Poll on Channelnewasia’s website – as at 3.45pm on 30 July 2010. Out of 3,912 votes, 3,513 say they are “not interested at all” in catching any of the Games. Only one per cent say they will watch the Games at selected venues.

With only days to go before the Games kick off on 14 August, it seems most Singaporeans aren’t excited or interested in the Games – despite heavy advertising and with the YOG budget having exceeded initial estimates, from S$104 million to the current S$387 million.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

61 Responses to “90 per cent “not interested at all” in YOG”

1. Tracy Tan 30 July 2010

YOG is a main PAP initiative.

They shd be able to gauge the gap between the PAP and Singaporeans from this poll.

Sad, but it’s real that, somehow, the pap has lost its way.

The end has started

2. Bala fried 30 July 2010

Vivian balakrishnan should be fried. It is quite clear that the man cannot do anything right – from homeless people to YOG to STTA to PA assistance to foreign sportsmen and women.

Vivian Balakrishnan, please for Singapore’s sake, step down!

you’re unfit to be a minister.

3. Tracy Tan 30 July 2010

Bala fried,

it’s not just VB. it’s the whole pap. they have lost the trust and support of singaporeans because of their arrogance and money-mind

4. Seems only the PAP are excited about YOG, not the people :)

5. All the craps 30 July 2010

This is serious man, after spending nearly $400M, 90% of singaporeans are not interested!!
    What happened to the forecaster, the planning, those trips to China to gather facts and figuares from the Beijing Olympics??

6. V. Bala 30 July 2010

Hey… we still have 7% of supporters. It’s a great job. We shld give ourselves a pat on the back.

7. Speaking 30 July 2010

The PAP will just simply blind off these results as inaccurate. In their own world, they never fail and never lose. As per their standard SOP, i believe they will soon come up with their own charts and declare 99% of Singaporeans interested in YOG.

You pay peanuts, you get monkeys.
    You pay millions, you still get monkeys.

8. 7% of the peasants, i mean citizens knows wht YOG is good enough. I doubt the world have more than 0.0000000000000000007% of the world knowing what’s YOG.

The Emperor, I mean Minister Mentor will be pleased. The fellow eunuchs will be rewarded with the peasant’s millions – hopefully not that little since we’ve actually overspent abit, but as long as the RoyaLee Family is happy, its ok to go cum in from behind.

9. I think people state flatly they aren’t interested, because before the event even kicks off, the organizers already adopt an adversarial position towards Singaporeans.

Like…FINE people for not giving way to YOG buses?

And then all these talk about Singaporeans expecting things to be too perfect? When floods in every sense is more criticial to daily life than a sports event.

Is anyone truly surprised 90 per cent isn’t interested?

10. mice is nice 30 July 2010

& i thought MIW got lots of friends? not to mention the mandate.

hahaa… =D

11. Singaporean 30 July 2010

Pity the youth of Singapore, they will be brainwashed to think that this YOG is a super great achievement of the PAP.

When the basic needs of the society at large are not well taken care of, I wonder how on this mother earth can our multi-million dollar, money minded ministers have the heart to organise this waste-of-time event.

12. Sawdust 30 July 2010

Wah if they make all related to PAPayas were to go, they must hire lots of bodyguards… Easy targets for terrorists leh! SPF will have their hands full!

13. An act of God 30 July 2010

If YOG eventually turn out to be a flop, the reason will be that it’s an act of GOD, no amount of preparation and organisation can prevent it.

14. Fernando 30 July 2010

I bet Bala will find ways to blame it on Singaporeans!

15. civil servant 30 July 2010

well, the 7% are the poor teachers all over singapore who are made to do all the work for YOG. i feel so sick even talking about it.

16. popcorn 30 July 2010

There are many things in our mind to think about the YOG. Many of us are still hurt by the recession, having to grapple with money lost in derivative bank products, worrying about the relentless high costs of living, trying to find a new job, or trying to budget on a smaller pay packet, and forever having to look over the shoulder to jaga our jobs to prevent foreigners from stealing away our rice bowls.
    We are different from PAP Ministers who could happily look at their 8% increase on their already huge pay.
    With so many things to occupy our mind, where do we have the mood or the luxury to think about this YOG.
    No amoumt of coaching from Govt officials
    would excite me. I’m simply not in the mood. even if given free tickets to watch the events.

17. iamnoF1fan@ll 30 July 2010

till today i hav yet to visit/participate in the overglamour F1/ir casinos events..yet i can afford or used to..stay in EVERY 4/5stars hotels in their opennin nights with 1 lassinarm…
    and the YOG expect me or my kakis to ^SAPPORT^ yog when we are not even been QUALIFIED to watch the annual FREE national day parades where i onced participate as a footsoldier…
    let all be honest ere..shall we?
    ow many of you even visit the crazyhorse saloon? although i did really do bartop polldancin in chyjs pubs before…

18. theforgottongeneration 30 July 2010

@mice is nice

You wait, OK? No friends, har? Suddenly 66% population turned out overwhelmingly until floating stage also sink; everyone using YOG lanes causing massive traffic jams. Then how? So for safety reasons, the sales of YOG tickets is purposely “calibrated”.(HAhahaaa)

19. Idoit 30 July 2010

Why spend hundred of million dollars in these meaningless event whereby these money can use for meainingful thing e.g. Take care of homless old people and help Singaporean who are in financial difficulties. Waste of taxes payer money. PAP should step down in next GE and hope the lee family will lose in next GE

20. Singaporean 30 July 2010

For me this represent the contest of wills between the common people of Singapore and the ruling elite.

Denied freedom of expression and the right to vote, we take out our frustrations on anything remotely connected to the greedy crooks who are controlling our lives and ruining our future.

How I wish this is the result of the GE.

21. Let this be a lesson for the govt. Seek public opinion and feedback before pumping in millions on event/project that is white elephant.

22. SureOrNot? 30 July 2010

It seems that the “distraction” tactic no longer works. That’s a good sign for the future of Singapore. This will probably send them a pre-election feel of what to expect from us.

23. well this is one bitter pill that the PAP won’t be able to force down my throat :p

i feel sorry for the poor folks at MOE though.

24. Hahaha…

Very the good. Serves the pappies right! What comes around will goes round.

Shout it loud all folks : We dont want PAP! We dont want PAP! We dont want PAP!

Get out of our sight soon ya!

25. tiredsingaporean 30 July 2010

No worry lah, worst come to worst, they will make it compulsary for all NS boys to fill up all the empty seats, whether they like it or not, its an order from the top. Don’t be surprised OK, with these batch of papies, even the goondooooest thing anyone can expect them to come up with just to please the emperor.

26. francis 30 July 2010

Please note that the 90% stated are a skewed number due to the amount of negative publicity on website like TR and TOC, but nevertheless, it is undeniable that most Singaporean are apathy to the game.

27. Bobby Tan 30 July 2010

Vivian Balakrishnan, For the sake of ALL Singaporeans and Singapore and most important ofall for your sake please RESIGN..

Your are not fit to be a Minister especially when you are capable of uttering rubbish on Bar Top dancing to Where Welfare Receipients will dine for the sake of additional $30.00

And now you have proven yourself to be totally cavalier by overspending from 120million budget to 387million on YOG using taxpayers’ money whilst you so cruelly denied the $30 asked for the Welfare Receipient.

You must resign…before you do more damage to yourself and Singapore.

28. Jackson 31 July 2010

I believe there are many reasons why the results of the poll is almost one-sided, that mot of the people are not interested in YOG.

Firstly, the issue of over-budget was not addressed properly and with much public acceptance.

Secondly, YOG seems to overpower our life ie fine for not giving way to YOG buses, ‘do not litter’ campaign at this time etc.

Thirdly, and most significantly, YOG is perceived as a PAP propaganda. You support YOG = You support PAP, which I believe so too.

Now the general atmosphere in Singapore is, in my opinion, shit. Therefore, who has the mood for YOG at this time?

29. Komnenos 31 July 2010

I think this is what the youths nowadays call self owning

30. theforgottongeneration 31 July 2010

@Fancis, 30 July 2010

U saying the oft projected insignificant number of people grumbling/mumbling/whatevering on TOC & TR is causing a 90% negative swing in the votes? Wow!

Then I suggest you quickly mobilise the supposedly 66% garhem-mandating population to effect a skewed 90% positive swing before YOG makes the whole of Singapore a laughing stock to the world.

Is our entire country’s reputation being staked on the ego of a few persons, and with a price tag of $387m to the taxpayers?

31. red_dot 31 July 2010

No person in their right mind will sponsor such a sporting event just because there’s no Asian Games to be held here! This government thinks they are very rich so that they can buy a good for themselves to hold such an event.

It makes me boil when it was announced the YOG budget exceeded the initial estimates, from S$104 million to the current S$387 million. And yet no one got kick!

If they would have done a survey before bidding to host the YOG, Singapore now would be $400M richer!

32. SerKulu Up 31 July 2010

Who here believes that the election will be held before the YOG? kekekekeke!

33. our national newspapers 31 July 2010

Rest Assured, our National Newspapers will not be carrying this news.

Just like their “most blogged about” news will never include discussions on this website.

34. YOG tickets 31 July 2010

“According to organizers, tickets sales to competition venues have been encouraging and more than 60% of tickets for sales are currently unavailable.”

60% “sold” – of which how many went to MOE and other glorious non-partisan grassroots organisations like P.A.?

so how many got sold, really? the reporter on this channelnewsasia website didn’t bother to educate us – nowadays we have to do mathematics ourselves, to figure out why graphs are drawn in strange ways, why resale price indices ignore the fact that floor area has shrunk etc etc.

amazing country we got.

35. mad93 31 July 2010

If this poll ever go international, it will be the biggest embarrassment in the sports history of Singapore and the Government too….. PAP should be fired.

36. mice is nice 31 July 2010

no sexy pole dancers, i mean cheer leaders how to lure chee koh peks…

hahaa… :D

37. smallfly 31 July 2010

Aiyoh! I have repeated it so many times in TR as well as TOC that the million-dollar despicable nerds are of no interest to pacify/appease the gullible main-street-men, their only common interest is to ensure they inflat the GDP and fatten their already exobitant annual remunerations by another huge pay raise cum gigantic bonus as well as their cronies cum “business vendors” for the YOG to get lucrative business deals through bursting the original budget exobitant times.

Whether majority of Singaporeans have an interest on the YOG is of least importance to them as it does not directly affect their pockets and career prospects!

Relentless propagandas by the main-stream-media will ensure the despicable million-dollar nerds can paint a nice picture that the whole Singapore residents are emgrossed totally in and being exhilarated by the spirit of YOG!

38. We should support gov making sure YOG successful. Sg will become famous & peoples will know what we can do. YOG is one in life time chance for sg prove what we can do.

39. Laucheow 1 August 2010

Money would be better spent giving free world cup matches to everybody.

They have their heads so far up their arse they cannot see what means more to the people. We pay and pay but still money no enough for them.

Worse they take our hard-earned taxpayer money to waste on stupid games nobody in the world cares about.

40. DAFT VADER 1 August 2010

Compare to World Olympics and World Cup, YOG is an anti-climax. Nothing surprising to know that people here and globally in general would not be interested in YOG.

No amount of engineering can prevent flooding of disinterest for YOG. Least of all engineering by the pair of SERunLUCKy & VB greenhorns. Do they think they are the ZhangYimous of Spore?

Success can only b counted if there is spontaneous interest and support and no people/organisation are coerced in sponsoring, buying of tickets and attendance.

41. andrew 1 August 2010

@Fancis, 30 July 2010

Please read the post and the graphics properly, the poll is conducted by channel news asia! Not TR or TOc

42. Year Of Goondu 1 August 2010

Pardon me what is YOG? “Year Of Goondu”?

43. Criticise 1 August 2010

@chua on 1 august:
    I applaud u for ur enthusiasm but let’s put this in perspective. My fellow netizens here can help correct or augment my take on this.
    What’s the point of demonstrating what Singapore can do in this YOG when the PAP govt has proven inept in resolving more practical day-to-day issues which are of greater concern to the average Singaporeans: SMRT breakin, crammed n imploding public transportation system, runaway HDB prices,massive influx of foreigners to out-compete Singaporeans for jobs n scholarships,inability to stem recurrent floodings,etc etc the list goes on?
    If the PAP govt can’t even do anything decent abt these problems,what’s the whole point of putting up the wayang show to a world,of which scarcely many are even the least interested in YOG?
    And by the way,the absurd budget overruns in this YOG,in the name of putting up a so-called good show to the world to prove Singapore’s ‘ability’,do great injustice to the poor n needy who can do alot better with more help from the govt.It seems that the ‘esteemed’ PAP govt has its priorities seriously misplaced.
    All for that so-called glory,when domestic issues are far from satisfactorily resolved,do you think most sane-minded Singaporeans will feel proud abt this YOG?
    It’s simply PAP’s Your Own Game.nothing to do with the average Singaporean,more to do with those elite uncaring faces.

44. sure or NOT 1 August 2010

None of the polls ever had so many people. The number for all options combined is always less than 1000.

Conclusion: this poll is skewed by a particular group of sheeps who flock enmass to the site for some reasons.

Sad to say, the poll has no practicable significance on anything.

45. democracy does not work here 1 August 2010

i’m afraid of this online poll thing.

what next, someone starts a poll on something like
    “May opposition wards use their proportion of National Funds to carry out works for their constituencies, or do these Funds remain in the hands of PAP even within opposition wards?”

if we do that, another 90% voting pattern may reveal that the sentiment on the ground is not the same as that which gets reported in national newspapers and television and official speeches.

if we do that, we risk having a real democracy.

46. ccchia 2 August 2010

Vivian should be made responsible for his many failures and the flop of the YOG project. Maybe he should just step down and go back to his old job of being a GP.

47. pugdragon 2 August 2010

YOG is supposed to be a showcase of sports at the highest international standards among sporting youths around the world. It is supposed to be an honorable event. Tag PAP to it, it becomes filthy, propaganda, & undesirable. PAP taints even the purest things.

48. No worries folks…the men in wasting … errrhh…sorry i mean the men in white [MIW] will produce the usual BS figures via PAP control main media [actually all media in singapore] post-YOG to show they either break even or made some “real” money out of it for singapore.

Never mind if most or majority of the tickets are bought by GLC [Government list companies], MoE (Ministry of Education), PAP Grasslooting organizations etc etc…

Wah the people of singapore is SO PROUD of PAP antics and gimmicks infront of the whole uninterested world that we are bemused and apathic at it all.

It is so unfunny that even me am still unable to laugh at it all.

Nuts lah.

49. YOG Publicity 2 August 2010

A glance at all the YOG publicity such as banners, flags, props-banners etc are just ‘for the sake of putting-up’.

It seriously makes me wonder where exactly are the rest of the $$$ utilized in ???

I thought YOG publicity would be one of the most crucial element in any marketing strategy?

50. Yourworstnightmare 3 August 2010

Why should we put the blame on individual ministers when their respective department fails to do their job? Why are we paying the prime minister and his father almost $4m each if they do not manage and take responsibility for whoever is under them? Do you think policies and decisions never have to go through MM for approval or were not initiated by him at all?
    Should we be directing our anger at puppets or the master himself?