Latest: Alan Shadrake visited the Gleneagles hospital on Saturday. TOC understands he has been advised to wear a heart monitor for 24 hours starting Tuesday as his heart is weak.

Excerpts from the British Weekly’s interview with author of Once A Jolly Hangman, Alan Shadrake:

“Although they are giving me a very gruelling time here – every day I am interrogated for eight to ten hours, often covering the same ground  -  I would write the book again in a heartbeat. I am not allowed to have an attorney to be present when I am questioned. But I’m not going to be cowed. I’m looking forward to my day in court.

“I feel I am making history with this book. I have had messages of support from all over the world. I have the British government, Amnesty International and the Committee to Protect Journalists on my side and I’m hopeful I will prevail.

“Everything I have written is true. There is a wave of change coming in this country.  It’s time for Lee Kwan Yew to stop running Singapore like his own private fiefdom.”

Read the interview here: British Weekly.

—————-

Letter by Mr M Ravi, counsel for Mr Alan Shadrake:

Criminal Investigation Department
391 New Bridge Road
Police Cantonment Complex
Block C
Singapore 088762

23th July 2010

RE: ALAN SHADRAKE

Dear Sir,

We are instructed on behalf of our client to request that you allow our client to rest for 48 hours prior to taking instructions to defend him in the forthcoming proceedings.

We are further instructed to place on record serious concerns regarding the impact on the physical health and mental well-being which your unrelenting interrogation appears to be having upon him.

Our client is 75 years old.

He suffers from  serious medical conditions which are made worse by stress.

You arrested him on 17th July 2010 and began interrogating him and now although he is on bail, you have subjected him to several hours of questioning for the past 3 days continuously.

You will agree that this is not a case where it is essential in the interests of the security of the State that evidence  be gathered urgently before members of the public are injured or  before another offence is committed by accomplices. It is not a case where evidence must be gathered immediately in order to prevent evidence being destroyed. Indeed, insofar as the alleged offence consists of a publication, all the facts are already there in front of you.  In these circumstances relentless and continued interrogation appears as a form of harassment. As such we are instructed it is unnecessary, inappropriate and ill-befitting Singapore and on his behalf we formally request that it stop immediately.

It appears to us that in a civilised society in which the conduct of the Police and other Prosecutorial Officials is an important measure of the strength of moral and civic virtue, it is unbecoming for those who have the power over individuals who are subject to their custody and subject to their command to act in a manner which results in physical or mental harm or causes undue stress. We therefore must ask you to consider the age and condition of our client and to ensure that he is not subject to untoward stress and alarm.

We reserve the right to bring to the attention of the Court (and to file official complaints in appropriate national and international tribunals) should an independent medical examination indicate that our client’s  health has been and is being placed in jeopardy by the conduct of officials under your command.

Yours faithfully,

M. Ravi

cc. client

cc. British High Commission

———————–

Open letter to the authorities: Judicial harassment of journalist is an affront to freedom of expression by the International Federation for Human Rights:

The Honourable Mrs. Koh Juat Jong
Acting Attorney-General
The Attorney-General’s Chambers
Republic of Singapore

Subject: Judicial harassment of journalist, an affront to freedom of expression

Your Excellency,

The International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH), representing 164 organisations across the world, is deeply concerned about the arrest of and charges leveled against British journalist Mr. Alan Shadrake on 18 July 2010, a day after he launched his book, Once a Jolly Hangman: Singapore Justice on the Dock, which contained evidence suggesting double standards in Singapore’s policy and the use of the death penalty. According to information received, the arrest was made based on a complaint lodged by the Media Development Authority.

According to court documents obtained by the media, your office accuses Mr. Shadrake for making allegations in his book that impugn on the impartiality, integrity and independence of the judiciary. During his detention at a police complex, he was reportedly kept awake for interrogation for extended period of time and he was asked to explain all chapters in his book, his research and the reasons behind authoring the book. Publishing a book of investigative journalism is not a crime, nor is peaceful expression of dissent, and by taking legal action against someone for doing so, Singapore is seriously undermining the freedom of expression and brings into question the independence and integrity of the very institution it is accusing Mr. Shadrake of impugning, namely its judiciary.

While FIDH welcomes Mr. Shadrake’s subsequent release on 20 July after posting bail, we remain troubled about the continued restriction of freedom of expression and the press in Singapore. The arrest and the legal action against Mr. Shadrake is the latest example in a worrying trend of suppression of opposition and criticisms through judicial intimidation. FIDH recalls that “in October 2009, former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew and current Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, successfully brought a defamation suit against the “Far Eastern Economic Review” and its editor-in-chief Hugo Restall for a 2006 article based on an interview of an opposition politician who was critical of the ruling party. There have been other defamation lawsuits filed by the government against international media, including Bloomberg, “The Economist” and “The International Herald Tribune” and “Wall Street Journal”, the latter for allegedly ‘impugning the independence of Singapore’s judiciary’.

The judicial harassment of Mr. Shadrake for authoring a book critical of the use of the death penalty also creates a climate of fear and restricts the openness of the public discussion on sensitive issues, such as the death penalty. Furthermore, it underscores Singapore’s refusal to take note of changing international opinion in favour of abolition of this inhuman practice and of empirical evidence and experience that strongly suggest that the death penalty is not an effective deterrent of crimes.

Singapore’s handling of the case of Mr. Shadrake will be a barometer of its readiness to match its economic progress as the most prosperous nation in ASEAN with strong commitment to adhere to the human rights clauses in the ASEAN Charter as well as the rights guaranteed by the United Nations Universal Declaration for Human Rights. FIDH sincerely hopes Singapore will end the use of judicial action against individuals or organisations peacefully expressing their opinions or dissent regarding governmental policies and actions.

Thank you in advance for taking into consideration our concerns and recommendations.

Sincerely yours,

Souhayr Belhassen
FIDH President

Copied to :

* The Honourable Mr. George Yong-Boon Yeo, Minister for Foreign Affairs

* The Honourable Mr. K. Shanmugam, Minister of Law and Second Minister for Home Affairs

* The Honourable Mr. Mr Lui Tuck Yew, Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts

* The Media Development Authority

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

74 Responses to “I am not going to be cowed: Alan Shadrake (Updated)”

1. Atobe 24 July 2010

After exposing Singapore’s “jolly hangman” to the whole world, Alan Shadrake will be comforted to know that at least he will not have to face the hangman’s noose.

On behalf of all Singaporeans who desire to know the truth of what is happening in Singapore, we thank Alan with all sincerity.

To all the different ethnic groups who appreciate Alan Shadrake’s efforts, simply say a prayer according to your faith – that Alan Shadrake remain strong and courageous in the current challenges being faced.

Alan Shadrake is now made to face the injustice that he wrote about, and now brought on him, simply to extract the mean petty vengeance for the embarrassment he caused to a carefully built image of seeming impeccable justice that is supposed to be efficient and expeditiously dispensed.

Unfortunately, efficient and expeditious justice does not necessary result in fair justice, when the judiciary cannot exercise their independent wisdom in deliberating their judgment, as the politicians imposed their own political values in legislations passed that will dictate mandatory sentences which tie the hands of the judiciary.

Blind expeditious and efficient justice does not necessarily result in fair justice.

2. Richard 24 July 2010

Three Steps One Bow to Alan Shadrake.

Thanks for the book :-) thanks for caring more about Singapore than many Singaporeans do. The force be with you. God bless!

3. jungleboy 24 July 2010

I feel the change coming too. The jig is up.

“There is not a more repulsive spectacle than on old man who will not forsake the world, which has already forsaken him.”
    ~ T S Elliot

4. My Deepest Respect 24 July 2010

No written words can convey my deepest respect for you.

Please accept a bow.

May the TRUTH be known.

GOD Bless You.

5. Cocomut 24 July 2010

I love the comment “It’s time for Lee Kwan Yew to stop running Singapore like his own private fiefdom.”

Reminds me of Francis T. Seow and his book “To Catch a Tartar”

6. Humbled Soul 24 July 2010

Alan,

I am humbled by your sacrifice. At least you are willing to lay down your life and comfort for Singaporeans. May God grant you strength and wisdom. Thank you.

At least you speak up as your heart and conscience shine forth.

7. ong t h 24 July 2010

Hi
    I have not had the chance to read the book yet. But if what is written is factually correct ( or the truth ), then the correct response should be to correct the “ërrant” ways and not sue the purveyor of truth on whatever charges. Face up to the truth and apologise for the wrongs that had been inflicted. But if what was written in the book is “false” then the writer deserves to be sued.

8. nonsense 25 July 2010

Alan has awaken the great Count Dracula like Van Helsing. Now the world will finally see the fangs out. Finally the world will now believe that vampires DO exist-in Singapore, and some say Romania too. >:E~ Yummy.

Be strong Alan, keep Garlic close to keep the Gar-men out.

9. Lim Tung Hee 25 July 2010

As we empathise with Mr.Alan Shadrake for his plight,I believe most Singaporeans are more shocked by the “criminal defamation”charge hurled at him.

What exactly constitues “criminal defamation”?

If by critising a government system,authority or establishment is construed as defaming in a criminal
    sense,then would any written or expressed criticism be similarly deemed
    as “criminal”as such?Would a person who argues or criticises a policeman be slapped with the same charge as he is making allegations against the Police authority?

If so,Singapore is indeed unique in imposing such a law which literally disallows criticism of establishment.
    By this,would any critic or oppositionist of the government be charged as a “defamation criminal”in future?

As an oppositionist,I certainly hope this
    issue could be clarified by the Singapore government in detail as the public;especially the opposition,needs to know the parameters (or OB markers)before we find ourselves in jail for our constructive criticisms or altruistic actions.

Just as in football,the international rules of the game are made known to every player or spectator.However,if the referee makes an unusual decision to award an undeserving “penalty kick” ,the spectators need to know why.

10. Pro Alien Party 25 July 2010

I support you, Mr Shadrake. I agree that Lee Kuan Yew should step down and return power to someone that truely care about Singaporeans.

If old dog Lee Kuan Yew care for Singaporeans, he wouldn’t practise nepotism and would not allow his son Lee Hsien Loong to buy supports by giving millions to his cabinet of Yes-men.

I hope Singaporeans have balls like Mr. Shadrake and overthrow Lee Hsien Loong. Lee Hsien Loong only cares about money and believe he can buy supports.

Lee Hsien Loong is a heartless nepotism benefactor that let in millions of foreigners to suppress wages, cause HDB flats to become unaffordable for Singaporeans, inflation and income gap skyrocket, facilities like hospitals and public transports serve more foreigners than Singaporeans.

PAP can stay in power but Lee Hsien Loong and Mah Bow Tan must go… for the good of Singaporeans.

11. Glad Mr Shadrake think’s he has the British Government behind him……

Would be interesting to see how Western governments are really committed to defending the values they claim to espouse ….

12. Hmm good sign….

But its also a shame thing because it is not our own local singaporeans stand up and stand tall to say our garhment , yet it is done by a foreigner.

Singaporeans should feel shame when we should be the one to stand up and come against this evil garhment, yet we didnt dare to…Rather a foreigner from a foreign land dare to face all kinds of false charges , includes interogation for so long hours…. Kudos to you. Alan

Really hope to see that that LKY and the rest of the ministars will face their downfall and also their retribution soon.. May Heaven judge them for letting singaporeans to suffer so terribly noww….

13. busybody 25 July 2010

The best way you can help Alan Dradrake is vote them out. Once the support of the PAP collapse, we need not worry about their insane charges of defamation against everybody.

14. preston loon 25 July 2010

To all TOC readers,
    Socialism still very much alive and at work in Singapore for all citizens but for the political elitists,it is capitalism.Here is what i mean:The PAP will not allow anyone to profit in Singapore from distributions of printed materials which are critical of them or the system they created.For Sr.Lee he can sell his printed materials here anytime he wanted and no one dares to critique his memoirs.

15. tiredsingaporean 25 July 2010

Hope to see WSJ and the rest of the foreign media would step in and join the force, make it an international issue if they can now, make it BIG and see how many others they can sue, this is better than watching the world cup soccer.

16. nonsense 25 July 2010

The Wheels of Karma has been set.
    Now we sit back and witness retribution and history in the making.

17. Andrew Chen 25 July 2010

Alas, unless political leaders like David Cameron are willing to publicly stand-up for Shadrake, I fear this issue will ultimately be swept under the carpet.

The powers that be must have realised by now the potential backlash this event could cause, in the midst of YoG, the publicity could easily get out of control.

My guess, they’ll ban the book, fine Shadrake $100K and sweep this whole issue under the carpet.

18. VoteForChange 25 July 2010

Yes, this issue will be swept under the carpet.
    As there is only One voice, One Newspaper, and One Authority, this issue is well under control by that One party.
    Isnt this Tyranny?

19. cyrus 25 July 2010

No one is perfect. Any individual or institution that tries to behave as if perfection is achievable is setting themselves up for a great fall.

Criticizing a system is not defamation especially when it is a matter of great public interest that justice be carried out in a fair and transparent manner.

Three cheers and more for that wonderful man, Alan Shadrake.

20. Remember “he who stands for nothing will fall for anything”.

21. What idiots? QUestion him so much for what? As if he took someone’s life… he just wrote a book and it’s fact based and has been researched not just a claim like what some of our ministers can come up with “happen only once in 50 years?”

22. AhBengBangBeng 25 July 2010

Funny how TR claims it was an exclusive interview to them when all can read it was made for British Weekly. Fortunately TOC has editorial standard.

23. PeterC 25 July 2010

A rap on the knuckle,a day in court a below $10,000 fine = bail bond and all is forgotten and life move on ha!ha!ha!

24. to all singaporeans 25 July 2010

long live pap we support you with our whole balls.

this is what singaporeans are!
    this is what singaporeans will be forever!

singaporeans mouth full of lky balls that’s why they can’t speak up!

singaporeans will suffer for the amount of balls they carry and stuff it in their mouth for the rest of their life!

you all singaporeans think pap will lose the election? please touch your heart and ask if you won’t vote for pap!

bet you all with my life that every single singaporeans will vote again for pap after getting the mini goodies bags

25. poking poking 25 July 2010

the reason why singaporeans don’t feel the pain no matter how much lky poke them is because lky put ky in singaporeans assss so that he can keep poking non stop and singaporeans enjoy the feel of it. keep going it is fun

26. AhBengBangBeng 25 July 2010

Funny how TR claims it was an exclusive interview to them when all can read it was made for British Weekly. Fortunately TOC has editorial standard.

AhBengBangBeng they did not claim that they had an exclusive interview from him. You scroll to the end of the article you find that they provided the source where they copy paste from.

Source: British Weekly Exclusive

27. @to all singaporeans

yes.. we do wish every legal adult Singaporean is eligible to vote…

Great system and logic here… 18 year olds are considered old enough to make LIFE & DEATH decisions.. but can’t vote.

28. to all singaporeans 25 July 2010

@ wui

there is no legal in singaporeans only legal government. you vote them out they vote themselves in, either way they win.

they buy vote we cast vote.they are billionaire we are dollaraire. guess who win again?

singaporeans just have to admit to talking this into their very mouth and blame no one but the old folk and they young forks that listen to their grand masters believing they will have a bright future one day but that one day will be their death day.

what they did is taking singapore into their own business ground and their earning from this very land they claim founder of singapore is lky. founder of none is singaporeans. guess who benefit the most?

foreigner work and they go.
    singaporeans work and they never know.

we all…..thanks singaporeans for generations for voting pap and still coming GE going to vote for pap again and again. we thanks you all and keep up the good work and buy more toilet roll from ntuc to wipe your tears each time being poke and not to forget get your own ky. if singaporeans younger generation were to give a chance to vote the first thing they will do is ask the parents who to vote. they will say PAP must vote. you don’t vote you get into troubles we can’t get help next time. so the poor child goes the box and do a tick proudly. so this is what you all will get.

this 100,000 is just a beginning and a tickles by our father lky…,singaporeans aint see nothing yet.

29. flood away 25 July 2010

yeah singaporeans aint see nothing yet. the pappies is just getting started. sad that singaporeans are so coward that foreigner got reveal our government dirty work instead of singaporeans. till this day only JBJ is the strong man against him but no one else after him

30. The TRUTH 25 July 2010

All civilized and truth seeking Singaporeans have 100% support for you.
    Thank you.
    The truth will free us.
    To the pappies-Stop telling me what not to read—this is not a nation of 5 year olds.

31. The Government 25 July 2010

@ The TRUTH

singapore is belong to the governemt the founding father lky. so if the government say something you all singaporeans better listen and follow the order.

singaporeans have no rights to voice up for they have done nothing compare to the founding father who build a first world country.

32. just talk talk 25 July 2010

lee kuan yew is a great father to us that have been helping all the ungrateful singaporeans all this years and yet singaporeans grumble. he give us all a better life now compare to brunei and other self own rich country where they begging for food yet lky deliver the food.

how good singaporeans want? to feed you first millions?

33. Sumiko Kam 25 July 2010

oh no, like this, the whole world could access to this web page and see the letter and the arrest of the author. How?

34. selfish 25 July 2010

we hate china nationalities the most!!

because of them initially that come to this. still they are coming none stop!!

go back china la..their country more bigger to build few casinos and condos and china towns. why come here and make us suffer!! they come to create jobs for singaporeans? my foot!!

35. uncaring face 25 July 2010

how come i don’t feel change is coming?
    I mean, to me, singaporeans, especially the native citizens are still the same old person in terms of their mentality.

most people seem willing to accept all policies.

do you see them protesting?

not even a fart.

36. eaglefly 25 July 2010

hey, this is foreign interference, not allowed in in singapore politics, don’t you all know this.

are you sure you want foreigners to comment and interfere, about local politics and double standards and other matters, NOW !

good, get obama to open up the us market, then talk….to us about democracy and tell us what is required…

“MAY THE PEN BE WITH YOU” MR. SHADRAKE

37. TSUNAMIBURST 25 July 2010

Let’s together pray for Mr Shadrake and be grateful to him for standing up on behalf of ill-treated S’poreans by this devilish Papies.Their decade long policies have caused untold damages and sufferings to common folk of S’pore and this old fox is forever arrogantly calling the shots and nailing his advesaries with sueing in the “Hall of Justice”.Retribution will come swiftly to this devilish old fox and his family and let’s tegether await the coming of the great happening in a life time!!!

38. Fugazzi 25 July 2010

Many years back Nelson Mandela when he was here made this remark to the effect that ”…to know if a country is truly demorcratic is to ”watch” how the justice system funtions, ie the courts;if it is unfree of govt control and influence – democracy is a farce and it is truer to being a pseudo-demcoracy.
    The inexorable intuitive perception among Singaporeans is that govt influence and control over the courts and media is and has been resoundingly jarring to the fabric of one’s being.
    PS: It is incidental that this man happens to be a foreigner. If this is interference – the same can be said of LKY or his compatriots who make speeches, exhorting or otherwise – utterly dense is the reasoning.
    Must the education system of ours that merely churns out economic digits as opposed to one that can and preferably synthesize linearity n intuition.

39. laugh at singaporeans 25 July 2010

@ uncaring face 25 July 2010

singaporeans protest?? i will for real chop off my finger in public if they really care for singaporeans and protest.

but too bad. singaporeans are all pussiess.

they still wearing pampers from ntuc how to protest?

40. singaporeans not belong here 25 July 2010

we filipnos and chinas will vote for pap!!

we will support pap! singapore people can just keep quite if you don’t like the government you go out of singapore

41. High Time 25 July 2010

@singaporeans not belong here

You pinnoys and ah tiongs why come here in the first place.
    Because your country already bankrupt and come here to be bootlickers of pappys.
    Balek kampong lah!

42. singaporeans not belong here 25 July 2010

we filipinos and chinas and bangla belong here.we build this buildings you singaporeans stay! don’t forget that!

this is our new develope country that we sweat ourselves for who? singaporeans to benefits? go and fly kite!

we are given jobs by so call you mention pappys so we are grateful to them unlike singaporeans complaining never ending,
    and will support them in voting and challenge to make them win as the pappys can support us and back in our own country too.

good luck singaporeans and try to work hard them you can pay to live if lazy how to progress??

43. Stop moaning, ang moh.

They treating you better than locals. Ask the activists who kanna arrested.

What is eight hrs of questioning? You get to sleep peacefully in nice htl room. %-star I assume?

44. @ to all Singaporeans

you are singing to the choir mate. I was just pointing out the irony. But I do not have wishful thinking… a defeatist attitude is very different from a realist with ideals attitude.

45. @ Singaporeans not belong here

I understand where you are coming from. But I don’t think you understand where the anger of many here are coming from.

46. singaporeans not belong here 25 July 2010

@ wui 25 July 2010

we don’t understand where the anger of many singaporeans here come from? so what if they have anger?what can they do? riot?protest?voice up? touch us? chanse us away?

we have a good goverment and we are very save here!

unlike singaporeans we foreigners we respect the government and obey the rules and we live peacefully here but singaporeans always want to show anger and frustration, complain instead of listening and working hard and have a peaceful life.

47. foreigners here support PAP 25 July 2010

Singaporeans do what? dirty jobs don’t want. demand sky high pay, choosy,long hours work complain. want the government to babysit the entire Singaporeans old folks. want everything cheap, bills don’t pay., then work less earn less can’t survive blame the government and keep asking for help and financial assistance. how the country want to progress if year after years Singaporeans doing this?

48. iHATESchinaMEN 25 July 2010

singaporeans not belong here 25 July 2010
    @ wui 25 July 2010

we don’t understand where the anger of many singaporeans here come from? so what if they have anger?what can they do? riot?protest?voice up? touch us? chanse us away?

we have a good goverment and we are very save here!
    …………….
    indeed you are very very safe ere..
    ello chinaman..who teach you drivin lorry here..in china red trafic light mean you can turned right mey?
    why the right turn only can be used by foreign talented chinamen?
    what happened if 1 youn speedin motorcyclist were to come alon..afterall green light is in his favour.. if he hit into you..what are you goin to pay him with? your frickin renminpi?

49. Disgusted Citizen 25 July 2010

I am appalled that the MIW will resort to such underhanded measures to bully a kind old and highly respected man for writing the truth.

50. I support the Ang Moh of helping us because our own people are not even standing up for our own rights and fight for our own rights.

I do not think that by voting will make the Pappies lose seat. The only thing i can see multi-parties happening is only either the international help comes in , the world comes to know singapore is not exactly as what they think in the first place and they get to see no real democracy here. Otherwise, very hard to see PAPPIES to be out and be responsible for their sick actions towards their own.