From Maruah;
Dear all,
Have you ever felt angry at social injustice and inequity? Are you an aspiring activist, an educator or a curious student? Ever felt that you could contribute more?
Following the success of last year’s “whose Right is it anyway?“, MARUAH will be organising TWO workshops entitled “Rights and Responsibilities” on 30 October and 13 November at the Singapore Council of Women’s Organisations.
All of us have something we care about – be it poverty, environment, health issues, financial protection or education. So what happens when you put supporters of these different causes into a same group to learn about rights, and to discuss and debate which rights should be more important to them?
Come experience a day of engagement and, even, controversy on this subject seldom publicly talked about! The workshops aim to raise awareness about human rights and provide a rights-based approach instead of a welfare approach to social issues, which reclaims the dignity of the individual. The workshops are specially designed to engage participants through small-group sessions.
Attendance is FREE!
Registration is required for this event. You can register for the event here (http://bit.ly/maruahyouth) or email maruahyouth@gmail.com.
Warm regards,
MARUAH Youth Team
————————————————————————————————————–
DETAILS
Dates: 30 October OR 13 November 2010 (please indicate your preferred date
Time: 9.30 am to 4.00 pm
Venue: Singapore Council of Women’s Organisations (Directions and Map)
PROGRAMME
0915 : Registration
0930 : Introduction: Human Rights 101
1100 : Session 1: My Rights
1200 : Lunch Break
1300 : Session 2: Your Rights
1400 : Session 3: Our Rights
1500 : Sharing and Reflection
1530 : Closing Address
1600 : End
———————–
ABOUT MARUAH
MARUAH (Working Group for the ASEAN Human Rights Mechanism, Singapore) is the Singapore focal point for the Working Group for an ASEAN Human Rights Mechanism, a regional entity associated with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), MARUAH has been involved in human rights advocacy and public education since 2007.
More about MARUAH: www.maruah.org
———————–
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

this is a joke right?
we the people always give/contributed to the best of our abilities?
what else do we need to contribute?
when the government think we onLEE listened…
we the peasants has been xploited/bullied till our balls cannot be squeezed no more…
we are liked the sugarcane stems..that been squashed again & again till sugar dripped no more…
Rights AND responsibilities? Fishy title lah so very Asian values style. Govt is duty bearer and being government meaning having all the power to persecute and prosecute and put people in jail has all the responsibilities to ensure that the people’s human rights are protected and delivered. If not that government got no maruah. So dont play play with the word maruah!
hey got another happening at hong lim or elsewhere or not on 30 and 13? let TOC know lah–maybe better to go to alternative happening.
also how come I dont see maruah statement on Jolly Hangman fiasco, why Vincent barred from NLB, Vui Kong no clemency by President. Funny then suddenly you want to ask people to come to your meetings-lah. You collecting evidence or what ah? You registered body or no. If not registered you illegal sure kena raided. If not kena raided–then something funny..
MARUAH… teaching people about human rights when we don’t see it even doing something as simple as voicing out for those victims of oppression.
Encouraging people to debate and learn about rights, yet washing it hands to the issues that are happening around us.
Martian you are right, So many cases of police intimidation, netizen intimdation, Vui Kong, but MARUAH has done practically nothing.
If the direction of MARUAH is that of an educator rather than a do-er, then i suggest this organization STOP rallying people who feel angry at social injustice, and START doing something about it first before taking the moral high grounds to tell people to do something about it.
Part of ASEAN? The same ASEAN that has really proven itself protecting human rights?
/sarcasm
I hate to be this cynical, but the write-up of objectives also reads so vague, laughable and fishy at the same time. Am tempted to quote SW’s Admiral Ackbar on this.
You registered body or no. If not registered you illegal sure kena raided. If not kena raided–then something funny..
>> Spot on.
Has Maruah been sleeping while human rights are being violated in Singapore? Or is it afraid of offending the Singapore authorities? Foreign rights groups have often spoken out against the treatment of political aversaries here, and here Maruah is organising a protest for Burma’s elections. Why doesnt Maruah speak up on issues that affect S’poreans, or anything that matters to us foremost first instea on concentrating its efforts on something so out of reach?
We all know that Burma’s sham elections is instigated by Goh Chok Tong, and it is he who suggested to the burmese generals to step down from their military positions to run for elections. Shoulnt we then be questioning the Singapore govt for mentoring their elections?
Instead of doing that, Maruah want to mindlessly demonstrate against the Burmese military government, and of everywhere Singapore thousands of kilometres away where it makes ALL the difference.
Please fight a battle at the correct front, please.
The problem with Singapore activists are
1.Minding other people’s business when ours are still in the doldrums
2.Our neighbor are hanging our citizens and we are seeking pardon for VK.How about our citizens sentence to death in Thailand & Malaysia,why are there no Singaporeans raising a STINK???
Let’s worry about our own poor and less fortunate as well as our way of living FIRST & FOREMOST before worrying about others they have their own govt. to take care of them.
CHARITY and COMPASSION as they say begins at HOME unless its CHARITY with an AGENDA.
sometimes, when we help others (foreigners) they may reciprocate & help us in return. people doing advocacy work run higher risk on home turf because they put the local powers-that-be in negative light.
they also may be branded loosely as anti-govt, anti-establishment. hense, the chances of being dealt with harshly may be too big a risk?
charity begins at home, but a kid going against the grain of the family head, he/she risks being kicked out. having a close network of neighbours makes the whole neighbourhood safer than each home individually ever could.
collective effort is what makes societies stronger, just like countries cooperating to fight pirates at sea, namely Malaysia, S’pore & Indonesia.
G to G hypocritical diplomacy is the norm in the world stage and that can never be disputed.
Allowing the govt./establishment to run our lives with no concern of our poor and less fortunate and of late the PMETs dilemma of being left out in the cold is something we can and must do first.
Alarm them with our vote or else we will have to carry on with this game of hypocritical brinksmenship.
mice is nice
collective effort is what makes societies stronger, just like countries cooperating to fight pirates at sea, namely Malaysia, S’pore & Indonesia.
……………..
and who are the PIRATES?
onced again..its ain’t local singapoorium or foreign talents..
just the bloomin inonesians renegades(some of them inhouse armed forces troops) the indonesians would denied..pointin the fingers @ the said babas filipinos rebels..
see what ever problemos created…
singapore eatricewastedseeds government would act GENEROUS..sendin in our best navy seals boatmen…
and who pay for all this bullets?
mine friends…
yours and mine erp meters/cpf savin$
~sigh~
istudiedNOTSOgood, 27 October 2010
eh, my point is that cooperation may mean a higher chanceof success.
as for the pirates. as the saying goes, pay people too little, people will turn to other means to survive. & in tough times, people may resort to illegal means. like S’pore pay civil servants well to fend off corruption in theory?
either stupid system or stupid person
I have nothing against social injustice. I only take issue with the fact that I’m at the receiving end of the said injustice. However, if you vote for me in the next coming GE and I get my nose into the trough…I mean get my pay check, I will definitely be able to give you a good reason why social injustice is good for society.