PAP MP for Mountbatten SMC, Lim Biow Chuan, posted the following photo on his Facebook page, apparently on 18 April 2011.

Notice that the picture says: “23172 people like this”:

But if you click on his actual Facebook page, it has only 244 “likes” – even on 23 April 2011 – as can be seen in the screenshot below:

When commenters asked about this, Mr Lim said:

“No worries. We have 23172 voters in Mountbatten (last audited figure) and my team envision to achieve this target. It’s a creative feature which they added and we are working as a team to achieve that. Good to point this out so that i can explain here. :)”

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

91 Responses to “Another social media boo boo by PAP MP?”

1. Wow lao! Like that also can. Watch the wrong perception the garment is trying to mislead the ppl. Think same old tricks.

2. B4 ELECTION., ALREADY BLUFFING SINGAPOREANS 23 April 2011

B4 ELECTION., ALREADY BLUFFING SINGAPOREANS

3. Singaporen 23 April 2011

“Glad that you point this out. It was supposed to be an April Fool’s joke, but my PR guys got the date wrong”.

4. Men in white like to tell white lies, well meaning lies. So, are we ready for the next 5 years for yet another pack of lies. If we have children, nieces, nephews and young children, think of what kind of a Singapore we want them to grow up in. What kind of people we hope for them to become? Highly intelligent, sneaky behind doors?

5. Wah lau sibei buay paiseh.

6. Richard 23 April 2011

Like that also can??? Walao eh!

Yeah, white lies! Good luck if he can achieve at least half that number. At least Jeanette for Mounbatten’s 706 likes are for real.

7. angrybeng 23 April 2011

ROFL more ! more! encore!

8. What about WP Shin Yaw Leong who admitted woting for PAP in the last election and caused a stir online?

Was that reported widely by TOC?

9. francis 23 April 2011

LIAR liar cheat alert!

10. Reasonable Citizen 23 April 2011

Pathetic. Epitome of desperation. Or are these clowns trying to provide some entertainment also.

11. Oh btw anyone visited Nicole Seah’s Facebook? Miles ahead with Sinkies support! Go go go NRS,we love you a true citizen!

12. Titiana 23 April 2011

LBC should be worried for his future. He must be on some kinds of drugs and hallucinating. 244 is a long long way from 23172. If the number remains unchanged on GE day, he will lose his deposit.

13. Just goes to show the kind of people that PAP have now. Before being voted in already lie how to believe him. Minister potential very dangerous once in imagine what they will do??. More lies to the people like Mabok like that.

14. Isn’t that false advertising?

15. Wahraoeh 23 April 2011

Liar Liar, White pants on fire.

Bad move. At least it’s consistent with the Party’s tendency to “blow up” their accomplishment. This is a new low.

16. Fellow singaporean 23 April 2011

Wow… This is clealy INTEGRITY problem and further has the skin to find a lame excuse after being exposed! If he was an officer cadet during his NS days, that would be ground to fail him (throw him out-of-course) immediately regardless of his other qualities – so said by saf code of ethics. However, as we know, saf is like pap since pap creates saf, saf generals join pap…. There are practices of double standards depending if you were white horses or potential scholars deemed more important where exceptions were made.

17. crapnomore 23 April 2011

No more pepcrap and rubbadab.
    The people, young and old have had enough of the same old tricks and scare tactics.

18. See!! this is the kind of PAP style, taking the people for granted by fabricating figures and statistics for as long as they believe people were kept in the dark.

Let’s hope he doesn’t get his lies into public and start fooling people how popular he was.

You can fool some people sometime. But you cannot fool all the people all the time.

19. VoteForChange 23 April 2011

We,the people of S’pore are at a crossroads in the history of our nation.This time we can either get rid of these despicable garbages or be manipulated by them again.Our children,loved ones and our futures are greatly at stake and we must discard all petty issues,indifferences and self-centredness to come togther to remedy these overwhelming problems created by the self-serving,high salaried and clueless regime.With the blessings of the “GREAT ALMIGHTY”,everything will be possible and we should cash in on this golden opportunities to effect a change.It’s now or never and remember to impart to everyone we come in contact with of the impending dangers facing us if we still give them the “mandate” to govern our country.

20. burongkaka 23 April 2011

I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO SAY!

21. beyond4thgen 23 April 2011

Liars! liars! Pants on fire! Immature behaviour. Our land is a playground for this group of adult bodies, infant emotions “brainy” people. Their policies are different colourful test-tubes filled with latent toxins for their experiment. We are victims, they get away with loads of goodies and big fat pay check. Do we want to go on living under immature beings? Just one vote away, hope is on the way. This nation can be changed.

22. beyond4thgen 23 April 2011

Immature behaviour. Our land is a playground for this group of adult bodies, infant emotions “brainy” people. Their policies are different colourful test-tubes filled with latent toxins for their experiment. We are victims, they get away with loads of goodies and big fat pay check. Do we want to go on living under immature beings? Just one vote away, hope is on the way. This nation can be changed.

23. civis reputo 23 April 2011

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lim_Biow_Chuan
    Ironically, he’s the vice-president of CASE. Do we have a case of misrepresentation to bring up to CASE? Hmm…

24. singaporean 23 April 2011

this amounts to lying and cheating is it not?

25. Does that mean Nicole is going to get 12,000+ votes?

26. anonymous 23 April 2011

a clear case of misreprentation. a complaint to case is definitely in order.

otherwise, this fellow, whose voice we don’t hear in parliament, one of the many faceless MPs out there, will be claiming he can make a difference!

better still, let’s spread the word about his dirty trick Verbally to all those who don’t surf.

27. Lin Wenfeng 23 April 2011

Wow…be creative also kena slammed…get a life

28. iworkhardsometimes 23 April 2011

facebook should start to have a ‘Dislike’ function.

then probably we will really see whether the ground has moved.

29. Pro-Singapore 23 April 2011

Mr Lim is now a confirmed liar and a cheat now. If he can lie about the number of “likes” so blatantly and openly, only God knows what other things and information that the public has no access to he will lie about to achieve his sinister objectives. A person of zero integrity. Do we want such a person in the highest institution in Singapore?

30. honest mistake, lets move on.

happen only once in 50 years, no worry.

31. tiredsingaporean 23 April 2011

PAP MP picah lobang again??? and Woody asked the oppositions to play a fair game this coming GE??? lol…… they think singaporeans are still ‘daft’ do they?

I am sure for them to involve vote rigging is no problem at all but voters please open your eyes BIG and watch out for such underhand event to happen during voting day. The spf may not bother eeven if you report such incident but to expose them to all the voters in cyberspace is good enough, of cos if having any photo taken as proof would be great and post them at TOC n TR.

32. No_eye_see 23 April 2011

挂羊头,卖狗肉.

Shameful behaviour for a person running for office.

33. Shoe Thrower 23 April 2011

He should be posted in ‘No Facebook’

34. you'll not get your CPF in "retirement age" cos you'll never meet the CPF minimun sum requirements 23 April 2011

tsk tsk tsk..telling lies blatantly without baiting an eyelid. Anyone out there still dare to believe anything that sprouts from his mouth?

How come state controlled mainstream media did not make a huge report out of it? Just because he’s from PAP and lied, he can get away with it?

35. Going to https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lim-Biow-Chuan/105551386144736, it shows that he has only 14 likes. What’s the real one?

36. How can this joker passed the tea party sessions??
    Sure they drink tea?? or Volka??

37. Its time our people need fresh changes only then we create friendly competition among them and thus us as “consumers” we benefit!!

38. menoelite 23 April 2011

walao, Why this kind of stylo action? Mr LBC, think you better come clean and explain this to ALL the residents of Mountbatten.

39. Fugazi 23 April 2011

Voting the incumbents is perpetuating a ”den of thieves”!

As for the mainstream media, it is languishing at 136 in rankings lah.

To expect unbiased reports, independent analysis is dreaming.

40. Bazooka 23 April 2011

Unbecoming of an MP. How do you expect Mountbatten residents to trust you. Your party always boast on integrity.

41. Singaporean 23 April 2011

Check out the actual Facebook page and read the comments from others.

LOL.

The best comment is from Alfian Sa’at:

It’s very creative! Like in the phrase ‘creative accounting’!

42. Meaning, AstroTurf? :D

43. a little bit of soap 23 April 2011

My God! So presumptuous that he will win!
    Shows the cockiness in him and all his croonies!

44. True democracy 23 April 2011

Now I know why they choose white as their outfit. White lie is not a lie…. :)

45. A Simple Singaporean 23 April 2011

Seems like he’s subscribing to the one of the practises recommended in the book, “The Secret”, which is, “project and portray what you want to happen (the end result)…..(and then [usually]hope like hell that it will happen…..better translated as ‘envision’). The keyword being “envision”. This is the caliber of the MPs we are getting? Very ‘creative’ indeed. In comparison to his salary, I would rather pay for the book which will give me more value for entertainment. Also, I think going to the ‘tang ki’ in my neighborhood may yield ‘better and faster results’.

46. Whatefuk 23 April 2011

People, this is NO JOKE ! It is serious matter – even b4 GE he can do “Creative Manipulation” for his benefits –so what will he do if he got elected again??–you trust this fellow still–My God ! Utter shameless guy ! Shame on you!

47. This MIW guy is dishonest trying to mislead readers to his facebook page.

‘Little cheat’ can lead to bigger mischief. Such guy is NOT qualify to be in the cabinet.

48. The pappy can get away with it. Imagine it happen to an oppo, he will be hammered straight flat as a “Cheater! Liar!”

49. aurvandil 23 April 2011

For those who have forgotten, he was one of those MPs that came to the defence of Jack Neo, then a leading tea party potential. He said it was “unavoidable” for sucessful men like Jack Neo.

50. Cheater.