The Singapore Prison Service has denied access to Ms Ngeow Chow Ying, a Malaysian lawyer representing death row inmate, Yong Vui Kong. Ms Ngeow had requested access to her client in order to advise him on his constitutional rights as a Malaysian, now that Yong’s case is a matter which has come under consideration by the Malaysian government.

Ms Ngeow’s role is to advise her client on his legal and constitutional rights under Malaysian laws in the event that the Malaysian government fails to act on his behalf.

Ms Ngeow had made the trip down from Malaysia for this purpose and is currently in Singapore. She had hoped that she would be allowed to visit Yong for the first time.

The request for access was first made to the Prison Service on 5 July. It was only today, 15 July, that the Prison Service responded to the request. In its letter, signed off by Superintendent Tan Khek Keong and addressed to Mr M Ravi (Yong’s Singapore lawyer), the Prison Service said: “We have considered your request and we regret to inform that we are unable to accede to it.” It added: “However, please be assured that we will continue to facilitate Mr Yong’s access to his current appointed Singapore lawyer.”

The Online Citizen understands that following the Prison Service’s letter, which was sent to Mr Ravi at about 5pm, the Malaysian High Commission was informed of it and had tried to reach the Prison Service. However, the attempts by the High Commission have not been successful. It seems no one at the Prison Service is available to attend to the High Commission’s phone calls.

It is unclear why the Prison Service has denied access to Ms Ngeow.

In 2005, the Prison Service had allowed access to the Australian lawyers for Nguyen Van Tuong, who was also sentenced to death in Singapore for drug trafficking.

—————-

TOC will provide updates on the latest development as and when we have them.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

25 Responses to “Malaysian lawyer denied access to Yong”

1. yvk must die 15 July 2010

This is rubbish. YVK’s representing lawyer on this case is M Ravi, not Ms Ngeow. YVK is therefore not her client

2. Atobe 15 July 2010

Same Asian ethnicity but different citizenship – the Australian lawyer allowed access but not a Malaysian lawyer ?

Ten days before a reply to the request – is totally unacceptable especially when time is running out for one sitting in death row.

Clearly, the matter has received the attention and consideration at the Cabinet level, and the negative response is to be expected – given the present controversies arising from the Law Minister’s public comments that has been seen as prejudicial to the appeal process; and the very controversial revelation by the then Attorney-General Walter Woon that “it is the Cabinet that decides the appeal and advise the President to act accordingly” – is shockingly in contraventon to the Constitution.

This is First World Standard in the style preferred by the Pro Alien Party running Singapore with minds trapped in a Third World setting.

3. martian 15 July 2010

And not even a whimper from Singapore Law Society! Right to Counsel and Counsels, is a basic right. What scandal! What kind of a pariah state have we become?

4. mr moon 15 July 2010

problem is ms ngeow is not a singaporean lawyer. perhaps mr ravi can advice yong.
    i guess anything the malaysian authorities can do is through diplomatic means and not going directly to the prison

5. For a better SG 15 July 2010

The World must know about this. Can TOC prepare a press pack so that Singies outside can spread the news.

6. popcorn 15 July 2010

Strictly speaking, the Malaysian lawyer
    should brief Ravi, Yong’s Singaporean lawyer on what Yong could do.
    But then, we still stand on neutral ground, watching the fire from the bank of the river, watching how Singapore face the Malaysian Govt. We are now bystanders, watching Singapore’s reaction,whether there would be double standards used owing to political pressure from the Malaysains.
    Remeber how the Singapore police acted in the Saudi Arabian diplomat’s assualt case, the police said there is no case and close the file. Would Yong be the next lucky one?

7. PAP will deny any scandalous news 15 July 2010

With YOG coming soon, they are trying not to attract attention by the foreign media.

I think it will backfire.

8. Hanged 16 July 2010

I would not be surprised that he will be hanged and then the Singapore court allows for appeal!

Yea appeal against the death sentence after the hanging…this is UNIQUELY SINGAPORE!

9. prettyplace 16 July 2010

Look, Singaporean Chinese might not be collective.

But the Malaysian Chinese are always collective and know, what to stand for.
    They will always stand together.

Now, ‘the good thing, about this issue’
    it’s going to go beyong law. It is going to be racial.

They would want this boy to be pardoned.

Ravi has certainly stirred the honests nests. Now, pertaining to what happened to Vignes, it’s a matter of time the Indians in Malaysia get into the act.

Its sure an interesting time for Singapore.

By the way, being Singaporean, if we think we are great and can stand by ourselves not needing Malaysia.

Try it and see, where you end up.
    I truely want to see the strength of PAP ministers, on this issue.

fun, fun & more fun

10. A Tan 16 July 2010

Ang Moh tua kee. M’sia is only “lesser breed”. Oz is one of the white dominions.

So of course ang moh country lawyers can see citizen.

Hanged, what you said happened in UK.

11. singapore observer 16 July 2010

What the Malaysian lawyer puts forth is reasonable. The Singapore prison service need to show that by allowing the request there will be a breach in

a) security
    b) law

or a compromise in any other process such as Yong’s presidential clemency plea bargain. Its clear none of this is the case.

Its a pure attempt to deflect attention. Its pure politics and PR management. But this case is about someone who is going to be killed. The Singapore Prison Service cannot be playing politics in this case.

12. lobo76 16 July 2010

Question: At which point in time did Yong appoint this Ms Ngeow as his lawyer?

13. teo soh lung 16 July 2010

A person can have more than one lawyer.

14. Devagi 16 July 2010

The Malaysian lawyer has no locus standi to interview Yong in prison. She would be usurping the good work done by Singapore lawyer M Ravi. Why didn’t she go through Ravi is puzzling?

15. Constitution 16 July 2010

What does it matter when the lawyer was appointed?

And why does Devagi think Ms Ngeow is “usurping” M Ravi’s role? The report above says her job is to advise Yong on his constitutional rights as a Malaysian.

I believe this was what also happened with Nguyen Van Tuong, the Vietnamese-Australian in 2005. Van’s Australian lawyers were allowed to see Van, even at the clemency stage.

I think the Prison Service, sadly, like the Straits Times, is being used as a political tool.

16. Felicity 17 July 2010

Court and prison officials would only have records of Mr Ravi as Yong’s lawyer. So Ms Ngeow cannot self appoint herself as Yong’s lawyer at this point in time and therefore will have no access to him unlesss it’s thru Mr Ravi. Therefore the prison authorities has not erred in rejecting Ms Ngeow request.

17. Devagi 19 July 2010

@Constitution

The problem is the Malaysian lawyer has no practising certificate in Singapore! You cannot allow any Tom, Dick & Harry Malaysian and Singapore lawyers claiming to be the prisoner’s lawyer as and when he likes and demanding to see the prisoner when there is already a Singapore lawyer representing him. Felicity has stated it clearly above. As the Malay proverb says “Lembu punya susu, sapi punya nama” ie. cow’s milk, ghee gets the name. Is it fair for the Malaysian lawyer to get the name when it is Ravi’s milk? The Australian lawyer was accompanied by a Singapore lawyer representing the prisoner and this was the proper protocol.

18. Perhaps you can start coordinating with Avaaz to reach the global community, like what they did successfully with Sakineh – refer “Last week a massive global outcry stopped an Iranian woman, Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani, from being stoned to death.”‘ link http://www.avaaz.org/en/stop_stoning/?cl=670705948&v=6802

19. george 19 July 2010

@Devagi

In fact the M’sian lawyer had approached the prison authorities thru Mr Ravi, just as the Australian lawyer did in the previous dealth row case.

Why this double standard?

20. I didn’t know Malaysian lawyers are allowed to practice in Singapore.

21. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme. Many thanks

22. This is the best article I have ever found on the Internet.diamond has become the hot fashion in the modern trend.