For Immediate Release: 20 August 2010
From Altsean Burma:
ASEAN/REGIONAL COUNTRIES URGED TO SUPPORT A UN COMMISSION OF INQUIRY
The Alternative ASEAN Network on Burma (Altsean-Burma), a regional network of human rights groups, reiterates its call for ASEAN members and other governments in the region to support moves to convene a UN Commission of Inquiry into war crimes and crimes against humanity in Burma.
“It is an embarrassment that ASEAN governments seem less committed about protecting ASEAN citizens from serious international crimes. ASEAN governments shouldn’t fear a Commission of Inquiry since it is a fact-finding process, not a tribunal that can send their golfing buddies to jail,” said Altsean-Burma Coordinator Debbie Stothard.
Her remarks were made in the wake of media reports that the US government supported a Commission of Inquiry into serious international crimes in Burma. Australia, the UK, the Czech Republic, and Slovakia had previously called for a Commission of Inquiry after the UN Special Rapporteur on human rights in Burma Tomás Ojea Quintana recommended the establishment of a Commission of Inquiry.
In his March report to the UN Human Rights Council, Ojea Quintana said that a pattern of “gross and systematic” human rights violations in Burma had persisted over a period of many years and still continued. He suggested that given the lack of accountability for those abuses, the UN initiate a specific fact-finding mandate to investigate the possibility of international crimes.
The violations that led Ojea Quintana to recommend the convening of a UN Commission of Inquiry persist and are widespread and systematic, with the Burmese junta stepping up military attacks against ethnic civilians in Eastern Burma in recent weeks. The violations are likely to continue since the Burmese junta has guaranteed itself blanket immunity from prosecution and placed itself above the law through the 2008 constitution.
The instability generated by the regime’s serious crimes in Burma continue to have serious repercussions on the entire region in terms of displacement and human and drug trafficking.
ASEAN and other governments in the region have an obligation to maintain regional stability, provide human security to their people, and uphold fundamental human rights.
Altsean-Burma Coordinator, Debbie Stothard said, “Burma’s people need and deserve the protection of ASEAN. Governments in the region have to acknowledge and understand that these are serious international crimes being committed. They can no longer be described as domestic affairs not subject to international scrutiny. A UN Commission of Inquiry must be convened as soon as possible.”
—————-
Read also:
White House: US to support UN inquiry in Myanmar – Associated Press
Why a UN probe of Burma is a crucial step – The Washington Post
US raises Myanmar heat with war crimes panel call – Associated Press
US backs inquiry into alleged Burma war crimes – BBC
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Great news! Singapore should re-examine its ties with Burma’s junta. It is public knowledge that these people “park” their money in Singaporeans banks and regularly visit us to shop or for health care.
If they are convicted for war crimes than Singapore institutions and companies might well be accomplices in war crimes and crimes against humanity in Burma. That will damage our image beyond repair.
We should not whore ourselves for their cash but have the moral courage to say “no”!
Critics must be kidding themselves. Ecnomic pragmatism is the hallmark of Asean, with steadfast adherence to non-inteference in each other’s politics, as enshrined in the Constitution.
Aseam may make some noise regarding the Burmese junta’s treatment of Aun Sang, but that is about all, just to appease the international community.
Asean is only an economic entity, not a political union, with each country guarding its sovereignty.
Besides the economic benefits derived from Myammar rules, and a strong dictator army junta is necessary to control Burmese rebels from spirally into border countries of Asean surrounding Myammar.
Even India is following the cue.
ASEAN countries can be as inactive as they want, but this is a UN Commission of Inquiry. Any country who helped these suspected criminals and does not co-operate or is hiding something can expect UN sanctions and becoming the paria of the international community.
War Crimes and crimes against humanity are the most charges in the world and the UN is bigger than ASEAN.
Hmmmmmm……..
I have many Burmese friends who will be delighted to have this COI.
After Myanmar, Singapore will soon be the next country under the microscope.
With the deep and intricate links of the Singapore Government in Myanmar, and its own track record in Singapore, it is unlikely for Singapore to support this effort by the UN.
For free and democratic Burma… definitely yes.
US should go fly rather go S…. kite when come to war crime even if this is only a inqiry let the UN and Hague first tries Bush jr and cronies.
Don’t be fool by the most dictatorial Country in the world & her war machines that flexes it muscle by bribes(aid, UN salaries), sanctions and drum of wars.
US may be lesser of the two evils but still EVIL, Iran may have a point when they said the Great SHAITAN.
“Hmmmmmm……..
I have many Burmese friends who will be delighted to have this COI.” ????? you must know many Burmese! please speak for yourself.
Human rights activists should act because of its humanity not because a country and an organisation wants it or say so.
Asean should do what is in its best interest.
Wow,very tall order leh! Where ASEAN grovelment got balls to put up the act esp.Sinkapoor .
It’s like asking a dictator to criticise another dictator when they are in cahoots all the time.LOL.
Better ask USA send army right into the dictators doorstep lah!(But USA the hypocrite will not punish Sinkapoor because got military base here mah.That’s why PAP can do what it like for so long lor.
is it because our clean & transparent govt got not so transparent things to hide that’s why the generous military expenditure?
most dictators would rather finance & sustain its military then help its own people. just look at North Korea, Iraq (under Saddam H.), does it surprise me that S’pore is following their footstep?
can i still trust SAF & our men in blue to do the right thing? or will they just follow orders blindly when push comes to shove?
The 1st paragraph of the article really puzzled me very much.To make a COI on Burma’s brutality on its people West needs ASEAN members support.ASEAN members SUPPORT?If Human rights abuses in Burma is so important to the western governments,why not just go ahead without Singapore and the rest.Are they too dumb to know that ASEAN members will not interfere into Burma’s domestic affair?.What has the West to be afraid of ASEAN?.Perhaps,the West feels that it has something to lose out to ASEAN members if they do not co-operate with them.
I have been saying all along that the West has been very critical of countries living under tyrants but where are the actions.There are so many documented evidences from UN agencies and NGO watch-dog organizations pertaining tortures,atrocities in Burma.My question is;is it necessary to spend tens or perhaps 100′s of million of tax payers money on something that we have already known about.Or is it some one out there trying to profit from other people miseries?.WE DO NOT NEED ANY FURTHER EVIDENCE TO JUSTIFY MORE SPENDING.
preston loon
West needs ASEAN members support.ASEAN members SUPPORT?If Human rights abuses in Burma is so important to the western governments,why not just go ahead without Singapore and the rest.Are they too dumb to know that ASEAN members will not interfere into Burma’s domestic affair?.What has the West to be afraid of ASEAN?.Perhaps,the West feels that it has something to lose out to ASEAN members if they do not co-operate with them.
…………….
preston ole boi..you still havn’t submit your university of vancouver lecturer/dean names as DEMANDED…
you know protocol or not? do you know why ASEAN is setup? just to sell satays perhaps? you know houserules or not?..ASEAN is asia south east asis NATIONs…so the united nations cannot suka suka interverne..if liked that do you still needs ASEAN @ all? and without a doubt singapore is not an asean member @ all?
aiyoh yoh slapped dilbert forhead!!!
For Asean to be strong and be a pillar of the world, Singapore needs a change.
A change which can be contagious to other parts of our Asean region.
I hope the world realises, this important factor and works towards it.
when is a COI to be conducted on the incarceration of 22 detainees in 1987? Teo Soh Lung has written a book about it and I feel so sad after reading it.
Dear prettyplace.
You are right on this one.You are one of the few who make more sense than the rest of us.But how?.
Dear Bullseye,
If UN is bigger that the ASEAN,how come the UN lets this oppressive government of Burma continues to brutalize its people for so long.You know,big fish can only eats small ones.Burma is no small fish.
May the guns be with despot govs in asean.
May the pen be with good people.
May the fight begin, starting with asean as asean is a “BIG” “sick joke”.
preston loon, 22 August 2010
quote:
“If UN is bigger that the ASEAN,how come the UN lets this oppressive government of Burma continues to brutalize its people for so long.You know,big fish can only eats small ones.Burma is no small fish.”
most UN nations are not in Asian neighbourhood. Asean, on the other hand with most nations near Burma, take the easy way out by ignoring neighbours problems.
its not so easy to mobilize huge number of peacekeepers without ASEAN support. things like food supply, military bases, funding, domestic support, etc, add to the logistical headache when multiplied over greater distance.
its not about the size of the fish, does S’pore allow its far larger neighbours to bully?
why are you often asking people online how to do this how to deal with that? are you some clueless minister or their paid suboordinates seeking free answers online?
no free lunch, no crutch mentality & definitely not spoonfeeding (babies) okie?…
:P
Dear Mice is nice,
First of all let it be clear,why do we need peace-keepers in Burma when there is no peace to keep.When you are dealing with an oppressor or a madman like the military junta,pointing fingers are not enough.They have to be taken out either by its own people or the outside forces like UN.I preferred the former.History tells us diplomacy and soft approach do not work most of the time.If the West and the UN were to just criticize and do nothing concrete for Burmese people,they might as well keep quiet an let Asians countries to deal with it in due time.Distance is no excuse for not taking action.Is that island of Guam not belong to the USA?.How about the US military bases already existed in Japan and South Korea and Singapore?
When i writing about Big Fish,i am talking about economic power and influence and not the size of a country.
It is very easy to criticize Singapore but how many of us come with constructive solutions.If you are really concerned about the plight of the Burmese people,is it not the right thing to do by offering free solutions to our government even you might be Singapore’s Indian-giver.Please do not be so selfish.We are here wanting to help the oppressed people and you are talking about no free lunch and feeding babies.God help us!.
Ms Aung San Su Kyi was naive when she believed that bad human beings-means Tatmadaw Kar(From army),could not be worst than animals,for this belief she and her people suffered for another 20 years.The nation of 50 millions paid dearly for her faith in human race.
Wiseman LKY could not be naive,with his age and intelligence,so when he declared that Burma would be worst with out Tatmadaw Kar(From Army)he must have believed.
Singapore could have played a significant rule to help the 50 million poor people in Burma,but God only knows what LKY saw in the Tatmadaw Kar(from Army)when he told US senator that he could help to push out generals but then what,he was worried for the 50 million poor people without Tatmadaw Kar
So Ms Aung San Su Kyi calculated that the generals would not behave worst than animals which they do ,LKY calculated that the Tatmadaw Kar are better than any one else in Burma,which is not proven.The only proven thing is the tremendous amount of suffering of the people.
Did Singapore get help in our nationhood?yes since LKY returned as a lawyer from UK,there have been some good samiritans who did not think that little island Spore could not be able to manage itself,that is our good fortune that some brains also had faith in the goodness of human beings.
preston loon 22 August 2010
Dear Mice is nice,
First of all let it be clear,why do we need peace-keepers in Burma when there is no peace to keep.When you are dealing with an oppressor or a madman like the military junta,pointing fingers are not enough.They have to be taken out either by its own people or the outside forces like UN
……………
wah lau..you seen too many arnold swazernagger filem plus rambo 9 with added cast from brucewillis as diehard22..who are the OWN people? may 1 seek? if hav OWN people leekingyou is already terkan out…remembered what i teach you when your lecturers/dean did not teach you @ the university of vancouver…the redcross/worldaids volunteers are allowed to aid the tsunami victims in myammer subject to the followin clause:
1) all aids will be handover to the military junta for distributions(amon their soldiers in green) aung sung sukiyaki/monks cannot kapoed under any circustances..last butt not least curfews will be imposed on all FOREIGN aids workers whether redcross/cna or bbc crews…so where do you want arnold swazzernagger to be? he so big size how to camouflag as the local monks?
you har..tarok lark…havin said all that
we hav 2 most likeLEE heros..fandhi ahmed and traffic tarek the singapoor idol..both can mingled just by wearin a sarong…
preston loon, 22 August 2010
you expect UN to take out the Junta? which country do you expect the special forces come from? the West? you prefer UN to do the job? what authority have you? you are 4-star general? lol…
you expect the West/USA to act? they are your maids har? what are ASEAN members doing? see no evil? distance is not an excuse but when nations that are nearer does nothing to help, its even harder to excuse…
how i know what big fish you talking about? you could have well meant those in a fish market! =P
you are not even realistic, how to propose solution? can you confirm our govt want to help Burmese people 1st? dun just talk like you are big shot (but spoonfed) minister.
p.s. i am not selfish, but i just can’t bear to see taxpayers paying generous salaries to suckers who can’t do their jobs, and worse only know how to make noise & issue challenges (you think you can do better?)…
Dear Mice is nice,
Not all great leaders are wise.If we have some wisdoms to contribute to those unwise leaders,why not?.It does not matter who gets the glory as long as you know that what you have contributed can make a difference,that matters.
About the millions $$$ paid out to our ministers.What has that to do with the Burmese people?They care less what is happening in Singapore.What they need now is outside interventions.So you do agree with me that UN and the West can not do much other that being loud mouthed,right?.
preston loon
.It does not matter who gets the glory as long as you know that what you have contributed can make a difference,that matters.
About the millions $$$ paid out to our ministers.What has that to do with the Burmese people?
i think/i planned..leekingyou get the glorLEE together with his cancerson and the dole$ as well? now regardin million$ bein paid to 2 of the ABOVE…they both hav EVERYTHINGGIE got to do with the burmese people?
are you realLEE that stupid? or are you the white grandson of leekingyou?
I agree with popcorn. ASEAN is more an economic union than a political one. It is more likely to act to protect $$$ than to safeguard something vague like human rights.
However, to be honest, I am not a fan of developing countries going straight into a full blown democratic model. To grow quickly, they need a strong hand (tyrant) who cares for the people. A democratic model will more likely just invite corruption, and give share the country’s resource among slightly more people, without benefit the whole population.
Once the country reaches a certain level of maturity, economic and social, THEN democracy should be introduced. Personally, as an example, I think Singapore has just reached this level, and is struggling to get REAL democracy, after LKY’s strong hand in the early years to get us to where we are. It’s time for LKY to let go.
It is typical of Singapore to ‘blindly’ pursue commercial interests in countries where atrocities are taking place. Our political elite has no morals as is apparent by their domestic policy.
Throughout history, it has been the inaction of those who could have acted; the indifference of those who should have known better; the silence of the voice of justice when it mattered most; that has made it possible for evil to triumph.
lobo76
To grow quickly, they need a strong hand (tyrant) who cares for the people. A democratic model will more likely just invite corruption, and give share the country’s resource among slightly more people, without benefit the whole population
…………
you are talkin bout siam in the earLEE days of the generals who was leadin the premeirships where corruptions is the standard format..till the day thaksin the chinaman blood of the teochew clan won by a landslide includin votesbuyin lark…butt nevertheless..he paid the thais iou worldbank loans in full not his money lark…government/temasek inc money so to speak with enough leftovers to buy an authentic barkooteh soup with jayakumar knockin the tudang on a rangoon road table watchin thaksin’s british football team…
preston loon, 23 August 2010
if leaders in place lack of wisdom is that bad, its better they step down or risk taking the masses down with their lack of leadership qualities.
it doesn’t matter who gets the glory, but i see no reason why people who contributed them fair share of success be denied the recognition & maybe the financial reward. afterall our dear leaders have always been 1st to put their brand on every face of success, & demand monetary reward for it.
i have already said what i did about you applying double standards. demanding the West to be global police picking up the tab in coughing up manpower & financing peacekeeping, while you excuse Asian nation inaction.
dun try to talk big here & preftend you are some govt big shot, say our govt is concerned about Burmese people. our ministers are paid CEO’s salaries cos they claim to be that standard, so why are people like you begging for help?
ASEAN nations have the obligation to keep its own neighbourhood trouble free or risk being seen as an organisation with narrowly define interests.
ireplacedTHAKSINthebarkooteheater,
I have absolutely no idea what you are babbling about. You should clear your head and organised your thoughts before posting.
Dear Mice is nice,
Who says that we are not trouble free in this region?We live peacefully with our neighboring countries.When the Burmese government ill-treating its people,that is their domestic affair and not ours.What to do, we have our secular government thinking of only how to make $$$$$$$$$ for Singapore.As i have said it before,the West interfering in other countries’ affairs is very inconsistent and they pick and choose which one is beneficial to their own interest.Ask yourself,why do they want another COI for Burma as though that the brutal activities in Burma just happens recently .You are a savvy person but i don’t quite understand you.Can’t you see through their reluctance to help the Burmese for some obvious reasons?.
Dear lobo76,
Let be correct you for using the word tyrant.People like Saddam,Marcos,Mugabe,the President of Iran,President of Syria,the Burma regime,President of N.Korea,President of Libya,these are the tyrants.Tyrants do not care for their people.The proper word to use,if you are referring to our Singapore leadership is Authoritarian or ruler rules with an iron fist.In this case,i am totally in agreement with you.
All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing
preston loon, 24 August 2010
so you agree with me that contributions to better S’pore should be fairly rewarded, rather than letting others claim them wrongfully?
not sure about the West but i guess that the Irag war & the following military advanture in Afghanistan made them think hard about sending forces, not the mention the $$$$ & human cost. of course, there is a real political cost too. i am no West govt big shot ley…
quote:
“… why do they want another COI for Burma as though that the brutal activities in Burma just happens recently.”
so you mean that people who commit serious crimes like murder should also be let off just because it happened a long time ago?
preston loon, 24 August 2010
quote:
“You are a savvy person…”
thank you, thank you.
^.^
preston loon 24 August 2010
Dear lobo76,
Let be correct you for using the word tyrant.People like Mugabe, Burma regime are the tyrants.Tyrants do not care for their people.
…………..
and leekinyou does? cared for the people
includin singapoor? whoa! who give the myammer president to name our orchid
under him? chiamseetong? and who give the full redcarpet treatrment for mugabi when he landed in changi aeroport? lowthiakeng perhaps?
……………
lobo76
have absolutely no idea what you are babbling about. You should clear your head and organised your thoughts before posting.
…………….
it ok if you are STUPID so be it…as though i cared…when you post a thread.. i replied…if you find it difficult to understand/comprehand..don’t INSULT YOURSELF…it make YOU looked SILLY…