Workers’ Party (WP) Secretary General Low Thia Khiang has fired a salvo at the PAP’s Aljunied team led by George Yeo, asking them to clarify what will happen to plans for Aljunied GRC if the PAP was not elected into the constituency.
“First, they have to make it clear what they won’t carry out, so voters can have a clear mind when they go to the voting station.”
Low, who is leading the WP’s strongest slate of candidates to contest in Aljunied GRC, was responding to media queries after a walkabout in Geylang Bahru this morning with the WP’s Moulmein-Kallang GRC team.
Yesterday, Yeo had asked the WP to make clear its future plans for Aljunied. In return, Low questioned what exactly the PAP’s plans were for the area.
In January this year, Yeo had announced plans for Hougang under the HDB’s ‘Remaking our Heartland’ programme, which was to be launched within the next three years.
“Is that the government’s plan or the PAP’s plan?” questioned Low. “Please make it clear.”
He also asked the PAP how much it would be putting into Hougang this time round. “It should be more, I expect?” questioned Low. In 2006, the PAP dangled a S$100 million carrot for upgrading Hougang if its candidate was elected but was unsuccessful in its bid. Low won with 62.7% of the votes, the highest winning margin since he was first elected in 1991.
At their election rally in Hougang yesterday night, the WP strongly criticised the PAP’s use of public funds to discriminate against non-PAP wards. WP Chairman Sylvia Lim had asked the rally crowd, “by voting people in this way, is the PAP a first world government as it claims to be?”
Responding to a reporter’s question about how voters would respond to the WP’s ‘First World Parliament’ slogan, Low said, “I think people understand that a First World Parliament is not an abstract concept, and they can see how it translates into good governance and safeguarding their interests.”
Low and the WP’s Moulmein-Kallang team comprising Mohd Rahizan bin Yaacob, Frieda Chan Sio Phing, L. Somasundaram and Toh Hong Boon were meeting residents in the mature estate of Geylang Bahru this morning.
Ms Chan said that the team intended to take a more flexible approach, so that residents feel they can approach any of them for help. Saying this was a common issue brought up during their house visits, she said the team felt there was a need to be closer to residents.
Mohd Rahizan, who is leading the team, brought up the issue of the one-room rental flats in the estate, and said it was important to keep them dignified for the residents.
Although Low was clearly the most recognized figure of the group, with members of the public often approaching him to openly affirm their support for the WP, the rest of the team were also well-received by residents. Residents also came up to offer suggestions to the candidates on what they could do to win the newly-formed GRC.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

@lee, u wrong. I dont mean about what you say. WHat I mean, will WP able to do what they promise if they win this election?
Remember, this is SIngapore not other country……. I hope you will get what I mean.
You have my respect, WP !!!
Geoge Yeo think he is indispensble.
I thought PAP always say they have a robust system. So anyone whom is capable can be foreign minister.
Hammered 29 April 2011
if PAP lose, Aljunied definitely become a slum bcoz of mismanagement and incompetence of opposition
…………
so now you login as BR as well
mismanagment? did the pap town council mismanaged the lehman investment?
did the town council replaced the lost fund back into the kitty?
so who is incompetence?
did houghang/proton pasir town council lose any investments in the lehman investment? if the answer is NUN..ow come? perhaps both of the above 2 mentioned town council are too stupid to invest in such good lobangs?
I STAND CORRECTED
NEXT on the choppin block please…
tonight istana canteen menu
slaughter lamb bones dipped with maihiam sauce
sorry no lambrain for istana a-team..reserved for sirgeorgeyeo
Dear Bedok Reservoir residents,
be brave and vote wisely. Don’t be cowed by those brainless threats. Singapore is what is it today because of the hardworking and law-abiding citizens, parents,brothers and sisters. It is not the PAP’s sole work. Please vote wisely. We need to save our future generations at all cost. Don’t sucuumb to the dirty PAP tactics and $$ threats.
by the show of force here, the commentors want the opposition to sweep into power, correct?
but WP doesn’t believe it is ready to form the government… LTK himself said so… SDP also says they are not ready… so if PAP is out, who is gonna form the government?… only the SPP, who’s leader, Chiam See Tong, says they are ready?… are they enough to form the government?… and if the others are not ready, should the people vote for those candidates from those parties?
if WP and the others who say they are not ready to form government only want to win some seats, and yet contest all seats, which seats do they want to win and which are the seats that are run for-show only?… because it is certainly possible for them to unseat the PAP… what happens if they do unseat PAP?
and this idea of a “First World Parliament”… in such a parliament, is it not reasonable to have a “First World Opposition”, one that is willing and able to form government when the opportunity arises… are they not aiming to be the co-driver, someone who would take over when the other co-driver is tired?… or is it really their opinion that the opposition’s place is just to complain like a back-seat driver, not a co-driver?… are they not ready to form a “First World Opposition”, thus styming their own objective of a “First World Parliament”?
theRBK 29 April 2011
by the show of force here, the commentors want the opposition to sweep into power, correct?
but WP doesn’t believe it is ready to form the government… LTK himself said so… SDP also says they are not ready… so if PAP is out, who is gonna form the government?…
……………….
nelson mandala himself neither hav the xperience nor skill to run south africa..a very very big country
did he says
mati lioa… i am NOT ready….
mrs aquino is even worst..just a petite little housewife…did she says..alamak..where am i goin to place my MAIDs?
so singapoor pap lackies are so KIASU that they demand to be protected 24/7 x365…and worst of all..anybody in singapoor is dispensable..xcept they themselves
@iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair
you are proving my point… Nelson Mandala, Corazon Aquino, they stepped up to the plate and took responsibility… they had the courage to take up the mantle of government…
but Mr Low Thia Khiang himself has mentioned that his party is not ready… I did not say they are not ready…
the SDP has said they will only be ready in 2016… I did not say they are not ready…
the reports of these statements are readily found on the web… if they are like Mr Mandala, if they are like Mrs Aquino, they should stand up and say that they are willing and able to form government if they get elected…
theRBK
they should stand up and say that they are willing and able to form government if they get elected…
………..
and without a doubt..nelson mandala/mrs aquino got prerehearsal over and over again b4 they are ready?
the last grandmother of sri lanka wasn’t even ready to take on civilwarinfested colombo…yet she took it..and die in the lines of duty without a trace of her body intact just by bein closed to HER people…can leekingyou hugged his ole voters in chinatown?
what point i am provin…
to me you are just a WHORE…
findin an easy way to get FREE easy money…on somebody xpenses
let me explain further why you have proven my point:
(a) I am questioning how the electorate can vote in people who are not willing or not able to form government
(b) WP and SDP have openly stated that they are not ready to form government
(c) you have stated that Mandala and Aquino, without prior experience, took up the task of forming government
does not (c), your statement about people who have the courage to take up responsibility even without prior experience, support my point (a), which questions why people should vote for people who are not willing and not able to form government; and as my point (b) stated, the WP and the SDP themselves have clearly stated they are not ready to form government?…
what has any point that I have mentioned given you the impression that I am a “whore” and “findin an easy way to get FREE easy money…on somebody xpenses”… maybe a bit of civility in your expressions might be in order, thank you…
theRBK
what has any point that I have mentioned given you the impression that I am a “whore”
…………………
what is there that needs xplainin..did lowthiakiang xplaint to the people of aljunied not clear enough? now compared his xplanation between him and the pap party?
you meant liked leekingyou statement
you the peasant don’t know..just shut up..take your $600 and let ME the great leekingyou ruined your live..
p.s. i am changin the rules as WE the holy father/son/daughterinlaw do to you in your daily routines
for a start the cpf which i leekingyou invented hav been xtended to 62..my son the royal prince says the erp poles is very very nice..bright neon lights aroun..we shall built more as lon as he is happy i am happy and my daughter in law is also very happy…she got to spent the vegetable money UNLIMITED..afterall the cookie jar since is not mine..just YOURs nia? happy now?
why should i be civil with YOU?
afterall you are a PAIDwhore..am i gettin a FREE shack? you tell me…
you are clearly not addressing my points and making rude personal attacks… I will address any further exchange you propose that are made in a civil manner and endeavour to ignore any further personal attacks from you…
Broaden your perspective please… our incumbents the ultimate force??? think again… don’t forget the silent MINORITY who are waiting for the nation to be ready to embrace change… they are twice as capable and thrice more brilliant than your million $ ministers out there… jus cos they have not surfaced doesn’t mean they won’t surface when the nation needs them… and… they might not even take a dime off the nation coffers for a salary…
I am paying a share of the 15K salary that some “trainees” were recruited as “ministerial” material… and I can tell you I can get my clerk to outperform them anytime… anywhere for half that amount…
told them to go join PAP and guess what… they prefer to get half the amount working for a cause than being caused to work…
And do you seriously think some of them can command those million $ salaries if they were slogging out in the REAL WORLD? Think again…
For those who are still in your slumber… I suggest you look at the situation from a different perspective…
looking without seeing and hearing but not listening is a what I term complacency… a very dangerous endeavor… it leads to a slow and painless death…
Just in case anyone forgets… most of us get slapped for the last 1820 days… till some are slapped so silly… they fall asleep… May 7th is the only day you get to slap them back to wake them from their fantasy… and face the REAL WORLD!!!
It’s a historic moment for the nation this time round… almost every son and daughter of the nation gets their day in the sun… save the pitiful few… It’s really sad to know that there are still those who gets slapped silly even after over 18,000 days…
Use you vote wisely… it may mean a baby step towards democracy and a giant step for the nation… or… back to Disneyslumberland…
I know who I will be slapping… those who fall asleep on the job despite my contribution to those exorbitant salaries…
theRBK 30 April 2011
you are clearly not addressing my points and making rude personal attacks…
…………
eer..ugm…
you soun so familiar..somemore fotokopied/echoed with another lacky dog ere… wah you TWO must be gay..sleepin together..perhaps in istana a-team bunker
now i know why the pap party approved of gays in parliaments…incase of sudden attack..press the red PANIC button…
me rude? better than some kiasuE leechers who would prefer other to die in front of them…
by the way you do soun xcatly like Charmanta from pap smear thread…
wah you also another permanant sec from istana higher calibre branch?
Got the PAP brochure that stated upgrading will not go ahead if PAP not voted in. That turned the vote of my normally pro-PAP non-political wife who never follows blogs, internet or even watch news *surprisingly*.
Its a win-win situation for us. If WP wins, we get our choice. If WP loses, then the consolation is upgrading.
Its a no lose situation for Aljunied GRC voters who vote WP.
-2, 71743 to go.
theRBK,
our alternative parties may not be ready to form a gahmen, its better than a gahmen that is ready but was caught offguard once, made an honest mistake once, blame God’s Will once, let mishap happen once every 50 years.
you forgot S’pore’s early history from 1965? you mean our forefathers had time to get ready mentally, intellectually, etc to build S’pore up? like they all went to further study at E2i, NTUC Hub?
the world moves on with or without you, its a myth that you have the luxury to get ready always. as if S’pore in the early days had years before our true-to-the -spirit MIWs had time to prepare themselves to get ready.
polling day is on the 7th of May, ready or not people will have to make the decision. is the Election Department going to wait for people like you to slowly slowly decide?
before the results are out of course all alternative parties say they are not ready, cos PAP still has the dreaded 66.6% mandate. to govern legitly, the party needs the mandate. not ready does not mean dunno how to (govern).
many people know how to make babies (rise TFR?), but how many are financially ready?
MM LEE asked ALJUNIED voters whether they would prefer to have ONE ORDIANRY MP,one NCMP,one ‘CELEBRITY’ and TWO UNKNOWNS ( lesser mortals like you and me ) to represent ALJUNIED or would they rsther have GEORGE YEO’s team ‘A’ to look after them?
i think if i were an ALJUNIED voter,i would opt for THE TEAM with ONE GOOD AND CARING MP,one NCMP,ONE ‘celebrity’ and TWO unknown citizens to cheer me on rather than 2 EXPENSIVE MINSTRELS who singa with an EXPENSIVE ‘LOUD’-SPEAKER THAT IS ATATCAHED with TWO ‘WOOFERS’???
now,ALJUNIED,COULD WE KNOW WHAT YOUR CHOICE IS?
its a positive sign that people sitting on the fence undecided, have posted their doubts, i hope people will be less critical & adversaral to people who are of 2 minds.
their doubts, real or imagined- matters. dun treat critics of alternative parties as enemies. TOC is but a forum of critcs too. together we progress by asking pointed questions, taking potshots isn’t the way forward.
not sure how, under what wording can an article about swing voters, the undecided can be most appropriately worded. just as alternative parties need their own space, these group should have space to voice out their fears, concerns, etc.
there must be reason/s for doubts & uncertainties to linger. anyone disagree?
I am curious to know why is there a need to know what happens if the PAP is voted out. Since the PAP has already heavily criticized all of the different manifestos (from all the parties) as one that will raid Singapore of her reserves.
Logical point of view is if the PAP is right, then the opposition parties would be taking more than SGD$60B and spending it on their respective constituents in their GRCs. Wouldn’t it be much more worth your while to then vote in the opposition. Sure makes the opposition parties look like the kettle calling the pot black, with regards to the pork barrel politics.
If PAP win, you get upgrading. If WP/RP/NSP/SDP/SDA/SPP (please circle your choice) you get more than just upgrading. You get policies that will raid Singapore of her reserves. I am curious how quantitative analysis of this issue will turn up towards. On the one hand, on the other hand.
If the policies do not work out within the next 5 years, we could always vote in the PAP to replenish the reserves.
Being a first time voter who has hitherto had little to no interest in politics, I find myself swayed by this wave of derision and anger against the PAP. I feel, also, that the style of government has become overtly patriarchal and that the incumbent have made decisions, at times, that we are not entirely comfortable with. But to me some of these decisions, though difficult to stomach, are necessary. after all, which citizen would willingly contribute two years of their lives to national service, especially in a country like this? I can see the Swiss people and Israelis doing it, simply because they have a sense of patriotism as well as a certain maturity as a population to recognize that defense should not be taken for granted in times of peace. but singaporeans have emulated their government in being money minded and grabbing, which is why the main contention is ‘how much money am i losing out by doing NS’. Putting in power a government that will sway to the decisions made by the voter on the street is a lovely notion in theory but, i feel, dangerous to the extreme in a country where selfishness and the primacy of self gain has become a culture. Let me justify this. In all the debates that have occurred, I have sensed a wave of resentment towards the PAP for allowing a widening income gap as well as the homelessness and poverty that are the consequence of this. While, of course, the government should take steps to correct this on a macro level, the compulsion to actually do something about real world problems that we can make a difference in is minimal. In my experience as a volunteer during my spare time, I see how little the man on the street is willing to do or give towards alleviating the plight of the poor. If only the millions that are now making such eloquent anger heard online now try to be a little more gracious as well as pro active in their everyday lives, perhaps life in this country wouldn’t be so bad for so many people. But no, we sit at home and grouse and grouch about how little the government does for everyone and everything while we proceed to do absolutely nothing about the problems that we can help to alleviate. I know the average citizen can’t do anything about housing or immigration policy, and these are reasons why we need to vote in an opposition that can hold the PAP to its promises and account for a better handling of the vast resources they have at hand. But as citizens, we must recognize that there are so many of us, raised on LKY’s patriarchal and authoritarian style of government which asks us to ‘leave the tough decisions to the PAP’, that we are content to sit around and moan while other people do the work for us. A true grassroots movement can forge a lasting beneficial effect from this overwhelming online concern that we see now. Lets do our part as citizens instead of always waiting for the government to make everything easy, and complaining when its not. Nothing can be fixed purely through policies and governmental intervention. Singapore’s people must finally do something about the problems they see around them.
WP asks relevant questions.
—————————
Its time pap stops these threats to constituencies that dont vote for them.
This is not FAIR politics…..and YOUNGER voters these days are not that easily frightened.
Pap should try to win over people’s hearts….thats the true test of a good govt.
KUDOS to the residents of Potong Pasir over the years supporting Mr Chiam.
They are a BRAVE lot believeing in their principles above all else.
Didnt they put up with alot of crap from the pap?
I respect the residents in Potong Pasir; I think other citizens do too!
So the pap should stop this tactic of threathening to stop, decrease services, not upgrading estates etc etc for constituencies that dont vote for them.
This is OLD STYLE.
Again do not threathen voters with fall in property, stock prices etc etc if pap does not do well in the GE.
Citizens & investors already know that good opposition to do checks & balances in Parliament is a good thing.
In fact, if more good opposition is elected, I believe it STRENGTHENS INVESTORS PERCEPTION of singapore.
I agree with silvester. Although PAP is a political party, and therefore in theory has no obligation to offer an even playing ground for the Opposition, it must stop using these dirty tactics in Singapore because they are also the government. Depriving certain citizens of amenities offered to others because they do not vote for you is not just unfair, it is childish. In any case, people will end up voting, as bro silvester says, for the party that wins their hearts rather than the party that promises more and more rewards for them. This is why Sitoh Yi Pin will never get a look in, he is a terrible speaker with highly suspect people skills and has nothing to offer his voters except more money from the government coffers, Sentimentality and loyalty, concepts that might seem unfamiliar to a systematic an over-bureaucratic government, are the reasons why Mr Chiam has stayed in power for so long. For as long as the PAP refuses to acknowledge the power that the heart has over votes, then they will keep on losing votes toward an inevitable end.
i would also like to add, after reading comments in other posts, that it is highly irritating as a voter who is perusing these pages to make up his mind to keep reading hateful diatribes making rude personal attacks on not only the PAP leaders (entitled to your opinion, i suppose, he might have wronged you personally but i still think its idiotic) but forum posters who speak out for the PAP. Despite your personal proclivities and predilections towards other parties, I believe that there are people out there who genuinely accept the good and the bad of the incumbent government. They do not have to be ‘kiasuE leechers’ or ‘paid WHOREs’ as you so eloquently put them. My parents are middle income Malay citizens who would have much to be resentful of about the government. They are, however, mindful of our relatives in countries which preach ‘true democracy’ like the US and Australia where people are free to speak their mind and therefore, are also free to be as racist as they like. I take offense at your thoughtless and insensitive put downs of anyone who even dares to speak up for the PAP. While I am making up my mind, reading replies like yours makes me a little disgusted that people like you are practicing your own little form of online bullying, putting others down for their beliefs. In that sense, you are no better than a government which throws people in jail for their views. The only difference is you are a small man with no power to do so, and so you insult and harangue people online to make them succumb to your views.
overwhelmed
The only difference is you are a small man with no power to do so, and so you insult and harangue people online to make them succumb to your views.
…………
indeed small man i am if i am a bigger man liked leekingyou would i need to seek the services of berlinda ang and ahCHONG of the protuting department to do their dirty deeds?
when you are free..if you are free…
please send my regards to tanlianhongs/nairs in australia or usa
where so many ^QUITTER/SUEyee reside
i am sured they love to ear from you
@ the very same time why don’t you try my job by pushingleekingyou aroun
you know ow big the ground istana is?
iPUSHwhateverthefk
I bow to your amazing logic and your obvious intelligence.
overwhelmed 30 April 2011
iPUSHwhateverthefk
I bow to your amazing logic and your obvious intelligence.
………….
thank you
now you know why am i given the THIRD eyes for? not to predict 4Ds nor toto
and my belated GRANDFATHER was not wrong in mentorin me the futures he forsaw
ps dont FUCK with me by callin me a FUCK in the last TWO alphabet
i am very very polite to YOU in my replied..this is called FORSIGHT
we both can FUCK each other to make this page even more interestin…
you wanna post the audiences ere
whether you are a BIG man with a BIG heart?
I have a very different understanding of the word foresight, but this is probably because we are apparently using different dictionaries. The fk you are reacting to was not inserted there by way of insulting you, i just couldn’t be bothered to type out your nickname, neither do I want to endorse the insult that is encompassed within it. So if thats what you require, I apologize for it. I’m really just here to air my opinions to people who will challenge me on them with valid arguments so as to attain a more balanced worldview. Its obvious that I’m not supporting either PAP or Opposition at the moment, but reading your posts do not help me make up my mind in the least. We cannot have that kind of conversation because I cannot understand what you are saying, which is why I believe you are definitely a smarter man than I. So keep your winning at all costs mentality. I’m not interested in a mudslinging match, I just don’t like people who cover less than salient arguments with sarcasm.
I fear a Jasmine in the making if no win for WP in Aljunied. If at least 1 GRC not taken down, I really fear what the titanic wave of WP supporters gonna react .
Lets prevent a Jasmine by helping WP win Aljunied GRC!
George, no worries mate, you can still serve for the People in numerous ways like working as a Opposition MP or part time MP . Good Renumeration $15k , i heard. Part Time work. Still can serve and sacrifice as Directors of 10′s of companies if you think sacrifice not satisfying enough.
Vote WP!
@mice is nice
what mistake is that?… looking at the way you phrased it, you mean the Bukit Timah relief canal overflowing?… regarding that, the PUB/Min of Env did build a second relief canal in the late ’80s to ’90s to relieve the flow of the first relief canal, the one that overflowed (google “Bukit Timah Flood Alleviation Scheme”)… that the second relief canal failed to prevent the first relief canal from overflowing is certainly unfortunate… but it is hardly 50 years without tackling the issue…
I am not forgeting the early history, and my point was whether the opposition is ready to emulate those forefathers who took up the responsibility of forming government… and looking at how much support they seem to be getting at rallies and online, it is certainly possible that they may have to form government if the electorate does not return PAP to power… I am not asking people to slow down, I am asking if the opposition can speed up…
the PAP is the incumbent party, they had the previous mandate… but that does not mean the opposition only starts considering the possibility of needing to form government, and their readiness to do so, only after the mandate sits on their laps… in other democracies, that is not the case… in other democracies, it is a given that the opposition parties are willing and ready to take up the mantle of forming government… why not here?… Mr Chiam See Tong clearly believes his party is ready to form government and has stated so… but yet WP and SDP believe they are not; clearly that is unfortunate…
@theRBK
Mr Chiam See Tong clearly believes his party is ready to form government and has stated so… but yet WP and SDP believe they are not; clearly that is unfortunate…
wp is smart as they dont want to rock the singaporean mind as singaporean to think that they are trying to rock the boat… WP is stronger this round that’s why this strategy
whereas mr chiam knows that with the number of people SPP have now cant form goverment, but he wanted to let people know that they have alternative choice
unfortunately, based on biase of media favourably toward pappies, chiams and wp will lose.. democracy was dead from day 1, which not during rally observe 1 minute of silence to inform the residents that democracy was dead from day 1?
die for a worthy cause, but seriously i guess we all pull out now dont need to dabate as people are short sighted as it is so biased favourably for pappies.. salute to the death of singapore democracy…
@lim
“-2, 71743 to go.”
Who cares about your 2 votes for WP? Like you said, 71,745 votes to win. PAP already has at least 40,000 votesGUARANTEED. You and your pathetic 2 votes for WP? Tell the WP to go home & sleep
I ask this question now in hopes of an objective answer.
What are the long-term plans and vision that WP, SDP and SPP have in mind for Singapore should they get elected?
Seems to me that they are questioning PAP’s policies and decisions, but have provided none of their own.
Would anyone be kind enough to clarify?
@LetsClarify
WP’s slogan of “1st world parliament” is not just hearsay. It is trying to address the root of the problem, which is the PAP bulldozing policies on jobs, wages, housing, CPF that are detrimental to us. They keep doing that because nobody is questioning them in parliament.
SDP is more direct. It wants to lower the burden of cost of living for us ordinary citizens (via lower GST, more affordable housing etc..). I think SPP is quite similar, but not so radical.
In short, all opposition parties, one way or another, have their own visions on how to make citizens lives better. The PAP vision, on the other hand, is how this “corporation” can make more money. Bottom line.
@overwhelmed
I can understand your hesistance. Let me give u an example. I actually like Goh Chok Tong a lot, I will vote for him if he stands in SMC. However, I will not vote for his MP GRC team because doing so will send people like Tin Pei Ling into parliament. That is, legitimizing the illegitimate GRC structure which has allowed for PAP gerrymandering. And this structure in turn gives them the power to bulldoze policies that adversely affecting you and me.
You may be concerned about HDB or lift upgrading and so on, but I urge you to look at the bigger policies on HDB prices, foreigners, jobs, CPF that may not affect you now, but will affect you sooner or later. By doing so, we are not only considering our own self-interests but also considering the whole national interest.
@the RBK
Low Thia Kiang is very cautious man. He does his numbers and takes calculated risks. He also has great ambition to correct what is clearly a terribly wrong GRC structure.
Ok, the point is WP also cautious. They don’t make empty promises, they do have a vision, they know they have insufficient numbers, but they will be ready to form a coalition govt if needed. They don’t want to unsettle people, or seem boastful, by saying it openly.
overwhelmed 30 April 2011
I have a very different understanding of the word foresight, but this is probably because we are apparently using different dictionaries. The fk you are reacting to was not inserted there by way of insulting you, i just couldn’t be bothered to type out your nickname, neither do I want to endorse the insult that is encompassed within it. So if thats what you require,
….
lucky for you..you did apologised
you tell/teach us uk dictionary fk does not mean FUCK…
cared to enlightenned me what is FK meant..you didnt even give the reason nor the icroyms or sound somethin like that..sacarsm is alway in our face everyday from elitish to foreign talents..
you can sured write long thesis..but you cannot respect my nick name?
too lon4u har?
NEXT!
theRBK 30 April 2011
@mice is nice
what mistake is that?… looking at the way you phrased it
………..
so its not pap fault when orchard road was flooded..yeah sured blamed as an act of GOD…so lucky plaza/rest/blah/blah shops/goods/vehicle damaged…honest mistakes..lets moved on
and till day those innocents are thinkin
of ow to pay for the damages..act of GOD what..insurances needs not bothered what
meanwhile the temasek inc is rakin in billion$ by sellin $1 states lands to multi billion consortiums and makin more shoppin centre$..right?
theRBK, 30 April 2011
so ok, so things ain’t as positive as you make it out to be, so we have a govt that is only reactive to situations, not a pro-active 1. so much for anticipating problems… if 2nd relieve canal can oso fail that means there wasn’t much financial prudence to make sure money is gone own the drain (or canal). is this any better than raiding reserves? this cavalier attitude towards S’pores money?
PAP isn’t going to let opposition speed up, just like the rich & powerful ain’t going to increase the salaries of teh masses as they benefit from widening the chasm. also, the rich & powerful like PAP, are the ones controling most of the situation currently. social harmony & level playing is 1 of the last things on their minds.
by stifling political growth, S’pore is poorer for it. leaders do not have minds shackled, only slaves. so that maybe a clue why PAP cannot seem to find next generation of leaders to even fill their own ranks. true leaders do not thrive in a repressive environment. success does not come if people do not try, just how many times did it take for humans to build flying machines that lead to modern day air travel? early innovators’ major hurdle is gravity, not political red-tape.
not sure which other democracies you are refering to, but i dun speak for any opposition party on their readiness or tha lack of readiness to form a govt. either way, it does not mean they have never considered that possibility. you are jumping into conclusion. the possibility of forming a new govt does not arrive till they have the mandate, so yes, it can mean that without a mandate, they can never do so. and yes, also, that this is unfortunate…
dear iPUSHleekuanyouwheelchair,
thanks for speaking up for me. ^.^
A common thread that seems to be running through most of the posts here is whether the opposition parties are ready to form govt. Most political observers who have studied political trends in Spore as well as in other stable democracies would hazard a guess that this GE is not going to result in a change of govt given the dominance of PAP since not only independance but also by the sheer PAP numbers in parliament at the moment. This election is probably the most significant in the last 40 years as it is the first election that is being held after a “waking up” by the general population to online media and the concept that there is more to Spore politics than what is reported in the govt controlled media. If the internet was around in the 70s LKY would have had a revolt on the Istana grounds when the ISA laws were invoked in the 80s and innocent church clerics were arrested. LKY is just lucky that he lived and ruled in a different era – his son is not so lucky. Having said all of this, this GE is about the opposition first getting the numbers in parliament and winning the hearts and minds of the average Sporean – if they do that they than become a real chance of forming govt in the 2016 GE
great politians . .. once they use you and they lose, they leave you for dead. george is no different from others. so shameful. local plans use tax-payers’ monies, not your monies. yet you and your firends stop us from using our monies. so shameful. dirty politians !
@LetsClarify
It’s really none of my biz for I do not “suffer” whatever policies any party sell to the nation… but if you believe simply thinking ahead w/o broadening the perspective is sufficient, then you have much more searching ahead…
If one simply provides you with their plans and objectives… they will attain those goals… be it bulldozing their way or side-stepping obstacles when they come upon them…
I would rather they tell me their goals and let the path be decided by a consensus of different perspectives to achieve those goals… that way no one gets left behind… considerations would be given to the underprivileged and needy whose voices never get heard… if any plan can’t eliminate the pain to these group… they will have to come up with plans that will mitigate those pains…
No single plan can be perfect… just like a coin with 2 sides… every decision for the betterment of others will always carry the flip side to the minority… only and only if a plan can truly address those concern will it be considered viable… the path to attaining the desired goals need not be the shortest but it must be the most viable…
Every organisation that decide to embark on an endeavor needs leaders, thinkers, doers and most importantly the contrarians… we need the leaders for their visions and direction… we have the thinkers to conceptualize the path… and the doers to execute the final plans… but more importantly we need the contrarians to offer their perspectives in order that the team can deliberate on the right path… not the best or the shortest but the most viable…
In my context these men and women need not come from the same organization… but they must have the passion… not just intelligence… those who possess greater intelligence may only be good leaders, thinkers, doers and contrarians at best… w/o the passion behind their actions, they will never attain a calibre considered “great”…
In my younger days just after independence… PAP had all these qualities from people who not only possess the necessary attributes but the PASSION to ensure our Nation will not only survive but prosper… that’s why they remained in power…
Sadly we no longer have nor encourage the service of passionate servants for the Nation… these days… if you care to scrutinize… we are inundated with “talents” w/o passion… thinkers who consider themselves with depth and think far but sadly lacked the necessary breadth to encompass all perspectives… doers who believe not in the goals but the remunerations when the goals are achieved… and saddest of all contrarians who have been backed-benched or voices treated as noise or reduced to whispers… What about the leaders? Everyone should give it a serious thought and ask ourselves… who remains in the category of “leaders”… “follower-leaders” maybe, but a true leader with the passion, I see nought… The concern appears to be retention of power under an umbrella of succession plans…
I do not belong to nor specifically support any Party… but if I do… even if I were with the ruling Party… my concerns would not just be your next meal, you salary or your HDB flat… my true concerns would be your future and the future of our Nation… to ensure that all people of the Nation be looked after by people who are truly passionate enough to serve… if they are not leaders, they can be the thinkers… the doers… the contrarians… I would want you to have the lot… to have a “Complete Team” for the Nation, not just your constituency…
This GE… I see the passion in many of the other Parties… every team has members with unquestionable passion… look at the fires in their eyes and the passion in their voices as they rally for your cause…
It truly humbles me to think that a lady of such a tender age is “putting her head on the chopping board” despite her long future ahead… and a frail senior citizen who despite his health condition… rallies to champion your cause… I sincerely wish all of them well… keep the fires burning and the passion flowing… but remember to keep those unnecessary emotions in check… for if the nation isn’t ready for them this round… we still want them around… the nation will be ready one day…
May the cooling-off day truly provides a time for the undecided to make the right choice come May 7th.
@LetsClarify… I hope I have in one way or another answered your doubts… sorry for the lengthy post… was sharing my thoughts…
To sum it up…
It is not the plans, the goals or the path or route to the objective that matters most… it is “HOW that route or path is decided” that will shed true light…
While the rest of you may rant and rave… I am one of the few who’s votes really counts, as I am in Aljunied. So will the WP please tell me what plans they have for me, because first world parliament means fuck all to me. I want to know what they will do for me in Bedok Reservoir…. So far have not heard anything. If I don’t hear soon, my vote will remain with PAP. Some one else can be the voice in Parliament.
Aljunied voter
I want to know what they will do for me in Bedok Reservoir
…………………………..
ok 1st thinggie 1st…
i will get torkock7 to use the mahpuipoh to lay it nicely..stapled it for YOU and your girlfriend to parthor without her back get dirty and spiky?
now next as per safe sex rulin…
what flavour condom YOU required?
luminious/goatskin or battery operated tip?
just to gain 1 precious vote..
i sell me karchng as well?
ole yeah..you did says any other wards can get the oppostion party to form a worker party team into parliament
does this means if you cannot attain an ERECTION
i copulate your partner? on your b1/2
ow many rounds?
……………………
mice is nice 30 April 2011
dear iPUSHleekuanyouwheelchair,
thanks for speaking up for me. ^.^
……………..
you are welcome
i read the comments here, most think by voting WP in is great,to me it is stupid, you think WP can really do something? LOW has been an MP for more than 20 years, what has he done?
if WP is serious in getting more MP into the HOUSE, then why don’t they contest all the 12 SMC and win all?
12 SMC is = 3 GRC of 4 members per GRC, is a number game, to me WP are no brain so I rather vote in the devil i know instead of the devil i am yet to know.
all of those who comments and supported WP, let me ask you– are you going to line up at the bank to cash your cheque for the growth and share payment? since all of you say so much bad things about the government and you think the government is useless, please don’t cash your cheque, send it back to the government.
those of you who intend to vote for WP, i suggest you go and visit Malaysia, Indonesia or those africa countries and compare or even those europe countries
Aljunied voter, 30 April 2011
go ahead & vote for PAP, they will:-
. give you more foreign worker neighbours who have a lower living standards. i hope you have enough cash on hand for all medical bills, people do die from certain germs. how do you know your foreign neighbour is not TB carrier?
. increase public transport cost. i hope you enough to pay those increases till the next election,
. make the old work till drop dead, in the name of active aging. i hope you have enough retirement savings to live a decent life post retirement. the way you envision, not what PAP say is “enough”.
since PAP say people who are born in S’pore already very lucky, why you still making “unreasonable” demands from the alternative parties? how more lucky you want? free TOTO credits?
:P
soros zhou
please don’t cash your cheque, send it back to the government.
those of you who intend to vote for WP, i suggest you go and visit Malaysia, Indonesia or those africa countries and compare or even those europe countries
…………
who cheque am i givin back?
did i or did i not pay 7% gst? on medicines as well
wah i sick i also die die must pay gangster tolls to pap inc…
yeah right…
africa/malaysia/indonesia..people dropped dead on the street everday right?
what else you want to suggest?
istana a-team dog?
soros zhou, 30 April 2011
since our gahmen say our education so world class, why employers still pay same salaries vs foreigners? or worse, those cheapskate employers shun locals.
so what’s so world class about our education? that grow-&-share barely makes a blip for those past 30 who went through years of this world class education only to face stiff competition from foreigners. like they all went through our education system to be on equal footing.
S’poreans should get a full refund since our education system doesn’t add value. i should have studied in China, India or Philipines instead!
@ss
if, as you say, the WP is stronger this round, why are they afraid to “rock the boat” and get the PAP voted out of office?… the WP, or SPP, or any other party, need not form a government on their own cause they can form a coalition government amongst the current opposition parties… this was the situation in UK last year, when no party had a clear majority… why not just replace the PAP this way?… and in this day and age, where governments have been brought down by social media and the web in general, there should be less of a fear of a biased mainstream media when there are so many other channels…
@Raider
Low Thia Khiang is cautious, and I would agree that that is something that is positive… they would not have sufficient numbers to form a government on their own: there is no dispute on this point because they are running for 23 seats… maybe he should clarify, when he said the WP is not ready to form government, does he include in coalition with other opposition parties… the reasonable assumption is that he includes the idea of coalition governments as clearly his party is not running in enough seats to have a majority…
ultimately, there is a need to address whether, and which elements of, the opposition is ready to form a government as it is certainly possible to vote the PAP out of office…
@iPUSHleekuanyouwheelchair
referring to the full paragraph of my post, and the post by mice is nice that my post was referring to, when I said “what mistake is that”, I was asking which mistake the post by mice is nice was referring specifically… I was not denying the existence of mistakes… the Bukit Timah canal overflow was not specifically referred to in mice is nice’s post, and I was only asking for clarification…
@mice is nice
as I had mentioned, the PUB/Min of Env built the second relief canal to relieve the flow in the existing system; surely that counts as being pro-active and not reactive… that the first relief canal still overflowed is unfortunate, and thus further measures are being taken to prevent flooding… the relevant authorities in that incident had taken preventive measures before the flooding, have apologised when the measures failed, have proposed further improvements in flood prevention; what more can anyone do?… maybe external, non-government groups can pro-actively introduce studies to see if the measures proposed are sufficient?