Poll on Channelnewasia’s website – as at 3.45pm on 30 July 2010. Out of 3,912 votes, 3,513 say they are “not interested at all” in catching any of the Games. Only one per cent say they will watch the Games at selected venues.

With only days to go before the Games kick off on 14 August, it seems most Singaporeans aren’t excited or interested in the Games – despite heavy advertising and with the YOG budget having exceeded initial estimates, from S$104 million to the current S$387 million.

61 Responses to “90 per cent “not interested at all” in YOG”

1. I watch the Summner olympics, I watch the winter olympics. It is about sports and we celebrate with the winners, the deterimination of the atheletes, the friendships of countries. That is the essence of olympics

But for YOG, it is all about the PAP. PAP is using this to score their cheap political points and the ministers and PS are using this for their careers. This is doing a great disservice to sports and i am disgusted with all of them.

That is why i am not interested in YOG.

2. Trying to be objective here so please forgive me if i sound too harsh.

With the internet available these days we can read emails/blogs/websites about MIW and their legendary exploits (earlier years)and their recent stuff ups including the unwillingness for accountability/taking responsibility.

Most glaringly is their increasingly lack of popularity.

We all know that Sinkies are a bunch of whinger/whiners/complainers.

All i am suggesting is this:
    Instead of ranting away unhappily online or taking the risk of getting sued for bankruptcy via defamation by joining opposition/talking cock at Hong Lim Park…why don’t we take action.

If we just sit by to watch and complain, nothing changes.

Even worse, we will be the BIGGEST HYPOCRITES of all. On one hand we are miserable, unhappy and complaining but on the other hand we still fail to take action because of fear – fear of being targeted, fear of no upgrading for our flats etc etc etc

Let’s not be hypocrites here.
    Let’s wear our hearts on our sleeves and do the right thing.

For the sake of integrity, for the sake of our future generations and lastly for the sake of the country and citizens that we love.

The change begins inside of us.
    If there are enough people willing to take a stand, they will eventually lose.

You can make history or sit by and be a spectator and watch our beloved country blossom or melt down.

We want men and women passionate about our nation. People that love our nation and the community.
    Before themselves, before their fat wallets and pockets.
    People of character that truly want to embetter our country and help the majority, not just serve the rich and uppercrust.

The power of change is in your hands.

Majulah Singapura

3. Brainless 3 August 2010

How to be interested?

We need to be productive as said by our leaders.

With increasing of cost of living, HDB flat prices, bus fare, petrol price etc.

We need to work work work.

So who got time to be interested in YOG.

Dun say I basis or not towards Pro Alien Party la.

But base on normal livehood. We got more important things to care for.

And come out the news, that YOG expenditure is X4 than normal budget.

Next GE, I know who I shall vote for already. And hopefully the other party, will dig into this matter and review where all the funding go too.

4. xtrocious 4 August 2010

I agree with Brainless

And with the World Cup just over, how many of us have spare leave to take to “support” the YOG even if we wanted to go?

Then there’s also the F1 that’s coming up – need to set aside leave if we want to watch that as well…

5. iamnoRICHEDman 4 August 2010

xtrocious

Then there’s also the F1 that’s coming up – need to set aside leave if we want to watch that as well…
    ………….

wah! you even hav budget for F1…
    kudo to you
    i can’t even afford the $12 meesiam they sell inside..let alone the entrance ticket..

6. Frozen Artic 11 August 2010

The reason of the low ticket sales is because people are working!!!! From monday to friday people are working, so they have no time to go to the games. the Students have the holiday not the parents.. Get it Yog , we are not those Big countries with huge amouts of population.

7. Bao Ching Tian 17 August 2010

Even if I am given free tickets to YOG events, I will throw them into the dustbin.