Howard Lee

Let me state up front that I fully support the YOG. That is, I believe in the ideals it enshrines, about friendship, respect and doing your best. As a former school dragon boater, I recognise especially that,  in the mad flurry of paddles, respect for you opponents is something that is hard to come by, but nevertheless something to aspire towards.

So, for all its skewed reporting on the YOG, I appreciate the traditional media for highlighting the case of Low Wei Jie. Granted, the media have thus far taken a moral stand that sided heavily with the YOG organisers, but this particular story could have been the one shining light. It could be the human interest factor of the story, or a desperate last-minute attempt to drum up support for the games (you can decide for yourself), but Wei Jie the person, at 12 years old, demonstrated what it means to doggedly follow you dreams despite all hurdles.

Unfortunately, his story has also shown how the entire discourse of the YOG has perverted the very spirit he symbolises, and while we should grant this young man his moment of pride, nothing, not even the honour of a place in the torch relay, could possibly erase the way politics has defaced and disgraced what should have been an invigorating new future in sports.

From the start of the bidding to this very moment, Singapore’s relationship to the games has been centred on the vanity and pride of a few key appointment holders.

Take a good look at the words used by Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, especially in recent days, and you might detect an eagerness to justify why a half-baked, full-dumb event should continue. You might also detect the excuses of a man listing to his boss the reasons for his promotion, or why he should not be sacked. My run-down as such:

Said: If we knew it would cost this much, we would still have bidded for it.

Meant: We are waaaaaay over budget for this, but hey, it’s still worth every dollar!

Said: This event will put us on everyone’s radar screen for investment.

Meant: We will never recoup the losses of this obscene budget, so better if we take a long-term view on ROI.

Said: Singaporeans are proud of YOG.

Meant: Actually, they are not. But let’s just say they are, so they will feel like traitors, and hopefully bad enough to support the event.

I can go on with this pointless diatribe. But what takes the cake, perhaps, is that this senseless vanity was built on public money and the backs of countless public officers, not to mention through the exploitation of athletes (the convenient but necessary show pieces) and volunteers (willing or otherwise, but effective emotion trump cards).

To be blunt, Singapore is not ready to host the first YOG. Neither are we fit from a moral stand point. We have muscled our way into it, purely on the rails of over-selling our ability to organise, organise, organise with machine-like efficiency, without a clear position (or perhaps faked the perception) of our ability to empathise with the spirit of the games. We sold Singapore Inc, not Singapore In Sync.

Least we be naïve, the Olympics has always been about economics. No country will host it without some idea of how it can be monetised, in terms of tourism dollars or lucrative development contracts. Nations have pulled out all stops to make hosting the games a success. Think of the anti-spitting campaign for Beijing 2008, and our “Give Way to YOG” lanes would seem trivial. Perhaps we were at fault, too, for focusing too much on the controversies and pressuring the organisers along those lines of response.

But at the very heart of it, some consideration must be paid to the people of the host country. Without their support, the games could be the most well-executed, but would still lack spirit, passion, pride.

Australians would have paid the world to host Sydney 2000, if for no other reason than to have the home crowd there to support their home-grown legends. From the corners of this diverse land bonded by hardship and mateship, it was Aussie pride and passion that brought people together to don green and gold, to cheer on Ian Thorpe, Kiran Perkins and Kathy Freeman alike.

Not for Singapore. We have neglected the proper development of a sporting culture, and in typical year-end exam fashion, rewarded only post-medal achievements. Desperate for medals, we import athletes, add “Singapore citizen” to their resumes, but have no concrete plans on how to exploit their expertise for the next generation. We fixed the symptoms, not the cause, of why Singapore today still struggles in sporting excellence. We have the Olympic machine, and a well-oiled one whether you like it or not, but we do not have the Olympic spirit.

The YOG organisers must have known all this, or if they didn’t, are now paying the price for the neglect, trying all they can to manufacture a success in this quadrant. But at the end of the day, we owe it to the people for whom the YOG is for – the athletes and the citizens. This is what the organisers must be answerable to, not to some committee agenda, KPIs or misty-eyed economic benefits.

As such, I now return to the topic of this article – my take on how the YOG should be evaluated for success:

1) How will we be rewarding our medal winners? – Not even thinking about the desperate need to revise the broken medal-first-money-later reward system, but just to go along with it. If we truly value the games, we need to level-up our young athletes to be Olympic achievers, and show it any way we can.

2) What have our volunteers learnt from YOG that will benefit them in the future? – Let’s just gloss over the “do it for your country” spiel, or the food poisoning fracas. We have tried to rouse a nation to support an event, failed miserably, and the people who have doggedly persisted to make the best of it are the volunteers. We owe it to them to make their time and energy worth the while.

3) What are the sporting programmes that will be put in place following YOG? – Should the organisers think of resting on the laurels of a “successful” event, don’t. The YOG does not and cannot be the end goal of what we try to do as a sporting nation. If anything, it should spur further development of schemes, events and facilities, building on any positive momentum created.

It might be too late to build up the illusion of pride and support at the event venues, but not too late to salvage the YOG’s contribution to the people. If there are no replies to any of the above criteria I have indicated above, then it only goes to show how myopic and selfish the organising of the YOG has been. And Balakrishnan’s recent blog reply to one of the volunteers, with a bravado of doing it for the athletes and volunteers, would ring just as hollow as the echoes in our half-empty stadiums. You can try talking the Olympic spirit into us, but it works better if backed by affirmative action.

And I will always save a salvo for our traditional media. No more reporting it like Shamir Osman of TODAY, please. Waxing lyrical of the YOG with adjective-overloaded terms – “the world is now hungry for more stirring moments of Olympic magic”, “shimmer from the bronze medal…seemed to illuminate the entire International Convention Centre”, “the noise bursting forth from the stands…rang of Excellence, Friendship and Respect” – is not only painful to read, but a far cry from ground reality. Stop hanging off ministerial soundbites, and start doing some real journalism for a change. Track the games today, but be ready to follow it beyond the event into our everyday lives, documenting its after-effects. That is your charge, if you want a part in making the YOG a true success.

Finally, my sincere apologies to our athletes and volunteers if they read this post and become disheartened. I only hope that by shedding light on the dismal system you are in, you will continue with pride and fortitude having full knowledge of your situation. You are young, but not naïve, and I trust that you would be able to discern hype from reality. And have no doubt that this nation supports you, even if we do not support the YOG.

————-

Photo from Shuqun Primary School website.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

54 Responses to “Align success factors with true spirit of YOG”

1. Former Civil Servant 20 August 2010

It would be good if our local media can take a more critical view on matters (not just YOG alone), rather than just re-print press releases from the government. If not, the politicians and civil servants will simply get complacent, thinking that they can do no wrong, since the media will not point out their errors.

2. PeeAndPoo 20 August 2010

PAP is very much like an old Tai-tai who tries to impress everyone everywhere,flaunting a lavish and extravagant lifestyle to feed her bloated ego.(If you think of Empress Dowager or our Emperor or even his daughter-in-law,you are quite close LOL)!
    As an inborn megalomaniac,it is obvious that she desperately needs to show off (afterall it’s not her money mah;it’s the “ignorant,daft”citizens taxpayers’ )
    So why voters whine if they don’t care or dare to even criticise through their votes?

3. The whole Singapore “software” has been a nightmare for us. I remember in the 70s’ and 80s’ there was a balance of life, friends and kakis kicking around in the evenings in open spaces, on the road infront of our houses etc.
    But not today and I really pity the kids. In any society it needs a balance of both hardware and software. The way things are going with the government its going to fail every so often, again and again.

4. dilbert 20 August 2010

MSM says that Singaporeans are interested in the YOG. TOC says they are not? Who is right?

Logically, given there are quite a number of people who are voluntarily buying tickets, the truth is somewhere in between.

Given the agenda of the MSM, I supposed it’s not surprising they would try to talk it up.

What is so surprising is TOC’s agenda to talk it down. I suppose this is the new “advocacy journalism” TOC is talking about. First anti-death penalty, then anti-YOG.

Not a single achievement of a singaporean athlete is highlighted here. Everyday, we get a new “opinion” all trying to push the line that the YOG is an abject failure. anyone who has stepped into a YOG sporting venue, will notice the disconnect with reality.

This one rehashes most of the old arguments.

He says: “To be blunt, Singapore is not ready to host the first YOG. Neither are we fit from a moral stand point. We have muscled our way into it….”

Ahhhh, because Sydney, Beijing and any other Olympic Games hosts never muscled there way into it…

Then he says at the start : “Least (sic) we be naïve, the Olympics has always been about economics. No country will host it without some idea of how it can be monetised, in terms of tourism dollars or lucrative development contracts.”

If you accept that the decision to host any games are economic-based, then what makes the YOG any different, that it somehow must fulfill his three criteria to be a success?

Because we lack the so-called “Olympic spirit”? Because where Australians can bond over Kieren Perkins, Singapore has no one it can support, even though most of the 14-18 athletes are all homegrown. Poor Rainer Ng.

I could go on and on. I mean, for crying out loud, what do you want volunteers to take out of this? what do flag day volunteers get out of standing outside the mrt?

If this is what “advocacy journalism” looks like, I’d rather TOC stuck to its original formula.

5. Looney Loong 20 August 2010

Good article.
    Sadly, I doubt our local media and government bodies will follow up on your thoughts.
    It will be back to the normal wayangs of winning votes, boot-licking for these peoples. Lesser mortals will wake up from their euphoric dreams and be back to face the concern of their daily meals, high cost of living, unending servicing of high HDB mortgage. Sigh…..

6. dilbert

I don’t think ToC is talking down YOG. It is reporting some facts that cast doubt on the accuracy of MSM’s reports.

Like you I think the truth is somewhere in between.

7. iamdilbertnottheHOKKIEN 20 August 2010

dilbert

I could go on and on. I mean, for crying out loud, what do you want volunteers to take out of this? what do flag day volunteers get out of standing outside the mrt?

If this is what “advocacy journalism” looks like, I’d rather TOC stuck to its original formula.
    ……………….
    do you know who/what are the volunteers comes from?
    how many hav hidden agendas..how many from RC…how many are trueblood volunteers?..i also 1/2 free..do you see me as volunteer?
    so dilbert ole boi..don’t come here condemnin TOC…just because TOC don’t print the way you want TOC to portray as the 143th medias? bet with you..even your car host the singapore mini flag…

8. walamak 20 August 2010

walamak,

News reported :
    YOG bus involved in chain collision along PIE, no injuries
    By Mustafa Shafawi | Posted: 20 August 2010 1210 hrs

walamak

9. They should have just kept it as an event the focused on the sportsmen and athletes and no need to try to get everyone involved. They would have spent way less.

Now we get all this SPIN trying to justify the money that’s been spent when noone in the global media really cares.

I hope someone runs against Vivian B in the next election so he can be voted out. Enough with his stupid comments and idiocy.

10. Jerry Lee 20 August 2010

Thanks for writing this. Well-reasoned and sensible. Raises several good points without being confrontational. I hope the powers that be read this.

11. Wanderer 20 August 2010

I’m impressed by this article. Well-crafted, insightful, balanced AND farsighted! I’m actually inspired to make a comment!

And my sentiment is this – regardless of the arguments (from hindsight or foresight)… or complaints (justified or not), at the current moment, our country has got a job to deliver. It might be a job that is basically cleaning-up a mess that is dumped down from up above… but let’s just do what we can to finished it FIRST. The next project can be to realise what we got to do to put a stop to such misfortunes in the future.

Coz whether we like it or not, it’s our name at stake – Singapore.

And Mr Howard Lee, you have my agreement. I thank you for the reading pleasure.

12. dilbert,

I have no issues with TOC being not so balanced. Realistically, no one can. If we want to have objective viewpoints, the onus is on ourselves to read from different sources. It is not for us to one ‘ultimate’ source so that we don’t have to read all others.

So saying, I think it is great that TOC presents an alternative view. That’s why I came here in the first place. =)

13. Yes, the MSMs are ramping up the positive aspects and not reporting negative news as much as possible. Their agenda is plain to see as their survival depends on the government. So if independent and fair journalism has been thrown out of the window, where do we get alternative news that offer a more balance view? We are being fed with government propaganda and rose-coloured reports, whilst any news unfavourable to the government are either muted or never reported at all. TOC is doing a very good job and if their focus are on negative aspects of the Singapore Life, let it be so since the MSMs are offering all the palatable news.

As for the YOG, the majority of Singaporeans are simply uninterested, period. From young, we were told by our parents and educators not to indulge in useless pursuits that will not be able to support us financially. When Fandi Ahmad and his team won the Malaysia Cup, one can feel the pride and patriotism of the 70,000 spectators that PAID to watch the match which was so spontaneous and palpable. All that was gone when FAS threw away the bathtub together with the baby when they refused to dance with the Malaysian FAM. One cannot blame the Singaporean’s apathy towards sports when the ugly head of materialism took over. Last, but not least most Singaporeans does not have the luxury of taking time off to watch YOG when more pressing issues like earning their next meal, which unfortunate is their lot. This is the harsh reality of life for the average Singaporeans. Sad.

14. popcorn 20 August 2010

Very aptly said, our country is just not ready for this first YOG. Even building the new National Stadium our Govt is dragging its feet. All Govts in the world very proudly provide funding to build a National Stadium, the grander the better. Just look at the attitude of our Govt, it is very disappointing. Without a grand Stadium, we are not in the position to host an international Sport event like the YOG.
    So the dida apa attitude transfers to the general population. Who could blame us, we are just following the sheep-dog’s direction.

15. senior experience old guard 20 August 2010

Hello joe! You all har, can stop all this type lies & bluff storys of YOG or not? My MP & ministers say Sg now is already going to be damage by all your lies & defamation storys! Comeon lah Joe, like my mp say: if you all bring down sg, what good you all got? Now is YOG time, so many foreigners visit sg, if you all keeping tell all this type lies, people in whole world will laugh our country & see our sg no up!

Joe! be responsible citizen lah! Like we all senior old experience guard alway loyal & like our country!

16. senior experience old guard 20 August 2010

actually if you all really go see the gane YOG, you all sure enjoy because is exciting game. My MP he very generous, give we all old guards tickets & call we all bring our familys go see the YOG nice games. Wa kanninia, really got high class standard! All play fast & good, top professional game! Free somemore & no need pay.

17. all this self-righteous whining and complaining disgusts me.

blast the government all you want but you are also giving a huge middle finger to all the enthusiastic volunteers and athletes doing their best for the event.

don’t say singaporeans don’t care about yog when you are but armchair critics.

all of you will argue that you’re directing all this malevolence at the men in white, but as someone who is not personally involved but has good friends who are dedicated volunteers (reporters, photographers, emcees, even pure saikang warriors) loving every minute of the games let me tell you that all your criticism is raining on their parade.

want to whack at least wait until everything is over then whack.

18. Singaporean 20 August 2010

“Ahhhh, because Sydney, Beijing and any other Olympic Games hosts never muscled there way into it…”

So what if they did or did not do (muscled). Who cares much about their budget.

Our muscling comes with a price, budget overrun which is not going to paid for by Sydney, Beijing and any other Olympic Games hosts !!!!

19. @einmal

i agree- govt is not Singapore.
    Even if we hope to see the govt failed and embarassed,
    we should realise that if the Games flop,
    not only they malu, all singaporeans malu as well.

even if the organization is poor etc,
    there is plenty of time to rail afterwards.

20. SureOrNot? 20 August 2010

Weird. So now anti YOG people are to be blamed for their cock-ups? You guys are for the idea of their mass mobilisation and cover-ups? You can go together with them into denial mode, but I’m standing ground, thank you.

We’re armchair critics you say? Well, you are right in a way. We are not in the same page in the 1st place so support if you wish. We’ll do our part and leave the criticism to us anti YOGians. I do not wish to be forced to put on a smile just because my government said so especially when they are not whom I voted for in the 1st place.

21. @sureornot

what? who’s blaming your lot for any cock ups? what’s wrong is this blame game mentality – thank you for pointing that out.

i just find it annoyingly repetitive that everyone here seems to be droning on and on about how screwed up yog is and pouring endless amounts of cold water.

don’t you guys get sick of playing the blame game when it only pisses off the hard working people who are slogging their butts off in their newsrooms, on the announcing booths or lugging around heavy camera equipment all trying to make everything work. all this cynicism is akin to giving THEM the middle finger.

you guys just do nothing but put down anything and everything. you don’t have to put on a smile – no one is forcing you to. if you don’t like it just put a lid on it (at least till everything’s over) and do everyone else a favour.

22. @einmal
    As already pointed out, the MSMs have got all the wonderful things happening in Singapore and YOG. Best you stop coming here if you do not like reading negative views because this is not the best of sites for rousing but more roasting. Do yourself a favour, you have the choice, as we have ours.

23. btw, well written article which explores the issues from both sides.

I agree that there are plenty of things that could be done better- PR, community engagement etc. And I’m 100% in favour of making constructive criticism to improve the system- after all, it is the first time singapore is hosting such a huge sports event.

sure, there are many cock-ups- while we can be pissed at how it is organized, people are translating it to anti-YOG sentiments (as SureorNot puts it)

I was at the airport in BKK and met the Congolese team coming into Singapore. I could feel their excitement and pride to be participating in the games as they talked abt how they beat other african teams to participate. Even though its really expensive to come to Singapore because of the exchange rate, they were glad to have the opportunity to come to Asia for the first time.

i think it is through this close interaction with the athletes, that I saw YOG beyond a govt activity and see it from the athletes perspective. It’s something many young people have trained hard for to participate and some flew faraway to participate. I’m sure those who did competitive sports when you are younger will remember that feeling.

if we look beyond who is organizing the games (and whether we like them or not), do we really want the games to be a flop for the athletes?

24. prettyplace 20 August 2010

Pertinent questions my friend……
    what are the plans…the way forward.

25. Andrew Lim 20 August 2010

Been reading MSM and forum articles and comments about YOG, and I would vote this as the most balanced and fair article. Yes whinning and complains there are in the others, in this article I would rate it as clearly reasoned opinions.

Honestly, I won’t read TOC if it is all about the hype and praises of the YOG organisers, since we can read these in MSM. Why no positive things about YPG athletes and volunteers? TOC is a socio-political forum. Imagine someone writing about the Singaporeans’ medal winners here? Oh yeah! …but will it add any constructive feedback to the cause? I agree with the author…I support YOG (spirit, athletes and volunteers) but much as I want to support the organisers (Minsters and cabinet members included), I just cannot bring myself to stand up for them…somehow I cannot, and I know why..do YOU?

26. SureOrNot? 21 August 2010

Everyone has a part to play in society. We do have day jobs you know, it’s just not centred around YOG. So stop saying we are doing nothing. We are also stake holders and equal citizens. As for the enthusiastic volunteers and athletes, nobody is showing them a huge middle finger except the very people who are organising the event.

I will not put a lid on it. Why should I? The cock-ups are all very real and if you think by keeping a lid on, the international community will not know then you must be one of the 66.6%. If after all these fiasco and still they proclaim it as a huge success, will you still be proud of the “achievement” the government has bestowed on us? I will not.

No doubt our athletes will give their best to win a medal, be it personal or for the nation. Even if the event is deemed a failure, will the honour of the Singaporean athletes be taken from them? Of course not.

The athlete strives to excel in the games, the government strives to obtain recognition from the international community and the citizen strives to lead a more comfortable and fulfilling life in their motherland.

27. mice is nice 21 August 2010

Odie & Andrew Lim

i share your sentiments. especially…

quoting Andrew:
    “I just cannot bring myself to stand up for them…somehow I cannot, and I know why..do YOU?”

its a sad fact IMPO, that the divide is that clear & wide. it does not look like a bridge will close that gap any time soon….

(-.-)

28. thank you for your viewpoints and i stand corrected that toc is a place for alternative views and that everyone is entitled to express themselves. maybe my comments are not appropriate on toc itself and should have been posted on facebook.

also, if there are cock ups, they should be pointed out – i am not disputing that. i am just asking if it is necessary to harp on and on about the issue while the games are still going on, which infects everyone with heavy doses of cynicism and makes people question why they are putting in so much effort in the first place if everyone is just going to scoff.

i am just frustrated at the spillover to other aspects of social media like facebook, for example.

it is distressing many of my friends who are giving their all for yog, and yet have to read disparaging status comments and articles.

29. to add on, you may not think you are showing them the middle finger, but here are what they, the people involved and giving their all, think: (i did not write this myself…they are sentiments of people i know and admire for their effort, expressed through facebook, twitter)

-I’m seriously quite sick of seeing all the anti-YOG whiners and anti-govt whiners about YOG online…i bet many are armchair critics…

-They need to go down to the YOV, or the venues, and experience first-hand the atmosphere of the games, volunteers, and athletes!

-All the negative demanding for damning photos and letters for YOG is starting to feel like noise. Can you just shut up already? We’re trying to enjoy the show.

-I wish people would shut up complaining about the YOG. Your whining adds to noise pollution, your poorly written letters of complaints are an eyesore and an embarrassment to your 10 years of education, and frankly you just seem more like a whiny bitch than a revolutionary.

-Oh, I know how valid the complaints are. But when you shove the same complaint in my face again and again, my sympathy for you starts waning.

30. @eminmal – 21 August 2010

Those who are immersed into the YOG events will quite obviously be carried by the emotions and psychological influences from the sporting competitions.

It is human nature to be casually attracted to the competitive spirit of sports even if one has no inclination towards sports.

While the Facebook fans are carried away by the sporting events, it is obvious that they are oblivious to the financial cost that is being ramped up with the passing of each day.

What will be the final cost to Singapore when this entire YOG event is over – even as it was already announced that the planned budget had been blown almost more then double the original sum ?

Who will be paying for the extra costs – when no clear nor transparent accounting is available ?

The general Singaporean apathy towards sports is that most sporting events have been politicised when the Pro Alien Party insist on putting their own political appointees to head almost every sports.

Any sport that is not headed by their political appointee will not get the funding needed to develop the sport.

The Pro Alien Party – acting on the instruction of the Old Man – has to stay relevant in our lives, and the only way to do so is to insist on interfering in any and every activities in the lives of Singaporeans.

If the Old Man believe that he has the cream of the limited talent crop with him, does he need to constantly put his chosen talents to the test, and with Singaporeans having to bear along with his personal exercise ?

The more this happen to prove a point, the more it exposes the desparation for the point to be proven – and mistakes made.

Is it any surprise that our sympathy is similarly waning ?

31. The unrelenting tide of negativity against YOG may make more sense if the YOG is viewed as just another proxy “battleground” of the growing disenchanted class with the ruling party and their unsympathetic policies.

Being expensive, overbudgeted, uncalled for and initiated by certain unpopular officials especially, it is probably seen by the helpless many as an uncommonly underexposed part of the belly of the “beast”, hence presenting itself as yet another front to express their dissatisfaction with the total governance of the ruling elite.

That part about volunteers’ efforts being underappreciated by those who vociferously criticise the YOG is most unfortunate indeed, being innocent bystander collateral casualty.

32. @Atobe

I think einmal’s point is this-

if you are watching a bad movie in the cinema, do you immediately turn to your neighbour to discuss how bad the movie is? Or do you sit and watch the whole movie first and take the discussion outside?

it is not abt pretending the show is gd, when it is not.
    It is abt respecting other people who are trying to watch the show and people who are performing (in this case the youth athletes), while it is still going on.

Some people make the distinction that we are talking about the organizers, not the participants. Sure, but there is a difference between doing that DURING or AFTER the show.

Just imagine if DURING a theatre performance, the sound guy (admin) cocks up and some starts boo-ing. Sure, you are boo-ing specifically at the sound guys, but it affects everyone (including the actors). For other people who thought the glitch were minor inconvenience and want to caary on enjoying the show, the atmostphere is spoilt too.

No one is saying we have to love every show that comes up- but when a show is going on, the least we can do is to be considerate to others.

33. SureOrNot? 21 August 2010

@RW

Your analogy is slightly off. Scenario should be like this :-

The movie you’re watching gets disrupted by constant white screens and soundless moments. It is disrupting your viewing pleasure. Do you sit quietly or you make noise and even stomp off to the ticketing office and give them a piece of your mind?

Similarly, if you were in a musical and the lightings fail and the microphone starts to emit feedbacks. The organisers acknowledges the problem but insist it’s all well. Do you sit quietly and enjoy the rest of the already glaringly flawed show? The actors will definitely continue acting, but can they hold it against the audience if some were to create a din?

We could go on arguing, but it’s pointless as views are at the extreme end I guess.

34. VoteForChange 21 August 2010

To: einmal
    You are certainly narrow in your perspective, seeing only from the point view of the ‘volunteers’ and how they would feel.
    I note that my friends in TOC have never passed any critical comment on the volunteers; our comments circle around the manner YOG is carried out, the flop the organisers have made, the lies they have been telling to the public, the lack of integrity of the organisers and the MPs behind, the busted budget with explanation, ambiguous ticket sales,etc. Whether one is a volunteer or not, the facts are real,that the YOG qualifies to be described as a flop, and we see the part of the organisers and MPs and PM trying to deceive the uninformed public and the world.
    At the end of the event,Realistically, it is this question we ask: How justified is this Multi-Million YOG? not this small question of the voluntees feel.
    I suggest you look at things from a larger point of view, not like the frog in the well.

35. To all who have commented, tks. I have learnt much and also reflected on my position, and again it is one of the reasons why I write here, because I get honest feedback that I hope can make me a better writer, I not a better person.

Am I an armchair critic? – In the usual definition of the term, I’d say yes! I am appreciative, tho, that none called me an armchair cynic, and to me, that would suffice for the moment.

Is this advocacy journalism? – Apols to TOC, but I’m not actually advocating anything. Just wanted to present another view on how the YOG could being valued. Like a number of you, I am also not happy about the current negative vibes, because it focuses us on the present and does not allow us to see the future. YOG has become the end result, but the story for Sgeans, our youths, MUST go beyond it.

Should we keep quite now, and talk later? – I can understand the sentiments in that, but I can’t agree with the logic. When the games end, attempts WILL be made to hijack it’s success, by those I feel value it less than everyday Sgeans, and I am not talking about the critics. We shd make it clear that, even before the YOG ends, there are deeper problems we already need to look at.

Are we putting down the volunteers, athletes and Sg by providing alternative views? – I hope not. In fact, I believe our youths have the right to know all aspects of the issue. And for our guests, they shd also know that Sg is not just home to ultra efficiency, but also a thinking citizenship – in the future they will create, I believe that is of greater value.

If the YOG were to be held anywhere else in the world, it would have similar imperatives, similar rally points for success. Participants would have enjoyed it regardless, and sad to say, I doubt IOC would give a hoot either about how it affects the host’s citizens – you might remember Beijing 2008′s issue on human rights. But if you know it affects you and your children’s future, would you sit idle and pretend all is ok? I believe we support Sg not by playing ball with nationalistic rhetoric, but by doing all we can to secure its future.

I only regret that all I can do is write about it, hoping it would inspire someone better able to do something. So yes, feel free to call me an armchair critic again. :)

36. andrew leung 21 August 2010

PAP could have given some free tickets for those citizens interested to go and watch the games rather than force school children and NS men to go.

This is the most cheapskate government in the whole world when it comes to its citizens.

37. More appropriate analogy:

you are deep in the trenches, lobbing grenades and firing rifles at the men i white, whose base is on the other side.

stuck in the middle are the people actually doing the work for yog. no matter what, your attacks on the men in white will result in some of the people int he middle getting shot.

like jt said, “innocent bystander collateral casualty.”

i agree with sureornot that “We could go on arguing, but it’s pointless as views are at the extreme end I guess.”

call me narrow-minded if you want, but aren’t you guys sticking to your own viewpoint fiercely as well? ie. the ‘macro’ perspective.

even the frog in the well’s viewpoint is an alternative viewpoint and isn’t that what this site is for? in no way am i claiming not to be a ‘frog in the well’. i am not the typical toc reader – just a ‘apathetic’ singaporean.

38. @RW
    if you are watching a bad movie in the cinema, do you immediately turn to your neighbour to discuss how bad the movie is? Or do you sit and watch the whole movie first and take the discussion outside?

who says one must complete the movie, i’ll have just walk out

39. andrew leung 21 August 2010

Unfortunately for the young innocent volunteers, they have to keep their chin up and spirits high, as they eat their dog food and work for their Master’s Olympic dreams and monetary desires.

They have to grow up very fast and be a PAP apologist on behalf of their master and take fire from fellow citizens who are unhappy with the way they are being treated and made use of.

They are also used as human shields to mask their Master’s incapability, incompetency and their huge greed and vanity.

40. iamaYOGravedigger 21 August 2010

einmal

All the negative demanding for damning photos and letters for YOG is starting to feel like noise. Can you just shut up already? We’re trying to enjoy the show.

……………..
    who are the WE?
    you want to enjoy the show..go ahead setup buy your OWNED theathre..nobody stopped you @ all…butt if you insist the theathre is already setup chargin the REAL WE with a bill whether we liked it or not is a NO NO thinggie…
    till then be an ANIMAL..act liked 1..don’t lived in mandai zoo and demand we buy banana for YOU when we don’t even want to visit mandai zoo in the first place…

41. iamaYOGravedigger 21 August 2010

einmal 21 August 2010
    More appropriate analogy:

you are deep in the trenches, lobbing grenades and firing rifles at the men i white, whose base is on the other side.
    …………
    ha ha ha
    laughin out loud rollin on the carpet floor in an aircon tent occupied by ministers in white wearvin the kelvair suits painted in white with a giant REDCROSS markin behind their backs…
    you think those men in white gonna give us the REAL we lived FIRING rounds? hav you ever thrown a dummy grenade before?
    i hav….

42. mice is nice 21 August 2010

why would some privileged (selfish) group of people who insist on enjoying YOG be so bothered to delibrately seek the negative comments or feedback online or off.

how often the (MIW) people from privileged background caste off negative feedback as background noise? as trivial?

looks like the ugly side of the PAP political machinery will only get uglier.

what is MSM doing all this while? the devil is in the detail, how articles are presented, worded.

perhaps the direction for alternative media is to caste true volunteers as victims of the social divide. present the realities on the ground, how while chasing dreams volunteer selectively or be viewed as mecenaries who are only concerned about their selfish dreams.

there was a time when people asked where are people of character, i would now say that circumstances like this are likely 1 of the ingredients needed to build character. i hold my hope that it will not be long for the next generation to replace the current crop of softy slackers at helm now. it takes a community to raise a child. i put my bets that the ONLINE community, is the 1 that raises the next generation of leaders.

43. mice is nice 21 August 2010

when things go wrong, & sometimes terribly so. swift but negative feedback is a way to keep the organisers on their toes, otherwise the silence could be taken as a sign that they can take things for granted.

like past track records, a string of mishaps, management errors, PR mis-steps will add up to complete the final picture. at least that is how our justice system works in meting out punishment right?

“last time you did this, that, so on…. so now punishment must be heavier”

or

“ok, this is your 1st offence of this nature so can be abit more lenient, but no next time okie?”

so no, some things cannot wait till its all over then voice out. would you spit spoilt food out of your mouth or continue eating? or would you play safe & dump the spoilt food? you decide, its your choice…

44. @iamaYOGravedigger

who are the WE?
    you want to enjoy the show..go ahead setup buy your OWNED theathre..nobody stopped you @ all…butt if you insist the theathre is already setup chargin the REAL WE with a bill whether we liked it or not is a NO NO thinggie…
    till then be an ANIMAL..act liked 1..don’t lived in mandai zoo and demand we buy banana for YOU when we don’t even want to visit mandai zoo in the first place…”

perhaps you didn’t read my post properly. those aren’t my words. those are the words of someone actually on the ground at yog.

again, i’m not saying the government is perfect and should be praised to the skies for the huge success that is yog. but since it’s here already, can’t we at least try to make the best of it?

“ha ha ha
    laughin out loud rollin on the carpet floor in an aircon tent occupied by ministers in white wearvin the kelvair suits painted in white with a giant REDCROSS markin behind their backs…
    you think those men in white gonna give us the REAL we lived FIRING rounds? hav you ever thrown a dummy grenade before?
    i hav….”

your rounds are not hurting the men in white, but they are hurting the people who matter – but you guys still go on.

@miceisnice
    “perhaps the direction for alternative media is to caste true volunteers as victims of the social divide. present the realities on the ground, how while chasing dreams volunteer selectively or be viewed as mecenaries who are only concerned about their selfish dreams.”

i agree, but i believe that, largely, this is not what is happening.

intelligent criticism aside, much of it is just slamming and ill will.

you call us (people who don’t diss yog) selfish, but can’t the reverse be said for people who do? gathering in big groups online, posting comments and sharing photos together does provide a sort of pleasure and satisfaction for yourself doesn’t it?

this will be my last post. good bye.

45. SureOrNot? 21 August 2010

Like what I’ve posted in TR, let’s just make it happening and all attend the closing ceremony regardless if there are tickets or not. Let them see how supportive we can get if we wanted to. I don’t think it constitute an illegal assembly right and I’m also sure the media coverage will be better than the opening ceremony as Countries have medals to celebrate upon and will be more willing to cover on the YOG.

ps: I love wearing black for special occasions.

46. mice is nice 21 August 2010

einmal, 21 August 2010

maybe not yet, cos not all volunteers are volunteering for altruistic reasons? S’poreans by & large are a pragmatic lot, the social conditioning that was in place for decades isn’t going to change in an instant.

yes, i agree there are lots of unhappiness on the ground, & many are just rants. i too, am guilty of such rants from time to time. i do that to relieve stress, also because for too long officialdom does not take any feedback from people seriously- hence, the cynics. so blame who?

before you flip the coin over & say the reverse (selfishness) is true. let’s ponder who are the really selfish people. success gained by stepping onto the heads of others or people voicing their unhapiness being stepped on? how would you react if the dreams of a few are pirioritised, over that of the masses? isn’t it elitist?

47. It seems to be strange that someone so impressed by all things YOG would visit this site and expect TOC to write posts about the great happenings there. Isn’t that naive? With so many forums and blogs, why choose TOC to lambast others’ personal expressed opinions? There has not been many instances where volunteers and participants were the targets other than the MIW and the organisers. As many here had said, this event was not for Singaporeans but more for the MIW. If we are defranchised from them, it is for many other causes, hosting the YOG being one of them.\

Without TOC and other sites highlighting major cock-ups and other flaws, we all might be in the dark and accept the MSMs reports as god’s truths. As it is, the MIW had many good years hoodwinking the public and glossing their achievements, when there was no internet.

My advice to these people, expect to draw flak here, and if you cannot take the heat, get out of the kitchen.

48. dilbert 22 August 2010

I appreciate that there needs to be a place for alternative views, and I think TOC should stop calling itself objective if it has no longer any desire to be.

There’s nothing wrong presenting only one side of the story as long as you are upfront with your readers. MSM lost credibility by pretending to be objective when it is not. TOC lately doing exactly the same thing.

If you got all your news from TOC, you would assume that YOG is total failure/cock up, an embarassment to Singapore with zero people interested in it.

This is clearly not the case. And the absence of any recognition of that by TOC says a lot about their agenda.

49. Middle Ground 23 August 2010

I fully agree with dilbert.

TOC, pls focus your attention on real issues, rather than minor YOG errors, if your ultimate objective is to provide a credible alternative to MSM.

Focus on big ticket items like immigration, housing, flood etc. These are real cock-ups that will bite the pappies in the coming election.

But if TOC start to lose focus and go after each and every minor issues with same vigor as that for major policy errors, then TOC will likely appear bias and petty.

Please don’t allow the pappies to escape from their major cock-ups by drowning out the key message with minor YOG issues.

50. iamlordoftheRINGgit 23 August 2010

Middle Ground 23 August 2010
    I fully agree with dilbert.

TOC, pls focus your attention on real issues, rather than minor YOG errors, if your ultimate objective is to provide a credible alternative to MSM.
    …..
    wah! you are the most generous AYAM in singapoor..you can afford to splash out $387 million$ and says minor YOG error…
    you know what are you? it motorist liked YOU when 1 bicyclist hit your wing mirror of your benz…you would had STOPPED in the middle of the YOG 2nd lane..dialed 911 jogged down the cyclist number and demand a polis car to track the bicyclist who TOUCHED your benz wing mirror and ride without stoopin…