Oliver Fricker has been sentenced to 5 months in jail and 3 strokes of the cane
In that light, I would now like everyone to watch this video: HERE.
Now tell me if you think such treatment does not disregard human rights standards. Tell me if you don’t think this is torture, or cruel and inhumane punishment. Tell me if you think this is something that developed and civilised societies do. Tell me if you believe he deserves it.
BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN TO HIM, JUST BECAUSE HE SPRAYED SOME PAINT ON A MRT.
It is completely sickening. I can’t believe that we are going to inflict such an archaic and utterly barbaric punishment for such a petty crime that did not even hurt anyone (and almost went undetected). It is so completely overblown – and I’m not saying this because he is a foreigner. It is completely overblown as a punishment foranyone, and it disgusts me that my country would do something like this to a person, and think it NECESSARY.
And as if that weren’t enough, this is coming along with the fact that no one in SMRT or our great government seems to be taking the responsibility or getting punished at all. By spray painting the train Fricker unwittingly did us a great service by exposing the flaws in our national security, yet not a single one of our grossly overpaid authorities is being held accountable for it (just like they aren’t being held accountable for the escape of Mas Selamat, or the floods, or anything else that has gone wrong). If we really want to make an example out of Fricker to deter others from trespassing and vandalism, then I believe that it is only fair that someone from SMRT or the government be publicly punished, to serve as an example for other complacent officials or authority figures who might be slacking on the job. Yet that is not happening. Instead, there is this:
Highest paid SMRT CEO
MS SAW Phaik Hwa, 55, was paid $1.67 million last year, including stock options, making her the highest-grossing chief executive that public transport operator SMRT Corp has ever employed.
Her deputy, Mr Yeo Meng Hin, 46, whose responsibilities include safety, emergency planning and security, took home $970,272 – making him the second best paid executive onboard.
The remuneration details were listed in SMRT Corp’s latest annual report. Compared to the year before, Ms Saw’s package was 7.1 per cent higher while Mr Yeo’s grew by 13.3 per cent. Their compensation includes bonuses, benefits and company shares.
Remuneration for the company’s top five executives, excluding Ms Saw’s, totalled $3.2 million – 17.2 per cent higher than the previous year’s. SMRT’s total wage bill grew by 6.3 per cent to $294.8 million over the same period.
While previous annual reports did not provide detailed breakdowns of top-level remuneration, Ms Saw’s predecessors – Mr Boey Tak Hap and Mr Kwek Siew Jin – were paid around $570,000 before share options.
Before share options, Ms Saw’s package last year came up to $1.43 million. This compares favourably with what her counterpart at transport giant ComfortDelGro Corp got. Its chief executive, Mr Kua Hong Pak, 66, was paid between $1.75 million and $1.99 million last year, excluding options.
It is appalling. If the executives are getting such high pay, there is all the more reason for them to be punished and held accountable for the security lapse. It is their responsibility to ensure that the millions of Singaporeans, PRs, foreigners and tourists who take public transport are protected and as safe as possible. It is their job to ensure that all their staff are vigilant, well-informed and on the ball. It is completely inadequate and unacceptable for them to think that we were all safe just because they’d made a video about looking out for terrorists to be played in MRT stations. After all, the public isn’t getting paid millions to ensure the security of the public transport system – they are.

But instead of getting an apology from SMRT or our government (and I mean a proper apology, and not a “regret”), all we Singaporeans got were great performances of tai chi as the blame was pushed around – government suddenly wants nothing to do with SMRT, SMRT and security companies say Singaporeans are getting complacent, etc. A review of the system has been promised, but have we seen any evidence of this review, or received any details of what exactly is going to be done? As far as I can see, the only difference between before and after this incident is that there is now a guy in a vest at my usual MRT station who shouts, “DOOR CLOSING! BE CAREFUL!” as the doors close and the train pulls away. Hardly makes me feel more safe. The only reason I haven’t stopped taking the MRT is because I HAVE NO CHOICE.
And now Singapore is all over the international news, and the whole world is going to read about us caning a guy for graffiti. Once again, we are going to be made a global laughingstock, a tiny country with delusions of grandeur and a mindset that belongs in the 17th century.
Seems like Singapore is a lot closer to being a Torture Hub than a Arts Hub or Business Hub.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

I wondered how he got caught in the 1st place when his graffiti can go undetected for 2 whole days until someone posted the video on youtube…
was he caught on cctv?
funny title… it suggests that pple come here to be tortured, which is actually true. These pple know the punishment and went ahead to literally invite the torture… well, who am I to deny them?
i think the Swiss and other countries have a good reason for not supporting canning.
every action will have a reaction. take it like a man. Im more concerned with how smrt and pap will smoke this another case infront of our eyes.
I find the punishment meted out to this foreign graffiti vandal as too harsh.
Much as he deserves to apologise and make good the damage caused as a result, it is more apt for our judiciary to impose a lighter sentence such as making him pay a hefty fine and serve community service for 3 years instead.
Our standard of laws must surely also conform with most international judical practices which do not condone caning for such vandalism acts.It is time for Singapore to keep up with a more humane,tolerant and civil society.(Remember that such graffiti artists were even once encouraged to “create art” at the Substation and Far East Plaza basement walls as murals.)
This incident clearly exposed more of a security lapse by SMRT rather than a “serious offence”that warranted such heavy punishment.In its entirety, no harm or danger was caused by the graffiti.
If the Singapore government has been most”forgiving” for some of mistakes made by its civil servants (dismissing them as “honest mistakes”);why can’t it be magnanimous enough to mete out a lighter punishment for such a prank?Especially coming from a foreigner who may not be aware of Singapore’s harsh laws in graffiti offences.
As an oppositionist politician, I hope the authorities can review the case so as to present a more civil and humane Singapore to the rest of the world…
Singapore is global torture hub…ha ha ha!
What about USA? They can detent people without trial and torture them to get confessions and intelligence, so why can’t Singapore punish those that seeks to challenge and break our laws?
In the first place, the law, no matter how cruel it is, will have no effects if Olvier did not plot and plan to intrude into a protected area, and to carry out their well orchestrated crime in vandalising public properties.
We had caned Michael Fay, and we should also cane Olivier for his anti-social behaviors.
This is the bankrupt way of the Pro-Alien Party in instilling social discipline.
Fear…. this is the machiavellian way !!!
This is method used by the Pro-Alien Party to control an Asian population that it believes to be innately unruly.
“Between being loved and being feared, I have always believed Machiavelli was right. If nobody is afraid of me, I’m meaningless.” – Lee Kuan Yew, 6.10.1997
“Mine is a very matter-of-fact approach to the problem. If you can select a population and they’re educated and they’re properly brought up, then you don’t have to use too much of the stick because they would already have been trained. It’s like with dogs. You train it in a proper way from small. It will know that it’s got to leave, go outside to pee and to defecate. No, we are not that kind of society. We had to train adult dogs who even today deliberately urinate in the lifts.” – Lee Kuan Yew on Singapore society, The Man & His Ideas, 1997
“I started off believing all men were equal. I now know that’s the most unlikely thing ever to have been, because millions of years have passed over evolution, people have scattered across the face of this earth, been isolated from each other, developed independently, had different intermixtures between races, peoples, climates, soils… I didn’t start off with that knowledge. But by observation, reading, watching, arguing, asking, that is the conclusion I’ve come to.” – Lee Kuan Yew, The Man & His Ideas, 1997
Are men not all equal – despite the differences in circumstances and regions from which different men are bred ?
Can LKY be right all the time ?
Are Asians the only ones that are unruly and require brute force to be subdued and ruled over ?
The high pay is her reward for doing the “dirty job” of coming out to say that they regreted what had happened!
If you are an elite, Singapore is the best place on earth!
I am really sickened by the amount of money a small company like SMRT is paying its executives; obviously something is not right in the way this company, which has a mandate to move people cheaply, is managed
that figure translates to how many peanuts on the Peanut Scale?
we need to buy her another pack of peanuts if we want her to perform better. it’s our own fault for neglecting to reward her so that she can look prettier on the camera.
Seems to me that people when getting more and more powerful gets infinitly richer, assumes less and less responsibility, while us lesser mortals get the exact opposite by the day.
Well I must first make my stand that the judge give the “fair share” of the canning punishment for a handsome FT.
Perhaps some Singaporean WOLFmen should volunteer to clean his buttock and then marry to him…yea more than one wife for him to go back to Swiss.
Whether it is cruel or not, the canning certainly serves in a fair manner this time. Don’t have to give face to FT.
Does anyone know the salary of the CEO of Hong Kong LRT or the London Tube?
Look at her stupid face, how can she earn so much? If she lives in Canada or Amercia, the most she can become is a bank teller which pays Sin$35,000 per year with NO bonus or stock options whatsoever.
I completely agree with the on-line citizens. It is barbaric and inhumane to inflick such punishment on people especially when the act did not harm any fellow human beings.
We are still living in the dark ages! He is being punished because he exposed the flaw in the security system.
Shame, Singapore!
everyone knows for sure if you want the “BIG” bucks and no work, just join the pap, and walla, BiG money in all corners, even if the locals are all dying of famine and homelessness..
whole island coffeeshop talk is “swiss man jailed and cane” but no query as to why he must be cane ? locals just cannot think….
no wonder miw gets away with it “ALL THE TIME”.
I don’t deny he should be punished but is it really necessary to go to this extreme since there was no premediation to inflict harm on a person or destroy property? On the opposite end you have ‘leaders’ who inflict more damage to masses by (pick your choice) but yet does not have to be accountable for their actions.
Wake up lah.
The majority of the CEOs in Singapore earn more than a million in Singapore excluding dividends & profit sharing.
Why envy them?
You too can apply to be one.
Right?
everyone can apply, but not everyone can “FAILED” big time like these clowns.
“It is completely sickening. I can’t believe that we are going to inflict such an archaic and utterly barbaric punishment for such a petty crime that did not even hurt anyone”
This kind of punishment was not drawn up yesterday. It has been in existence for ages. Why noone made any noise if a local is caned for his crimes? Here is a white butt, who knew what he did was illegal yet went ahead. Give soft sentences, and you will see more graffiti people coming our way.
It is not about White Man vs Us. It just so happens that this is the case that has garnered much public attention, and therefore it is fitting to use this case as a vehicle for expressing my views on caning.
I am also against caning migrant workers and Singaporeans. It has nothing to do with foreign or local, white or Asian.
Oh, my “GOD”, a formal “SALES WOMAN” from DFS can get paid of $1.67 millions by “pretending” to be an expert in the public transportation under the guise of meritocracy!
A real “nerd” belongs to the despicable million-dollar clique whom has no technical training at all and knows nothing about public transportation running a mechnical company driven by technology (trains cum buses)!
##Once again, SMRT makes money not because it is efficiently, effectively and proficiently run but due to its monopoly of public transpotation in Singapore. No duplication of roles with SBS-Comfort-Delgo hence, no competition for business!##
Due to monopoly in nature, as long as you price the transportation fees charged to the comsumers to cover all expenses cum certain amount of obsence profit, definitely any tom, dick and harry can make enviable profits for the company holding the monopoly.
“We are still living in the dark ages! He is being punished because he exposed the flaw in the security system.”
I am still trying to understand the above twisted logic…this is tantamount to saying that I can go punch anyone right in their face, and then claimed that I had exposed that person’s flaw in not being able to defend himself/herself against my punch, so I am not at fault!
Who is really living in the dark ages??
haus 25 June 2010
i think the Swiss and other countries have a good reason for not supporting canning
………………..
let me shared with you peeps how swiss people think when their citizens are concerned…1st of all..the swiss are gentle people..they never create/start a war..which is why their army ride on bicyles..so they give the aggressors some time to think over..which is why even adolf hitler also don’t want to invade switzerland..not that he don’t want a rolex..i would…
when i was there to buy my rolex..i act liked a 101% kiasu/kayxi singapoorium..
act blurred/dumb & deaf…i didn’t punched the bus tix($5/trip) before boardin..1 ole swiss grandma tapped me on the shoulder..pointin the puncher behind…next i tried to cross the road when the man was flashin RED…another auntie hold my hands not that i am liuterwah or suaiker..she said..you wait liked i also wait…
ok what am i tryin to says so far? may 1 asked?
the next time when/if the pap government collasped..many overpaid/overfed ministers who hav swiss banks accounts will be terkan…swiss government hav changed the law on confidentiality which is why marcos’ loots was tracked & returned to the new phillipne government..
so pap ministers..be proud..whipped that swiss’s arsh to protect your FACE…
Rambo 26 June 2010 Wake up lah.
The majority of the CEOs in Singapore earn more than a million in Singapore excluding dividends & profit sharing.
Why envy them?
You too can apply to be one.
Right?
………………..
sured rambo liked you said..anybody can be coe..hoching is just a poly graduate..today she number 6th woman in asia? so how to apply or used the burmese ack ack gun and shoot my way thru liked rambo VI
Yes the Ministers and SMRT were irresponsible and lax in both supervision and administration of security. However whether the CEO was over paid underpaid, stupid ugly etc is distinct from the crime at hand.
Fricker committed a crime and unless he was from another planet a parallel universe he would have been intelligent enough to know what he did would have merited punishment in Singapore.
Whats TOC going to plead ? that he was misunderstood ? that Fricker was poor ?
Was the punishment harsh ? Conceptually if one reads the description of prisons in the US and prisons in Singapore for criminals , one gets the distinct impression that the conditions in Singapore prisons are harder and harsher. That concept extents likewise up the line to both judicial corporal punishment and the death penalty
When I was a student overseas, I made no apologies for eh hard manner in which we treated criminals including foreigners like michal fay. That low tolerance for any form of crime both minor and major has led to a very low level of crime within Singapore. My argument was simple. ” Is it barbaric” ” perhaps by your standards.” are ” western standards of justice punishment universal ? ” Perhaps but not always.
Locke
lockeliberal
Was the punishment harsh ? Conceptually if one reads the description of prisons in the US and prisons in Singapore for criminals
…………..
in usa..there is no whippin
in usa there is a bed to sleep in..bugs included
in singapoor changi prison..
hav you ever seen a bed?
so please don’t compared if you DON’T know…
@lockeliberal – 26 June 2010
When politicians believe that their total intelligence far exceed that of the sum total of the population – including the judiciary – and fix laws that are arbitrary and mandatory can justice be served ?
When punishment far exceed the crime or the offense – is there justice ?
When the hands of the judiciary are tied and with no room for the judiciary to exercise their intellect to dispense sentences appropriate to the crime or offense, the judiciary is no longer in a position to mete out justice, but become another digit in a political system.
Singaporeans are today subjected to live in a society that is socially engineerd in the preferred mould of the Pro-Alien Party, which depend on the use of ‘fear, mental and physical pain’ to exercise control over the citizens.
Clearly, Singaporeans are living in an environment without any justice when Singaporeans fall foul of the Law.
So much for the propaganda of Justice, Democracy, Equality, Peace and Progress – which one of these ideals can be seen to be real after 45 years of rule by the Pro-Alien Party ?
“Repression, Sir is a habit that grows. I am told it is like making love-it is always easier the second time! The first time there may be pangs of conscience, a sense of guilt. But once embarked on this course with constant repetition you get more and more brazen in the attack. All you have to do is to dissolve organizations and societies and banish and detain the key political workers in these societies. Then miraculously everything is tranquil on the surface. Then an intimidated press and the government-controlled radio together can regularly sing your praises, and slowly and steadily the people are made to forget the evil things that have already been done, or if these things are referred to again they’re conveniently distorted and distorted with impunity, because there will be no opposition to contradict.” -Lee Kuan Yew as an opposition PAP member speaking to David Marshall, Singapore Legislative Assembly, Debates, 4 October, 1956
“Between being loved and being feared, I have always believed Machiavelli was right. If nobody is afraid of me, I’m meaningless.” – Lee Kuan Yew, 6.10.1997
“The biggest punishment a man can receive is total isolation in a dungeoen. Black and complete withdrawal of all stimuli. That is real torture.” – Lee Kuan Yew, January 2008.
The law provides for the caning of vandals caught for acts of vandalism.
It is not possible to change the law midstream as it will set unhealthy precedent. Why should Micahle fay be caned and not Oliver Fischer? We can’t change the law in the middle of a real case to suit a particular person. (unless maybe the President himself steps in, like the case of capital punishment for drug traffickers”)
In between, why was there no lobby activity against the caning-mandate for this crime?
The law has to run its course because the people of Singapore supported it by its own inaction between the time of Mr Fay to-date.
zero
Too bad he was not an SPH editor….he would have had a much less severe sentence if he were one.
i remember got one drink driving editor who killed a pedestrian and got only a day’s jail sentence.
Dear Swiss Teacher
Errr and your point being….I said that its harsher in Singaporean Prisons vis sa vis US prisons and it extends up the line to judicial punishment and low tolerance of crime……..It seems to me that u are agreeing with me
Locke
Yeah let’s repeal caning the same way we did at our schools. That totally worked out well. I mean, it’s not like the kids nowadays are ill-disciplined, spoilt little shits running around without any consideration for anyone.
Bleeding heart liberals have to stop living in their fairy tale world where hugs and kisses solve all problems. Humans are sometimes just animals that need a stick.
yalor nowadays PAP policies do not seem to work anymore…all that had happened is suggestive of high pay does not come with any responsibilities, accountabilities nor honour. It is take and take and not give and give policies of the PAP. What a disgusting party.
A barbaric act only yellow and cowardly people do to others. White outside as a facade but deep inside yellow and afraid to apologise for having failed the people of Singapore in doing their part in our security.
you have choice! take cab or take bus, or buy car or walk or cycle.. so many choice, dun act
What about those two painted the Mail Box more unsightly than the swiss guy did. Just because Singpost allows graffiti and all those painters can be spared from caning. PAP allows, no cane. PAP dissapproves, drag for caning. One country two systems, PAPpy above law.
When the system goes well, the highly paid get self-rewarded while peasants pay extra (in the name of hike) for the job “well done” by the govt. When things turned ugly, peasant got the blame, the highly paid still get protected by law and shy away from taking responsibility. One country two systems, PAPpy above law.
A recent study by the Boston Consulting Group put the number of people with at least US$1 million last year in Singapore at 11.4 percent of households, which is equivalent to about 125,000, the paper cited.
The number of millionaires in Singapore has jumped by 32.7 percent over the past two years as stock and property markets rebounded, quoting estimates from Merrill Lynch Wealth Management and Capgemini.
The total number of high net worth individuals (HNWIs) in the city-state — those with at least US$1 million in net assets — has grown to 80,947 from 61,000 in 2008, according to the newspaper’s report.
Who made all these possible in a tiny 700 sq km resourceless island?
Even the BLIND can see. PAP of course!
after the inflicted HARSH punisment..the swiss bloke will returned to his native country and become overnight MILLIONAIRE
without a doubt…
how and why? remembered michael faye? he went home..he show his scarred buttocks he wrote a juicy biography and the alaca hotel di singapoor hotel in changhi…if the swiss bloke is as smart as his talents is concerned..he must remembered every details..his shatter dream..his nightmares and the numbers of nights he had to sleep facin the cement hardened floor wearin a saron…
the whole european communities would want to learn 1st hand experiences what it liked to live/work in singapoor with all the golden opportunities….
imagined a weekend tablaid splashin your foto and your white skin buttock with 3 zebra strips on it is worth than a million words..and most likely a tv interviews as well…this swiss bloke just striked ToTo…and @ the same time earned a hero title as well..whos knows..he might be the next swiss ambassador to singapore?
Looking at the comments on ST Discussion, the readers there think he is not being punished harshly enough.
I think it’s rather problematic to use the term “torture” for corporal punishment here. It distracts from the fact that actual torture is being carried out in our country by the ISD.
The administration BRAGS too much from year to year, so, eventually someone foreign from time to time, will do something to prove that ‘you’re not PERFECT after all…’ not only people, even NATURE has proven over the past weeks that we FLOOD easily regardless of how much was SPENT by the respective authorities in ‘alleviating’ FLOODS…
As such, Humility is being dished out, bit by bit…
The punishment the Swiss national gets is a bit harsh and does not fit the crime committed. Worst still the Boss of SMRT is trying to get compensation from him too! Surely this is not politicking, to bankrupt the Swiss national? For this petty crime? If SMRT cannot patrol its premise properly it is the management fault. There is ISO compliantcy etc…
The whole episode appears like the SMRT CEO was the victim when in fact it was the user being put at risk. As usual, PAP remains silence because of looming election. Their votes more important than Sigaporean lives. I will vote them OUT anyway.
I like to thank this guy for standing up for Singaporean and exposing to the world about ‘how elites are rewarded for the wrong reasons’ and that Singaporean are bullied by their own government. Stand up for Singapore and do the right thing, bring in many more oppositions for a VOICE we can be proud to call-OURS.
They Don’t Care About Us lyrics
Skin head, dead head
Everybody gone bad
Situation, aggravation
Everybody allegation
In the suite, on the news
Everybody dog food
Bang bang, shot dead
Everybody’s gone mad
All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us
All I wanna say is that
Beat me, hate me
You can never break me
Will me, thrill me
You can never kill me
Jew me, Sue me
Everybody do me
Kick me, Kike me
Don’t you black or white me
All I wanna say is that
Tell me what has become of my life
I have a wife and two children who love me
I am the victim of police brutality, now
I’m tired of bein’ the victim of hate
You’re rapin’ me of my pride
Oh, for God’s sake
I look to heaven to fulfill its prophecy…
Set me free
Skin head, dead head
Everybody gone bad
trepidation, speculation
Everybody allegation
Everybody dog food
black man, black mail
Throw your brother in jail
All I wanna say is that
Tell me what has become of my rights
Am I invisible because you ignore me?
Your proclamation promised me free liberty, now
I’m tired of bein’ the victim of shame
They’re throwing me in a class with a bad name
I can’t believe this is the land from which I came
You know I do really hate to say it
The government don’t wanna see
But if Roosevelt was livin’
He wouldn’t let this be, no, no
Skin head, dead head
Everybody gone bad
Situation, speculation
Everybody litigation
Beat me, bash me
You can never trash me
Hit me, kick me
You can never get me
All I wanna say is that
Some things in life they just don’t wanna see
But if Martin Luther was livin’
He wouldn’t let this be
Skin head, dead head
Everybody gone bad
Situation, segregation
Everybody allegation
Everybody dog food
Kick me, Kike me
Don’t you wrong or right me
All I wanna say is that
Mr Envy
Who made all these possible in a tiny 700 sq km resourceless island?
Even the BLIND can see. PAP of course!
………….
and this 11.4% are who?
lees/ministers heck maybe even mps especialLEE those who hav a hand in temasek inc…imagined workin for temasek inc..you claimed $1 million$ under pettyca$h other expenses account
and no auditors in singapore would even DARED to challenge you as a temasek inc team..you buy what har?
remembered $17.5 BILLION$ is bein spent under OTHER expenses…
and as you said..PAP of course….
I hope TOC can set up a petition, to stop him from getting the cane.
It is the least we can do, to show the world that the people living here are not as inhuman as the establishment & authority.
What Fricker did was stupid, and 5 months in prison is a lesson, good enough.
i like the graffiti but dude you are in the wrong turf to display it
Just cane cane cane. If not these ang mohs think they can come and erode our hometown with their irresponsible ways. Now graffiti, next hooligans. Soon the native youngsters will ape their behaviours after these foreign idiots. Ever heard of monkey see, monkey do?
Fricker: “I couldn’t help it, the voices in my head told me to do it, they took over my hands and logged me on to Google Maps to check out the place then my body to do the art! By the time the mind controlling aliens left me, I was already in jail!”
Get real guys. Some crime is a forced measure, like theft when starving, this isn’t. It’s a deliberate choice. He should just take his licks.
BTW, with all the media coverage, has any “hardworking” reporter interviewed someone who was canned before for his perspective? I’m sure there are some reformed prisoners that can give a more unbiased perspective to the issue rather than just blindly reporting liberal theology. And yes, I used the term “theology” deliberately.