From sgpolitics.net

Ng E-jay/

I am glad that Mr Siew Kum Hong has come out to defend PAP candidate’s Tin Pei Ling’s right to privacy. With that out of the way, however, it is now time to address a serious political issue.

If the PAP fields Tin Pei Ling in a GRC like Marine Parade, for instance, it would only serve to intensify the already strong criticism that inexperienced PAP candidates enter Parliament merely by riding on the coat-tails of ministers or senior MPs, creating a very unfair and playing field.

If such an untested and unproven young candidate like Tin Pei Ling were to enter “through the backdoor” rather than have her mettle tested in a straight fight against an opposition candidate, it would also be a shame, because voters did not have a chance to judge and decide for themselves who they want as their representative.

Continue reading here.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

69 Responses to “Field Tin Pei Ling in an SMC and let voters decide”

1. Alienated 31 March 2011

I can only surmise another who is inexorably a yes-woman and most likely to inveigle herself to .. and if not succumb to avarice. The very fact that she is married to someone who is in the emply of the PMO’s office suffices lah to deduce as to whether it is meritocracy at work or cronyism rearing its ugly hydra-headed tentacles.

Excepting credentials it does not feel that she has the credibility to serve people. Serve the party – certainly a thumping YES! Serve the people – wishful thinking and dreaming lor. Stupidity is to assume or equate credentials with credibility.

2. Anthony 31 March 2011

No loss to the papies if they field her in a SMC. They have already ‘signalled’ to the opp that they are ready to lose a couple of SMC …so if they lost this rookie…so what. May work to their advantage as they can show that opp ‘bully’ this young girl in the hustings.

3. all 'cos of a girl 31 March 2011

This girl is a liability!
    SM Goh will lose his GRC ‘cos of a girl.

4. How is Tin 31 March 2011

Her husband (Ng How Yue) is in charge of managing election readiness for PM. Does this include drawing of electoral boundaries??? http://app.sgdi.gov.sg/mobile/person.asp?aid=0000000014&pid=20080701091325
    is this “insider knowledge”???

5. mice is nice 31 March 2011

maybe PAP now prefers to gamble, even in elections? or PAP may simply be clueless on how to do things in a systematic way, so by taking chances, they absolve themselves from blame if things go pan out well.

try try lah…

on the other hand, i feel its not right to hold onto stereotypes like “young & inexperience”, its agist. a shame, cos some voters cannot see pass that age bias. i remember reading a report of a little girl alerting beach going in Thailand of an impending tsunami in the 2004 Indian Ocean quake. she saved a number of lives cos her parents believed her, they dun simply berate her for “crying wolf” due to her young age.

6. i1-2sellABALONE 31 March 2011

why go so far? field tin against mrs chiam in poton pasir
    afterall our prince and his papa never hav the balls to field themselves in poton pasir for the past 20 ears
    talk is easy
    just do it

7. impossible in a Singapore-style democracy 31 March 2011

Dear Pei Ling,

you wished to engage netizens. engage me.

in our Singapore-style “democracy”, what you are asking for is impossible.

the result of fielding TPL in a GRC will be drastically different from the result when TPL is fielded in an SMC.

which begs the next question:

we allegedly have a democracy.
    yet we have two potentially opposing end results, depending on WHERE we field the candidate.

why is this so?

will the chicken answer be: oh, because in that SMC, she has not worked the ground

well, the chicken cannot answer that. the PAP has taught us that you must have, as a single candidate, worked the ground ALL OVER SINGAPORE, even at Tuas Extension and Pulau Batu Putih.

so, what will the chicken answer be?

8. mice is nice 31 March 2011

the chicken answer will be,

i am not your average chicken, i married a somebody. my social status is not your average heartlander who have little or no choice. i got choice, lots of choice, include riding on coat-tails.

PAP is wise to have chosen ex-army men, ex-police, people with solid financial savvy, NTUC “leaders”, & lawyers like me. they come in handy to defend the status quo, & we do it better then those wayang NSFs. in peace time or in times of conflict, these are the talents that will keep PAP in power.

of course, not forgetting the compliant MSM to shape minds, or shackle them.

never watch “Salt”, the Angelina Jolie movie? how she was trained at a young age.

9. @mice is mice… you prescribed a poor analogy to argue against age stereotype. Like it or not, age has been used as a key determinant to suitability since time immemorial. If you do not have a problem with the use of 21 as legal age, then it is in fact hypocritical to criticize any other form of age stereotype. A “legal age” being written into law does not make it any less stereotypical than a person having an opinion about one’s age. If we accept zero stereotype in human society, then we must also accept that a 10 year old kid can run for election, 5 year olds can wed, and there will be no such thing as male and female toilets, no beauty contests, no leaders and followers… no nothing!

Remember… perception is reality and reality is perception. Perception is none other than a more noble form of stereotype.

10. Jim Crow 31 March 2011

Dont assume that she will lose in a SMC.

She has the PAP brand name and the spore electorate tend to give the ruling party the benefit of the doubt, especially money is involved and upgrading is involved. Hougang and Potong Pasir are the exceptions to the rule.

11. prettyplace 1 April 2011

I think its a wrong approach asking her to be fielded in a SMC.
    We should be able to vote where ever she stands or with whomever she stands with.

I feel the PAP members and some ministers are more of a baggage then her.

We should calmly think, if the PAP policies have done any good for us these past 10years and vote.

12. Born this Way 1 April 2011

Oh… give me a break … singaporean are classified as “ignorant Voter”=”愚民”
    … Sure TPL will won in the SMC……

13. Field PAP Newbie Tin Pei Ling 1 April 2011

May I correct your headline.
    Mr Brown says, try this:

Field PAP Newbie Tin Pei Ling in an SMC and let voters decide

http://www.mrbrown.com/blog/2011/03/pap-is-new-faces-opposition-is-newbies.html

14. i1-2sellABALONE 1 April 2011

Jim Crow 31 March 2011
    Dont assume that she will lose in a SMC.

She has the PAP brand name and the spore electorate tend to give the ruling party the benefit of the doubt, especially money is involved and upgrading is involved. Hougang and Potong Pasir are the exceptions to the rule.
    ………….
    what exceptions are you mubblin ere?
    1-2-fight..i must tied 1 hand behind me back? are you a MAN or a ahquah?
    pap brand name you BOOST so loud..yet in real lives..pap are just chicken s h i t

15. richard 1 April 2011

If Tin Pei Ling enters Parliament via a GRC, well, that is nothing new. Lots of other mediocre, lacklustre, nondescript PAP candidates had done so in the past.

BUT if Tin Pei Ling causes the PAP to lose a GRC… Now,. wouldn’t that be fun, exciting and even history making?

Let’s make history!

16. mice is nice 1 April 2011

RC, 31 March 2011

well, i agree my analogy isn’t prefect. i am musing why her age is such a big thing. i guess PAP is correct to have chosen her to distract the critics, her combination of age, demure looks & social status does provide a good & lengthy distraction.

get to focused on the details & you may lose sight of the big picture- that is PAP as a whole, not just 1 or 2 candidates.

what i mention isn’t on the same breath as laws are, in regards to age, which imply a certain level of maturity. like game, movie ratings, those figures are not derived from a haphazard manner. there is science to back those figures up wan.

Ms Tin PL is legally an adult already, not Junior College age anymore.

17. mice is nice 1 April 2011

Richard, 1 April 2011

even if they lose their clients court cases, lawyers always win. have to pay them mah.

:D

18. Patrick Lee 1 April 2011

Have You Read The Truth Yet ???

http://taihonghung44.blogspot.com/

19. postthetruth 1 April 2011

i totally agree to field her in an smc…. this is one good way to gauge her acceptance by the citizens of singapore

20. Name (required) 1 April 2011

It is not about inexperienced or the coat-tails of ministers or senior MPs, creating a very unfair and playing field.

It is all about a public servant know how to serve the nation.

A young punk will said to the poor families :”It is your own business!” Well, you can appeal to this and that, but at the end, no reply! and at the end, jump MRT, commit suicide and etc…

21. busybody 1 April 2011

Why does Mr Siew Kum Hong speaks up for this damster in distress but would not do a thing when opposition candidates are being mauled by the PAP? I cannot help but to believe that he has a soft spot for young gals.

However I would rather not she’s being field in a SMC. She will bring calamity to the opposition because it will lead to multiple corners fight with almost every opposition wanting to field their candidates to stand against her. So better not, let her stand in a GRC. It is better that the opposition net in a GRC than a SMC.

22. Ggeorge Cherrian 1 April 2011

Hi, did anybody read my namesake’s article in the government’s newspaper today?

He says, Stop disturbing this poor girl, she already don’t know what to say on youtube.

She already said healthcare and education costs are low in Singapore and heavily subsidized for segments of society. Isn’t this the universal truth already? So let her be.

If she back out , worse, they might replace her with a monkey/orang utan who is just willing to take peanuts for wages, and can mouth the same lines.

“I don’t know what to say !!!”

23. Dirty Politics 1 April 2011

This is PAP’s 2nd most controversal new candidate besides Janil Puthucheary!

She is also some of PAP’ worst candidate. Her answers regarding the widening income, rising cost of education and medical is a total joke!

On top of that, trying to act cute for a political position is not appealing to Singaporeans.

Was she influenced by Taiwan where polititcians play clowns to win votes? This is definitely not going well with local voters.

24. doomed 1 April 2011

since politics is dirty, how to make every voters think wisely?

the whole world is an illusion.
    conman comes in decent forms, that is the whole problem.

How about the wolf and sheep story for everyone?
    No matter how well you reasoned, you are the ultimate loser.

Nobody can help this earth, only mother nature can.
    Let us put aside our grievances and embrace nature, the only warmth we can get.

25. Well, We can make jokes about her, we can mock Janil Puthucheary. But end of the day, i think it is important that we should not care even the candidate is a young 18 yr former porn star that dress like a hooker, if she can prove that willing to fight for singaporeans, work from the ground up and can connect with the ppl and represent our ideas of how singapore shd be govern (somehow all these sound damm wrong)i think we shd vote for her. but no someone that have disconnected view from ours and tell us “Don make your(singaporean) problem in our(government) problem”.

26. April Fool 1 April 2011

Ai ya, every one on earth is a fool.
    A fool for life, not only for today.

Everybody is fooling around.
    aiya, as they fools, we fools!
    Happy fooling days!

I see sky are blue, red roses too..
    And I talk to myself: “What a wander fool world…..’

27. rover2sg 1 April 2011

Uncle’s first thought: PAP know that this candidate is not strong and cannot stand on her own. Hence put her in a GRC with “strong” leader.

Uncle’s second thought: I thought the GRC scheme is to help bring in “minority” candidates to ensure fair representations in Parliament? Has it been changed to ensure “minor” candidates to be given a free ride into Parliament?

Uncle’s third thought: What if the PAP were to lose the GRC due to its weakest link?

Uncle’s forth thought: The widening income gap is not the government’s responsibility?
    Unlike the Japanese, since when did our Ministers taken reponsibility for their charge?

28. Jackson 1 April 2011

If PAP is sincere in bringing young candidates to parliament, they should put her in an SMC, not GRC. Only via SMC can we tell if she’s really that effective as a candidate, not hide behind a GRC.

29. Observer 1 April 2011

MP Teo Ser Luck tweets:
    “Her composure n calmness after all these attacks on her impressed me. Confident she will make a good MP and role model for the youth”
    http://twitter.com/#!/SerLuck

30. thank Mediacorp 1 April 2011

@Observer1 April 2011
    MP Teo Ser Luck tweets:
    “Her composure n calmness after all these attacks on her impressed me. Confident she will make a good MP and role model for the youth”

her composure and calmness comes from the generous Mediacorp media training that Teo Ser Luck also enjoys but our Opposition friends do not.

sorry, Teo, we know for sure that this has nothing to do with being a Good MP, so we didn’t fall for your fast one.

as for being a good role model – I’m sure she is. She married well, nobody would dare not employ her in a good position, and now the People of Singapore are going to unwillingly hand her a lucrative Backdoor position on a silver platter.

I am sure she will be equally of service to the People of Singapore as a PAP activist, without having anything from the Backdoor.

However, your party insists on doing this to us. We are unable to stop you.

31. pointer 1 April 2011

all singaporeans no need to argue she can or cannnot. Even losing 50 billions also nothing happened in temasdek and GIC. Important thing is have to be related to LHL

32. I looked at the “expose” beyond the smears. They were more of tell-tale signs that speak of the character that is likely Tin Pei Ling as a person.

Putting together the razor TV interview and the 2007 YPAP Conf speech by Tin Pei Ling, it has shown that Tin Pei Ling is more FLUFF AND BLUFF than substance.

Compare LKY’s almost drab dining room as shown in recently published photos.

Ask yourself: Do you want your MP to be an airhead who would even dream of posing for a photo with a Kate Spade box?

For PAP to put up Tin Pei Ling as a MP candidate to represent Gen Y voices – what does it tell you about the PAP?

To me, the PAP branding has been devastatingly tarnished by just this specimen of “future PAP”!

The sword cuts both ways – With Tin Pei Ling in a GRC, voters can choose to vote out the other PAP candidates too! COLLATERAL DAMAGE lah!

The Pariah
    http://www.singaporeenbloc.blogspot.com

33. Is TPL the best candidate among all the YPAP?

If she is, I lose hope on PAP’s future.

If she isn’t, why is she chosen?

34. Richard 1 April 2011

Besides PAP’s Teo Ser Luck, another person who wrote highly of TPL is one of the ST bloggers.

So once again, opinion in Singapore is sharply divided between PAP / ST on the one side, and most of the rest of us on the other side. Must be something seriously “wrong” with us that we cannot see the PAP / ST viewpoint and appreciate the qualities and potential of Tin Pei Ling that would make her both a good MP and role model.

Since we are so “daft”, we deserve only “duds” from the opposition. Let’s have them!

35. Alien Go Home!! 1 April 2011

I guess age isnt the biggest issue here; remember Sir Alex Ferguson won many trophies with kids? But then again, that’s Sir Alex & he probably could win something even if he fielded a bunch of 12 yrs old Girl Guides!

The main issue here is the passion & drive to be an MP, especially in such a matured estate like Macpherson. I am not saying that TPL is rubbish (she probably is but I am just been polite!!), what I wanna say is that she lacks experience in the real world. I dont quite understand why PAP always need to find top professionals for a job that needs plenty of interpersonal skills, patience & commitment. I don’t doubt these people are good in whatever they are doing now, but I do doubt if they have the human touch to work with the residents under his care. Yes, upgrading does work & yes, giving money away helps big time too. However, what is going to happen when all these are done?

I have the good fortune of meeting my MP only twice in 10 years, both times were after the election, well actually my estate has always been a walkover. I feel rather strange whenever I talk to my overseas friends cos most of them are involved in their local politics, whereas I only voted once in my whole life (43yrs liao)& that was during the late Mr Ong’s fight for the presidency! I can understand my friends’ look when I told them that!! They are quite puzzled on how one could get into office without going through an election. I really hope there will be a fight this time round & I am sure I know who I would give my vote to. I guess what we need is REAL people with REAL heart & not someone that has 10 As in school or he is the head of some GLC & honestly, I don’t buy the good men must be paid good theory!

36. Alienated 1 April 2011

If this lady really intends to serve the people, I am sure she can summon courage and (convictions? if any left lah) and make it known to her political masters and Singaporeans that she would stand in a SMC and win the elections.

Otherwise, riding piggy back on someone else to gain entry is a cop out and political cowardice!

PS – GRC n NCMP schemes are nothing but straw-clutching scheming to hold on to power.

37. K Das 1 April 2011

Wearing designer clothes and leaving a first boy-friend (perhaps after getting to know the true nature of him) are issues not uncommon among teen-age girls. If you are young and pretty there will be any number of guys wanting to win you over and you want the best for yourself. This is the reality of life and we should acknowledge that.

Going through the baptism of political fire, Tin Pei Lin may well emerge more firm and resolute. She is stuck now, drenched in mid stream and she must complete the journey by swimming across, come what may. She must choose and she should be fielded in a single member ward to prove her mettle and inner capacity to fight the odds piled against her. Further more GRC was mainly created to ensure minority race representation and she is not from the minority either to justify her inclusion, what more as a rookie.

Let us not crucify her. Give her the chance to fight a fair battle. I am sure she will triumph when the votes are counted.

38. Jackson 1 April 2011

If being young means giving her a chance in politics, why not I give chance to the rest of the young population of Singapore? Then 87 seats are not enough.

39. Vote For Change 1 April 2011

The general feeling towards this ‘youngest’ pap puppet is that of skepticism.
    We ask ourselves, can we afford to gamble and accept her, in our expense?
    The general answer is ‘No’. Its wiser to vote for the more experience Opposition to represent our now suppressed voice.
    We constantly remind ourselves that whoever comes into pap, their way of doing things are still the same. What we want most Now is Change.
    And to Change, we have to change the party all together.
    Vote For Change.
    Vote For Opposition

40. Not the same 1 April 2011

K Das,

TPL is 27 not teenager. Please do not insults Singapore girls by making TPL represent them. There are many Singapore girls who are intelligent and not materialistic.

I’m sure she will lose if contest in a SMC.

41. I am a firm believer that firstly we should do away with GRCs, if not, at least all Ministers should stand in SMCs – afterall they are paid a king’s ransom and should show all Singaporeans why they deserve the salary.

42. PAPer 1 April 2011

Put all eggs in ONE basket (GRC)
    ONE GRC is good enough for Singapore.

43. PAPerless 2 April 2011

Think Green. Think (PAP)erless.

Evolution: news(PAP)er >>> newsOnline

Vote for (W)iser (P)arty in GE2011!

44. Ben10 2 April 2011

Her husband will ask PM to put her in a GRC, a strong one.

Just vote the GRC off and save millions in pay and bonuses. Do citizens a favour.

45. Fed Up 2 April 2011

Age should not be a barrier but maturity is a plus point.Agreeing to do an interview and behaving like a kid jumping and asking “what to say” just show she is not politically ready.
    When the PAP used to bash the opposition no one stood up for them, why the sudden change. George Cherrian has been around.
    Politics is dirty and the PAP has the whole mechanism to check on opposition candidates from the date they are born to present day to condemn them and poke fun.
    This is the FEAR why the opposition cannot find candidates for the coming elections.

46. irollFILEM 2 April 2011

Dios
    we should not care even the candidate is a young 18 yr former porn star that dress like a hooker, if she can prove that willing to fight for singaporeans
    ………….
    indeed
    linda lovelace won a mayor ERECTIONs in the us more than 2 decades ago
    and who is linda lovelace? do a check in the internet…
    what she did for her voters?
    she did it with HONOURs!

47. Interesting 2 April 2011

Last election a new broom ‘Ah Wah’ was brought in thru’ current PM GRC and had put up a good show in Olympic 2008 with our poor FT ex-pin-pong coach. Now is the turn of the ex-PM to bring in a new young lady to have a good show titled “I really don’t know what to say lah!”.even before the election. It would be more interesting if it is directed by Lee Kwok Huang!

48. Wake up Singaporeans! 2 April 2011

Everybody who’s been criticising about Ms Tin Pei Ling’s age is MISSING THE POINT! At 27 years old, she is the youngest PAP candidate to-date. But guess what? She is here to set THE PRECEDENT and take the fire, so that when we have another election 6 years later, somebody’s grandson (You know who!) can run for election and he WON’T BE the youngest candidate anymore because Ms Tin Pei Ling was the youngest candidate in 2011! He will then not be seen as trying to take over from his father at too young an age. Get it?

49. notalone 2 April 2011

Dear Voters,

Heard about her ‘greatest regret’ in one of her recent interviews?

Her answer went something like this:”…My greatest regret is that I have yet to bring my parents to Sentosa Theme Park………. but well, they went to Italy last December (2010) and my father enjoyed the most as it was his long time wish (etc..)….”

So Voters, judge yourself of her maturity and substance to become a reliable MP…..