by Benjamin Cheah/ photos by Ko Siew Huey

‘We want to listen to your heart and bring it to Parliament.’

These words, uttered by Mr Benjamin Pwee, seemed to be the Singapore People’s Party’s (SPP) rallying cry. The three key themes of the rally were government accountability, increasing costs of public housing, and increasing number of foreigners. All speakers took every opportunity to deride the People’s Action Party (PAP) on these three fronts, but of the SPP’s proposals they said little.

The rally got off to a slow start. Ms Juliana Juwahir started the rally by declaring that voters should always be heard whenever policies are formulated, and that policies ‘should benefit the people of Singapore.’ She said that the SPP stands for ‘accountability, transparency and debate in Parliament’ in this election. She also talked about the five working groups the SPP have started to rejuvenate the party and facilitate outreach. These are the Policy Working Group, SME Affairs Bureau, Malay Affairs Bureau, Youth Wing and Women’s Wing.

The next two speakers had very little to say. They were Mr Sim Kek Tong, the SPP’s Hong Kah North candidate, and Mr Jimmy Lee, who is contesting in Bishan-Toa Payoh. Mr Sim spun a long riff about the party and the candidates, intertwined with calls to vote for the SPP. Mr Lee promised to talk about three things: why an alternative voice was important, Mas Selamat, and why there was ‘no reason to fear’. Mr Lee recounted two anecdotes that illustrated his first point. Mr Chiam See Tong, Secretary General of the SPP, arrived in the middle of his second story, interrupting his speech. Mr Lee quickly wound his speech down without touching on his other two points.

The rally picked up by the fourth speech. Mr Mohamad Hamim bin Aliyas centred his speech on the lack of government accountability. He said there was no accountability and no transparency for the Orchard Road flooding, the losses “Temasek GIC” incurred during the subprime mortgage crisis, the management of the Youth Olympic Games, and the escape of Mas Selamat. He also raised contentions with the rising prices of flats, ministerial salaries, and influx of foreigners. He said that 6 in 10 jobs go to foreigners, and that Singaporeans cannot compete with the foreigners flooding the market. He ended his speech by proposing to re-implement the old quota for foreign workers, which allows companies to hire three foreigners for every local.

The crowd stirred and came alive when Mrs Lina Chiam took the stage. Mrs Chiam focused her speech on affirming that she was her own person. She was uncharacteristically shouting into the mic during her speech, as though trying to work up the crowd. It seemed to work, with members of the crowd roaring with approval and jeering the PAP at every turn. She said, ‘I have my own name. I will do things my way.’ However, she spent most of her speech speaking about the hardships Mr Chiam faced during his political career instead of articulating ‘her way’. Near the end, almost as though in passing, she said that the government needs to manage immigration and housing prices – and tacked on a call to vote for more opposition.

Mr Wilfred Leung used his speaking time to scrutinize the People’s Association (PA), as part of the SPP’s wider theme of government accountability. He asked, ‘How come when I go to the PAP website, RC (Residents’ Committee) campaign together with the PAP?’ The RC is a subsection of the PA, which is a government body. In response to a question by a member of the audience, Mr Leung affirmed that if the SPP wins in Hong Kah North, there will be funds in the Town Council to pay for current upgrading projects.

Mr Benjamin Pwee built his speech primarily on engaging the attendees. He said that he joined politics ‘for the good of everybody’. He encouraged voters to overcome their fear of voting for the opposition. He ended his speech by saying, ‘We stand up because we believe in Singapore. This is Singapore and this is our home.’ After the Chiams, Mr Pwee received the most applause and cheers by the audience.

The rally climaxed with Mr Chiam See Tong taking to the podium. Compared to the other speakers, his speech was brief. He said that the SPP ‘believes in building a democratic society’ and in freedom. He called for greater government transparency and responsibility, raising the issue of ministerial salaries and Mas Selamat’s escape, and encouraged people to participate in politics.

Mr Sim made the last formal speech for the night. In this speech, he outlined his election platform. If elected, he promised to concentrate on five key issues. He wants to create a new category for Certificates of Entitlement for cars of 1600cc or below. He explained that this would allow COE prices to fall and enable more people to buy cars. He also wants to revise the pegging formula for ministerial salary ‘to close the income gap’; help SMEs and neighbourhood shops; and push for a new public holiday, ‘Multicultural Day’, to reflect Singapore’s multicultural society’. Finally, he said he would study the Goods and Service Tax to see if it can be scrapped.

The rally concluded with Mr Chiam taking to the stage one last time. He spoke briefly, inviting the audience ‘to be a part of our party’s rejuvenation’. He finished his speech by saying, ‘I am not a great man, but I love Singapore’.

‘We love you too!’ an audience member replied.

To view more photos, click here.

25 Responses to “SPP: ‘This is Singapore and this is our home.’”

1. Tokcok7 30 April 2011

Mr Chiam is indeed a patriot. Respect!!!!
    Judging by some if their statements, these are my humble comments:

1) government accountability.
    I agree that more can be done here. The question is will the general public be able to understand the implication of full transparency. Perhaps a middle ground can be found….example having the auditor general comprise both opposition and incumbent members/observers.

2) foreign workers.
    More can be done to tighten criteria. However, I was recently warded at a hospital and realized that many nurses were foreigners. I asked the chief nurse (who was Singaporean) why this was the case….her reply was simple. Singaporeans do not want to work with sick and old people. And if they did, the demands are very high. And that would mean increased healthcare cost. We will need to be careful here.

3) special sub 1600cc COE so that more singapreans can afford cars.
    Roads are already packed as they are…how can we accommodate this further increase? Better to further improve public transport…else, congestion will kill. I totally disagree with this!!!

4) Mr Benjamin Pwee built his speech primarily on engaging the attendees.
    While it is good to have great speeches to engage and entertain, for me, I am unsure about what this will serve to achieve fir the running of a country. I’d much rather hear concrete proposals. I don’t want feel good speeches. I want a good, clean, safe place I can build my home for my kids. And that is hard work.

4)Near the end, almost as though in passing, she (sylvia) said that the government needs to manage immigration and housing prices.
    Seems as if she is implying that the present government has started taking steps to address this. This is something I agree on. But funny how the other oppositions are making a big deal as if nothing is being done.

2. We have seen pics of Nicole Seah sweating profusely as she goes on her walkabout under the sweltering sun.

It is taxing for a young girl… have you guys paused to think how much tougher the election campaign is for a 75 year old man who has had stroke?

Is he doing this out of love for money or power? No, he loves Singapore and has been serving residents with humility.

He may have left Potong Pasir after 27 years but his spirit lives on. There is no glamorous legacy to pass to his successor, except for a makeshift cubicle, a reminder of his dedication and passion.

Ultimate respect for Chiam See Tong!

3. Yahoo News 30 April 2011

From yahoo news 29 Apr 11

Let me give you an example of a young PAP versus an elderly Chiam See Tong who works hard to serve the people.

Did you know Lim Swee Say was a director of a unit in National Computer VBoard (NCB) at SCience Park 2 in the mid-1980s. That time he was friendly to colleagues and IT vendors. When he became MP, everything changed. He was frequently seen at this NTUC golf course in Yeeshun. One time I saw him in the men changing room, our friend Lim Swee Say told his Sunway walk to meet residents will have to stop bcos he got a golf game. I checked with my golf kakis they confirm that nowdays Lim Sweee Say play golf not only with NTUC people but foreigners at NTUC run golf courses. After golf he puts on whitening lotion so that he appears not to have played golf at all.
    You got down to Marina Golf course and you can find him there after the elections if he wins.

4. joegool 30 April 2011

I live in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC.

I think almost all Singaporeans have a high regard for Chiam See Tong.

Even the PAP and the ministers show a lot of respect to Chiam.

If we were a SMC, and Chiam was a few years younger, I think he might get my vote.

As much as I appreciate Chiam, he is getting older and I know nothing about the rest of the SPP team. They have not been able to convince me that they are up to the job of governing Singapore.

I hope that one day, Singaporeans and the Government can find a way to commemorate Chiam (maybe a new Chiam See Tong road in Poton Pasir??)

But for now, especially in the complex world we are living in, I would have to go with the incumbants. My vote needs to be swayed by sound, thought through policies and not by motherhood and populist statements.

Sorry SPP. Despite their shortfalls, tHis round goes to the PAP.

5. Sandman 30 April 2011

Mr Chiam is indeed a great man! At one point, the lone dissenting voice in parliament. Along with JBJ, he represents the first generation of opposition MPs, who dared to question the PAP hegemony. They are an inspiration to the Alternative Parties of today. Let’s hope that these brave men have their rightful place in the Singapore Story, instead of being consigned to history’s scrap heap!

6. I love Singapore 30 April 2011

@ joegool,

Best of luck! Brace yourself and your family up for increasing prices and competition! For the last 5 years, prices have gone up so steep and the country gets so crowded. Be strong to receive even harsher punishment meted out by PAP to you and your family! I dare not even imagine the next 5 years!

If PAP wins 100% this time, I’ll leave SG. Democracy and people power is finished for Singaporeans. The women here do not have to be maids in other countries, they can be maids in SG.

And for those who like friendly MPs regardless of parties, good luck too! I prefer people with ideology and actions to save Singaporeans than to have people smiling at me near election and I do not see them around until the next election and do nothing about Singaporeans’ concerns.

7. Tokcok7 30 April 2011

@I love singapore.

“The women here do not have to be maids in other countries, they can be maids in SG”

If you want that to be a reality, one sure way to see to it that is by making sure singapore is no longer attractive for investors to invest in, where foreigners are not welcome here, which leads to a downward spiral where jobs will be lost, no new ones created and be left with a country full of ideology with no regards for pragmatism.

Is the Taliban not full of ideology? What about our neighbours?

Which country would you leave to if pap won? I am curious which utopia you’d choose. Care to share?

8. tokcok7 30 April 2011

IPUSHmyselfoffthebridge ought to do precisely that….
    What gives man!!!
    You sound exactly like a sdp party spokesman!!!
    literrally!!
    No head, no tail, full of shit (presumably from all your assholes)…..simply retarded…..
    Now I have solid proof that khaw failed to address mental problems in singapore…
    I will challenge him at the rallies at why he did not address such a serious problem as IPUSHmycockupmy2Sholes!!!!!
    Hahaha. Loser!!

NO change to my opinion about you that was posted previously already. THought maybe you’ll sprout a brain

Prefer it if you had more sensible points of engagement instead of letting all that sh*t fall out of your soon to be opneing 3rd shole!

Get a life!!

9. I take my hats off Chiam, Stroke and old age and still going strong. ITs all for the fight for ONE BREATH.
    Their voices need to be heard. If you cannot attend the rallies hear and watch it live here at http://www.singaporematters.com. They cover the whole rally live so you get to watch it too!

10. @tokcok7

The way you comments here made you more like a moron and PAP underdog !!!

My vote and many of my friends confirm will go to any oppositions !!!!!

We not want another wayang ministers not want to take responsible and take home paycheck from us in millions !!!! “jia Liao bee PAP Ministers” can’t solve problems but create even more problems and their under like yourself here defend them made people who had conscience want to speak up against you and your kind !!! Puke..puke… !!!!

Majulah Singapura !!!! Go and lick your masters PAP (Pay&Pay) regime !!!!

11. We should support more alternative voices into the parliament and not be afraid by the old man threatening us !!!!

Fellow Singaporeans vote in more oppositions to represent us !!!!!!

Kick out the PAP and their greedy cronies who been using our monies to threatening us and made us suffer for the pass 5 years and don’t want to suffer another 5 years more as they keep bring in their “Foreign Trashes pets – blanga/PRC/Filipinos/Indians from india and burmanese; etc” !!!!

Kick out the PAP !!!!!!!

12. iPUSHleekuanyouwheelchair 30 April 2011

tokkok7
    Get a life!!
    …………
    indeded you should
    you swore too many times in 1 go
    this show you ain’t no man
    you are just a gay because you seekin for men as s hole
    even if i stripped naked…
    you would come near me…

are you anwar a-team type?
    when you donned a bra? what brand army issued crocodile or truimph acclaimed?

13. William Siak 30 April 2011

“Elderly audience at PAP rally leaving on chartered buses” !!!

There is proof the PAP (Pay&Pay) using dirty tricks in election by above methods and even much more… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mU5FDvvBUdc

This regime is really making people curse and swear at them everyday in the heart and mind and soul !!!!!

Very despicable and the old man also threatening us all like we are easy push over !!!!

14. californian 30 April 2011

Truly have to respect Chiam. Most people lie in bed and complain, but he’s still up and going.

Actually, the more I listen to his wife, Lina Chiam, the more I like her. Totally unpretentious.

15. Mrs chiam should leverage on her husband.her maiden speech can be seen with a pinch of arrogance n ego

16. Chiam – ask wkd – Mas was resting @ brother’s flat. Why didnt sent t sad there?

17. My real sentiments, I seriously, whole heartedly RESPECT Mr Chiam, but the truth is, the “ground work” seems incomplete. Though I felt my hair stood on ends whenever I watch his Walk abt video, it’s really tough on him, his health, his age, and i saw aunties walk up to him, just to shake his hands, but, my queries are still not answered, my woes add on…..

18. iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair 30 April 2011

Imike 30 April 2011
    Chiam – ask wkd – Mas was resting @ brother’s flat. Why didnt sent t sad there?
    …………..
    wongcan’tsink would had said..don’t be daft..which idiot would hide a fugitive?
    brother or no brother
    you see my uncle leekingyou..didnt he turned in limchinsiong and forced him into the jungle

19. PAP Minister without Portfolio, Mr Lim Swee Say, said in Parliament in March 2010: “WE ARE DEAF TO ALL CRITICISMS”.

The Hansard (Parliamentary Report) in Singapore Parliament web-site is a verbatim record of what these yaya-PAPayas said in the House.

Let us judge the PAP based on their past 5-year record – NOT their election hype!

You never see the ministers and MPs until just before GE, eh?

20. Eddie 1 May 2011

this video clip is on LIM SWEE SAY.

Share with your friends the lyrics of the links is so heart warming

http://www.youtube.com/user/project2O11#p/a/u/0/p1tzIRkIFs0

21. imike 1 May 2011

tis election is NOT anti pap.

do u want to live with a NORTH KOREAN style govt
    for another 5 years??

with all t threats,insults etc.

its about t urgent need for strong alternative views,checks and balances.

22. Sporean LOVE U 4 May 2011

Read their comments.It move me to TEARS for my fellow SPOREAN about this:

3 P’s Man

PASSION , PEACE ,PESSISTANCE

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2011/05/that-makeshift-cubicle-at-the-void-deck/comment-page-4/#comment-198602

23. Sze Chan 5 May 2011

I’m saying this with utmost earnestness: WE NEED REPRESENTATION AND ALTERNATIVE VOICES IN THE PARLIAMENT!

GE2006, residents of Ang Mo Kio St21 received a letter from our MP Inderjit Singh, signed and acknowledged, assuring us voters that SERS is not considered for our area and that only upgrading works would be involved. Months after GE2006, we were utterly and helplessly disappointed when HDB notified us residents that SERS is already decided for our area and that we lessees do not have the legal right to reject this decision.

At the meet-the-people sessions, our MP, Inderjit Singh, admitted that he had no knowledge of this until we residents highlighted this and that MPs have no power over HDB decisions.

PAP has proven clearly to me that they offer no representation and no voice for voters like us.

So, hurray for the opposition for being courageous and brave enough to represent citizens like us who yearn for representation and alternative voices in the parliament.