Hot on the heels of the Government’s Budget to be announced this Friday, The Online Citizen will hold a Budget Forum 2011 on Saturday, 19th February. In the two-and-a-half-hour long forum, three guest speakers will share their views on what the Budget means for Singaporeans and the future of Singapore’s economy. This is the first time a forum that provides in-depth analysis of the Budget is held within 24 hours of the Budget’s annoucement.
The speakers are-
- Mr Tan Jee Say
- Mr Tan Kin Lian
- Mr Leong Sze Hian
Each speaker will speak for 20 minutes, followed by a question and answer session.
Details of the forum
- Date: 19th Feb 2011, Saturday
- Time: 2pm – 5pm
- Venue: Azea Personal Coaching, 24 Raffles Place, Clifford Centre #07-04 Singapore 048621
- Dresscode: Smart casual, no slippers or shorts please!
- Refreshments: Please come on a full stomach, we apologize for not being able to provide refreshments.
- Admission: Free
Due to limited space, we can only take in a maximum of 70 people. Please register here if you want to attend.
About the Speakers
Mr Tan Jee Say was with the Ministry of Trade and Industry from 1979 to 1985 where he headed economic and manpower planning and also served as secretary to the late Dr Albert Winsemius, the economic adviser to the Singapore Government. From 1985-1990, he was the principal private secretary to Mr Goh Chok Tong. In 1990, he went into investment banking and subsequently took up fund management. He is a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Institute for Securities & Investment. He is a graduate of Oxford University where he read philosophy, politics and economics.
Mr Tan has just completed a 45-page paper “Creating Jobs and Enterprise in a new Singapore economy – Ideas for Change”. A summary extract of the soon-to-be-published paper can be read here.
Mr Tan Kin Lian was a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries in 1975. He joined NTUC Income in 1977 as the chief executive officer. During a period of 30 years, he built up the business, assets and sphere of influence. From 1992 to 1997, he was Chairman of the International Co-operative and Mutual Insurance Federation (ICMIF). Mr Tan was conferred the Friend of Labor Award in 1978, the Public Service Medal in 1983, the Rochdale Medal Award in 1992, the Financial Personality of the Year Award in 2000, the 2001 International Management Action Award, the Public Service Star in 2004, Leading CEO Award 2005 and the Friend of I.T in 2007. After retiring from NTUC Income, Mr. Tan founded Tan Kin Lian & Associates Pte Ltd. He also lectures as an adjunct professor in Singapore Management University.
Mr Leong Sze Hian is the former President of the Society of Financial Service Professionals. A Wharton Fellow and an alumnus of Harvard University, he has served as Honorary Consul of Jamaica and Chairman of the Institute of Administrative Management. He has authored three books and was quoted over 1000 times in the media, and invited to speak more than 100 times in about 20 countries on 5 continents. He is also a regular contributor for The Online Citizen.
Latest update: Ms Braema Mathi will replace Mr Tan Kin Lian as third Speaker of the forum. Click here for more info.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

I don’t know if the event might be too close to the announcement? Will the speakers have sufficient time to analyze the budget, and the implications? Same thing for the audience as well…
yes throw out the money grubbin PAP and its media lapdog supporters.
I rather call it an election budget. It will be predictable like every year and every pre election motive. The forum speakers will more or less know what will come out of the horse mouth. So no worry, it is just a motion to make pap look like they are serious in giving the people when the hidden plan is to triple their intake from us immediately after election. Expect the so-called deferred ministers pay to be increased as pegged to the previous year GDP and not the country growing problems, GST hike to 10% or more, MRT to increase fare further, medical cost uprising….etc. I would rather pay more attention to the likely scenario if PAP get the mandate after election than the piece meal “carrots” to distract our attention of voting pap out.
Thank you for organising this Budget Forum, TOC.
Singaporeans will benefit to hear abt the budget from an independent perspective
We are not worried we are not given any election goodies, which are temporary things to sweeten our mouths, we are more worried that the GST will shoot up to 10% or above, after the PAP are voted in again to rule.
Any Party could rule after election, as long as the GST stays put, better still,
decrease from the present level, and if the latter happens, we would kiss the winning party ” wan shui”.
So proud of TOC for being able to assemble such a distinguished panel of speakers. It shows that the PAP does not have a monopoly on talent, nor does the ST have a monopoly on news analysis.
Hopefully the panel will provide a more critical and incisive view of the Budget than the ST ever could.
With SDP releasing their own Budget before PAP does and this TOC forum, there is evidence Singapore opposition really got hope. I will take PAP goodies and vote in opposition parties to get more goodies from PAP in the future.
The promise of the 1990s:
SWISS STANDARD and MORE GOOD YEARS came to nothing.
GST should be 3%
Direct taxes >$1 mill. 40%
Direct taxes >$2 mill. 50%
MediaCorp (ChannelnewsAsia) should feature this forum on top of the one given by finance minister for better all round overview of budget.
hope this is the last time pinky do the budget, singaporeans really hate him for what he has done, in the past, present and future (no more!).
pinky is driving true singaporean to the brink of extinction. so desperate we are, this guy will be hired to take out pinky
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golgo_13
the condition to golgo 13 is that:
make pinky looks sissy on live TV for 10 minutes. Wear all pink, including underwear. Destroy his PM creditability totally.
Again speaking on behalf of the “special needs community” , I am hoping for concrete & tangible support to the special needs community especially in the area of education!
Special needs education is very costly and while neuro-typical kids’ parents have the “luxury” of getting a $300 monthly childcare rebate… This is not applicable to the special needs community (since most of our children are not accepted by the mainstream childcare). Fees at private special schools are exorbitant and those under CEL aren’t cheap either and none offers education on daily basis (I understand a lack of funding leads to the 2x-weekly or 3x-weekly sessions which does not help in maintaining “consistency” in the special needs child’s learning & development).
Some attention here would be great!
May I use the Chinese idiom, “san ge chou pi jiang sheng guo yi ge zhuge liang?” 三个臭皮匠,胜过一个诸葛亮.
Hope this event will be recorded and uploaded to youtube.
We need 2 vote the DAMN LOTS OUT of PMO.
We need Egyptians MENTALITY.
Is pissing ME OFF everyday when I c trash in the PUBLIC sector doing MINIMUM yet CLAIMING Maximum.
Hope that all these professionals with great ideas and exceptional morality can come out to stand for election to be elected into Power to make changes to the current situation to save Singapore from being ruin by the Moribund MENTOR.
Some possible ideas for the PAP’s budget;
- More HDB enbloc for PAP ward.
- More Lift upgrading for older PAP estate.
- AngBao monies for everyone (Native and new citizen included) for a “share” of the big GDP growth. (Majority of AngBao monies goes into CPF- medisave
- Enhanced workfare, so there will be more monies in the pocket instead of CPF. (Majority still goes to CPF. Condition applied)
- S&C subsidy to offset inflation.
- Enhanced baby bonus to encourage more baby.
Think think…what else?
All eligible singapore citizen (each household) will received $10,000 where $9500 will be deposited in CPF for old age and S$500 cash will be given in installment for the next five years,do i need to say more….
Alrdy know wat kind of budget government coming out with.Really dumb to predict or emulate.
Government just wan to use less fund but more its own resources to generate more enconomical activities.
So can increase the wealth of rich ppl here.This will increase foreign investment.
Which will make minsters get more bonus by end of year.
If they are free,then will give some incentive to gulliable Singapore like us.
Since we got no choice but to vote them in,they want to show the world that Singaporean love their goverment
(A) After flooding-in a deluge of PRs and newly-minted Singaporeans who will now tap into our healthcare subsidy in part or in full, respectively;
(B) Despite inflationary cost pressures with increased foreign worker levy and other global pressures;
(C) Notwithstanding the sharpest acceleration in our ageing demographics starting now;
what did Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan do but allow MOH Budget 2011 to DECREASE???
Khaw doesn’t need to send your Ah Kong and your Ah Ma to JB. You will do it yourself.
Can we pack Khaw off to Jiangsu as he is also the Co-Chairman of the Singapore-Jiangsu Cooperation Council on top of his MOH portfolio? That’s his back-door exit lah!
The Pariah
http://www.singaporeenbloc.blogspot.com
Glad to see each and every individual on this page
I am freshman in this article and in addition right away i sooo want to say good day to all of you
I am the first time here right here furthermore immediately i prefer to would say hi all to each one
Glad to get in touch with all men and women in this article