Ravi Philemon -

The Philippine Foreign Secretary has already blasted the elections in Myanmar as “a farce to democratic values of transparency, fairness, provision for ‘level playing field’, credibility and all-inclusiveness[i]”.

On that note, I wrote to the Foreign Minister of Singapore, Mr George Yeo, and asked him if he has a view on the upcoming elections in Burma, considering the fact that the ruling junta is not allowing foreign journalists or outside observers for the elections to be held on 7 November 2010.

Mr Yeo replied to me that the “fact that there are elections is a major step forward, however imperfect”.  He further added that the ASEAN embassy officials will be able to observe the election process: and that they could visit whichever polling station they wish.  He said that Singapore will coordinate within ASEAN to be observers of the election in Burma.

Considering the fact that the United Nations chief has expressed his “frustration” with the junta in Burma in recent weeks[ii], and the fact that he called on ASEAN to be more aggressive with Burma or risk tarnishing their own democratic credentials, the reply by our Foreign Minister was a major disappointment for me.

The Indonesian Foreign Minister too has spoken up against the upcoming election in Burma when he said “there is a perception of a credibility deficit[iii]”. The Foreign Minister of Singapore however, seems to be singing a different tune from his counterparts in ASEAN.

The response from the Foreign Minister of Singapore certainly does cast a grave doubt on the validity of ASEAN, and makes one question if the various ASEAN meetings are a complete waste of money considering that they seem to have achieved little.  It also seems that contrary to what the Foreign Minister said in July 2008 – ASEAN is not only toothless, but it also does not seem to have a tongue which is sharp[iv].

If indeed ASEAN is not only toothless, but also lacks a sharp tongue, what good would it do if it observes the election in Myanmar/Burma?

How can the Burmese election be inclusive, participatory and a “major step forward”, when Burma has more than 2000 political prisoners (including Aung San Suu Kyi) in detention and denied participation in the upcoming election?

This is the reason why I feel that the people of Singapore, who feel strongly about free and fair elections in Myanmar/Burma, should participate in the postcard campaign and demonstrations at Speakers’ Corner organised by MARUAH[v], and call for rigour in Burmese election.

The campaign is an excellent means to show our concern for the people of Burma. A means to ask the government of Singapore to join the international community in demanding that the military junta in Burma release all political prisoners, allow international United Nations observers watch over the election process, and repeal all laws and regulations which interfere with free and fair election.

Through this campaign we the people of Singapore, can say to our government that we want our government to support the call made by the United Nations to establish a United Nations Commission of Inquiry into international crimes in Burma.

Together, our collective action may ensure that the upcoming election in Burma becomes a part (even if it is just a very tiny part) of the solution to the problems in Burma, and not create more troubles ahead.

See below for the two events at Speakers’ Corner this Saturday, 30 Oct.

[i] http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2010\10\28\story_28-10-2010_pg20_5

[ii] http://www.upi.com/Top_News/Special/2010/10/18/Ban-Ki-moon-deeply-frustrated-by-Myanmar/UPI-65271287418625/

[iii] http://news.ph.msn.com/regional/article.aspx?cp-documentid=4421989

[iv] http://app.mfa.gov.sg/pr/read_content.asp?View,10628,

[v] http://theonlinecitizen.com/2010/10/burma-elections-a-campaign-and-a-demonstration-at-speakers-corner/

————————-

Demonstrations against Burma’s sham elections – from 4pm onwards. Click on picture for details:

Free Burma Campaign (Singapore)

A vote… but choice? (Maruah)

30 Responses to “George Yeo says Burma election is a “major step forward””

1. rockabyebaby 28 October 2010

OH REALLY George Yeo! You can’t be serious are you? Aren’t you getting from somewhat okay to not so good to bad and now to worse?

As Aung San Suu Kyi and her party were barred in timeline and still say “MAJOR step FORWARD” lor! Lijke your boss Lee kuan Yew after his 1956 piece to David Marshall and then lee kon yew and cronies cronyism as follows:

- K Shamugam: We are a “DEMOcracy” Singaporeans have freedom to vote but many never voted in their adult lives! WHY? And you should know

- Lee Kuan Yew SELF-PROCLAIMS we are “1st-World” and his son made PM by him who said “We are and open and inclusive civil society” BUT are we we? With restrictive laws like a person speaking aloud in other then Speaker’s Corner without permit is “An authorised assembly”? and also police interrogation in lock-up without the suspects given counsel for justice’s fairplay too?

I can going on listing but you know them all. so have you not gone BONKERS!!! You off your “rocker”!

2. BG YEO WAS A GENERAL HIMSELF 28 October 2010

George Yeo was a Military General himself… who later joined one of the most autocratic political parties that rules in one of the most repressive manner….

What does he know about democracy or democratic institutions…

3. mice is nice 28 October 2010

dunno lah, maybe S’pore will copy Burma, lose elections but backside stick to the seats… den maybe S’pore will have our own version of Aung San Suu Kyi?

what to do, we got 3rd world mindset leaders at the helm. only want to hear good news, cannot take criticism, & not keen to improve, always compare with S’pore back in 1965 (till 70′s).

4. LKY served in WW2 28 October 2010

Georgie Yeo,
    in other words, Burma election is a major step forward to being like Singapore…a facade democracy.

and you can advise the Burmese junta that according to your political grandmaster MM Lee, it is okay for them to shoot 200,000 students to ensure no disorder for 100 years.

of course Georgie, just a gentle reminder to them that Singapore has plenty of bullets, cluster bombs, land mines to export.

5. popcorn 28 October 2010

We don’t even have a creditable democracy in our own country, what right has Singaporeans interfere in another Asean country’s election process. The Burmese Junta would snigger and say fix your own country’s affairs first, then talk about us.
    Being of the same mind-set category, FM George Yeo would not dare to say much against Burma’s sham election, as this would trigger the junta’s retort “What about your own type of democracy and the election process. Don’t call another pot black when your own pot is also just as black”. Loss of face lah, so spare poor old George, he is just following his boss’s order.

6. andrew leung 28 October 2010

Yeo is a crooked general. He is a political henchman.

7. Denial Tan 28 October 2010

Ask anybody from Myanmar and they will tell you that this ‘election’ is just another wayang of the junta.

Well anyway, our political situation is also moving toward that direction. So, Yeo will definitely support this notion of a ‘million year regime’ to the likes of North Korea and Myanmar.

8. kyn chan 28 October 2010

What a joke… did he even know that an election without Aung Sung Suu Kyi is not an election?

9. rockabyebaby 28 October 2010

mice is nice 28 October 2010,
    “dunno lah, maybe S’pore will copy Burma,”?…

Oh no… rather Singapore’s LKY BG George Yeo has been taching Burma to step by step follow lee kon you’s…
    following right!….

1956 – ON Repressing And ILLICIT Love-Making!

“Repression, Sir is a habit that grows. I am told it is like making love – it is always easier the second time! The first time there may be pangs of conscience, a sense of guilt. But once embarked on this course with constant repetition you get more and more brazen in the attack. All you have to do is to dissolve organizations and societies and banish and detain the key political workers in these societies. Then miraculously everything is tranquil on the surface. Then an intimidated press and the government-controlled radio together can regularly sing your praises, and slowly and steadily the people are made to forget the evil things that have already been done, or if these things are referred to again they’re conveniently distorted and distorted with impunity, because there will be no opposition to contradict.” – Lee Kuan Yew as an opposition PAP member speaking to David Marshall, Singapore Legislative Assembly, Debates, 4 October 1956

And it’ll suit Tan Shwe pretty well and “snuggly”for themof the same cut too!

10. Reasonable Citizen 28 October 2010

A step major forward? Towards what? Towards an absolute hegemony of the rulers over their citizens? Towards the absolute destruction of the peoples rights and have an ersatz democracy.

11. rockabyebaby 28 October 2010

Scumbag ed 28 October 2010,

Are you another one like BG yeo too? He even though is a Singapore FM can kaypoh Burma Junta Tan Shwe’s SHAM of an election that even UN said of but we can’t of him our FM”and we are “Bunch of cuking kaypohs”???

Watch your words hah you FUCKING SCUMBAG! I respond as you a Singaporeans call your fellowmen this way??? You English read reasonably well but your attitude, lingo and character is of worse than QUESTIONABLE type like gangsters and PAIKIA isn’t it!!!

12. Reservist_cpl 28 October 2010

Making a farce of the Burmese elections?

It is a farce, we didn’t make it one. Than Shwe & Co did.

13. mice is nice 28 October 2010

its now up to ASEAN members on how they collectively define democracy, or do some wish to have their own “brand” of democracy?

ASEAN have sharp tongue, S’pore got crafty brains, the junta got an aggressive & regressive army? S’pore has always branded itself as Asia’s gateway, if the western world chooses to do without S’pore. Hong Kong & Malaysia are prime candidates that could easily replace S’pore. Malaysia has the size advantage, Hong Kong is the doorway to China, S’pore is wannabe (LKY aka China FT, have to suck up to China, help build econmic township)? lol…

if our leaders mistakes in the international arena may cost S’pore’s image so dearly it will seem like 1960′s all over again.

the closures of the many private schools, Warwick not setting up campus & Yale dragging its feet may be just some very tangible cost. not forgetting those foreign students who were affected. SPH can do nothing outside this tiny RED Dot about the negative fallout overseas.

will S’pore be the dot on the world map that countries choose to bypass in the relentless march to progress?

14. I believe that there is a major difference in “endorsing the elections” and “saying that it is a step forward”. Both are mutally exclusive and they do not share the same meaning.

Unfortunately, we do not have George Yeo’s full reply to Mr Philemon, hence we are unable to understand the context of Mr Yeo’s comment. Taking a few choice words just to substantiate a stand may not accurately reflect the entire meaning of the text

Furthermore, in what way can ASEAN possibly interfere in the elections? As much as UN and ASEAN calls it a sham, diplomatic ties prevent them from interfering in it – it’s not their country, and how can they possibly interfere? Invading a country is not an option as it takes up too much valuable resources.

On the other hand, between the military junta and an election, I’m sure UN would still prefer the elections. To quote George Yeo, it is a “step forward” – it allows the Burmese to recognise that they have power to choose their government, with the long term goal of letting them decide their own leaders that will govern the country properly

15. mice is nice 29 October 2010

Tjin, 29 October 2010

“fact that there are elections is a major step forward, however imperfect”

how can FM George Yeo conclusion that? i mean, when its however imperfect. while he may not endorse the election outright, the fact that he voiced it out rather positively says alot.

why do people react strongly to match fixing in sports? why are there penalties for match fixing? yes, a match may have taken place, but rigging it is cheating.

look at the definition of “definitions of Democratic Elections”:
    http://www.wordiq.com/definition/Election

hmmm, since MM & SM isn’t elected they in thoery cannot be voted out? hmmm…

16. andrew leung 29 October 2010

PAP endorse Burma Generals, they are buddies. Welcome to the Familee.

17. Lost In Translation:

George Yeo is a major step forward to Jack Neo.

18. George Yeo must be using the Singapore ‘democracy’ as a yardstick to measure the political progress of Myanmar.

Did the Myanmar Generals threaten to withdraw their large cash hoardings in Singapore if no supporting words are given ?

The overnight interests earned from bank-to-bank loans – by lending the Myanmar money – must be quite significant to make us compliant to their needs.

19. rockabyebaby 29 October 2010

Oh! And you only need to go to Peninsula Plaza to know that Than Shwe and familee owns the whole shopping space at least! Because the prices there aren’t cheap at all! Esp. the food! Burmese workers there all say that ingredients from burma is expensive! But how can that be except that those workers are import here by you know who and who? Also, even kopitiam Burmese food also not cheap although cheaper than air-cond places of course. Earn revenue for Than Shwe & Company or not? The Burmese people tell me they have no choice as they pay for their food they miss!
    It is call “Big FISH eat small fish”as Lee Kuan Yew had said decades ago you see!

20. Alan Wong 29 October 2010

Even Malaysia’s leaders have no good words to say about the military junta in Myanmar but our Georgie here says it is a good step forward.

What a blatant lie some people can tell us !

21. I wonder is the FM is using Sing Elections as a yardstick to measure Burmese election

22. Yeah right, this is really a major step towards autocracy… sorry… democracy according to GY.

23. @mice is nice:

Yes, I agree with your point. However, I believe that Yeo’s statement was made in comparison to what has happened before – the fact that the junta has been making a tight control ever since 1962. For the past 48 years, no elections have been made and people have been violently oppressed.

Furthermore, with 40 political parties contesting in this election, it would be too early to say how would the election results turn out. One can hope but there is always the possibility of rigging.

Lastly, it only takes a step to turn the tides. Elections may not go in favour of how we would like it, but I believe that it would wake up more people to the fact that they can change the situation around them, and possibly lead to revolutions that will topple the junta regime

24. mice is nice 29 October 2010

Tjin, 2 October 2010

to a large extent, you can choose to see the situation from your point of view or see the situation as it presents itself.

going by what you say about the junta making comparison, that would explain the similiarities with PAP replaying the early days of S’pore after WWII almost every national day. the bucket (waste) system, frequent floods, dirt roads, charcoal stoves, dusty road sidestalls.

it may be too early to say how elections results would turn out, but for people who fear loosing power its never too early to make the odds tilt in their favour.

25. Die-hard Singaporean 29 October 2010

Everyone knows that Burma is one of the top suppliers of drug. You do not have to be a genius to work out that the Generals have a large cut of the action. That is a given.

Our Government hangs the drug mules and gets into bed with the Burmese Generals.

George Yeo – tell me what sense that makes? Pragmatism to the point of being without any principles is simply gutlessness.

26. Dead Poet 29 October 2010

Smart BG..what is the diffrence between our 1963 elections and Burma’s 2010 election..2000 in detension we had 200. Lim chin Siong..Aung Saan

Now if the British had thrown LKY after his 1959 victory into prison labelling him as dissident like Aung saan..he would have won a noble price..too bad

27. DingDong 30 October 2010

One Step forward, Two Steps backwards. Its imperfect but still progress.

28. iamRAMBOVIII 30 October 2010

georgeyeo should sticked to be a pastor instead of bein a useless eatricewasteseeds foreign minister..the last useless comment he said was in pattaya when he had to evacuate like a goat herdin into a minibus instead of the american helicopter durin rambo IV..