Andrew Loh -

I remember in the ’80s when I would look forward to each National Day Rally on television. Lee Kuan Yew was gonna speak and I’d always found him to be a great orator, someone who enthralls me each time. I would be glued to the screen listening to every one of his words, even to the point where if I needed to use the toilet, I would run there and be back as soon as I can, so that I wouldn’t miss a word he says.

But to be clear, i was never a fan of his. I just loved listening to him speak.

Fast forward to 2010 and I can’t even bare to read what he says anymore.

Most of what he says nowadays is irritating, shallow and most significantly, condescending. I’ve lost count of the number of times he has put Singaporeans down with degrading remarks, using words and analogies including dogs, maids, daft, lazy, ignorant and more.

While some of his supporters may try and explain that he is just trying to inspire or urge Singaporeans to be more productive, competitive and hardworking, I feel it actually is the contrary. Lee Kuan Yew’s words are borne out of hubris and arrogance. And with such overwhelming power and authority, he is fast nursing a society which is fast becoming dysfunctional – just as any father with such attitudes would.

It breeds deference where there should not be, where even when he is wrong, no one dares speak up against him. Or when he makes a declaration, no one – least of all the media – dares question or challenge his claims.

This is where the danger lies for Singapore.

That after 50 years, we are still under the thumb of one man who, as with all who stays in power for so long, has become a world unto himself. And we live in this world of his, warts and all.

Nah, Mr Lee, I do not and will not subscribe to your view that one should not retire and that one should never stop working. Instead, I believe, unlike you, that there is more to life than just feeding the economy beast, or being a cog in your economic wheel.

Lee Kuan Yew is no sage and if we continue to live and believe as he does we will all soon find that our lives have become meaningless. That all we do is this relentless and endless pursuit of thhis thing called “a brighter future” – a utopian future which we never seem to be able to reach or arrive at.

This is because there is no such future.

It is the job of politicians like Lee Kuan Yew to make us believe that there is.

Happinness and satisfaction and contentment is now. It is not in the future. There is no need to be running after this “brighter future” because we will never reach it.

It does not exist.

When we are able to see this, we are content with the here and now. We realise that life is so much more. That at the end of the day, it is the simple things which makes us happy – family, friends, helping others, spending time with loved ones.

And we do not need “economic success” in order to be these or to do these things.

I am happy where I am – and I am no big-time businessman, or a top civil servant, or a great scholar, or am earning millions.

In fact, I am on the brink of being broke most of the time.

Yet, I am contented. I am happy.

I am most happy when I see my mom. When I speak to my sisters and see them happy. When I see my nieces and nephews. Or when I chit chat with my friends.

I am consciously aware of not being a part of this dysfunctional family of Lee Kuan Yew. Dysfunctional to the point where we become arrogant, self-centred, back-stabbing, competitive to the point where we feel it is right and proper to house our foreign workers in a cemetery, where we pay our maids such a pathetic salary, where we even reject their request for a single day off per month, where we hang young boys, where our suicide rates are so high, where we cut the pay of older workers for no other reason than that they are old.

And so on and so on.

Singapore is a sad place now. It has become a hotel. Our home hijacked by one man who sees himself as our “father”. Indeed some have called him so.

It is pathetic.

I hope Lee Kuan Yew would leave the stage soon.

I no longer admire him or the way he speaks or what he says.

In fact, I am convinced that he is the biggest stumbling block to Singapore and Singaporeans achieving their full potential.

Lee Kuan Yew to me is no sage.

Indeed, he has become something of a joke to me. A sad relic of an old man trying to feed his ego by claiming the limelight almost on a daily basis now.

It is a sad sight indeed.

And now, whenever he comes on the telly, I would turn the telly off or walk away.

The man is nothing but an ego trip.

————-

Read Sam’s Thoughts: The day Lee Kuan Yew gutted me

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

191 Responses to “Lee Kuan Yew – a sad sight indeed”

1. Tan Kuan Han 31 July 2010

‎”overwhelming power and authority”,

I do not understand, sir.

2. High Time 31 July 2010

He has just opened a bank account in hell.

3. George,

You are right. He could be merely preparing for the coming GE. Stating about his age now, and the opposition and the rest of the voters cannot use it against him.

He did the same thing before the last GE, when he told the world that one of his grandson was studying in the American School here, a privilege accorded to only some special one. He did that to ensure no one making it an issue during the GE held soon after.

A fxxking cunning fox!

4. Goh52 31 July 2010

This 50 yrs old Man from Danmark was full of praises for PAP Govt last Thursday we met. So was his whole Family for the
    18% Income Tax, Clean & Efficient Civil services.
    Good infrastructure,Education,Housing & Medical compare to his Country 50 – 60%
    Income taxes that is being taken advantage by some Lazy Citizen. But S’porean CowPay & CowBull here ??????

5. When the late S Rajaratnam spoke about the mad pursuit of material gains in the 1980s, he coined the word ‘MONEYTHEISM’ as Singapore’s mass ideology. [See Ref 1]

Sadly, he did not direct it at the Goh Chok Tong Government then, who had LKY as the SM and adamantly promoting the Ministerial Wages to be pegged to the private sector CEO remunerations.

When the retired Senior Civil Servant spoke on the theme “Singapore is BIGGER than PAP” – he should have been more direct by indicating that “Singapore is BIGGER than LKY”, as LKY is PAP personified. [See Ref 2]
    Ref 1 – Rajaratnam
    http://singaporegovt.blogspot.com/2006_02_01_archive.html

Ref 2 – Ngiam Tong Dow – Singapore Bigger than PAP
    http://newsgroups.derkeiler.com/Archive/Soc/soc.culture.singapore/2006-04/msg00293.html

6. Why yaya curse Old Man and pray to God to take a Life so early ? He & his Team took S’pore from Slump to 1st World within 45 years. From Thailand to Phillipine, their pples wishes to have LKY as Leader. God rewards Lucky Singaporean with a LKY & will rewards LKY Long Life, Happiness & Good Health. Be kind yaya.

7. Poor U and very angry urhhh.
    TV & Movies are for entertainment n Make Believe dude!!!!. Live A Real Life & clearly SEE Right n Wrong n be fair n kind to me & LKY. God is Fair, All of us. yaya included will have to go n meet God. That is not punishment but Human expiry date dude!!

Please tellme “What is good emperor or good king to U ?

8. @ray52

Hello,

You never know that whatever been shown in the TV is always being represented in the real life??? Your IQ must be below than a retarded kid. Even a retarded kid also know what is right and what is wrong?

Yes all of us have to meet our Maker, no one can exempt from it. But not forgetting one thing also, some judgement will have to be performed on the earth, but some will have to be put it in Heaven. It will be the final decision of HEAVEN how it wants it to be done!

But nevertheless, i believe that when a person does something so evil and bad, then a retribution will come sooner than what it is expected. Im kind to LKY and im kind to you also.. It is you who cannot see the plight of suffering singaporeans and their cries and helps and greivances..It is you who are not willing to distinguish the right form the wrong and not willing to stand on the justice side.

You will face the same fate as what LKY will face it soonnnn……….

Anyone who still have some conscience will be able to recognise the truth and they will change their position and shout it loud for justice to prevail!

9. Fair Comment n Justice 1 August 2010

yaya…a few simple data & facts:
    While S’pore was part of M’sia 45 yrs ago, it was a slump, with Racial Riots, Crime and umemployment was high. TB, Malaria under nourishment and putting foods on the table was really big problem.
    Thanks to LKY & his Team 45 yrs later.
    The old problem is almost over for most. 80% live in well maintain HDB, Road are even & pot holes free. My Family travel on clean Buses & MRT. Walk in the night safely without fear of snatch thief or robbery. Today U can buy a RM230,000 Landed property in JB with proceed fr yr 5rm HDB & hav left over RM690,000 to Retires in JB at $1 = RM2.3 just like 45 yrs ago but with a Big MAYBANK Account.

More Facts: See thousand from JB left home in the wee hours @ 4am to get into S’pore for Education, Employment and buy New-Water too. We survives & Live fairly well under LKY Leadership.Politic & personal knife grinding or name calling other Dog, Retarted is your IQ. Let it be U only. Be grateful, considerate, fair & kind to ALL & LKY.

Please tell me:

1: What is good emperor or good king to U ?

2: Thai Army 16 Coups to change Thailand PM oso cannot find a good emperor or good king to please the Yellow, Red or Blue shirts…Do U think S’pore can find ONE to please everyone ?

3: What U think LKY & PAP Govt shld do to be a good emperor or good king?

10. iamnolesMAJESTIC 1 August 2010

Fair Comment n Justice
    Thai Army 16 Coups to change Thailand PM oso cannot find a good emperor or good king to please the Yellow, Red or Blue shirts…Do U think S’pore can find ONE to please everyone ?

3: What U think LKY & PAP Govt shld do to be a good emperor or good king?
    ……………..

the THAI roal king did STEP down abusing his power..he hand it to a democratic goverment which hav a FAIR & democratic elections process…red yellow or brown tees is optional..by the way donnin a kangaroo tees do not hav you arrested @ all..burnin of efficies is PERMITTED in thailand whether 1 man/4/women or a 1000s peasants WITHOUT a polis permits needed…
    THAT IS THE DIFFERENCES!!!

11. Fair My L J 1 August 2010

Mr Fair,
    are you saying because humans are not perfect people should accept?

12. rockabyebaby 1 August 2010

Andrew Loh & All,

NO surprise at all given what he said in 1956 it was clear that even before he won the GE in 1959, he was a Communist Ideologist like Chairman Mao. As in the 1959 GE, he actually won big on communist lines talking about equality and wealth for all. Strangely many Singaporean then were from China and still idiotically took his bait!

My dad was from China but knew better and was devastated by the overwhelming ~87% he won!. He so passionate about it tucked at many “heart-strings” as it resonated in the simple minds. But that’s not all, none heard and remembered nor saw through his utter convictions in communism to the extend that when he lost being part of Malaysia and the hope of becoming it’s PM too one day, he shed tears at a a conference (see Youtube) and they were real! Even now few knew he cried for his “ideals and ideology” and NOT for you and me and our freedom! Very SAD indeed.
    For it is “At the end of the game you will know the winner”.

Here’s the proof about his real being:

He and his ardent followers who revere him don’t know:
    Plutarch: Know how to listen and you will profit even from those who talk badly. arch

Plutarch: The mind is not a vessel to be filled but a fire to be kindled

Plutarch: Nothing is harder to direct than a man in prosperity; nothing more easily managed that one is adversity.

Plutarch: To make no mistakes is not in the power of man; but from their errors and mistakes the wise and good learn wisdom for the future.

Plutarch: To find fault is easy; to do better may be difficult.

And so GCT and his son too who of course do not know any better in following him too close wrongly or deliberately replaced the word “stag” with “sheep” oh was quoting. LHL was quoting the late S. Rajaratnam that

“An army of stags led by a lion is more formidable than an army of lions led by a stag”. – Plutarch

Thus idiotic idolized ideology abounds in PAP, lurking and waiting to pounce at greater society at every of their opportunist’s beckoning. The worse has yet to come given LHL’s replies to Charlie Rose on their brand of “meritocracy” without boundaries.

And now quotes of LKY’s famous mind boggling ideology which are defintely NOT caricatures:

1. HE AND PAP DECIDES!
    “I am often accused of interfering in the private lives of citizens. Yes, if I did not, had I not done that, we wouldn’t be here today. And I say without the slightest remorse, that we wouldn’t be here, we would not have made economic progress, if we had not intervened on very personal matters – who your neighbour is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit, or what language you use. We decide what is right. Never mind what the people think.” – Lee Kuan Yew, Straits Times, 20 April 1987

2. HE Represses and HE alone sing “The Song” for Singapore and the world to learn anew! – So he “thinks”!
    “I am often accused of interfering in the private lives of citizens. Yes, if I did not, had I not done that, we wouldn’t be here today. And I say without the slightest remorse, that we wouldn’t be here, we would not have made economic progress, if we had not intervened on very personal matters – who your neighbour is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit, or what language you use. We decide what is right. Never mind what the people think.” – Lee Kuan Yew, Straits Times, 20 April 1987

3. Of Killing When the conditions are “right” in his “warped” mind!?
    “If I have to shoot 200,000 students to save China from another 100 years of disorder, so be it.” – Lee Kuan Yew endorsing the Tiananmen massacre, Straits Times, 17 August 2004

These 3 things from him are enough to confirm of his character in desires and wants. Proof is provided by what he and his staunch followers did and are still doing. Is he a master trickster who has fooled many? Even the well educated and right-minded that “perhaps he is right” pragmatically speaking? Caught hook line and sinkers!

Thank you TOC and All for reading.

13. rockabyebaby 1 August 2010

Dear All, Fair Comment n Justice made his “fair” comments for the PAP. But if he had comments against or “just” not for PAP, will he BE arrested by SPF and interrogated in closed detention without counsel or his chosen witness? Even if you are speaking alone out of frustrations from grave setbacks due to PAP policies and curious others came and listen you! And then YOU ARE deemed to have been speaking “as an unlawful assembly”. With that isn’t those who speak at the “Speaker’s Corner” alone and a crowd gathers to listen ARE THEN “Legalized Illegal Assemblies” right? Is THIS “Justice” Fair? As WKS said of SPF arresting such person will BE “Fair” because they are responsible officers? Why then “need” that restrictive law eh? And also why have any laws at all since all PAP and Govt officers of law and service “ARE of the same and exacting Fair sense in responsibility”?

THIS, is JUSTICE to you Fair Comment n Justice? You been taken for a lee kon you ride too! Sorry for you and let’s change our “Republic of Singapore” to “Democratic Republic of Singapore”

Incidentally, believe strongly too that you also do not know what IS a republic? It is a “state in which supreme power is held by the people or its elected representatives”.

LKY in PAP always won “Fair” and Just” or by cheating? If state representatives are “elected” by “cheating” and becomes monopolistic, is that republic? Please read, think, learn more and be wiser to not be forever doing these things and never knowing nor understanding as LKY and his many PAP teams. Me thinks Woody Goh must either have been intrigued by our otherwise comments of LKY & PAP OR he wanted our “steam” to be released before GE and then idiotic give them so-called “mandate” again once more. Remember never to read too much into Goh as his been PM and in that PAP mold
    pretty long in decades too. Wife was very senior in Lee & Lee law firm as well hor! Watch and listen with eyes, ears and brain in tune and not with your feet hor Fair Comment n Justice! Read my earlier psoting on LKY yet?

14. Fair Comment n Justice 1 August 2010

Thanks. Me not into Politic or siding any !!. Just want to give “Fair Comment n Justice” fr my personal Family view points & exp fr Internet News. After reading Bloomberg, CNN, Economist, BKK Post, Aus News, The Star & many others. We have Live, Play, Works on this Sunny Island that was kicked out of M’sia & everyone thought, will not survives for long. Today it is a fact that we proper & envy by some. Many of my Friends & pples from India, China, M’sia, Taiwan, Suzhou, Shanghai, Thailand, Indo, Danmark, USA, UK, Aus NZ staying around me. They all hav one common phrase when i asked, How Long Will U stay in Singapore? It is always the same, as long as we can. It is clean, peaceful & most services work efficiently. However the Forum on this page is full of Angry pples or pples who want changes and only have bad finger pointing at others. Really i oso want better, more & freebies in LIFE fr Govt. But my Friends & Family know in Real Life. ” There Is No Free Lunch”. If any good emperor or good king promises this n that….it is nothing but to hook-Wink for your Vote? Once they are in power…..the promise can be given but at a high price to be paid by future generation. Example Income Taxes from 18% to 60% or more. “Good emperor or Good king are only DREAM or FALSE PROMISES by POLITICIAN for pples votes or pples looking for easy way out. See & hear the Ex-Politicians from M’sia, Thai, Taiwan, China, India, Philipine & many others get themselves into corruption charges & the Country FDI just diminishes into thin Air. Just don’t want Our 45 yrs of Hard works on this Sunny Island to be wassted n pples to grasp at thin Air. Only to regret their folly.

15. It is very, very sad indeed that the Founding Father of Modern Singapore does not have the love and respect of almost all Singaporeans.

It is incomprehensible for a statesman of his vision to leave a legacy whereby:

(a) public institutional checks-and-balances have been compromised;

(b) mass media as a reflection of ground sentiment have been muzzled; and

(c) democratic processes of political parties competing to serve the people in the interests of the nation have been almost killed (and even PAP hot-housed renewal has failed to attract people of courage and conviction with enough savvy to be a politician).

For all of the above, LKY has NOT served Singapore and Singaporeans – because of what he did and in spite of what he did.

Sad indeed … even though in some corner of my heart I actually would want to love and respect our Founding Father.

The Pariah,
    http://www.singaporeenbloc.blogspot.com

16. rockabyebaby 1 August 2010

amteel 30 July 2010, do you mean he earned it to FART AT anyone who displeases him because they disagree or just differ? And what of his peers in substance thinking and planning like Drs. Goh Keng Dwee, Toh Chin Chye, S. Rajaratnam, etc? If you really believe what you wrote below, THEN YOU MUST BE as UNWISE, IDIOTIC and RETARDED as he IS!

You wrote:
    “Just admit it. Singapore would not be what she is today without this man. Dictator or not, soft authoritarian or not, he delivered the results. Until someone else comes along and delivers the same, if not better results, LKY reserves the sage-like right to label anyone in any vocabulary he likes. He earned it.”

Amsteel, if you apapa is Lim Hock Siew, would you still say the same thing? But then that’s only a hypothetical question right! So you have shown with many like you, that you are DEAF TO CRITICISMS as LSS said! IDIOT = ShaQua, Stupid = Sha and Fool = Pen hor if you can read Hanyu Pinyin!!!!!

17. rockabyebaby 1 August 2010

To Fair Comment n Justice,

First, I thank you for your sincere and humble and kind reply. Your character is therefore not of the LKY kind and whom you seem to admired. I don’t blame as he’s a pretty good actor and complex person in deception too in most of the opinions here in TOC and other blogs. Also please do not get me wrong in my further explanations below where the upper case letter are not intended as “shouting at you” as they are just for emphasis you see. If I mean to Shout” with good reason to shoot an idiotic person out to stop him from spewing rubbish, then you can know from my expressions.

And from your reply I now realize that you are likely Chinese ed or come from a simple background and did not work in high places. And so your expectations are not high too.

Don’t get me wrong as that’s contentment and is good as an individual. However, in the greater scheme of things and for EACH individual’s holistic development TO THEIR MAXIMUM POTENTIAL AND ALSO THE NATION AS A WHOLE, Lee Kuan Yew’s STIFLING and MANIPULATIVE WAYS WITH RESTRICTIVE UnFaie & UNJust LAWS JUST DOESN’T make it YOU SEE!

Families and a nation of people as a society MUST have culture and BE CULTURED. Does LKY strike you as someone who is? I’ve in high level meetings where people who were wrong said to me “Compromise leh”! NO I maintain. WHY? They ask. I explained by asking what is the diff between “compromise” and “give and take. “Same what!” was the quick thoughtless answer. Now, I said, “A compromise is when 1 party gives way unwillingly by losing out unfairly due to their weakness to be firm or no courage”. And in “Give and take, both the one who gain and the one who gave away to his disadvantage understand clearly why he it is necessary and need to be”!

So Fair Comment n Justice, COMPROMISED PEOPLE feel animosity and then acrimony which IS UNHEALTHY. But in GIVE AND TAKE there is MUTUAL RESOLVE and ACCEPTANCE WITH CLARITY for the further development of HEALTHY RELATIONSHIP for MUTUAL WIN-WIN for more gives and takes either way and MUTUAL GOOD right!

Which type of person is Lee Kuan Yew in reality? I would love to have your opinion after reading this. Thank you!

18. iamaSUEDnewseditor 1 August 2010

Fair Comment n Justice 1 August 2010
    Thanks. Me not into Politic or siding any !!. Just want to give “Fair Comment n Justice” fr my personal Family view points & exp fr Internet News. After reading Bloomberg, CNN, Economist, BKK Post, Aus News, The Star & many others.
    ………
    you read all this foreign news media?
    wow~ you are indeed 1 smart cookie…
    did leekingyou ever sued the foreign newsmedias for sayin bad thinggie about him..sad but TRUE…
    and where was all this SUE trials take place? UN or commonwealth courts?
    leekingyou tried/attempt to sue the former singapoor president whom leekingyou propped up as president..
    when he failed to get 1 single dollar from the United States/Canadian court @ all…
    and you label yourself as Fair Comment n Justice ? in whose favours? berlinda ang perhaps?

19. aurvandil 1 August 2010

Has anyone noticed how disturbingly similar the MM Lee is starting to resemble Marcos and Suharto? Both had a golden period where they contributed significantly to the development of their countries. Eventually however corruption and nepotism set in and they destroyed their countries. The recent failures of the past year seem to be a harbinger of even more serious problems that are going to affect Singapore.

20. U & ME 1 August 2010

My 88 yrs old G’ma told me over Dinner today. She said: My Life was under 3 Govt Rules. 1: Colonial British 2: Lim Yew Hock 3: LKY. If i have to choose for Peace, Properity & Efficency.

Die Die go for LKY.

21. veritas 1 August 2010

To Fair Comment n Justice,

The PAP government is like the rooster who thinks that his crowing is responsible for the sun rising each morning. They believe their own lie, that without them Singapore is doomed.

Many in Singapore read only SPH newspapers e.g. the Straits Times.

These propaganda mouth-pieces of the PAP spew out the myths of LKY and his stooges.

Reading these papers are toxic for the mind. They put Nazi propaganda minister Paul Joseph Goebbels to shame.

You have to compare a city-state like Singapore with Hong Kong, a Chinese-majority city with similar historical background.

HK’s cost of living index is lower than Singapore, and yet with a higher median house-hold income.

Check out the facts and not propagate the lies of the PAP government.

http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/rankings.jsp

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Median_household_income

22. iamtheAMBULANCEstrecterburial 2 August 2010

U & ME 1 August 2010
    My 88 yrs old G’ma told me over Dinner today. She said: My Life was under 3 Govt Rules. 1: Colonial British 2: Lim Yew Hock 3: LKY. If i have to choose for Peace, Properity & Efficency.

Die Die go for LKY
    ………..
    indeed die die go for leekingyou as though he is goin to pay for your emergency outpatient or the civil defence bill(you didn’t know that do you? you assumed the civil defence ambulance come to your hdb for free?)
    who you think you are? mrs harry lee perhaps?
    do you know under british rules..when you go to a hospital you needs not brin your wallet or ca$hcard along….

23. “If you once forfeit the confidence of your fellow citizens, you can never regain their respect and esteem. It is true that you may fool all of the people some of the time; you can even fool some of the people all of the time; but you can’t fool all of the people all of the time. -Speech at Clinton, Illinois, September 8, 1854.”
    — Abraham Lincoln

24. “Stand with anyone that is right; stand with him while he is right and part with him when he goes wrong.”
    — Abraham Lincoln

25. U & ME 1 August 2010 2 August 2010

Be calm & stay calm.
    We can agrees to disagrees Be Kind & Caring. Be Good & Be Blessed.
    Angry pples, voices don’t get u anywhere dude. Stop calling other names. Otherwise no point sharing & exchanging POV here.

26. poor old fella 2 August 2010

Doesn’t the poor old fella know that he’s living so old to see all the wrongs and misdoings which he had done for the past 45 years.

Of coruse, nobody dares to tell him.

27. shutup 2 August 2010

@ U & ME

Stop preaching virtues here, when u cannot even empathise with the sufferings of singaporeans right now. what a hypocrite! shame on you!

28. iamtheAMBULANCEstrecterburial 2 August 2010

U & ME 1 August 2010 2 August 2010
    Be calm & stay calm.
    We can agrees to disagrees Be Kind & Caring. Be Good & Be Blessed.
    …………
    if there is a GOD to be blessed..would leekingyou still be aroun?
    so how is your grandma?
    sittin in the deckchair by the pool perhaps? sippin a glass of moscovoe cocktails perhaps?
    asked her to sip slowLEE hor..
    wouldn’t want her to choke or else you would be very very busy fillin up medicsaves forms/drawin out hard ca$h as well…wouldn’t want you to loss your temple and start shoutin in an emergency ward demandin for services liked mrs harrylee…

29. Orang Singapura 2 August 2010

THIS DESERVES TO BE REPEATED AGAIN AND AGAIN.
    The person who wrote this..really touched the heart strings of the problem.
    ===========
    There are some who think things will get worse if MM goes, and eventually when he is no longer there. Then, there will be no one to crack the whip.

One can be sure, despite all his Act of God claims, he’s kicking ass over the floods. and the rising prices of public housing. According to reports, Yaacob sat behind him looking like a whipped puppy when he made the cryptic statement that ” not enough had been done” on the flood issue.

One certainly wonders if there will be anyone to come up with the ambitious ideas that LKY had/has. And if they do, is there anyone serious enough and tough enough to realise them.

Things like the cleaning up of kallang river, and the building of marina barrage, whether or not it works, could never be carried out by a “namby pamby” lot now.

He has caused the problems now and is also part of the problem. He has stamped out potential leaders, in all areas; insisted on total
    obedience and promoted materialism.

If he had retired, he could have been there to really advice those who took charge, instead of having to go in to bat for them. It’s ridiculous that these guys are hiding behind him and being so dependent on an 86-yr-old man. But their poor calibre is the result of his policies.

There is also no one (brave enough) to rein him in, like his old colleagues would have done in the early days. They would have shot down this latest mad plan to have an intellectual class, and talked him out of allowing so many foreigners into the country in such a short time.

He’s had an intellectual class all along. It’s not working. This lot go by the rules and the numbers, completely forgetting they’ are not dealing with robots. The social aspects of things are not factored in. And they dont know what to do when things dont work out. Their minds are not flexible and he wants still more of such crap?!

One can foresee bigger problems — Indonesia will cut back on gas sales. There IS going to be a screw-up on water. How much does it cost to produce now next to Mahathir’s 40 cents dd? Has anyone even asked? Were there re-negotiations after Mahathir left? One Johor contract ends in 2012. It does not look it will be renewed.

And how do you build homes underground in the future if there is already not enough space for drains now? And for sure all his little new citizens are not gonna just accept things like (us) the scared sheep do now….in 10 yrs time. They’ll be screaming about having more foreigners. Why is nothing being done about using our many islands — for homes, to grow food? They could have food factories e.g highrise vegetable, rice growing units, on them.

Basically, some could even say he’s been a damned bad parent. He has not let his child go and learn on its own, make its own mistakes. One can sometimes feel quite sorry for him. MM, that is.

For sure, he’s disappointed with how things are turning out, but no one dares tell him it’s his fault, and being a stubborn egoist, he’s not going admit it. Not even to himself!

For all that he has achieved and done..and to be fair..he has achieved a lot… some might also believe ,despite his years, he still hasn’t learnt……….

30. JinKangPut 2 August 2010

What so good abt the opposition & their supporters in this forum ?

Good for cursing & Name calling…Best in S’pore, JB, Batam & some said ” Devil Island”.

Many and if not ALL my Friends, Bro & Sis & their extended Families Live, Breathe, Sleep & Play peacefully on this Sunny Island-SINGAPORE. Most Live Well under the present Govt. TRUSTED, PROVEN & BRANDED.

31. helpme 2 August 2010

JinKangPut,

Hello, stop disguising yourself with so many nicknames here, ok… No matter how many nicknames you changed, i can recognise you as fair and comments, U & M, and now JinKangPut.

There is a saying, proven one : Its not that retribution dont come yet, its just that time not yet ripe enough.

32. shutup 3 August 2010

JinKiangPut,

Just dont say so much lah.. If you and your whole family and your extended families want to support LKY and their cronies, its your own business…

But for the rest of the readers here, will shift position and support the opposition parties.. Save your breath!

33. JinkangPut 3 August 2010

Forum muz Die Die have Yin & Yang.

If it is a only ONE-SIDED talk-cock n sing-songsong.

Than No Body but U….. hear yourself TALK-COCK & Sing-SongSong.

Help Me Help Me Please to keep the voice of TOC alive with 2 sided discussion & exchange diff POV. Than SongSong we can keep Talking-Cock Alive.

34. Nederealm 3 August 2010

The poster with a blue face and green background, why do you keep changing your display name. C’mon. We know you are the same person.

No wonder talk until your face turn blue

35. shutup 3 August 2010

JinkangPut

Dont know who is the one (U alone standing) who is here talk cock and sing song? think wat, singing karaoke huh… Seow!

Want to talk cock so much and sing song so much, go to your own bathroom to do it lah…

We are not under your bidding, neither at your beck and call… You dont own this forum. Sick Moron.

36. shutup 3 August 2010

@Nederealm,

Totally agree with you. i long long time spotted liao.. just that you are faster than me to announce to this Ah Seow..

Hahaha….

37. Caught in a bad romance 3 August 2010

To : Fair Comment n Justice

I want your ugly , I want your disease,
    I want your everything As long as it’s free

I want your drama, I want your horror
    I want your design,‘Cause you’re a criminal.

Walk walk fashion baby, Work it, Move that bitch crazy

Lady Men HAHA

38. JinkangPut 3 August 2010

88 yrs G’ma was updated with replies from Angry pples. She was very sad & unhappy and worried for her Grand Kids & said’ ” IMAGINE these ANGRY pples are the GOVT “.

Surely the Lim U HOR Govt style will see a returns of : Tay Kor Yat Bus riots, street battles, Gangster roaming the street to collect protection $$$ & FDI disappear. Our Sunny Island Singapore will be back as SLUMP with Singaporean working as Maid in M’sia & China. Many will be Begging on crimes infested HDB slump. Our GIC, TMSEK, CPF & Medisave manages by these unclouth & currupts officer.

G’ma repeated to “JinkangPut”, What U Have Is A Good Life With A Good Govt since 1965. U see the crowded Air Con Buses, MRT, Hawker Centre, Nice Cars crowding outside Kinder Garden waiting to pick up yr Kids, maids crowding & lining Botanical Garden & Lucky Plaza.
    International Buffet spread in Food Court & Singaporean crowding Travel Fairs going by Big Cruise Ship & Jumbo Jets to Aus, M’sia, Shanghai & many many places likes Birds. Always talking Chip Chip here & Chip Chip there.

BoyBoy what we have here can only be a DREAM for many. For a start just sell yr 5rm HDB for $500,000 & take it to M’sia to convert to RM1.15million or Thai & Retires like a King in BIG HOUSE with Car & Maid & Cheap Medical.

Oppostion Talk is Cheap & just like Multi Level Marketing Sale Talk. THE RESULT IS SCRARRY, SCRARRY, SCARRY Nights & Days. When these ANGRY Pples are in POWER.

BE SAFE & CARE FOR YOUR CPF & YOUR FUTURE GENERATION. Vote only the present & tasted product u see & touch & used to the quality but… MLM no no no no !!!!!!!!!

39. Danny Chua 3 August 2010

If I get a pension at age 55 and second pay cheque of $3million, I will continue working until the last day.

If meritocracy is right way, then why have GRC for minority candidate?

40. shutup 3 August 2010

All the down down way to PAP….May their downfall day come soon…..

And may LKY and all his cronies will face the most cruel charges in their life by international standard calling them to accountability!

We wait for the day to come soon….

41. JinkangPut 3 August 2010

Dear MM

88 Yrs G’ma and her whole extended FAMILY wishes to Register Their Whole Hearted Gratitude for What is now a perperous, clean, happy & well managed SINGAPORE. You & Your Team unselfish and honourable Works has provided for a Nation of more than 3 million to Live, Work, Play & Enjoy Life as Singaporean.

PLEASE LIVE LONG LONG.

42. Live Long Long 4 August 2010

To: JinkangPut

aiyo, u very no good ,u just let the MM live long long to see others die !

43. 88 yrs G'ma 4 August 2010

TO: JinkangPut

Hi, when u take dinner with u 88 yrs G’ma this round . pls do ask “why some other 88 yrs singaporean ned to pick “softdrink can” and “cartoon” to earn money for their meal ? ” but don’t tell me that they are happy working.

44. ahkong 4 August 2010

It is worst when this LKY thinks he is reincarnation of Mao Tze Tung or the Pharoah of Egypt. The purpose of his existing is to bring to the world attention that he is great person in the world and history comparable to great figures in the past.

45. Report of the Auditor-General for the Financial Year 2009/10 4 August 2010

To : JinkangPut

Please do read the report to your 88 yrs G’ma after dinner tonite.

http://www.ago.gov.sg/publcatn.html

46. iaintnoQUITTER 4 August 2010

JinkangPut
    BoyBoy what we have here can only be a DREAM for many. For a start just sell yr 5rm HDB for $500,000 & take it to M’sia to convert to RM1.15million or Thai & Retires like a King in BIG HOUSE with Car & Maid & Cheap Medical.
    ……………
    and you simplified matters by tellin ALL singapoorium to migrate instead of you/grandma88 and leekingyou inc?
    what happenned to your idea of bringin unhappy peasants to mandie forest and shoot them?
    why dont you sell YOURs..becourse i will torched you alive without anystatic upon leekingyou death..

47. Baoqingtian 6 August 2010

sg still need very much LKY’s presence to contain our gd friend Dr. M. As for FT, it is to cover e no. Of jobs created vs no. Of graduates we had. Or in other words to raise e SG brand. But what they did wrong is that they failed to cut the inflow of FT just when we have enuf talents to work with. This is e case for IT industry back in dot.com boom days where sg do not produce IT specialist fast enough to cover all jobs created.

48. party pooper 6 August 2010

Hi people ..When is politics ever clean???

49. shutup 6 August 2010

@JinKangPut,

My 88yrs grandma and 89 grandpa says this to me today : Our Life was under 3 Govt Rules. 1: Colonial British 2: Lim Yew Hock 3: LKY. If both we have to choose for Peace, Properity & Efficency.

Die Die go for Colonial British, which represents for the opposition parties as per see today.

So readers and commentators here, lets all vote out the PAP, and cast our votes to all the opposition parties to be able to form a new govt and be a voice for all suffering true blue singaporeans against the heartless PAP garhment!

Yes vote for a CHANGE now!!!!!!

50. JinkangPut 7 August 2010

JinkangPut is back here to rebutt U….hehehe

88 yrs G’ma sip Merlot & BBQ by Poolside is make possible with Good & Efficient PAP Govt. It Is Very Safe Bet To Vote PAP for Long Term Peace, Job, Housing, Education & Security. Proven & Tested for 45 yrs.

Group of Liars Out Here with personal Axe to grind with LKY. These Liars run out of Ideas & are using Singaporean Votes. In Chinese it is : JIE TAU SAR REN……………… Use Others Knife to do the Killing.
    This is how Opposition Tactic here.

Only Efficient, PEACEFUL & Properous Country Likes Singapore offer PLENTY OF JOBs. We have innovative JOB CREDIT to stave off Job lost during crisis & now full speed ahead to recovery that 100,000 vacancy in JOBS for Construction, Ship Repairs, Mechanic. Electrician, Air Con services, Road Repairs, Tree Sprucing, IT, Engineer, Banking etc. These Jobs & Opportunities can only be a DREAM in many many Countries…..SO WHY LET OTHERS BORROW YOUR VOTE TO KILL. THese Liars get the BENEFITS & Your Future is RUIN.