According to the Straits Times, “The budget for the inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG) has surpassed original estimates of US$75 million ($104 million) by more than three times. The projected government spending for the 13-day Games in August will now be approximately $387 million.”
In the Budget for 2010, the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports, which is helmed by Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, was allocated a total of S$1.97 billion. Its Budget statement says: “A sum of $160.64 million is allocated for the operating expenditure of the Youth Programme, which constitutes an increase of $84.45 million or 110.9% over the revised FY2009 expenditure. The increase is mainly due to the projected preparation and operating cost for YOG in August 2010.”
In contrast to the S$387 million for the YOG, a “sum of $92.39 million is allocated to the ComCare and Social Support Programme… [which] constitutes an increase of $2.64 million or 2.9% over the revised FY2009 expenditure. The increase is mainly attributed to a projected increase in the number of needy families affected by the economic downturn, who sought financial assistance.”
The budget for the Social Service Sector Planning Programme received S$83.02 million. The SSSPP caters to, among others, dysfunctional families and funding to voluntary welfare organizations.
In 2007, in announcing the increase in Goods and Services Tax from 5 per cent to 7 per cent, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said that this was “to help the poor”. He also said:
“Is it better to take your medicine sooner or stretch it out? Take medicine once or two times? I prefer to take my medicine early, why? This is something we need to do, once we have done it, we can move on…”
S$387 million for YOG.
S$92.39 million for the needy.
S$83.02 million for families and VWOs.
What are your thoughts on this?
—————–
[Be a TOC fan on our Facebook page.]
—————–

Click to enlarge. Cartoon by Joshua Chiang.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Once again, the PAP spares no expense in making FOREIGNERS feel good.
Wai Leong
You do have a point about the potential income the YOG can generate but you forgot that this income is NOT necessarily to be distributed back to taxpayers. Even if it is a gain, it is NOT taxpayers gain. Many things are like that in SG. Taxpayers money is used to build infrastructure or set up businesses, but no one has ever directly benefitted from the gain of these businesses. So same goes for YOG. This is why I think TOC has done a good job for taxpyers by reporting it like this.
It was carefully budgeted never listen and never ask suggestion from singaporeans but dont blame us WE are not clever but YOG supposed to be more clever
$387 million is alot of money please tell us which area was money spend
“Despite the increase, both MCYS and Syogoc said there was no cause for alarm.
The extra $265 million required … will be borne by the MCYS and Ministry of Finance.”
The way they talk, as if the $265 million is small change and is their money and not tax payers money.
No apologies whatsoever and blame the screwed up initial estimate.
> DISGUSTING PAP MENTALITY on spending PUBLIC FUNDS (ie the hard-earned monies of S’pore Taxpayer-Voters):
“WHY WORRY? The money required comes from Singapore taxpayers — and not from our million-dollar salaries !!!”
> Hence, PAP = PEE And POO
(definitely as DISGUSTING as smelly urine[pee] and stinky shit[poo])
So much spent on YOG. Can make back or not. How much was invested on the China Nationals.
Phew.
I rather build more bird parks so that more species can be save.
Voters still don’t wake up.. Sigh….
We will just bleed more money for their pride. Who in the world is going to watch the YOG ? None of the international press even give it any publicity.
Absolutely right: no accountability.
Vote Wisely Please.
Wai Leong,
While “the $387M is not the final number, because revenues (from ticket sales, endorsements, sponsorship, TV rights, etc) should be taken into account”, the massive cost overun will defintedly eat into the revenue that was originaly projected. In any case, any government that is accountable to the people must explain clearly and justify the added expenditure that runs into hundreds of millions. I can’t believe anyone or any organiztion can just open the chequebook without batting an eyelid and asking hard questions (except maybe Ho Ching and some of our ministers).
Still waiting for our new national stadium to be build. How much does it cost? Why not just open up the chequebook? No questions needed since it is meant “for us for us to enjoy for many years”. Why are we still waiting for the consortium to raise money for the project?
not forgetting to mention the millions in MCDS’s budget which went into paying the salaries of…
Oh Yeah! Oh Yeah! Oh Yeah! Ho.Oh Yeah! Oh Yeah! Oh Yeah! Ho. C’mon give up your money Singapore. We need all the cash you can spare. The budget is 3 times more, so please support YOG if you care.
Oh Yeah! Oh Yeah! Oh Yeah! Ho.Oh Yeah! Oh Yeah! Oh Yeah! Ho.
Vivian and Ser Luck should do the right thing by resigning!!!
There was this guy Teo Ser Luck as well right and VB who are in charge and Sleepy Teo.
Maybe PAP wants to use this event to promote themselves for the GE lah.
Anyway, its way too much money, they over-shot the budget like 3 times…man.
What idiots, anyway the rights and tickets sales and whatever income will have to go to the IOC. Then they will pay Singapore accordingly a certain percentage.
What TV coverage are you talking about, please stop kidding me….that part you can never make money. Nobody buys except snippets for pittance or free.
These guys are blinking bloody fools..which clearly shows that they have no experience in Sports Management nor Marketing.
I run an International Sports Company, organising sports events around the world. Their inexperience and ideas to deal with such people is clear for all to see.
Too bad for Singapore and Singaporeans.
The way things are going,
This must be for the GE.
they know they will lose the coming GE. so they spend in all ways they can singaporeans money and make situation worst and hand out to opposition to settle it. when they can’t settle it them pap will say.
see….opposition is not good as we do.
so next GE please vote wisely this is a vote for you life singaporeans don’t play with it. serious
can we have some more budget give away? say about $500 for each singaporeans?
since they can spend 387 millions then a little more give away package should not be a problem to help the needy to pay bills.
anyway they give we pay bills they have it back right? so can government please do the hand out of this package sooner? vivian balakrishnan can you be part of this hand out of package for us singaporeans since you can triple the YOG why not us right? hear from you soon.
toc please highlight to them about this package give away. thanks
give us package coz there will be a returned. don’t bull us singaporeans there is no returned.
we pay for gst,taxes and bills with gst, house and more. so the government earn constantly every month millions and billions from us, so what is it hard to give package more then $500 every 3month or 6months? when they can spend millions after millions in just a few days and lost after lost in each of their games.
did they bet millions too in world cup?
can vb tell us if so. and how many billions did he bet in world cup using singaporeans money? which country he bet?
if win do we get some token? if lose no need to say. bill go up everything go up.
haiz……sinkapor kena kapor never ending
all i can say is they make things more worst as the GE is around the corner.
wish them good luck. they cartoon picture above i felt like laughing out loud.
bala can give away millions to others but not to poor singaporeans. this is not what this world is about.
god have seen enough i guess. so 2012 will be the final GE. and we all can say good bye to this world. it has been said in the bible and quran and will happen something big. something human never ever predict would happen. for those non believer can wait to see. this have to happen because not only singapore government but alot have been corrupted for their pleasure and luxury while leaving the poor to suffer
brilliant. it’s been a year of gross incompetence in all departments.what’s next pap?
lost in temasek,lost in gic, flood in orchard just a fresh issue and this bala spend 387millions not fix yet more to go.
well done pap well done…..
see all the pap in the next GE to come.
here is where lees buried their head deep in to void media talks. so bala become the clown to divert the attention while the old man and his son do their monkey business to fox the GE. we are no fools
@zero, 7 July 2010
“….So here is a template which is probably already in some govt ghost writer’s pc already…..”
You’re right, they most likely have contingency plans including a Fail Statement should the event turns out to be ‘below expectations’. But doubt the language will be same as your version, though yours is a good writeup. Cheers (to Germany, that is, tonite. Screw Spain & the octopus).
@Wai Leong, 7 July 2010
“….In any democratic society, people should be in close touch with their democratically elected representatives,….. …. People do not feel any connection to their elected representatives, …”
I will not argue with you on the concept of democracy since 44% of eligible voters did not get to vote in 2006. Only 34% voted for the ruling party which then gets 98% representation in Parliament. How to compare with US, Britain, etc…? About 65% of eligible voters did not physically vote for their current un-democratically “elected representative(s)” in parliament, so how to feel connection with them? You think boy grabs any girl from the streets and girl will automatically like boy, huh? Maybe they think gunshot marriage works – like they bring in many FTs, so S’poreans must like FTs.
But since you also don’t think highly of the YOG, then show us what you preached. Write to your MP or VB telling them your feelings and then share with us their reply. I am Monkey see, monkey do, OK? I am sure Animallover would love to see your success in dealing with them – kudos for sharing his/her long otherwise experiences.
According to the Straits Times, “The budget for the inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG) has surpassed original estimates of US$75 million ($104 million) by more than three times. The projected government spending for the 13-day Games in August will now be approximately $387 million.
can we have 13 days proper meals and baby diapers and milk delivered to us poor singaporeans? need not say much
Anyway, according to the ST article, there are 245,000 tickets selling at $10-30 – so at most $5m gate takings. The balance $380+m for breakeven must then be from endorsements, viewing rights, etc… Good luck.
can we have 13 days proper meals and baby diapers and milk delivered to us poor singaporeans? need not say much
Well to look at things objectively, BBC aired the views of this South African who believed that the huge amounts of money put into the World Cup was ridiculous considering the fact that there were children who were unable to go to school…houses without water etc.
To be frank, I haven’t really gotten a stance on this issue. Yes, the World Cup does bring its benefits much as the SYOG should theoretically bring benefits to Singapore. But at the same time, it is ironic that more money is pooled into making everything fancy and nice when that money could be used to help the needy.
Though…overshooting the planned budget by 3 times seems to be mightily careless of them. Unless governments are always overshooting their budgets. Then why bother having a budget in the first place.
with such a bloated budget, why do they still need volunteers doing things for free?
YOG is an elite event, in a meritocratic country more $$ goes to the “deserving” lot…?
S’pore is spending too much on big name international events & neglecting her very own people?
elite uncaring face?
Bunch of thieves, bandits, charlatans, greedy-faced idiots, robbers of the poor, thug-in-chief.
from $104 million$ to a small figures of $387 million$ nia…siap siap suey lark..kechik kechik ayer…small small water..i am sured this over $283 million$ can be offset..just divide by ALL the minister$..includin that small nay nay saw of the smrt..all this minister$ don’t collect salaries nia..
what do you expect peasant$ liked us to do or a$$i$t..when we don’t even QUALIFIED to watch the F1 race lived or televised live on tv?
ello ministerS..if no money..don’t howlian..we the poor peasant$ hav no extra money..do you see us splashed on a 55″ led lcd tv…let alone drink kopi in starbuck$…
Please. Where has the money gone? Can we demand a full investigation? $26 million a day?
Where is Prata Man? Is’nt he supposed to approve the additional $283 million dollars first before it can be spent?
Previously, annual budget was also miscalculated by FM and from deficit, it turned to be surplus. Honest mistakes again and yet again.
IOC must be laughing its way to the bank coz we sucked ourselves to spend $387 million dollars on a youth friendly game which rest of the world is not showing any interest in. Hahaha
$103 to $387 millions, what’s new? SM revealed investments in Suzhou and Tianjin were based on guts feeling, no feasibilty study. Any wonder then why TM and GIC could have lost billions upon billions?
With the big increase in spending where does the money go to?
Do contracting companies stand to benefit?
Mr. LHL , you’ve a goondoo sports minister.
No Sweat, even ten times over budget. The government has amassed so much of citizens money in the form of taxes, etc, etc.
VB, need not tighten his ‘balls’ to dig in the coffer for national prestige like the YOG. Not his money anyway.
Young ministers have all the ‘F’ ideas for the fun but no compassion for the poor and destitute citizens and poor old senior folks. Bless them. VB and Ser Luck, just live it up on others’ effort !
The reason I refrain from writing on the onlinecitzen is, my writing is always moderated. ‘A pain in the arse’, so to speak. Andrew, E-Jay any explanation. Thanks.
the next time if I decided to write to onlinecitizen, I will use my actual name: patrick lee song juan (leesjuanpat)
It is reported that 70% of the bloated budget goes to contracting firm.
Guess who these contractors employ ? Yes, tonnes of foreign workers !
In the end, the money will be paid to these FWs and flow out of the country !
A couple of re-quotes to chew and re-chew over and leveraging on that underused grey matter in the head is applicable in this case:
If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or your arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen. By Samuel Adams.
It is a very great mistake to imagine that the object of loyalty is the authority and interest of one individual man, however dignified by the applause or enriched by the success of popular actions. By Samuel Adams.
Shame on the men who can court exemption from present trouble and expense at the price of their own posterity’s liberty! By Samuel Adams.
He who is void of virtuous attachments in private life is, or very soon will be, void of all regard for his country. There is seldom an instance of a man guilty of betraying his country, who had not before lost the feeling of moral obligations in his private connections. By Samuel Adams.
Good day good folks.
I believe the National Family Council, in charge raising the birth rate in Singapore, is also under MCYS, aka VB.
Our TFR is in a desperate situation (ST 23 June 2010, Marriages rates in decline, lovers tie knot later, page B5); despite wholesale importing of foreigners to make up the number, our TFR did NOT improve for past 10+ years – in fact it is still going south. Having Chinese girls win medals for us also did not see them producing babies for us.
Yet the NFC is a so quiet organisation. VB also never associates himself with the TFR issue. How much of MCYS budget is allocated to addressing the TFR? Is Singapore’s natural population sustainability and care for the needy much lower priorities than events like YOG? What is NFC’s current operating budget?
VB, pls speak up. You know when a gauntlet is thrown, right?
Talking about the MCYS minister,when he delayed the construction of the Sports Hup project,do you know what he said??
Quote ” I deliberately delayed the project, so that the Singapore taxpayers will not have to pay A SINGLE cent more than is necessary” unquote.
How magnanimous!! So much concerned for the poor Singapore taxpayers!!
Let’s wait and see how much he is going to save for the taxpayers when the project is completed!! This subject is to be high-lighted when the time is due!!
Coming back to this or shall I say HIS extravaganza of YOG,is this not a clear case of slapping his own face??
There, he is saying to save every single CENT, and here he is Splashing M$387 of
taxpayers’ money as if the money belongs to his grand father!!
This episode alone speaks volumns of what materials this guy is made of!!!
@sturmtruppen, 8 July 2010
Here’s a couple to add:
1. A general thoroughly instructed in theory of war, but not possessed of military coup d’oeil, coolness and skill, may make an excellent strategic plan and be entirely unable to apply the rules of tactics in presence of the enemy; his projects will not be successfully carried out, and his defeat will be probable.– Baron Henri de Jomini, Precis de l’Art de la Guerre, 1838.
2. A competeny leader can get efficient service from poor troops, while on the contrary an incapable leader can demoralize the best of troops.–Gen. of Armies John J. Pershing, My Experiences in World War, 1931.
3. Good soldiers are those that died (for me) at Stalingrad.–Adolf Hitler, circa 1942. (I need to check the exact wordings on this one).
@leesjuanpat-trick lee or patrick lee song juan, 8 July 2010
Thank you, nice to know someone is facing same problem. These guys seems trigger-happy on moderation (maybe for a few targetted writers). But just keep writing in; I figured sooner or later, they might slip and allow some of my comments thru. Just blow the steam, man, than keeping it inside oneself. Ha, Ha.
Hey, look 2 of mine just got paroled.
theforgottongeneration 8 July 2010 @sturmtruppen, 8 July 2010
Here’s a couple to add:
1. A general thoroughly instructed in theory of war, but not possessed of military coup d’oeil, coolness and skill, may make an excellent strategic plan and be entirely unable to apply the rules of tactics in presence of the enemy; his projects will not be successfully carried out, and his defeat will be probable
……………..
i will tell you what will happenned if dr balekampong become the defence minister…
he will show us his floorplan machiam machiam in 3D on a 55″ led lcd guranteed us the footsoldier a surewin victory…
so when we were diggin in alon eastcoastparkway bakin in the sun with our GSTRINGs and nurses in topless bikinis servin us coke while officers will be drinkin penischorloda in their aircon tents…
1 week later..dr balekampong will not be able to supply us ammos and our canteen food rations while the officers will still be tuckin in sushis from sushitakashimaya inc caterer services..
this is where we died corkstandin…
For crying out loud, all recent Olympic events have had their budgets blown way out of their original estimates and countries like Greece, Beijing and Sydney have incurred a loss from hosting these events. So what makes you knowitalls think SG’s YOG is soooo special that its going to be any different here? Besides even if the budget goes mostly to FW contractors, who else will do the job?…willing to let yr precious spoilt sons/daughters toil under the hot sun? Right!
Its so damn easy to just be a keyboard critic without looking the general picture. Bunch of whiners!
sweeayty 8 July 2010
For crying out loud, all recent Olympic events have had their budgets blown way out of their original estimates and countries like Greece, Beijing and Sydney have incurred a loss from hosting these events
Its so damn easy to just be a keyboard critic without looking the general picture. Bunch of whiners!
………………………
sure BALLs2U..greece/bejing/sydney have ministers salaries over $100,000/month mey?
so in your owned sweetongue..its still an honest mistakes..when you are homeless it also an honest mistakes what
VB is just another lost sheep lead by a pseudo shepherd who had lead them with having a real “shepherd’s staff”. Guess he pays them ultra high so that he can then use he’s foot to make his “sheep” go the way he perfectly wants them too!
Make sense to you guys?
sweeayty, 8 July 2010
if S’pore’s budget estimates were done by people drawing similiar salaries as those of the other countries you mention, then fair enough, but are they? the general picture is that of too loose a financial control for mega-events, too tight a control for domestic expenditure.
also, isn’t S’pore a “tight” ship, so often mentioned in the past by our dear leaders? so how can such a bloated budget be approved so easily?
many sons & daughters are toiling about hot sun or not, a survey will reveal how hard they have to save up for a roof (with little for others stuff) over their heads. don’t be too quick to dismiss online critics, because some critics have valid points.
S’pore is tight ship with a very loose budget? what irony.
lmao…
@ sweeayty,
what are you trying to prove??
That other countries have blown their budgets out of proportions in their estimates whilst holding the Summer Olumpics, it is alright for Singapore also to do likewise by blowing the budget
3 times over??!!
Get real man!! we are not talking of peanuts!! we are talking of M$387!!
Do you know how much M$387 can do for the poor and underprivileged in Singapore??
What do you mean by whiners??
Are we not allowed to voice out our concerns and to wake up those sleepy elites, who are still dreaming in their cosy ivory towers??
We, the taxpayers have every right to whin and to grumble, cos’ it is OUR money
which are being squantered away!!
If the money, being squantered comes out from their own pockets,NOBODY will care
a damn, let alone waste our time WHINNING!!!
Sweaty>
At least people were watching those events.
YOG? Nobody in the world gives a WTF shit about it.
By the way, go overspend your budget by 3X and see what your employer or parent says.
Vivian B really needs to be kicked out of office for incompetency.
Some of you have mentioned that Athens & Beijing have blown their estimated budget too, so why not Singapore? Well, for one is that it’s the Summer Olympics & it’s the most or 2nd most watched sporting event in the world. It attracts everyone from Amsterdam to Zaire & I will have to agree that it does lots of good for the host country. However, having said that it’s still a bad excuse to use when you overspent what you have forecasted earlier. Anyway, back to the YOG; I honestly think that it’s not really the top notch sporting event & probably it wont even get much mention by any country except Singapore. My issue with VB is that the extra S$280million could be better used helping a poor person to his feet or allow a sickly person to get proper treatment. I am totally ok to spend that kind of money if every Singaporean is being taken care; it’s always important to take care of your own people & if there’s any food left, we could, then, take care of others.
In the case of the YOG, it seems that our million dollars ministers, VB, is more concerned about the foreign guests than helping those in need. I think everyone of them is out of touch with us commoners; just look at the P65 MPs doing hip hop. Do you really think that doing a dance or having a Facebook account means you are ‘connecting’ with us? Do you really think that getting LSS to sing Upturn the Downturn will boost the workers’ fighting spirit? Do you really think that some million dollar surgeon could really have a heart for us? Ha, I would rather vote an Average Joe into office, at least, he knows my pain!
Wow…! Spent 387Million for 13days huh, can our Tourist hit this target to cover back the lost???
So generous huh from 104Million to 387Million such a huge jump, where the money come from huh???
@theforgottongeneration 8 July 2010
Got a couple of re-quotes too…scary ones for me…downright pearls of wisdom to those already in the know:-
1. The day soldiers stop bringing you their problems is the day you have stopped leading them. They have either lost confidence that you can help them or concluded that you do not care. Either case is a failure of leadership.
Colin Powell (1937 – )
The above is applicable to quite a large number of department store dummies “supposely in charge” in charge right now and the “foreseeable” future.
2. An empowered organization is one in which individuals have the knowledge, skill, desire, and opportunity to personally succeed in a way that leads to collective organizational success.
Stephen Covey
The above is applicable to any organization and any level….so far i see nounce at all with the current generation of department store dummies “supposely in charge”. More like how many years of apple polishing you have done and suck ups = future promotional/enriched yourself prospects from the dummy master controller.
3. I start with the premise that the function of leadership is to produce more leaders, not more followers.
Ralph Nader (1934 – )
The above is applicable for real hands on get into the ground and lead from the ground level moving forward leadership…sad to say…the current dummies are just that…dummies. Worse these dummies only reacted not pre-empt or pro-act…then u see the dummies in charge of other people getting the people to wheel them to and fro to see the problem. Problem is dummies still remain just as dummies does…dumb as hell.
4. Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened. Sir Winston Churchill (1874 – 1965)
And finally, the above quote show how nothing but the truth the type of department store dummies the old geezer in charge luv so lovely dovey,
….end file…..
Please have a happy day ahead with loved ones : )
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-xnwQ6d25M