The Sunday Times knows him well. Virtually annually, they run a feature selling to its Singaporean readers the idea of buying foreign brides. They ran one again last Sunday, 25 July 2010, mentioning once again like in years past Mark Lin and his business, Vietnam Brides International Matchmaker.
As you can see, almost a full page was devoted to this campaign, and a nation-building campaign it must be for the newspaper to violate human rights and the laws of Vietnam so blatantly.
Barely six months ago, I noted that Vietnam — rightly — treats this kind of quickie “matchmaking” as human trafficking. As you can see from Should Singapore’s Home Minister be thrown into a Vietnamese jail? , four men were sentenced to a total of 25 years in jail. I also opined that the Sunday Times and the Singapore government abet this crime through their editorial and government policies.
Read Yawning Bread for the full article.

“With such attitudes here, it’s no wonder SG women don’t think SG men are a good catch. Personally, it’s not so much about the money, but about local chauvinism, sometimes outright misogyny. A woman is a person too–she’s not a trophy, not your maid, not your robot, not your mother, not your baby breeder, not your prostitute”
A lot of myth like this in leftist, liberal western world. If you don’t want a ‘simple’ responsibility to do household chore like cooking or sewing or child rearing and want equality
then we should also take away their privilege as women:
- join national service to help us defend the country (with same standards, i.e. same running distance, no of push-ups etc)
- open business by your own money
- stop robbing tax-payer money (mostly man) to subsidize health-care, day-care, and single parent care
- stop privilege for women (i.e. woman carpark, pregnancy leave, gender quota, affirmative action, different standard for sport etc)
- no default divorce (i.e. husband gave half possession to wife)
…
and so on
@ sg man
Hey stop copying wat i wrote! and u forget the last sentences!!! Vietnam wife!
Guys, Singaporean men are forced to seek foreign brides, just like the South Koreans, Japanese and the Taiwanese.
My son has been going round with a local girl for two years, who though comes from a humble family, does not seem to hold a job not more than two or three weeks, and who disdains doing housework.
The girl left University in her first year there, and is now in her late thirties, and she said she was too proud and choosy in her much younger days, else she would have settled down, married with kids in her twenties.
Now whose fault is it that she is still hesitating, and she is not even a career-woman. Maybe she thinks my son is not rich enough to upkeep her rather extravagant spending.
Very soon my thirty something son would join those looking for a wife abroad. Local girls may be too modern in thoughts
in choosing a mate, that’s why they prefer to marry foreign men.
B 30 July 2010
RW, I don’t think it is human trafficking, but it is taking advantage.
The men in Singapore wanting these matches want a bride who comes with little expectations of them, and humble gratitude for whatever treatment they get
………………..
i am goin to ask you a real simple Q
would you be oblidged to look after your motherinlaw? if not why not?
next.. let me tell you a realive story onced again..there is this beautiFOOL singapOOR girl she married a realive newzealand suiker..they lived happiLEE ever after…BUTT…
the poor singapoorium mother..you know the girl’s mama who lived in singapoor is now on her owned…told me that how come angmor soninlaw don’t send funds home to motherinlaw? i replied..angmor son never also maintained owned mama let alone mamainlaw…poor mother says..OAR..liked that har…
let me correct the story line in a more suitable way.lol
i am goin to ask you a real simple Q
would you be oblidged to look after your motherinlaw? if not why not? if the foreign wife have done enough for the man i beleived the sg man will have the heart to send money even a little.
next.. let me tell you a realive story onced again..there is this beautiFOOL singapoRICH girl she married a realive newzealand suiker..they lived happiLEE ever after…BUTT…
the poor singapoorrotten mother..you know the girl’s mama who lived in singapoor is now on her owned…collect tin cans and boxes ask me that how come angmor son inlaw don’t send funds home to mother inlaw unlike singapore man send money to foreign wife mother inlaw? i replied..angmor son never also maintained owned mama let alone mama inlaw…unlike singapore man have atleast consider mama in law as much as his foreign wife consider her singapoor husband
arh….simple la make it like this. singapore woman s@cks big time! don’t waste time on them!
singapore woman have practice what lky preach. dig deeper and deeper make your husband more productivity as to archive credit cards for you to shop and for them to pay.
for you to dig for them to go into
for you to kick for them to crawl
lastly……..for you to sit for them to slog
local laws are not gender equal.
men are still expected to fulfil traditional roles, as reflected in local laws.
men need to serve NS, that’s 2 solid years & many years more of “short stints” annually. that is alot of commitment.
marrying down is a risk women do not take because it may lead to divorce over money. this is reason enough, & S’poreans by & large are not risk takers.
labour laws do not provide much annual leave or paternity leave, leaving women to shoulder most child rearing responsibilities.
local women compete on almost the same level as men, in return men do not treat women that differently. unlike men from other cultures that makes a greater distinction between genders.
…………………………………
i see many who many have had negative relationships, or have some rather gender biased perceptions about the opposite gender. blame this on our culture of “equality” & excellence? local men & women compete with each other since school, treat/view the other as competition.
men & women must have been gender bashing since (as boys & girls) school days. just look at our elite schools, how to love?
XD
boys & girls, why don’t you both stop fighting among yourselves? stop & ponder how did things come to this?
the root of the problem is the push decades back to get local women to contribute to GDP. while the goal to achieving excellence is not a bad thing, many are now facing the negative results of the excessive persuit excellence.
want to carry on fighting like little children in school go ahead. some people never grow up wan, sometimes need to step back to move forward. imagine a train carriage where alighting & boarding passengers do not give way!!
this is the type of gender bashing thatis happening here.
isimplydontlikedSINGAPOORgirl, in other countries parents have saved for their retirement through company and government pension plans and investments, and there is a social safety net. You cannot compare that to parents in Singapore who may have very little retirement money from the government and do rely on their children to have a better quality of life in old age.
kaminari, why can’t you cook and sew, is there something wrong with your arms? Are you not intelligent enough to do those tasks? And by the way, there are women in the military in other countries, for example, Israel requires women to do national service as well. The only reason why Singapore hasn’t implemented that for women is sexism – they think women have no place in the military. Frankly, your comments are misogynistic. The whole of society would benefit from men and women working together, and if you want a woman to make money in the work force then affordable daycare should be implemented. Children need both parents, not just mothers, so men need to step up and be co-caregivers to their children, not expect their wife to do it all.
Some of you men are just proving why Singaporean women won’t marry you, and I can’t blame them.
well, my fat and always sweating 55-yr neighbour recently bought (oops, i mean brought)an 18-yr old bride from vietnam… such a pretty couple, especially when they go to church on sunday… he’s happy because he was able to get rid of the filipina maid… vietnamese bride is cheaper, i guess…and prettier… she cries a lot in the garden… mother-in-law screams and swears at her in teochew for at least 6 hours… husband screams at her in singlish for 4 hours a day … vietnamese bride just sobs (in vietnamese only, i think)… oh yes, life in singapore is good.
and singapore men are such good catches, aren’t they? real studs too … just ask the teenage girls in geylang and ho chi minh city … good thing they make lots of money to buy (oops, i mean inspire) love from poor vietnam girl/ bride/ maid… it’s such a good deal… at least for singapore man… vietnam girl/ bride/ maid would be more grateful too if she didn’t spend so much time crying in garden
kaminari, why can’t you cook and sew, is there something wrong with your arms? Are you not intelligent enough to do those tasks?
Can, but I have worked for 10-11 hours. now can I ask you back, why is it so difficult for you to take care of your child and do not spend any useless money on babysitter (~1k), while your husband are able to feed you? Not enough research to prove that a mother is more able to take care of their children than babysitter?
And by the way, there are women in the military in other countries, for example, Israel requires women to do national service as well.
If you have jihadist neighbor who think that their Allah want all Jews must die, whether they are men, women and children, don’t you think all Israeli must be vigilant?
The only reason why Singapore hasn’t implemented that for women is sexism – they think women have no place in the military.
I have yet to find one single evidence for this kind of statement. The same as you try to explain why women only receive 10% of noble prize and most of it is in humanity.
Frankly, your comments are misogynistic. The whole of society would benefit from men and women working together, and if you want a woman to make money in the work force then affordable daycare should be implemented. Children need both parents, not just mothers, so men need to step up and be co-caregivers to their children, not expect their wife to do it all.
You know why before 1960 era most men are able to feed their family (children, a lot of them)? Because living price is so cheap. Then, people like you appear with ridiculous idea that all sexual intercourse are rape and all men are rapist. See what you have done? Rampant divorce, high drug abuse and crime, among one-child family, high living cost (since more female enters workplace), etc. So no, I don’t think much benefit for more working women
b
Some of you men are just proving why Singaporean women won’t marry you, and I can’t blame them.
…………
with your mentality as though you ASSUMED all the angmors are very very rich and generous….
you must be BLIND….
you still don’t lived amon the angmors
you don’t even know the rules..
angmors are angmors
1 rule..rich or poor sticked by that rule..
go aroun and see how many angmor fathers buy an iphone for their children
now compare a real truebred singapoorium father who would buy without a 2nd glanced even if they had to borrow the funds in advance…
hav you ever met a singapoorium father who rec’d his midyear bonus and used the same amount to buy a muchneeded computer
for his son..when the older computer still functioned?
They certainly need protection. It is not right to marry a girl and then dump them or abuse them or keep them as hostage in the marriage.
Anyway in case of divorces, the judges will take into account many factors, eg: alimony, maintenance & the matrimonial property.
As long as they are protected just like a Singaporean, then it should not be a problem. I am sure if in the event, it goes to court, the law will be fair both to men & women.
Anyway, the foreign brides need to remember that it is not just making love and babies. There is alot more to a marriage.
Perhaps what will be good is, The Family Court comes up with a counselling programme both for foreign brides & the groom. Making it compulsory, especially for brides from 3rd world countries.
Personally i as a 24-yr old guy will consider foreign brides as an alternative coz local women simply don’t behave like women! Can’t cook, can’t touch them in bed, can’t have kids. But can take $$$ go shopping, facial and spa, dresses and shoes. For a while, men thought they married men, not women.
want to carry on fighting like little children in school go ahead??
woman are not little chicken. you haven’t been made to stand in court do you? then you see our sg woman how they fight and sue you like a little chicken.
sg woman are not advice to be married but keep keep for fun can already
So let’s get this straight… it would be better if Singaporean women would not bother to get a good education or work outside the home. They should get married out of high school and stay home to clean, cook, sew, and look after their husband and breed and care for lots of children?
Um, good luck with finding a nice foreign bride!
some princes also married foreign brides. such things happened everywhere. relax, we are in a global world.
Does this not mean more NEW CITIZENs? The foreign bride could get citizenship right?
keep keep for fun, 31 July 2010
dear poster, you are right about me not being made to stand in court. i have mentioned earlier about the inequality regarding laws governing marriage.
so too, i have mentioned about society’s expectation from (local) men. it does not bode well to view women as the fairer sex (gender) as like in the past say 30 years ago. women today have evolved, while the image of a career woman is widely accepted, the homemaker husband is still (largely) viewed negatively.
one way to break stereotypical roles is for men not to fear being different & laughed at. now, how many men do not fear being laughed at? who’s the chicken now? the one with more fear? men should help themselves, by not always sticking to outdated ways of the (cave)men. women would respect men more if they do what they say, & not just say but never do.
the day men do not fear being judged, they should assert their will power to live their lives as they dim fit & not sway to the demands of women (a sure sign of weakness) & resent it!do that & more women will respect local men for a start, respect comes 1st, love, a far 2nd…
Jackson 31 July 2010
Personally i as a 24-yr old guy will consider foreign brides as an alternative coz local women simply don’t behave like women! Can’t cook, can’t touch them in bed, can’t have kids. But can take $$$ go shopping, facial and spa, dresses and shoes
…………………………
hav you ever ear your erp ca$h card bip$ even on a saturday? hav you ever get a heart attack on a weekends when you drove your car out of the shoppin mall carpark$ and found out that your ca$h card balance$ hav a negative?
last butt not least..do you find it irritatin when your found out that on a weekend shoppin in all the goodies bags only 10% is yours?
and the best part is upon your arrival home you couldn’t even find a space to place your brandnew leather workin shoe
B 31 July 2010
So let’s get this straight… it would be better if Singaporean women would not bother to get a good education or work outside the home
…………..
noped we don’t want a singapoor girl to be @ that level…we rather prefer them to be maids just what leekingyou order..not i says hor…
as for a homebased good good wife.. i still preferred malaysian..they certainLEE can breed liked a sow..
1 after another..every year…
hav anyofyou ever studied the school poetry classes the GOOD earth?
iamacheeHONGshopkorhorlick 31 July 2010
Jackson 31 July 2010
Personally i as a 24-yr old guy will consider foreign brides as an alternative coz local women simply don’t behave like women! Can’t cook, can’t touch them in bed, can’t have kids. But can take $$$ go shopping, facial and spa, dresses and shoes
…………………………
hav you ever ear your erp ca$h card bip$ even on a saturday? hav you ever get a heart attack on a weekends when you drove your car out of the shoppin mall carpark$ and found out that your ca$h card balance$ hav a negative?
last butt not least..do you find it irritatin when your found out that on a weekend shoppin in all the goodies bags only 10% is yours?
and the best part is upon your arrival home you couldn’t even find a space to place your brandnew leather workin shoe
hi. sry i don’t really get your point.
Vietnam brides? does it go to show how fast & far China has progressed? local men can’t even meet China’s standards now ah?
jackson
hi. sry i don’t really get your point.
………….
the point is………..
you are her personal driver/texi services
and she ain’t payin you a single dime
~period~
keep keep for fun, 31 July 2010
dear poster, you are right about me not being made to stand in court. i have mentioned earlier about the inequality regarding laws governing marriage.
so too, i have mentioned about society’s expectation from (local) men. it does not bode well to view women as the fairer sex (gender) as like in the past say 30 years ago. women today have evolved, while the image of a career woman is widely accepted, the homemaker husband is still (largely) viewed negatively.
men have an irrational fear of being mocked by their peers. how many dare to be different, be their true selves?
withdraw all you money assets go to oversea. buy a small house and car then marry who ever u want and live happily forever
econ u, 3 August 2010
people like you very good to bully, it wun be long before thugs chase people out of their homes. people will get the impression that S’poreans are good to bully!…
what happens if the same thing happen again when you go overseas?
I want to thank all the male contributors here to remind me why i will never come back to work, live and get married in Singapore. After 14 years away, most of you are still as shallow, petty and ignorant as ever. I will not say you guys represent the majority of Singaporean men, and likewise, i will not say all ang moh men are as selfish as you have described. How is it possible that we all grow up in a multicultural society in the last century and still managed to cultivate such narrow minded Singaporeans?? Geez, there is really no hope for this country and I count my blessing everyday to earn my living overseas with my foreign partner and foreign friends. Thanks to this forum, I’m definitely giving up my passport VERY soon!
Miffychaton
to cultivate such narrow minded Singaporeans?? Geez, there is really no hope for this country and I count my blessing everyday to earn my living overseas with my foreign partner and foreign friends
……………
indeed very cultivate and calculative for all those saronpartygirls liked YOU…
let me tell you a realive story based on my 2 owned geniued isorated eagles’ eyes
this ear durin chinese new ear celebrations…there was this group of saronpartygfirls with all their angmors hubbies..kosher no bluff 1s…5 couples and mixed beautiful eurasian daughters with 1/2 balls floatin aroun..
they all come to jumbo seafood restaurants to tuck in the seafoods as order..in their little baskets you know those very very angmor patterns type..they brin in their OWNED orange juices(lucky the angmor hubbies didn’t brin their heneikens as well and loaves of rotijohns to mixed their chilly crabs
we the local cina would’t not allowed to brin in our brandy XO without bein charged a corkage charges and we are NOT allowed to order rice as well..you can order their muntoes(ovenbaked bun @ extraordinary charges)..
see how generous/roberts our singaporean MEN are..you all saronpartygirls not shy mey? never even considered the jumbo towkays for runnin their seafoods profits..than again all those eastcoast seafoot towkays deserved it..alway afraid of angmors just liked ALL our ministers…
yes yes saronpartygirls..before you even 1-2-condemned oi yours truly…i still hold a BRITISH PR based on my merits/skill not marriage of conveniences hor…
istillhatessarongpartyGIRL,
Again why so fast always to jump to conclusions and be so judgmental all time? Did I mention my hubby is ang moh? I’m not even married and earning so comfortably overseas that I don’t need to marry out of conveniences. I will be able to seek employment in almost any country I wish because of my skills and ability to THINK outside of the box. I AVOID Singaporean male friends when living overseas, especially those egocentric and ignorant ones like you. It’s impossible to have any intelligent conversation! I urge all Singaporeans to stop living inside your insecured puny brains and SEE what the real world is.
Men like “I still hate sarong party girls” consistently tarnish the image of Singaporeans, and for goodness sake, please write in simple plain English for easy reading. It’s hard to understand such badly written english! There’s enough ego here to prove your manliness, no need to rub in the Singlish!
And just for the record, my partner is a Filipino expat and he cannot understand too why well educated male Singaporeans have such poor social etiquette. No wonder they can’t find local brides in Singapore!
dear males & females….
who are the people who shaped our men & women? how did they get such negative impression of the opposite gender? did they realize they may have the ugly S’poreans attributes of snobbery?
shallow people judge people in mere seconds, caste the impressions in stone, do not take the effort to get to really know another person. if really that jaded, then seek the greener pastures elsewhere. spreading negative perception based on individual’s past experience only serves to make matters worse.
there are no saints, what more the stresses that is ever increasing. want nice gentlemen, sweet loving wife? sorry, not in our culture of efficiency, excellence, gender equality & the pay-&-pay society!
Miffychaton
please write in simple plain English for easy reading. It’s hard to understand such badly written english!
………….
now you attempt to teech me english?
woah! brialliant inseed of focussin on the debates/topics..you want to use berlinda ang oxford english tone ere?
now you know why i labelled you a sarongpartygirl who tried to slang liked angmors in boatquays..right?
bytheway..
do you rubbed shoulders with LORD and knights? ow bout boygeorge? maybe his record producer richard brandson? been to freddie mercury cottage in south kensington?
they don’t complaint moi bad horrible written english..they just 1 me to visit them again if i hav the TIME…
and yes.. i ain’t no angmor..a 101% pured ch ow beng chinese…
Miffychaton, I salute you. Well said. I can’t help but realize that it’s kind of difficult to understand some of their comments with the bad language used. Haha. I’m like..whaaaaaat?
Peace Yo, 10 August 2010
dun understand nevermind (can’t be helped?), at least you tried. the effort itself is a positive sign all is not lost.
(^.^)
m.i.n
Peace Yo 10 August 2010
Miffychaton, I salute you. Well said. I can’t help but realize that it’s kind of difficult to understand some of their comments with the bad language used. Haha. I’m like..whaaaaaat?
……………….
easy what..go to your local kopitiams mingle/mangled nia mah ….unless you are starbuck person…
do you speak tagalor?
moi remembered when moi was in london workin..never heard of filipno expartrait..onLEE worked TOGETHER with filipinos waiters/hotel workers..
I have several friends who could not find wives here but are now happily married with their foreigner wives. What do you guys have against cross cultural marriages? So close minded.
Angry, 16 August 2010
the idea of buying wives, lol…
that’s not matchmaking, its more like legalised prostitution!
mice is nice 16 August 2010
Angry, 16 August 2010
the idea of buying wives, lol…
that’s not matchmaking, its more like legalised prostitution!
………………
one word of MORAL advise…
not everybody in singapore or aroun the world can afford to hav a decent VIRGIN cleaned pure bride…
whatever happenned in their past..is sometime dued to unforseeen circumstances
not EVERY girls want to be a PROSTITUE…
so if YOU looked down on them..they are already condemed to hell for all ETERNITY
as i said before…you are a SONGKOK man!
and by the way..
today 1 towkayneo asked me just for the fun of curosity..
do i ultilize the service of callgirls?
i replied no..i go aroun the voideck rapin ole grandmas and filipino maids perhaps?
as mentioned before…
its YOUR/my life thinggie…
how i lived through my life and what makes me happy…i don’t tell OTHERs..ole you visit prostitutes..keep away from me!!!
istillhatessarongpartyGIRL, 18 August 2010
i am refering to the buying of foreign brides, never once did i insist they must be virgins. not sure about the men who buy them though…
brides not necssarily mean virgins, i am not sure how that notion got into you.
Regret marries a Stinkappore girl, doesnt know cooking, househld chores, act smart, stubborn, princess mentlity and disrespecful to in laws, stingy, ingrate…. went to my father in law to call off the wedding, but this 80+ old man persuaded to proceed…. pity him…bobian…don’twant he to die because of my decision.
“And just for the record, my partner is a Filipino expat and he cannot understand too why well educated male Singaporeans have such poor social etiquette. No wonder they can’t find local brides in Singapore!”
maybe his country males are used to the idea tt their wives/gf were once toys of the whites….
You call Filipino an expat? Come on…. I never hear this before. You mean Pinoy cheapskate?
I have a cousin, already early 30s, very sweet looking, always dress very well, looks like 20s. All the men she came across from mercedes(guy too short), tall guy (not successful) and from all sorts of lives. She cannot accept anyone, she said maybe those guys in Korean dramas, suave and posh, comes in sports car and flowers.
Of course she cant cook or do housework. So she always go tour, but mainly to Korea, Japan and Taiwan and Europe but never Thailand or China. This is the issue with local woman today.
They have extreme high expectations of the mate they are looking for. Although they are not perfect, they seek perfect mates. Good looking, tall, career successful and romantic – do you have stock?
If buying Vietnamese brides is your Singapore’s national duty, that killing the invaders is our Vietnam national duty.
Our men used to kill all the invaders. Disregarding the fucking chinese singaporeans or the west guys, real Vietnamese will crush you down!
Remember that! Kill off!
Enuff of squabble. Want equal rights? All must serve national service regardless of gender. Rights are fought, not given.
Enuff of finger pointing to each other. No gender should have it easy. All are Singaporeans. Learn from the mistakes of the already developed nations.
If all wanna blame, should blame the man behind the system. The OLD fart believes in eugenics. He should be hang for crime against the nation.
@Tran Nguyen Thuc
Don’t make me laugh! Real Vietnamese kill all invaders?! They were afraid of south Korean military units that were deployed there during the Vietnam war.
It’s a fact dug out from one of Vietcong’s confidential reports by the US. Vietcong’s unit were told not to engage south Korean soldiers & to avoid if possible .
Most Soldiers from the Unite States during those times are inexperience conscripted soldiers while the Koreans are experience war hardened veterans who had served in the Korean War.
@Tan
We just care about the invaders, not the enemy’s mercenaries.