We will update this page with the pictures from the Straits Times each day until the elections are over.
As the General Election approaches, we take a look at the coverage of the People’s Action Party (PAP) by the state-owned broadsheet, The Straits Times. Invariably and, an uncanny coincidence perhaps, virtually all the pictures of the PAP are of the members smiling.
We also notice that the PAP is perhaps trying to soften its image – by being photographed together with children.
There’s the front page picture of PAP secretary general Lee Hsien Loong, on 6 March, surrounded by smiling faces as he carries an infant in his arms; MP Charles Chong speaking with a little girl; and MP Amy Khor speaking to another little girl in school uniform; and MP Heng Chee How in a picture with a couple carrying a small child.
It is perhaps not surprising that the PAP is trying to soften its image – especially with all that have happened these last five years or so.
Here’re some pictures from the Straits Times’ coverage.
———————–
Saturday, 26 March 2011
—————-
Sunday Times, 27 March 2011
PAP
OPPOSITION
None.
—————
28 March 2011
OPPOSITION
—————-
29 March 2011
————-
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

TOL,
I wish you guys would stop posting the photos of the PAP here. They have more than enough coverage and exposure in the local news, TV included.
You should instead post news and pics of the opposition parties’ candidates, that is, if you are supporting them.
seenenough!! 24 March 2011
TOL,
I wish you guys would stop posting the photos of the PAP here.
…………
and give you and the pap free infor on potential opposition candiDEADS for pap lackies to throw dirts on?
nice try…
you don’t even know why TOC post pictures of pap eatricewasteseeds fotos..do you?
a picture is worth a thousand words…
pured hypocrisy @ the highest levels…
I been observing around me. Seems that thy give New citizens the priority to get New flats.
Most of them live in the central area.
Worst, lots of Malay are being corner in the East. Is there so hidden agenda?
@seenenough!!
not everyone watch local media daily. if toc publish for all is good . at least people get to know what is going on via online without tv. (that can save some cost tho) online doesnt mean you need a computer. :)
they will never reveal the true unfairness of their system to you
corrupt in uniquely SG way
@seenenough!!
I hope you’re wrong, and that TOC doesn’t support the opposition, or any one party. Because I come here for a fair and critical read of the political scene in Singapore. If I want crap that slams the PAP without a good reason and sings praises about the opposition without a good reason, I’ll head over the Temasek Review.
BTW, TOC, do provide some commentary of the pictures you published to protect yourself against copyright infringement lawsuits. Blatant reproduction of the paper like this could invite trouble.
some more foreign student show now. Let the FT grab your previous school places for your children. We pay txes to build good schools. The papayas pay the “FT” free education and living allowances and grab the good schools places from your children!!!!
Look at that same proud and i don’t care look of these foreign students. They look like the MIW papayas
FYI almost 20 years ago, our MOE had been
dispatching officials from our local TOP
schools to other countries like PRC to
talk to their people to come on fully paid scholarships with direct entry into
difficult to get in ones like RGS etc..
While our A level students cram hard in 2 years to squeeze into NUS, NTU ,what did they do behind our backs?
They placed advertisements in other countries again like PRC to ask them
just sit for one written entry exam and
then direct entry into NUS, NTU various
degree and masters programs. On full scholarships and boarding and offer of
citizenships soon after.
I know they made many excuses in past for themselves, but are they our gov
or are they desperate to rule the world??
So is that octopus…..oophs I mean octogenarian contesting or retiring for good?
Hah! The 8th picture (http://theonlinecitizen.com/2011/03/smile-pap-the-straits-times-is-here/st-14-mar-2011-a12/) shows a lack of cultural sensitivity on the part of DPM Wong Kan Seng. Been a public servant for so long you still dunno Muslim women aren’t supposed to have physical contact with men who aren’t their family! Then again maybe I should shut up or else we Muslims kena whack again by MM Lee.
Great work compiling the propaganda by the PAP Total Defence system to brain wash the average citizens.
Keep up the good work!
Hopeless bunch! Is this a smiling contest or what? Cant people oso see they are overdoing it? Every pic is so OTT (over the top). And when they hv close-up shots, they use studio touch ups to make them look like celebrities.
Oppos pls dont do the stupid smiles, the OTTs & the celeb stuff. Pls use pics that show YOU MEAN BUSINESS! Take a look at how others in developed countries do it.
Their SMILES are all so faked.
I wonder why only ST is covered.why there is nothing about TODAY? they are quite biased towards PAP too dont they, although they give a little extra space for opposition.dont mind posting this,im just as my name say next door neighbour who observes Singapore political scene from across the causeway!
Cnt say tooo muh abt them later kena fine n jailed..
Way back in 2001 when I am enrolled into NUS, FT already flooded our faculty with scholarship
I can’t even have a chance to experience hall life for even a year because they are just way too many
I think my results and ECA is not bad. But too bad…
The mainstream media which is ranked almost 133 … or ??? is a disgrace.
With the advent of the internet Singaporeans struck lottery.
Shitty Times, Channel Noise Asia and Mediacorpse can wayang all they want to but Singaporeans not stupid anymore to believe biased reporting or anaylsis.
The more exposure they cahoots with The Shit Times the more we detest this ruling party , for what we see are Smiles of Hypocrisy.
We must know if the pap wins, what we get are more ‘foreigners’, and we know pap’s motive of wanting more ‘foreigners’ : when they become citizens,they will be given voting rights, and naturally pap will get their favour, and stay in power .
So what is the score now, TOC? pap wins hands down isn’t it. Thanks to scardy times.
Kir,
You are funny. I live in New York and it sounds like you are describing the Bronx. Why don’t you compare Manhattan to Singapore? It’s more logical that way.
Hi TOC,
Can put a compare and contrast between photos of PAP and opposition to let readers aware of the bias reporting on the MSM?
Lee Hsian Loong will follow his father foot step, cry in front of the public TV after this election. The different is, his father kick out by Malaysia while his son kick out by the people. And not forgetting losing his multi-millions pay.
Wouldn’t it be interesting to witness this historical moment. Hope so…
Singaporean
Please make this moment come truth.
Culture Shock and Living in Singapore
What is the name of the city or town that you are reporting on?
Singapore
What, if any, were some of the changes you noticed in yourself that might have been caused by culture shock? These might include things such as anger, depression, anxiety, increased eating or drinking, frustration, homesickness, etc.
I became more broadminded, and I felt that life in America was too protective, too “nice” and too picturesque. The shock of living and seeing the 3rd world was a true eye opener.
What are some things you appreciate most about the new culture?
Pushed me outside myself. I feel more comfortable in other countries than in America.
What are the most challenging aspects of the new culture?
When I lived in Singapore, the most challenging aspects were leaving behind the lessons learned while in Singapore. Applying lessons learned in my daily life tended to isolate me from my core friends. They did not like the changes seen in me.
Did you “commit” any embarrassing or humorous cultural blunders? If you did and you’d like to share them, please do tell!
None really.
Do you have any advice or thoughts about culture shock you would like to share?
Take it all in humor. Remember, we’re in THEIR home country…and WE are the ones who are different
——————–
above was a link from another forum for expatraits to talk cork sharin their xperiences world wide
———————
enough said..even expatrait ang mors also hav cultured shock see the word
LIVIN IN A 3RD WORLD is an eye opener
not say i whined hor…
even angmor wined @ the local serabat stalls
“iDANCEDroundcoconutleave”, your comments are humorous ! cheers
kir: “Try living and working in 1st class cities in Europe for a while, and try sending your wife and kid out for a walk at 10 pm.”
I, along with many Singaporeans are living in one of these “1st class cities in Europe” for more yrs than we can count on our fingers.
“sending your wife and kid out for a walk at 10 pm” is tragic. They, esp kids should be in bed. Is this what people do in SG???
Wives & kids in these “1st class cities in Europe” enjoy day out in the parks to bask in the sunshine. Moonlight may be more suitable for young love birds but even then, young single people have lovely homes to themselves, clubs & pubs.
Want to be even more safe, might as well go live in the prison, 24/7 security.
harmony 28 March 2011
“iDANCEDroundcoconutleave”, your comments are humorous ! cheers
… ………..
thats my speciality…..ten Q
kir
Wife & kid out for walk at 10pm? What sad life is that? In 1st class cities, they out for walk & play in the glorious sunshine. 8pm is bedtime esp for kids.
SO BIASED! Almost nothing about the opposition parties. And the only thing that was ever printed about opposition sounds so negative to begin with!
I find it almost hilarious… if you guys cannot stand the “biased” reports by ST, why are you guys still taking the effort to read and comment over here..
Hahahaha….
Dear TOC Editor:
I would like to suggest that each daily entry to appear first (that is, on the top of the page), so that busy TOC fans do not need to scroll all the way down..
Yes, I also observing. How about opposition candidates?
Did they smile?
Did the opposition candidates coverage more and more or small and small?
Yes, Everyday I compare and compare, I find it very interesting.
Please continue to post.
there are 80+ people from the PAP contesting.
there are 80+ people from the Opposition contesting.
count the number of c.m. of text and number of photos dedicated to each side.
ask yourself why are you forced to have your National Newspaper report in this manner, with this distribution of information.
ask yourself who is in charge of the newspaper, and whether they are related to any of the people in those photos.
Sigh, this is official work so they’re ‘entitled’ to be reported ad verbatim. How nice, PAP starlets are photogenic even from the back.
To the sycophantic ST editors: you’re wrong, not all Singaporeans are stupid and know who is campaigning.
“” To the sycophantic ST editors: you’re wrong, not all Singaporeans are stupid “”
To ST editor:
I was stupid.
but not any more.
smile Low Thia Khiang, WP. he is also photogenic man.
http://www.facebook.com/photos.php?id=149672065049385
It seems that when it comes to reporting on local politics, ST has its hands tied. Luckily we have websites like TOC to balance the bias of ST.
I’m going to use their PAP face as my toilet paper. Shitty times indeed.
ST reporters betraying their conscience.
The saddest human beings of all.
First picture: That baby’s going to grow up cursing this LHL guy who ruined his country. Laugh some more.
Since news of the impending election was announced, I stopped reading the Straits Times for any references to the elections. It’s so blatantly biased its not worth the paper its printed on! This goes for the news on Media Corp as well.
Angry and disgusted, would be how I would describe my feelings. Time for change!
Thank you, The Online Citizen, for providing an alternative news forum.
if sir georgeyeo is pickin up rubbish as good as the photo in the 143rd media print..ow come he cannot pickup the former romanian’s diplomat who ran away?
why? the former romanian’s passengers ain’t chio enough or maybe the romanian passengers should be men in tights?
Portal’s great, would recommend to friends!
Unscrupulous ! Totally Unscrupulous
Have You Read The Truth Yet ???
http://taihonghung44.blogspot.com/
While our occidental first-world counterparts in the west have their “Fourth Estate” as a socio-political force to represent the voice of the people, here we have one that unfortunately, remains the stooge of the ruling party to expedite their stay in power. A first-world state we are, indeed….
wahlao, me livin in SG for more than 40 yrs, until 2day, then see how bias our propaganda papers is!!!!!
It seems that TOC is pro-opposition by putting up this naughty colume. Everybody is entitled to smile, so what’s wrong if PAP MPs were smiling. In order to be fair , i suggest TOC put up photos of opposition candidates crying , may be TOC can help them win more votes.
With their big pay packets and handsome directors fees sitting on the boards of so many companies, PAP MPs sure have a lot of reasons to smile.
“They” can go out, unfortunately they will go out with the billions of dollars “they” have already pocketed….
Singaporeans have already been robbed…. sigh
Only death sentence will suffice.
The Straits Times should be renamed The Daily Petir.
Petir is the PAP’s newsletter.
Hi TOC,
You have done a good job in consolidating Straits Times articles on the current GE. I would like to suggest a positive note here. It would be so much more effective if some of your journalists could examine the content to provide a deeper analysis. For example, in terms of breadth of coverage, page number, placement on the page (going by the rule of third in print and advertising media) and size of article, choice of pictures (size, close-up?, artifacts in the pictures, symbolism), choice of words (descriptive, suggestive language). This will provide an absolute clear distinction of how bias the Straits Times is in covering the GE, despite not having even to explore articles that have been obviously censored in print but has transpired online.
Dear fellow Singaporean, for the last 9 days watching all the rallies of the opposition really annoys me. Hearing people cheer as the PAP are being blamed from the flash floods to Mas Selamat escape to housing prices to foreign talents in Singapore.
Seriously, people are so full of anger and indignance and am sure if someone yelled “KILL THE PAP!!!” the crowd will respond with a loud cheer as well ya.
It is ridiculous and people are angry over SOMETHING and blamed EVERYBODY in their lives. Be it buying HDB FLAT, used up all their savings or losing hair… It is so EASY for people to vent all that frustration of their unhappiness on the government – esp the incumbent govt.
Just becos everyone is angry? Suddenly u hear people complaining about driving a taxi is not enough to feed their 8 or 9 childrens! Btw, did the govt ask you to keep pro-creating and not use contraception so it is the govt responsibility to give you welfare!
It is so easy to blame the PAP for causing floods and inconvenience coz they don’t know how to predict the weather. People always yak about how PAP doesn’t help the poor………..Nicole Seah even said her stupid inspiration for dabbling in politics is because she saw an old lady with a roof over her head but no food…execuse me, the roof fly to above the lady head by itself ah…… wander must give the lady a roof, must provide food everyday… Must help her wipe her ass or not?
Don’t get me wrong Singaporean, I’m not saying we shouldn’t help the poor. We should. But everything needs to be in balance. To appeal to the rich and able should constantly be giving to the poor, needy or lazy is a childish idealistic notion that simply won’t work my fellow Singaporean…. We must simply accept that some people suffer in life – we can try to limit it, but we cannot eradicate it as well.
People like to hear govt should tax the rich, reduce the minister’s pay, why should they earn so much as compare to us? Excuse me who is stopping you from being a hardworking student, acquiring a scholarship, and becoming minister yourself? Who is stopping you from setting up your own business after saving up money from other job? YOU THINK ALL THESE PEOPLE DIDN’T WORK HARD?? Think about it people! If you want to blame, you can oni blame yourself. Don’t think just because you are faring worse than others everyone else has to contribute to a better livelihood for you? People dun owe you a living, do know that!
You want cheapo HDB flats… Singapore’s land is so limited, HOW CHEAP YOU WANT? You think what? HDB grow like mushroom? All you need is soil, sunshine, water and some love? NO LEH A LOT OF BANGALA NEEDED TO BUILD THEM!
I’m not rich myself and I barely have enough to make both ends meet and had to repay my study loan still. But I don’t expect the government to give me money or lower the prices ya… Why should they do that? Either be contented or blame yourself! And if the government should help you or me it is because you can’t help being sickly or disabled – it is a PRIVILEGE. NOT A GIVEN to us as Singaporean….Nobody owes you a living!!
I’m not saying don’t blame the PAP for thing that went wrong. Sure, we all not perfect and they make mistakes. Big mistakes that may have cost our country billions. I also don’t like all the foreign construction workers working in Singapore coz they dirty the beautiful environment within my neighbourhood. Why are people making their choices only focusing on the mistakes that were made by the govt, the limitations that the PAP has? I’m focusing on the good work the PAP did and not harping on the wrong only. Same as parent, if you keep focuing on the bad of your child, tell me how would your child grow? I am not willing to sacrifice our national security and safety, our political stablity, our ultra low unemployment rate, our high standard of living…no I definitely i am not going to! Lastly, fellow SIngaporean THINK WISELY BEFORE YOU VOTE!