Choo Zheng Xi -

The unhappiness of Singaporeans at everything YOG can really be narrowed down to this: the government’s unfailing belief that everything, even passion and enthusiasm, can be manufactured if you throw enough money at it.

Unfortunately for them, this is where they hit a brick wall. Was it Machiavelli or Lee Kuan Yew who said a good leader was one who ruled by fear and not by love?

Organizers of the games, in an effort to hammer our population into looking gracious, have reverted to form. Only the Brigadiers that staff the organizing committee, with the support of the Brigadiers in the Cabinet office could have concocted the $150 threat to motorists to give way to the YOG motorcade.

As the disjunct between the official line and popular sentiment continues to grow, an even more overtly fascistic tactic is being put into play: the mobilization of state propaganda to promote the event.

But how clumsy the Goebbles in our Ministries and what poor tools of journalists they have been given to work with! Even the adolescent athletes of visiting countries must have cringed at the paean to the YOG opening by sensitive nosed Rohit Brijnath, who wrote of how “history filled the nostrils” of participants on a day so beautiful it was blessed with the “smell of fresh beginnings and where a threatening rain miraculously stayed in the heavens”. (Click on picture, right)

Saner Singaporeans must have wondered what Mr Brijnath was putting up his nostrils.

Not to be outdone by the former USSR, the press even created Singapore’s very own Stakhanovite! 12 year old Low Wei Jie’s every action has been covered in painful detail since his fateful run after the Olympic torch. His act sent his MP Michael Palmer into such paroxysms of joy that he gave him free tickets to the games. Was Palmer rejoicing that finally the tide of public opinion would turn in favor of the YOG?

Unfortunately for him, it won’t.

The lack of enthusiasm for the YOG is a symptom of the illness of the systematic underfunding and neglect of local sports. The passion for sports that can only be shared by a society that lives and breathes and celebrates a sporting culture is non-existent in Singapore.

[Picture right, empty chairs during a performance]

The glaringly disused former National Stadium bears sullen witness to our government’s neglect, its non-existent replacement is the metaphorical missing limb in our national sporting culture.

But Argentinians would riot if Maracanna were closed for a day: why don’t Singaporeans seem to care?

More fundamental than underfunding, the spirit of materialism as the pinnacle value of Singapore Inc runs completely counter to the Olympic spirit. Our citius, altius, fortius are not those of the sportsman’s striving for personal fulfillment. Our citius, altius, fortius are the principles of management and the striving for revenue generation.

This “monetarist” approach has been transposed into our quest for Olympic gold: whole table tennis teams can be bought, much the way companies acquire competitors.

The taxi driver understands our national psyche in a way that our Ministers drawing millions could never. One told me: “Singaporeans only turn up to watch sports if there’s betting. You close Singapore Pools, see if people go watch S-League”.

By the PAP’s logic, which unfortunately has had free reign in shaping Singaporean behavior, sports for the purpose of human ennoblement is as useless as political plurality for the same: it doesn’t make money.

Any wonder then that Singaporeans are unhappy with the loss making YOG?

——————–

Click here for photos of empty seats during YOG music performances.

———————

Andrew Loh

In the meantime, questions are being raised about the aim of the Singapore Youth Olympic Games.

The Ministry which oversees the YOG is the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports, headed by Minister Vivian Balakrishnan. [Picture right]

The British Broadcasting Corporation reported that “[Dr] Balakrishnan, the Minister of Community Development, Youth and Sports sees it as a chance to extend Singapore’s image as an efficient globally connected city.”

On the ballooning budget of the YOG, which has increased four times, Dr Balakrishnan said: “But it is an amount that will give us value for money in terms of positioning ourselves, in terms of marketing ourselves, in terms of making sure we are on everyone’s radar screen the next time they make an investment decision, the next time they decide to site an international or regional headquarters or the next time they decide to expand their business.”

On the Singapore2010 official website, however, the purpose of the YOG seems to be different. The site says: “The Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games aims to inspire youth around the world to embrace, embody and express the Olympic values of Excellence, Friendship and Respect. It will create a lasting sports, culture and education legacy for Singapore and youths from around the world, as well as enhance and elevate the sporting culture locally and regionally.”

Is there a disparity of purpose between the Ministry’s and the YOG’s organizing committee’s?

Weighing in on the issue, FIFA president Sepp Blatter said: “It’s never been said that these games are there to make money. It’s to bring the young people together… If the local organizing committee is suffering about that, then I’m very sorry.”

Therein perhaps lies the problem – the government using the Games to promote Singapore as a business hub while the YOG itself is a sporting event which should indeed be promoting the spirit and values of sport – for its own sake.

Click here for BBC’s interview with Vivian Balakrishnan.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

86 Responses to “Dea(r)th of our Olympic Dream”

1. “The lack of enthusiasm for the YOG is a symptom of the illness of the systematic underfunding and neglect of local sports”

We paid lots of money to buy China’s ping-pong players to win some medals so that PAP ministers can show their faces with the winning team.

Zheng Xi has given the PAP too much credit for making money.

The PAP government think themselves a great business people, but they aren’t great business people, more like blood- suckers.

2. so,we also got a 雷锋 in singapore.
    maybe singapore pools should open bets on yog, that will attract audience

3. YOG is not the PAP event or Singapore gahmen event. It is the international Olympic event where Singapore plays host for the youths of the world to compete in Olympic sports. The anti-PAP, anti-gahmen, anti-everything Singaporeans simply cannot differentiate what is a PAP or Olympic event and criticise everything done for the YOG to date is wrong. Nothing done is right. Ridiculous, unbelievable! Let me say this to the hardcore anti-PAP, anti-gahmen, anti-everything opponents in Singapore, the air you breathe in also belong to the PAP, gahmen and Singaporeans. The only way is to breathe the air outside Singapore!

4. jungleboy573 17 August 2010

@Devagi
    The point perhaps some of us are trying to make is that the ruling party, the elite even, the PAP have been at work in this country since well before 1965. Who else do you want to take responsibility?

The comment about ‘internalising the discourse’, is a fancy way of saying you have been had. The joke is on you for not only believing but also taking upon as true to your existence, what they tell you to think.

You know the myth, the legend. Little red dot, up against the world, something to prove … make more money, the kiasu way – all that nonsense.

Yes, we all take some responsibility as we live out our lives, but we have also had the wool pulled over our eyes. We’ve been manipulated. Let me say that again: A minority of people have profiteered off the backs of the majority – who also let it happen to themselves. You’re right, it’s not just LKY pulling strings – it’s a multitude of people doing without thinking.

I don’t know about you, but I can feel the tide turning. A rising of consciousness to something greater than what we are being told is true.

5. dilbert 17 August 2010

Zheng Xi,

you ignored points about running down something based on second hand info, but nvm.

But seriously, you are using Tan howe Liang as an example to bolster your underfunding argument? Serious? A pre-independence example while conveniently forgetting what happened to anybody in recent memory who has even achieved lesser successes.

Also eh served as a taxi driver only for a short while after his restaurant usiness failed. Then he became a coach and was hired by the SSC. Not that this is a lot, but certainly not as chia lat as you make it out to be.

Also, you are trying to argue that SAA’s problems stem from a lack of funding instead of mismanagement? Another HUH??? moment.

Also please check why the sports hub is delayed. is it because Govt is underfunding it?

My goodness.
    You essentially hanging your argument on a “limited resourses” quote.

When did you stop caring about facts?

6. Alphaomegapie 17 August 2010

Ministry of Education is run by talentless idiots.

Would it really have messed up the school schedule to let 12-16 year old kids spend 4 hours of ONE evening at the YOG celebrations on a rotating schedule for nothing else except to make it NOT look like a ghost town?

How hard would it be to coordinate between the two organizations!? Talk about the lack of quality leadership.

It really is embarrassing that despite all our technology and knowledge, a backward country North Korea can put up a better show for an international event.

7. iamnoKILENGlikedevagi 17 August 2010

Devagi

the air you breathe in also belong to the PAP, gahmen and Singaporeans
    …………
    harlor..agreed with you 102%…singapoorium 1-2 breath..must pay
    if not go to johore bahru..the air over there is halal…
    when was the last time do you ever see leekingyou and cancerlee placed a ca$h card in their vehicles?

8. Rebel Rising 17 August 2010

YOG = Sports for Kids = Compete for glory = Success = Olympic Gold

PAP = Materialism = Greed = Failure = Loss

The twain shall never meet because, ………………………………….. (fill in the dotted lines).

9. dilbert 17 August 2010

iamno…

your racist username makes it very difficult to take any of your comments seriously.
    I wonder why the moderator has not removed the comment….

10. Devagi, if YOG is not related to PAP why does Balakrishnan’s face and other ministers appear all over the media during the event, and spending about $400 million?

The YOG event in S’pore is a PAP ego-trip gone sour and rancid. Its not something you want to breath in.

If PAP wanted to promote sports in Singapore it should have free-to-air live telecast of the football matches of the World Cup and also for the Olympics in Beijing.

11. mice is nice 17 August 2010

Devagi, 17 August 2010

S’poreans are doing this for PAP’s own good. S’poreans gave them 66.6% mandate (where are they now?), gave them good salaries, gave them a chance to prove their worth.

but what happen when people needed govt’s help during the toxic investment saga, recession, relentless influx of competition, etc…? no one responsible? really? Uniquely S’pore…

NPD just over, what is the S’pore Pledge? why PAP treats foreigners above locals? our govt is paid by foreigners har?

12. Fugazzi 17 August 2010

Singaporeans by and large have woken up and are waking up from the hypnosis and deep slumber and now know that the incumbents are no longer trustworthy – hence the lukewarm response lah. Blame? Not the citizens but the uncaring,arrogant, condescending and venal self-serving MIWs. It is the consequence of divide and rule, the consequence of elitism, the consequence of segmentation …. one can add on lah, the inequities are Himalayan!
    One can lie, dictate, hoodwink and suppress the truth but not for long.

13. seaporter 18 August 2010

I think we singaporean can make it happen w/o the PAP and their policy of bringing in foreign talent. Let’s educate the kids, encourage our kids and motivate them to train hard. With hard work comes success and the spirit of sports is attained. Why in so many year we chase after GDP, $$$, high cost of living! Nothing of a medal is gained except when our we won a pathetic silver for TT. In fact, we singaporean dont respect the medal which are bought with our tax payers money. We must show our PAP that we can do it!

14. Next Article:

Death Of A Nation.

15. dilbert 18 August 2010

iamno…

the word in itself might be alright when used by an aunty in a hokkien sentence. Your application is entirely different. Interesting that you subsequently removed the word “like” from your username, which does change the meaning quite a bit.

16. Jackson 18 August 2010

I don’t bother about what YOG. It’s not an event I want. What I want is government accountability to some of the pressing issues I’m facing ie rising bus fares, too many foreigners etc.

17. Anti-Devagi 18 August 2010

Devagi, seemed like your brain has been Papies-washed! Your views of disenting citizens being anti-PAP, anti-gahmen, anti-everything is not objective at all.

The air should be free. Nobody, not even PAPies, can claim the air as theirs.

By your statement, you are implying that Singapore belong to PAP. Then, why are you saying that PAP is not to blame for all the unhappiness in this Why Orgy thing?

18. mice is nice 18 August 2010

iamnoKILENGdevag, 18 August 2010

you are in your own little world where you expect others to know what you are saying all the time.

you can try to appear learnt or go back posting in your forums where everyone understand what you posted.

19. Dream On 18 August 2010

I can see a glimpse of hope in the rebirth of Singapore after the ashes of YOG has settled.

Failure breeds success. The many hiccups experienced in this fracas YOG must be learned and corrected. Our MIW must wake up & realise their follies in their high-handed execution of this $Million Dream. Some of these high-handed MIW ministers who still live in their ivory towers will need to be replaced.

The government must do what is fair and equitable. The elites, including MIW, must come down to earth and not expect to be treated like kings while the ordinary citizens are treated like digits.

Give our people the JUSTICE & EQUALITY as in our National Pledge. And this included the MIW & their cronies – they should never be shielded or defended as if they are perfect and never make mistakes. They are not god and they make silly mistakes too.

20. Devagi

Why they gave the YOG award to the PM? I think thats the silliest thing ever a host nation can do!

21. Devagi

No, YOG is not PAP thingy, but YOG is organisted by a multi-million dollar paid PAP minister. Why can’t people expect better? Why all the empty seats in SG, why no broadcast in UK where I am (Euro Champaionship shown everyday instead), nothing heard on radio too.

If the Minister wants the World to notice SG, he should have some creativity, something original from SG. I would have gone for the ‘Green’ theme big time instead of mascots & ‘rock’ concerts.

22. Instead of bouncy castles, I would have set up Formula 1 driving stimulator for the public. Ya, lots of money needed for this but at least it will produce results.

23. Peter Sellers 18 August 2010

No Way, agree with your comments (“No broadcast in UK….. etc”).

I just received a visitor from Europe at the airport this evening. He says there’s absolutely no coverage of the YOG on European TV or print media. Nothing, zilch.

So much for Balakrishnan’s spurious assurances that the $400 m spent on the games have won Singapore millions of ‘eyeballs’ around the world.

This is another Temasek type debacle for which no one will be held accountable, at least in public, and no heads will roll.

24. Fugazzi 18 August 2010

If Singaporeans were only allowed to have polls to rank the performance of govt or the PM – it would be earth shattering truth – probably very low lor!

25. Asking Devagi 18 August 2010

That ‘Devagi’ is simply a
    ‘SIMPLETON’.
    Ask yourself: Who initiated YOG?
    Answer: PAP
    Who are the people running the show?
    Answer: PAP
    Who busted the YOG budget: PAP
    To: Devagi: I suggest you use your brain.

26. Devagi is the same pro-PAP doggie that plagues Temasek Review’s comment sections.

The PAP has always prided itself as ‘pragmatic’. Unfortunately, that means they always preferred to throw money at something to make things work.

One great example is high salaries for ministers, thinking great pay translates to great performance.

Unfortunately, passion, creativity, enterprise etc do not work that way. Especially in the realm of international sports.

In addition, many Singaporeans resent being inconvenienced or exploited by the YOG. They also hate being bombarded on all fronts by the YOG hype and ads. There’s even a shameless pug for the YOG during the NDP. Naturally, the simplest way to show displeasure is to ignore the YOG.

Besides the waste of public funds, the PAP govt is very foolish to be the guinea pig for the IOC by volunteering to host an untested, inaugural event. Oh no, face is more important, being FIRST and NUMBER ONE is so very important in the prick waving contest. Just like the ‘WORLD’S FIRST F1 NIGHT RACE’ nonsense.

Even if the pappies sincerely wanted to host the YOG, would it kill them to wait until at least the much delayed Sports Hub is ready? Let some other experienced country eg. Russia, USA, China host the inaugural YOG.

Oh, it’s the hungry ghost month and a very rainy season too. And it’s the fasting month of Ramadan. Excellent planning and foresight, Vivi. B, Ng Ser Miang and Teo Ser Luck.

You screwed up big time. You made your bed, now lie on it.

27. mice is nice 19 August 2010

getting real support is like finding love. no money no honey, but with enough money, you can afford to chase your honey.

so now i guess the only way to win support is for individual volunteers to persuade by any means to garner support. for the people involved, there’s an incentive to want to feel good, be proud. nobody wants to be a part of a flop, more so if they have appeared outspokenly positive.

as far as PAP go, i do not see the whole organisation standing together to support their very own. it speaks alot about unity or the lack of it.

my personal opinion that the Olympic Village somehow shares similiarities with the Green Zone in Iraq- a bubble unto itself. not sure how the rest feel though…

28. Red Dot 19 August 2010

Very very well said/written.
    Olympic games embodies development of body, strong minds, friendships, endurances of the whole person etc etc.
    Whereas the PAP had said it, it helps to propel Singapore (as a good place for making $$$).
    What a world of difference – I wonder whether Jacque Roggue can understand now if (on hindsight as what pap like to say) he could have handle it better by not awarding the Inaugural Games to a little red dot.

29. all this whining and ‘pouring of cold water’ is akin to giving the middle finger not only to the government (deservedly so or not) and to the enthusiastic volunteers and athletes who are doing their best.

i personally know volunteers who are slaving away as photographers, reporters and emcees, but loving every minute of their work. they cannot stand reading such comments.

seriously all you guys are doing are akin to touching each other in the privates, making yourself feel good about your self-righteous i-know-better point of view.

not to say zheng xi does not have a point, but is it really necessary to go on and on and on and on about how yog is a failure, how no one gives a shit, how it shouldn’t have been done?

give some face to the people who are working their guts out for this.

30. ijustvisitedMANDIEzoo 21 August 2010

einmal
    give some face to the people who are working their guts out for this.
    …………….

ok ahmeng’s grandson….if you says so..
    louise vuitton or banana?

31. mice is nice 21 August 2010

einmal, 20 August 2010

quote:
    “i personally know volunteers who are slaving away as photographers, reporters and emcees, but loving every minute of their work. they cannot stand reading such comments.”

that is 1 way to put it, how about parents who can only look on helplessly as their very own children as beig exploited? you know how heart-breaking that is? would parents be better off supporting with tears of sorrow or tears of pride?

this is just 1 event, there could well be more (F1 Race, & more, more… who really knows) in the pipeline… parents would be better off fending off such abuse, prevent it from gaining ground then to let the process repeat itself all too often.

32. For the hardcore anti-PAP, anti-gahmen, anti-YOG, anti-everything Singapore, please join the opposition parties and stand as candidates for the forthcoming GE. If elected, you are in a position to help every Singaporean and go around the world telling everybody that everything done in Singapore was a failure and bad. You can even challenge the recent Newsweek article report about Singapore. Talk is cheap in this forum!

33. mice is nice 21 August 2010

Devagi, 21 August 2010

talk is cheap, where are the PAP supporters to fill the venues? MSM must report about half-filled venues then they come out? i would have expected them to be more pro-active, must have been copying officialdom’s bad habits?

dunno why the people in position now dun really bother about the plight & concerns of the people, har? you also give up on the current bunch of greedy slackers right?

34. istillnoKILENGlikeddevagi 21 August 2010

Devagi 21 August 2010
    For the hardcore anti-PAP, anti-gahmen, anti-YOG, anti-everything Singapore, please join the opposition parties and stand as candidates for the forthcoming GE
    …………
    ello tangachi the tongue twister..you master pap.dot.inc hav the BALLS to throw a man-2-man vote or not?
    in dia do you find a GRC team or not? do you find 1 eater pay 6 prata/chepati bread or not?..so to you if leekingyou 1-2-hav 3 banagla 1 indian 1 tamil tiger gureilla to stand as GRC in tanjong pagar..you would had says..who is payin for the NUN roti? chiamseetong again?