Leong Sze Hian
I refer to the reports “Foreign workers help create good jobs for S’poreans: PM” (Straits Times, 22 April) and “Foreign workers help to create more good jobs for Singaporeans: PM”.
The former states that:
“In his speech, Mr Lee [Hsien Loong] noted that six in 10 of the employees are ‘Singaporeans and permanent residents’. Singapore residents also take up two-thirds of the managerial and professional positions…”
Given the remarks at the end of the report – that the “Government’s foreign worker policy could emerge as a hot-button issue this election as some believe that it has hurt residents’ job prospects and depressed wages” – I find it somewhat strange that even at this eleventh hour before the elections, the Prime Minister is still using “Singaporeans and permanent residents (PRs)” statistics.
How many Singaporeans?
The statement – “six in 10 of the employees are ‘Singaporeans and permanent residents’ – could mean just one Singaporean and five PRs.
As to “Singapore residents also take up two-thirds of the managerial and professional positions”, this could also be one-third Singaporeans and one-third PRs.
Also, according to the CNA report, since in “the technician and manufacturing jobs, two-thirds are foreign workers”, it could mean that as little as one per cent of the one-third are Singaporeans and the balance 99 per cent of the one-third PRs
Meaningless statistics?
So, the bottom line is that the PM’s statistics may not tell us much about jobs for Singaporeans, because of the 1,200 workers, 480 are foreigners, and as many as 716 could be PRs, with just one Singaporean manager, one Singaporean professional, one Singaporean technician and one Singaporean in a manufacturing job.
So, the $64,000 question may be – how many are Singaporeans?
To illustrate the frivolity of the data, if half the locals are PRs, it may mean that only 30 per cent of the total work force are Singaporeans, with one-third of the managers and professional positions and one-sixth of the technicians and manufacturing jobs being Singaporeans, respectively.
Surely, the data breaking down the locals into Singaporeans and PRs is available, as it is only 1,200 people who are all employed in just one company.
FM can, but PM can’t?
If the Finance Minister can present ‘Singaporean only’ workers’ incomes and ‘Singaporean only’ households incomes in the Budget statement in Parliament, albeit that it was one of the very rare occasions that “Singaporean only” statistics were disclosed, why is it that the PM can’t now?
Well, your guess is as good as mine!
Employers can hire 100 per cent foreigners?
Under the Ministry of Manpower’s (MOM) employment policies, an employer may be able to hire entirely non-Singaporeans, because under the foreign worker quota rules, a company can have unlimited employment of permanent residents and employment pass holders, up to 25 per cent of S-pass workers and 50 per cent of Malaysian work permit holders in certain sectors like the services sector. For non-Malaysian work permit holders like those from China or India, the quota is much lower at generally 10 per cent.
To illustrate the above with some examples :–
- a company can have 100 per cent PRs,
- 100 per cent employment pass holders,
- 100 per cent mixture of PRs and employment pass,
- 50 per cent PRs and employment pass, with 25 per cent S-pass, 15 per cent Malaysian work permit holders and 10 per cent China/India work permit holders, etc,
- as well as an unlimited number of foreign university interns on typically six-months stay in Singapore, who do not need to be subject to any of the foreign worker quotas.
“Commentary and opinions are a dime a dozen – let the statistics do the talking!”
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

The term Singaporeans nowadays no longer holds the same meaning as before. That’s because many Singaporeans are actually PRs who have been converted. There should now be a clear distinction between “native Singaporeans” and newly-minted Singaporeans.
The Little Red Dot – Hard Truths all can see (For electioneering plea)
From the early early sixties,
The little red dot hot with,
Leadership, talent, abilites,
Efficiency and productivty,
Equality and Meritocracy,
Re-structure this and that,
New blood remake this and that,
People paid the highest fees,
Short-term pain for long-term gains,
Citizens cut CPF and salaries,
Sad sad into the eighties,
All pains and no gains to see,
Higher and higher are the fees,
Western democracy bad for thee,
Reality struck the lightning rod,
Talks and talks are too easy,
By the turn of century,
Leadership became autocracy,
Million, paid to talents, Selamat flee,
People got wearied promises aplenty,
Headache over how to win votes save GRC,
Namesake GRC to protect minority,
Silly tinker one-man-one vote democracy,
Efficiency this productivity that aplenty,
Sucks said International agencies,
People got increasingly worried,
Economy restructured on gambling fee,
Sad sad the little-red-dot economy,
People got all long-terms pains,
By the late nineteen eighties.
Broken promises got aplenty,
People got more and more wearied,
Forty years of promises empty,
Foreign labor only way to revive economy,
Asset enhancement and market subsidy,
Portend new chapter of success story.
Duel or Debate Mah said no need,
NKF chief paid peanut turned monkey,
Leaders voted on simplicity of humanity,
Silly eager promises all about money,
Never transparency, and accountability
We used to be first in the region in our air/sea ports, education, transport (MRT), housing (HDB) and a model for other countries to follow.20 years on, we now have GST, ERP, COE and our claims to fame are modelled after countries we once ridiculed *think Sepang F1 and Genting Casino*. The only first we have left is a list of top paid politicians.
http://www.transitioning.org/2010/05/03/worlds-highest-paid-politicians-msn-money/
These same scholars are now telling us that foreigners are our future, and blame Singaporeans for not giving birth. They fail to reflect on rising costs, unaffordable property and longer hours (think productivity drive). They also don’t dwell on those who take up entry level positions, and how they depress our wages across the board.
Vote wisely, Sinagpore’s future depends on it. Tell your family and friends to think too! No more time to play it safe.
The PAP is right about contributions foreigners make to Singapore. But I would say they could have managed the influx better.
I read all this vitriol directed at foreigners and wonder if some of us are taking it too far. Let us step back a bit. I think many of you share my dissatisfaction with the govt’s management of immigration and are not anti-immigration per se.
Right to admit foreigners yes. Selectively not one millions of them that deprive many of our own citizens from jobs local are capable of doing.
It is certainly wrong to have one millions to come in and push up the housing costs by 65% over one year.
Minister Mah is supposed to be one of our talent but can he see the wrongs committed by him in these areas of looking after interests of citizens first?
come to tax people very clever,will come out all souse of idea.
more people = more tax,why bother.
come to think on how will this will effect the ground,dont bother.
so many million dollar pay papayas cant think about the effect,then who can think of it???
If we really want an accurate assessment, we must see that the number of jobs created increase when number of foreigners increase and decrease when the number of foreigners let in decrease. No point saying there are x number of foreigners let in and y number of jobs created. For all you know that could be higher job to singaporean ratio if there are less foreigners in the country.
PM said good jobs, was there a survey conducted to guage what type of jobs people really aspire to?
the creation of jobs should not have GDP as the main criteria. that is where PAP went wrong, & blamed the people for rejecting certain types of jobs, calling people choosey. just because govt created jobs, any jobs, & expected them to be filled without 2nd thought.
jobs created must be in line with living standards of developed nations, fair wages (for retirement, starting family, taking care of parents, financial stability), decent work/life balance, time for personal growth, etc.
S’pore cannot claim to be a world class, vibrant city with a larger population that is constantly worrying about providing the basic necessities. China is already moving from the factory of the world status, & if our dear leaders cannot wake up their idea, S’pore’s future will dim considerably, & very rapidly!
I guess we have a lot of foreign talent at my work plc.
Almost every meeting I go to, the ratio of Singaporean is 1 Singaporean : 9 foreign……
Not that these guys are not good, they are capable and also some are my close friends. However, I don’t think that there is a ratio as described …..
ALL CAR WASHING JOB’S IN THE DAY AND NIGHT, ARE DONE BY WORK PERMIT AND S -PASS HOLDER’S BY MOONLIGHTING. WE SINGAPOREANS ARE FACING DIFFICULTIES. I CAN’T EVEN DO CAR WASHING. THIS WORKER’S ARE FROM INDIA AND CHINA, WASHING OF CAR’S IS DONE IN ALL INDUSTRIAL BUILDINGS, CONDO’S AND ALL H.D.B CAR PARK’S. WE SINGAPOREAN’S ARE DEPRIVED OF EARNING A LIVING. M.OM AND SPF ARE NOT BRINGING THEM TO TASK. IS THIS WHAT FOREIGN TALANT IS ALL ABOUT ?? PLEASE HELP.
Many of us appear blind to the fact that half a million foreign workers are domestic helpers. And when the govt tries to deter the hiring of such foreign workers by increasing the foreign worker levy, we complain. Kennedy, there is no shortage of jobs. I know of hospitals who need attendants and cleaners, but Singaporeans don’t want to wash bloody linen or come in contact with the sick.
Instead of being hypocrites, let’s give concrete examples of jobs we want to do and fight for those jobs to be reserved for Singaporeans.
Expanded Economy = More Foreigners = Potential Future Voters = Excellent Captive Market = Higher Prices of Goods & Services = More Taxes = More Businesses For govt-lined cos, utility cos, schools, hospitals, housing, etc = Big Revenue.
Solves my problem!
I worked in the public uni. Lots of trash are working in it.
Seating on the chair waiting for time to pass. Free time, watch video and pretend to be busy. Time up, go home.
Now you know why Uni employ so many foreign trashes yet no good companies can spin out from it.
LTY, NEH, both of you owe us AN EXPLANATION why you are still keeping your jobs. Both of U should B LONG GONE.
Singaporeans are a very tolerant people. We welcome people from all over the world. So much so that we are soon becoming a minority in our very own country. Our culture will soon probably give way to the cultures of the migrants.
Why have this been allowed to happen?
Will our children hate us for not doing anything to stop it?
Strange that we Singaporeans do not find it so.
Are there statistics to show?
Create good new jobs for Singaporeans or more Foreigners?
I hope the next government will really look into the welfare of the people.
Please don’t ask us to be cheaper faster and so on.
Create jobs for what Singaporeans are educated and trained for.
I like Mr. Tan Jee Say’s proposal. It has heart for Singaporeans.
How far it will work, I hope to see it implemented to see its effects. I will bet on it because it is for our welfare.
Hi Dear ALL WISE, BRAVE AND BELOVED Citizens,
The Voice of Righteousness(for OUR NATION LONG TERM BENEFITS)
Reason why I am posting in the internet at this early hour of final day before cooling day(I am not a good writer) :
I just love my country Singapore which I was born. I want to contribute to our people. And I really want our country to grow healthily and with morals and ethics and compassion, as much as our citizens want.
The following state of mind of mine many of us may not want to see through this article.
But Please let me do an analysis why most GRCs and SMCs contests ARE ALL LOST to Ruling Party INCLUDING ALJUNIED except maybe Hougang. Real Democracy is LOST. AND SEE THE LONG TERMS PROS AND CONS BELOW……
See Below Notes
1) ONE MAIN REASON of Failure of this election is because Traditional Media, for example Newspaper Like Straits Times, New Paper, Today. TV like channel 8, Indian channel and Malaysia channels Suria, Channel News Asia and also radio channels. And who listens to these channels?
It is the less internet savvy common people who outnumbers internet users by 20-30% at least(that is lots of votes, we need 5 to 10 years before we can catch up with to at least match the traditional media population, although now our internet take up rate is 70-75%
BUT how many common folks even internet savvy or abled are politically that upright and concerned? Which is much lesser even when they are internet savvy), which is especially more senior, elderly folks, people who are handicap and cant walk and cant walk well due to old age and also those too busily working fighting for these survival…
Thats why the ruling party is controlling us with very smart IRON FISTSSS for 50 over years, THROUGH THE TRADITIONAL MEDIA.
They are also using traditional medias to drive traffic to their various websites like facebooks and also http://WWW.GE.SG which is quite biased favourably towards ruling party. How SMART.
THEY ENSLAVE the people to work hard and fast till we cant work still cant receive our CPF and retire well, how sad and disappointing and they are brilliant money makers WITHOUT EVEN USING WHIPS, and occasional giving us very very small carrots year after year.
page 1 of 6
WE should promote to people to listen to all media to all sides of stories or at least 2 sides of the story. We need to let them know Media is biased and untrue about some stories, at least let the public take traditional media with a pinch of salt.
Other important but not as major REASONS as above :
2) Ruling party apologized, toned down to mellow to gain sympathy, empathy and swing votes and more neutral votes or rather their usual old supporters who fear changes and also fear of anarchy which will not happen as during 1959 our ruling party were having issues and with the resilent of our people and not just government we pulled through, also during 1965 our national building thanks to the old guards of Goh Keng Swee and many old MPs and ministers, and they are now focused on policies, which they would win back 5-10% of the votes, enough to break the opposition by GREAT numbers!!
3) Cooling day magic may see lots of surprise reports / accusation about opposition parties or their members. AlsoThey are actually depriving all voters of chances to last minute evaluate the situation by talking to opposition parties also.
4) PAP average speakers are better speakers and given more airtime and radio time from traditional medias(maybe selected from ruling party tea parties, not using our public money?)
5) Digging out opposition parties and opposition candidates old issues which might not be valid like privatization of hougang HUDC when the hougang accounts are intact and ruling parties are not giving full details, both parties need to clarify but not at this point of time.
6) From what I understand, the ruling party got a team of advisers to teach the ruling party candidates about how to write, speak, dress, public speak, address issues, make newsletters and magazine, and put them into newspaper.
7) GRC created and also democracy dead from that day, and also our feedback system of election is distort until few years later till next election it is too late.
8) electorate is biased towards the ruling party and the rally rules bias including cooling day.
9) Using Anchor ministers like George Yeo, Wong Keng Seng to be a shield to gain political compassion, how smart.
10) Using HDB upgrading and MRT and estate and facilities upgrading to lure voters.
11) The ruling trying to control using websites like http://www.GE.SG
12) Also Take for instance after seeing yesterday night tampines rally by NSP(my hometown), I think MBT can still win Tampines by a HUGE margin(at least 10 more percent).
page 2 of 6
So Sorry to say that… (MBT is good businessman really and I really don’t like him as he is draining our money.)
a)Because the NSP team new members are mostly not public speakers(although they might speak from their hearts glad to say that).
b) Also some of them did not capture the hearts of people from the beginning to the end.
c) The opposition parties did not cover enough the blocks of HDB and condos when elderly people, senior folks and people who wants alternative voice or rather representative voice of opposite MPs from Tampines will be heard. I suggest those not so good in public speaking(example speaking too emotionally, some are too soft, some are too monotonous tone, some dont catch rhythm well, eye contact if media is catch no enough) will go to visit in buddies system to reach out to as many residents as possible as tomorrow is the final day.
d) Luckily guest speaker Tan Kin Lian-ex nutc income CEO(spoke many good points like our hdb cost and transport cost too high, but abit too soft but can be better voice projection) lift up some spirits to gather swing and rational votes, followed by Goh Meng Seng(can be better) and also Nicole Seah(rational yet to the point and simple).
e) Speak of pros and cons and give example for end of chapter of speech and also try to back it up with substantial information and quotes.
f) Talk more about plans, dont be too radical do it progressively as it may scare voters.
g) I agree with Mr Goh Meng Seng on high housing price and also compassion of gov is lost which renting house to foreigner for more profit than to rent to Singaporean and left alone to sleep openly in void decks, streets and also parks like east coast. Luckily he mentioned they are not anti-foreigners but must take care of citizen housing and other rights first which saved abit of vote, if not some good number of votes. Also opposition parties please please say about good to have PR and new citizen but seriously the balance of managing these foreign people were lost and they need to
i) Also Miss Nicole Seah cost of livings points which she spoke sincerely and close to our hearts. She present well with very well tone(not emotional but sincere and not pushy)
j) Good points of candidate to say give discount to hdb flats, but seriously for example I would rather want to let ruling party every year give us back 20k of rebate since we got that much reserves for the next 5 years(but ruling party will say it is saved for rainy days, if it is unaccounted for and unaudited but we cant even use to pay our internal debts of housing and cost of livings to save fire what is the
page 3 of 6
use of having some much reserves and CPF when there is minimum sum policy which is more than 110k-120k for each person), instead of the petty handouts(or sweets) or rebate(which sends shivers to my spine and mind.
Sorry, Even Hougang may not be safe to opposition, the rest of opposition party are in very jeopardy state. I dont put the ruling party up to bring down opposition morale at this point. But I have to wake loved fellow Singaporeans up.
Hopefully Singaporean have done enough positive deeds and generous mindsets previously to be appreciative of opposition parties so that they can really win, but I doubt Singaporeans have such a good fortune as most of us are self centred about short terms gains about upgrade of hdb, environments, cpf and monetary handouts before election.
And after that struggling to pay for housing debts and bills and payments to counter cost of living for next 5 years, which the people have been doing actually since again I mentioned GRC, because GRC was first CREATED 25 years ago(if we forgot when the GRC Matrix(the movie) was created to kill democracy from day 1).
Many non-ruling parties candidates may be sued for defamation, one of them is Nicole Seah maybe, hope by writing this I am protecting them through public eyes……
Hopefully, opposition becomes stronger, but I doubt so as ruling parties will try ways and means to tear them down and most people like the past elections with capabilities will not want to come into election again, maybe until the day when the cancer of democracy got too serious like we become HK or Japan asset bubbles and higher cost of living. but it would be too late to help.
I vote THE VOTE of no confidence for ruling party on the high housing prices(my children will not be able to afford hdb due to higher price definitely due to inflation, pegging to market prices, overprinting of money, greed of authorities, high cost of building which by right is not so high), ERP(200 over ERP Gantries standby with some 3-5 Singapore dollars, transport cost including CRAZY TAXI prices which the authorities should allow car pool and waive ERP for Central Business District Area, which would drive up cost of living and even housing prices, mark my words here also),
no accountability(no independent groups of auditors with members of the public to witness, tally and sign off) and transparency of Reserves, GICs and temasek reserves, Ministers and Super Scale Civil Servant Pays, bonuses and increment and promotion and increase of headcounts each year(plus retrenchments/retirements of older and more senior staffs). Their cost structure have far become too much higher than what they can give Singaporean back year after year. that’s why they tax more and more in various form year after year and this is a form of price inflation of cost of living. Town councils accounts should be audited also.
page 4 of 6
The ruling parties have been good for first national building, but they have already lost the balance between national building of well being for people and money making.
And I intend to leave Singapore as much i don’t want to.
AGAIN MARK MY WORDS HERE, Singapore WILL soon become Hong Kong and also even Japan, China and India where housing price and cost of living are too high!! It WILL GET OUT OF HAND.
It is getting harder each day. Pay and pay without knowing why we need to pay more and more, and we piss and piss. Work and work and work for long hours and when we retire still cant take our CPF(maybe cant even fork out any CPF to pay for housing) and think when my retirement age is 80 to 100 years old by then. And I have to pay 30 years for our house.
I guess Singapore Pte Ltd(not Ltd) has just really becoming a Very Very Very Big MNC(s), even bigger after THIS election….
Singaporeans will continue to be unwilling boiling frogs, and will continue in a way that they wont even know how, where and when to voice out publicly although deep inside their heart they are very tired working and paying debts and bills.
I personally guess and believe all these are due to the reserves and loss of GICs and temasek holding that they want to cover up the losses(including in CHINA Suzhou and India and Thailand) that lead to the recent years mania increase of the prices of everything including housing and ERP, non-withdrawal of CPF, retirement age increase.
No ones want to be left, no ones want to be left at home, no ones want to be forced to leave their homes, but I guess we will.
The education system is THE SOURCE of why our policies of meritocracy and elite, but all along it is emphasizing in second place morals, ethics and compassion. That’s why now our ruling parties leaders or rather followers are yes men and also more close to the party than the nation. The quality and non monetary motivation of candidates for this election from non-ruling parties are far better than ruling parties despite all odds and doubts of people fear change for the better of democracy and monopolies, but ruling parties are dividing them and conquering them one by one… The balance of conscience is lost.
Also, the healthcare is too high and also not enough time to take care of health due to cost of living, for example the lower income like contract workers and more than 30000 taxi drivers and many other private bus drivers…
Upgrading of HDB estate comes with a price, which we have to address the false glory behind it as we are driven so hard so fast to work harder and harder, longer and longer each day. Not sure when we can retire is a scary thing.
The government only spend 1.6% of GDP to healthcare, that’s why we have to work hard for our hefty and long medical bills. Plus lack of hospitals and healthcare scheme where we are reminded that we are not welfare state, but remember the word we can die, but we cant be sick or ill.
The lists goes on and on.. I am neither a statistic guy nor a pro-hdb upgrading man(as it is promoting false glory while we work and struggle for livelihood) but I sense as a concerned resident of Singapore and resident of Tampines,
I urge that Mah Bow Tan(MBT) be removed from election so that he can move on to the private sectors to help ruling parties make more money. George Yeo can retire since they are millionaire, we definitely have talents from non ruling parties.
If we vote ruling party WITH LANDSLIDE VICTORY USING GRC SYSTEM and they don’t control the situation well, Singaporean might be swarmed with 1000000 to 1500000(1million to 1.5 million) more Foreigners soon that our next generations are squeezed out of Singaporean even they work very very very hard and fast, till the day they die. Filial Piety may be lost from children to their parents and before that parents can afford to have any child and don’t even want to get married like many of my friends above mid 35s, due to cost of living to even support themselves…
Remember the cooling day tricks… It is not about voting opposition, it is voting for votes of no confidence of ruling party and voting for ourselves and our children not be enslaved by ruling party, be brave and be farsighted..
To the well-off, powerful and richer people, you might want to rock the boat by allowing GRCs to be biased favourably towards ruling parties, but once the cancer of democracy due to GRC formations are uncurable, the vicious cycle might impact you in vicious cycle manner and even your children in future.
The MAIN, MAIN reason why ruling party don’t want opposition parties is so that they wont check their billions of dollars lost and cannot account for, since the early day Suzhou Industrial Park losses…
Be cautioned in advance my beloved Fellow Countrymen.
Have a GOOD VOTE(there is no best vote, don’t waste your vote to void as opposition need your vote to voice out your real long TERM concerns and NEEDS) using LONG TERM VIEW of balanced multi-parties yet ensure that parties and their candidates are morally, ethically and compassionately and passionately about the people, not just meritocracy and elite system!!
page 5 of 6
Bless ourselves and Bless Singaporeans :)..
Guardians and Forefathers of Singapore help US!!
Hope the positive and pure balanced energies finally flows in Singapore
Let there be no over greed, morally, ethically and compassionate government and people through education from young to nurture with patience!!!
page 6 of 6(final page)
read http://www.goldclubasia.com/forum to see why ruling party are crappy also
Well, i guess its time PAP for to accept the opposition same as singapore have to accept foreigner.
Notice that the PM is saying sorry for not doing the infrastructural works to prepare for the huge deluge of foreign workers when it came like a five year long Tsunami. He is not saying sorry for opening the flood gates to let them in. What is the root cause of our problem is the flood of foreigners, not the lack of preparation for them.
The PM still does not want to give up his plan to transform and replace the people of this island with those who are more capable of work to increase the GNP and who in gratitude will vote for the party for another 50 years.
Dismiss his apology for what it is worth, another black screen to make big money for the PAP( through unmerited high salaries).
I was in retail.So difficult to get staff, most Singaporean dont want to work, hours too long, must smile all day, n than weekend rest. Then cleaners, trash collector, c;mon u guys, u wnt or your kids to do?
Mr Tan propose to toss manufacturing out, Singaporean so proud, can be waitern others…. meh?
If really wnt service industry, must have big domstic makert, then have to let people in, catch 22?
Start our successful campaign Employ Singaporean only-government,union and employers must employ only citizens or else Singapore is dead.We don’t want to be called India-pore or Foreigner-pore.
Droves and droves of different types of Indians and foreigners are still coming in as tidal waves looking for jobs (not as true tourists); we don’t want a foreigners human tsunami to drown us stupidly.
Their countries are numerous tons bigger than us,we are small,we cannot catered or housed them or else we have to jump into our sea….
We need to take care of ourselves,our future children of the 2 millions citizens.Again we are small, we cannot always be soft,compromising and too accomodating to keep employing them.
Nowadays, each countries must take care of its own people’s livelihood,we too.
Stop keep saying we owe foreigner’s helps.They are paid and just like we too are working and are paid.Our parents work long and hard and we still are working and paying real hard.
Now we still have to work until dead.
Campaign all working sectors-employ our own citizens or else we true Singapore cease to exist.
Droves and droves of different types of Indians that virus the superbugs to PAP..
Was just shopping at my neighbourhood NTUC Fairprice this evening. It struck me that probably all the staff, from the stock boys to the cashiers, were FT. I really cannot imagine that the official proportions is being demonstrated.
Fairprice is supposed to be *the* place for the people, (run by the people) and have (by it’s very nature) have a more enlightened HR dept. Can we go further to make sure that it favours citizens over others?
http://www.asiaone.com/Business/News/Office/Story/A1Story20090512-140845.html
“Among the 11,500 staff at the 12 enterprises, 95 per cent are Singaporeans and permanent residents.”
Again, this is not broken down into Citizens vs. PRs+Others stats.
There cannot be any skill-based criteria that is not being met. The only issue is whether Singaporeans are “choosy”. Perhaps it is that they have no choice, but to look for something better?
Fairprice would seem to have some labour shortage issues, but this does not explain the higher number of older folks (in my experience) who are working in McDonalds (as cashiers!) or as cleaning staff. Funny that one does not seem to see more FW employed in these areas.
I would really love someone to prove me wrong, but I am getting more cynical by the day.
PM said FT (employees) helped to create jobs for Singaporeans. Look around your office and ask yourself… Did your FT(fellow worker) help to create your job?
It is the factories and companies that create the jobs and not the FTs. They can’t even find employment in their own countries let alone come here to create job for you.
Worse still, if they become heads of departments, their priority is to employ their brothers, sisters, relatives, friends and then singaporeans in this order.
I was walking toward a bus stop along Toh Tuck Road yesterday. A young China couple was already there (they spoke mainland Chinese). Then came 2 young Pilipino man in their late 20s or early 30s. A while later, they said hello to a Pilipino couple walking passed them. OMG, out of the 7 human being at the bus stop, I was the ONLY Singaporean.. that is crazy. I really think S’pore is infested with foreigners. I am not making this up. It is true. No wonder our graduates are now finding it difficult to secure jobs in S’pore. Our government really needs to control the number of foreign workers/PR/new citizens in Spore.
I’m really not understand why ruling patry PAP is so keen to create job for foreigner and not Singaporean. A hundreds of thousands of good paying jobs for foreigners where many highly trained and educated Singaporean has no job opportunities here. This is just a symptoms of a sick government that goverment do not work for us they work for foreigner???
But why? Is our ministry too free and nothings to do?
But they can go and play golf and please don’t do the redundant and unnecessary job that does nothing to make Singapore be a more comfortable life style, better pay and well developed nation.
Pls let “FT” go back to where they born and help themselves, build a better country and a better life for their own people, we no need so many FT??? here.