket…
like this how can the infrastructure handle 6.5million people?
see, every morning and evenings and many times during non peak hours on week days or week ends, many many roads are jammed.
trains also jammed. malls jammed like sardines. low quality of life. human-to-human communicable diseases.
i wonder how many still do not believe in human to human communicable diseases and believes its just their bad luck they fell sick after visiting the mall or crowded places?
we may be surprised by the revelation or findings.
GP business should be good? bright future?
The Opposition should pick on this and come up with ‘of course …….it canno be helped’ song tribute for PAP at the election rallies.
Reference : Lyrics in this thread contributed by ‘All the crap’
I am interested to see, how many Singaporeans who keeps saying they are going to vote for the opposition are actually going to do it?
How many so called Singaporeans are willing to screw their own countrymen for their own selfish reasons to make sure the MIW is still in power?
When LKY was voted the most influtential person in Times magazine, I see only one comment, in Time’s postings, against LKY, but the rest are supporting him.
So, it’s no use complaining, when we have our own people who chose to remain blind and are happy that other people are miserable as long as they are not affected.
And so far, I don’t see any real ideas how we can realistically improve our situation.
Before we can change the govt. we have to change the bastards that voted the MIW in the first place, or all the complaining and talk of voting the MIW out is just waste of time.
Siapa:
May 8, 2010 at 2:34 pm
Vote who in then?
Chiam? Have you seen the poor guy physically of late? Give him a good break to rest. Honestly we don’t think he has much time left.
Gomez (aka David Copperfield wannabe)? We’ll need to spend more $$$ mounting CCTVs throughout the entire island then.
LTK – Frankly he has reached his potential.
JBJ rider – His father maybe. He’s too slang. Too ang moh. Can’t even get a job after being unemployed without SM’s letter of recommendation. Can relate to ground or not? The other day he had to bend low listening to translation from his kaki communicating with a local. Neither speaks Tamil nor Chinese nor Malay. But what the heck 5 years MP’s pay is worth trying on late father’s ticket. Right?
CSJ – I don’t really really know after reading abt him and listening to him – is he SIngaporean or wat?
cannot be help lah….bo bian we are a cosmopolitan city …full of craps ..
“It can’t be helped.” It is like telling Singaporeans that PAP has not solution on public transport for you, so bear with us while we count our million dollars pay package in ivory tower and driving our expensive luxury car.
LKY should board the train himself in the peak hours so he will know whether ‘can be helped or cannot be helped’.
He lives in his ivory tower. what does LKY knows about the true suffering of the general public using public transports.
MRT and SBS Transit are going to increase their profit this coming July with the transport fare re-structuring.
The senior citizens holding concession cards are the ones on the losing end. NO MORE 68 or 69 cents concession. NO MORE 50 rebate on transfer. Will be entitled to 25% discount on board bus or MRT only. So if a fare travelled at $1.80 less 25%, the poor senior folks will be charged $1.35 cents.
How can PTC allow this to happen and add greater burden to the poor senior retired
citizens and charging them more.
It can’t be helped.
We are a “First World”country,remember?
In order to claim this status,we must be like Japan,packed like sardines,day in day out…..
Just imgaine,human beings turned into sardines,for the sake of the GDP figures we can proudly boast to the world.
How you,and your descendants live your and their lives are dictated by the decisions of just a handful of elites at the top.
Just imagine………….
world class answer siah! this must be the 1st world aspiration of our dear leaders where lots of things in life can’t be helped, no choice…
rofl…
“Of course we have to put up with more crowded trains, more crowded buses, (but) it cannot be helped.”
“Of course we have to put up with more million-dollar ministers who can’t come up with creative solutions but IRs and what not, (but) it cannot be helped.”
mORE is good what. smrt makes more, temasik makes more, everyone is richer good what.
Yes it cannot be helped. The next best thing for him to do is to direct officials from LTA,PTC,MOT,SMRT and SBS to come down from their ivory towers and take the packed trains during the morning and evening peaks.
With the trains bursting at their seams, one of these days the doors will be flung open while moving.
High humidity outside and Overcrowding in trains lead to smelly body odours! that whenever I board a train, I have to spray Eau-de-Parfums so as to counter the other body aromas from Banglas,Chinos,Pinnoys and others!
So whenever I’m in the overcrowded train
I say to remember the song “Stand Up For Singapore”
I also wonder what should be the Safety Numbers in a train? Will there be a device indicator to tell us (commuters)
that the train is overcrowded or have we not reached to that level of gauging Safety in Numbers? now only relying on vision?
@Toni,
Correction. The smell mostly from Banglas and Ah Nehs, not so much from others.
We have no choice to accept these south asians so that we gov can get mega contracts and trade concessions from them.
Well, I think its the social problem rather then SMRT. All other country like Tokyo, New York also face the same problem. Every solution in words are easy, when comes to reality, things are way too complicated. But I do hope the SMRT are constructing the barrier for all those ground MRT station.
As for this crowded situation, maybe SMRT could review their fare during peak hour.
Is it fair to say that:
1. singaporeans have been very cooperative at least for half a CENTURY in a row? which other 1st world citizens like this?
2. singaporeans have been very accomodating with COE system, ERP, CPF, min sum, HDB pricing, shengshiong, Town councils, Influx, Jobs and congestion. Bus journeys and stinking smells?
Which country has citizens like this? I suspect singapoerans will continue to accept for another 500 years. they are just so accomodating.
No qualms about “SQUEEZING” lesser-mortals by ANY MEANS they deem fit. AA life lost in war is just a life lost in war if it is not a dear one of the one who ordered the war!!!!! harry is so very “hairy” in these things or not? Deserving of our respect with “double standards”? Best is good riddance to BAD RUBBISH! Why not as because it is “politics”.
Tell us if with the kind of “successes” he has always “claimed”……….. WHY then has he still needed to resort to threats and curtailment of “A Civil Society” rights as his dumb son said of us to be? Not double talk and BULLSH!t?
Coconut 8 May 2010
‘I would tell LKY that I will vote for opposition parties at the next election because “it cannot be helped”.’
No difference la!!! Racism cannot be helped also la – that’s what most but a few would say!!!!
Selective death is as bad as all go and dies la!!!
PAP getting useless. Mentor didn’t forecast this when he suggest opening the floodgates. He spent too much time thinking how to fix the opposition and suing people instead.
When it comes to making public transport better for the commuter, say cannot be helped, no solution, blame drivers and reduce cars.
When it comes to making public transport companies richer, so many pattern come out.
Until the PAP clamps down on these companies and ensures that public transport is really for the public, not for greedy bastards to make record profits year after year, they will never get my vote.
VOTE OUT the people who support blatant CORPORATE GREED and CONSUMER EXPLOITATION.
london buses is very very strict…
when its says 13 standin passengers..it meant 13..not 14..or else the buse just stood still till 1 of the last excess standin passenger get off…onced i was in a crowded smrt dble barrel bus..the standin already got no where to stand still hav to wait for the bus capitan to shoo shoo more passengers to the back of the carriageway..i think the double barrel smrt buses is command by capitans who must hav drawn a commission basis…
well sombody balls need to be squeezed isn’t it?
“Of course we have to put up with more foreign commuters,more senile ministers, (but) it cannot be helped.”
We are already in an overcrowded city in a rat race scenario. What’s more?
It looks like “So Many Rats Travelling” these days
It actually translates as this lah = the mandate is a one=party state with policies,laws and ….that is all PAP-defined.
All one can do is endure,condone, whine complain but dont forget PAP is here cos you fools unwittingly put us in a pedestal lah. So we only know what it is to dictate, bully and worse comes to worse use the legislative apparatus to lock you up for good lah
So all, just take it as ti comes and stay stupid. As long as you stay that way – you are perpetuating … and most likely to be voting and assenting to many injustices, inequities and …
crowded train is one thing… certain member of the new immigrant or foreign talents have very very strong perfume. Male n Female. I think it’s some kind of coconut oil base perfume. Try standing next to one in a overcrowded train and you will instantly be transported to India. Can we NOT pollute the air in an enclosed space. Yes i plead with these FT… spare a thought for others…
1. As a publicly listed company SMRT nets $40 million a quarter. It is responsible to its shareholders only.
2. SMRT never promised a comfortable ride. (Don’t believe? Pls research)
3. I just returned from Tokyo. Japanese trains are packed only during peak hours. Other times plenty of seats. Not SMRT.
charlie don’t surf
More people to pay for them!
Cheaper labor, cheaper FTs all add up for spending by numbers. Means lower wage costs for companies and more taxable corporate income too! never mine Singaporeans get “short-changed”!
Lower price, lower quality IS “made-up” by numbers! It is like “Quantity Sales with lower margins”. That’s the “OPERATIVE” of PAP style to “FIX” problems they caused from lack of upfront forward planning! Cache 22!!!!!!
Beside the train squeeze, they fail to calculate the time loss/delay when boarding and alighting. I started working in the same company 2 years ago. I start out from my house at 7.30am and reach office 15mins before 9. Now I start out at 7.15am (too many people at the bus stop), I got to office at 5min before 9. That means 25mins lost in the process! Talking about productivity!
During peak hours, Tokyo trains run as often as 1 train per 1 minute. If SMRT can match that, there’ll be far less overcrowding.
It is amazing whoever is in charge of the MRT don’t understand basic Queuing/Constraint Theories. Running more frequent trains during peak hours the best solution?? Or more like LPPL no other solution. C’mon, can run consistently at 3-5 min between trains meh? If our population hits 6.6 million, then run at 1-2 min intervals??? All it takes is ONE train to be slightly delay and the whole schedule gets screwed. A series of small delays for a couple of trains will just snowball the inconsistency of arrival/departure times.
Of course I’m no expert in theories. Still trying to figure out how the ‘Pay-minister-highest-salary-for-Best-Results’ works. Maybe we still not paying ‘em enough, so cannot be helped.
angry_one 10 May 2010
Maybe if we pay whichever transportation minister the same as the Jap counterpart, then we will achieve their levels of efficiency. Can be helped, right? The results will probably be Cheaper, Better, Faster.
Cheaper > Better > Faster for others to follow . In reality,
Expensive > Poor quality > Slower.
It goes to show that there is no cohesion between LHL and his ministries. LHL didn’t care if the infrastructres support this. His dream of increasing SG population to 6.5 million is becoming a nightmare for Singaporean!
THE MRT SONG
Stand up for Singapore, why you board so late
Make way for the Cheena man
You’ve got to integrate
Recognise you can play your part
Even when you can’t stand his fart
Be prepared, give way to ang moh
Stand up, stand up for Singapore
Stand up for Singapore, don’t complain so much
If you stand up for Singapore
You’ll find it all worthwhile
Believe us, you can reach on time