Leong Sze Hian

The Prime Minister said in his National Day Rally speech, that “Singaporeans can look forward to higher wages and good bonuses” and that “[lots] of jobs [have been] created [and] unemployment has gone down.”

With this being akin to an almost annual rhetoric over the years, exhorting Singaporeans to accept more foreigners in order to achieve an expected GDP growth of 13 to 15 per cent, which is expected to be the highest in the world this year, along with crowded trains, higher hdb prices, etc, the question Singaporeans are asking is:  what is the reward for Singaporeans in accepting all these?

Wages

Singapore workers had only a 1.4 per cent per annum real wage increase from 2001 to 2009, according to the Ministry of Manpower’s Labour Market Q1 2010 report. After the last two years of negative real wage growth, and current inflation running at 3.1 per cent in July, workers may end up with a consecutive third year of negative wage increase.

Minimum wage

Many elderly cleaners and road sweepers earn only about $650 a month, which works out to an hourly wage of only about S$3.50.

South Korea has a minimum wage policy which has been reviewed annually since 1998. The current minimum wage is 4,110 Won (S$4.70) per hour.

Malaysia is contemplating a minimum wage, with the Malaysian Human Resources Minister’s recent statement that it would be tabled at the cabinet in October. Singapore has no plans to have one.

In this connection, even the Philippines Goverment has introduced a minimum wage of US$400 (S$538) and 4 days off a month, starting August 2010, for Filipino domestic maids working in Singapore. This has caused a quandary as employers have been used to paying not more than S$400. Hong Kong also passed a minimum wage law on 30 August with a minimum wage that is expected to be around HK$28 per hour (S$4.85).

Longest working hours in the world

Acoording to Profesor van Reenen, a widely-quoted economist in the British press, who recently won the prestigious Yrjö Jahnsson Award – the European equivalent to the John Bates Clark Medal in the United States – which is given to the best economist in Europe under the age of 45 who has made a significant contribution to economics; productivity should not be overly focused on GDP per worker or per hour.

In this respect, Singapore workers have one of the longest work hours per week in the world, more than South Korea which used to have the longest work hours in the world. In 2008, Singaporeans put in 45.9 hours a week, which was more than South Koreans.

Jobs

If the labour market is bursting at the seams, why is it that on a seasonally adjusted basis, the resident unemployment rate in June at 3.3 per cent was higher than  March’s 3.2 per cent, and the number of resident unemployed increased from 66,200 to 68,100? Even the overall unemployment rate rose from 2.2 in March to 2.3 per cent in June.

According to the article “Service sector powers S’pore’s job growth” (ST, Jul 31), there were an estimated 87,800 residents without jobs in June.

The number of long-term unemployed – those who have been hunting for jobs for at least 25 weeks also increased slightly between December and March. Close to half of all resident job seekers were above 40 years old.

End-game?

So, what really is all this record economic growth for? Who is benefiting from it? In recent times, the government has been exhorting Singaporeans to increase productivity, be cheaper, better, faster, to reskill, upskill, multi-skill. And the Prime Minister urged Singaporeans to “keep learning and upgrading.”

While NTUC Chief Lim Swee Say said “workers can look forward to higher wage increments this year”, the Prime Minister in his Rally Speech cautioned Singaporeans to “please be careful with wage expectations”.

Perhaps the questions which Singaporeans have, and which the Prime Minister should have addressed more extensively and thoroughly in his speech, are:

1. What is the benefit to the average ordinary Singaporean in continuing to accept the huge influx of foreigners and the adverse consequences which come with it?
  2. What exactly in terms of wages can Singaporeans, especially those in the lower brackets, expect – or should they continue to accept depression of their wages?
  3. What are the government’s plans to address the widening income-gap?

Finally, PM Lee said in July this year that “[management and staff] cannot simply go strictly by what is explicitly spelt out in employment contracts.” This statement is of great concern to workers, coming as it did from the Prime Minister himself. Does this mean that employment contracts are not worth the paper they are written on?

Record economic growth and exhortations to improve oneself are all well and good but what are these leading to in real terms for the average citizen?

Where, really, are the protection, assurance and benefits to the average worker, besides being constantly urged to improve themselves in order to be employable?

Are workers mere cogs in the wheel?

————-

With contribution from Andrew Loh.

Picture from Straits Times.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

57 Responses to “What are Singaporean workers sacrificing for?”

1. I think the title needs to be changed to “What are Singaporeans being sacrificed for?”

2. teo soh lung 3 September 2010

Every year, the same old message. In the 1990s, Singaporeans were promised the Swiss standard of living before the turn of the century. A decade after the turn of the century, have we all achieved that standard? Or is the Swiss standard reserved for the selected few? Come on, be honest with us.

3. He will not answer to all of the above questions, because he has no answer or too ashamed to answer them. When the truth hurts, they rather keep silence and pretend nothing has been promised while continue to draw their obscene salary thru milking us. By now, I am sure alternative parties can lead Singaporeans better and more willing to listen and consult the citizen than PAP (getting more arrogance thru the dark years).

4. VOTE OUT CORRUPTION 4 September 2010

Singaporeans are sacrificing for the PAP leaders and their business partners.

LHL basic salary is reaching $4 million per year. A hefty increment is coming for the ministers by year end.

A high GDP only benefits the top 3% of the population. The PAP is fooling the ordinary citizens; the PAP have only their own interests at heart.

For those who voted PAP and are having financial difficulties, you have been bluffed by the PAP, election, after election.

VOTE OUT THE PAP AND THEY WOULD REALLY BE LISTENING TO YOU.

5. honestly I don’t know why people say that poor people are lucky.

I think rich people here are luckier. excessively so.

6. for 45 years, sporeans have been frightened by The Bogeyman. this evil fellow, who is lurking around in the shadows, looking for the chance to take away our livelihood, make life difficult, cause dissension, bring the economy to its knees etc etc etc that’s awful. so we’re exhorted to work harder, be careful, don’t ask for too much in the way of wages or anything else – in bad times and in good times.

so we’ve been good children, doing as we’ve been asked. but all the rewards that have been promised for doing as told have simply not materialised.

worse, no matter how hard or cheap or good you are, it’s not enough. there is never a word of praise. mever a Well Done or a Good Job. just endless warnings. just endless fear. how does anyone operate with a perpetual dark cloud holding you down and pulling you back?

this is no way to live. it’s about time we stop looking under the bed, looking over our shoulder, constantly wringing our hands, perpetually filled with dread for this evil creature. it’s time to stand up and say, enough is enough. to look The Bogeyman straight in the eye and say “Get out of my way”, “Stop holding me back”. there is surely more to life, much more, than this pepetual, never-ending fear!!

7. Learn something from this short and appropriate lesson from George Owell’s “Animal Farm”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZldlyeR8DU

8. VoteForChange 4 September 2010

Its just rhetorics. His words are just words from the Air, silly flowering words from a policy maker who sits behind the desk.

9. Ang Kong Kia 4 September 2010

Government said companies must keep cost low to stay competitive. So companies retrench Singaporeans and hire foreigners.
    The unemployed Singaporeans especially those in 40s n middle management level lost their ability to pay housing loans n car loan, lower their living standard, n have difficulty to find job that pay the same salary. Many turn to be property agents or become taxi drivers.
    When foreigners take away your rice bowl, how can you tell us to accept foreigners?

10. nomoreshit 4 September 2010

Mr Leong I agree 1100pct with you
    The overpaid bunch have got to go
    We been getting the SOS (SAME OLD SHIT)
    Regurgitate over the years from father to son

11. Does the TOC website allow me to direct email the article to other people?
    Thanks

12. The Wall 4 September 2010

@genghis

I totally agree with you. Here is a story, but treat it as a metaphor where there is a moral to it, which I got from somewhere:

A tourist boat arrived in a small fishing village
    A tourist complimented the local fishermen on the quality of their fish and asked how long it took to catch them.”Not very long” they answered
    “Why didnt you stay out longer and catch more” asked the tourist
    The fishermen explained that their small catches were sufficient to meet their needs and those of their families.
    “But what do you do with the rest of your time”asked the tourist
    “We sleep late ,fish a little ,play with our children, and take a siesta with our wives.In the evenings we go into the village to see our friends ,have a few drinks,play the guitar,sing a few songs.We have a full life”
    The tourist interrupted, “I have an MBA from Harvard and I can help you! You should start by fishing longer every day. You can then sell the extra fish you catch. With the extra revenue, you can buy a bigger boat.”
    “And after that?”
    “With the extra money the larger boat will bring, you can buy a second one and a third one and so on until you have an entire fleet of trawlers. Instead of selling your fish to a middle man, you can then negotiate directly with the processing plants and maybe even open your own plant. You can then leave thislittle village and move to Mexico City, Los Angeles, or even New York City! From there you can direct your huge new enterprise.”
    “How long would that take?”
    “Twenty, perhaps twenty-five years.” replied the tourist.

“And after that?”

“Afterwards? Well my friend, that’s when it gets really interesting, ” answered the tourist, laughing. “When your business gets really big, you can start buying and selling stocks and make millions!”
    “Millions? Really? And after that?” asked the fishermen.

“After that you’ll be able to retire, live in a tiny village near the coast, sleep late, play with your children, catch a few fish, take a siesta with your wife and spend your evenings drinking and enjoying your friends.”

“With all due respect Sir, but that’s exactly what we are doing now. So what’s the point of wasting twenty-five years?” asked the fishermen

And the moral of this story is:

Know where you’re going in life . . . you may already be there!

13. brilliant 4 September 2010

let them be. leave the PAP alone. they have done so much for us singaporeans and we are still complaining. they are trying all ways to support singaporeans. not an easy task and they are just a few and we are thousands. if they are not in power many foreigners will lose jobs many foreigners boss will shift their company away. what will happen to singaporeans. they are trying to bring in more and more to be a citizen here to safe our land. vote them and gove them 10more years and singaporeans can see the bright star that they created.

14. iamEXPENDABLE 4 September 2010

CPT 4 September 2010
    Does the TOC website allow me to direct email the article to other people?
    Thanks
    ………
    why? tryin to do another pap dirty trick department? tryin to scare contributors here? you don’t know how to attached a link?
    now back to discussion…
    you know i know everybody knows…onced you hit 40s above your chances of bein retrenched is REAL…includin regulars from the uniformed sectors…
    a bodyguard of leekingoyu was retired @ 45 and cannot worked/attached to any government sectors under any circumstances..he can onLEE do his OWNED business if he had the lobang…TigerOng openned a security services and onlEE hav contracts with temasek/singech inc..
    other than that all fello peasant$..we are the EXPENDABLEs…

15. brilliant 4 September 2010

mm lee ever said that he will rise from the grave to protect us singaporeans. which leader will do that? mm lee have a heart of gold and he will take good care of singaporeans. just keep voting PAP and they will bring you to a level of good life and prosper one. you will be reward unlimited amount of reward after reward. PAP is just brilliant and they are the best. look at the F1 track, look at the YOG, look at the CASINO. who can created all this is a short time? no one!!

16. GOD DAMN YOU 4 September 2010

PeeM Li, seems so “stupid” n incapable plus a “hidden agenda” behind his call.

If Mr Leong can highlight exactly what most SGearns had wanted to know and wants to be assured with positive action.

Do we really need to continue and pay Millions to this PeeM, that seems so “lost” or “evil” these days ?

17. it's too late 4 September 2010

it’s too late. we’ve lost our country.

the nature of life here has been overturned radially within 1 term by this administration. mechanisms are in place to prevent us from getting our country back.

i resign to being a victim, yet having to complete further NS liability, watching those with no liability enjoy life and have the option to go away anytime.

amazing how my country played me out.

18. Dear brillant – if you live up to your name, you will be able to tell the current policies and those who made they are not going lead us down a golden path.

They are creating a mess, trying to fill up pot holes and fighting fire all the time.

Abuse of power has many faces. Some do it subtly some openly. Open you eyes wide please.

19. iamleekingyouGRAVEdigger 4 September 2010

brilliant 4 September 2010
    mm lee ever said that he will rise from the grave to protect us singaporeans. which leader will do that?
    …………
    and you believed he can do that? when he cannot even protect our properties from flood?
    now which part of your brain is dead?

20. The benefit is that it benefit our dear Leaders and from that, we can continue to have peace and security…

However, like what I have said, only a few, not even the majority, benefits from it

21. who cares 4 September 2010

@brilliant

i think you’re just being a troll to the entire topic. i suppose you will still continue to support our leaders even if theyve made singaporeans a minority in our own country and foreigners the majority? not to mention housing that will be given priority to foreigners and PRs and not singaporeans.

im sure most of us are grateful for what the current government had done for s’pore over the past 45 years but within this last 5 years, it seems theyve gotten their priorities all wrong at the expense of their OWN people.

stop kissing the hand that slaps you.

22. Obviously high GDP has only benefited ministers and their crony pet sector bosses. Ministerial salary is linked to GDP growth and bosses benefit from endless supply of cheap foreign labour

23. Sacrificed on the altar of greed lah – both political(votes) and $$$ (Salaries are pegged to GDP performance. The real beneficiaris are those MIWs, cronies, cohorts and the pte companies (MNCs included); hence the quick rush to fill up with more foreign foreginers.
    There is no such thing as foreign talent – it was coined by the incumbents and used to hoodwink the public lah.
    Heard of any country doing such a thing?
    Immigration is good – but not at the expense of citizens lah.

24. hopeless 4 September 2010

To brilliant, why PAP can complain about singaporean? and we can’t complain back? When there is not enough jobs, flats… they say singaporean are fussy people. we benefit and lost a lot from the government too. In our pledge, it say to achieve happiness, prosperity and
    progress for our nation. There must be a reason why happiness come first….

25. mice is nice 4 September 2010

PAP has been in power for so long but, did it throw its weight when recession hit twice (1990s & 2008)? when people are down with H1N1, SARS? still was business as usual, if kenna virus pay medical fees yourself. when banks sold toxic investments they got pro-actively help?

its a dog-eat-dog world in S’pore, people work for themselves, govt collects money from the people as best they could (for what need so much?). people do not owe this govt a living, do as you please while taking necessary risks to safeguard your own assets, wealth.

the many policies are not benefiting most S’poreans, & since they like to bulldoze their way through things. just let them do what they will, they have rewarded themselves handsomely for successes. let them too take care of any failures they inccur.

26. the gorvernment should release our gini coefficent curve to singaporeans and explain to everybody the curve!!!

27. Die-hard Singaporean 4 September 2010

Brilliant? More like DULL!!! SUPER DULL!!! Or, super sycophantic.

The economy will grow by 15% ie the wealth created is 15% on top of what was there before. So, what is happening to the wealth? Is everyone getting a fair share? How is it that the low end of town are getting nothing out of it?????????

Can we trust the Government’s figures anyway, in terms of economic growth, wages, CPF, number of foreigners in the country etc etc. All data would be massaged,sanitised and cooked before being fed to the great unwashed.

28. A minimum wage solves nothing. If you are not worth the min wage to an employer, you will not be hired. The fact is, we have to compete on the world stage, and life will never be easy. I believe the PAP is doing the right thing. We simply can’t avoid the competition so we might as well have them in own country and face the harsh reality. I prefer this to a weak govt that just pretends the problem does not exist, keep out the foreigners just to make people happy to win votes.

29. High Time 4 September 2010

The blunt message is “work till you drop dead” even if it means cleaning tables at hawker centres, selling tissue packets, collecting empty cardboard boxes, scrounging empty drink cans in dustbins, etc.

30. Baby Boomer 4 September 2010

@The Wall 4 September 2010

Nice story. I only wish the moral of the story is : Don’t ever trust economists and politicians. They only make us fools.

31. [Quote: The Prime Minister said that “Singaporeans can look forward to higher wages and good bonuses” and that “[lots] of jobs [have been] created [and] unemployment has gone down.”
    He, like all the MIWs, is talking cock and bull story. Everythings are now so nice in his sweet talk. Even his father, the old fart, who is now so concern, caring and compassion to our natives comes out now to sweet, sweet talks.
    To all netizens, the general election is coming soon, don’t be fool by them. The Pro Alien Pigs have already destroy us by a mass importation of immigrants. They start to play “wayang” onto us. This is the last chance to get rid of PAPigs. After that, there is no more hope. If you fail to do it, then “no eyest to see afterthat.

32. small hum 4 September 2010

Employers and management are directly responsible for long work hours with our government either timid to create a better life for singaporeans or a too comfortable to see the urgency in establishing a Singaporean Singapore.

33. What matters 4 September 2010

The only thing that matters is REAL wages adjusted for inflation for the average sinkie.It probably drop for the past 10 years.
    Importing 3rd world labour.–boosting population by 50% with ftrash may increase GDP but on PER capita basis it has dropped.
    Only business owners and pap-smeary elite gain bcos they pegged their salary to Leehman type bakers.

34. Alex Har 4 September 2010

There are 3 crticial bills that need be passed if govt is sincere about its citizens:
    1. Minimum wage
    2. Anti age-discrimination Bill
    3. Citizen’s privileges on public transport

35. tiredsingaporean 4 September 2010

alot of locals citizens already woke up this time but its too late, those MIW has already brought in the FT turned new voters to secue their votes again. The only way now is for all locals to stand united and force them all out of the garment, if neccessary all uni students to join the mass this time.

36. Time for Change 5 September 2010

Our grandparents and parents have have already sacrificed so much for this country. And many of them are no longer with us.

What have they got to show for all that effort and commitment? Nothing.

If we don’t want to end up the same way, we have to vote for change.

37. Time for Change 5 September 2010

“There are many people who are not able to benefit from our overall success. So just remember that……” urged SM Goh.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1079177/1/.html

This is a clear admission that many Singaporeans are not benefiting from our nation’s growth.

38. Die-hard Singaporean 5 September 2010

Dear Papee (and Funny)

When will Singaporeans realize that they are living in one of the top 5 richest countries in the world, in the whole wide world. Even LKY has said so.

The problem is, for the majority, it does not feel like it is the case.

How can we have people earning $650 a month, or less in such a fabulously wealthy country??? it is an ABSURDITY!!!!!!

Australia has a minimum wage which is currently around S$3,000 a month. Australia is NOT as rich as Singapore. Think about that Papee, and Funny.

Australia has had a minimum wage since 1907. The country has not gone broke. It is still going strong last time I checked.

The minimum wage underpins how much people care for their fellow human beings. One of the hallmarks of a civilised society is how well it cares for the under-privileged.

Papee and Funny epitomise the mentality that is still prominent in Singapore. It is a mix of fatalism, sycophancy, deference to authority, fear (which is well and truly justified), not minding any business outside of one’s own person domain, lack of concern for anyone outside of one’s family and close friends, and so on.

The Government is proudly pragmatic. A pragmatic life is one which veers towards being value-less and principle-less. One selects a value or principle to suit the circumstances at any point in time, and most of all, to suit oneself.

Pragmatism leads to decisions on the basis of personal whims and fancies and likes and dislikes. What a helluva way to go, especially when we are talking about Government Ministers. This, unfortunately, is where Singapore is up to. Not good. Indeed, VERY VERY BAD!!!!

39. Lord Robert 5 September 2010

If we don’t stop this inflow True Blue Singaporeans will be dead and buried.Practically ZERO Welfare for FREE HealthCare. True Blue Singaporeans sacrifices and contributions to the NATION has been thrown away by the very same PAP.Frozen wages and CPF cuts for reasons that I can’t comphrehend till today, were the “gives” by Singaporeans. Today they are treated like dirt and swept downstream.
    Made to slog. Take a good look at the Industrial towns and you will see that the Foreign Talents here are not Talents. The engineers, the computer experts, and whoever they can’t communicate in English. In the Workplace Safety Sector it is so clear, many so called Safety Professionals from India, Bangladesh,China and Myanmar are way out in English and yet employed for 1500 dollars and Singaporeans left aside.It is getting real bad for True Blue Singaporeans and their children. If we don’t stop this inflow True Blue Singaporeans will be dead and buried.Take a good look and see how developed countries like UK, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Germany and others work. They don’t tell their people this is the way they let the people decide. Are we deciding what is good for us? Or are we just followers without an analytical mind?
    Peace N Love

40. VoteForChange 5 September 2010

It is only realistic that employers will employ whoever ask for less,whether they are singaporeans or foreigners. Definitely, singaporeans will be priced out by the foreigners, for these foreigners can afford to ask for less becos 1)they rent a small flat shared by 10 people, 2)they donthave wife, kids, old parents here to support

So, as long as the stupid government allow these forigners in, employers will continue to employ foreigners.

As we all know, there is a Hidden Motive why the present government allow foreigners in.They act like angels doing a social good.

We singaporeans are REPLACEBLE.
    There is really nothing special being a singaporean.

41. Dang!!!!

That’s why corporate taxes were cut while GST was raised simultaneously in 2007.

42. Let me share real cases of treatment of Singaporean and Foreign Talent.

Worker’s Basic salary S$650.

When there is no production work the company call for no work. Hence the workers need not report to work.
    In this circumtance , the foreign talent’s basic salary is guaranteed and Singaporean workers will get her half day salary deducted. If this happens for 4 days , then how on earth they going to service the bills.Is this fair to Singaporean ? They have families and also contribute to the growth of Singapore. Yet been penalised for just been Singaporean.

In another case, the PRs Executives are given expatriate salary and benefits and hold single porfolio whereas a Singaporean Excutive holds 3 porfolio and paid lower with no benefit. Just because there is no one to question these employers.

This company is taking advantage and suppressing Singaporean.

May God save Singaporeans from going worse to more worse.

43. the money you slogged will go into government’s coffers.

44. Wicked PAPigs. 5 September 2010

[Quote: alot of locals citizens already woke up this time but its too late, those MIW has already brought in the FT turned new voters to secue their votes again.]
    Yes, I totally agree with you. The FTs have already converted into new citizens or new Singaporeans where they are working into the Government Departments-Police, immigration, Prison, Custom, Hospitals, etcs. Our local population is actually around 3-million people and add in another 2.08-million foreign talents. Total population is now standed at 5.08-million.
    Again, the 66.6% of the Pro Alien Party who support the the PAPigs on the last election. I am fearful that they may do it again on the coming election.
    Too late to do anything now. “o eyes to see now.

45. Boiling Point 5 September 2010

i’ve reached boiling point. (to the ISD reading this, please take note that it’s I, not the PAP, who is being “boiled”)

these PAP clowns are “victims of their own success” – they had helped grown singapore into what it is today, and us into unhappy citizens in the process. they have sucked off billions of money via temasek/mof/gic incentuous links, and pushed up the cost of living for the p65.

enough is enough. tick the box, and kick them out!!

46. Jonas Ong 5 September 2010

This is what we get when Business and Government are the same entity.

We must vote out the PAP. I say this with a heavy heart.

47. Just remember to vote wisely at the next G.E.

It’s time for change, and we know who has to go, in order to make way for the new, who will hopefully make things better for the ordinary people instead of only the elites!!

48. Name (required) 5 September 2010

In Singapore, the formula in the Head of Businessmen is only Cheap Foriegn workers and machines. Singaporeans are excluded and not importance anymore.

Employer now prefer FW because it is cheaper than machine. If one day the FW become more expensive, more machine will take over. Singaporean factor is alway being left out.

That why if policies are not change to include Singaporeans, then most of us may become deadwood. i hope the leadership can help to alleviate this fear for the sake of Singapore. Maybe fat hope only si—gn.

49. We must voice up!! 6 September 2010

The pappies out to make money… cheap labor = higher gdp ….higher gdp mean more millions to pay themself…..!!

To them we the Singaporeans are slaves!! Can’t talk back, Can’t Complain, follow only, nothing such as NO in our vocab but YE…SSir/ YESMaam all the way and work till we die with little pay!

Talk about Swiss Standard of living lol only for minister yes! to us wait long long!

Statistic shows Singaporean work the longest hours !! but the Old Fart order us to work harder and expect us to get lesser pay when retired..lol look who’s talking he got 3 million a year as forecaster extraordinaire lol!!

Enough is enough! We got to put pressure on them!!
    more Chairs for opposition in the parliament in this coming election..Vote for a better future!.. To create a fairer gov system.. that will benefit us not work us to death!
    Stand up for our right!! Fight for our right!

50. Why all the pessimism for those who have a basic degree just apply to migrate to australia. you can take your hard earned CPF and say goodbye to overtime and live a relax life. say bye bye to the sad place and be happy everafter. and once you have settled down you can help your fellow singaporean to migrate too. so all singaporeans can be a happy family in australia.