Howard Lee -

Regrettably, I did not watch this year’s National Day Rally, as I would have liked to appreciate the nuances of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s words.

Nevertheless, I managed to grab my free copy of Today on Monday. It amazes me that Today can, similar to the massive coverage after the closing of the Youth Olympic Games, dedicate 13 pages to one Rally, five of which were specifically on the new migrant issue, when all they were trying to say was this:

• PM Lee focused chiefly on the issue of new immigrants among our midst, which was felt to be a key concern to citizens.
  • His key message: Citizens will always come first, but the import of foreign talent is essential for Singapore’s survival. As such, steps will be taken to make citizens feel valued and to integrate new citizens better.
  • He also announced a number of initiatives in the pipeline, such as new housing and education policies, as well as an incentive package for National Servicemen.
  • In general, the Rally was deemed by journalists and interviewees from all walks of life to be good. It was perceived to be a down-to-earth assessment of our migration woes, and supported by real-life examples of positive migrant integration stories, addressing citizens’ valid concerns yet also encouraging a positive attitude.

So much for my summary, and now for the cranky, business end of this article: Was Lee’s Rally as meaningful, spot-on or motivational as it was touted to be?

The focus on new immigrant was the correct direction – this is a topic that has struck a nerve among our population, to say the least. However, Lee’s approach to the issue was wrong – he neither addressed the concerns appropriately, nor indicated the appropriate measures to alleviate these concerns. The second point should not be a surprise – if he did not have a proper grasp of the issue to begin with, how would he be able to address it properly?

Lee’s acknowledgement of the migrant issue was based on the presumption that citizens are uneasy about new migrants, in relation to limiting job opportunities and stresses on our living spaces. He has identified the problem, but none of his proposed solution made any sense in solving it.

A good example would be the $9,000 education and housing subsidy for National Servicemen. On the surface, it seemed like a positive gesture to differentiate between citizens and migrants, but that is all the surface work it really does. No consideration was given to the fact that, even after all the money has been used up totally to pay for an NSman’s education (forget about housing, the amount will barely scratch the surface of the massive housing loan that he would have to take eventually), his problem with foreign talent really hits when he enters the workforce and competes for jobs. The incentive cannot address this issue directly.

If you were to examine most of the initiatives he mentioned, you will notice a similar vein. They were geared towards placating citizens to make them feel more valued than migrants. However, they do not solve the fundamental problems of our lax migration policies. Pumping up on transport, education and housing systems does not give any real advantage to citizens. It only enhances a system that both citizens and new migrants are free to exploit, all the way up to saturation point.

In other words, the Rally was little more than lip service to the new migrant issue. Policy changes that are long overdue, such as better equity to NSmen, have been recast as incentives to “solve” the new migrant issue. It presupposed that citizens are disenfranchised about the influx of foreign talent and want to be valued. But that is barely representative of the problem. Singaporeans are generally a pragmatic lot. If we are inclined to take these incentives in good faith, we will know that we would only be disappointed later, discovering that they do not essentially resolve the issue.

What will? We need to roll out policies that clearly define the meaning of “talent” in the term “foreign talent”. If you noticed the examples in the Rally news coverage, the ranks of new citizens hailed to have “adapted well” to life in Singapore included a bus captain and owners of an architect firm. I do not doubt the achievements of these new citizens, and they have done well in their own rights. But are we being too lax with the word “talent”, when we are hard pressed for examples of how new citizens punch above their weight and bring in greater value to our nation? We need to reevaluate our migration criteria, and it will risk protectionism. However, I am of the view that a fair dose of protectionism can possibly do us some good now, at least in sending a clear signal to the world about what Singapore seeks, and how we value our citizenship.

It is sad to see the National Day Rally degenerating into merely an attempt to “boost the morale” of its intended audience, for that is what Lee is trying to do. Essentially, his message is for us not to make a big deal about it, accept the foreigners in our midst as the reality of our constructed “world view”, and here are some goodies to sweeten the deal if we behave. Utter nonsense.

I do not believe that Singaporeans are that myopic to see our problems in every foreigner we meet. There is also no indication that we will take to the streets or begin a series of hate crimes targeting new migrants. I believe that the current gripe that citizens have revolve around the policies, not the people that the policies favour. There is a need to pay attention to policy issues, rather than continue side-stepping it and risk the issue degenerating to a level of intolerance that we will all regret.

Even more unfortunate was when Lee continued to expound the qualities that make up the Singapore Spirit – determination, trust, competence and confidence. He was surely making a direct reference to the YOG, but in the light of the migrant issue, I could not help but flag it as his endnote to encourage Singaporeans to “soldier on”. Draw an extension line, and you would notice that these qualities describe the very meritocratic ideals that have so far been the impetus for placing new migrants on equal footing with citizens.

The Singapore Spirit should be the embodiment of the unique Singaporean identity, something that we can hold as a standard, even to benchmark against foreign talent seeking citizenship. It is a great waste and pity that it should have been squandered as such.

This National Day Rally, in my personal opinion, will probably go down in our nation’s short history as the one that said a lot, but meant almost nothing. The attempted focus on the migrant issue seemed little more than a poor attempt to drag citizens into an immigration vision that is fundamentally flawed, and we are nowhere closer to making a positive change.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

75 Responses to “New citizen issue – poor grasp, useless ideas?”

1. SH must be either non Singaporean or very very young i.e. no experience with CPF yet, to face his puzzlement.

Does he not know citizens get no say in how CPF monies are used? So even if someone buay gian wanna donate to charity, also cannot.

And it’s not what the amount is. It’s being told in the face, you’re overaged, let’s not dwell on what you have contributed in the past, move on. As good as being told you’re no longer of use and should just screw off.

2. which policy do you think PAP is most likely to implement 1) Citizens come first ,2)Citizens cum first and 3)Citizens DIE first ?

3. I think it’s more like, who is more useful to me at the moment, I protect and benefit who.

Citizens? Feels to me to be a word in a school textbook.

4. mice is nice 1 September 2010

anyone knows what happened to the monies when,
    - telcos was privatised?
    - energy market was privatised?
    - public transport was privatised?

only thing is costs go up & up. what else was also privatised? where all that money go? outer space? aliens took it?

lol…

5. Amazing, so many hours talking, and nothing to address our concerns and worries. And the forced smiles and stale jokes made us even more uncomfortable.
    No charisma from the PM, a quality that would make us glue to the box.
    Then off TV and we hit the shops at Little India to amuse ourselves to tide over the TV possessed by the PM.
    We would be wiser next time by hitting the shops earlier.

6. Reservist_Cpl 1 September 2010

A little strong to call it useless; this may serve to alienate moderates who see problems with the current system but see some merit in the proposals put forth.

“Inadequate” may be more apt, perhaps. Though it doesn’t pack quite the same punch. Or maybe call it a “lacklustre” performance by PM Lee.

7. Your back is itchy he scratch everywhere except your back. That summarize the speech.

8. LIONS ROAR 1 September 2010

The GIST of LHL’s MSG is rather clear to me.
    It is just an over-extended broadcast of his die-die-must-have pet project,the FT policy,no more ,no less.

ThE PM is adamant about having his pet project accepted by his doggies and all singaporeans is very clear despite the woes his project has brought to common singaporean workers and their impoverished families.

This PM refuses to acknowledge the hardshipos he caused on the singaporeans made jobless by his dreamy ‘BRILLIANT’ idea that seems to me like that prodigal son in the BIBLE who insisted on his share of the property,just so to squander it all away.

Singapore was BUILT by all our forefathers,together with the OLD GUARDS and by all of us,true blue singaporeas.
    BUT,the NEW GUARDS seems to regard our contributions as nothing and so,bring in so-called FTs by the truckloads to cream off all that we hard worked so hard and strived so hard for.

It’s time singaporeans,as good and concerend sons and daughters of motherland,WAKE UP these miws before it’s too late,even for ‘CROCODILE TEARS’.

9. In every speech made by some government body lies some hidden agenda or motive.

10. Max Tang 1 September 2010

I’m not sure if anyone should read a commentary of someone who didn’t actually watch the rally. It’s like reading an in-depth reporting of a soccer match by someone who wasn’t even at the game or watched the game at all.

11. more opposition voices in parliament 2 September 2010

Today: “Citizens will always come first, but the import of foreign talent is essential for Singapore’s survival.”

The last time PM Lee said an increase in GST (a form of regressive tax) would help the poor. But any economists would tell you that regressive taxation hits the poor the hardest, totally OPPOSITE TO PM LEE.

“Foreign talent” is only essential for the ruling elites, their families and relatives. It benefits them and raise their companies.

For many years, the average Singaporean wages have stagnated whilst companies made record profits, and bonuses of tycoons and ministers have risen several times.

All the talk of importing “foreign talent” to benefit Singaporeans can’t be real.

THE REAL REASON TO IMPORT “FOREIGN TALENT” IS TO SURPRESS WAGES OF SINGAPOREANS.

12. sangeetavr 2 September 2010

Max Tang, I didn’t watch the telecast either. but I did read the news reports. Am I also not qualified to make interpretations of the speech based on written reports?

13. iamaBBCreporter 2 September 2010

Max Tang
    by someone who wasn’t even at the game or watched the game at all.
    ……….
    and you did watched the soccer match? from your sofa chair in a elite condo with a helicopter view?
    do you think we are ALL leekingyouS? @ the scene of every crimes?
    hello tang(hopefuLLEE you are not related to patriach CKTang the philprantist)
    you can hide all you 1s..butt don’t prayed this LIEs games to us all…google/yahoo is a very very powerFOOL tools..

14. Winston Cheng 2 September 2010

Giving $9000 for sacrificing 2 years of our life. Any idiot will tell you they rather pay the government $9000 for being exempted.

I really hope Singaporeans realize that when the population eventually reached the targetted 6.5 million, there is no turning back. Even if the opposition wins the election, we cannot possibly ask the new citizens to get out.

The coming one is probably the last election we can save the situation or at least prevent it from getting worse. So, it’s NOW or NEVER!

15. andrew leung 2 September 2010

They have changed the landscape, culture and DNA of Singapore. What spirit is he talking about. Singapore is a Frankenstein created by PAP. There is a madman going around conducting experiments. We are just their lab rats.

16. The mad megalomaniac Hitler was in power and still got his way cos the people were stupid, unthinking lah.
    The same is the case of Singapore. Label the incumbents whichever one may want to, makes no difference – they are they cos of unthinking, stupid masses.
    Now it is a system that is bleeding the citizens every way and any way – one-system lah, who is going to question, who is going to account …. buang current lah (Malay for wasting energy lah).
    It is going to remain the same and probably get worse if Singaporeans do not unlearn the damage of their unwise votes and blind support. Witha two-party/multi party system even if it does not get better it wont be so bad as it is now.

17. mice is nice 3 September 2010

people who voted for PAP could be said to “suffer” from brand loyalty, if they are still around.

like people who insist of buying a perticular brand of product for ages, they are “programmed” to continue supporting that brand. even if that product/thing/entity has changed so much it is no longer what it originally was.

for me, i go search for replacement at the hint that standards are slipping! not find replacement when things are terrible.

if a house has a risk of collapsing but dunno when, you want to stay till its collapse then move?

18. VoteForChange 4 September 2010

The “brand loyalty” people are especially those who belonged to the 1965 era,now the elderlies at their 50s n 60s. The present generation are more learned to know that one should view things from more than one perspectives and tend to question
    We see that the now PAP is aware of this, and this forms the hidden motive to bring in foreigner now- change the present generation and bring in new blood,make them PR and tame this group of people.
    They are taking the Psychological strategy .

19. the governement must show us our GINI COEFFIENCY!!!! show the public that its a really weird curve!!!!!seriously such a wide income gap between the lower income families and high income families!!!

20. mice is nice 4 September 2010

VoteForChange, 4 September 2010

you are right that most of the people who “suffer” from brand loyalty are from the 1965 era.

there is another younger generation that may see PAP as The Party for S’pore, those that firmly believe in track records without injecting a dose of reality that the track records were built by different people.

also, there is a group that could be branded as snobs (elitists). this group of people could be anywhere in the voting age group, from the just qualified to old birds. no doubt PAP is an elite group with lots of papers to show for it. the prestige & high pay lends credibility. a glowing image can mean recieving better service nevermind if no money was spent, for example.

alternative parties should not alienate this group that may make this election a poor vs rich.

luxury items are coverted by the rich & the not so rich. it’s a reality thatpeople yearn for better things in life, symbols of wealth?

21. The PM is really telling us 1 and only 1 pt…. they have lose grasp wat singaporeans are and wat singapreons wants…. Just 1 Generation ago, Singaporeans are nothing but a herd of ppl dedicate themselves to making life better for their childs the next generation for that they work hard, obey the goverment pay their taxs. Indeed under the leadership and the hardwork of the ppl. Singapore hit the right chords with rest of the world and Singapore Jump from a 3rd world country to a developed nation.

The New generation of singaporeans are no longer the same as our forefathers. Not Only they are better educated, well travelled and with the World wide web, singaporeans not just comparing themselves with the regional players…. Singaporeans are comparing themself to Europeans and americans and other developed country.

With that we discover and found we are short change. Our income are compare to the regional countries but standard of living is compare to 1st world countries. Think about how can u live in a ist world country with a 3rd country pay.

Our forefathers have give sacificed so much for the next generation. But we are unable to reap the rewards for it. Other that the phase “uniquely Singapore”. As a wiseman have 1 say No use to have first world goverment but a 3rd world popluation. It is same as No use having a 1st World Population but 3rd world Goverment. who have lose grasp of wat the population wants and needs.

22. iam9000POORER 7 September 2010

so i now find out mr brown me you laupeng(olesoldiers) ain’t gonna get a cent @ all? from the $9000 socalled free money?
    so whos is buyin kopiO…
    p.s. please don’t asked mr brown..he lost 1 lampar durin his ippt jacob ladder routine…don’t looked @ moi either..moi on guard duty..cannot absent..moi aint lee whathisname you know that bloke who is in mit now..

23. ANYONE DARE ASK MM ABOUT THIS STATEMENT:
    “We don’t have the ingredients of a nation, the elementary factors,” he said three years ago in an interview with the International Herald Tribune, “a homogeneous population, common language, common culture and common destiny.”