Seven years after she left the country, a Singaporean lady was contacted by the Central Provident Fund (CPF) to settle her outstanding Medisave contribution or face possible court action.

Ms  ‘A’ Tan left for Germany in 2003 and had been staying there since. In April last year, CPF contacted Ms Tan to make payment for her Medisave contribution amounting to staggering estimate of SGD $12,600. Her full story is featured in the article “Medisave – pay up or be charged?”  under the fictitious name ‘Jane’.

In May, Ms Tan wrote in to CPF to appeal against the payment. She cited her dire financial situation as a reason why she would not be able to pay.

She further added that she feared she might not see her monies in the CPF account again due to the CPF minimum sum scheme.

CPF did not respond.

Ms Tan wrote again in January this year, and this time CPF replied.

It asserted that as Medisave is compulsory, the Board was unable to waive the outstanding Medisave fees but would be willing to consider a lower monthly installment payment for her.

Ms Tan wrote back reinterating her reasons for not being able to pay. She further added:

“As i am not living in Singapore and don’t intend to return anywhere in the near future, is it neccessary that i pay this amount now?”

In its reply two days later, CPF maintained its original position. It also wrote:

“Self-employed persons are required to make Medisave contributions if they earn a net trade income of more than $6,000 a year.”

When TOC contacted CPF to seek their clarification on this matter, CPF responded:

“More information about self-employed persons’ Medisave liabilities can be found on this website:http://ask-us.cpf.gov.sg/explorefaq.asp?category=23043. Alternatively, you may contact our CPF Call Centre at 1800-227 1188.”

Source: relax.com.sg

Ms Tan told TOC that she feared entering Singapore with her Singaporean passport.

She hopes that CPF can give her an assurance in document saying that no court actions will be taken against her if she were in Singapore due to her outstanding payments.

“I don’t want court action in Singapore in my life but what should i do as i don’t earn enough money to settle it even in installment plans. So i am left with no choice but to enter Singapore again with a foreign Passport even to visit my family,” she wrote.

The following is the email exchange between CPF and Ms Tan from January 2011. (Note: Certain details have been omitted at the request of Ms Tan)

Name: Ms XXXX Tan

Feedback form submitted by Ms XXXXX Tan on Self-Employed dated 06 January 2011 (Thursday), at 21:23:11

Dear Sir/Mdm,

I am refering to my self employed medisave account.

As i am living overseas now & am only earning about XXXX euro per month, I am unable to contribute to top up my account as i am fighting to survive  here with only ca. XXX euro in my paycheck.

I have explained my situation in an email to you dated in May 2010. To date, i have not heard from any Officer of the CPF board.

A short reply would be appreciated. If necessary, i can forward you& your office a copy of the last email i have sent.

Thank you very much.

yours sincerely,

XXXX Tan

Datum: Mon, 10 Jan 2011 10:38:59 +0800

Von: SELF-EMPLOYED@CPF.GOV.SG

Betreff: Re: Feedback on Self-Employed [Our Ref: SES/SMTP2/SXXXXXXXY]

Dear Ms Tan

MEDISAVE FOR THE SELF-EMPLOYED SCHEME

We refer to your email of 6 January 2011.

With regard to your request in May 2010, we are sorry that we are unable to trace the correspondence. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Self-employed persons are required to make Medisave contributions if they earn a net trade income of more than $6,000 a year. This applies to income earned from 1 January 2002 onwards. For income earned before 1 January 2002, self-employed persons are required to contribute Medisave if their yearly net trade income was more than $2,400. Medisave payable is computed based on net trade income declared to the Income Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS).

Our records show that you were assessed by the IRAS with a net trade income of more than $2,400 for year 1995 to 2001 and a net trade income of more than $6,000 for year 2002. Hence, you are required to make Medisave contributions for the mentioned years.

As Medisave is compulsory, the Board is unable to waive the outstanding Medisave payable by you.

You may wish to settle your Medisave payable through instalments.

Instalment payment is a concession granted on condition that the self-employed person makes an up-front payment of a specific amount and undertakes to pay the instalments by GIRO.

We can grant you a concession of 12 monthly instalments, on condition that:

a)      an up-front payment of $632 of your Medisave outstanding is made;

and

b)      you complete an Application For Interbank GIRO form for

the instalment payments.

You may view your outstanding Medisave payable under ‘my cpf Online Services? by going to: http://www.cpf.gov.sg.  You will need to login with your SingPass. Upon successful login, select “Check my Medisave Liabilities”. The SingPass Online Request service is available at the CPF homepage.

You may make your up-front payment using any one of the following modes:

1.      E-Payment – log on to our website and pay through the internet if you have Internet banking facilities with UOB/DBS/Citibank/OCBC.

2.      D-Pay (ATM Cards) / Diners Club Credit Card ? at any AXS Station.

3.      ATM – at any SAM machine

4.      ATM Card / Cash ? at any Singapore Post offices.

5.      Crossed cheque made payable to CPF Board

For option 4 and 5, please use the payment form SE 3 Medisave payment form for Self-Employed?.

An instalment plan will be issued to inform you of the amount to be deducted and the dates of deduction after your GIRO has been approved. However, if you have difficulties in maintaining the instalment amount, you may appeal for a lower monthly instalment plan using the Form CPF SE Appeal: Appeal for Instalment Payments by Self-Employed Persons

You can click on  http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Self-Employed/Gen-Info/Forms/se_FormsVP.htm to print the required forms.

Please visit the CPF website http://www.cpf.gov.sg for more information.

Alternatively, you may contact our CPF Call Centre at 1800-227 1188.

Yours sincerely

Tay Wen Ling (Miss)

Self-Employed Section

Central Provident Fund Board

10/01/2011 03:11 PM

To:     SELF-EMPLOYED@CPF.GOV.SG

Subject:        Re: Feedback on Self-Employed [Our Ref: SES/SMTP2/SXXXXXXXY]

Dear Madam,

i have explained that i earn only ca. XXXX euro per month. Out of this ca. XXXX euro, i have to pay for my monthly rent (XXX euro per month), compulsory state insurance (XXX euro per month), German taxes (XXX euro per month) , public transportation fees (XXX euro per month)and living expenses (the rest of what is left). I have explained in the email that due to this amount that i earn, i couldn’t even come back in Nov 2009 to witness my brother getting married.

As you can see, it would be impossible to pay the amount as you requested even as an upfront guarantee. If i have the money, i would gladly pay you the upfront amount as you have requested.

As i am not living in Singapore and don’t intend to return anywhere in the near future, is it neccessary that i pay this amount now? I have just got my degree and would like to give myself a chance to find a good job here while working first as a self employed person.

Regards,

XXXX Tan.

P.s: i can gladly scan you the original documents (all in German) basing on my income for the 2010 to show to you that i am not exagerating. Life is hard here too, just as in Singapore. Plus, the currency here is euro (1euro = 1.62 S$) I will give you an example : 1 cup of coffee in Mcdonald’s Singapore cost 1 S$. The same will cost also 1 euro here. Hence, I am paying 1.62 S$ for every cup of coffee i buy. So please don’t think that we as overseas Singaporeans earn far more than the locals back home. The standard of living here is as high, if not higher, than that in Singapore.

Thank you.

Datum: Wed, 12 Jan 2011 17:33:29 +0800

Von: SELF-EMPLOYED@CPF.GOV.SG

Betreff: Re: Feedback on Self-Employed [Our Ref: SES/SMTP2/SXXXXXXXXY]

Dear Ms Tan

We refer to your email of 10 January 2011.

We note that you are currently overseas. Self-employed persons are required to make Medisave contributions if they earn a net trade income of more than $6,000 a year. This applies to income earned from 1 January 2002 onwards.

If you wish to pay your outstanding Medisave contributions by instalments, please email us at self-employed@cpf.gov.sg to work out the repayment arrangement otherwise, reminder letters would be sent to you from time to time.

Please visit the CPF website http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Self-Employed/home.htm for more information on Self-Employed Scheme. If you have further queries, you may email us atSelf-Employed@cpf.gov.sg. We can also be contacted at CPF Call Centre

1800-227 1188.

Yours sincerely

Tay Wen Ling (Miss)

Self-Employed Section

The following is CPF’s reply to TOC’s enquiry

SELF-EMPLOYED@cpf.gov.sg

totheonlinecitizen@gmail.com

date: Wed, Feb 9, 2011 at 6:22 PM

subject: Re: Attn To: Ms Tay Wen Ling [Our Ref: SES/ SMTP6/SXXXXXXY] mailed bycpf.gov.sg

Dear Ms Choo

We thank you for your email of 7 February 2011.

More information about self-employed persons’ Medisave liabilities can be found on this

website:http://ask-us.cpf.gov.sg/explorefaq.asp?category=23043. Alternatively, you may contact

our CPF Call Centre at 1800-227 1188.

Yours sincerely

Kuah Mei Yin (Miss)

Self-Employed Section

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

50 Responses to “CPF’s repeated insistence on woman staying overseas to pay up”

1. Wai Leong 14 February 2011

What’s the purpose of this whole story? To show CPF Board is inhuman? But why bother about notices from CPF Board when she’s already in Germany for many years?

What Ms Tan should do is simple: Give up Singapore citizenship. She says she already has a foreign passport, correct? When she gives up citizenship, she’ll be entitled to withdraw all her CPF funds.

If she’s afraid of “court action”, then don’t come back to Singapore. Alhough I must add that I believe there must be many self-employed persons in the same situation. They all manage to get by somehow, even if they’re in Singapore and not Germany.

2. No point explaining or reasoning with govt workers — they are just minions simply want to close case and get on with more important things in life like shopping, hotel buffets, cars and finding rich husbands and buying condos. Note the board’s emails are all from “Miss” — low-level flunkies with the above attitudes. The correct thing for Ms Tan to do right from the start is to ignore all & any correspondence and contacts from CPF and all other SG govt or GLC entities. Be uncontactable and find another place to rent ASAP. Don’t tell anyone back in SG about your new address, not even your own family initially.

3. Ms Tan is not staying in SG and admitted that she is not those “monied elite”. Thus she has shown her hand that she is politically unimportant and no MP will take up her case even if her family in SG appeal for her.

Since she already took the bait and stirred the hornet’s nest, Ms Tan’s next step is to shame CPF publicly. Write your story in a blog and put up scanned images of all your emails and correspondence. Slant it such that CPF is acting like a brainless and heartless machinery out to squeeze a poor individual of her own money. Send the story to local newspapers & see if they will print it. Send the scanned images to places like Stomp and other news and public image websites and publicise your blog to all your friends both in SG and overseas.

4. If you’re wanted legally in S’pore, using a foreign passport also no use. You’ll still be arrested at immigration checkpoint. The reason why Ms Tan can still go in/out of SG is becoz CPF has not initiated court action against her yet, and the court has not issued any arrest warrant or detention order against her.

Giving up SG citizenship may be the only option. But depends on her longterm residency status in Germany or rest of Europe. You don’t want to voluntarily give up original citizenship and eventually become stateless. Get some Euro citizenship first. Anyway you need to show that you’ve taken up another citizenship before you can renounce SG citizenship.

5. Why is this lady complaining? If she can leave in germany, surely she can pay off this premium health insurance plan in a few years. CPF were even nice enough to offer her an installment plan.

This is just a matter of stinginess and not even willing to cooperate, so why is she whining about it?

Fancy TOC trying to twist the story and make the CPF boad seem at fault

6. eaglefly 14 February 2011

please all you bunch of idiots stop assuming.

the cpf board just need money to pay indonesian gov for fines by th.

don’t pay means cannot issue broker,taxi,insurance and what crap license that’s all and since she’s not making living here, fuck them at cpf, all are nothing BUT DAFTS !!!

worse of all IS, you CLOWNS are paying for SUCH DAFTS….

7. why did you declare herself as self employed? Just tell CPF she is unemployed in Singapore. Her employment in Germany is irrelevant in the eyes of Singapore. She must be taking some income in Singapore. I have yet to hear of people unemployed in Singapore being ‘forced’ to top up medisave. Isn’t this a technical issue of changing her status from self employed to unemployed?

8. Why? So that Ms Ho Ching can go on her losing spree?

9. No use talking to those wooden blocks at CPF. Even their answers to enquiry are cut and paste. They used dated English and also refer you to their website. They cannot make decision. I have experience their ridiculous red tape. I wrote into the press and when it was published, they call me to let me know it could be done. Initially they offer the standard reply
    “It is CPF policy…” They only know how to adhere to their cumbersome policies. Talk about productivity – none.

10. What is the point of this story?

I live in Europe and definitely here you can’t avoid your legal liabilities by just leaving the country. If I don’t pay my social security contributions or taxes (currently accounting for around 60% of my salary), I will be fined, sued and potentially even jailed. If I have left the country, they will try to track me down (depending on the sum owed) or at least arrest me when I next return to the country. It’s called tax/benefit fraud and is a crime.

Are you saying that when you leave your country to work abroad, any unpaid bills you have just get cancelled and you don’t have to pay them? Sounds hardly fair…

11. I got a question here: For Singaporeans or PRs renounced their status, will they be able to withdraw the monies in Medisave?

If cannot, what happens to the money? Government take it back or go to charity?
    I can’t find this info in CPF website.

Many thanks for anyone willing to answer this. Sorry for the “diversion”.

12. How can she hold 2 passports? Isn’t that an offense?

13. This article raises many questions.

Why despite seven years in Germany, she is still considered self-employed? Is she earning an income in Singapore even though she is in Germany? If not, she should be considered unemployed in Singapore and need not be contribute to CPF.

Another thing is what puzzed said, why is she holding two passports. Isn’t having two citizenship an offense?

14. angry_one 14 February 2011

Ah! One of the biggest secrets in our citizenship law. There is NO law that forces to you renounce citizenship. It is just ‘discouraged’ and you need to declare this if you enter sg when already a foreign citizen. Many still renounce, to get their precious CPF.

15. Medisave is a forced savings for your medical needs. It is essentially YOUR money. Should someone be fined for not putting their money into their savings?

16. Desperate_for_anything? 14 February 2011

Aiyo people! Read carefully la. Her IC number S XXXXXXXY is still there. This lady doesn’t have 2 passports. She is still one of us!

Also, did you all read the other story? She had no money from the start and still tried to pay the CPF.

From my point of view, she is a victim of a foreign marriage gone sour but smart enough to first get a foreign degree and now trying to get an employment in Germany. I think she is brave and she is trying to make some good in her life.

Let this article show all Singapore Girls that trying to marry an angmoh to get out of SG may not be such a good idea after all.

17. This is very simple, if you don’t have Medisave savings, should you fall sick upon your return, and have no Medisave savings, Govt have to use Medifund to pay your medical fees in hospital. Money-faced Govt want us to use our own money
    to take care of our medical costs.
    Sickening thought, isn’t it.
    The Economist labelled them the stingest Nanny Govt in the world, not for no reason.

18. Desperate_for_anything? 14 February 2011

The thing is: if she wants to renounce SG citizenship, why wait till now to renounce?? She could have done it at the 1st opportunity she had. In my opinion, she is just being honest and very scared of trouble! ( isn’t that how the system wants most Singaporeans to be?)

Also, note in her emails to CPF. She did NOT ask for her debts to be removed. She is asking only for an assurance letter that no court action to be taken. Maybe that was all she wanted and since she love and miss SG and her family and yet scared to come home because she has not enough money to pay, then what other choice has she got?

Every person is free to choose his/her way to majke good of his/her life. She is doing what every human being would have done in order to survive. I see nothing wrong with that.

19. I just cannot believe that the avaricious stance of CPF board. Frankly, ti is ”grab as much as one can from’ each citizen and the excuse is for medical use.

Frankly, it is a scam!
    As for being able to withdraw it or have someone from the family or relative benefit it on one’s demise – nothing happening. It is just hoping that one die and the board takes all.

20. Very Very Angry 14 February 2011

Central Provident Fund is actually a casino where people like HO Jinx draws out a lot of monies to gamble,when are we Singaporeans going to wake up on this issue

21. SukaSukaDog 14 February 2011

Inhumane….. rules, rules and more rules. Medisave and CPF in general is supposed to help protect citizens. Not cause unnecessary burden. These people working at CPF board also no power… use CPF act to “fight” the citizen.

22. Bobby Tan 14 February 2011

Singapre does not want her
    She should try her best to get a German passport and renounce her citizenship …and tell CPF return all her money.

No use arguing with CPF.

I had a friend who emigrated and was not a citizen of the host country yet…He wasnted to withdraw all his cpf was told He cannot unless He is no more a citizen…Two years later He came back with a foreign passport and renounced his singapore citizenship and got every penny of HIS money back.(Not CPF’s money, not PAP’s money)

23. Imagine we all go overseas and come back a year or two later and withdraw our CPF. Do you think CPF will be able to pay everyone? Dunno where the money is invested also.

24. VoteForChange 14 February 2011

The wise thing to do is to renounce her
    SICkapore citizenship, for now What Use Is This Thing Called ‘singaporean’?
    I am sure many many and many of us want to leave this SICKapore.

25. iamtheGESTAPObanker 14 February 2011

J 14 February 2011
    Why is this lady complaining? If she can leave in germany, surely she can pay off this premium health insurance plan in a few years. CPF were even nice enough to offer her an installment plan.
    ………………
    you meant every men/women who lived abroad in a european country is so damned rich?
    in whose eyes do you see those views?
    the eyes of the pap elites mps/ministers perhaps?
    you frickin blind toadbat….

26. agongkia 15 February 2011

I feel bad for Ms Tan too.
    My towkay friend also faces difficulty paying up his medisave which is cause by the incompetency of the Authority resulting in his decline in business,now facing difficulty to renew his licence because he has difficulty paying up his medisave.
    Let me share a another recent CPF case against him with you all here.
    The CPF seems very interested to send my towkay friend to Court.Probably he could have offended the Seow Jin .

My towkay friend is late in paying his employees’ CPF for month of Nov which he is suppose to pay before the 14th of December.He was told to pay up and write a letter of appeal for the waiver of compound fine.,which he did.,to avoid Court action.
    Payment was paid up end December ,probably deducted in early January.He still receive a letter to attend Court .He called the officer and was told to ignore the Court letter which he did and was told the case is close.
    Days after,he receive a Court letter again.This time he want to play safe and attend Court to say that he has paid up.Over there,he was told to ask for adjournment but he do not feel the need as he already paid up.He got no chance to speak in Court.They adjourn him giving him no choice but to attend Court again on days after Chinese New Year.Sway or not?Chinese New Year leh….Nevermind,2nd time again he tell the interpreter that he had paid up but do not know what is the charge against him,instead of closing the case,the prosecutor again can say that he got no objection to grant 2 weeks adjournment which is not what he want.Now he has to attend Court again for the 3rd time for a case which is already settled.

Why can’t the CPF simply wrote to him to say that the waiver is not granted and pay up the compound fine and instead drag the case and send him to Court again and again especially during his New Year?
    Is my towkay friend more pitiful than yours?
    He is just an honest country bumpkin out to earn a simple living.Why must we make him pay medisave,processing fees and make thing difficult?
    CPF should have some mercy.No one like to owe his medisave if he has the mean to pay because he need to carry on his business.CPF is kind to grant installment but should also be efficient in helping those in difficulty.

27. J-failedEnglishComprehension 15 February 2011

J 14 February 2011
    Why is this lady complaining? If she can leave in germany, surely she can pay off this premium health insurance plan in a few years. CPF were even nice enough to offer her an installment plan.
    ————————————————————
    I think stupidity of mankind have reached a new low.

28. Kelvin Pan 15 February 2011

This lady will not get a german citizenship because if she tries to apply it in germany, the geman ICA will ask for a refernce from spore embassy. At the end, spore embassy will need to ask refernce from all statutory boards in spore. If one statutory give a red notice, she ca n apply for german citizenship. Same thing happened to me when I have traffic summons outstanding in spore
    btw, i just had my thai citizenship. not some developed country citizenship… thank you

29. iamtheGESTAPObanker 15 February 2011

PT 14 February 2011
    What is the point of this story?

I live in Europe and definitely here you can’t avoid your legal liabilities by just leaving the country. If I don’t pay my social security contributions or taxes (currently accounting for around 60% of my salary),
    …………..
    wow! you must be engelbert humberdick or annabel cheong..
    you paid 60% taxes?
    i only paid a weekly 33% tax
    who are you bluffin ere?
    tom jones perhaps..
    yes yes tom jones still alived..he still singin delilah in last vegas..and he don’t pay 60% tax as you claimed…

30. i thought working overseas is damn good.. why still earn so little? Come back SG la

31. eaglefly 15 February 2011

Kelvin Pan 15 February 2011
    This lady will not get a german citizenship because if she tries to apply it in germany, the geman ICA will ask for a refernce from spore embassy. At the end, spore embassy will need to ask refernce from all statutory boards in spore. If one statutory give a red notice, she ca n apply for german citizenship. Same thing happened to me when I have traffic summons outstanding in spore
    btw, i just had my thai citizenship. not some developed country citizenship… thank you

====

dear Kelvin, please help me to get some advice on how to get a thai citizenship, i heard it’s more difficult than a eu or american citizenship, as even the aussie, european find that route difficult, thanks.

32. Desperate_for_anything? 15 February 2011

@kelvin.

Wa! Thai citizenship ah?? How long you have to wait to get it? You can speak Thai?? Heard Thai language very hard to learn leh….

Better learn German. :-D

33. pap sucks 15 February 2011

Sial lah the stupid gahmen so greedy ah?? This woman not enough money to support her own living alrdy and still gahmen want to squeeze money out of her??

34. Insideridiot 15 February 2011

To insider : please don’t be so foolish to determine that the ladies who are working in cpf just wanna close case and find more important things like hotel buffet and finding rich husbands. If you are not happy with the system in Singapore then leave Singapore!. If the ladies just wanna find rich husbands they would not be even working at cpf! Dont think singaporean ladies are like china ladies. Shame to have you as a Singaporean!

35. Why Pity this women? Why are you in Germany in the first place? You got money to fly there but no money to come back? Being overseas doesn’t mean you no need to pay your liabilities. So come on, pay up. Cpf staffs cant do anything, it doesnt mean that by saying those story they can waive off the liabilities? They also employee can’t do anything even if they want to help you so please people who are commenting, use your big brains before u talk. Don push the blame to cpf staff cause afterall they also employee cant do anything to change the policy<=== insider, use your pea size brain when u comment!

36. Desperate_for_anything? 15 February 2011

@sign.

Got nothing to comment, don’t comment. At least no one would think that you are dumb.

Also, scolding others brain sizes here doesn’t show us that you have a gigantic brain size.

37. commentator 15 February 2011

Medisave is for medical bills. In the event that she stays in a German hospital, will CPF let her use her Medisave? If yes, she should pay by all means. If no, what is she paying for?

Her payment obligation should be to the country that provides her employment and medical benefits.

38. Oh and Agongkia, your “towkay frien” is a non wage paying scum who needs to learn to pay his employees on time for work/services rendered. He should have his ass dragged to court every day of the week causing him all sorts of inconveniences so that he can feel what inconvenience workers feel when they don’t get paid. Even if it is CPF contributions as that is part of a renumeration package.

39. iamtheGESTAPObanker 15 February 2011

ah tan 15 February 2011
    i thought working overseas is damn good.. why still earn so little? Come back SG la
    ………….
    you know the hokkien phrase?
    good2see..nogood2eat…
    4 of us singapoorium went to britain to work in the hotel industry donkeys ears ago..2 guys 2 girls (only 4 out of 800 permits being granted)
    on the 2nd ear the other bloke who is my neighbour/kaki came home to singapoor, he got married to his singapoorium sweathard and they lived happyly ever after.. the other 2 girls ley, 1 married to a brit bachelor playboi angmor, the ugly 1 got married to a german older man who is a carpenter workin in britain..
    meanwhle annabel cheong (real story, not makeup fairytales) was in london studying arts..1 poor night she got raped by 5 black african british origins
    she enjoyed so much that she now hav the habit of sleepin with no less than 4 men in 1 bed…
    the point of this story is simple, its every singapoor girl dream of gettin hitched toany angmor any nationalities as long as they are angmors..unfortunately certain angmors got very very bad/perculiar habits which i do not want to go into details
    so on an average scale many turn out separated/divorced or kanna playedout..
    singapoor girls are too damn proud to come home and relieved their lives onced more…many filipinos returned to their native village upon failed marriages..they can faced realilty….
    yes in europe its ain’t easy being single..trust me on that..tesco supermarkets is not that CHEAP…
    and you all hav no ideas what is the winter gas bills turned up every monthends…it boiled your face red red when you open that on government service brown envelopes…
    ~sigh~

40. agongkia 15 February 2011

tim.hehe .Thanks for reading.That scum will never and cannot afford to pay his staff late.He even pay for both employee and employer cpf portion for some but I am not going to debate on that.His staff morale is high even CPF wrote to them that their employer pay their CPF late.They even told that scum that they are instigating them against employer.,for some purpose..

What I am saying is that CPF staff should not sleep on the job and make their job easier by just threatening members with Court letters.CPF staff did not set the rules but they can help members think of a solution., especially those who have difficulty paying their own medisave into their own account.It make no sense not to allow them to renew their license because of their situation.I suppose reply to queries should be within certain period.Does this not apply to CPF Board?

41. eaglefly 16 February 2011

To insider : please don’t be so foolish to determine that the ladies who are working in cpf just wanna close case and find more important things like hotel buffet and finding rich husbands. If you are not happy with the system in Singapore then leave Singapore!.
    =====

wah, you talk like singapore BELONGS TO YOU and you only…..

many of you FCUKERS are SCREWING UP THE SYSTEM HERE and you think island belongs to you ???? mother fxxker

42. The incumbents modus operandi is always this – a simple eg suffices lah . One of our citizens got kidnapped in Iraq and when he tried to contact the Singapore embassy to see what can be done to save him, he got a reply that they would after he has met some requirements

However, what transpired is this – they checked wheter he was owing them taxes, bills, cpf etc and found out that he had some outstanding … they decided to save him.
    Get the story?

43. When was Medisave initiated by CPF? I dont have a problem when I left Singapore in 1988. When I gotten laid off in 1986 recession, I did not have any contributions made to CPF or paying any taxes. Could this be the reason? I have never gotten harassed by the CPF until I renounced my SG citizenship and gotten all my CPF monies via wire transfer in 1994. Maybe she should have done the same thing as I?

44. eaglefly 17 February 2011

hell, they need someone or any thing that walks to contribute to a losing cause.

madof would be proud of them for lifting up the flag, ponzi flag is good, remember tontine, its also good…..

but then, did lky gave you a letter that guaranteed your money back, or like some japanese who took all his savings from the bank and hide them under his mattress, telling the bank manager, “what guarantee do you have for me, that my money is safe”

more likely, you’ll not see the lump sum because they don’t have all of it, to pay all 50,000 citizens when time comes, reason why its remitted in SMALL bits of pieces…..

saying goes, “its better money in my pockets than someone else”, do you REALLY trust the gov so much, YOU MUST BE daft

45. eaglefly 17 February 2011

MUBARAK HAS BILLIONS, RICHER THAN BILL GATES, what else do you think will happen when payback time comes, created protest ( to get kick out) created an invasion, (run off with central banks gold bars like tunisian president wife)

hell, history will ALWAYS REPEAT ITSELF,

only the dafts think it will not,

CORRUPTION IS NOT IN MY VOCAB SAYS THE MIW BECAUSE WE’RE PAID MILLIONS, HELL, SOME PASSIVE INCOME IS ALSO GOOD…..FROM YOU ALL….AS THE MOTTO SAID……….

GREED IS GOOD

46. Mike Tan 18 February 2011

Why must native born singaporeans has to renounce their singapore citizenship. A native born should never lose his or her birth right as a nation’s Citizen. How is that people like actor Jet Lee, gets to hold multiple citizenship, and yet a native born singaporean has to renouce his/her citizenship. We all know very well that Mr. Jet Lee, is holding a HK and a US citizenship, how is this possible. Can somebody enlighten us about this. do you know there are thousands, and thousands of fellow singaporeans who are holding dual citizenships for reasons and circumstances being inevitable in order to collect their retirement and medical benefits in their old age and yet they have their family and friends in their native singapore. What right does the singapore govt had to take away their birth right as a singapore citizen.

47. iamtheGESTAPObanker 20 February 2011

Mike Tan
    How is that people like actor Jet Lee, gets to hold multiple citizenship,
    jet li is born in CHINA..not hongkong
    so he is also a mainroad cinaman…
    but than again..if you buy a bungalow for $21 million$ i guess its automatically RED i/c…

48. Angmoh City Lost In Asia (that's what Singapore fools itself into believing, lah!) 26 March 2011

Well, I have come right up against the machinery and I wish to tap the collective wisdom of the forum.

I registered two businesses consecutively in 1993 and 2000. This made me self-employed according to the CPF Board. I was never active and received no income from registered businesses. In short, they were dormant companies. Before 1 Jan 2002, Medisave was not required to be paid when one’s net yearly income fell below $2400.00. CPF acknowledged this in its letter to me. Then came the wallop: the CPF Board has seen to fit to calculate my Medisave liabilities based on an ASSUMED net yearly income of $6000.00 between 1993 and 2000! Clearly, there is a disconnect here. I had no net yearly income (which is below $2400) but CPF Board assumes that I had an net yearly income of $6000.00 anyway to calculate my Medisave “liabilities” for which I was clearly not liable. You do not have an income but we’re going to come up with one anyway just to stick it to you.

I guess I have an uphill task against the CPF machinery. It makes up definitions along the way, even when it conflicts. It is a darn waste of my time and a cause of much consternation. I think I am going to be sick from all this badgering me for my own health’s sake. A Pap smear is a pretty invasive procedure and I am not even a woman.

Assume that you are guilty as charged, you are guilty as charged. Yes, it is signed by that same Ms.Kuah who could not tell that ACRA did not exist when I registered my business in 1993 and 2000. It was called the Registry of Companies then. Slipshod.