A woman, who wishes to be known as “Bystander”, is so upset with the way the Youth Olympic Games has been organized that she has written to the Singapore Sports Council (SSC) to voice her disapproval. We publish her letter below (without edits).

The SSC replied to her email informing her that the event is organized by the Singapore Youth Olympic Game Organising Committee (SYOGOC) and that it will bring “your feedback to the attention of the team concerned.”

Here is “Bystander’s” letter to the SSC:

Hi there

Just to let you people know that we are not happy with the YOG cost overruns from $100m to $300m, without any explanations to taxpayers who are paying for this event.

From netizens reporting, Singapore has to build a sports stadium for Jamaica, free of charge, in return for this Central American country to promote this YOG in that part of the world, and complaint from one European YOG ambassador that the venues are of only school type standard, arises whether expenses for YOG are appropriately used with care. Would like  to emphasise it is taxpayers money being used, would rather funds are used to subsidize the living expenses of poor, elderly residents living in one-room rental flats, rather than to be used on glamorous, one time short lived glory of events like YOG, which is of lesser importance to the world athletics at large.

Also the two mascots are an embarrasment to us, they are far too kawai or cute, for God’s sake YOG is for young adults, not for children.  We do not have to copy cat China in designing mascots, at least show some level of creative originality and sophistication. We see this event organised on half hearted measures on a big wasteful budget, and the most glaring embarrasment is the lack of a National Stadium as a showcase to the world for such an event.

Yog is not even reported yet in the internaional newspapers, to rub salt into our wounds, so to speak.  It is a real disappointment to us, even before the start of the Games.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

67 Responses to “Upset S’porean writes to SSC, slams YOG”

1. Jackson 31 July 2010

Can spend so much on YOG, but so little in preventing floods in Orchard rd. Still claim to be 1st world government? Tio bo? Don’t make me laugh until all my teeth falls off, okie? Nowadays even installing fake teeth is expensive too, can use CPF to pay first?

2. The more I read about YOG news, the more my blood pressure shoots up! I should refrain from reading any more news pertaining to YOG or else I’ll get a stroke!

Vivian, I hope you are sleeping well.

3. mice is nice 31 July 2010

how does S’poreans know how much is spent on this & that? who is to know if the amount is inflated or not?

why is our President so silent on the obscene amount of money that’s being spent?

4. I want my country back 31 July 2010

Our S$4,000,000 President is just a yes man. His favorite song is “Silence is Golden.”
    Question is, as he aptly titled his book: “Why am I here?”

5. All the craps 31 July 2010

@ Bobby Tan,
    Do you know that this $86 per citizen will buy each and everyone of us a sumptuous meal in a 5* hotel restaurant, not the hawker centres or the food courts type???
    VB would have ended up with puffy cheeks
    with 4.5M kisses instead of having to withstand the firing squad aiming at his rear!!

6. mad93 31 July 2010

Nice one good job, this one will definitely shoot the Govt faces

7. mice is nice 31 July 2010

I want my country back, 31 July 2010

err… err…

good answer! ;)

8. RED-man 31 July 2010

YOG – more like YOGI Bear.

9. andrew 1 August 2010

one of the mascot, lyo, has a motto saying “Never say never”.

Ha..ha..he just said “NEVER say never”..HA..HA..

But having said that, isn’t this reflective of the “yes man” mentality of those in-charge

10. oldman 1 August 2010

stupid yog,

11. Vincent 1 August 2010

Without prejudice, i think the writer may not be thinking of the bigger picture.

What i think she may not be right in.

1)cost from 100million to close to 400million. Initially I thought the 100million is kinda low for an event of such nature. 3 days F1 race cost 150million to 200million. I already doubted the 100million figure for this YOG. Hence, in perspective, it is a more accurate figure to reflect the actual cost rather than keep quite about it. The budget was wrong in the first place.

2) about building a stadium for Jamaica, there is nothing wrong in essence. There is often a trade-in for certain things. I am sure we work in exchange for monthly salary. (some noble people would ask if we work for passion? ignore them.) Taiwan offer financial assistance to the tune of hundreds of millions to exchange for them to recognize Taiwan and not China. We needed everyone to support and participate as much as possible. In short, there is really nothing wrong with this as it is, morally or not.

3) about the part where venues are of school standard. It appears to me that the writer is easily influence by negative comments from overseas and made to feel ashamed of her own country. IOC would require the host to meet certain standards before approving it. In this case, the YOG rep already clarify her statements. Why is the writer still bothered by it.

4) about funds better set aside for needy. It is always popular to stand on the side for people who really need the money. There is always a need to proportion the available funds. I wonder if the writer would spend her money on things she “wants” but does not “need”. We all are noble when come to statements but our actions hardly match it. But I must say, there is indeed a small group of person who are noble and they do exist here. They are selfless and nameless heroes who contribute time and money constantly once every week to help the needy.

5) Our mascots are cute and very nice. And I am actually proud of the mascots. Writer may have been too critical of the mascots in her letter. The mascot for England Olympics needs to be better but it was already unveiled so they cant change much. I really think writer is finding fault with the mascot. But i agree that we cant pleased everyone all the time.

What i think the writer is right in

1) Oh my god … she is right. It is kinda unacceptable that we do not have a National Stadium of sorts to host the Opening and Closing Ceremonies. Really weird. But if Singapore did it right, the world may model Singapore on using the city landscape as a background. I would like to see how well would this turn out since we are doing something outside the norm. I hope it works.

Qualifier – I am not against the writer nor pro any establishment but this is merely my point of view.

12. think wisely 2 August 2010

fellow singaporeans stop this political issue debate. no one is listening either. wherever you vote also same. politician are no angel so do you and me?when millions and billions are involve all party will run head down for it. some may take the whole thing some may take more and some may take equal cuts. but overall they takes. nothing it is about singaporeans that they fighting for. would any party run singapore and you ask them stay in 4 room flat and just take $3000 a month and the rest for country and fellow singaporeans. would they go for it? fat hope! so vote doesn’t make any different. 50year one party screw up and it take another 50years for the other party to screw up. just a matter of time that everyone and every generation wants to put their hand in the billions

13. johnson 2 August 2010

@ think wisely 2 August 2010

HAHAHA that’s true indeed

14. WE ARE RICH 4 August 2010

We are a rich nation, what’s your problem. We can afford to buy fighter jets & build the MRT, why not $300 millions for YOG.. all we need do is cut some budget spending at Singaporean expense…something have to gives right?.. let show our guest what a gracious country we are… bring them to see how neglected our poorer folks live in HDB estates. Use the foreigners here by showing them the real singapore ..those neglected ones… neglected by the nation… just so we can bring these foreigners here for a great party with goodies bag & fireworks to remember singapore.. Budget gets inflated cos we will buy everything to make YOG a success. literally.. including a car for every top officials.. Singaporean, you can wait forever.

This Vivian,with millions in his account, he is bought and sold log stock barrel. Next time you must approach him for money to build an old folk home.. let see how many crap excuses he will give you.

YOG – who really cares.