Andrew Loh

On 6 July, I wrote about why Ms Saw Phaik Hwa, SMRT’s CEO, had missed the point about our trains and train stations being overcrowded. (See here) While she may have said that “people can board the trains, it is whether they choose to”, I felt that she seemed not to be aware of the safety aspects of such crowded trains and stations.

The perfect example of a potential safety hazard caused by overcrowding is Jurong East station. Each morning and evening, the station is so packed “that the commuters from the escalator were unable to get off the escalator when they reached the top.” This surely is an absurd situation.

According to this report, “[In] the morning at Jurong East station, the crowd transiting from the North-South line to the East-West line towards Pasir Ris had a lot of trouble boarding the train, and trains were not as frequent from that location.”

So, what has the SMRT done about this? It seems nothing.

The Second Minister for transport, Mrs Lim Hwee Hwa, would only say that “a new platform [is] being built at Jurong East MRT station.” (Today)

It is unclear when the platform will be ready or how Mrs Lim recommends the situation at Jurong East station be alleviated. It would seem that the “new platform” is considered the solution.  That’s left to be seen.

But what happens in the meantime?

Commuters will have to put up with the situation. They have no choice especially when the CEO of the company responsible adopts a nonchalant and arrogant attitude, besides displaying total ignorance and a complete lack of empathy for what commuters have to face each morning.

It is time the SMRT took seriously the safety concerns which such overcrowding in stations, especially at Jurong East, poses.

If something untoward should happen, who is going to be held responsible? And even if someone were, it may be too late and of little comfort to those who may be affected.

For a start, perhaps the SMRT should focus on these problems instead of spending its time on a another absurdity - policing babies drinking from milk bottles in the trains.

And lastly, why aren’t the Members of Parliament for the Jurong area speaking up about this?

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

78 Responses to “Jurong East station – an absurd situation”

1. smallfly 6 August 2010

AIyoh! It is the Second Minister for transport, Mrs Lim Hwee Hwa, whom the idiotic LHL praised her during last G-erection that even there is a missing zero, she can pick it up and will call to inform him!

So now, there is a missing “GIANT/GIGANTIC/HUGE” platform at Jurong East MRT Station for so long prior to the massive import of foreign “slaves” cum mastodonic increment of populations yet, she can not pick it up nimble/quick/fast/rapid/agile enough to avoid any possible mishap from happening!

Well done! This is another good example of uniquely mediocre system of Singapore! Have heard of her name since school-time, another PRE-SELECTED idiotic million-dollar nerd to devour off multi-million-dollar of remunerations annually with mediocre performance!

2. Sawdust 6 August 2010

For the past, I used to travel via Jurong East. But of late. I find it extremely stressful to do so, thus I now I take the direct bus, which takes longer and more expensive to get to my work place. Changing train at Jurong East IS REALLY A CHALLENGE! So it make sense to take the direct train from Woodlands to Pasir Ris. There use to be quite many standing room where I board. But lately, there are not so many standing room left.

I must say it is so much more pleasant for me because I take from the interchange and I can sit/sleep the whole of 1 hour and 15mins ride.

3. aurvandil 6 August 2010

Heard a rumour NSP might be doing a walk about at Jurong East, with the Jurong East MRT being a prime focal point of the walkabout. This ties in with the series of articles GMS previously did on the poor state of public transport in Singapore.

If you happen to meet them, please show your support.

4. simontemplar 6 August 2010

Stations ard JE MRT to be affected..hmm interesting..ppl brace urself for more disruptions

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1073610/1/.html

5. experience senior old guard 6 August 2010

Hahahaha how come this goh meng seng now run to jurong east? I thought he want fight Mah bow tan inside tampines? Scare now har? Joe, if got gut dont run away lah! Come face Mah bow tan & fight tampines grc lah! hahahahaha!

6. aurvandil 6 August 2010

The NSP is made up of more than just Goh Meng Seng. Public housing, public transport and healthcare are three key policy areas that NSP has always campaigned to improve.

7. rockabyebaby 6 August 2010

It looks like Mrs. Lim Hwee Hwa is either ignorant of ignoring that dangerous incident of overcrowding and people could tumble down those escalators like dominoes! So soon after SMRT Changi Depot and no urgency or no inkling of what to do? AND more importantly WHERE IS THAT darn 1st Minister of Transport Raymond Lim who used to work in ABN AMRO Bank! What the heck both with background in the financial sector know anything about transport systems and safeties required?

The following letter of June 23 to TNP was “conveniently’ not published.

“Dear Voices Editor,

I refer to 2 letters in TNP of June 23, 2010 titled “Protection before profit” and “Address the weak link”.

As a Singaporean I am indeed more than perplexed by this event as our first S$5B E-W & N-S MRT System has been in operation for 22 years since 1988. As after the Yishun Station scare with dangerous Mas Selamat caught and jailed, the safety of depots had not been “beefed up”.

And I was ever more than perplexed by repeated mention only of SMRT to install more cameras. Have we forgotten SBS Transit’s NEL System depots too? And both SMRT and SBS Transit should consult speciality companies before deciding on enhancing existing camera based systems with more cameras.

Since this will entail more video monitoring manpower. With motorised cameras for horizontal “sweep” coverage it isn’t the best surveillance improving solution. As there will be possible blind spots as more cameras are required for adequate coverage. Increased camera overlaps can also add to video monitoring oversights due to monitoring personnel fatigue including other momentary monitoring disconnect.

There are more effective and suitable UV and Laser Detection Systems with motion detection features that are likely more suitable for Effective Intrusion Surveillance. With modern digital technology, they are not definitely less cost effective. Especially to be ruled out when it is for the saving of lives without in-depth studies by professionals!

A worse case scenario is a bomb exploded a carriage loaded with its 300 passenger max. capacity entering an above ground rail and also rolls over to the road? The ensuing loss of more lives and property will be unimaginable if it is peak period.

Government pride itself on safety and must thus take proactive steps to prevent this from ever happening. Profit driven mentally should not result in blind siding value of precious human beings who also contribute to the transport systems’ viability.”

Does it make good sense? Didn’t even get and acknowledgment but I know it went through!

8. sianz liao 6 August 2010

The CNA article stated :

“Meanwhile, commuters are looking forward to the completion as it will mean faster and smoother travel.”

How much faster can the train travel after the completion of the platform? Can a new platform increase the speed of the train?

see http://tinyurl.com/jureast

9. Wah.. I see World Class Transport System in operation…

10. andrew leung 7 August 2010

http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/text/2008/pr08-38.html

4 April 2008
    Blueprint for Jurong unveiled –
    URA plans to transform Jurong Lake District into a unique lakeside destination for business and leisure

It is only going to get more crowded in future for Jurong. The transport planners must come up with a solution for the MRT very soon.

11. senior experience old guard 7 August 2010

Actually you all then funny you know? If your area got so many people crowded, is mean good because busy mah! More shops want go there, your hdb house become more value & easy for you look jobs. Like tampines area, become best sg grc! How come? because their place got many peoples go there mah! You all want your place like other country so quiet & ghost graveyard har? Seow!

12. rockabyebaby 7 August 2010

To senior experience old guard 7 August 2010

Hey! We all different you know or not! And people so rude nowadays lar! Perhaps you are a paid guard at Tampines? And I got better things to do lor. It’s simplistic minds like your who can be conned by lky & pap hor!

And actually you very funny and “Seow” too you know! I go there only once in a while. My friend live nearer nw say I am right Simei is better and got better food we like. Food in Tampines foodcourts are lousy as we know what’s good food leh! So no one Seow lar!

And every day same place not sian or tired ah? I’ve many old like you staring into shopping windows. But when I ask them something about the display, they said “I don’t know much about this ah”! Staring can learn meh! And so busy place bang you here bang you there like is their right and we deserve it as never got a sorry nor excuse “muar”!

13. SCDF DARE NOT CHECK TEMASEK OWNED COMPANY FOR OVERCROWDING 7 August 2010

SCDF PEOPLE SCARED TO LOSE THEIR JOB,

EVEN THOUGH SUCH OVER CROWDING AT MRT PLATFORM CAN CAUSE DEATHS, IF COMMUTERS ARE PUSH N FALL ONTO TRACKS N HIT BY TRAIN.

14. Joseph Lim 7 August 2010

Maybe the authorities could be more clear as to when exactly the new platform at Jurong East MRT station interchange will be ready, how commuters will travel and so on.

Having another platform is not enough, SMRT must provide trains for us commuters at two minute intervals at all times (peak and non-peak hours) and not the ridiculous six to eight minutes.

Train drivers should also not drive slowly on purpose, stop at stations for more than two minutes trying to sardine pack commuters in trains (as I have personally experienced at times and appallingly more frequently)and lower the air-conditioning temperature as it is extremely hot, humid and stuffy in the trains to the extent that I feel that I cannot breathe properly.

I agree with Andrew Loh that SMRT is not doing enough, more so when it is displaying a nonchalant and arrogant attitude, best expressed by SMRT Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and President Saw Phaik Hwa with her extremely sarcastic comments and indifference to commuters’ woes.

How long do we have to suffer really?

15. senior experience old fool 7 aug 2010

Actually I dun unerstan why after Gawd put plaster on you still one tu tok. An tok somemor all is rubish one. Maybe you oledi sinile or maybe blain-ded so you say evelythin oso like from your pantat. you ok er nut? If nut ok I come plaster your hole head!

16. Gao Kia 8 August 2010

@senior experience old kok 7 Aug

ok basically is like this, National Day is a gud day, so you tok ghost graveyard vely suay one. I think you betterer go wash you mouth with Detol. O so sorly, cannot one your mouth got plaster up. vely seow.

17. singapore no real mafia 8 August 2010

if this situation is really a problem to the people, then we need to ask ourselves,
    WHY THE PEOPLE ACCEPTED ALL THESE WHILE?

no ability to voice up?

18. andrew leung 8 August 2010

People do voice out but the PAP is deaf to criticism. Even the CEO of SMRT also act like a minister.

They are always right and never wrong. They also shout the loudest so they win every time. They also like to handcuff, imprison, fine, bankrupt people who they don’t like.

19. ahkong 8 August 2010

How can a so called “wayang” parliament consisting of majority PAP run a nation maybe a company only.

20. Experienced Old Fuucker 9 August 2010

Senior Experienced Guard -You “Siow”, toking with ‘No Brain” -more ppl there means food more expensive – nxt sell house -then it must mean u hve 2 leaveTampines -so if don’t sell only can “Dream n Feel Good” but everyday “Kanna: so mny Nonsense Mad crowd –whats the point of jus “Dreaming but cannot enjoy!” –you must be “Siow”

21. TOC got good sense of humour, go round plastering commenters’ mouths. I rate it top class website for Singapore current affairs!!

Very obvious that the train stations were not designed for sudden population boom. No planning before execution of bringing in foreigners. Then the ones to suffer are the innocent commuters. And these are the same people who are paying through their noses to top-earners who don’t give a shit to their safety.

22. Nothing beats it. Go to Tokyo, Japan and be squeezed like sardines in the trains. Did you know that expired somos are hired to push passengers into the coaches? If you’re unlucky you come out having your face rearranged after pressing against the glass panel from the train ride.
    Yes . . . check it out.
    Developed country. Better image than Singapore.
    Get real lah . . .

23. senior experience old guard 11 August 2010

My MP say philippine, thailand,combodia & vietnam is 100 time worse than sg! When free, you all must go round travel look see look see how other countrys lah!

24. mice is nice 11 August 2010

want to boast a liveable city yet want to compare with the worse?

i guess in time, S’pore will be as “world class” as Thailand, Cambodia & Vietnam. maybe our currency will be pegged to theirs someday?…

25. @senior experience old guard

PAP MP : Good dog…but you are old already. Get lost. I want younger Cheena dogs.
    Shit…how dare you pee on my white trousers.
    Can some grassroot idiot get rid of this senile old dog ?

26. nice mice,

Right on, bro.