PAP MP for Mountbatten SMC, Lim Biow Chuan, posted the following photo on his Facebook page, apparently on 18 April 2011.
Notice that the picture says: “23172 people like this”:
But if you click on his actual Facebook page, it has only 244 “likes” – even on 23 April 2011 – as can be seen in the screenshot below:
When commenters asked about this, Mr Lim said:
“No worries. We have 23172 voters in Mountbatten (last audited figure) and my team envision to achieve this target. It’s a creative feature which they added and we are working as a team to achieve that. Good to point this out so that i can explain here. :)”
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Great stupid Sgporean around the court
I give him a benefit of a doubt. 23172-257(as of 10pm on 23 Apr 2011) = 22915 people unlike him. Thats got to show how unpopular is him…
Another shameless fella! Plenty of them from the same club. Pathetic
Oh my god.
is there any virtue in PAP anymore. From junior people to senior people, everyday they commit mistakes, and the tragedy is that they have got no shame to admit!! the cancer has spread to even low level MPs… it started from the old man..this culture of non-accountability.
Of course Facebook “likes-system” is established in good faith, so that netizens can express their opinion in a genuine fashion in support or otherwise of a facebook content.
This despicable, dishonourable, cheater, liar MP Lim Bow Chuan.. abuses the Facebook system by falsifying figures and worst, he comes forward and has the cheek to make justification for it.
Small things lead to bigger things. I am fully decided now that the entire PAP structure has to be completely removed from the face of singapore. The civil service will still survive. Life still goes on.
Do not worry. 时势造英雄。 Singapore will go through an uncertain period after pap is dissolved. But look further on, there will be a better tomorrow with a new genration of leaders who will consolidate and repair the entire system.
zero
shameless, scrapping bottom of the pit to present such people to represent Singapore.
And Lee Kuan Yew says honesty and integrity existed in the PAP. I am not too sure about it.
it is a shame this PAP MP must looose and let NSP TO WIN
Wow, “creative feature” to explain a deliberate act of cheating.. This is gonna be another catchphrase for ge2011.
Wow, using “creative feature” to explain a deliberate act of cheating.. This is gonna be another catchphrase for ge2011. What other creative features the PAP has engaged in the past and will come up with next two weeks?
Sounds like a lying weight loss or beauty salon ad. Just did not expect it coming from a A-team candidate
Which PAP MP can attend a Public Debate that is not organised by Mediacorp or anything related to it?
Which PAP MP can answer this simple question:
What is the Land Cost ?
What is the construction cost of hdb?
What is the employment rate of citizens? (we were told employment rate of residents or citizen? What is meant by full employment? How to audit this claim?)
hi, i’ve just went to the misleading photo on facebook and reported to facebook that it’s a scam.
if enough of us do the same thing, facebook will take action to remove the misleading photo. let’s do our part to eradicate such cheaters!
What a dishonest chap ! This truly reflect the kind of mentality of PAP.
Obviously he doing this is to mislead people.
Can opp party audit the town council, TH and GIC book. I will not be surprised if those figures endup as creative feature as this chap explains. What is actually a huge loss in P&L might actually endup as extraordinary profit to be achieved as target !
It really make us wonder how many “creative feature” have been make to statistic, figures and numbers given by PAP to make them look good !
Superwhite !!!
Personally, he’s a nice fella. I worked under him at his law firm before while waiting to be enlisted into NS.
It’s the party he’s in that I don’t like.
Sith lord: I answer only to my master, it’s not the wrong doing of mine!
Jedi knight: join us in the light! And defeat the dark side!
make no mistake,sinkies.,it is not a mistake.
that is how this MIWs behave truly – arrogant even when they screw big time.
it either you,me or our dogs who must shoulder the blame and when they cannot easily pinpoint us,they caneven blame GOD?
MAKING ‘MISTAKES’ OR ‘BOO-BOOS’ like these is juat a habit,no less.
it is in their ‘arrogant’ blood.
Disappointing. That’s not creative. It’s called nil sense of integrity.
How could he expect people to trust him where he needs to cheat to win votes? Ng eng hen should look into this and take nevessary action if you do not want to tarnish pap image (if u hv one) or are you deaf again!!!!!
don’t worry be happy, lying will get you there…..
http://www.mademan.com/why-you-should-lie-work
lky, nathan, lbh, gct, all have lied,
so what makes you don’t, keep it up, lying is good for you !!!
and all Marine Parade residents too…..
After all, it has been said that it takes up to 15 years….and with report that not friends in cabinet?….
it is no wonder that there is no mentoring of skill sets like finance, or sensitivity….resulting in YOG budget over-run or retirement comments.
No wonder it will take so many years!
Best wishes.
I’m a voter in Mountbatten. I’m still undecided but I hope such immature attacks are not reflective of those supporting the opposition…
We could go click “report page” and classify as inappropriate.
Lim Wenfeng – The report is a post that clearly indictes that Lim’s team was trying to decieve the public of the number of “likes”. There is nothing creative in that. If you can’t understand that, you are immature!
Hiyah nothing new. (see today’s sunday times- Chan Chun Sing)
I am not sure after reading the interview he become popular or unpopular.For me unpopular because he insults my intelligence
@Wenfeng Sotong, as far as I can see, Mr Lim’s team didn’t make an active effort to ‘deceive’ us; this clearly links up to how Facebook works. Unless you can think of a better way to track the no. of likes on the card, like some card with an interactive screen. Oh wait, that’s wasting a lot of party funds, isn’t it?
I’m offended you decided to personally call me sotong for expressing my views, but it’s a free country. Just as I’m free to cast my vote in any way I want, and I’m free to advise my extended family how to cast their vote (all 15 of them fence-sitters…so far). G’day.
Aisehman, no shame ah?
I would have expected the “new media” generation of voters to have more common sense than to claim to have been decieved by what is printed in Mr Lim’s “new media” publicity card and do not see how this can be a boo boo.
Can anyone explain how one would be deceived by the card? Are you saying that someone would simply cast their vote for a candidate just because he saw a card stating that the candidate has so many “likes” on facebook? Or will you be looking deeper to vote for someone who shows that he cares for the residents of his estate and is willing to do his part in parliament for them?
“No worries. We have 23172 voters in Mountbatten (last audited figure) and my team envision to achieve this target. It’s a creative feature which they added and we are working as a team to achieve that. Good to point this out so that i can explain here. :)”
Errm……come again?
So does this mean he will actually get only 244 votes this time?
If I were him, I’d definitely be worrying.
Own goallllllllllllllllllllllllllllll………
@Wenfeng, whether active effort or not, it’s subtly trying to decieve the citizens. Only immature people such as you cannot see it as your head is buried in the sand like a sotong. Yes, it’s a free country, you immature sotong. Go back to the hole where you came from, and take your 15 fools with you. G’day.
maybe fb scrwed up?
no praise self praise international disgrace !
@Wenfeng Sotong Forever, we’ll cast our votes first before we do, no worries :) Keep it up!
@Lin Wenfeng. Your idle threats scare nobody. Yes, we will keep it up, for sure, wimp! no worries :)
Pls stand out and vote for opposition to secure our future.. today we have to retire at 62 and if we still vote for PAP, we will have to retire when lie down !!!
Yeah, you Singaporeans out there, its time for a change. Give the oppositions a chance. How do you know the other people out there can do a better job if you dont give them a “fair go?” Stop the “kiasu” head in the sand attitudes of the older generations (ie.your parents and grandparents). Anybody having tasted power for too long takes the citizens for granted and treated them with contempts. Its time to give others a chance to show what they can do.
What is the use of having high GDP, facilities when citizens are scared to express themselves, where people get arrested for speaking up, even at the footpath? Is this democracy? Just like chcikens, kept in the cage, given food and water, but no freedom to roam about?
Is that what you want?
I challenge every Singapore out there to go out and vote for the opposition – any one of them to show your displeasure to the PAP government that citizens no longer longer tolerate muzzling the freedom of speech, high cost of livings and of course. Pay and Pay until the day you die(PAP).