Lisa Li
On 20 April 2011, Singapore’s Minister for Muslim Affairs Mr Yaacob Ibrahim was quoted saying “it may be timely for us to teach Malay as a foreign language rather than as a mother tongue.” (ST, 20 Apr 2011). Understandably, many took offense at what they perceived to be an insult to native speakers of Malay and non-Malay Singaporeans alike.
In response, MENDAKI has now stated that Mr Yaacob’s comment was taken out of context, and he meant “methods used in teaching foreign languages”, specifically for “[Malay] children who do not use Malay as a primary language at home”[1]. (CNA, 24 Apr 2011)
English-Speaking Malay Households?
I was curious about Mr Yaacob’s suggested “methods used in teaching foreign languages” specifically for “[Malay] children who do not use Malay as a primary language at home”, because this is not a common problem I encounter in my work in a literacy programme. In fact, many of the Malay children I have met prefer using Malay as their primary language.
My personal experience was confirmed by the Census of Population 2010 (Table 49), which states that for the resident population aged 5 years and over, the Malays are by far the most likely to use their mother tongue as a primary language, compared to the other two main races in Singapore.
For 2010, it was found that a hefty majority of 82.7% of Malays use Malay as a primary language at home, while only 17% of Malays prefer English. In comparison, 67%% of Chinese use Mandarin or Chinese dialects as a primary language, with 32.6%% preferring English, while for Indians, 36.7% use Tamil, 41.6% use English, and 10.6% use Malay as their primary language[2].
Since such a comparatively large proportion of the Malay population speak Malay at home as a primary language, it is not surprising that so many of us did not immediately identify with the English-speaking trend Mr Yaacob was referring to, and reacted with horror at the suggestion to “teach Malay as a foreign language rather than as a mother tongue”.
Foreign Language Teaching Methods?
Since then, Mr Yaacob’s remark has been clarified. But what are the “methods used in teaching foreign languages” that he could be referring to?
There are many different methods that foreign language teachers have used over the years, including the grammar translation method, the natural method (which refrains from using the learner’s native language), communicative language teaching (using interaction), language immersion, using flashcards, the Silent Way (in which the teacher is usually silent, leaving room for the learners to talk and explore the foreign language), blended learning (using the learners’ native language occasionally to explain difficult words) and many more.
While these are useful teaching methods, many similar methods and other creative pedagogical tools have already been used in Singapore to improve students’ fluency in language.
In fact, the Ministry of Education has long recognised the growing trend of students speaking English as a primary language at home, and has introduced creative teaching methods to better engage their students.
Local Teaching Methods in Singapore
In 2005, then-Minister for Education Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam launched a new initiative, SEED-CL[3], to phase in new approaches to Chinese Language (CL) teaching and learning. This focused on experimentation in teaching techniques at the initial stage, for example, placing less emphasis on script writing and more emphasis on character recognition. (Click here[4] for more creative teaching methods from SEED-CL.)
Interestingly, these changes were made after MOE (Ministry of Education) and NIE (National Institute of Education) professionals undertook a study trip[5] to China and Hong Kong to observe China’s new approaches in teaching, and to see how far we could apply them in Singapore. Rather than look to “methods used in teaching foreign languages”, MOE looked to CL experts from China to improve CL teaching in Singapore.
In February 2008, MOE again acknowledged that there were “shifts in the home-language background of students” of Chinese students, and announced further enhancements to programmes in Special Assistance Plan (SAP) schools, such as the teaching of non-examination subjects such as Art, Music, Physical Education and Social Studies in Chinese, the increase in immersion programmes to China, and a new ‘O’ level subject, Media Studies in Chinese, for two secondary schools[6].
Since MOE is able to improve Singapore’s CL teaching for a range of learners (from those more comfortable in English to those highly proficient in Chinese) based on advice from CL experts in China, we can definitely also learn from our neighbouring countries how they teach Bahasa Melayu to their local Malays for example, without having to resort to methods used for teaching foreign languages.
The Malay Language Centre of Singapore[7], which was opened in July 2010, is well placed to do just that, especially with MOE’s promise in March 2011 of up to $3.6 million[8] to support efforts by the Malay Language Learning Promotion Committee over the next 5 years. With such support, I am sure that MOE definitely has no intention of downgrading Malay.
Still, Dr Yaacob’s remarks cast some temporary doubt over this matter, and his clarification merely emphasized the fact that he saw nothing wrong in his use of the phrase “foreign language rather than mother tongue” with reference to Malay Language teaching — even if he really meant “methods for teaching foreign languages”.
Dr Yaacob said he is “disappointed by the negative reactions to his remarks on teaching the Malay language”, and described the criticism as coming from “certain elements that continue to stoke the language issue for whatever gains and motives that they might have in mind.”[9]
Dr Yaacob, many of us, Malays and non-Malays alike, were shocked by your initial remarks. We spoke up in outrage because we care for our collective language and culture. Now, by dismissing these valid concerns as coming from “elements” who sow discord for unspecified “gains and motives”, you only insult us further.
[1] http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1124580/1/.html
[2] http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/popn/c2010sr1/t47-57.pdf
[3] http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/speeches/2005/sp20050409.htm
[4] http://www3.moe.edu.sg/corporate/contactonline/2005/Issue23/big_pic/treasure.htm
[5] http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/speeches/2005/sp20050409.htm
[6] http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/2008/02/enhanced-programmes-by-special.php
[7] http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1072558/1/.html
[8] http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/2011/03/additional-funding-to-promote-teaching-and-use-of-malay-language.php
[9] http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1124580/1/.html
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Saudara Yacoob,
Menagapa anda nak mengajar bahasa Melayu (Bahasa Kebangsaan) seperti bahasa asing.
Aku orang tiong hau. Aku hendak berbahsa melayu. Asli aku Singapura…
Dear Lisa Li,
Wonderful article ! You see – there are many things that can be done to keep the Malay language alive. But obviously Yaacob has chosen to take the easy way out for whatever reason that only he knows.
I agree with your suggestion to get help from Malaysia in the teaching of Malay. But you and I both know that the PAP will not do it.
Best Regards
Dr Syed Alwi
All these goes to show that Yaacob Ibrahim in particular and PAP in general are relatively intolerant of criticisms and are less open to receiving even the constructive ones
QUOTE :
xlandjy 26 April 2011
Saudara Yacoob,
Menagapa anda nak mengajar bahasa Melayu (Bahasa Kebangsaan) seperti bahasa asing.
Aku orang tiong hau.
Aku hendak berbahsa melayu. Asli aku Singapura…
Simply put: Out of touch with the ground.
xlandjy 26 April 2011
Saudara Yacoob,
Aku orang tiong hau.
Aku hendak berbahsa melayu. Asli aku Singapura…
One of the ways to keep the Malay language alive is to bring back the teaching of the National Language in schools. The best method to learn is to teach. Peer learning and teaching can take place simultaneously among students. This is a long term plan. In the interim, a campaign to use the National Language every year can help too. Run it along the line of Speak Mandarin campaign
Maafkan. Aku fikir Saudara Yacoob se-orang Melayu. Bukan? Dia orang puteh?
Janagan susah hati saudar saudara dan saudari saudari. Kita semura orang Singapura.. Semua satu manusia..
Kalau Saudara Yacoob cakap salah.. mereka jangan marah… Saudara masih murah…
First came “I stand corrected”, then “I don’t know what to say” and then “it was tongue-in-cheek”. I thought I’ve heard the last of it till now…
Now when someone from current regime says something to incur the wrath of the people, they say “… comment was taken out of context”.
How to trust in all this ding dong word games anymore? So if you make a promise now, would you later say one of the above statement? I’m shaking in fear..
Fakta statististik yang konkrit dan konklusif lagi konsisten adalah indeks survival dan kontinuiti bahasa Melayu yang dipraktis komuniti kontemporari generasi Y.
Guru yang kreatif dan berdedikasi adalah produk pedagogi yang stabil dan eksklusif. Aplikasi teknologi media komunikasi adalah metodika interaktif yang efektif. Inovasi sistem yang dinamik serta shif paradigma minda individual yang komited adalah proses adaptasi situasional
ke arah bahasa progesif.
Dear Mr Yaacob,
If you happen to read this, I suggest you will be extra careful in what you have to say. You and all the other malay/muslim MPs are under scrutiny by your community.
First, our MM has made what appear to be a seditous remark about the malay/muslim community with excerpts published not only in the main stream media but also in an international well established magazine like National Geographic. Now you appear to make a disparaging remark about the malay langguage. With more non malays FTs aquiring citizenship I cannot help but to feel that the malay/muslim community is being marginalised. To some, its a latent path to ” ethnic cleansing “. We all know that MM will probably not apologise for those statement because in another interview recently he has to stand corrected because the PM said so and challenged the interviewer to talk to the man in the street. Again another Machevillian strategy to divide and rule.
Frankly, despite some words that came out from the PM and some ministers and MPs, the rest appear to be comfortably numb. To the malay/muslim community whom I believe, the majority of which supported the PAP has been betrayed. If the majority of the MPs, especially the non malays, were to speak up and defended their fellow singaporean and in this case the malays, I’m sure the malay/muslim singaporean will not feel alienated or threatened. Its sad because being quite can also mean being in agreement. Being quite, like most of the netizens has pointed out, is also a way not to lose your salaries and your allowances.
For now my gut feeling somehow point to a big lost in vote from the malay/muslim singaporean towards the PAP. But than again with less than 14% of the total population, who the heck cares.
One thing Yacult’s joke has shown us is that despite LKY’s claim that Malays are not integrating well, it is not true.
This episode has shown that many of us Chinese considered them to be Singaporeans, there is no need to integrate because they are not foreign in the first place. We are just one big family with different characters, that’s all.
Look at how many of us are upset at the suggestion to downgrade the Malay language!
There! Stop looking down on the malay community. They are entitled to their culture and heritage.
Dear Yakult !
other members play the old dirty political games… u are running a messy games…. no begin no end… out of context!!!
Good and well-reasoned article. Thanks for sharing this.
I think the concerns raised are valid, and it was disappointing for the Minister to have dismissed them the way he did.
There are still some questions that need to be answered:
1) Why was the explanation on what the Minister meant (that he was not denigrating Malay to a foreign language, but referring to the pedagogy) done by the Mendaki CEO? Why could the Minister not have clarified what he meant himself?
2) How would teaching Malay as a foreign language help? Pedagogical approaches towards teaching a foreign language (in English) is necessary because students here do not live in the environment that is conducive for the language. For instance, if a Singaporean student learns Japanese, there are certain pedagogical approaches necessary because the Singaporean student does not live in a Japanese family/cultural environment.
However, a Malay student here would be living in a Malay household/community.
The approach therefore has to be different compared with the earlier example. The Malays have a saying “bahasa itu bangsa”, which means that language shapes the culture/mindset of a community.
There are definitely other ways of exploring how to make Malay relevant to Malay Singaporeans, but I am yet to remain convinced how teaching this as a foreign language would achieve the objective.
Also, should this issue not be dealt with by the Minister of Education, rather than the Minister in charge of Muslim Affairs?
Greetings fellow readers
Just an appeal to our Malay friends. My apology as I am unable to read Malay. I think likely those who posted in Malay here are bilingual. Would you all be so kind to post an English translation after your Malay post ? Thanks
Polisi imigrasi dan integrasi nasional musti transparen. Struktur populasi minoriti Singapura jadi random. Bahasa dimodifikasi. Pola dan sintaks frasa bervariasi. Fakulti minda dimanipulasi dan didiskriminasi. Satu illusi realistik.
Saudara georgia tong,
Mengapa anda tidak faham Bahasa Melayu. Aku orang Tionghua juga. Belajar-lah bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Kebangsaan Kita.
Sedikit sedikit, lama lama jadi bukit.
I am just shocked How easily a statement can be replaced!!!!! Instead of admitting that Mr Yacoob is at fault, & the comments are heard thus, we will remain Malay as the National Language.. overnight, it was stated as we misunderstood his statement… well done!!!
Syabas kpd Cik Georgia Tong.Walaupun beliau bukan seorang Melayu dan tidak pandai berbahasa Melayu, namun beliau masih ingin ambil tahu “apa akan jadi kpd Bahasa Melayu berdasarkan saranan Pak Menteri kita”
Hi Lisa,
this is an emotive issue and I feel that you have conflated a number of issues.
1) Dr Yaacob’s initial phrasing of ‘teaching Malay as a foreign language’ when he said that he meant ‘using foreign language methods to teach Malay’.
2) His dismissal of the criticisms which came in the wake of the initial reports of his statements above.
3) The effectiveness of the foreign language teaching methods.
I feel that (1) seems to be a matter of public relations. He should have chose his phrasing more carefully or the ST should have used different phrasing in its initial reports. But this is not the crux of the issue.
(2) to me is also similar. It is regrettable (stronger words can be used, perhaps) that he dismissed the criticisms so casually when many were seriously concerned about the issue, but then again, it is a separate matter.
(3) should be the focus. How effective are these foreign language teaching methods? If they prove to be effective, would anyone object to them? So to me, the question is: Will they prove to be effective? You suggested learning from our surrounding countries and while that is valid, it still doesn’t make Dr Yaacob’s suggestion wrong. It seems that the effectiveness of the various padegogies is a valid and logical concern, and it is one that can be dealt with in less emotional terms.
In Mendaki’s letter clarifying things, it was stated that Dr Yaacob “cited the use of the movies of the late P. Ramlee (an evergreen Malay entertainment icon), Malay adventure stories and Malay classical literature as content that could be made to teach Malay contextually and creatively to the young.” Looking at this statement, it seems fair to me.
So I’m not very clear where the main focus of your unhappiness lies. If it is (1) and/or (2), then yes, Dr Yaacob could have done better. But you seem to be also using (3) as a source of your unhappiness and to me, it just doesn’t seem right as it is a valid concern.
Yes, this is a ploy to distract Singaporeans from more important issues. Anyway, this Yacoob never really served the Malays, he is a self-serving hypocrite.
Too bad, the Malay-Muslims do not see what a chameleon he is.
———-
JUST FOUND OUT FROM AN ACQUIANTANCE WHO HAPPENS TO BE A FOREGINER ON EP-PASS
EP-pass holders are no longer required to contribute CPF nor are their employers required to contribute CPF – in other words, excepting a salary, the employer saves $$$.
ANY EMPLOYER WOULD RATHER CHOOSE A FOREIGNER TO SAVE COSTS AS OPPOSED TO CHOOSING A LOCAL. SINGAPOREANS ARE SCREWED. MOM IS HIDING MANY POLICY CHANGES AND STUPID SINGAPOREANS ARE WISHING THAT THEIR GRIEVANCES WOULD BE HEARD.
PS – Hope it is a one-off incident. If this is the actual policy being practised now, singaporeans are doomed cows!
Yaacob as a minister should press the Straits Times for an apology, if indeed he was misquoted.
All journalists are aware that minister’s statement must be carefully vetted because of the repercussions.
Yaacob should make it known to SPH that it has erred.
I am surprised that he initially chose to keep quiet and allowed Mendaki CEO to come to his aid.
Strange…
@ Strange
I was at the forum and can say for a fact that Yaacob really said that. I was quite shocked when I heard it too.
I think he is keeping quiet because
a) sensitive timing,
b) it just shows his poor choice of words,
c) he needs to keep his energies to GE.
@Perhaps not so strange?
you were at the forum, you were shocked, yet said nothing?
Strange. If it was such an critical thing to be shocked about, why be a coward and not speak up?
Once bitten, twice shy.
Twice bitten, thrice must ask why.
Again and again bitten, we better be wise.
Therefore, it’s wise to trust ourselves than to trust some Multi-Millionaire-Mini$ters whose own selfish self-enriching interest is now at great stake (who may become corrupt if they are not paid $millions).
For the past 5 years, what did the Multi-Millionaire-Mini$ters did/gave to us?
1. Housing problems – caused by greedy profit-oriented policies of HDB.
2. Jobs problems – especially old people cannot find jobs and young people cannot find decent-paying jobs.
3. Cost-of-living problems – High Inflation – prices of essential goods keep going up and up and up ….
4. Stagnant and depressed wages.
5. Extremely High Ministerial pay and bonuses, perks, etc. tantamount to raiding our national coffers and reserves.
6. High Civil Admin cost due to high pays and bonuses being paid to the civil service, police and military personnel.
7. The shameful and inexcusable blunder of allowing Mas Selamat to escape, not once but twice and yet did not even know that he was hiding at his niece’s residence during the first two days of his 2nd escapade.
8. Huge Temasek loses and GIC losses but have yet to account to the public/taxpayers.
9. Institutional Dominance and Control for selfish interest of prolonging and holding to power.
10. Making use of public funds for political motives.
11. Redrawing of boundaries of constituencies to give added advantage to themselves.
12. Marking of ballot boxes in such a way that voting trend by blocks are known.
13. Control of the Mass Media.
14. Control of the NTUC.
15. Opening the floodgate for Foreigners influx.
16. MAS – did not take proactive actions to prevent or avoid the financial debacle caused by toxic financial instruments.
17. PAP Town Councils mismanagement of public funds – losses caused by reckless investments in toxic financial instruments.
18. Health cost and facilities – health cost keeps going up, waiting time at hospitals and polyclinic can be as much as 6 hours, number of beds in hospital limited, and doctors and nurses are mainly foreigners.
19. Why the PM need 7 other ministers to help him in his Office – 1 MM, 2 SMs, 2 DPMs, 3 Ministers w/o Portfolio in PMO?
20. Income inequality and income gap getting wider and wider.
21) Transport problems – too many unnecessary ERPs; congestion in MRT trains and buses due to too many foreigners in Singapore.
22) Freedom and liberty problems – 19 new laws enacted to further restrict freedom of expression, movement and assembly.
23) ETC.
Wake up, my dear fellow Singaporeans!
Wake up, my dear fellow voters!
Wake up now, before it is too late!
Think carefully without fear. Think for your children’s future. Think that Singapore could have been better and would be much better if we can empower ourselves instead of giving total power for some Multi-Millionaire-Mini$ters to decide our fate and lord over all of us.
Think: Do I want the status quo to go on and on, without any respite, without any breather, without even able to shout for “HELP!”, and cannot get help even when help is needed?
You have the power. This power is in your own hands. Use it to HELP yourself FIRST instead of helping the Multi-Millionaire-Minit$er$ to get even richer so that they can buy safe-heaven-properties overseas and their children can drive Ferraris, Lumboginis, etc!
If you missed this chance, you will have to wait for another 5 years ….. So act now before it is too late.
Personally, I think it will be good to reinstate teaching Malay as Bahasa Kebangsaan.
What to do for money, they will do whatever to give up their malays heritage. That is the problem those who sold their souls to the devils, they lost in touch. This shows how serous if we donot have more oppositions, to the extend the malays pap mps are becoming madness. FYI, I am Indian.
PAP is a spent party that has alienated itself from the fundamentals of citizen-centred governance.
Now it no longer feels like it is Governance for Self Service but it is the reality!
The incumbents divide and rule and this feckless Yacob and many other minority MIWs can all be lumped together and labelling them as bootlickers is no sin.
When one is willing to compromise ethics, principles, sense of justice n … on the altar of power and greed for political orthodxy/patronage n $$$ – know lah, that all and most of the time talk is cheap.
One classic eg is that of the likes Halimah Yacob, Mah Bow Tan,Vivian. IT never felt that they have in any way tangibly enhanced citizens’ lives. There are so many others who are paid millions of dollars (sorry, arrogated is more apt) and Singaporeans of all hues are no better, excepting the material comforts. The latter never came free – Singaporeans paid and are still paying thru their noses for such comforts. The costs in terms of economics and social does not augur well for the future. It is mere window-dressing!@
What is essential is missing – why dont they lower costs for education, transport, housing and be transparent about it. These subsidies that they always talk about feels spurious.
The recent pre-election handouts (upgrading, rebates n …) is a mere sweetener. PAP, when it gives out a dollar, it is always to take back ten-fold. Think I am fear-mongering. Wait and see after the 7th of May.
All these wishing, wanting and hoping means nothing if one does take a stand and vote these self-serving lots out.
IF he was truly misquoted, then ST should settle the matter with an apology. As for the matter of how it’s spoken at home, I suspect he is talking about the more-well off Malays. Also, a lot of kids do speak Malay at home and with each other, but it’s colloquial, street Malay, not bahasa Baku, which adds to the problem. Teaching it as a foreign language is taught is not necessarily a bad thing. It’s a good way to ensure the basic structure is done up nicely, and can be built upon from there. The way such a method would work is that you tackle it from the perspective that the kids do not really speak or don’t speak Malay at all, and so you not only expose them to lesson work that focuses on the sheer basics, but also to stuff like movies and music, as we do for English. This is one of the most commonly used methods for building up proficiency in a language.
I think saying they have sold their soul and heritage is a bit extreme, considering this was a forum on how to improve spoken Malay and preserve the culture. If he misspoke, it was a hell of a mistake. But we do know what was meant now, and in terms of pedagogy, it’s a sound idea. Lets lay of the hyperbole? I know he’s an easy target, and there’s a litany of things that he can be taken to task for, but this is not one of them. Let’s face it, everyone misspeaks now and then, even other politicians and world leaders. He does it a lot, and should really look into it, but to call him evil or mad for that is really rather extreme.
14% really?
10+% vote swing just from one segment of the population is very very very significant!!
As the Minister for Malay & Muslim Affairs, Yaacob should be more supportive of the Malay teachers’ efforts to promote and teach Malay in schools here. By suggesting that the foreign-language teaching methods be adopted by the Malay teachers is simply adding insult to injury. Is he implying that Malay is no better than the other foreign languages? And that Malay is not of the same status as English, Mandarin and Tamil – as our official languages? Perhaps his view stems from the fact that he married a non-Malay (a European woman) and his children do not look Malay at all. Maybe it’s time for him to step down from his ministerial post and allow someone else who is a true Malay to take over the job – someone who can better understand and empathise with the needs of the Malay community here.
Mr. Yaacob may have lost himself in his comfort zone.
Malay is the national language in Singapore. To degrade it to foreign language is to forget the roots of Singapore.
Really insulting to the Malays. In politics, it is as good as telling they are like foreigner. Not citizen, not PR, but foreigners.
Very sad!
With due respect to Singaporean of all races, the Malays are the true bumiputra ( son of the soil) of Singapore. To me its our Heritage. Our National Anthem is in Malay.
By the way, I am a Straits born Chinese and I speak Malay, and I am proud to be among my Indian, Chinese and Malay abang adek!. It makes more sense to offer Malay as optional language to non Malays rather than a foreign language!
If Malay is made a foreign language in Singapore,we ought to do the same for Chinese and Tamil so that we can be fair to all Singaporeans.But then the vast majority of Malays(about 2 in 3)use Malay as their main home language and thus have strong proficiency in it.We would be sending the impression that Malays don’t deserve to be Singaporean since their mother tongue is foreign.
power crazed, dirty politics, greed and filthy money blinds one’s soul and mind for truth, justice and respect. Get well soon, ya’acob.
I think what all malays in Singapore should start to remind him of where he stand.
Maybe we all the malays in Singapore should let the ruling party to let all of their malays MP or nmcp or nmp just take care of the Singapore drain issues.
Because that is what Malays MP in ruling party are capable of.
As for the opposition Malays candidates we should let them run real issues.
Anyway it been proven that Malays MP in the ruling party have done good job in the drainage systems rather than real issues.
I think all the malays in sigapore should start to ask where the $5 each month of working malays goes to and there are many many things that he shold start thinking before he open his mouth just to shoot what he thinks.
To me i think malay MP in Singaporea are too comfy…too comfy that they forgot their forefather have to endures.
So please if you are not capable dont hold the mic. Just let others talk and you just do what youa re best at, knod your head.
Now you know why he is in charge of longkang (drains).
What does longkang contains?