Andrew Loh -
I remember in the ’80s when I would look forward to each National Day Rally on television. Lee Kuan Yew was gonna speak and I’d always found him to be a great orator, someone who enthralls me each time. I would be glued to the screen listening to every one of his words, even to the point where if I needed to use the toilet, I would run there and be back as soon as I can, so that I wouldn’t miss a word he says.
But to be clear, i was never a fan of his. I just loved listening to him speak.
Fast forward to 2010 and I can’t even bare to read what he says anymore.
Most of what he says nowadays is irritating, shallow and most significantly, condescending. I’ve lost count of the number of times he has put Singaporeans down with degrading remarks, using words and analogies including dogs, maids, daft, lazy, ignorant and more.
While some of his supporters may try and explain that he is just trying to inspire or urge Singaporeans to be more productive, competitive and hardworking, I feel it actually is the contrary. Lee Kuan Yew’s words are borne out of hubris and arrogance. And with such overwhelming power and authority, he is fast nursing a society which is fast becoming dysfunctional – just as any father with such attitudes would.
It breeds deference where there should not be, where even when he is wrong, no one dares speak up against him. Or when he makes a declaration, no one – least of all the media – dares question or challenge his claims.
This is where the danger lies for Singapore.
That after 50 years, we are still under the thumb of one man who, as with all who stays in power for so long, has become a world unto himself. And we live in this world of his, warts and all.
Nah, Mr Lee, I do not and will not subscribe to your view that one should not retire and that one should never stop working. Instead, I believe, unlike you, that there is more to life than just feeding the economy beast, or being a cog in your economic wheel.
Lee Kuan Yew is no sage and if we continue to live and believe as he does we will all soon find that our lives have become meaningless. That all we do is this relentless and endless pursuit of thhis thing called “a brighter future” – a utopian future which we never seem to be able to reach or arrive at.
This is because there is no such future.
It is the job of politicians like Lee Kuan Yew to make us believe that there is.
Happinness and satisfaction and contentment is now. It is not in the future. There is no need to be running after this “brighter future” because we will never reach it.
It does not exist.
When we are able to see this, we are content with the here and now. We realise that life is so much more. That at the end of the day, it is the simple things which makes us happy – family, friends, helping others, spending time with loved ones.
And we do not need “economic success” in order to be these or to do these things.
I am happy where I am – and I am no big-time businessman, or a top civil servant, or a great scholar, or am earning millions.
In fact, I am on the brink of being broke most of the time.
Yet, I am contented. I am happy.
I am most happy when I see my mom. When I speak to my sisters and see them happy. When I see my nieces and nephews. Or when I chit chat with my friends.
I am consciously aware of not being a part of this dysfunctional family of Lee Kuan Yew. Dysfunctional to the point where we become arrogant, self-centred, back-stabbing, competitive to the point where we feel it is right and proper to house our foreign workers in a cemetery, where we pay our maids such a pathetic salary, where we even reject their request for a single day off per month, where we hang young boys, where our suicide rates are so high, where we cut the pay of older workers for no other reason than that they are old.
And so on and so on.
Singapore is a sad place now. It has become a hotel. Our home hijacked by one man who sees himself as our “father”. Indeed some have called him so.
It is pathetic.
I hope Lee Kuan Yew would leave the stage soon.
I no longer admire him or the way he speaks or what he says.
In fact, I am convinced that he is the biggest stumbling block to Singapore and Singaporeans achieving their full potential.
Lee Kuan Yew to me is no sage.
Indeed, he has become something of a joke to me. A sad relic of an old man trying to feed his ego by claiming the limelight almost on a daily basis now.
It is a sad sight indeed.
And now, whenever he comes on the telly, I would turn the telly off or walk away.
The man is nothing but an ego trip.
————-
Read Sam’s Thoughts: The day Lee Kuan Yew gutted me
- PAP will win next two elections: Lee Kuan Yew
- “We now have Ukrainians serving in the army” – Lee Kuan Yew
- Singapore beyond Lee Kuan Yew
- Do not print pictures of me smiling – Lee Kuan Yew
- Retire? Shrivel and face the wall – Lee Kuan Yew

JinkangPut..cannot access since last posting on 4th Aug 2010. Very Happen at this wee hours on Sat 7th Aug I WAS ABLE TO REBUTT again….. THINK SOME FISHY go away already
JinkangPut
Only Efficient, PEACEFUL & Properous Country Likes Singapore offer PLENTY OF JOBs
…………..
indeed
istana hav 6 vacancies availiable
tongue licker
backside wiper
virtual toydog
palace jester
walkin stick holder
and most impotent job of ALL
food taster (nowadays istana cooks aint reliable..last ear they 1/2 blind instead of sugar..they placed rat poisons)
iodourJinkangPOOFTERkarchng…u smell bad all over.
Yak, yak, yak licking, wiping and what others Jobs u do in those back lanes.
Plenty of Decent Jobs available.
iaintnoQUITTER..M’sia welcome U to be blast away in forest, Thai kil Thai among Yellow, Red & Blue…PLEASE GO !
PAP Govt ensure Plenty of Decent Jobs available. No needs to sell my home, plenty of CPF, Annunity & Medisave safely deposited in S’pore. Why migrate when HOME-S’pore is peaceful & wealthy.Home near Mandai Forest good for a weekend Retreat with Greenery & Good Durain too. Home-S’pore Safe, Wealthy, Peaceful Country.
Only Mongolian got blast away in M’sia Forest & Chaotic Bkk got Yellow, Blue & Red Shirts to shoot each others & Curfew.
Hope U go away & peace for ALL AT HOME IN SINGAPORE.
Folks listen,
Only Seow Ting Dong will continue to vote for LKY and his cronies, because the sayings proved true : Birds of shits all come together!
And that Seow Ting Tong is nonethless here in this area, poster with a greenbackground and a smelly blue angry face.
Period.
That Filty Smell don’t seem to go away.
That Awfull Smell have run out of Ideas.
That Smell only scold, curse, blame & point Finger at OTHERS for His Own Problems.
Hiaz ,,,so sorry for, shutup.
Unable to take personal responsibility. Nor learn a basic survival skill.
CowPay & CowBull here get U no where….Grow-Up Shutup-BoyBoy !!!
That Filty Smell don’t seem to go away.
That Awfull Smell have run out of Ideas.
That Smell only scold, curse, blame & point Finger at OTHERS for His Own Problems.
Hiaz ,,,so GET OUT , FUNNY! SEOW DING DONG!
Unable to take personal responsibility. Nor learn a basic survival skill.
CowPay & CowBull here get U no where….Grow-Up Trying to be FUNNY-BoyBoy !!!
Poster with a green background and smelly angry look face, with ever changing displaying names. Real Funny retarded moron!!!! Sad for your parents…and your grandma also to make you so retarded and so funny and so smelly also…..Poor parents and grandma of yours…hahahhah…..Funny Indeed!!!!
1) 88 yrs G’ma 4 August 2010
2) Report of the Auditor-General for the Financial Year 2009/10 4 August 2010
No reply to my above mentioned 2 topic ?
same-same lah (Crab Family), sing-song.
WTF!!! An old man who thinks that he’s an indispensable person.His lies and crazed for power will end only when the people are brave enough to say no.
Nobody in their right Mind will chose OPPOSITION.
With PAP..We get Workfare, Job Credit & MP meet the peoples session for 4 eyes meeting to manage Citizen needs & wants!!
Our Singapore Citizenship Right to buy & own a HDB Home. Market highly value Our Home for a Peaceful Retirement, Clean Street & Home Security.
Plenty of choice in Hawker Centre & lots of Air con Supermarket for cheap grogery.
1st in the World for Many Creative Ideas to manage Big Problems Efficiently. We have IR @ Sentosa, Universal Studio, YOG, F1, The S’pore Flyer, Taka, Vivo, 313 Somerset shopping Malls.
Opposition in this FORUM are just RICE BOWL-BREAKERs, Gangsters, Liars & speak likes Ah Long…..the Loan Sharks Boss & Runners.
Funny
have u ever been to a meet session with the MP i m guessing no!! i have known families who have gone to these meetings with problems and i mean real prblems be it financial, bills, food….and they have come out with no help. And they have gone to them a couple of times and there is still no help. So these meet sessions are really useless to citizens who are in need cuz the MP’s do not do anything. I even have an incident to share with u, there was citizen who went to a session and the ignorant volunteer who was documenting what this person was telling turns around to the poor person and said u should be luck that i am writting this down to sent to (whoever it was to). I mean come on people who are helping to record stuff at these meetings have volunterred their service to be there to help the MP to help the citizens so why such rude statements!!! why volunteer yrself than!! if this meet sessions were to help citizens than one got to look at where the problem is and why is help not bing able to be provided.
its all good when one has no problems to have Mr L way of governance but what about the so many families out there that are in financiaL difficulties and do not get help form the govenment and i am talking about families where their family members are working but cant afford basic essentials like water bill, food, conservation charges!!??? how can one say that the rulling party is good when thay cannot help or assist citizens in need!!!
For the facilities that you mentioned do u not know that there are there for one aim to bring in more tourist to invest in singapore to boost the economy…and where does all this money go dont tell me all to maintain the country cuz we are an island..how come with the way singapore’s economy is improving nothing is done by the government to help the needy??!!!
We claim to be a democratic country how is it even possible when anything one says that is against what the govenment thinks either goes to jail or get charged for some reason. how could a country be called democratic when the citizens voice cannot be heard!!! the pledge whould be changes cuz the way singapore is ruled it does not have the same meaning of democracy which the english dictionary explains..
j
Sorry to hear all these. But let me tell u what i know of many “WHO” came to these meet MP sessions. These pples are out for Easy $$$ Hand-Out, Easy Way Out, Lazy Way Out and 99% are over committed to many Loan from Gambling, 4D, ToTo, Ah Long, Travel Now & Pay Later Plan, House Gadgets Installment, Mobile phone upgrade, Cable TV, AirCon bills, Taxi Rides. 10 yrs Car Loan, $1 A Day HiFi Ownership Plan etc….
In Short “Irresponsible Lazy Pples or Pples Who Just Want Others To Foot Their Bills”. They Blames Everyone Except Themselves.
PLEASE DON’T COME HERE TO TALK NONSENSE”.
At these session….these Pples:
When told to Save Electric Bill by turning off AIRCON complain it is too warm or hot to sleep in Sunny S’pore.
Told to use MRT instead of Taxi, they said, ” It Is Too Uncomfortable & Inconvenience !!!
Told to down grade Telco Mobile plan to Pre-Paid card, they said, “No Face”.
How Do U Suggest to Help These Irresponsible Pples ???
funny
Opposition in this FORUM are just RICE BOWL-BREAKERs, Gangsters, Liars & speak likes Ah Long…..the Loan Sharks Boss & Runners.
…………….
indeed
techgheephuat grc don’t hav all this? try techgheephuat block 300 somethin..in front of polis post
run by our prince his royale highness
every weekends..the kopitiam in front of the polis post is full of kopi O drinkers
who carried only 1 page of the newspaper
the last 2 horseparade printout..
either the kopitiam hav bad kopi O or the kopitiam jumbuan hav no proper jumbuan tissue
funny
PLEASE DON’T COME HERE TO TALK NONSENSE”.
At these session….these Pples:
When told to Save Electric Bill by turning off AIRCON complain it is too warm or hot to sleep in Sunny S’pore.
Told to use MRT instead of Taxi, they said, ” It Is Too Uncomfortable & Inconvenience !!!
Told to down grade Telco Mobile plan to Pre-Paid card, they said, “No Face”.
How Do U Suggest to Help These Irresponsible Pples ???
………………..
harlor…we also tell leekingyou what
how much you need to earn/month?
what is the normal workin hours you can worked?
How Do U Suggest to Help leekingyou?
yet YOU yourself bless him with over $100,000/month plus free 1st class aeroplant trips unlimited with his ole mrs harrylee
LKY earning !!!!
Y u so jealou & can’t sleep over others capabilties ???
Pples in S’pore Live & Play peacefully is so so so important.
Opposition bring in Chaos, Demo & Disunity for their own selfish reasons.
So many selfish reasons likes i mentioned below:
Opposition want to see Singapore likes Bangkok Red vs Yell Vs Blue Vs Asbisit Vs Takshin.
Opposition want to see Car bomb & burning Malls.
Opposition want disarray & fight in Paliament debate likes in Taiwan & Malaysian.
Opposition want to see blood on the street & burning Cars.
Opposition is just a Bunch of Liars & Opportunists…..the lists is endless.
iamaTECKGHEEPHUATspy
So sad U poor…..iamaTECKGHEEPHUATspy
johore bahru day care centre is for…johore bahru day care centre perhaps. U likes Crimes infested JB. Pl go!!
CPF pay S’porean 4%. That buy lots of Tiger.
Enjoying Life under PAP Govt
or chose to join iamaTECKGHEEPHUATspy in johore bahru day care centre perhaps.
iamaTECKGHEEPHUATspy & his : harlor…we also tell leekingyou what
how much you need to earn/month?
what is the normal workin hours you can worked?
How Do U Suggest to Help leekingyou?
yet YOU yourself bless him with over $100,000/month plus free 1st class aeroplant trips unlimited with his ole mrs harrylee.
Have U Been to Indonesia, places where Poor are begging, sending their Girls & Wife out as Maids & Prositutes in M’sia & nearby Cities, their wife & Children number in million. The Poltician draw a few Hundred or thousand $ but collect Billion thru Back Door & Corruption.
This is What The opposition likes to see happening in Singapore for their SELFISH reasons.
1st Class travel they deserve & $100,000 salary a months is too cheap. With 1st in YOG & F1 Night Race etc…super capabilities “Bo Beh Chow” “No Horse Run”
Honestly … Our opposition is over paid even if it is $3000 a month.
funny
Have U Been to Indonesia, places where Poor are begging, sending their Girls & Wife out as Maids & Prositutes in M’sia & nearby Cities, their wife & Children number in million
……………..
and without a doubt…singapoor leekingyou wasn’t involved in employin/exploitin the above? why you so shy to name SINGAPORE as the nearby cities(STATE to be exact)
by the way..i could hav been the agent for the above racket if i WANT to…
lest you forget
What for Dinner today.
Lucky Singaporean.
So many Fares…Laksa, Mee Hong Kong, Carrot Cake, WanTon Mee, ClayPot Rice, Sotong Mee, Chicken Rice, Economy Curry Rice, Mee Rubus, Lamp Chop, Fish N Chips, Old Chang Kee, Deserts, Sushi Teh, Jack Place, Zhe Char, Duck Rice, Prawn Mee, Qiu Lian Ban Maim, Wendy, MacDonald, KFC, SubWay…maybe for a change International Buffet in Quality Hotel Teo Chew Porriage for just $16.80 Sunday Dinner. Hummmm chaqnge my Mind, maybe drop by Orchard Hotel for a bigger spread. That is Life under capable 7 good PAP Govt.
funny
maybe for a change International Buffet in Quality Hotel Teo Chew Porriage for just $16.80 Sunday Dinner. Hummmm chaqnge my Mind, maybe drop by Orchard Hotel for a bigger spread. That is Life under capable 7 good PAP Govt.
………….
ole yeah..people in hongkong/macau/bangkok/kulualumper must be eatin prata/charkwayteows in 5 stars hotels right?
and quality inn hotel keepers are not bein charged by the 7 capable pap government for rentin out day rooms for prositutions right?
How about giving some credits to PAP Govt for a Job Well Done ?
1: From Slump to 1st World.
2: Beggars Free except imported phony Thai Monks & M’sia Handicap.
3: Beautiful & Well maintained Public Housing, Library , Road, Park & Graden
4: Wow, wow, wow…Little Red Dot can host selected to Host World First Night F1 & YOG………….Oh Oh run out of space to praise add in many many more achievements done by PAP Govt since 196..
Written by a True Singaporean with lots of WISDOM, HONESTY & FAIRNESS…..Thanks
I think what MM Lee still has to offer in his mental hard disk is still of value to singaporeans, young and old. If only it serves as a purely cautionary purpose of being a radar-scanning of the future of a nation as well as a life well-lived, with a wealth of global and intellectual exposure.
Like all children growing up, going through adolenscence, I think some of us in sg might be actually going through “political adolescence” – we want to test the boundaries more fearlessly, we wish to be more independent, seek a sense of individualism and therefore, frown upon the overt and continued guidance, nagging of our indisputably wiser parents, grandparents.
There is, I should add, nothing inherently wrong with those aforementioned desires – akin to the biological clock of a human being, such preferences are understandable, natural and even good in the long-run.
but while we seek our own voice in the overwhelming cacopony of LKY-voices, let us not throw the baby out together with the water: running down someone who has done so much for this country with no due recognition of his brilliance, cunning and achievements in those crucial foundational years would reflect not so much political independence, democratisation, liberalism as much as they exhibit ingratitude, arrogance, and – ironically – hubris (of a different type from those alleged on LKY, to be sure).
I do not think LKY is a sage with no flaws – but pray tell, who isnt? A spirit of negative running down of our nation’s founding fathers – alive or otherwise – will only set in an unhealthy and undesirable example for our younger generation.
funny
17 August 2010
How about giving some credits to PAP Govt for a Job Well Done ?
1: From Slump to 1st World.
2: Beggars Free except imported phony Thai Monks & M’sia Handicap.
3: Beautiful & Well maintained Public Housing, Library , Road, Park & Graden
4: Wow, wow, wow…Little Red Dot can host selected to Host World First Night F1 & YOG………….Oh Oh run out of space to praise add in many many more achievements done by PAP Govt since 196..
………….
wow! you are 1 smart cookie ere…
just 4 lines?
i can post more lines than the 10 commandments if you want me to write bad SINs committed by the pap party…let alone leekingyou..
istealleekingyouSHADOW ..
Long Live LKY & His Pples ….Majulah Singapura… Thank You For So Many Goodies You Bought to Singapore & to Singaporean !!! !
May I suggest all those who hate Singapore to move out from this island home as soon as possible? You will do a good deed to leave behind a wonderful home to those who love Singapore. If you can’t migrate, then find oppty to stay or travel to many countries. If even after this is done, you still can’t appreciate Singapoe, then you should really leave Singapore for good! As long as one is unhappy with the govt/country, one is becoming a nuisance to everyone else. Please leave. Let all those who love Singapore to have a peaceful home. Thank you.
Minutes ago, a Spainese Expat i met at void deck was very excited about living & raising her 3 kis here in SINGAPORE.
Reasons:
1: Good Govt
2: Clean & Very very Safe place.
3: Lots of Oppportunities for Jobs.
4: Everything here works perfectly.
I Love Singapore & Migrant gave 2 Thumps Up to SINGAPORE too. Please leave if U are unhappy as suggested by many Loyal Singaporean.
Ilovesingapore 23 August 2010
May I suggest all those who hate Singapore to move out from this island home as soon as possible? You will do a good deed to leave behind a wonderful home to those who love Singapore. If you can’t migrate, then find oppty to stay or travel to many countries.
…………..
so in order to make 5 people happy from leekingyou/cancerlee/hochin YOU and funny
the rest of the singapoorium peasants should migrate ? right? so who is goin to buy their hdb flats? YOU or funny again? how much would you be prepared to buy their hdb flats? $7500 perhaps? and who is goin to refund their FULL cpf savin$? jerome lee perhaps?
now if you were MY neighbour..i would had catch all the rats/cockroaches and pour into your windows…see how peacefOOL you can sleep..
This iamthePIPEpiper is Cancerous needs a Cure asap !
Full of Bad Ideas, Curses & Jealousy.
funny 23 August 2010
This iamthePIPEpiper is Cancerous needs a Cure asap !
Full of Bad Ideas, Curses & Jealousy.
…………..
what bad ideas? iluvsingapore 1s a peaceFOOL slips..you want leekingyou to carry all our cpf$ savin to his coffin?
and the 2 of you can managed it?
who else you expect to carry the rear coffin? cancerlee perhaps? not on YOUR neLLEE..for he far too busy sittin on the brandnewthorn with hoching behin the iron curtain smokin an opium….
wan shui wan wan shui the new empress of singapoor…
Hello : iamthePIPEpiper
1st…. a BIG THANK YOU for your concern regarding our CPF $$$$$. It is SAFE & EARNING 2.5% in OA + 1.5% in RA. The Compound Interested earned paid for ALL HEALTH INSURANCE POLICY of a Couple. The Annuity CPF Life is paying a whole life times with unlimited years as long as i Live Healhty, Happy & in Peaceful Singapore.
2nd…Do visit a Dr to find a cure for yr Sickness. Otherwise Peaceful & Happy Singaporean will be in Big Big Big troubles with SICK Pple likes U.
3rd…Put yr times to productive use instead of cursing, swearing & wishing others to be in Coffin. Yr CowPay & CowBull get U nowhere here!!!!
4th…What is yr problems ?
5th… Why so jealous of capable Pples managing Singapore Economy, Law & Order earning high pay ?
funny
4th…What is yr problems ?
………..
i dont hav a problemo
YOU hav..we all know you are the number 1 ballcarrier of leekingyou who is tryin to be a court jester..unfortunateLEE you are way way behin limsiasuayed..
how do you defined the word CAPABLE?
by holdin hands with 6 gay guys tryin to hold down 1 small fry?
now regardin law and order…i am sured you would find berlinda ang the most CAPABLE splinter in our judical system
as for ilovesingapoor..where is she? @ ntuc buyin cockrorach shelltok spray perhaps?
Hello….iamthePIPEpiper
See a Dr now. U r very SICK.
funny 24 August 2010
Hello….iamthePIPEpiper
See a Dr now. U r very SICK.
…………
why? your jokes no longer funny or is leekuanyou bein suffocated with YOUR bad ballcarryinc? you do know where his balls are..right?
no not on his nose…
if you hav nothin to carry..dropped DEAD please….
you are borin the readers ere….
iamthePIPEpiper…Read abt the Good Life In S’pore by S’porean. See a Dr Now !!
Sim : I’ve seen this some years back but I watch it again and show this to my kids.. we’re lucky here and are spoilt for choice and options.. while others really survive with “garbage”…. try not to take too many things forgranted… we’re already blessed in many ways…