by Leong Sze Hian

I refer to the report “Health minister replies on 3M queries and drug subsidies” (ST Breaking News, Mar 1).

It states that “Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan revealed on Monday that the 3Ms account for 23 per cent of costs incurred by citizens and permanent residents who were warded in both public and private hospitals”.

Since Medisave is Singaporeans’ own money, and Medishield is also Singaporeans’ own money by way of insurance premiums that are pooled amongst all the insureds under the Medishield scheme, the only M of the 3Ms that is paid by the Government is Medifund.

The Health Minister also claimed that the Government “picked up a bulk of the tab, paying for 51 per cent of the bill in the form of subsidies, while employers and patients coughed up the remaining 27 per cent”.  However, the Minister may be just telling part of the “healthcare spending” story.

Healthcare spending

Did the Health Minister taichi away Sylvia Lim's questions?

Healthcare spending by definition, is not just “costs incurred by citizens and permanent residents who were warded”, it should include pre and post hospitalisation treatment, drugs, specialist and out-patient treatment, etc.

The share between public and private healthcare spending has been moving towards lesser public spending over the years, from about a 50/50 split to only about 25 per cent of public to 75 per cent private healthcare spending now.

Also, the fact remains that our public healthcare spending decreased by 0.6 per cent last year, according to the Budget, and at about one per cent of GDP, Singapore’s is one of the lowest in the world.

Non-subsidised drugs

In a written reply to Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim on Monday, the Health Minister said that the Health Ministry subsidises 55 drugs to treat cancer, and reviews its list of subsidised drugs regularly. He then gave a list of drugs which were subsidized.

I don’t think Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim’s question has been substantively answered, as there were no statistics given as to how many drugs are non-subsidised and whether they have increased in recent years.

Stay C Class but billed A Class?

It is a little known fact that if you stay in a hospital’s intensive-care unit (ICU) for say two months under C-class, but opt to upgrade to a higher ward class after discharge from ICU, for a few days, you will be billed the higher class charges for the entire duration of your stay in the hospital. 

Is it fair for patients to be billed the higher charges for their entire hospital stay, when they only stayed in a higher class ward at the end of their hospitalisation? 

The Ministry of Health should step in to review this unfair practice by hospitals.

No subsidies for workers injured at work?

Also, hospitals in the past, did not have a policy of not allowing subsidies when an injured worker is hospitalised in a subsidised ward.

Since the subsidy in class C is 80 per cent, an injured worker may have to pay up to five times more, out of his own pocket, when his hospitalisation and post-hospitalisation expenses exceed the cap of $25,000.

When was the policy changed to deny subsidies for industrial accidents, resulting in workers having to bear large medical expenses in excess of the $25,000 cap that employers are responsible for? Is it fair for a worker who through no fault of his own, be burdened with large medical bills arising from an industrial accident? Shouldn’t workers have rights to medical expenses arising from an accident at work? Did our unions or Parliamentarians object to such an erosion of workers’ rights to medical expenses arising from an accident at work?

Support TOC! Buy Leong Sze Hian’s book here!

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

36 Responses to “Parliament snippets: Replies but not answers?”

1. divert money to Defence 1 March 2011

we need to divert all that money to Defence, because as you know, the employees in Defence need to be paid a lot of money, in order to buy their flats / condos / bungalows, or to drive the MID cars with escorts around town.

so there isn’t that much left for health.

2. This is what I believe the government has failed in its roles to look after its people. Money always come first and then the interest of the people. Granted, we need money for any health initiatives – but have we reached a stage where money should come before the benefits of the people?

Khaw Boon Wan has admitted the constructions (or reconstructions) of hospital projects were delayed because of high construction costs. If the government truly cares for its people – the interest of the people will come first. The additional cost – I believe the government would be able to absorb that. This would help solve the long waiting time at hospitals. Our million dollar minister would argue this additional amount would have to be bore by the people via taxes. My take is this – IF ALL expenses were to be bore by the people, WHY do we need multi-million dollars ministers? Surely there are other sources of income by the government – unless GIC or Temasek Holdings or other ventures by the government are ALL money losing businesses. Surely the multi-million dollars ministers should be doing something for the goods of our people and such additional construction costs should be bore by the government. No matter what – the interest of the people should come first – unless we are a very poor country, to the stage that making money is the primary job of the people.

3. Will someone from the opposition stand against the health minister in the coming election.

The aim of the PAP government is to save as much money as possible by not spending on health care costs so that tax payers’ money can be passed on to TH and the GIC to loose them all in investments.

4. Leongnardo 2 March 2011

Is it the only country where so-called 1st world intellectuals can live with the fact that Unemployment rate of Citizens is Unknown to the public? That there is no official answer released to the public domain?

Does this prove how unique it is?

In Britain, Europe, USA, Australia can citizens know how many citizens are employed?

Citizens, can you answer this question?

5. senior citizen 2 March 2011

Tax payers, or the state, should not subsidize businesses in caring for their workers injured in industrial accidents. Businesses should be made to pay for the full medical bill, either through group insurance or workmen compensation insurance.

I will not support having the gahmen subsidizing such medical bills.

6. LIONS ROAR 2 March 2011

there is no wisdom in our govt as our ministers is void of humility.

even as luminaries like GREENSPAN are bounded to provide answers in SENATE HEARING COMMIITEES,our ministers who are paid many times what GREENSPAN or even FORMER PREZ GEORGE BUSH were paid,SIMPLY DISREGARD TO FURNISH HONEST ANSWERS when questioned in PARLIAMENT.

Either,our system of govt is so advanced or that of the USA is so backwards?

PUBLIC SREVANTSincluding MINISTERS,are elected,not ENTHRONED,and they,therefore, owe it to the public their utmost service and loyalty.

now,what do we the elect get here in THE REPUBLIC OF SINGGAPORE?

WE GET TO BE CALLED ‘DAFT SHEEP’ and not hard-driving nor hard-striving after we have helped to build this NATION to what it is.

Countless among us also have to GIVE UP OUR JOBS in order for the govt to offer them to FTs so as to attract them here?

It would have been less UNACCEPTABLE to us,the rightful sons and daughters of Singapore,if those FTs are truly TALENTED and not of inferior quality to those maong us who have been made JOBLESS.

Indeed,with or without opposition in Parliament,this govt has the duty to answer all our questions and doubts.

however,it seems the MIWs are too high-handed and truly need the SIGNIFICANT PRESENCE OF AN OPPOSITION IN PARLIAMENT to cajole them to be ANSWERABLE to the CITIZENS.

7. David 2 March 2011

As the photo suggested, ministers are good in playing Tai Chi. Every move and stroke they wielded is to push the people away. Very apt in choosing the right picture for this topic.

8. Tai Chi 2 March 2011

Now let c, Susan Lim the doctor who overcharge patient. Wow 24 millions.
    Lots of mediSave.
    U think it will not siphon to other doctors who shake legs n sick songs?
    Medical profession is one of the worst. They refer u here, there everyway.
    At the end, every doctors get paid.
    N the Minister claims we need more for this inefficiency.
    KBW MUST GO. Get lost n go back to Malaysia.

9. LIONS ROAR 2 March 2011

Tai Chi

Medical profession is one of the worst. They refer u here, there everyway.
    At the end, every doctors get paid.

you are stating the HARD TRUTH.
    Now,it may choke our minister who only need to pay $8 for his by-pass surgery by the best doctor/s and given the best attention by hospital staff.

anyway,if you are not convinced before,this is how they ‘NARROW’ the income gap?

10. 3 M?

1 inflate the bill so much that you ended by paying all the cost of delivery of the medical service.

and the govt doesn’t need to pay a single dollar.

that ‘s the true strategy of LHL.

he is not doing anything for s’pore.

he didn’t solve any long term problems.

he collected millions and his wife lost billions.

I wonder why he thinks people won’t vote the opposition this time round?

11. sgcynic 2 March 2011

“Replies but not answers”
    This phrase summarizes the communication between the government and the people. To questions on cost of building a HDB flat, amount of losses made by Temasek Holdings and the GIC, number of Singaporeans (un)employed nationally and in the IRs, this government has always given replies but not answers.

12. It is a shame when we compare our healthcare to that of our neighbour, Malaysia. Despite of what we have been told about it being bumi centric, my relatives (Chinese) there get basic health care for a miniscule fee. Out patient, with BP and cholesterol meds is for few dollars, while a stay in hospital with minor surgery is a few hundreds. Of course they have private hospitals too that cost many time more. So their healthcare, ignoring the quality is all inclusive.

Ours seems to be a milking system, pay as you can afford.

13. Fullofnonsence 2 March 2011

Don’t have to look at what sports cars doctors are driving to know they are overcharging

14. Please don’t blame doctors for the woes of the healthcare industry.

The Susan Lim case is extremely unique, and in reality only a minute fraction of surgeons can earn that kind of money.

Doctors in the public sector are being squeezed by the current administration also. On one hand workload is ever rising, with a constant push for faster cheaper better, and on the other is the refusal to improve our benefits to retain manpower. So what do they do? Flood the public sector with foreign doctors.

They say the foreign worker problem affects low-skilled workers, i tell you even for doctors the same scenario is playing out.

As if it would kill them to spend a little more on healthcare and make the public sector a more pleasant place to work in.

15. Budget 2 March 2011

Singapore plans to double the number of “combat-ready aircraft” to more than 200. It also plans to have 10 more submarines to add to the four it has today. Or so the Wall Street
    Journal reported (“Asia’s New Arms Race,” Feb. 12-13)

16. Alvin 2 March 2011

To all people’s Parties, you will be surprise by the support you and your team will receive if you contest in Sembawang GRC (headed by KBW and those back door MPs of the current ‘opposition’ party). We at Sembawang demand our citizen rights to vote!

17. Rayman 2 March 2011

Our hopital bill have been over charged.. Eg. Standard Ward Class C ~ 9-bedded room, Each bed charged $150 ~ ($30 + $120~80% Government Subsidy)..
    It Ridiculous just for a bed per day cost $150. which is higher than whole hotel room.
    Although 80% subsidy from Govt, we come out only 20%, but Govt subsidy is our tax money too. I wandering these huge profit go to who pocket? redistributed back to govt?
    This cycle of money rolling is call govt subsidy.. I understool already.

18. kungfu 2 March 2011

This $8 health minister is only good for ‘taichi’!!
    Hope some ‘kungfu’ experts from the oppositions will give him a Bruce Lee ‘kick’ and bundle him out of Parliament!!

19. divid 2 March 2011

Ya la, so selfish.. never want to teach us the “kungfu” how to pay only $8 for the bypass operation costing >$25000 (Wards A).
    The lowest income group also cant get a $8 treatment.. Help them please..

20. Why so secretive nowadays? 2 March 2011

I remember last time there were posters at the polyclinic informing the public to make appointments with govt specialists through the polyclinics in order to get subsidised rates.

Nowadays I cannot find such information anymore even on MOH website.

21. Healthcare is very affordable in Singapore. Get sick just take panadol and painkillers. If cannot cure, go to Malaysia for treatment.

As a strategy delay your treatment to cut cost. Once cancer reach stage 4 it actually send you heaven quick and fast…and also cheaply.

The high cost of medical is due to people wanting to get themselves cure to live longer which is causing a problem in Singapore. So the people have to take the blame.

22. Crapshit 2 March 2011

It is the style of PAP people to either not answer the questions or answer in the form of giving questions!!!

23. Not so smart 2 March 2011

Mean testing for hospitalization or dialysis is truly MEAN. Ex-NKF chief encourage the patients to work and get subisdy. But this mean testing, if you work less subisdy, then must well don’t work lah – get FULL subsidy. Who’s idea is this on MEAN testing? How come pay $8 only for KBW, no MEAN testing for him? Be fair leh?
    Why not pay LOCAL NUSRSES AND DOCTORS MORE? Instead of getting Foreign talent. You underpay your citizens and give them so much work.”TRANSLATE FOR FOREIGN TALENT WHO CANNOT SPEAK DIALECT TO OUR AH KONG & AH MA LOL!!!. GAhmen, there will be more elderly patients in near future. Train our local citizens. Do you know why doctors choose to join private, better pay n work less hours n can have quality time with family. gahment hospital – got no life lol!!! Do a survey with local medical staff and listen to their feedback.
    Medifund – is good to help the low-income group but please make sure they help themselves also. Educate their mindset. Patients said just charge the hospital lah,I got medifund, hey that’s taxpayers money. I noticed some patients who are treated for chronic diseases and on Medifund for medical treatment, yet can afford to own iphone and still continue to feast like there is no tomorrow.

24. Not so smart 2 March 2011

Industrial accident – subsidy ONLY citizens. I have observed some industrial accidents are caused “by accidents.”
    Some “foreign talent” got themselves into the so-called accidents to claim workmen compensation or insurance money. They got the big sum of money and give excuses like due to the disability cannot work, want hospitalisation leave, MC and still got salary.
    Journalist can spy on them and do a write up on these cases. Check the dark side of it. Interesting right. Observe them closely for a period of time.

25. prettyplace 2 March 2011

I know a person in his own(KBW) ward.
    This man has a sick wife who has been having a prolonged illness. The husband is the sole bread winner.

I have known the man for many years and he has been working his entire life and 2 jobs while he’s at it.

He got injured a couple of years back as well.

The bills started mounting and he now has an insurmountable bank debt, inclusive of legal money lenders.

This is Singapore for you folks.

I give this guy a piece of my mind everytime I meet him for voting fools.

I think he deserves it and for the better has changed his mind to vote whichever opposition stands in Sembawang.

Not everyone can afford $8 insurance. Can we?

26. iammoreSMARTERthenanyPAPmps 2 March 2011

today paper PRINT…

Other MPs wondered if the continuing political crisis in the Middle East and its impact on global oil prices would cast a shadow on larger cross section of Singaporeans…
    …………
    woah ole WOW!!!
    i am totally SHOCKED ow on earth do the pap party recruit MPs and get them into parliament with a simple solution in the above and don’t hav the forsight to look ahead?
    than again our prince the prime minister hav no idea/clue either…
    what is the miniment requirement to be a qualified MP candiDEADS for the pap party? a bloke with a charkwayteow xperience or a unlisend ungraded iso90001 house painter perhaps?
    good ole GOHCHOKTONGUE booasted few days ago his pap party MPS are the BEST money can buy…butt the candiDEADs hav absolute no clue as what to do with the above situation is gonna be?
    …………
    ok lets assess the above situation shall we?
    for a start..when the middle east political situation is in chaos..the FREE flow of oil will ceased..this in turn would lead to a oil export which will result in either no gas/oil for any country(which country don’t used gas/oil?) the price would jacked up liked a rocket..vietnam just increase the pumps 24%…resulted in country demo unrest…
    now back to singapoor..can our citizens afford a 10%(just remember..the oil/barrel did xceed 1 time to over $100)
    and the end results? if gas/petrol increased…foods/essential goods price don’t increase mey? do we hav a stamp rebates to help us tied over? no matter ow xpensives the gas/oil is..our multi erp poles lights would continue to light up…
    ps.. i am neither a graduates or a poly/jc educated either…
    ole FARTme…

27. Ben10 2 March 2011

They open up malaysia route using medisave is not for nothing. they are raising prices to focus on foreign non subsidised patients. And the prices will push Singapore local and bred bornt who served the country to go for medical in Malaysia.

What a joke? Means testing etc all is to reduce subsidies. Class C prices are raised again and again.

Minister Khaw is just another money spinning stooge.

28. Sianz 2 March 2011

Maybe we should also look at the ridiculous amount of fees doctors charge to their patients, esp when they are from some royal family.

29. pointer 2 March 2011

GOV restructured hospital ped their medical treatment fees with Mt Elizabeth hospital. After the bills say got 50% GOV subsidies but still end up pauing thousands for the hospital fees! It is very cheap you know? Using public doctors with little experiences after the university studies still dare to peg the fees with Mt elizabeth hosipital. This is the same tactic the papayas peg their pay with the top banker or fund manager pays. Are they the top bankers or fund manager that made billions or suck billons of our blood earn money?

30. Price of cigarette, food & drink has increased again. Siow liao la.. Budget money havent take yet..

31. Who to vote? Any party or candidate who
    can halt Immigration figures from swelling get my Vote >>

32. iammoreSMARTERthenanyPAPmps 2 March 2011

>>
    Any party or candidate who
    can halt Immigration figures from swelling get my Vote
    ………….
    lady thatcher the former 1st female prime minister of britain did that
    upon her movin in 10 downing street..she restructher the immigration department with a new section naming..wait for it..
    INTELLIGENT DEPARTMENT
    ALL foreign talent workers whether doctors or nurses includin cheapskate hotel workers is THROUGHLY check before xtendin their work permits…
    more than 40% failed and were DEPORTED instantly with free air passage
    lady thatcher won the 2nd erection campaign and become a famous overnight prime minister of britain to hold TWO terms in office(which is very very rare in britain)
    her final days and her party lost the next erection is because of 1 grevious mistakes she made…
    she changed the rubbish (as in hdb monthly sanitary household tax) from per home to individual headcounts of those above 18 which was named the POLL tax..
    thats where her party lost ALL their heads…

33. Pap sucks 2 March 2011

I know the pap has to go when i’m at novena at this time, missed the train 3 times and still waiting with a crowd, and train arriving at reported intervals of 4 mins which seems to take longer.

34. pointer 2 March 2011

Recently go to Hong Kong for free and easy. Surprisely they have a population of 6.5 million but their MRT at 1 to 2 minutes the most and their trains and stations were double the sizes of singapore. Even with the same country people, Hong Kong has good control and quota for mainland chinese coming to live in Hong Kong.

Over here our idiot papayas do nothing and just open the gates for “foreign talents” . Not only MRT, prices for everything increases like nobody business. Today the coffeeshop below my flat increase their coffee by 10cents!!!

Not many good jobs are created for PMETs yet they expected the PMETS to become taxi drivers, salemen, road sweeper or protitutes?

35. ah kow 3 March 2011

ICU is considered class A dumbo, if u continue stay class C or B they give u lower rate.