The Sunday Times knows him well. Virtually annually, they run a feature selling to its Singaporean readers the idea of buying foreign brides. They ran one again last Sunday, 25 July 2010, mentioning once again like in years past Mark Lin and his business, Vietnam Brides International Matchmaker.

As you can see, almost a full page was devoted to this campaign, and a nation-building campaign it must be for the newspaper to violate human rights and the laws of Vietnam so blatantly.

Barely six months ago, I noted that Vietnam — rightly — treats this kind of quickie “matchmaking” as human trafficking. As you can see from Should Singapore’s Home Minister be thrown into a Vietnamese jail? , four men were sentenced to a total of 25 years in jail. I also opined that the Sunday Times and the Singapore government abet this crime through their editorial and government policies.

Read Yawning Bread for the full article.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

97 Responses to “Singaporeans’ national duty: buy women from abroad”

1. iseekanyWIFE 30 July 2010

which normal sane men don’t want a woman to bed? asked leekingYOU..he also 1s 1…
    unfortunateLEE singapoor girls seek a much higher standards..blamed on leekingYOU again… he the same bloke who stopped our parents from gettin married to malaysians which incidentaLEE made the best HOUSEWIVES…who seek little in returns…

2. mice is nice 30 July 2010

buy a bride, get local citizenship & vote PAP out(its your national duty), yay!!!

:D

3. Our govt is a hypocritical. They kept denying of any wrong doing. It is just that they get around it by devious means.

4. Smarter 30 July 2010

I married a Vietnamese wife too but I only paid $60 to a matchmaking website. Ha ha ha. My wife speaks English, have a degree, cooks wife, never ask me for heaven and earth. You can say she is almost perfect. I can’t expect that from Singaporeans or Malaysians anymore. Times have changed. FT policy have depressed our wages so much it is not possible to secure a local wife if you don’t earn $4-5k a month. Few girls wanna marry down. Everyone looks towards upgrade.

5. hypocritical Stinkapore 30 July 2010

In Singapore, the biggest and foulest criminal is the State.

6. Richard 30 July 2010

I never realise that it is always the same agency being featured but yes, this sort of stories has been appearing so often that I ask myself, what’s new? Something fishy is going on here. I ever worked in the newspapers and my editor would NEVER accept if, every year, I submit a long, full-page story about the same company / agency.

But is this “human trafficking”? Obviously there is some kind of exploitation going on and I believe the agents, both in the other country and in Singapore, make tons of money from both the guy and the girl.

At the same time, I believe the girls are more than happy to come and be married off to a Singapore guy.

I have personally witnessed how EASILY a genuine marriage can take place and I am amazed. This involved someone I know, who has a China wife. One day, his wife’s sister came to visit to look for husband and they introduced her to the guy who lived downstairs.

From what I know, before they met the guy was not keen, saying he had just bought the house and had no money etc. BUT…Less than two weeks later, they were married. (And it’s not as if the girl is exceptionally attractive or whatever, quite plain looking to me, altho the guy I would rate him as “handsome”. Neither was it a “shotgun” marriage as they are still childless.) It’s been a couple of years now and they are still married and seem an okay couple.

To this day I am totally amazed at how easily some people can make such major life decisions.

Is the gahmen in cahoots in these schemes?
    Hard to say. If our $,$$$,$$$ ministers are smart enough, they would know about the difficulties of Singapore men finding brides and would work out or at least allow some kind of solution.

At the same time, from what I know, it is not so easy for foreign brides to get citizenship or even PR, especially when girl has not much education – although both the China ladies I mention above are now PRs.

7. singaporeans woman 30 July 2010

i personally feels that i do not condemn singaporean man to seek foreign bride.

i would truly say that singaporean woman and their demand is way to high that most singaporeans man can maintain it financially resulting in divorce,separation.

singaporeans woman now working in a higher post even with less education and expectation as for just their so call proclaiming beauty that they use to seduce bosses and get them sit right next to the desk.

this woman when married they demand the man to meet their standard or equal to them.
    but if say 5years of marriage and the man lost his job to foreigners(ang moh)
    his wife will end their marriage to seek replacement for brighter future ft husbands or any local similar to it.

singaporean woman are too way materialistic, very costly,demanding,lack of responsibility in relationship and marriage.
    i do not blame them for what singaporeans woman is. but for what singapore are now and what our father the old man had created that make woman open up their wings to luxuries and demand unlike those days.

many singaporeans had suffer lost even bigger lost upon married a singapore woman. some result to even suicide.

foreign wife whereby are far way different mostly that they contented with what they have and looking forward to keep marriage safe and happy even with the minimum they have.

go around and see what singaporeans woman are now. they are way too class. maybe first class but not realizing their face is like a pancake that ang moh had been using them and passing them on. they had been divorce and pass on to another ang moh to married and they like being that way. but when given a family life a real family life they will just get bored in no time and say you goodbye.

8. ibuioih 30 July 2010

is singapore woman that good?

9. oijbijn 30 July 2010

very simple. singaporean woman:

too demanding
    too costly
    too arrogant
    too materialistic
    too open minded
    too high expectation
    too much.
    too selfish
    self centered
    self proclaim of their beauty but in reality is like pancake face with bad serivce in bed unlike ft bride

all in all their expectation is way too high and they can deliver way too low. calling themselves the first class singapore woman. thanks again to our father the old man

10. expire date 30 July 2010

singapore woman too costly. later kena divorce kena sue in court.
    we singaporeans man don’t like singapore woman. married sure got expire date one ones they clinch on ang moh.

11. najib 30 July 2010

singapore woman demand is way too high. look at the malay community their hantaran itself can go from ten k onwards. my friend married at fourteen k and proceed to divorce in 2weeks!! yes this is not a joke. it is at chua chu kang. the party was great and ceremony was class, way to class.

in total he spend $near twenty k

12. ijbbu 30 July 2010

singapore woman demand is way too high. look at the malay community their hantaran itself can go from ten k onwards. my friend married at fourteen k

13. ijbbu 30 July 2010

overall the guy spend twenty thousand.

14. whatheell 30 July 2010

20k?? for 2weeks? golden puss huh?? i rather go to ft or geylang pay $50.

15. thcik skin woman 30 July 2010

philippines girl are natural beauty and can take care family most of them unlike singapore woman very fragile and silk skin or (thick skin)

16. kaminari 30 July 2010

feminist with all craps about gender equality do a very good job for free women from all responsibilities. Every time we asked them to learn to cook, sew, homeschool, etc2 they said they are not maid but still want to receive their husband money by suing to the court. Find any religious or conservative woman who still cherish traditional gender role, which is most likely not in sg

17. what the hell 30 July 2010

@kaminari 30 July 2010

very true what you said.
    all they want is husband money and blood like the PAP. they learn from the PAP on how to benefit the most and less to be done

18. thanks god 30 July 2010

soon sg woman will do defamation suit on husband too. lol

thanks god i marry filipina

19. Well, my experience (non-Singaporean) is that men don’t follow traditional gender roles either. Women are expected to have cooking and house management skills, but good luck finding a man who can fix anything or do any yard work or even maintain the car.

What many modern women bring to a marriage is high education level, work skills, house management skills, and child care skills. Men think that bringing a salary to the table and a bit of playing with the kids outside of personal leisure time is fair and square because he’s a man. Sorry, but women don’t need to carry dead weight. Either men come to the table as an equal partner in the relationship or they end up divorced or unmarried. I make no apologies for that as a woman and a feminist.

20. cheaper,better,faster 30 July 2010

i wouldn’t blame sg man for marrying foreign woman. look at how beautiful our sg woman are and how much they cost us.

if government go for cheaper,better,faster…

so we also must go for cheaper maintenance,better quality of housewife and faster progress in family life

21. unrealible sg womans 30 July 2010

then what happen to all the beautiful asian cute expensive sg woman? if most of the man go for foreign wife??

22. donation to ang moh 30 July 2010

@ unrealible sg womans 30 July 2010

they got ang moh to take care of them.

the ang moh will fully utilities them.so we singaporeans have to thanks ourselves as not to end up with this kind if sg womans or else you pray you don’t get sue and squeeze out your pants

23. PAP: we raise the living standard and equal to Swiss standard and sg woman want the best of it.

so who want to be the victim? you choose:

Singaporean man? or

foreign man?

if you don’t want we give our woman to foreign man to use them since you don’t want to fully utilizes them.

24. MM LEE TO SINGAPOREANS 30 July 2010

lee kuan yew:

1)you don’t want to fully utilize your jobs i give it to foreigners

2)you don’t want to fully utilize sg woman i give it to foreigers.

3)you don’t want to fully utilize your home i give it to foreigners

5)you don’t want to fully utilize your money i use it for help foreigners

this are the five fingers i have in my hand to slap you Singaporeans face to wake up and fully utilize you life to serve me.

25. so scared to date sg woman 30 July 2010

i don’t dare to date singapore woman to be honest i stay a distance from them.just hi hello and i go.grr….i don’t want to be with my pants down and waking on the street in my marriage life ever.

26. squeeze my balls 30 July 2010

if sg woman are to be in the politics gosh singaporeans man will suffer and be squeeze more worst then lee kuan yew did.

no woman in politics please.halimah yacob already enough to be said

27. johnson roberten 30 July 2010

TO: cheaper,better,faster 30 July 2010

lol i can’t stop laughing, good idea indeed mate you pick up fast from our leader.hahahaha

28. kaminari 30 July 2010

If I want to find woman, feminist is the last thing I will look for. For myself, I have learned.

And I am optimistic that those women will be vanished in one or two generations as religious and conservatives far outbreed those women (Compare liberal European, Singapore with 1.1 kids perwoman versus religious conservative American 2.2 kids perwomen, Muslim countries, Israel 3.5 kids perwomen). You do the math yourselves.

I am now 23, I can wait until 5-10 years to see more conservative women raise, so I am not in hurry. =)

29. i’m not sure i follow the logic of marriage agency is inherently a bad thing.
    Yes, marriage agency makes money by matching a guy and a girl together.
    Does that automatically make it a bad thing?

There are many matchmaking agencies that match-make locally and no one has complain about it. By your logic, local singaporean girls going through a matchmaking agency are exploited too, because the agency makes money from them. Do you really think that is the case?

The difference between match-making and human trafficking lies in the free-will of the woman. If women freely signed up for matchmking, then there is nothing wrong with it.

Yes, there are many instances of human trafficking. But it is the act of forcing/coercing women and not the general idea of matchmaking that is the problem.

30. Good luck to you in finding a pious subservient plentiful breeder kaminari :)

How sad that Singaporean men despise their fellow Singaporean women so much.

31. RW, I don’t think it is human trafficking, but it is taking advantage.

The men in Singapore wanting these matches want a bride who comes with little expectations of them, and humble gratitude for whatever treatment they get, even if it is poor treatment. (Sounds similar to what some want in a maid when they hire her – total subservience and acceptance of her treatment and conditions)

There is lots of this going on in the world (Americans wanting Russian or Eastern European brides, Middle-aged/senior citizen Western expats looking for young Asian foreign domestic workers to make their bride (or impregnate and abandon to her home country) in Singapore), but the characteristics of the population of men is strikingly similar… They are patriarchal, dominating, sexist and perhaps for additional reasons, have trouble attracting a mate in their own society (hence their attitude towards women).

32. If Singaporean women are so materialistic and demanding, how come so many are marrying Malaysian men whom Singaporeans presume are poorer and ‘low class’?

33. tikitok 30 July 2010

((What many modern women bring to a marriage is high education level, work skills, house management skills, and child care skills.))

do building up a family as a housewife need high education levels?work skill i doubt they have it in home.

child care skill even more doubt i have as many send their kids to child care centre and rush their way out to meeting and leisure at times. doesn’t this what we call the conservative sg woman?

sg woman had been lure themselves into western way of lifestyle.

many sg man now is capable of doing housework better then sg woman. many are great in managing hard task unlike sg woman.
    for example if you gonna ask sg woman to scrub the clothes using their hand to remove that stubborn stain that washing machine can’t. they will grumble and ask you to buy new one instead fearing they may spoil their hand.

sg woman with high level education and work come home like a queen. shower,apply expensive lotion,experience hair rebounding and style,expensive perfume and clothes and sit reading novels and sleep with the aircon and comfortable expensive bed when ask to help on house task they grumble saying ”i just came home and you ask me to do all this?? why can you do?? you are man.

34. dollars matter to sg woman 30 July 2010

What many modern women bring to a marriage is high education level, work skills, house management skills, and child care skills.))

if man don’t have what they have. you will be ignore or worst still end in divorce anytime soon while they seek for the levels.grrr….sg woman smell notes

35. SG Women bad 30 July 2010

Singapore women demand a lot but have nothing to offer.

They all watch TV and demand the “freedom” they see their western counterparts seemingly have, but take on none of the independence and self reliance these counterparts possess to earn that freedom.

36. I'm not your straw (wo)man to beat 30 July 2010

With such attitudes here, it’s no wonder SG women don’t think SG men are a good catch. Personally, it’s not so much about the money, but about local chauvinism, sometimes outright misogyny. A woman is a person too–she’s not a trophy, not your maid, not your robot, not your mother, not your baby breeder, not your prostitute to service you whenever you want. If you do want a woman who does all the above, go ahead and get your foreign bride. It’s no loss to any self-respecting woman (from ANY country) who wants to be treated as an individual person rather than an object in a group labeled “arrogant, materialistic, selfish etc”. As if SG men are so free of huge personal flaws. I challenge you to flip these perceptions around. Would YOU, an SG man, like to be judged as all the same and all:

too demanding
    too costly
    too arrogant
    too materialistic
    too close minded
    too high expectation
    too much.
    too selfish
    self centered
    self proclaim of themselves but in reality is like crater face with bad serivce in bed unlike ft husband

The complaints can go both ways, but I suppose women’s views don’t matter.

37. modern sg man 30 July 2010

modern man provide dowry of few thousand of dollars to sg woman requirement for marriage function and ceremonies and jeweleries.

thereafter husband bring home money with hard work slog day and night.managing house expenses,provide child education, wife expenses.child care fee.marriage loan to pay if there is any

wife at home watch tv,do simple cooking.throw the clothes in a hightech washing machines. hang them and relax. make a call to friends and chit chat gossip, find opportunity to hang out night clubs with friend after husband returned home or go for friends gathering.

husband returned home from a hard day work swaeting his pants inside out and do the housecleaning and fold the clothes and watch over the kids and sleep only if the kids do.

38. story of sg man 30 July 2010

wonder if any sg man come across this.

sg man work as a cleaners he is hardworking and have the heart for love and care for family and live within the needs and ask one sg woman.

SG MAN TO SG WOMAN: can i marry you?

SG WOMAN TO SG MAN: sorry i’m not prepare yet for marriage i need to work hard to safe for future. will let you know if i’m ready till then you have to wait.

SG MAN TO SG WOMAN: ok,till when must i wait?

SG WOMAN TO SG MAN: i don’t know, you just wait till i’m ready.

the following year one fine day the sg man received a news that the sg woman he love is getting married. the sg man was shock and told that she told him she was not ready. who did she married???

they then told her she is married to one of the company director that she knew for 1week of relationship.

thanks for reading this novel.

39. bigger shoes bigger weights 30 July 2010

ya lor…almost all sg chicks go for bigger shoes to fit in. shame of it. unlike most ft woman that walk along with husband high and low and not fitting into their husband shoes.

40. DORA THE EXPLORER 30 July 2010

sg woman’s like to explore deep in man pockets like Dora the explorer.you never know what is inside their bags that you need to pay for.lol

41. one word for sg woman. below them is gold, you will need to maintain polishing it but not fully use it.pay as you use. sounds like pap. hahahhahhhahah

42. gold digger 30 July 2010

they will dig and dig till you go deep and walk away when you got no more to dig on.good luck

43. Old Guy 30 July 2010

years of education for singapore girls taught them ONE THING..

MONEY IS MOST IMPORTANT

that is WHY you are studying SO HARD

No BIG money, no sg women will like you..

IF they marry you, then if you no big money, they will look DOWN on you

and think you’re just a LITTLE WORM in your pants..!

44. CrazyHendrix 30 July 2010

OMG. We would bash our local women?

45. SidneyDelphy 30 July 2010

Hi guys, i am here to share with u my story. I am a SG guy, who had 2 ex-girl friend who are SG. Currently i just married a Vietnamise wife. Its really a hell of a difference if u make a comparison between them.

i really had a had time maintaining 2 previous relationship. suffering n suffering giving in to them!

Heres a list of their DIFFERENCES!

SG gal: lots of expectations, bad tempered, cant cook, career minded, boyfriend is never very important, self centred, soso looking … lastly bad service in bed!

Vietnam wife: simple expectations, unbelievable good tempered, cooks very well, no career but respect my efforts at work bringing money back every month, i was like the most important person to her (clingling by my side always.) really beauuutiful skin soooo white and feature WOW!!!!…. (u can chose all u want till satisfied before u marry! so make a wise choice) Lastly…. SERVICE SO GOOD!!!!!! WOOOOOOOAAA YAHHHHH!!!

i can tell everyone!!! The best decision i ever made in my life is to get a vietnam wife!!! wat are u guys waiting FOR!!!!

46. angry_one 30 July 2010

’tis a sad phenomenon of our dysfunctional society. Men want foreign brides from 3rd world countries; women want to marry westerners.

47. sg man 30 July 2010

@ I’m not your straw (wo)man to beat 30 July 2010

With such attitudes here, it’s no wonder SG women don’t think SG men are a good catch. Personally, it’s not so much about the money, but about local chauvinism, sometimes outright misogyny. A woman is a person too–she’s not a trophy, not your maid, not your robot, not your mother, not your baby breeder, not your prostitute

what a mouth!! :not your mother, not your baby breeder??

this have put you with no respect even to your own mother and child if you do have and doubt you value them!!

how can you say such thing?? no wonder sg man condemn sg woman. big mouth big with no respect, less self educate but highly demanding.

no wonder many sg woman dumb away their mother to old folks home and their child away!

lucky you pop up here to prove what is sg woman and what we sg man say is true indeed!

48. Curious 30 July 2010

sidney, can share details what so good?

49. sg man 30 July 2010

Hi guys, i am here to share with u my story. I am a SG guy, who had 2 ex-wife who are SG. Currently i just married a filipina wife. Its really a hell of a difference if u make a comparison between them.

i really had a had time maintaining 2 previous marriage. suffering n suffering giving in to them!

Heres a list of their DIFFERENCES!

SG gal: lots of expectations, bad tempered, cant cook, career minded, boyfriend is never very important, self centred, soso looking even bad looking … lastly bad service in bed and rush you up like servicing a man in geylang!

filipina wife: simple expectations, unbelievable good tempered, cooks very well, no career but respect my efforts at work bringing money back every month, i was like the most important person to her (clingling by my side always.) really beauuutiful skin soooo white and feature some are unbelievable figure WOW!!!!…. (u can chose all u want till satisfied before u marry! so make a wise choice) Lastly…. SERVICE SO GOOD!!!!!!

i can tell everyone!!! The best decision i ever made in my life is to get a vietnam wife!!! wat are u guys waiting FOR!!!!

50. singapore gentlemen 30 July 2010

to all singaporeans. i have seen enough and need i say much about singapore woman?

you take the risk you decide your future coz it is worth considering a second option for foreign woman as wife