Andrew Loh –
Ms Saw Phaik Hwa seems to have missed entirely the concerns which commuters may have about crowded trains and stations. She seems to be of the opinion that the issue is simply about ferrying commuters from Point A to Point B in the shortest possible time. She seems to think that the solution is a rather simple one: that commuters should “push” themselves in if trains are crowded, as she admitted doing so herself.
She is missing bigger concerns here – the safety and security of our trains and stations.
While overcrowding has given rise to frustrations and unhappiness among commuters who hope to get to their destination in time in a fairly comfortable manner, transport operators should be more aware of the safety and security concerns which are exacerbated by packed trains and stations.
For a start, the more people there are in a station, for example, the harder it would be for security personnel to spot would-be trouble-makers, terrorists included.
Just a few days ago, I was at Orchard station with a friend. Both of us were looking for security features or security personnel. There were virtually none. And this is the situation not only at Orchard station. The same is seen elsewhere, in particular City Hall, Jurong East, Yishun, etc.
The crowds inside these stations are substantial.
My friend and I at Orchard station asked ourselves, “What if a bomb went off here?” The consequences would be terrible for sure – but it would be exacerbated given that stations are bursting at the seams, packed as they are with commuters.
There would not only be casualties from the explosion itself but also inevitably from the resulting stampede of people.
And then remember this: it is not one crowded station we are talking about here. It is virtually all major stations throughout Singapore. Each of them is a convenient target for terrorists who, one can imagine, would target stations which have the most number of people, for maximum impact.
And with the many stations which are overcrowded, security personnel are stretched to the maximum as well.
In 2008, Law Minister and Second Minister for Home Affairs, Mr K Shanmugam, admitted this in Parliament:
“Our Home Team officers at the front line are stretched and strained over a high alert that started since end 2001. The total number of overtime hours ICA ground officers at the checkpoints have to put in every month to cope with the volume of work varies between 23,000 and 28,000 overtime hours.”
According to Mr Shanmugam, “the volume and scope of work have greatly expanded, with increased population, tourist arrivals and more international events which require higher security coverage.”
In 2009, Workers’ Party chairman and Non-constituency MP, Ms Sylvia Lim, again highlighted the concern. Without counting the added demands of having the casinos, she said, “this study confirmed work overload and understaffing in several areas, even before the casinos are functional.” She was referring to the Ministry of Home Affairs’ own study, “Human Factors”, on operational fatigue on the officers of the Home Team.
What about Transcom, the security outfit which was set up in 2008 to specifically deal with transport security?
Overcrowded stations and trains are death traps.
How much have we learned from the bombings of London and Madrid? Or have we learned anything at all? And contrary to what the government has said, security of our stations and depots are not, should not and must not be the responsibility of the transport operators.
And how well-prepared our security personnel are, is an open question, going by what the Law Minister himself said.
I do not recall Ms Saw showing or being concerned about this matter. She seemed to be more concerned about the “maintenance” of the trains themselves!
In light of the recent security breaches at Changi depot and the escape of terrorist-suspect Mas Selamat, one wonders how seriously the authorities take security issues.
If ever a bomb should go off – and this is no far-fetched imagination as the Jemaah Islamyah’s targeting of Yishun station has shown – no amount of “review” of our security system would comfort the families and those who are victims.
The arrogant attitude of Ms Saw, as displayed through her remarks about crowded trains, leaves one wondering if she is the right person for the job – or if she is even aware of the wider implications of overcrowded stations and trains.
————
Read also: Singapore Police Forced – stretched and fatigued.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

saw looked @ her photo beside the EMPTY smrt train as though she think that train can fly..i think she worked dutyfree shop far too long…
lee kuanyew must be proud of her..wondered how is she related to him?
laulee or mrs harry lee?
i think saw liked to stand beside empty clean polished train..you know those original trains hobbyist? but saw different..she liked to play with REAL train..taxpayers’ train to be exact
It is not Ms Saw’s fault. Her duty as CEO is to make as much profits for SMRT’s shareholders. The safety and security of Singapore is not within her job scope.
Instead, the fault lies with the Government for leaving such an important public utility in the hands of private, profit-driven companies.
i totally agree that vital public entities should never be run by private corps whose sole concern is profits.
conflict of interest, plain & simple.
why not outsource SAF to private entities next, i am sure employers big or small will cheer to no end, no to mention the men who will have more time for economic & national pursuits (make more babies tonite!), & it may even save taxpayers’ money in the long run to have a totally professional outfit?
war happens less than once every 50 years a good reason rite?
err, am i rite?
:p
I agree with Hui Yin. Ms Saw’s responsibility is with the shareholders. This whole thing just proves that the gov has under-invested in public infrastructures.
I more worried about the potential ease in spreading of an epidemic in crowded MRT trains. Can you imagine if it was SARS spreading within the carriage. That virus was so lethal.
Clearly, gov has not fully learned its lesson.
call it apathy or kia, for many years already, bugis MRT and many other mrts have been just as crowded and sardine-packed as the pictures above.
yet, now then a blog comes to highlight this problem.
i personally had voiced up this concern about population (influx) explosion and infrastructure ability to handle the surge.
no one has picked this story up until now.
anyways, many hundreds of thousands of people in singapore witness this problem daily taking the train.
the fact that people had not uttered a word about it shows either it is :
1. deep-seated Apathy or
2. people acceptance of the situation. they are contented.
When it was first announced that SMRT was hiring Saw Phaik Hwa, a executive of DFS, as CEO of SMRT, I felt that it was a big mistake.
How can a retail operator run a transport company??!!! How can someone without any technical knowledge such as engineering run a transport company.
Problems with train service started cropping up after she became CEO.
She should be replaced asap.
SMRT STATIONS HAVE THIS POSTER INDICATING,
” OUR SECURITY IS IN YOUR HANDS ”
SO GOVERNMENT N SMRT TAKE ABOVE AS THE GOSPEL TRUTH.
SO WHEN THINGS GO WRONG LIKE THE SERIOUS LAPSE OF SECURITY AT THE SMRT DEPOT,
FINGERS AUTO POINT AT THE CUMMUTERSD.
AFTER ALL,
” OUR SECURITY IS IN YOUR HANDS ”
It seems that even in our”First World”society,one cannot have one’s cake and eat it too.
Perhaps you can only savour its aroma…
Want to get to your destination fast?Then you have to squeeze.The SMRT will ask you to get your own car(if you can afford one in Singapore),or cycle to work,if you wish to be solitary and to avoid the crushing crowds.
I thought the company is making good profit.Is greed usurping good public service here?
Since the elites do not have to take the train EVERYDAY,they have no idea of the discomfiture we commuters have to endure day in day out.If we want to get our own private transport,the Garment will make sure it won’t be financially easy for you to do so here.
So pray tell,what are we to do?Grin,and take the opportunity to”get up close and personal”with your countrymen? The crowds are not occasional,but are there every working day during peaks periods.
Is it so much to ask of the SMRT to get a few more trains to run during peak hours?
Sometimes,I suspect that the Garment do not want us to get too comfortable in our daily life,or we would become soft…
I think it is the author (no offense) that has missed the point. Didn’t Ms Saw said that she didn’t want to be depressed? Acting blur is good therapy for depression. In fact, acting f****** blur would bring that smile on her face.
On security, get real. Look at the sub-power stations, relay stations, distribution stations, etc. scattered about the country. Any guards, CCTV cameras, electric fence(!), etc…? There are even holes in the fences for cats/dogs to go in & out. Hell, we even crept into some for shelter during NS/Reservist rather than sleep in the forest – you think NSmen stupid. Too bad it takes a foreigner to highlight the issue. I just think this security scare is diverting everyone away from more important national issues, including accountability of highly paid Ministers.
i think the root cause is poor planning by the government.
in their hot pursuit of gdp growth (never mind if high gdp doesn’t translate to a better life for most citizens), they let in hordes of foreigners and stress existing infrasture to breaking point.
saw can’t or won’t do much, given a host of reasons – her unrelated retail background, profit seeking business goal and general lack of empathy.
@YOU KNOW WHY SMRT SECURITY IS COMMUTERS PROBLEM?, 7 July 2010
The complete sign is actually:
“OUR SECURITY IS IN YOUR HANDS”
“YOUR MONEY IS IN OUR HANDS”
“YOU KANNA SQUEEZE LIKE SARDINES YOUR PROBLEM”
“WE MILK MONEY OUR JOY”
Excellent observation Andrew. It appears that security concerns are thrown to the wind with stretched resources. I shudder to think of the scenario described above. But what would you expect if you are to be served by a FT. Her condescending, nonchalant, cavalier and holier-than-thou attitude is abhorrent to say the least. Public services comes second, profit maximization comes first. We can lament till the cows come home. She lives in a cocooned ivory tower, a sheltered position. She has got a golden parachute harnessed, beind paid by the millions and can bail out back to her homeland at the snap of the fingers when things turn ugly. We can’t, this is our home and this is our country. It stands her in good state to be mindful of the already poor ground sentiments on FTs.
I wonder!!! Have they really consider their security is safe or just a act of play???
Maybe they think Singapore is safe enough, Japan poison gas case wouldn’t happen in Singapore I presume???
Also they don’t take MRT so frequent like us so they don’t even understand the danger at all, so are these people right people to be on this job???
Lately, announcements are made in trains asking commuters to stand clear of train doors for our own safety.
I would like to ask the CEO how commuters are supposed to stand clear of the doors when she wants trains to reach crush load???
So which is the priority for the CEO? Safety or more profits (which also means higher remuneration for the CEO)??
No point to complain so much, need to change everything from the “Top” so wait for the moment..aka datang.
While I totally agree that SMRT is not doing a proper job and that Ms Saw’s attitudes and remarks have been offensive, I cannot agree with this article concerning security.
Firstly, a casual stroll around the station with a “friend” and musing about terrorists, is not a fair security appraisal of the system. An unfair article will make this entire website, as well as similar websites, look bad and give a good excuse for the authorities to dismiss online criticisms as rubbish.
Secondly, there are visible signs of security in place, such as the CCTVs and the patrolling station officers and police officers.
Thirdly, you can’t have too high a level of security anyway without running into a host of issues. Do you raise security to, say the level of the airports? Then we have to go through screens for our bags, take off our belts and shoes and step onto metal detectors, etc, you get the picture.
“The arrogant attitude of Ms Saw, as displayed through her remarks about crowded trains, leaves one wondering if she is the right person for the job – or if she is even aware of the wider implications of overcrowded stations and trains.”
Aiyoh! It does not matter whether she is the right person for the job, as long as she belongs to the clique of the despicable million-dollar nerds and having the right connections as well as butter-up/manage-up/boot-lick to/for the right puppeteers, she will still hold on to the job as the CEO of SMART which allows her to devour off million-dollar of annual remuneration even with mediocre performance.
Next to nothing but an/a unskillful, awkward, clumsy, amateurish nerd yet pretends to be a dexterous “technocrat” to bluff and blur her way through to mesmerize the equally idiotic million-dollar nerds belong to the contemptible miw!
Easy money!
Shame on the Singapore Civil Defense Force for bullying a SME in Mustaffa for infringement of fire safety rules in their inability to regulate shopping crowd movement through their store.
Where is the same SCDF enthusiasm to check on the safety of a business entity that see large flow of human traffic ?
Is the safety aspect of commuters on SMRT trains outside the purview of the SCDF ?
Has the LTA no say ?
Obviously, the PM will prefer to stay silent – as without the ‘hum’ in his ‘mee siam’ can he have any potent ideas of his own to fix any challenges without PAPa’s help ?
Oh is my eyes something wrong or am I really looking at myself “Allien” eyes ontop of head :-P
Aiyoyo not like me lei, different spices la, don’t spoilt the “Allien’s Family” la!!!!
Hey, please don’t condemn the CEO of SMRT. She is probably related to the Lees or Ho Ching’s cousin?
It’s getting to be cliched when they fumble,they tai-ci away all faults but when there is glory,HALELUJAH,’IT’S MY DOING!’.
What the heck,these people are like gods,aren’t they? they seem too perfect to be HUMAN-BEINGS,i can’t believe it!
jonny 7 July 2010
Think you have not read the whole article properly. The security and safety concerns are compromised by the over-crowded stations. The contributory factors are : poor planning by the LTA, overwhelming influx of foreign workers (not talent), and profit motivation of the transport operators.
There is nothing unfair about the article or website as far as I can see.
Jonny, 7 July 2010
come on, MSM often churns out numerous unfair articles to push the blame elsewhere… authorities will dismiss criticism as best they can, online, in papers, etc. that sort of reaction gives everyone a good reason to dismiss that knee-jerk reaction as not being responsible, their high pay- undeserving…
are CCTVs effective pre-emptive security measure? depending on the crowd density, how well security personnel are trained to spot a potential threat? be it terrorist, virus (H1N1, SARS?…) carrier?
the influx of foreigners are, by themselves, a host of problems… no?
Nice words everyone know how to say, Nice thing everyone know how to get,
But nice job not everyone know how to do, some people only know how to talk until very nice but real action nothing.
Everything is still upto our own to do, you will not really get benefit out of them, pay you one cent will get back from you ten times or more.
@YOU KNOW WHY SMRT SECURITY IS COMMUTERS PROBLEM? 7 July 2010,
And so we now know why this letter I received was not published. All in cahoots with lky? What excuse will they give for so important an issue?
Someone said to me that then any CEO which = PM = MM = SM = Minister should be call CEO = “Crafty Erroneous Officers”. Anyone agree?
“Subject: The SMRT Changi Depot Break-in
Dear Voices Editor,
I refer to 2 letters in TNP of June 23, 2010 titled “Protection before profit” and “Address the weak link”.
As a Singaporean I am indeed more than perplexed by this event as our first S$5B E-W & N-S MRT System has been in operation for 22 years since 1988. As after the Yishun Station scare with dangerous Mas Selamat caught and jailed, the safety of depots had not been “beefed up”.
And I was ever more than perplexed by repeated mention only of SMRT to install more cameras. Have we forgotten SBS Transit’s NEL System depots too? And both SMRT and SBS Transit should consult speciality companies before deciding on enhancing existing camera based systems with more cameras.
Since this will entail more video monitoring manpower. With motorised cameras for horizontal “sweep” coverage it isn’t the best surveillance improving solution. As there will be possible blind spots as more cameras are required for adequate coverage. Increased camera overlaps can also add to video monitoring oversights due to monitoring personnel fatigue including other momentary monitoring disconnect.
There are more effective and suitable UV and Laser Detection Systems with motion detection features that are likely more suitable for Effective Intrusion Surveillance. With modern digital technology, they are not definitely less cost effective. Especially to be ruled out when it is for the saving of lives without in-depth studies by professionals!
A worse case scenario is a bomb exploded a carriage loaded with its 300 passenger max. capacity entering an above ground rail and also rolls over to the road? The ensuing loss of more lives and property will be unimaginable if it is peak period.
Government pride itself on safety and must thus take proactive steps to prevent this from ever happening. Profit driven mentally should not result in blind siding value of precious human beings who also contribute to the transport systems’ viability.”
WHAT SAY YOU, COMMANDER OF SCDF?
SCDF SHOULD GO CHECK SMRT FOR ‘SAFETY VIOLATION’, THEN SHUT SMRT DOWN FOR 2 DAY, IF THEIR IS SERIOUS SAFETY VIOLATION.
WHY THE RECENT ANNOUNCEMENTS NOT TO LEAN ON MRT TRAIN DOORS?
IS SMRT AFRAID THAT THE OVERLOADED TRAIN DOORS MIGHT OPEN IN TRANSIT?
IF YES, THEN SCDF BETTER GO CHECK ON THEM BEFORE COMMUTERS FALL OFF TRAINS.
REMEMBER THE TIMES WHEN SMRT STATION PLATFORMS CCTV WERE NOT RECORDED.
N NO ONE HAS ANY IDEA WHEN AN ACCIDENT HAPPENS ON SMRT TRAIN PLATFORM.
GUESS THEY NEVER LEARN, THATS WHY NO CCTV RECORDING OF THAT SECURITY BREACH AT SMRT DEPOT
These people would understand about security.
oh oh…………..by looking at the picture, already fainted. so many people.
As Chinese did said, you feed the soldiers for thousand days you use in need time.
Since we need the more secure of mrt stations, why don’t they activate the soldiers service, this will also let the soldiers have a chance to show their talents as a soldier and play their part to their hard work training.
Allien, 8 July 2010
citizen soldiers are already patrolling the airports, but to put soldiers at every train station is a huge logistical nightmare, not to mention the cost of it.
doing so is also unfair to taxpayers. such practice may open the flood gates for other private, profit driven companies to pass the buck onto taxpayers to shoulder the cost of security.
hotels & retail malls are highly likely to use the very same excuse not to hire their own guards & tap onto SAF’s manpower. next maybe even the 2 IRs if private companies have it their way, all for securities sake.
no countries’ military personnel should being guarding private entities unless they are considered vital installations (eg. Jurong Island). they serve the country, not private companies.
It is clear that SMRT is showing a cannot-be-bothered attitude to commuters’ woes. No point ranting – I will feel very depressed if I read all the comments…
Please, remind yourself that singaporean are to be seen as a ‘product’ , its only a matter of transporting a ‘product’ from point A to point B, and in the process generate money.
She did not missing anything excepting intelligence lah. She is being clever lah (aka cunning).
Act blur and hide in her ivory tower and only think how much she can please the shareholders and to elaborate more is redundancy.
PS – If it was a bomb instead of grafitti – it would not surprise me if she still gets to keep her job.
Oh we are products eh…! that means we don’t have Human’s Right lor…! No wonder we seem so low graded la…!
@Fugazzi, sure she’ll still get to keep her job as those who have already “indemnified” are:
CASE NO. 1. Law Minister and 2nd Minister of MHA. He said MRT depots are classified as “Protected Place” by PAP government. But because SMRT is a private company. it is their responsibility to ensure safety for it. And he even missed about safety beyond that Changi Depot had a BOMB been planted under a carriage! Either NO NO anything and stupid never check up first then talk. Or selectively think like what his “mentor” said “WE are daft”! Indeed we are in cyberspace are we not? Laughable like HC or not?
CASE No. 2 Famous one WKS DPM & MHA Minister also said after Shanm that government cannot what? Be responsible for all security. Indeed Mr. Wong! But have you been given our “daft” professional onions and queries? In fact there are enough of us pros out here to sit down in INQUIRIES to literally GRILL you and your MHA 2nd minister too till your jaw get stuck! You are also laughable like HC or not?
CASE No. 3 PROFESSOR Jayakumar and ex-Law Minister who is now the “National Security” Minister in PMO! He said nothing. And so his silence is consent of the CASE Nos. 1 & 2?
CASE No. 4. PM himself. What gravity in son=me kind of “admission” has he made of it? As he didn’t even “spot” the illogical press releases of Case Nos. 1 & 2! SAFETY of ALL public
INCLUDING FTs and FWs and foreign everybody else plus Tourists too WERE ALL “Put at Risk” or not? Laughable like HC or not too?
Anymore “else” to be added anyone?
Remember why public was privatised in the first place? It was supposed to improve the service level as shamelessly claimed by the Papigs.
So this is the ‘improvement’ that we can see. And by giving monopolies to the GLCs(Greedy lacking complacent), now this is the standard of the so called ‘first world’ transport system.
Denial Tan, 10 July 2010
yeah, now that you mention. maybe what they meant by improving the service level is “squeezing people till the last drop” to the maximum?
the masses serving the ruling elites? like North Korea?
they want you to smile, smile (the land of a million smiles?).
they want you to work till drop dead (dun provide social security), work post retirement.
they want you to up GDP, bring in foreigners to compete, reduce salaries (be “competitive?”), reduce workers rights vis-a-vis 1st world standards. dun legislate but provide only guidelines on fair employment.
Fugazzi 9 July 2010
She did not missing anything excepting intelligence lah. She is being clever lah (aka cunning).
PS – If it was a bomb instead of grafitti – it would not surprise me if she still gets to keep her job.
…………………..
remembered the illfated SQ6 in taiwan when it crashed into the WRONG tarmac durin a heavy rainstorm killin so many sinaporeans?
the 1st thinggie is the taiwan airport minister lady resigned in shamed..
durin the heavy rainfall she wasn’t even in the control tower..she was @ home makin baby with her humsome hubby…
THATS IS THE DIFFERNCES between us and the world ministers….
CEO in Singapore’s PAP government own and related organizations are in line with LKY’s only “mentoring” principle philosophy of “If you don’t have business you can’t doing anything”. This was made at his Pinnacle visit. As he didn’t mention “goal-posts” as usual, he must then obviously broadly meant:
C = Chief Capitalist
E = Executive for profits
O = Officer for more profits
So, the only criteria for a “CEO” (Any chiefs in govt too) to be sacked or told to resign will only be when they make any loss(es) that LKY & son deem “unacceptable”.
The removal of Wong Pak Shiong from MAS long ago because he lost on gold investments though he made good overall for MAS was the first and finest case and example of this LKY tenet.
Thus any “CEO” of any type and level up to “Minister” knows full well what’s expected of them. But of course there are exceptions with “exceptional talents” in keeping nevertheless. If this is not totalitarianism what is?
Since The Oxford defines it as:
“of regime permitting no rival loyalties or parties”.
And this was made absolutely clear in 1956:
“Repression, Sir is a habit that grows. I am told it is like making love – it is always easier the second time! The first time there may be pangs of conscience, a sense of guilt. But once embarked on this course with constant repetition you get more and more brazen in the attack. All you have to do is to dissolve organizations and societies and banish and detain the key political workers in these societies. Then miraculously everything is tranquil on the surface. Then an intimidated press and the government-controlled radio together can regularly sing your praises, and slowly and steadily the people are made to forget the evil things that have already been done, or if these things are referred to again they’re conveniently distorted and distorted with impunity, because there will be no opposition to contradict.” – Lee Kuan Yew as an opposition PAP member speaking to David Marshall, Singapore Legislative Assembly, Debates, 4 October 1956
Former US President G. Bush spoke of regime change and took Saddam Hussein’s life by hanging in 2 other countries. That’s from the President of a Capitalist & Democratic Nation that believes in the sanctity and value of human lives. But Bush had turned down 3 requests to repel The Death Penalty as Governor of Texas before he became US President. Yet US citizen like most elsewhere with very short memories and holistic values disconnect, voted Bush in a 2nd time around just because of 911! I was appalled and told my Singaporean friends turned US citizens who voted for Bush twice!
The “short-circuit” or “open-circuit” mentality of ordinary people to fail to CONTRAST after comparisons is most appalling. Many don’t even compare sensibly! So how to expect sense and sensibility? As this is the seed of COMMON SENSE! Which is less and less common in our technological and “logic” age of gadgets and more “gadgets” of the minds!
Knowing this LKY-PAP mentality, how “wise” can we expect of them whose fundamentalism is wired for EXPEDIENCE for “pragmatic profits of any kind”. Somethings have got to then “give” way. And what’s sacrificed here for the last 25 years under Lee only, is:
- Righteousness,
- Honour for every PRECIOUS human Life WITHOUT compromise
- Justice without ambiquous and arbitrary preemptive conditions (E.G. The Mandatory Death Penalty for drug trafficking)
So how do CEO’s not fouled up concern prevention of Security Lapses and Intrusions that CAN result in the lost of MANY lives and property then not “be let off”, since this is so right at the very top? Except of course those who do not “walk the line” of totalitarianism for the “public eye”?
Ms Saw must be belonging to the Royal Familee of Singapore. No wonder she has lost touch with the ground sentiment. Wonder is it worth paying her so much in salaries.
rockabyebaby
So, the only criteria for a “CEO” (Any chiefs in govt too) to be sacked or told to resign will only be when they make any loss(es) that LKY & son deem “unacceptable”.
The removal of Wong Pak Shiong from MAS long ago because he lost on gold investments though he made good overall for MAS was the first and finest case and example of this LKY tenet.
………………….
in the earLEE days of politics..when the good transport minister miscalculate his park and ride scheme costin a fortune loss of $3million$( yes durin gohkengswee eras as well).. the minister was demoted and become ambassador to britain….
no further discussion required…
today? even if a bomb were to go off in the smrt…wongcantsink/saw would still retained their pays/positions…
last week there was a local writeups on hoching who is still RELATED to the prime minister/mental minister…
accordin to singapoor standard..hoching is irreplaceable..nobody come closed…
In today’s paper, PM Lee propose to bring in more foreigners to support the booming economy, in excess of thousands. Man, can we slow down aittle ? This place is over crowded!!!
We need quality of life as key KPI for our ministers . Build more workers hostels in nassim road…..
It’s not easy to channel our comments up to the government authorities. Hopefully they can “accidently” open this web-site and make comments on all our issues too.
It seems to me these days.. its all about making the most money in the shortest possible time.
For Ms. Saw, to pack commuters like sardines in the SMMRT would exactly make her an outstanding performer in that aspect.
And anyway, she and the rest of them do not take public transport… therefore i think we are asking too much from them to understand what we are trying to put across.
there is no longer empathy… only pay and pay!
This foolish government has planned too far into the future.
SG is too small for such large MRT project. In times to come when the PRs and FT leave SG the MRT will be destined for scrapes.
Maintenance costs of the present MRT infrastructures and coaches are very high, and this has not been disclosed to the public and the shareholders.
i think time to end the metro monopoly of smrt. split it up to 2 companies or 3 and let them fight it out.
What basic qualifications are required for one to run the SMRT as CEO or to head or be qualified to make up the team of experts of the COI to investigate, report and make recommendations on the MRT’s breakdowns and failures?
What should be done and what SOPs must be put in place? Some posters believe that only those eminently qualified are in a position to make comments on such
matters or make suggestions. And those who don’t, should keep quiet. Do
you agree?
I don’t, and I wish
to make the following suggestions for revised SOPs, with approval by
Minister Lui, to be put in place for our MRT operations:
a] breakdowns must be announced within 15 minutes;.
b] there must be announcement on the public address system in the stranded trains and in the MRT stations There should be wireless connections to broadcast announcements across
the public address system in stranded trains in the tunnels and MRT
stations in times of emergency to calm down nerves. There should be
two way communication system between the station master office/central
office and the driver and/or the commuters in the stranded trains/MRT
station by using wireless system. Using land lines might not work when
the land lines are destroyed or damaged.
In addition, updates announcement should also be made available on the Internet and the affected commuters, and their families, etc., are advised the www link for them to access.
c] automatic emergency lights and fresh airflow must be switched on
within 5 minutes in stranded trains, tunnels, and in MRT stations when
the main system is shut down due to failures;.
d] there must be
oxygen supply and masks [available in the train driver's cabin/train
master's station for those who need it in stranded trains/ MRT stations.
e] battery operated torch lights must be made available too in stranded trains, MRT stations, and tunnels in the event electrical wiring are damaged or destroyed.
f] the trains must have its own-onboard power to move the stalled train
to the nearest MRT station within half an hour of any breakdown.
g] if the onboard power fails, then the nearest MRT station must have a
light-weight motor-powered recovery vehicle [light to be placed on the
track at the MRT station] to be despatched to pull the stranded train to
the nearest train station within half an hour. If LTA/SMRT do not know
what this light-weight machine is about, please appoint A*Star and.
Singapore Technologies [ST] to help them design and provide them with
such a recovery vehicle.