If, for instance, you put in a Malay officer who’s very religious and who has family ties in Malaysia in charge of a machine gun unit, that’s a very tricky business. We’ve got to know his background. I’m saying these things because they are real, and if I didn’t think that, and I think even if today the Prime Minister doesn’t think carefully about this, we could have a tragedy.

A question of loyalty: the Malays in Singapore, Straits Times 18 Sep 1999

Well, we make them say the national pledge and sing the national anthem but suppose we have a famine, will your Malay neighbour give you the last few grains of rice or will she share it with her family or fellow Muslim or vice versa?

Interview with Mark Jacobson from National Geographic 6 Jul 2009

The influence from the Middle East has made them have head-dresses for no rhyme or reason.

Interview with Mark Jacobson from National Geographic 6 Jul 2009

… read the book and understand where he’s coming from. And don’t just read one book, see MM in his whole lifespan and the struggles he has gone through.

Dr Yaccob Ibrahim The Sunday Times Jan 30 2011

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

43 Responses to “A history of worst case scenarios”

1. mice is nice 31 January 2011

if all of MM’s books are given to all citizens for free, i will read. or give S’poreans a hefty discount like sell them for SGD$1 each.

can MM not afford to subsidise it?

worse case scenerio is paying civil service above market rate only to have them underperform & yet still keep them, then only to pay them bonus pegged to GDP (bonus which should have gone to the private sector)…

2. Yaccob suck up to lky

3. A good idea! Send every home a copy of LKY’s book FOC. Surely LKY cam afford it.

4. Dead Poet 31 January 2011

To think he labeled Tang Liang How a Chinese Chauvinist for saying much less. So who is the true chauvinist, elitist, despot, bigot and racist. That’s the hard truth this episode has taught us.

As for AMP, I hope they do not end up like the Bar Council.. and become history. The old man is vindictive and cruel to the core. He will not like a bunch of glorified business man questioning his wise council..

5. Daft Guy 31 January 2011

The DAFTEST guy in sinkieland who was silly enough to think that he could be PM of his Malaysian Malaysia.
    Everybody else know that no non-Malay could be PM of Malaysia.
    This Daft will take his bitternest to the grave, forever not accepting the fact and blaming the Malays for it.

6. LKY is worried about so many things.

He forgot that the Gurkha guards outside his house are merceneries.

If someone came along and offered them more money do you think they’ll take it or remain loyal to him?

I’m not saying that anyone will do this. But this is the real worst case scenario that we are looking at.

For those of you who think that loyalty cannot be bought than i say that you are NAIVE and A FOOL!

7. iamtheONE4all 31 January 2011

If, for instance, you put in a Malay officer who’s very religious and who has family ties in Malaysia in charge of a machine gun unit, that’s a very tricky business. We’ve got to know his background. I’m saying these things because they are real, and if I didn’t think that, and I think even if today the Prime Minister doesn’t think carefully about this, we could have a tragedy.

A question of loyalty: the Malays in Singapore
    ………………….
    and you leekingyou came up with this brilliant idea of GRC to speak for their owned race/faith..
    shutmudgame/baekampong for serangoon road bangalas..end up with? thaipusiam is not good..overcrowding drums bangin..charkoals burnins…
    yacoob for malays abang/adeks….
    not good enough for them to become fighter pilots or even officers in time of war..might even give foreign fello abangs over for a packet of nasi lemaks perhaps…
    GRC stand for what? Gondu Race Champor?

8. iamtheONE4all 31 January 2011

a Malay officer who’s very religious and who has family ties in Malaysia in charge of a machine gun unit
    ……………
    ole dear leekingyou again…
    did you read your history lessons in pasir panjang hill? who defended the hills with his life and endup bayoneted?
    a islamic hero
    A Malay platoon, consisting of 42 men, commanded by 2nd Lieutenant Adnan bin Saidi, was holding part of the defenses of Bukit Chandu. He and his men would take the brunt of the Japanese assault.
    Adnan was seriously wounded but refused to retreat or surrender and instead encouraged his men to fight to the end.

Soon after, Pasir Panjang was under Japanese control, and Adnan bin Saidi, wounded and unable to fight, was captured. Instead of taking him prisoner, he was continuously kicked, punched and beaten by the Japanese. He was then tied to a cherry tree and bayoneted to death.
    …………..
    so leekingyou where were you again on that fateful day..yes yes we all know you were in singapore…includin the praata president…
    servin teh tarek to the nipponese intelligence unit perhaps?

9. Yamamoto 31 January 2011

In China, Mao Zedong has the little red book. In Singapore we have the little white book or the little lee book

10. Anderson 31 January 2011

“A good idea! Send every home a copy of LKY’s book FOC. Surely LKY cam afford it.”

Bring it on. My shit is ready!

11. Well after being slap by MM, many Malays still vote for them.

12. LKY has slapped sensibilities of many in past and yet got away with it. Look at some of his past speeches – makes one wonder if Singaporeans ever had any balls. In most countries this won’t be tolerated. But Singaporeans are so meek. Hopefully new generation has more balls.

13. read the book and understand where he’s coming from. And don’t just read one book, see MM in his whole lifespan and the struggles he has gone through.
    Dr Yaccob Ibrahim The Sunday Times Jan 30 2011,
    What A good idea! Send a copy of LKY’s book to the Library,school,CC,RCs..etc.

14. Yaccob’
    The policy of discriminating and marginalising the Malays/Muslims introduced by LKY since 1970 had brought hardship to numerous Muslim families and individuals until today. Since then people like you and many others are supporting the very party which was headed by the most racist man I ever known that are behind this heinous policy, I assummed you did it mainly for fame and economic gains.Your actions is akin to selling your soul to Satan(LKY).
    May ALLAH forgive you and all the Malay/Muslim MPs.

15. I will not put much credence in Yaacob Ibrahim’s nor Lee Hsien Loong’s attempts at damage control over Lee Kuan Yew’s published statements. Lee Kuan Yew has ALWAYS made similar put downs of both Indians and Malays. (The Chinese, to him, are the pinnacle of human development.)

What guarantee can Yaacob Ibrahim and Lee Hsien Loong give that we have heard the last of Lee Kuan Yew’s racism?

16. jufrie mahmood 1 February 2011

Can we get the truth out of those concerned. We have often heard that MM LKY and Pres Nathan colloborated with the Japs during the occupation.

There has been no denial so far. You juxtapose this with the heroic deeds of Lt Adnan and his platoon mates who made up entirely of Malays. Still cannot trust the Malays?

Can Dr Yaacob tell us what he thinks of this? Can we request him to ask the MM and the President and lay bare the truth once and for all? How about it Dr?

17. The chinese are equally angered by LKY for his insensitive comments on our malay brothers. We are Singaporeans. Not divided by race or religion and we will stand firm together as one. We are not going to be influenced by PAP or LKY with their crap piece of shit. I am a chinese but this time LKY has gone too far with his comments. I cant think of why some one of his age and wisdom will uttered such irresponsible comments.

18. LIONS ROAR 1 February 2011

in singapore,there are in effect only 2 races- you are either the elite race or the ‘daft sheep’;nothing else really mater.

19. Bodyguard 1 February 2011

I was a bodygaurd for one of the Cabinet minister. LKY has never had a malay or Indian bodyguard close to him. He even dont allow unfamilar chinese bodyguard get close to him. How to have race harmony when the man himself is racist… Take a look carefully during his walkabout speeches…. no Malays or Indian bodyguard can be close to him within 5metres

20. Bodyguard 1 February 2011

I may be questioned for posting this comment. Anyway, LKY is racist. I am a chinese. Lets see if LKY or the govt restrict lion dance and drums during this coming chinese new year. If they dont, then its going to be racist…

21. chou Ah Lian 1 February 2011

Racist or not racist but at least he is not hypocrite like Mahathir whom is a Mamak disguised as a Malay to cheat the other Malays. Now Mahathir’s son is one of the richest in Malaysia.

22. Dead Poet 1 February 2011

That’s why we never had a requirements for MPs and Ministers to declare theoir assets. Many believe that the Lee family is proably one of the richest in the world. Well its all leegally gained.

23. iamtheONE4all 1 February 2011

mice is nice

see no reason for LKY to demonise any race, even if in the past he may have had unpleasant experience/s.
    …………..
    well its goes liked this…
    his son ordered 40 sticks of satay from a malay seller in hung tua streets of melaka
    when his son was serenadin(robert lark)
    satayman says..don’t owlian owlian..or in bahasa malayu..jagan bedek bedek lu tidak tau wak satays(by the way don’t include seahums hor) manyat besar besar machiam machim mcdogles giant portion..
    25 sticks chukop lark…
    son buaysong complaint to daddy
    daddy in return shouted back..don’t cared hav seahums or not..ow come no chilly(mai hiams)..ow to eat?
    so henceforth from that day onwards…
    daddy xipei tulan malay satay sellers…
    son largi buaysong…take revenged…
    he retired the FIRST malay very xperience MP when he took over the thorn crown…

24. Alien Go Home!! 1 February 2011

I am Chinese & never had any problem with Malays, Indians or Eurasians; to me, we are all Sinkies in a little red boat. I dont understand why LKY would make these silly remarks & how on earth do one take it in perspective? So when are we supposed to take his words for real or is it cos most of us arent elites, so we are too dim to understand him? I think the answer is that we are just too busy defending our jobs against foreign invasion & raising living cost. Perhaps, you should look into these things than write some silly book…again!

What’s with all these Malay bashing? We were all doing fine without your silly comments & dont tell us we are daft or whoever is a dud; to many of us, your son, the PM, is the biggest among all. Yes, that’s right & that’s the Hard Truth!!

25. Marikita 1 February 2011

I can understand LHL trying to defended LKY. they are father & sons.

Yacob? He is just a spinelss useless creature. Suck up for his own progress. A disgraceful animal

26. Desperate_for_anything? 1 February 2011

Don’t need a war to find out who will give out his last grains of rice during a war.

Just take a car accident scene in Singapore: Who are the first ones who step out of their cars to try to help the car accident victims? Usually, they are the Malays or the Westerners. The worse are the chinese: Upon seeing an accident, they will stop & say: Aiyo… so bad ah?? WAhhhh… and then they drive away…

27. Chinese_Singaporean 1 February 2011

LKY has an affliction called Paranoia Melayu.This disease harms not the body but the mind.
    Referring to that Malay officer he mentioned,such a scenario borders on the absurd.What can one single officer(no matter what combat unit he hails from) do in the armed forces?But because of his ailment,it plays out vividly in his mind.
    Of all people,he is the one fanning the flames of racial distrust by spouting such assertions.How ironic!

28. Alaya-vijnana 1 February 2011

“The influence from the Middle East has made them have head-dresses for no rhyme or reason.”
    Really,as a Chinese,I am shocked by this statement.
    Why do many Sikhs don turbans?Why do certain sects of Catholic nuns put on head wear?No rhyme or reason too?
    I fail to see anything wrong if people wish to express their deep,personal religious sentiments via their attire,as long as no laws are violated.There are Malays wearing tudungs executing “qigong” movements,together with the Chinese.The latter never question them,do they?
    Whatever your religion,we all feel pain and joy,anger and sadness,and instinctively know what,for example,are fairness and justice.Fundamentally we are all human,our feelings and reactions about the same when confronted with the same objective emotional event before us.
    LKY is shrewd,yet lacking deep,existential Wisdom(with a capital”w”)that makes one transcend religion,outward form,etc.and realise we are all essentially one humanity.Attire is of little consequence to me,personally.What matters more is my deepest substance,my “soul”,so to speak,and whether I am a righteous human being or not in my heart.

29. A good idea! Send every home a copy of LKY’s book FOC. Surely LKY cam afford it.

=============

lky if still alive will holler “THERE IS NO FREE LUNCH !!!”

30. Racist or not racist but at least he is not hypocrite like Mahathir whom is a Mamak disguised as a Malay to cheat the other Malays. Now Mahathir’s son is one of the richest in Malaysia.

=================

Are lky’s children and spouses NOT among the richest here?!

31. check this out. search on you tube: lee kuan yew – world renowned race realist and statesman. See what LKY had to say about the Malays. And did anyone read Lee Wei Ling’s article on racial hierarchy?

32. No Saint 2 February 2011

“but suppose we have a famine, will your Malay neighbour give you the last few grains of rice or will she share it with her family or fellow Muslim or vice versa?”

Suppose, there is war again, will your Chinese neighbour in Orcahrd Road fight the enemy of the people or will he work for the enemy and save his own ass and family.

Well there were some Chinese, like the great Lim Boh Seng and then there were some yellow bellied Chinese who sold out.

Go read history and we all know history repeats itself. Its got nothing to do with Malay, Chinese or Indian. So is it a given that a Chinese or Indian will share his last grains? I beleive politicains who need huge amounts of money to stay uncorrupted have no moral authority to make such comments.

Lets not wait for a famine, let those who speak so highly of themselves donate 50% (I’m not asking for a last few grains) of their salary every month to help the poor in Singapore. I have seen poor people helping others less fortunate then themselves but I have no respect for these politicians

33. Mat Rockers 2 February 2011

“If, for instance, you put in a Malay officer who’s very religious and who has family ties in Malaysia in charge of a machine gun unit, that’s a very tricky business. We’ve got to know his background. I’m saying these things because they are real, and if I didn’t think that, and I think even if today the Prime Minister doesn’t think carefully about this, we could have a tragedy.”

I am not an officer, but i happen to be Malay and leading a Machine Gun team made up of myself and two more soldiers, both Chinese. I think since MM Lee was a coward who never served his country fighting the Japanese decades ago, he will never understand the bond soldiers go through in tough times and training.

It will not be easy or even possible to train your sights on the very people who served with you and suffered together, regardless of race and religion. I am very close to my two soldiers under me who are still serving the same reservist unit as i am and in the same appointments. No doubt we are different in upbringing, race, religion and education. But it will be sacrilege to even consider shooting the very men that had suffered and shared their water with me, especially in the jungles of Brunei.

MM Lee and the PAP, you have lost my vote. I urge my Malay brethren to do the same. PAP will never bring you up, but instead use us as a crutch to push their political tactic of divide and conquer. Keeping them in power will not benefit our society, unless you are only interested in your own or family survival. Think big.

34. LKY has in his book made himself a stupid idiot.

35. observer1 2 February 2011

A man without vision touching an elephant on its trunk would think an elephant is like a tube. Another touching the same elephant on its leg would think the elephant is like a round pillar. It takes someone with vision to step back in order to look at the whole picture of an elephant.

MM has shared with us his opinion on a very primal phenomenon. This pheomenon is very strong, can be latent due to education and rational thinking, but nevertheless will never change because it is human nature. MM has acquired his opinion with keen observation of world events over a period of 74 years (assuming he started at age 13, the age of a secondary one student).

Why is it that people, based on their circle of personal experience, would be quick to rubbish MM’s opinion? Have they zoomed out their vision to see MM’s comment in the same perspective that MM had? There maybe hidden hands and masterminds behind the surge. Let world events develop over the next 50-100 years and then we can form better conclusion with the hindsight of history.

36. PAP smeared..!!

37. iama1/2PAST6historian 3 February 2011

observer1
    MM has acquired his opinion with keen observation of world events over a period of 74 years (assuming he started at age 13, the age of a secondary one student).
    …………..
    when he was a secondary school boi..1 of the riched school kid hav the same christian name harry.. leekingyou used his knuckle and whacked the hell out of him and swore to himself…he will NEVER be poor again no matter what is the COST

38. We Wabt Change 4 February 2011

Better get out of S’pore, WAR is coming bec LKY is slowing losing his mind and instilling unneccessary social and racial unrest. Run better RUN!

39. mice is nice 4 February 2011

i wonder if LKY is fanning negative racial sentiments so (S’pore’s) history will repeat itself (recial riots). & if it does repeat itself, the current PM can then justify the use of force, as a pretext to maintain law & order. furthermore, pass more executive powers to silence dissent to keep themselves in power.

not sure if anyone shares this view that some crafty folk is stirring things up to distract the masses. when someone points fingers at a “witch”, you know that person is hiding something ah…

40. The Trend that has started in Tunisia will sweep across the region and Europe and then the Whole World. Authoritarian
    government like PAP should go. It is time for MM to leave gracefully. Singaporeans will vote you out in the coming GE.

41. mice is nice 6 February 2011

MM apologise? lol…

people are arrested for saying things that are deemed seditious… as if apologising can prevent an arrest.

42. Nejib Musa 15 February 2011

LKY has tarnished many malay kind hearted minds and soul now, why he never stops? If his son follow his footsteps,i will `redirect’ my own teenage children JC and sec4 to a different `path’. God willig I will be able to do that. If racial descrimination do not stop in Singapore, dun repeat the black May 1969 racial riots in Malaysia. Dun forget we Malays can fight back to win our Dignity and religious rights in this country,(Article 152,153 in the constitution),we are not stupid foreigners who do not have any roots here.