Richard Seah

If you are seriously ill and have a limited time to live, and you have $30,500 worth of savings, how would you like best to spend that money? Hands up those who would spend it in a hospital. Anybody?

In the debate about Medisave, some people on this forum have called it a scam. But many people do feel it is both necessary and desirable to set aside money for medical expenses. I remember a few years ago, one newspaper editorial stated that arguing against the merits of Medisave “is a waste of time”. At the risk of wasting both my time and yours, I ask that you reconsider this basic premise.

First, is it necessary? Not if you accept the fact – and this is increasingly confirmed by medical research – that the majority of illnesses can be prevented. If you take good care of your health, your arteries will not get clogged up, your liver, pancreas, kidneys and other organs will not break down and your immune system will conquer most bacteria, viruses and even cancer cells.

What if you don’t take care? Well, if you have a heart attack or a stroke, there is a good chance that you will die suddenly. So there is again no need for medical expenses.

If you develop diabetes, your Medisave fund won’t cover your daily jabs of insulin. The money will come in handy if you need to amputate your leg, but again, not after that when you need to engage a maid to help you move around.

Of course, there will be some people who might find their Medisave money useful, such as those who require heart bypass, stent insertion and similar surgery. But hey! The same procedures can be done in Malaysia or Thailand for a fraction of the cost, even after factoring in travel expenses.

Using Medisave to have them done in Singapore then becomes like buying expensive items from a department store when those same items are on sale cheaply everywhere else. You do it only because you have a gift voucher that cannot be redeemed elsewhere. But Medisave is not a “gift”. It’s your savings!

It was only recently that this “voucher” can be redeemed – and only partially in any case – at some Malaysian branches of the same medical “department store”. If you prefer (or happen to be in) Thailand, Philippines or some other country, sorry, you pay cash… while your Medisave idles away back home, waiting to follow you to your grave.

About the only significant group of people who might find Medisave “necessary” are those who spend the final months in and out of hospitals, fighting one medical battle after another. If you belong to this group, you would do well to ask yourself – and your children and siblings, who might be using their Medisave money plus lots more cash since Medisave won’t be enough: Is this desirable?

One person who found a more desirable way to use his money was the American journalist Norman Cousins, who was diagnosed with a so-called “incurable” illness. Instead of feeling miserable in a hospital, he decided to check into a hotel. After all, it cost less money. He felt better right away. The service and the food were far superior and there were no nurses to wake him up in the middle of the night to ask him to take his medicines.

(As an aside, I still remember when I was in hospital some 35 years ago. I was woken up one night by a nurse asking me to take my sleeping pills! Yes, they do stupid things like this. “It’s the policy,” the nurse had explained to me.)

To entertain himself, Cousins rented funny movies. This was in the 1960s, before video, VCD and DVD, when movies came as film and projector. Cousins spent his days watching Groucho Marx movies and literally laughed himself to recovery – and became famous for writing about his experiences in Anatomy of an Illness,

Hugh Faulkner, author of Physician Heal Thyself, was a British medical doctor who was diagnosed with advanced pancreatic cancer when he was in his mid-70s. Despite being a medical doctor, he sought alternative treatment through a macrobiotic diet.

Faulkner wrote in his book that just before the Christmas after his diagnosis, he drew up a list of “presents” that he had always wanted – either to have or to do. It was a long list. Among other things, he bought a computer and learned to play a musical instrument. These contributed as much to his recovery as his change of diet. He led an active, healthy and fulfilling life for about another seven years, even though the original prognosis was just six to nine months. I had the privilege of meeting this brave man – it takes courage for a medical doctor to seek alternative medical treatment – when I attended the Macrobiotic Summer Camp back in 1993.

Recovery is never guaranteed, of course. What is guaranteed is that you will feel much happier spending your final $30,500 on the things that you’ve always wanted, than on drugs and chemotherapy that cause you to lose your appetite, your hair… and your will to live!

———-

*The views expressed in this article are the writer’s and do not represent that of The Online Citizen.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

43 Responses to “How to spend your final $30,500”

1. interesting…

2. Be warned lest anyone die of a heart attack !

Just wait till one have the luxury of seeking treatment at any hospital and when you tell them that you want to pay out of your Medisave or Medishield cover, be prepared to hear that you can’t make use of either for your first time visit because there is a min sum payable or deductible applicable.

And if you make the hospital your frequent hotel for subsequent visits, then maybe the subsequent visits will become reimbursable.

3. iprayedCANCERLEEcancereturn 6 August 2010

as mentioned before..my kaki and his sister hav more than the required $50,000 medicsaves to cover their belated canceridden mum who was billed near a $50,000…
    without a doubt 1 assumed 1 can ultilized that all you can saved $50,000 medicsaves in life or death situation..
    is cancer a life or death or just somebodys’ horroscope perhaps?
    and ere we hav the most overpaid prestigious genius ministers who tell you otherwise..yes used that medicsaves by all means..you can only used 10% to treat that cancer..the re$t you pay in ca$h!

4. tiredsingaporean 6 August 2010

this is true, they don’t tell you the truth until when you start using your medisafe, this cannot, that cannot, this must pay cash, that must also pay cash, all these medisafe thingies nothing but a scam by the papies garment to locked away your cpf monies. Alot of citizens still unaware that more than 30% of their total monthly cpf contribution was being locked away for this medisafe BS.

5. Hmmmm..... 6 August 2010

Hmmmmmm…. citizens should be given the choice how much they want in medisafe. Why need a 1 size fits all amount?

Hmmmm… don’t make any sense.

6. We need CPF to publish the statistics a figures in the open:
    e.g. how many die without ever using up their CPF savings or medisave

7. TCM should be allowed for medisave. it is far more effective and cheaper

8. checkherecheckthere 6 August 2010

if you are unlucky and have a major illness you will then find out that the hospital is really a big money sucking machine. It will suck you dry before you are cure.

They will check here check there test here test there. In the end if you are lucky you are cure from your illness but you will have a instant death when you receive the bill and find out the amount of cash you have to pay.

Is it worth spending so much on medical just to prolong your life for another year but get your family in deep financial shit?

Many of us know that logically it is not worth the money and trouble but how many of us have to the gut to do otherwise?

9. shutup 6 August 2010

i say, cpf is time to be unlocked now. it is time for singaporeans to take it ouy as and when as they like it, because cpf is our own hard earned monies…

besides unlocking cpf monies back to us now, even the medisave column and the special account also must stat to unlocked now also!

Any one to comment on these?

10. Illegal Alien 6 August 2010

The basic premise is fine, however, the promotion of alternative medicines is not. Anecdotal stories are not evidence when no scientific proof backs up the claims that alternative medicines and healthy living is better. Seeking out proper treatment in a reputable hospital gives you a much higher chance of living.

That said though, you don’t need the government to save for you when you can do so yourself.

11. Richard 7 August 2010

There have been medical / scientific studies that show, eg, that people with cancer tend to die faster – and in a more painful way – if they seek medical treatment.

Likewise, studies on iatrogenic illness – ie illness that result from medical care, either due to expected side effects, errors, etc – show that medical care is a MAJOR cause of death in countries like the US.

As for CY’s remark about TCM… one very memorable case was when a girl wrote to STForum some years ago saying how she spent over 10K on medical treatment for her skin problem but no improvement, and in the end a few dollars worth of Chinese herbs did the job.

Equally memorable was ST senior writer’s DR Andy Ho’s response. He wrote a piece saying his son also has skin problems and his son takes some drugs with a long list of possible side effects (some of which, I remember, were pretty serious). But Dr Ho’s bottom line was the the drugs were still preferable BECAUSE THEY ARE SCIENTIFIC.

Many people adopt the position that “scientific” is automatically desirable – and likewise unscientific is “bad” – even when drugs are scientifically known to be harmful and/or ineffective.

12. Richard 7 August 2010

Why is it “not fine” to promote alternative medicine?

Attitudes such as this are no better than the PAP’s attitude that it is “not fine” to promote alternative / contrarian / opposition viewpoints. It is not just in the realm of politics that some people wish for only one viewpoint to prevail.

If we wish to accept only scientific “facts” then kindly provide the scientific backing for the statement: “Seeking out proper treatment in a reputable hospital gives you a much higher chance of living.”

13. preston loon 7 August 2010

Dear Richard,
    Someone once told me about there is another alternative treatment called Kilation (i may have the spelling wrong.).Please tell us what this is.

14. Clearly, Medisave and Medishield – and any other follow-up programs that are supposed to look after us till death – is nothing more then to ensure that OUR funds will be spent on services provided by the government with OUR tax money – so as to allow them to collect OUR remaining funds in the Medisave and Medishield.

The excuse and reasons given is that WE cannot be depended on to safely retained sufficient funds to look after ourselves, and will end up being a burden to other Singaporeans.

In truth, the fear is that this burden will fall back onto the Government.

With the Government of the Pro Alien Party extracting so much from the meagre incomes of all Singaporeans – through the various ingeniously designed revenue collecting mechanisms, Singaporeans are in fact giving more to the State than the high taxes paid by the Swedes in their reknown high tax Sweden.

Still the Swedes are a happier lot despite living in a high tax country, as they get alot more individual benefits from the State then what Singapore can hope from our government formed by the Pro Alien Party.

While the Swedes pay alot to the State coffer, it allowed for economies of scale to be achieved for the various essential services needed in high cost Sweden that range from basic health care to hospitalisation, from infant care to old age, from kindergarten to university.

Is it a surprise that Sweden is seeing a rise in their birth rates ?

Sadly, Singaporeans are made to pay for everything including the high wages of the self-acclaimed talented elites, who will pass approving legislations to give themselves their world reknown obscene annual remunerations.

With the amount of wealth accumulated from Singaporeans that make the Singapore State Treasury richer than that of Sweden – [See references below], this Government of the Pro Alien Party will not allow the same set of Swedish conditions to exist in Singapore.

To rub salt into our wounds, even in our dying days, the remaining monies in the Medisave and Medishield Accounts will not benefit us if we are struck with an terminal illness.
    Sweden Reserves of Foreign Currency and Gold: US$47.29 Billion (2009 est) – (World Ranking: 31)
    https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/sw.html

Singapore Reserves of Foreign Currency and Gold: US$187.8 Billion (2009 est) – (World Ranking: 10)
    https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/sn.html

Swedish Tax Rates
    http://www.taxrates.cc/html/sweden-tax-rates.html

Sweden’s Birth Rate
    http://www.indexmundi.com/sweden/birth_rate.html

Singapore’s Birth Rate comparison with the World
    http://www.prb.org/Articles/2009/fallingbirthrates.aspx

15. looney tunes 7 August 2010

@ Preston Loon

I think you mean “Chelation”. It is a process of removing toxicity from one’s body. Just google it.

16. eaglefly 7 August 2010

my take,

RELEASE MY MONEY, IN WHATEVER FORM OF “FORCE SAVINGS”

this money is hard earned and not for the “CROOKS” in gov.

they have this so called “POLICY” should your medisave reach the max limit, all interest and forward earnings that goes into medisave, overflows into the SA, so what is medisave if not, “ENFORCE SAVING”

and the so called managers, lead about in work by the ears and nose, telling all enquiriers, “its gov / cpf policy” without thinking of the “VALIDITY” of what they said or reason of the acct itself.

can someone owe money to one’s acct ???
    any logic here ???

17. preston loon 7 August 2010

@looney tunes,
    Thanks.

18. preston loon 7 August 2010

@checkhereCheckthere,
    It is not because we have no guts.Simply put,everyone wants to go to heaven but no one wants to die.

19. doctorwho 7 August 2010

Since already going to die, might as well do some charity work. Like use 30k to hire a hit man (or A Team) to squash some rotten papaya?

20. CPF is a scam. So complicated with so many schemes added over the years – the ultimate aim is to retain our money.

Miserable retirement years – all the money in CPF dish out to us abit at a time every month.

Somehow I always have this sense that our hard earn saving in CPF does not belong to us as we have no control over it.

21. masterservant 7 August 2010

Yes, people do get fine for not paying into medisave account, even if that account reaches the max limit and should interest or any money is paid into that account after reaching maximum, the sum or dollars will overflow into SA.

Both account are not allowed to be used, unless you want to check into hospital for holiday stay or for siblings or parents, not even for grandparents.

Ironic policies in place by ironic people out to scheme you.

22. Tan PW 7 August 2010

I don’t think you could spend the whole $30,500 but have to leave at least $1K in the account.

My mother who is >80 years old was hospitalised in Jun 10. $1,350 could be claimed from medisave account to settle the hospital bill. Her medisave account balance at that time was slightly more than $2K. Logically she could use her own medisave to settle the bill. But the end result was, CPF Board allowed $1,080 to be claimed from her account, the balance $270 to be claimed from my medisave account. Her medisave account balance is now about $1K.

23. checkherecheckthere 7 August 2010

preston loon,

that’s the part that I don’t understand about us human being. Everyone wants to go heaven and we can do that when we die. The irony is the nearer one is to the heaven’s gate the more reluctant we are of going there. Why? Funny right?

24. I won’t argue on the merits of Medisave, but there are a few errors in your piece and comments.

“… if you have a heart attack or a stroke, there is a good chance that you will die suddenly. So there is again no need for medical expenses.”

It is not true that most patients who suffer a heart attack or stroke die suddenly – they may have non-fatal heart attack/stroke and end up with heart failure or stroke with considerable disability, resulting in long-term medical expenses and reduced quality of life. No amount of prevention can guarantee that you die suddenly and peacefully in sleep; no amount of abuse can guarantee you a sudden death.

“If you develop diabetes, your Medisave fund won’t cover your daily jabs of insulin.”

This is a factual error. One can use one’s Medisave to pay for chronic disease care and medication.

“… medical care is a MAJOR cause of death in countries like the US.”

It is, but it has to be seen in the context that had medical care not be available at all, more preventable deaths would have resulted. Given the number of medical encounters in the US each year, the vast majority of people who undergo medical care do not die.

To draw an analogy, it’s like if faulty seat belts is a major cause of death, you don’t conclude that we should stop wearing seat belts – you conclude that we need to make better seat belts.

“Attitudes such as this are no better than the PAP’s attitude that it is “not fine” to promote alternative / contrarian / opposition viewpoints.”

Demanding scientific evidence is different from an intolerance of political diversity. Even if you cannot provide scientific evidence for your cause, there is no need to imply that your critics are political bigots.

“Many people adopt the position that “scientific” is automatically desirable – and likewise unscientific is “bad” – even when drugs are scientifically known to be harmful and/or ineffective.”

Not to point out an error – I actually think this statement is quite insightful.

“Desirable” and “bad” are value judgements. Scientific evidence doesn’t tell you if something is desirable or bad, it merely tells you how reliable a statment is.

A doctor may state that the evidence shows that “90% of patients with your type of disease die within 12 months with treatment and 6 months without treatment”, but whether or not you wish to spend the money to live for an extra 6 months is up to your own judgement.

25. Bobby Tan 7 August 2010

To myself and many citizens Medisave is nothing but a SCAM.

It is the fundamental responsibility of the Government which collects taxes from the citizens their whole life to provide medical attention.

The Government of Singapore should stop spending billions of dollars of taxpayers money on useless armaments when such money can be put to good use in Medical services, education and welfare.

Shame on thePAP Govt….the world highest paid and yet cannot be bothered with the welfare health of its senior citizens.

Shame on them

26. IAMAquackDOCTOR 7 August 2010

angry doc
    If you develop diabetes, your Medisave fund won’t cover your daily jabs of insulin.”

This is a factual error. One can use one’s Medisave to pay for chronic disease care and medication.
    ………………….
    which hospital are you from? cared to share..because i will screw your AR SH till you bled to death..
    the day dr khaw announced this scheme
    i went to my hospital who treated me..
    the outpatient receptionist told me..
    what you want? i told her this i told her that i even ^CHALLENGED^ her to trace my THICK files just by clickin my I/C number…
    you know what the receptionist told me?
    in order to qualify for the medicsaves $300(yes $300 maximum/annum subsidies) you MUST go through a routine check/test again..i replied.. you meant my THICK files is difficult to trace or are you too LAZY to save my medicsaves scheme?
    i asked her who implement this ridous check/test scheme..the receptionist replied try dr khaw again..it HIS rulin..
    so in order for me to earn my medicsaves $300(as though it is FREE) i hav to spent a near over $200++ for outpateint/tests( yes not 1 test..many tests and i know my NETS kept chargin up liked a texi meter)
    so angry doc..DO YOUR HOMEWORKS before you comment ere.. I WILL CHALLENGED YOU!!!

27. Precisely. I am 54 yrs old. I hv the disease called Wegener G. Internationally, there are only 400-500 persons being affected world wide. I think in Singapore or even SE Asia, I am the only one todate recorded. the good news is that i have between 6-8 yrs life span, of which I had used up 1.5. FYI, there is no cure. I had already spend all my life saving till now, which means 100+K$.
    So I applied for my CPF withdrawal of the miserable 20-30 thousand left, stating to them of this life span I had left. I want to take my money out and spend on the medical bill myself, knowingly I will not live over 65yrs ( who knows what will change) to start the CPF installment.
    Officially the second reply from CPF was ” you are not permanently unfit from ever continuing in any form of employment”. so this highly paid person is telling a dieing man he can work!.
    I am an expert in Material Management, was a high profile management guy before. Please let me know who want to employ me. I need to see a doctor 3 times per month, I can only wake up at the earliest 8.15 am daily, as I do not have a continuous sleep nightly. I need and afternoon nap of 1.5 to 2 hours, depend on the fluctuation of the drugs. I can only continiously work for not more than 3 straight days, the 4th I might just knock out. I might also go inot the hospital when it relapses, which my face will suddenly swell and nose starts to bleen. Please let me know if you have interest in me. Based on my past record, I can work 7/7 16 hrs, for a few yrs, no sweat.

28. I don’t understand what you exactly are disputing: that you cannot use your Medisave for chronic disease, or that the amount you can use is not sufficient/worth your while?

If it is the former, then here is a webpage giving you the information:

http://www.hpb.gov.sg/chronicdisease/faq.htm

If it is the latter, then it is your personal opinion and doesn’t change the fact that the statement “your Medisave fund won’t cover your daily jabs of insulin” is untrue.

29. IAMAquackDOCTOR 7 August 2010

angry doc
    If it is the former, then here is a webpage giving you the information:

http://www.hpb.gov.sg/chronicdisease/faq.htm
    ………………
    you are indeed a filial pap lacky DOG not doc…
    ere you are as usual alway show us a url links whether its cpf or any government department..
    take that url/links..wrapped in a newpaper preferabiLEE the 143th media
    shove into your KARCHNG…
    i challenged you to name which hospital are you from..
    as a doctor you should hav no worries when i knock on your consultation desk..
    by the way when you treat a patient you filled in alot of words on the patient forms..what is that for? tryin to test your parker fountain pen perhaps?
    and bein a professional man your works is not regonised? that your patient must go for an expensive retest?
    what are YOU doin in the clinic in the 1st place? to oggle splinster staff nurse perhaps?

30. So it is the latter then?

Then my statement in my original post is correct.

31. IAMAquackDOCTOR 7 August 2010

angry doc 7 August 2010
    So it is the latter then?

Then my statement in my original post is correct.
    ………………
    what is the maximum dosage of injulin 1 can jabbed per day?
    how much is 1 bottle of 300ml injulin cost?
    now addup the numbers of bottles you used in 1 year equavalent to that $300 max medicsaves entitlement
    than come back to ME!!!
    meanwhile
    name
    rank
    serial numbers
    please
    according to the geneva convention RULES
    thank you…
    you happen to know a hollywood bloke? same profession as you..fraser is his name..he just left the buildin

32. Precisely. I am 54 yrs old. I hv the disease called Wegener G. Internationally, there are only 400-500 persons being affected world wide per yr. I think in Singapore or even SE Asia, I am the only one to date recorded. The good news is that I have between 6-8 yrs life span, of which I had used up 1.5. FYI, there is no cure so far.
    I had already spend all my life saving till now, which means 100+K$.
    So I applied for my CPF withdrawal of the miserable 20-30 thousand left, stating to them of this life span I had left. I want to take my money out and spend on the medical bill myself, knowingly I will not live over 65yrs ( who knows what will change) to start the CPF installment.
    Officially the second reply from CPF was ” you are not permanently unfit from ever continuing in any form of employment”. so this highly paid person is telling a dieing man he can work, and should work, and CPF still got to be kept by him for me!.
    I am an expert in Material Management, was a high profile management guy before. Please let me know who want to employ me. I need to see a doctor 3 times per month, I can only wake up at the earliest 8.15 am daily, as I do not have a continuous sleep nightly. I need and afternoon nap of 1.5 to 2 hours, depend on the fluctuation of the drugs. I can only continiously work for not more than 3 straight days, the 4th I might just knock out. I might also go into the hospital when it relapses, which my face will suddenly swell and nose starts to bleed.
    Please let me know if you have interest in me. Based on my past record, I can work 7/7 16 hrs, for a few yrs, no sweat. 2 yrs ago, I play squash.

So there is still no one offering me a good job that and FT cannot do.

33. IAMAquackDOCTOR 7 August 2010

for a good efficient doctor liked the above angry doc..for the last 10 mins sinced i ^PAGED^ him/her..no pic no sound
    imagined this scenerio..you poor parents in an intensive care unit breathin on an appratus with a toy reader graphic with builtinsound..bip bip than suddenlLEE all goes silent..no graphic chart movin no bips…
    and worst of all..your hav to top up $45,000 in CA$H…
    angry doc is nowhere to be found..opps maybe he/she datin bugs bunny who says
    WHAT UP DOC?

34. angry doc 7 August 2010

Name, rank and serial number?

I don’t mind discussing issues with people who disagree with me, I don’t mind discussing issues with people who deny facts, and I don’t even mind discussing issues with people who are stupid.

But you don’t seem to be interested in having a civilised discussion. Perhaps if you didn’t go around CHALLENGING people so much, but asked politely, you might get better responses.

Most doctors can explain why you need repeat tests as a condition for using your Medisave for chronic disease management, but you don’t seem to want answers as much as you want to offend – well, you have succeeded, and I will ignore your comments.

35. IAMAquackDOCTOR 8 August 2010

angry doc 7 August 2010
    Name, rank and serial number?

I don’t mind discussing issues with people who disagree with me, I don’t mind discussing issues with people who deny facts, and I don’t even mind discussing issues with people who are stupid.
    ……………..
    you dont mind? or you dont know..yet ere you are..blah blah blah
    read this url read that link..
    you meant you gained your ^DOCTORATE^ by google perhaps?
    what happenned? the google search engines cannot teach you what is the max dosage for an injulin jab daily?
    try miss bugs bunny you certainLEE can dangle her with a carrot…
    we are not discussin over kopi..we are discussin REALIVES issue whether it diabeties or cancer…

36. IAMAquackDOCTOR 8 August 2010

DEPRESSON IN SINGAPORE
    ———————-
    The number of new depression cases seen at the Institute of Mental Health has been rising: From 1,193 in 2005, to 1,622 in 2007 and 1,847 cases last year.

An adult here has a 5.6-per-cent likelihood of suffering from depression in his or her lifetime, according to the 2004 National Mental Health Survey. The figure is 15.7 per cent for minor health problems (such as anxiety, phobias and mild depression) that affects their effectiveness and well-being.

Figures from the Samaritans of Singapore showed there were 401 suicides last year, up from 364 in 2008, with the biggest increase among those aged 20 to 29.
    ………………..
    hey angry doc…you being a doctor might 1 a civilised discussion..right?
    discuss this topic above lor…
    why are healthy singapoorium doin the bungeless jumpin @ the aged of 20/29?
    cannot afford to go boatquay to splash on the real bungee rope jumpin machines perhaps?
    you want a real answer from moi yours truly a 3rd eye views?
    you give me yours FIRST (i don’t trust you..you are a kopicat/plagariser type)
    when you finished..moi present moi’s version..we let the audiences ere poll
    you bein a paid professional shouldn’t hav any probelmo @ all..i am onLEE a QUACK QUACK…
    the floors is YOURs…

37. doctorwho 8 August 2010

Long ago, the papaya corp diagnose the average peasants are suffering from a plague, called “No$2Retire”. The virus originated from papaya corp Hive, but this is a top secret. U shouldn’t openly say that in public.

The elites dug deep into the earth to shield themselves from the virus, while the peasant lives their life like zombie wandering around meaningless.

This is pure evil@work.

38. icon u 9 August 2010

whether u in spore / US if u chronically sick its the same. if u have $$ fine, u will b a little more comfortable if u no $$$ then life will be more painful. Do not blame PAP, SDA, ABC. NOthing much can b done. B Healthy.

39. IAMAquackDOCTOR 9 August 2010

good moaning to all..anybody seen or ear of angry doc the selfproclaimed doctor?
    he has a thesis to present ere..how come no presentations? why? opps today is national day..most probaldLEE he is in the padang on standby duties just in case leekonyou or cancerlee hav a heatstroke..you know those 911 thinggie
    angry doc
    angry doc
    where are you?

as for the poster below:

icon u 9 August 2010
    whether u in spore / US if u chronically sick its the same. if u have $$ fine, u will b a little more comfortable if u no $$$ then life will be more painful. Do not blame PAP, SDA, ABC. NOthing much can b done
    ……………..
    in britain…you will still be treated with or without money..didn’t mrs harry lee a ^tourist^ proven you the british health services..didn’t the british health service attend to her WITHOUT askin her to visit the singapoor embassy for a medical topup/medicsave/medicshield thinggie?
    it just that leekongYOU demand a 1st class treatment bypassin all the Qs as though mrs harryLEE is the FIRSTlady of singapoor…

40. Richard 9 August 2010

Peace Bro!

My article was intended to provoke some thought and maybe stir discussion but… Don’t fight or keep challenging lah.

We all have our 2lans but today National Day all Happy Happy ok :)?

41. IAMAquackDOCTOR 9 August 2010

Richard 9 August 2010
    Peace Bro!

My article was intended to provoke some thought and maybe stir discussion but… Don’t fight or keep challenging lah.
    ………….
    peace for what? when leekonyou and son cancerLEE demand a piece of your CHEESEpie for FREE…and made you to pay GST as well..
    challengin is a simple games..placed your money where your(not you Richard) stakes are…
    not everybody ere is mdm hoching..can placed bets usin other peoples’ money

42. VoteForChange 10 August 2010

Medisave is legalised Robbery.

43. @angry doc

while i don’t agree with quackdoctor on the tone, i do agree with the substance of his point- $300 per year limit is really low and does not even cover a fraction of the cost patents need to spend per year.

plus, it makes no sense- if i have 30k, $300per year will last me 100 years. Even if I am healthy, will i ever live that long?