UPDATE: This year’s Polling Day will be on May 7.
President S R Nathan, on the advice of the Prime Minister, has dissolved Singapore’s 11th Parliament. A General Election will have to be held within the next three months.
A Writ of Election will have to be issued next, setting up Nomination Day, as well as the announcement of Polling Day.
In this General Election, there will be 87 seats in 27 constituencies to be contested.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

continued(the facts and the opposition to democracy)
————-
Facts
In practice it may not pay the incumbents to conduct fair elections in countries that have no history of democracy. A study showed that incumbents who rig elections stay in office 2.5 times as long as those who permit fair elections.[94] Above $2,700 per capita democracies have been found to be less prone to violence, but below that threshold, more violence.[94] The same study shows that election misconduct is more likely in countries with low per capita incomes, small populations, rich in natural resources, and a lack of institutional checks and balances. Sub-Saharan countries, as well as Afghanistan, all tend to fall into that category.[94]
Governments that have frequent elections averaged over the political cycle have significantly better economic policies than those who don’t. This does not apply to governments with fraudulent elections, however.[94]
Opposition to democracy
Main article: Opposition to democracy
Democracy in modern times has almost always faced opposition from the existing government. The implementation of a democratic government within a non-democratic state is typically brought about by democratic revolution. Monarchy had traditionally been opposed to democracy, and to this day remains opposed to its abolition, although often political compromise has been reached in the form of shared government.
Currently, opposition to democracy exists most notably in communist states, and absolute monarchies which appear to have various reasons for opposing the implementation of democracy or democratic reforms.[citation needed]
Criticism of democracy
Main article: Criticism of democracy
Economists since Milton Friedman have strongly criticized the efficiency of democracy. They base this on their premise of the irrational voter. Their argument is that voters are highly uninformed about many political issues, especially relating to economics, and have a strong bias about the few issues on which they are fairly knowledgeable.
Mob rule
Plato’s The Republic presents a critical view of democracy through the narration of Socrates: “Democracy, which is a charming form of government, full of variety and disorder, and dispensing a sort of equality to equals and unequaled alike.”[95] In his work, Plato lists 5 forms of government from best to worst. Assuming that the Republic was intended to be a serious critique of the political thought in Athens, Plato argues that only Kallipolis, an aristocracy led by the unwilling philosopher-kings (the wisest men) is a just form of government.
Political instability
More recently, democracy is criticised for not offering enough political stability. As governments are frequently elected on and off there tends to be frequent changes in the policies of democratic countries both domestically and internationally. Even if a political party maintains power, vociferous, headline grabbing protests and harsh criticism from the mass media are often enough to force sudden, unexpected political change. Frequent policy changes with regard to business and immigration are likely to deter investment and so hinder economic growth. For this reason, many people have put forward the idea that democracy is undesirable for a developing country in which economic growth and the reduction of poverty are top priority.[96]
This opportunist alliance not only has the handicap of having to cater to too many ideologically opposing factions, but it is usually short lived since any perceived or actual imbalance in the treatment of coalition partners, or changes to leadership in the coalition partners themselves, can very easily result in the coalition partner withdrawing its support from the government.
Popular rule as a façade
The 20th Century Italian thinkers Vilfredo Pareto and Gaetano Mosca (independently) argued that democracy was illusory, and served only to mask the reality of elite rule. Indeed, they argued that elite oligarchy is the unbendable law of human nature, due largely to the apathy and division of the masses (as opposed to the drive, initiative and unity of the elites), and that democratic institutions would do no more than shift the exercise of power from oppression to manipulation.[97]
this is scary!! from oppression to manipulation!!
buddha,jesus and the others…what did they teach really?
if,and only if, all LEADERS of peoples truly and faithfully observe this common dictum among the sages,the world and Singapore ,too,would be a much better palce than what we see around us:DO UNTO OTHERS WHAT YOU WOULD LIKE THEM TO TO UNTO YOU.
its variation:DO NOT DO UNTO OTHERS WHAT YOU WOULD NOT LIKE THEM TO DO UNTO YOU,if observed,would still be quite acceptable and fruitful as well.
alas,we are only told to be ‘CHEAPER BETTER FASTER’ by people who do the opposite of what they do unto us and who pay themselves like no govt leaders ever did,here or anywhere decent???
this is the govt we have,the elite scholars who pride themselves as the MOST MERITOCRATIC all over the land by riding on coat-tails?
what a load of people…indeed,much like the truckloads of foreigners whom they imported and most endearingly call ‘talents’?
One of the serious ills of democracy is that people are self-serving with a very short term outlook. Can Singapore survive a government given in to populist but unsound policies?
Democracy is already in place, but what Singapore needs more is a pragmatic electorate with a long term view.
As it is, the government needs to spend more time and efforts to convince and convert people to this long term view, that is earning buy-in, instead of just making policy at breakneck speed.
The moment of truth is here
May courage and wisdom be with the genuine opposition candidates. They need all support from us.
Waiting for the first fire from PAP to charge someone on race, internal security etc
The electorate is changing gradually. They are more urbanised, more sheltered and more complacent. Yester-years’ difficult times and struggles are not in their consiousness. Today’s challenges are hidden from their view. Politics is more complicated in this environment, especially when certain proponents refuse to take a long term constructive view but just pander to and encourage self-serving emotions of the population.
To me, if it’s not obvious that the proponents are able to make difficult but long term decisions, I’ll be very afraid to believe in them.
Better get this warning out first. 6th of May is a very crucial date, it’s a well planned election tactic to gain unfair advantage. While campaigning is not allowed, party broadcast will be allowed. I understand several documentaries and media events are being planned for that day by those who have control of all broadcastcast media. Last minutes productions will be done to counter the claims and concerns raised by the opposition during the rallies. Experts have been employed to brainwash (if that’s the correct terms) to influence the voting public through the broadcast mediums, especially television. What the opposition or even TOC should plan for is a counter campaign for no media (or Television day) or something to that affect. Warn people ahead not to watch or listen. Prepare people on what can be expected on 6th, tell them of the likely scenarios and excuses. If possible we should have a no TV day, similar to the lights out or no smoking day.
@6th May 2011 20 April 2011
“What the opposition or even TOC should plan for is a counter campaign”
I agree with you that the hidden agenda behind the “cooling Off Day” is to get the MSM to do a last minute propaganda blitz with programmes to try and sway the voters away from the Opposition.
I also agree that the united Opposition plan should be to arrange party broadcasts through the Internet.
Most importantly, I think the opposition must win the voters support way ahead and pre-warn them of the tricks that the ruling regime will play on the day.
Just curious about our new Indian PAP nominees. They’ve listed their religion as ‘others’. Wondering about that as I thought the idea of bringing in representatives of our population means you would bring in those who are ‘others’ as well as those who may be ‘Hindus’?
The breakdown of the new MPs’ religion is at this link:
https://docs.google.com/a/mindwaveglobal.com/document/pub?id=1r18NEf_MNhliPu4AxoMkStdehcJfxdhMviSohSpj5AE&pli=1
“Politics is more complicated in this environment, especially when certain proponents refuse to take a long term constructive view but just pander to and encourage self-serving emotions of the population.”
Politics is always complicated and it takes regular horse trading between the proponents, be it those who are governing or being governed if the mechanism allows the treatment to be on an EQUAL footing (emphasis intended), to reach a middle point. Lest one side, the dominant side, gets too carried away that it is able to skew the agenda too much to its advantage to the detriment of the other side, be it short or long term. And yes, lest it panders to encourage self-serving emotions of the dominant protagonists, not only from the population.
Can any comments on the candidates/GE2011 be made during the cooling day? Please advise me. Thank you in advance.
Actually i think PM lee don’t have moral grounding. So his thinking and policies are always for $$$ and ALL his men say yeh yeh
“The electorate is changing gradually. They are more urbanised, more sheltered and more complacent. Yester-years’ difficult times and struggles are not in their consiousness.”
The electorate and those who are governing mostly come from the same cohort. The pace of urbanization & the level of cosy shelter and complacency affect all the same, not only from the electorate.
@OnlineShmonline:
“Just curious about our new Indian PAP nominees. They’ve listed their religion as ‘others’.”
No mystery there. It should be a well known fact by now that the PAP ONLY rewards those Indians who take the steps to dilute genetic and/or cultural Indian-ness.
This is in keeping with their racist policy.
I had questioned Janil P about his wife’s ethnicity – another indicator of the willingness for Indian dilution – but to no avail.
What if the Opposition does not get carried away trying to be all things to all people because truth be told they struggle with all the big issues on the table and as much as they have questions and criticisms, they only have qualified answers of their own and they will not be the alternative for the forseeable future?
Instead, what if the opposition parties are single-minded and allowed the PAP to win but at a proportionate cost?
Allow me to explain proportionate cost.
If there is one PAP person I can’t tolerate, it has to be Wong Kan Seng. The dimunitive ass should have been sacked for the Mas Selamat affair and other bungles. And yet he is alive and well and is even, technically, in line to be PM.
Now, say I’m an opposition party, I’d campaign on one fact and one fact alone that every vote my party gets in GE 2011 is a vote signalling that Wong Kan Seng has to go. Doesn’t matter which constituency or GRC I’m standing, every vote will be a direct response to my party pitch that ‘Wong Kan Seng must go’.
If I get less than 10% of the overall votes, well, people didn’t buy my pitch. And the odds were stacked against me in any case.
BUT if a significant number buy it, say 30% or more, I have a good enough reason to continue harping on Wong Kan Seng even past elections if need be for the PAP to do something about him. Turn the screws, up the hype whatever. Till the PAP, pragmatic party that they are, deal with it. Demote the dufus, hide him in the PMO (short partitions will do), set him up in a GLC etc.
So while the PAP would have won the elections and status quo is maintained etc as it would be in any case, we’d have got something significant out of it – ONE of their key leaders who deserves to be sacked is dealt with.
Wong Kan Seng will be the proportionate cost.
If we can demonstrate that we can do that then we can hold each and every MP or Minister accountable for what they say and do which is ultimately what we want and more importantly, prove what matters most – that every vote counts.
sa
haha you are right, he is not right.. there is a long list of relatives and friends being in important gov, statutory board, gic, temasek, government related companies… and best of all they are should be ganna anti-monopoly investigations…
…………
onced again..
my upmost esteen apologies for bein selective readin on YOUR postin just liked Ant…
meself is a chainman…
when i go..i maked sured my next generations will not sufferred the SAME fate of me in this present moment of hardships created by 1 bloomin sellfish familly and all this while i think the former Tzar was bad…i wished that may this present regime ministers ROT IN HELL for all eternity…
Heaven above already cried for the people by the people as good as COLD aroun the WORLD…
@IpushLKYwheelchair
The most important thing is your heart is in the right place. Your anger at your fellow Singaporeans who are unable to see what this government is doing also boils my blood but we have make people see the truth.
We have to tell people that your vote is really secret and the ISD will NOT be knocking at their door in the middle of the night if you vote for opposition.
Singapore will not Sink if the opposition comes to power, there will be electricity, there will be gas, there will be telephone and the companies will not pack and leave the next day. You have make them understand, that government and business is not the same. Business will carry on and work with the new opposition just like they work with PAP but this time maybe working with WP, SDP or whoever.
Many people are afraid of these things so as people who know about these things I am sharing it with the rest of the Singapore that we can make a change and survive and flourish without PAP
“So while the PAP would have won the elections and status quo is maintained etc as it would be in any case, we’d have got something significant out of it – ONE of their key leaders who deserves to be sacked is dealt with.”
Provided it is put into practice in reality. If it was not done after the great selamat fiasco, what makes you think it will be done after the election.
Wasn’t huge cost (wondering if it satisfies your definition of proportionate cost) presented in full view for all to see in the mobilization of national resources like the army, police, extra checking at most immigration checkpoints, tonnes of MAS photographs pasted on almost every corner of singapore & committee formed.
For any matter, individuals vote their MPs due to mirage of reasons, if not coinciding with some key issues that are being campaigned, namely catchy marketing statements to provide maximum bite & catch.
Finally, how does it matter for a candidate garnering 30% of the votes. Would anyone interpret it seriously as a proportionate cost or a validation of popular mandate for another who crosses the 50% mark, even it just means 51%.
Chee Must Stand!
http://theowlcritic.blogspot.com/2011/04/muzzling-chee-soon-juan_4235.html
Anyone who is committed to Singapore and ready to voice our concern will be welcomed be CSJ, KJ or Slyvia Lim we want committed people
It will be a day PAP will do maximum damage to the opposition party. So count me out from this day. I am going to post and comment no end in every forum and blog right up to the polling day until the boxes are sealed and send for vote counting.
Left one week to nomination day! Our opposition still happy go lucky and no intention to contest all wards? You only need 87 candidates not 8700 candidates !!! you think you field a few teams you can provide any to us?
My ideal government is one that centered around its people.
PAP is one that centered around $$$.
So, according to PAP – only $$$ can get the best to serve the country. That explains why ministers are drawing millions, multiple times of their counterparts elsewhere. Unfortunately, they are not supermen nor superwomen. There are oversights on their parts,like the skyrocket high HDB prices due to undersupply (i read there was a year or two with ONLY 3100 units being built), the Mas Selemat case …. Our ministers are no better than their counterparts elsewhere, at least NOT multiple times better.
Secondly, because PAP is soooo concerned with $$$, new hospital construction projects were delayed (i believe in 2008) because the construction cost was high then (the people come second, cost comes first) and then of course the infamous National Stadium re-construction project that was delayed for almost 2 years …
But the government can allow Temasek Holdings to lose billions, the YOG budget to overspend three times … no, i am not against the YOG, I feel proud Singapore was the host, but our superman minister obviously did not know how to do budgeting.
So, all in all – our PAP team definitely does not comprise of supermen or superwomen, no … not an ‘A’ team at all.
HI,SORRY TO IMPOSE.
IS TR STILL IN OPERATION?
COULD ANYONE HERE HLPE ,PLS?
Ant 20 April 2011
@IpushLKYwheelchair
We have to tell people that your vote is really secret and the ISD will NOT be knocking at their door in the middle of the night if you vote for opposition.
…………..
donkees ears ago..somewhere in jurong west on 1 chingmin festival in a hdb shoppin centre was the former lta minister wearin galants of flower..
this hypocrite minister was doin his round..i just finished lunch.. i go STRAIGHT to him and asked him..
ello minister..today is what day? that blurredking couldn’t answered..i TELL him..today is sunday a shoppin day for the jurong west community…right?
he still seemed blurred…
i xplaint to him in a HIGH toned..
if its a shoppin day for the familly..ow come there are more shop/sales staff than the shoppers? he couldn’t comprehend what i am tryin to says..maybe he hav yet to meet yoda..not yoga hor..
i 1 last shout…if no buisness what the HELL is hdb 1st 2 raise RENTALs to market value?
i waltz off liked john wayne in slow motion..my siblins ran liked hell
i don’t see his bodyguard nor polis in shortpants comin after me @ all…
IMPORTANT: Temasek Review has been subject to denial service attack by the PAP. Singtel servers have been jamming up the site slowing it down tremendously.
Editors of Online Citizen, it looks like the same is happening to your site as speed is very slow now. Pls put in place contingency plans.
I had been willing to give PAP the benefit of doubt but today I have lost faith completely. I thought we are in Singapore but no, it seems like we are living in North Korea and China.
This morning, I last tried accessing TR via http://www.temasekreview.net. But not sure if its accessible now. Also, not sure if this is a real mirror.
Also, we can try proxy access to reach TR if its blocked.
Can someone advise a useable free proxy?
Information is power.
@Deatheater
I am glad that you are beginning to see the real PAP for what it is.
Singaporeans are fools!
You can go Facebook to access TR. There is also a discussion on this ddos by government stooge Singnet.
hi all,
I guess the voters are scared that if they vote against, their estate might not get upgraded and the value of their estate not rise… or they might get marked.
but few things they forgot, they slogged so hard just to be mental and physical slaves to pay already high debts and also bills daily…, the estate of their hdb value they are paying high price to maintain the false glory behind.. dont even talk about next generation who would suffer even more.
also, the ruling party is say that if got more opposition then the world class parliament, simple if the opposite dont perform then next election vote them out… anyway, since the ruling party GOT majority seats and will have majority, it is A good CHECK for them…
they always play the greed factors for carrots and fear for losing the benefits, time to wack them hardest for this time…
Deatheater,
You are right. I tried the whole day
yesterday and also half a day today, access
to TR is denied. What happens ? China is
notoriously good at playing this sort of
info blockout ! But we are practising
parliamentary democracy, this kind of
censorship should not happen to us.
the PAP has lost all credibility and resorting to dirty tricks. They are now worse than North Korea. At least North Korea don’t claim to be first world and don’t openly lie that they are fair to opposition. Shameless gov.
THey do this TR, just vote oppositions. Such underhand technique by pappies.
BREAKING NEWS
This NSP Lady Nicole Seah is going to versus Tin Pei Ling in Marine Parade.
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Nicole-Seah-%E4%BD%98%E9%9B%AA%E7%8E%B2/139649226106157
Yes I am seriously shocked by this behaviour. Couldn’t believe that the PAP will resort to such dirty tricks worthy only of dictators in the mould of Kim Jung Il.
This is a comment / post from Gary. Which I believe is a good one to be read if it is not already been posted here.
The Rise & Fall of People’s Action Party – 1959 – 2011. This is a historical moment.
Dear Singaporeans, let celebrate on 8 May 2011 for a new beginning in Singapore’s history.
The Red colour on our flag symbolises universal brotherhood and the equality of man. Lets all of us wear RED Colour Shirt on 30 APRIL 2011 (a week before Election Day) to show our support for the brave men and women of opposition parties, and look towards the beginning of equality, democracy, peace and justice. We shall treat this day the 2nd National Day.
To all the supporters of the opposition parties, please pass this message to all your friends, relatives and brothers via emails.
Unquote
Just doing my share of supporting the Opps.
So those who in actuality on the Polling day do vote for the Opps, please wear Red on Saturday 30th April. Let’s see our strength in numbers. Lets send a clear Mandate to the Opps that we are behind them. Lets make the Pappies start packing.
Do yourself a favour. Don’t shortchange yourself for the next 5 years. Vote wisely.
If Singtel and Starhub are capable of engaging in ddos against TR, I fear they are also monitoring SMSes of their subscribers and sharing the names with PAP especially the phone logs of opposition members. All who are reading this, pls help spread the word around and terminate your subscription with these 2 ISPs or don’t renew at all.
@ alitheia: Of course I understand the lack of change that the PAP has. But ultimately when BB is gone for good, they will finally get the guts to realize that their policies need to change or they face the possibility of ending up in the dustbin of history. Of course if they lack the backbone to do so, then we will need someone to come along and prod them into doing so.
Easy. Just ask your hostings to block all IPs from Starhub and Singtel. That will do the trick.
@IpushLKYwheelchair
You got balls man, tis people got no balls to answer us citizen.
Anything they hide police, courts or body guard.
In Iceland you can go to the president’s house knock on the door and talk to him. That is real democracy. In Singapore you stand far far away also you are danger. I man stand alone also illegal assembly.
really CCB govt
Cooling day 20 April 2011
It will be a day PAP will do maximum damage to the opposition party. So count me out from this day. I am going to post and comment no end in every forum and blog right up to the polling day until the boxes are sealed and send for vote counting.
: hi cooling day, I salute you for doing that… keep it up and going
seriously, we just have to discredit or make people doubt the traditional media and people around us(more and more people dont trust media now or discount some of the news), that’s very important also…
also ask them to think average pay 4000-5000 per month per couple for youngste how to make the people pay 400k 4A hdb for 30 damn years at around few hundreds to thousand plus?? what a disappointment to our housing system!!!
if ruling party uses the “dream” of next 50 years or 5 years to persaude, scare, encourage the voters to vote for them, then use the fact that what is the supporting level of wage increase, employment for single person can carry on 30 years?
also, can we afford to be sick? can claim our medishield for small things? or insurance claim..
also, can we draw out our CPF at the age of 100, doubt so for middle age people????
give us 100 take back ten times more?..
most of the things are getting out of proportion. the balance completely lost…
Deatheater 20 April 2011
If Singtel and Starhub are capable of engaging in ddos against TR, I fear they are also monitoring SMSes of their subscribers and sharing the names with PAP especially the phone logs of opposition members. All who are reading this, pls help spread the word around and terminate your subscription with these 2 ISPs or don’t renew at all.
: too late for all the suggested(we are tapped and marked, i die without regrets and ruling parties are afraid of people who not afraid to die and dare to speak out although there might be martyrs who might sacrifice along the way , we need to have balls to help ourselves and people around us, and if we can live long enough to see our next generations
So we will see if voters will usher in stronger opposition to Parliament. Lets hope we do. The hard truth is that with greater diversity of representation in Parliament comes with greater representation of voices from the populace rather than a centric, very pro business view of the PAP. Not to say we do not need the devils of Pro-business PAP policies.
I think with this despicable act of the PAP to shut down TR, the issue is no longer about having greater representation in parliament but rejecting the authoritarian unreasonable and downright contemptuous attitude of the PAP who deems it within their rights to silence different opinions which are against them.
Ant 21 April 2011
@IpushLKYwheelchair
You got balls man, tis people got no balls to answer us citizen.
Anything they hide police, courts or body guard
………….
neigh…just 1st to challenge all this ministers that comes unprepared as though these minsters/mps think they are singapoor idols…
when i was in britain..my MP is non other than the would be prime minister who eventually replaced the iron lady befallen premeirships..
i too knocked on his out of office door for a constituned consultation WITH the assistance of a very POWERFUL allied/MP of the conservative party and finally won my case against the BRITISH Home Affair department…
to NSDAP:
you wrote: “…when BB is gone for good, they will finally get the guts to realize that their policies need to change…”
I can only guess what you meant by BB. But still, I respectfully disagree.
Remember what Lord Acton said, “power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely”. History – with its long line of leaders/governments who started well but ended bad – attest to the truth in Acton’s words.
Political representation, accountability, transparency, responsiveness etc cannot be left to politicians alone. For long-term sustainability, coherence and consistency, democracy requires democratic systems, institutions, processes. The system ensures leaders are accountable.
Having a viable, credible and able opposition is integral to a democratic system. It is also crucial to the long-term survival of a polity. Put it this way, if the WP or a coalition becomes the government here one day, then we must want the PAP and/or other parties to act as check – to ensure that we continue to have transparency, accountability, representation and responsiveness.
This is not about which party gets to call the shots. It’s about holding elected representatives to their pledge to serve the people, not to trample all over them.
@ipushLKYwheelchair
I am impressed mate I see you are a well travelled man. That is why you are wiser then your average Singaporean
Ant 21 April 2011
@ipushLKYwheelchair
I am impressed mate I see you are a well travelled man. That is why you are wiser then your average Singaporean
………..
when i was a youn lad..me granpa whom moi adore was a very noble humble man who would protect OUR village from any harm includin kickin drunken britsh sailors..yes he is a geniued 1 legkick boxer from wongfeihong’s clan…
he alway remin me..when you grow older
you MUST takeover my legacy/responsibilty
that is all i asked..
and when he died in his deathbed..i was beside him holdin his hand till his last breath…
@ipushLKYwheelchair
You are many of many facets. With many experiences
I still have long way to go in terms of life experiences already I am tired of all the BS.