photo by Priscilla Chan

Photos by Jean Loo and Aaron Lim

<

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

36 Responses to “Photos of WP Rally at Hougang 28th April”

1. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 29 April 2011

this is the very same picture liked the one in chengsan grc durin tanglianhong/jbjeyaratnam eras
    if all of us would to take a good look @ the pap rally..you will see many elderlies wearin FREE white-tees with a packet of $1.80 chicken rice wavin the pap flags..if you all were to ask the elderlies where they come from? they would had answer..tanjong pagar chinatown
    and without a doubt chinatown is part of houghgang grc constituned perhaps?

2. Short of Gerald Giam pictures and video of his speech. I thought his speech is pretty good and inspiring.

3. People of all ages were there. It was a heartening moment. I am waiting for my opposition to come to my town to rally.

I heard PAP lories with loud speaker and thought PAP candidate finally came to reach out to the people. What I saw was just noise and only two people wearing white shirt in front of the lorry seat. The back lorry was empty and these people kept playing “noises” many round my town area.

4. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 29 April 2011

this moanin there was a loud knock on my hdb castle..i thought chialut..ahlongsan come to correct his totes…
    the 1st sentence i heard was…
    wei wei where is leehsienloo’s manifesto..leehsienloo hor..not pap party manifesto…
    wah so personal…
    immediately i go back to snooze mode

5. No Hope 29 April 2011

Thank you, TOC, for these pictures!

Very heartwarming.

6. Mrs Joaquim 29 April 2011

My dear fellow Singaporean in Hougang, Aljunied GRC, Sengkang West, Joo Chiat, East Coast, Yishun, Ponggol East,

May07 is a big day for us. Is the change for the nation. I urge you to vote wisely. Vote for the change and act now. Do not be a coward anymore. The more you are afraid, the more you will be suffering. Not only you, your children, grand chidlren, parents, relatives and the nation. It is awesome to see hundreds and thousands of the crowd at the rally. My husband and I were there too. May the big day grant our wish and we must be united as a whole. Enough is enough, we do not want anymore one rule’s party policies. Parilment should have more intelligent candidates and different voices if we want to prgress. We love Singapore and we want our voice to be heard.

7. I think the pictures and attendances of WP rallies may be the same but on the ground, the feel is different imho.

In the past, many were there just to enjoy the carnival atmosphere.

This time round, I feel the messages are connecting. May be wrong but my gut feel is that this time, the opposition messages not just the WP are starting to hit home. The traditional middle ground is starting to waver and feel the ripples of a coming tsunami.

I think after last night, the PAP, esp the Aljunied GRC team also felt the hammering tremors. Even their tone has changed and the lightning risk alarm has been sounded. Not sure if they know which disaster is going to strike.

Tsunamis strike fast. Come May 7, we’ll know how high the wave really is.

8. unclesam2011 29 April 2011

Wah Piang !!!

SO MANY WP SUPPORTERS !!

WHY last night TV news channels never screen this?

Nicole seah rallies also never screen on TV news last night, being the talk of the town for this GE, surely, TV news should show some clips of her?

She is just TOO fast and furious for PAP !

9. HaiGong 29 April 2011

Don’t know what George Yeo is talking about. You are given 5 years to prove yourself, but you are always not in Singapore. Tell us how you personally serve your residents. You have failed the the residents in your constituency.

What you did was using citizens money wasting on useless project after project. Your TC is the first to increase T&C prices. Vote for PAP means increase in S&C after the election. Am I correct? Thama has assure us in next 5 years he MAY NOT increase GST, but he did not mention no increase in GST.What is your stand of further S&C increases including other constituencies.

Did your team also get the food stall owners to pledge for no price increase for the next few months, but I did not hear from any government agencies not to increase price. The main culprit to increase price without a brink of their eyes are the government agencies.The ordinary people are innocent. Food stall owners need to make a living.

You asked LTK his plan when elected. Excuse me! you are paid million $. ask yourself why residents put you there for? Do you also want to share your millions with WP?

10. notanotherspinstory 29 April 2011

Awesome turnout! Singapore got hope liao.
    PAP bye bye!

11. No Hope 29 April 2011

@Prophet, 28 April 2011, wrote in this thread:
    http://theonlinecitizen.com/2011/04/mr-low-thia-khiang%e2%80%99s-open-letter-to-voters-of-hougang-and-aljunied-grc-english/

The effect of “1″.
    1981 – Oppositon won 1 seat – WP (JBJ) broke PAP’s stranglehold in Anson.
    1991 – Oppositon won 4 seats – SDP (CST, CCC, LHD) & WP (LTK) wrestled 4 seats in Pontong Pasir, Hougang, Nee Soon South & Bukit Gombak.
    2011 – Oppositon won 23 seats – SPP in Bishan-Toa Payoh, Potong Pasir; WP in Aljunied, Hougang, Joo Chiat; NSP in Tampines, Mountbatten; SDP in Holland-Bukit Timah.

———————————————————————————————————————

I am hoping for at least 31! Also effect of 1. ;-)

But nothing happened in 2001. Were we supposed to get 16?

If 1991 is 4 times more than 1981, then 2001 should have been 16?
    But since we didn’t get 16 that time, then maybe this time it will double to 32?

LOL! I hope so!

MY VOTE IS FOR OPPO. WOO-HOO! WORKERS PARTY IS CONTESTING ALJUNIED!

12. we the people 29 April 2011

attended the WP rally last nite and have this to say. the candidates were awesome, sincere, inspiring, and fighting a just cause for Aljunied and all Singaporeans. had a had time finding a car lot because for some strange reason, many uniformed personnel were manning public carparks as well as private streets with barricades to only allow season parking and home dwellers to access. hence, i had to park a distance away and walk to the the venue. this is democracy ? be brave Singaporeans !

13. we the people 29 April 2011

attended the WP rally last nite and have this to say. the candidates were awesome, sincere, inspiring, and fighting a just cause for Aljunied and all Singaporeans. had a hard time finding a car lot because for some strange reason, many uniformed personnel were manning public carparks as well as private streets with barricades to only allow season parking and home dwellers to access. hence, i had to park a distance away and walk to the venue. this is democracy ? be brave Singaporeans !

14. eaglefly 29 April 2011

HELLO, MY FORMER NEIGHBOUR WITH 2 DRUG ADDICTS VOTED FOR GOV 2006, THEY ARE FEARFUL, OF ALL THINGS EVEN OWN SHADOWS,

LOCALS ARE A DAFT LOT…..

GIVE THEM PACKET OF CHICKEN RICE OR $15 FOR NTUC MEMBERS OR MEE SIAM NO HUM, THEY’LL VOTE FOR PAP, LOCALS ARE COWS, SHEEPS AND DOGS LAH !!!

400 FOR ME, YOU THINK I DAFT ALSO, NO MY VOTE FOR SDP, REPEAT SDP, GREAT WAY TO GO AS I WILL GET BACK MY MONEY AND CPF FAST…..

SDP SDP SDP, HIP HIP HORAY

15. SporePride 29 April 2011

PAP old guard did so much and their successors? Squandered it all!

If [their successors] are [complacent, smug, unthinking, unchallenged and]falling behind because “the spurs are not stuck into the hide,” that is their problem…

Let those hungry for a truly civil and representative society claim the country, let us have a change for the better!

16. mas selamat & t SAF

teo/minister of defense-$MM man

why did u send t whole SAF combing t jungle?
    when mas selamat was resting in his brother’s flat.

LOL..
    wat happen to all t scholar brains??

why no body went tp check out t homes of his relatives??
    how much man hours have u wasted???

17. Nonsense 29 April 2011

i went n listen. Mr Chen’s maiden speech was awesome. i admire his courage and we need pple like these to serve. not some players in reserve list and get elected straight away.

Mind you that GRCs are for minority representation and NOT a FORMING SOCCER TEAM!!!

18. Tan Kah Choo 29 April 2011

Complacent and Fear No More

PAP has become complacent n taking us for granted over the years. No more of this. We won’t sit taking quiet. They have become arrogant and complacent. We no more. Come May 7, we are going to show them that we will not just sit back and let them rule over us. We fear no more.

19. YOU DO NOT WALK ALONE 29 April 2011

In 2006, spoilt votes was 26,727,’did not vote’ was 97,000, summing up to about 10% of eligible voters.[1,222,884]
    Sizeable number of these do not realise that a spoilt/non vote is as good as a vote for pap.
    Opp parties MUST get this message across!
    They must try their very best to remove the FEAR FACTOR.
    With 2,349,091 voters in GE 2011, there should be about one million voting for opp.Tell those in FEAR that they are part of a million strong force.
    YOU DO NOT WALK ALONE!

20. Vote with Fear, Live in Fear 29 April 2011

Come May 7,those that are voting in fear MUST realise that they will have to suffer in frustration and fear for the next 5 LONG years!
    They must ask: Is this the way they want to live their lives?
    Why do they want to give their vote to a party that always instill fear in them?
    DO NOT LIVE IN FEAR!
    BE PART OF THE MILLION-STRONG FORCE!

21. Charlie 29 April 2011

Even though I am not a Hougang resident, both my wife and I were there to cheer the WP. We need more strong opp voices in Parliament to speak on issues affecting Singaporeans. Glad we are ready to see a First World Parliament of our own and to see lively debates on issues affecting Singaporeans.

PAP has forgotened that to earn the respects of the ppl, all MPs must be elected and contested in a GE. Not just walk-in from the back-door. This is the biggest mistake that they have made.

22. unclesam2011 29 April 2011

PAP is going to hit by TSUNAMI !

23. toc, good works.

but more vdo on more candidates who spoke would be highly appreciated.

keep up the good work. though shit times changed a bit but not good engouh to show us the truth.

thanks again.

24. californian 29 April 2011

@mike,

actually the ST has lots of unedited videos on the different rallies. I listened to lots of them while working. 8-).

25. local media lying to the people 29 April 2011

as usual, the local media and TV dare not show the large crowd or mentioned the size of the crowd at all.

can expect the ST and State TV to spread the PAP gangster threats to incite fear and more twisting of the real situation on the ground to mislead the people.

TOC, thanks for the good work on revealing the real truth. Hopefully, more people will be able to see the truth from the controlled media’s lies.

26. anonymous 29 April 2011

I WAS THERE, SAW WHAT TRANSPIRED AND PROUD OF MY FELLOW SINGAPOREANS.I hope the tide of change finally sweeps in to save this country from complete disaster of incompetence and failures.

27. Desmond 29 April 2011

The pictures looks like much more than 15000 people as reported in the straitstimes leh. Imagine our ex national stadium can hold 50000 people during the malaysian cup days, this crowd looks just as packed I think

28. Fab Tan 29 April 2011

It’s heartening to see so many people trying to get as much transparency as possible with actual things happening on the ground by attending the rally.

Are general public aware that Temasek Review Site are under attack recently so that the people of Singapore cannot access or exchange information about what’s happening in the political situation in Singapore ?

Actually before the start of election, I was neutral as a young voter when surfing Temasek Review web site without putting any comment. However, in the past one week, I had so much difficulty in accessing TR. I’m beginning to feel like I’m one of those ex-ISA detainees being deprived on simple human freedom in the early reformative years of Singapore and those accused of Marxism. It is outraging that the ruling party is resorting to such dirty tricks and underhand in destroying transparency and voice of Singaporeans altogether. By so doing, PAP is telling young voters like me that you’ve indeed many things to hide and want total news blackout on news that is bad on ruling party. After this underhand of trying to destroy Temasek Review or prevent young voter from accessing news in non-state controlled media like TR website, it has changed my position from neutral to anti-PAP. Disgusted with such dirty tricks in controlling news and discussion forum as if we’re living in a tyrant country, I will vote for the opposition camp. And it’s not me alone who feel that way. Many of many friends are doing likewise i.e. voting for opposition parties to ensure full transparency and accountability to the people of Singapore. Thank you PAP for helping me to make up my mind in this important election by playing dirty.

29. if opposition loses, we loses everything…

if oppposition wins a grc(fat hope lah since singaporean are mercenary i guess), we might win back a bit

if opposition wins 1 smc, we are degrading democracy and our lives will be 3 times worst to run and run and slog and slog, not just fast and also hard…, 2 smc lose, our lives will be 2 times as bad as now, if 3-4 smc won, then our lives back to square one(but will lose to inflation and housing prices and coes and erp) where we are already so pressured.

if opposition wins 23 seats(fattest hope), time to check the reserves, the investment and their policies, de-monopolies the monopolies of the ministers and industries, and also nepotism among the political powderfuls…, erp to dismantle imagine that(dont mind to increase road tax as it is fixed cost, not variable cost), erp costing lots of inflations indirectly and directly, trust me..

overprinting of currency without physical precious metal like silver and gold by govs should be controlled… to prevent our currencies being depreciated, meaning cost of living up due to inflation of money and eventually price when currencies released to market..

haha, now theonlinecitizen.com mentioned i am posting too fast and asked me to slow down, not sure if ruling party came up with ideas to restrict our online freedom? or this website too many users login until cant take it?

30. I must said the turnout is very very good !!!

Let’s have a very very good votes for our future, or else the next five years will see everythings up up up up !!!!

We need to have Oppositions to check on PAP and to balance their power !!

You have my vote, WP !!!!

31. I have nothing against George Yeo. As a matter of fact, I quite like him compared to other PAP ministers like MBT (he MUST go!), GCT, KBW, LSS and RL.

But sorry to say – this time round I would still cast my vote to WP Low.

Losing George, PAP would still be functional. But without Low’s team in parliament, would make a BIG difference. Low’s team MUST be voted into parliament to better represent the people’s voice (while PAP represent $$$’s voice) at ALL cost.

32. Hi all.
    i was at the 2 rallies by wp.
    it was indeed “shiok” to be there.
    BUT, how many of attendances are voters of hougang smc n aljunied grc?
    10%? or 20%

wp has supporters all over sg.
    ppl from jurong, woodlands, tanjong pagar and changi came down from work to support wp.
    No surprise that wp attract large crowds at every rallies.

now the focus and crucial part is HOW can wp’s messages be passed on to the voters of aljunied who have already decided to vote for pap?

aljunied has been the center of attraction in ge2006. wp won 44%. now the question is HOW can we contribute to increase this number?

In fact now all strategies and action plans on campaigns must focus on the voters of pap.
    i’m sure wp knows this issues and they are working hard on this.

ask ourselves how can we help wp and help singapore to breakthrough a grc in this election.

Power to the people!
    Make good use of the contacts or relationship we have with the residents of aljunied grc to inform them the importance of this election. We need to have Oppositions to check on PAP and to balance their power !!

Ask for their concerns & reasons to vote for pap.
    they maybe worry that their property will not rise?
    they maybe worry that no upgrading in their estate?
    they maybe feeling fine in their current comfort zone?

if every wp supporters can connect to say 3 residents of aljunied grc, then history will be made on may 7th.

As a wp supporters; i feel that we have a part. We can contributeby engaging them in conversations or we can even ‘connect’ them with wp members to talk to them.

7 more days to polling day.
    its time that we lend our supporter hands and support wp in actions to work towards a first world parliment!

33. PAP must be credtited for putting Singapore in the world map.
    WP SDP Reform will be good for this country.
    Singapore will do better with all coming together cos our country is a phenomenal.
    Perhaps;now is the moment of truth,this time round i mean now,give the opposition parties a chance to contribute
    and elevate SINGAPORE to yet another level.
    After all,we all love our country,above all things,i urge the PAP to listen to the laments of the people and share in their struggles and meet their needs as they also contributed to the growth of Singapore.
    As for the better off ones, may you continue to prosperous and do well and bless the weaker ones by your contributions of taxes.
    I will continue to hope that every singaporean will share the joy as our nation prosperous and grow.

34. Am surprised that there is so much support for opposition despite them not putting up a single proposal on what will they do different. Up to now, there has been a lot of talk around high cost of living, high number of foreigners and high housing price. These are the issues/concerns which we are all aware of but have not heard any proposal from the opposition to address these issues. Housing price has been going up in all progrssive cities globally and is not unique to Singapore as there is lot of cheap money out there due to low interest rates from banks. We have one of the lowest inflation rates globally and not sure how does the opposition parties intend to bring down the cost of living. We have one of the lowest unemployment rates and not sure how we will find Singaporeans to do the jobs that are being done by foreigners if we dont import them anymore.

If you look at Hougang and Potong Pasir which have been opposition wards for a long time, the opposition parties have not really tested new ideas or do anything different from the other wards. When I walk into Hougang, it does give me a feeling that it has been maintained quite badly.

An alternate voice can be helpful if they have substance. Otherwise, we will end up with dysfunctional governments like in most first world countries who are mostly in their decline now. There is no headline issues in Singapore like poverty, homeless people, strikes, etc. and changing for change’s sake will have no benefit and a lot of risk.