Henry Cheong / Leong Sze Hian –
We refer to Thomas Lee’s letter: “World Cup rights: Problem lies with MDA, not the telcos”. (ST, Jul 24).
It states that: “The MDA erred in not foreseeing the problem that would arise from the two telcos using pay-TV systems that are not compatible with each other”.
Over the past weeks there has been a numbers of letters written to the Straits Times forum to complain about SingTel’s Mio system; as well as criticism of the multitude of cables coming into the house; and all for the sake of cable TV and internet, presently provided by StarHub, SingTel and M1.
I have a suggestion – all cable and broadband delivery to homes should be sent through the coming Next Gen Broadband network which is presently being implemented in various parts of Singapore. However, this is easier said than done as even if all homes are wired up to the new broadband cable system, both SingTel and StarHub can, if they wish, still maintain their present antiquated systems to deliver TV and broadband connection to homes.
If this is the case, I find this most astonishing as this goes against the way things are usually done in Singapore – that of being efficient and practical for the sake of the common good.
What is the purpose of continuing with the two older separate networks when in the near future there will be this new single state-of-the-art broadband system in place that is initiated by the Government, through the Infocomm Development Authority (IDA)? The new system will enable a single cable to homes to be connected to a single set top box, whether the content is sourced via StarHub or SingTel, or any other content provider that provides such service.
Having all service operators utilizing this network will satisfy the IDA (and to a lesser extent the MDA), in having the latest generation broadband system in place that is utilized by the service providers to streamline their deliveries to homes. Most importantly, it will also satisfy consumers in having a single cable into the home with one common set top box. The only groups which may not be happy are the service providers, as they will have to write-off their old systems and equipment used to deliver their content to homes now. However, I believe that for the good of Singapore, the major shareholders of these companies would accede to a one time write-off of the said equipment.
We would like to ask the following questions:-
Why is the IDA spending so much money to wire all homes under the Next Gen broadband, if Singtel and Starhub may not decide to use it to deliver broadband and TV to homes?
Why is the IDA, Singtel and Starhub silent on whether all broadband operators will use the new network in the future?
Why are both broadband operators continuing to build and expand their separate infrastructures?
At the end of he day, wouldn’t both operators pass on the costs to consumers?
Is it not a waste of resources for Singapore as a whole?
Is it because both telcos will still continue to use their own network to homes as they want households to subscribe to their own network, and not the Next Gen
common network? This may mean that there will still be multiple set top boxes in homes instead of a single set top box.
As I understand that experts in the sector had suggested that a national network be built a long time ago, why did we end up with two separate infrastructures and now a third national network?
Would it not have been better if we had decided to go with a national network in the first place?
Why is it that no MPs have raised this issue in Parliament?
Why is it that no media in Singapore has reported or discussed this issue?
Why is IDA silent on these issues?
Perhaps the IDA should heed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister-in-Charge of the Civil Service, Teo Chee Hean’s call for public officers to anticipate the future and to be prepared for surprises (“Public officers urged to anticipate the future and to be prepared for surprises”, Channel News Asia, Jul 24).
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

The PRC have already initiated the merging of broadband, telephony, tv into a single cable.
Did they get paid MILLIONS OF DOLLARS of the PEOPLE’S MONEY?
who is the one responsible?
if not,
who is the one Accountable?
Or no human is responsible ?
or is the technology, a non-human , responsible as well as accountable?
it cannot be that rain is responsible?
Govt owns Singtel.
Govt owns Starhub.
Govt owns IDA.
Govt has too much money.
As usual, bad planning.
20 years ago, instead of a coaxial copper cable network, they could have laid a fibre optic network that would have emulated the South Korean one.
Go ahead and ask yourself why did they not do that.
Our government and government linked companies are filled with people with no dreams and plenty of caution.
The old man is full of shit when he was saying Goldman Sachs, et al will hire his ministers. No one will hire them, save for the companies owned by Temasek Holdings and GIC.
If the people need the spurs of foreigners in our side to excel, his cadre of elite scholars need it even more to get off their highly paid buttocks and work harder at leading us.
Development stalled when selfish gains divides the opinions. Today, China is moving fast. Tomorrow, probably another country from the slums will announce similar developments as Technology is growing way too fast.
Hope those with autority will take decisive action, benefiting public.
who is the boss of opennet?
who awards the contract?
Funny broad,
if so, how much does the revenues go to the gov , if any? where it goes?
the chinese farmers ALL hav 1 large satelite dish in their farm even without a jumbuan…
they hav aroun 20 or more channels to watch includin from neighbour hongkong if they lived near enough…
how much do they pay the tv satelite services?
S$20/year..YES singapore DOLLARs TWENTY onLEE
mi think that efficiency and being practical is just a buzzword. Jus look at the Universities, always renovating, but throwing away their old furniture, yet, talking about being Green and sustainable.
They say one thing and do another.
There should be free broadband for everyone in Singapore.
About 3 years back,we were told that most programmes will be in HD within 2 years.
Most of us went to buy HD TVs.
Until now,most programmes are STILL NOT
in HD format,and worse we still have to pay for the rental of HD set-up box inorder to view repeated HD programmes,besides having to pay for the yearly license fees!!
In most first world countries, HD is going to be obsolete and we are still
dangling in HD in mid-air!
To add to the comical scenario, they are talking of 3D programmes!!
Goldman Sachs are a bunch of criminal fraudsters. LeeKuanYew likes to associate with them because he no less.
This reveal the weakness that High Tech maybe beyond our Elite. Look at the current delayed in the building our Stadium and the Science Centre. Both are low tech only and still delayed. These showed that something is seriously faulted.
“…I find this most astonishing as this goes against the way things are usually done in Singapore – that of being efficient and practical for the sake of the common good”
A rather naive statement by the authors. The way things are done in Singapore is for the benefit of famiLEE, friends and PAP MPs.
Singaporeans are exploited through and through but see vote PAP.
Never believe people can be that silly.
without the western inventors can there be broadband or fibre optics?
without the western inventors, can there be the Flyer?
without the west , what is possible?
basically all telcos are operated by government and they are working together to maximise profits and gains.
even the new NGBN with idea of fibre to the home… singaporeans will be made to pay. i did not choose to wire the fibre optic because at the end of the day, they will make you pay.
Last time many moons ago, I believed somewhere or someone in the gahmen mentioned that they needed people with ‘helicopter vision’ – so what happened, all helicopters crashed?
To me, bloody gahmen all hao xiao, gahmen ministers mouth say shiok balls!!
Our gahmen have been mouthing alot snd tons of good-sounding RHETORIC.
Simply, this gahmen with Shit Times, made alot of statements of grand-visions.
I laughed when recently, sorry I cant remember exact details, MDA or IDA required compulsory sharing of exclusive contents among Singtel and Starhub??
And we have an international association of, what content owners, making noises, even the US govt is concerned.
Singapore being a small island, will it be more appropriate or less costly to go for higher & better wireless technology such Wi-max, 4G . . .
SzeHian: your article is not complete without mentioning the most pwerfull delivery platform i e terrestrial transmission It can reach Anywhere anytime and anyplace where the rest can It can also transmit over the air to neighbouring countries It can also receive World Cup free of charg
Your article should advise hdb and condos not to remove their roof top antennas so that the digital divide is reduced and the poor can still receive free to air signals Your article is therefore not well researched!
Whether it is SingTel, Starhub or M-1 – everyone of these telcos will have the majority stake owned by Temasek Holdings.
The final result will prove that any new system that is to be implemented will be finally paid by Singaporeans.
The the Pro Alien Party will allow their own cronies or appointees to claim extra-ordinary performances managing these telcos in a closed market, and then expect to be paid million dollar wages.
This is the kind of sham privatisation that the Pro Alien Party claim to have divested assets owned by the Singapore Government.
Good article, but my concern is…
What happens if IDA has one provider doing this….
Can they stop certain contend?
Will they be able to monitor each and every persons internet use?
Obviously, they will increase prices like PUB, thus will there be a price ceiling?
The merging of broadband, telephony and tv cum cable visions were already implemented in UK years ago, the providers (neither one of them is GLC) have to compete with one another in order to keep customers — us! One of my mobile phone contract(same provider of the above) costs me £5.00 for 3000 minutes a month, you can see this is the actual effect of free market economy.
When a government turns itself into a corporation, the true colour of a corporation will reveal itself if there is no check and balance system inplace!
We, the consumers, should I say citizens, will suffer at the end of the day.
With all the talk about the latest “BELL & WHISTLES” on what the Next Generation network work can bring, nobody seem to notice that as Internet becomes part of our daily life, there is not mention about “BETTER AVAILABILTY”. I have switced to Starhub digital voice, and till date, it has fail me more often then my Singtel analogue phone line. With MIOVOICE, I heard that it is not as reliable as the analogue line, and you cannot send/receive fax. As such, we are enticed with ‘cheaper’ bundle, but there is not Service Availablity Agreement. If we terminate contract, we are penalised. Hope IDA/MDA will step in to ensure service level are met. Recent case of SIN$50k fine to Singtel for MioTV.. what about MioVoice, and Internet failure?
whatever the case or screwed ups, the policy here is “just pass to the consumers” . . . case closed!
Hi Elite Hum,
Optical Fiber Technology is invented by a Chinese engineer in a Hong Kong University.
He got a Nobel prize for this recently.
So what is the point in the end?
Open Net and Nucleus Connect is just another GLC out to leech even more $$.
It is already so bad with MDA/SingTel/StarHub and what have you…
And not another one?
How much more can they squeeze from singapore folks willing and un-willing.
Xianz.
So what is the point in the end?
Open Net and Nucleus Connect is just another GLC out to leech even more $$.
It is already so bad with MDA/SingTel/StarHub and what have you…
And now another one?
How much more can they squeeze from singapore folks willing and un-willing.
Xianz.
Who cares about future or next generation, numbers now is only thing that matters
Agreed with tiredsingaporean.
1. passing it on to consumers. Singpaore is pro-biz, they’re not pro-consumers.
2. I can understand if Singtel dont talk to M1 or to Starhub. But the govt should step in to solve the issues for consumers.
Its the same for road planning. The COE people dont talk to the ERP people…and LTA not managing both.
COE and ERP are meant to control traffic – but they turn out to be tools for making money…with traffic still being a problem.
larry leong 26 July 2010 With all the talk about the latest “BELL & WHISTLES” on what the Next Generation network work can bring, nobody seem to notice that as Internet becomes part of our daily life, there is not mention about “BETTER AVAILABILTY”. I have switced to Starhub digital voice, and till date, it has fail me more often then my Singtel analogue phone line
……………………….
you all think that is bad enough ? few months ago..i went to a starhub roadshow to recontract my handfone..also decided to sign for their new 7.2mbs mobile broadband…went home goonline..found that it managed average under 2mbs..while my existin singnet 3mbs run a smooth 3mbs speed..i called up starhub..it went thru no less than 4 engineers over a 1 week period..in the end you know what starhub tell me? its acceptable as lon as its run..i asked starhub..do you find its acceptable if you buy a mercedez and run liked a proton saga? they couldn’t answered nor would they cancelled my contract.i finally spoke to a starhub manager come to a compromised if i pay 1/2 the penalty of $297 in which i havn’t even used the services @ all…
~sigh~
socrates: You are dead right. Reception using antennas (on roof top or mobile) is the best platform. Years back viewers used to connect from a antenna socket in a HDB flat and get programmes from the national braodcaster. Now with digital one requires a digital box which means pay and pay to Strahub or Mio. In some places the roof-top antennas were removed. In some condos, roof-top antennas were also removed ’cause they were persuaded by Starhub to do so. Everything is carried on cable they say. But this is not so. Not many people know of this issues not even the MPs.
So we have to be careful that the NGN will accentuate the digital divide. Give the poor a break!
The amounts the Telcos spent advertising in local MSMs will tell you why we are being screwed with slow connections and pricey monthly bills. They also need to pay hefty amounts to IDA. Left pocket, right pocket and centre pocket, all ended up eventually in one pocket, all funded by Sinkies. This scenario is being played out in practically every public services, whether utilities, transport and etc. You also have to pay Radio and TV license. A 30 year old NRIC that require replacement cost $60 as though a plastic card can last forever. The gist of it is, O$$$P$$$ but a different specie of Shark.
Aiyah, all these high-tech visionaries are mavericks i.e. high-school dropouts and poly grads…
But they staff all their ministries with scholars who only had tunnel vision on aceing their exams
How can they foresee such things?
Singapore a first-world hub? IT hub, international hub, efficient hub, mother of all hub? Still long way to go. At least I know I can’t watch soccer while all our neighbouring countries can. Amazing isn’t it?
Frankly Open Net and Nucleus Connect are just another bunch of Government linked companies as usual out to maximize profits from the people of singapore…
At the rate “GLC” transport comapanies, telecom companies, media and what have you all trying to be the fastest with the mostest to leecccchhhhh the people of singapore monies…
It is no wonder the sucide rate is climbing in singapore…
Yeah…singapore is for the rich, elite and PAP…
I wonder do the idiots realize once the middle class and below are gone…there will be barely any internal economics on-going in singapore…and who are going to defend them against war/natural disasters…perhaps their own “slaves” and private mercenary “armies”.
Nuts.
Lee Kuan Yew’s bold claims! And so let’s take him by his tongue! As “An ox is taken by the horn, a man is taken by the tongue”!
“If I were in authority in Singapore indefinitely without having to ask those who are governed whether they like what is being done, then I would not have the slightest doubt that I could govern much more effectively in their interests.” – Lee Kuan Yew, 1962
“I am often accused of interfering in the private lives of citizens. Yes, if I did not, had I not done that, we wouldn’t be here today. And I say without the slightest remorse, that we wouldn’t be here, we would not have made economic progress, if we had not intervened on very personal matters – who your neighbour is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit, or what language you use. We decide what is right. Never mind what the people think.” – Lee Kuan Yew, Straits Times, 20 April 1987