Andrew Loh

On 23 April this year, I wrote an article entitled, “Have we lost our ability to appreciate?” It was a reflective piece questioning if we are able to appreciate the good things which Singapore offers. One of these things which I mentioned was the Youth Olympic Games (YOG). In that article, I said: “The Youth Olympics, which will take place from the 14th to 26th August this year, is another thing we can and should be proud of. And I commend the MCYS team, especially Mr Teo Ser Luck, for successfully winning the bid to bring the games here.”

It’s been three months since I wrote the piece – and many things have gone wrong with the YOG which makes me no longer proud of it. Let me explain my change of heart.

The first instance was when the Straits Times reported the “Give way to YOG vehicle” scheme. “The ruling, which will come into effect during the Youth Olympic Lane validity period between August 5-26, could see motorists face a $130 fine should they fail to give way.”

The ruling riled motorists, especially that they could be fined if they did not give way to these vehicles.

The second instance was Minister for Community, Youth and Sports (MCYS) criticizing Singaporeans for the lukewarm attitude towards the Games and in particular foreign-born sportsmen representing Singapore. The Straits Times, on 23 June, reported the minister, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan thus:

“Dr Balakrishnan referred to those who view Singapore’s foreign-born athletes as ‘less of a Singaporean, or less of a champion’, as ’small-minded’, ‘unfair’ and ‘very, very selfish’.

‘To deny them the right to call themselves Singaporean is very, very selfish. It’s very unsportsmanlike… They have made great sacrifices to be here,’ he added.”

Then came the tickets farce. First, it was initially reported in May that there were 320,000 tickets up for sale. In July the number inexplicably became 245,000. No explanation of what had happened to 75,000 of these tickets.

Following that, it was trumpeted by the Straits Times that the “YOG tickets [were] selling fast”. “If you want tickets to catch the Youth Olympic Games, you will have to act fast,” the paper said. “Tickets sales to the first Youth Olympic Games have been brisk, with more than 100,000, or close to 50 per cent of tickets, having sold out.”

As it turned out, 80,000 of those 100,000 tickets sold were bought by the Ministry of Education.

In essence, only 20,000 – or some 6 per cent – of the tickets have been bought by the public. A very dismal figure indeed. And to add to the farce, the MOE refuses to disclose how much it paid for the tickets. In the end, as reported by the press, students may end up paying for these tickets.

And speaking of students. Besides being asked to volunteer their time and energy for the Games, they’re also asked to “test” the operational readiness of the Games Village. But here’s the catch. Although the students are used to “test” the Village for the organizers, these same students are made to pay for the one-night stay – to the tune of S$188 per student. 1,000 students are being used as guinea pigs, as it were, to make sure the Village runs smoothly when the athletes arrive.

Obviously, our state-controlled media was trying to put a brave-faced spin on things, but alas, more was to come.

And it came in the form of a budget over-run. Initially the budget for the YOG was S$104 million. In July, it was revealed that it had ballooned to S$387 million. The permanent secretary of the MCYS tried to explain that “the benefits will still continue to outweigh the increased cost.” “Besides $260 million (or 70 per cent of the budget) worth of contracts that has been awarded to local companies, the YOG is also expected to attract about 40,000 foreign visitors, generating a $57 million boom in tourism receipts,” the Straits Times reported.

The question which went unasked and unanswered was: Where did the increase of S$283 million going to come from? In the Budget for 2010, MCYS was allocated some S$1.97 billion. And out of this, S$104 million was for the YOG and the rest for all the other programmes under MCYS’s purview.

Now that the MCYS has to allocate an extra S$283 million to the YOG presumably from its allocated budget for 2010, how will this affect the funding for other areas, such as Comcare (which is for the needy and the poor) and the People’s Association and other areas?

The minister has not addressed these. Neither have the mainstream media asked him about this.

And then there is that cringe-worthy promotional video, featuring local celebrity JJ Lin. It’s been panned by just about everyone who’s seen the clip. Indeed, the artificiality of the video comes across loud and clear and instead of getting Singaporeans excited about the YOG, it has made many embarrassed that it’s being shown on national tv.

Finally, there’s that online poll by Channelnewsasia. As of the time of this writing, 90 per cent (some 3,500) of voters say they were “not interested at all’ in catching any of the games during the YOG.

The YOG has become a litany of screw-ups, one after another. From its Public Relations effort, to the promotional video, from its allocated budget to the pathetic sales of the tickets.

And so, no, I am no longer proud of the YOG.

It has become a total farce and a national embarrassment.

The minister in charge should be held accountable for the utterly horrendous organization of it.

Will he be held responsible and accountable? From recent experience with the floods, the Changi Depot security breach, Mas Selamat’s escape, this seems unlikely.

On the contrary, the local media will undoubtedly bury its head in the sand and continue to trumpet the “success” of the YOG – even as the total lack of enthusiasm among Singaporeans is palpable. In the end, we are made to live with this national embarrassment and a minister who has proved himself to be inept.

He couldn’t even get the planned Sports Hub deal done. The S$1.87 billion project at Kallang will only see the light of day in 2013 – a delay from the initial target of 2011.

And oh, it too has overshot its projected cost – from S$1.2 billion in 2008 (CNA) to S$1.87 billion in 2009 (Straits Times).

———-

Cartoon from My Sketchbook.

1. Million-dollar salaries but monumental screw-ups
  2. Singapore Government screw-ups
  3. YOG – another farce?
  4. Students to pay for YOG Village “readiness test”?
  5. YOG: NSmen become spectators?

If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. We thank you for your kind assistance. (All donors' information will be kept confidential)

88 Responses to “YOG – a litany of screw-ups”

1. New Era 1 August 2010

SINGAPORE – Two of sport’s biggest names will not be in Singapore for the inaugural Youth Olympic Games.

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) told MediaCorp on Friday that swimming superstar Michael Phelps and track phenomenon Usain Bolt (picture) are unable to attend the Games.

Along with Olympic pole vault champion Yelena Isinbayeva, the pair were appointed Games’ ambassadors by the IOC for more than 3,600 young athletes from the 205 National Olympic Committees that will compete in Singapore from Aug 14 to 26.

“We just heard from Michael and Usain, and they will not be able to join us in Singapore because of their competition schedules,” IOC media relations co-ordinator Nimtaz-Tanya Noordin said.

http://www.todayonline.com/Sports/EDC100731-0000092/Swim-sensation-Phelps-and-lightning-Bolt-will-miss-Youth-Olympics

The YOG must be quite pathetic if even its ambassadors don’t feel it worth their while to attend.

2. Iihsah 1 August 2010

There’s even a countdown to YOG. Lol if we screw up I don’t ever think there would be a YOG anymore in the world.

3. experience senior old guard 1 August 2010

I tell you all lah, I see what you all write here I also can feel sad! Totally & finally & wholly shame yourself & shame your country! YOG for who? All for you all! Think gov so free nothing do, waste so many money come do YOG for fun har? Seow! Joe, YOG can bring how many jobs & money for us you all know or not? Seow! Typical young punks ungratefull & only just know how criticise your owm good gov! Seow!

4. mice is nice 1 August 2010

experience senior old guard, 1 August 2010

once YOG is over what long term jobs does it bring? can YOG even break even? SGD$300+ million spent…

good govt know how to keep a close watch on budget, not spend like no tomo. i think very soon the CPF social safety net will vanish into thin air.

5. CrazyBum 2 August 2010

“Joe, YOG can bring how many jobs & money for us you all know or not?”

How many?

6. Singapore is bringing a pro Aussie Pole Dancer from Kings Cross (Red Light District) Sydney to choreograph the opening ceremony…at our taxpayers expense.
    She was surprised to be engaged by Singapore to promote pole dancing for the first time on an international level for a world sporting event like YOG.

7. Who got such good lobang to engage a pro pole dancer from kings cross so far away?

Whose idea was that?

He must be a regular at Kings Cross. Interesting to know.

8. LIONS ROAR 2 August 2010

The YOG is fast becoming the YOUTH OLYMPIC GAGS.
    what with condoms and strip-teased dancers crawling on poles?
    Maybe,there will be a trophy for the official who bed the most youths at the YOG?
    This govt is desperately thinking of ways to be the WORLD’S FIRST and who knows there be may some glaring incidents that will make world news’ headlines?

9. i, for one, will not be interested or supportive of the YOG in Singapore. Not because i do not believe in the cause of olympics, not because i do not like sports, not because i do not welcome foreign atheletes, etc, etc.

I will not support YOG in Singapore simply because i have no stomach to watch PAP deluding others and themselves on organising a successful event even though it is obvious it was a story of cock ups one after another.

So suck it, teo s l and Vivian

10. SidneyDelphy 2 August 2010

@joe

Yup! no matter how cock up the events.. the media will tell: it was successful and well organised. why??

Becoz the media speaks like PAP’s mouth. it seems that most of the tickets are bought by themselves.

Sorrie but i belongs to the 90% who are n not interested at all about YOG. =)

11. Iihsah 2 August 2010

Yea… And I’m v sure all the seats will b filled up at YOG. Y? The government will make the army and MOE to attend

12. mice is nice 2 August 2010

support spectator sports or up GDP? PAP, choose 1!

everything also want? be realistic, some things gotta give. understand or not?

13. Jackson 2 August 2010

PAP organise YOG for themselves right? Not my business. Don’t even bother about this YOG event.

14. Yourworstnightmare 3 August 2010

Yes while $387 million surely seems wasteful of taxpayers money, it is in fact beside the point mourning about this loss (as well as past losses from GIC). Why? Even if our government have gazillions in budget do you think they will use any of that that to actually help improve the lives of Singapore people? They never did that. Every policy only benefits the elites. Not only that our quality of lives actually gotten much worse.
    So why are Singaporeans always crying about the millions wasted? You aren’t entitled to any of it in the first place.

15. Goondo 3 August 2010

Have a few friends from overseas last week. Mainly Thailand, Vietnam, UK, China and Taiwan. I was surprised that they knew very little if not nothing about the YOG we are hosting. Apparently, there is minimum news and advertisement about the event in their countries. So, is it money well spent? Be your own judge.

16. Brainless 3 August 2010

Aiyo,

Which minister will stand up and say it is a failure.

Look at the flood. They will say it is Act of God.

YOG failure. They will say it is the Act of Singaporean.

They are perfect people. They don’t make mistake.

The only way out, is People’s Power. Vote them out.

And we will know the truth and we will also know where all the funding goes too. Also those monthly funding for HDB maintenance also.

17. Bemused 5 August 2010

met a friend who is working for YOG. Poor chap was making the rounds at 11pm at various venues to check on set-up etc.

Amongst his woes of how cock-up the entire operations is, is how PICO is screwing up the fabrication of those purple directional boards you see dotted around the island these days. And I quote:

“Seems like they can’t get it done properly and on time, then we have to do it ourselves.”

Now wonder budget can triple the original estimate if the jobs were awarded to incompetent vendors in the first place!

18. ollo-man 7 August 2010

Anything the PAP_shitters do we won’t support. Why? Because they think they are damned smart and that we are stupid -that’s why they are deaf to any of our feedbacks.Guess they will be punished by Heaven again…some cock-ups during this YOG!!

19. mice is nice 7 August 2010

it did rain when the YOG team was at Toa Payoh.

=P

20. iamaYOGgladiator 7 August 2010

mice is nice 7 August 2010
    it did rain when the YOG team was at Toa Payoh.

so what did the yog team do?
    splint a 100m race with an umbrella?

21. mice is nice 8 August 2010

iamaYOGgladiator, 7 August 2010

saw some wear poncho waiting for the flame to arrive at CHIJ Toa Payoh, but those running, run despite the rain, no welfare.

i guess with TV & news crew around, the show must go on? just like the ruling elites, typical of people who do not plan for incliment weather- no back-up plan.

22. nice mice,

I’m afraid you have to excuse them.
    How to plan when rain is a 50 year
    once phenomenon?

23. theforgottongeneration 10 August 2010

@Gspot
    No lah, to show Singaporeans can work under sun or rain, mah. Also can survive more than 10 days in jungle without change of underwears. We where got choosy with jobs?
    PS. stupid idiots running around holding essentially a lightning rod in their hands. Wear poncho also will get fried.

24. Frozen Artic 11 August 2010

We only promote the event in SIngapore not in other countries.

This year Singapore should not have bid for it. too many events clashing. World Cup, Commonwealth Games , World Youth championship in Hawali. Why must always be the first?!!. I rather Singapore bid for Asian games. It will be better

25. Minor minor point, but I wish Singaporeans will stop saying ‘national TV’. Americans use ‘national TV’ to differentiate it from ‘local TV’. In Singapore, we only have local TV, with all its attendant parochialism. So please.

26. Randomguy 15 August 2010

You guys gripe about the government but do you guys honestly see a worthy alternative to the PAP? if you ask me, I personally see any yet. and you are forgetting everything that the government has done for Singapore. Sure there are some bad things, but there equally are good things as well. To condemn the government simply on the YOG is being very narrow-minded and shallow.

Furthermore, the budget overruns are typical of any big events. Look at the London 2012 olympics and the 2010 Vancouver winter olympics. Common sense should tell you that with the economy always fluctuating, prices are never constant. Then comes the inherent difficulty of organizing an event on this scale, particularly when it seems to be our first time.

27. singaporean 15 August 2010

I agree with Randomguy.

Personally, even though I think YOG is a great thing and I am proud that Singapore is the first to to host it, I can see why others don’t feel that way. However, in YOG itself, there are merits. If we stop picking on the bad points, you would have seen some good things.

Also currently for my school, we don’t need to buy the tickets, and there are even some sports games that have been really popular, that many people were left disappointed because they couldn’t get the tickets.

What I’m saying is that yes the YOG may not be perfect, but please give it some time before we judge the whole thing. Remember, Singapore is ultimately still a very very very small country, we should be proud that we can actually host it.

28. Are you guys even singpoareans or not? Disgrace only. Own country got privellage organize this huge event yet you’re criticising so much of your country. Throw face.

29. YOG – FLOP OF THE YEAR.

30. grifter 20 August 2010

Sw – we’re not criticising our country, but rather how the event was organised. true, with such a huge event, there are bound to be a couple of screw ups, but the scale and the number of screw ups are not befitting of a first world nation.

To differentiate the many points brought up by various pple, I see a couple of valid points:

1. Dissatisfaction with how money is spent on the event.
    a)$387,000,000,000 on one event. Arguements are, money can be better spent on other things, social welfare, hospitals, providing legal aid, etc.
    b) no accountability on how the project costs of $104 million shot up more than 3 times to $387 million

2. Dissatisfaction with how local media try to portray the “success” of the event, and minister comments about Singaporeans being “very, very selfish”.

3. Dissatisfaction with the organisation of the event itself, bad organisation, maggots in the food, etc

4. Unhappy with the fact that the citizen has absolutely NO say in whether or not the event should be held, a disconnection between what the govt wants and what the citizens want. (I.e. the thinking that if the govt throws money at an event, pple will have no choice but to support it)

5. Unhappy with bus lanes specially designated for the YOG buses, fines imposed, and aggressive, dangerous driving by certain YOG bus drivers.

6. Dissatisfaction that the event seems to be for the benefit of non-Singaporeans, rather than Singaporeans. Recent poll indicating that 90% of Singaporeans can’t be bothered about the event at all should send a clear indication about the support and the impact of the event.

I’m not saying I agree with all the points, but merely classifying them. Though personally I’m not interested in sports, but that’s a personal reason. But then again, I bet many pple aren’t interested in sports either, aside form soccer.

31. The main argument here is their gargantuan pay vs the screwups. Yes, screwups will occur no matter which country/city hosts
    such an event. But any other country/city does not pay their garment such ridiculous salaries. So how can they claim to be like any other country/city in screwing up and yet are so totally different from every other country/city in the size of their pay? There is absolutely no justifying or equating one with the other.

A while ago, someone got to the crux of the issue when he said that the garment has put itself on such a high pedestal, pay-wise and otherwise, that anything they do will not measure up to their lofty perch. More so screwups.

32. don’t worry… “YOG only going to get bigger and better…” (The Straits Times, 26 Aug 2010) Perhaps it’s because it will be organized and held elsewhere?

33. Next YOG will be held in China. Does anyone disagree that it will be grander, better, more spectacular and more successful that the pitiable one just completed? They may even do it cheaper 2!

Leave a Reply

-->
theonlinecitizen on Facebook