Ng E-Jay
The old playbook of the People’s Action Party (PAP) has been brought out again. After failing in their attempt to cast aspersions on the Worker’s Party’s (WP) star candidate Chen Show Mao, the PAP has once again resorted to the politics of fear.
On Saturday, Education Minister Ng Eng Hen warned Bishan Toa-Payoh residents at the launch of Height Park that a “freak election result” might be possible if people voted for the opposition.
Haven’t we heard this tired refrain at almost every general election? One would think the electorate has become desensitized to such propaganda over the years, along with similar scare tactics that suggest that only the PAP will ever be fit to form the government and the country will be ruined at the hands of the opposition. The last time an opposition party gained power in Singapore was in 1959, and the country was not ruined.
At the same time, in a rather contradictory statement, Dr Ng challenged the opposition to look toward forming an alternative government, and not just look toward offering an alternative voice in Parliament, which he claims the NCMP scheme caters for.
This statement deserves a rebuttal. The NCMP scheme is an attempt at pacifying the electorate which wants more diverse voices in Parliament, whilst at the same time encouraging swing voters to continue supporting the incumbent. In reality, NCMPs do not have as much power in Parliament as full-fledged MPs, and they are mere figureheads that offer the semblance but not the substance of political plurality.
A genuine alternative voice can only come about if Singaporeans elect a fair number of opposition MPs into Parliament.
At the same time, the opposition can only approach the issue of forming an alternative government via incremental steps – by slowly gaining a foothold in Parliament and then working their way up over multiple election cycles. This view is shared by both the WP and the Singapore People’s Party (SPP), which has taken pains to resist embracing at an ideological level the kind of abrupt political change that Dr Ng wants to frighten voters with.
A freak election result happens not when the opposition gains power, but when the people have cast their vote decisively but their will is not translated into actual political change.
A freak election result is not possible in a functioning, mature democracy. By even suggesting that such an outcome is possible, Dr Ng has indirectly rubbished the very electoral system his government has created. That really is quite a shame.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Freak Results
1997: PAP(81) Opp(2)
2001: PAP(82) Opp(2)
2006: PAP(82) Opp(2)
By any measure, past elections results have been freakish. Where in the world do you see such lopsided results?
Non-freak Result
2011: PAP(57) Opp (30)
I mean, there are so many issues to be debated yet the PAP just brush them aside.
Are they engaged with the people or are they out of touch?
Yeah, the election is freak if you lose. Loser!
if they win, it’s not a freak.
If they lose, it’s a freak.
They are saying that it is ‘natural’ for them to win. Like nature.
Nature has a habit of changing , and evolving.
When Singapore was a fortess belonging to the British Empire, it would have been a freak to lose to Japan, who were deemed midgets with pilots unable to fly at night.
In the end, it may not be a freak result after all, but what the PEOPLE truly wanted.
What so freaky about a result. A result is a result. Whatever the outcome of a GE, the sun will still rise from the east. If the sun were to rise from the west – now that’s freaky.
Of course they are worried.
If really a GE freak result presents itself they will be the ones who fled Singapore because they know they will be scrutinized and making money will be harder therefore with their millions they can go elsewhere to live comfortably.
The only problem is they can’t make more millions from the people which is their only regrets.
Want to bet if the above scenario will be true vote to change.!!!
Freak results occur only when the majority of Singaporeans are deprived of voting, as was in the past elections due to walkovers. – No thanks to GRCs and defamation suits.
However, when the majority of Singaporeans are able to cast their votes, then the result is never a freak, but is the choice of the People.
So, Mr Ng do be careful what he wish for (ie no freak result) because it may well come true.
When
Fear tactic !
Are you saying those in Civil servant supporting you all these years are leaving with you?
The ONLY major change between YOU and Opposition is a compassionate, humble, loyal heart!
Everything will remain the same, if not better. You surely had looked too highly upon yourself, GO EAT A HUMBLE PIE !
PAP, singapore election process is freaked anyway, in the 1st place, election is private and confidential. Our election votes are tracebabe by the means of i/C # ( i think this is very unique to Spore only ), this is what i call a freak.
Ah Bargain Hen, it’s not up to you or your million dollar ministers to decide who forms the government. If you have forgotten, it’s us, Sinkies, that decide. Hope you wont forget that & there’s no such thing as a Freak Accident, it happened cos we want you out of our lives!
Almost all PAP are groomed to be elitist and therefore does not see the picture of the common people. They always have this thinking if you look at the past 5 years and all their action. this time they are doomed to fail, not only the ground is not sweet but may be bitter for them however what have they got to lose since they already have their millions. Imagine they are not shy to give themselves 8 mths bonus as a servant of the people. let us know how much those amount to and how much it can help the common people??.
PAP = People Against P(AP)
It is regrettable that while the PAP Ministers appeal for political maturity from Singaporean electorate, they seem to have neglected their own political maturity to accept defeat with grace.
They have conveniently forgotten the political fortunes of a young 37-year old lawyer with the gift of the gab – named Harry Lee – and his team of young activists, who received an over-whelming vote of confidence from the Singaporean electorate to sweep the useless LIM YEW HOCK government out of City Hall in GE-1959 – even when both young Harry Lee and his team of young activists had ZERO political track record, and similarly had ZICLH experience in government.
1. What does “freak” mean? “Freak” presupposes that one side is all good and the other side is all bad, rotten and incompetent.
2. What is the safeguard against incompetent and bad people from assuming office and staying in office? More checks and balances or less checks and balances?
3. What will help create checks and balances in a system?
Education Minister Ng Eng Hen warned Bishan Toa-Payoh residents at the launch of Height Park that a “freak election result” might be possible if people voted for the opposition.
Of course, it is possible when its already in the papies agenda to create one when opposition party wins!
Just do it, we will know in 5 years time if the minister is correct. I can’t see the Singapore mechanism coming to a halt with just more oppositions voted into parliament. It will reflect very badly on the incumbent government if the civil services can’t function properly just because of more opposition MPs. I think the government keeps thinking Singaporeans are still kids and scare tactics work on them. Its for your own good statement doesn’t appeal anymore. One good example was when SDP had 3 members in parliament at one time but at the subsequent election, how many were left? The good ones will continue but let the people decide. Singaporeans are intelligent people and they know how to make good decisions.
A freak election is one in which TPL is elected and Nicole Seah didn’t though the choice of the electorate is so obvious
Real sour grapes. When they win – it is not freak. When opposition wins, it becomes freak.
They are freaking scare of the opposition winning this time round. That is for sure.
NEH is another PAP asshole
I remember when he first was appointed as MOM minister, he seems to be championed for the worker by mentioning the to media something like he wasn’t happy when the saw that most employers only interested in hiring foreigner workers during a job fare he attended. But barely a month after, he spoke on another tone saying we need foreigner worker and then all the mediacock started screen propaganda showing Singaporean unwilling to take jobs in hot kitchen, offices that located to far from home and blar blar blar…… I will never forget that advertisment.
Such an asshole NEH? What good has he ever done for Singaporean after taking office besides draining millions of our national reserve?
I just can’t wait to see him butted out of Parliament.
Just look at Japan. After 50 long years of ruling, the incumbent party finally had its just downfall. Yet the country is still functioning as per normal, set aside the natural disaster. So nobody is indispensible. Just wait for the right dessert to be served in due course.
Dr Ng challenged the opposition to look toward forming an alternative government, and not just look toward offering an alternative voice in Parliament, which he claims the NCMP scheme caters for
………………….
ncmp? ha ha ha
machiam machiam askin to nurse to enlarge a nay nay by survillance webcam conferencin…
ole hen..when are YOU goin to cross geylard road lor69?
you kept pressin the greenman button…
GCT said the ground is not sweet for the PAP. KBW also confirmed that the ground in Sembawang GRC is not as sweet as it was in 2006. So if the PAP is voted out of power, it is not a freak result. It should be considered as EXPECTED result.
By now, every PAP minister should expect to be voted out. It will be freakish if they are voted into Parliament.
The minister, given his level of education and experience, should have no problem in understanding that using the ‘freak election threat’ is not proper. I believe the Civil Service is an institution which has been assigned the task of running the country WHOEVER forms the elected government. Are they going to close down just because some people don’t like the election result?
To be sure no one at this stage is demanding a total ouster of the pap and are only asking that they be complemented with qualified and credible alternatives. The pap should not hold that ‘freak election’ scenario to sway the voters’ minds to prolong their grip on absolute power. It is simply not fair.
so many FTs/FWs in S’pore not freak result? then who control immigration numbers? alternative parties?
pay for the common folks that never rise in accordance to annual GDP not freak result? blame alternative parties who dun craft national wage policies?
the lack of social graces a freak result? blame alternative parties that are not at fault for putting in place the pressure cooker society from early school age & the you-die-your-business way of life? who’s little gal uttered the word “elite uncaring face”?
Minister Ng, you are part of the freak team that cannot deliver, your teammates constantly giving excuses that this cannot work that cannot work, not practical, too costly, who gonna pay, “honest mistakes”, no accountability, etc…?
highest paid in the world for such low service standards? isn’t that itself not a freak result?
The ONLY freak result is when PAP wins more than 70 seats. Thats my biggest fear, you freak.
It would be freakish and unfair to vote in again the same people who have caused so much of misery, failure and yet have shamelessly enriched themselves with sky high salaries.
Dr NG, you FREAK, have you lowered the price of OIL yet??
lets put it this way
should the eventuality happens, i hope it does, I would be more than happy to have to select the future PM
and i dare say that if i were the PM, the people of Singapore will be the core of my policies and this country will be built around these core of Singaporeans and not those FTs or foreigners.
Education Minister Ng Eng Hen has become the spokesman of PAP, being very vocal recently. Is he threatening us this time, that should a freak result occurs, the army would be sent in to annul the winners, other than the PAP.
Those in the 20s would not forget the scholarships haphazardly given to foreign nationals to study in Singapore, while tthe Citizens have to source their own funding, from begging for bursaries from Foreign Govts to parents selling their homes. This is what the old Ys and the older Ys have in mind when they face the ballot box for the first time. The more he talks, the more angry these young Singaporeans feel.
We all know the ground. On the whole, at least 40% -50%++ will vote definitely vote PAP.
We also know PAP support is well distributed.
Therefore, it is 99.99% impossible that the PAP cannot even win a simple majority of constituency seats.
The only time the PAP will lose is when the core supporters cross over to the opp.
In such a case, the PAP deserves to lose.
DR Hen is insulting Singaporeans. If he loses, it is a “freak” election. He is actually calling us FREAKS! if we cast our votes for the Opposition.
This is the same old record played out time and again…..and unless the “freaks” out there, meaning us, vote for him, any win by the Opposition is not a deserved win, but a “freak” win!
This guy, as Minister is completely out of his mind. He is freaking out even before the votes are cast!!!!
dolphin81
The only time the PAP will lose is when the core supporters cross over to the opp
…………
just ask ANY sane supporters
ow much money must they dig when they go outdoor?
nowadays..with just $10 would it be enough?
i stand corrected…
even the mrt.. i am still STANDIN…
USA is a good example.
The oppo has more new ideas.
A freak result would be that PAP wins again. ‘cos they’re making lives of majority miserable & yet they can still manage to win enough votes. No thanks to people voting not from their hearts but from fear & greed.
what f%$# shit freak result is he grumbling about?
you mean we are freak if we voted opp? fine, so be it.
what nonsense is he spewing about?
folks, go ahead and vote whom you think this time that who are at least help us folks to keep track the checks and balances on these greedy bunch of miw shit.
If more opposition MPs are voted into Parliament, their performance will be judged… and Singaporeans will decide if more voices are needed or the situation gets too rowdy, inefficient or gridlocked due to partisan or lobbyists interests… maybe the overwhelming majority will be returned back to PAP.
As LTK says, PAP or WP cannot decide. Let Singaporean voters decide how a First World Parliament should evolve.
so it could be deduced from minister ng’s remarks that our OPPO SINGAPOREANS and SINGAPOREAN VOTERS are like ‘FREAKS’ if they let the oppo wins?
indeed,we must have had so many”FREAKS’ ELECTIONS” in all previous GEs as we have been ‘FREAKED OUT’ all these years by those ‘freaks’ we elected?
freak results = coalition government
not bad.
He loook more like ah beng to me… what a freak minister.. haha
How can Opposition victory be a freak election when they’re voted by the people? Unless PAP is saying the people are freaks as well?
Every grc has one irritating face. In bishan-tpy, you find two. Wks And neh. I hope we do need to see their faces that often after 8 may. Cm on voters!
Freak results.
Freak accident.
Freak mp.
Freak minister.
Freak party.
Freak government.
Freak salaries.
And there they go again, doubting the intelligence of Singaporeans… coming from the Education Minister no less!
Lets for once be a realist and understand that the opposition, at least for this election is never going to form the government… but after almost 60 years of governing, get off your f*#king pompous high horse and seriously respect us SINGAPOREANS with intelligence! Sadly, I use to live in Bishan and you know where my vote is going to!
The PAP has lost the plot. If they are afraid that so many people will vote against them, they need to focus on why, and fix the things that have made us hate them. Instead of that, they hope to win votes by threatening us. They’re out of touch, our of their minds, just plain OUT.
We ain’t scared anymore. So be it if it is a freak result. We are already ruined by the PAP ruling party. I am very sure there are so many singaporeans being hurt by your wrong policies. High cost of living has caused many governments to fall and you will be also one of them. Fellow singaporeans let us vote out the PAP this election and make them history. Thank you.
I’m Not Scared (Eighth Wonder)
Your life’s a mystery, mine is an open book
If I could read your mind, I think I’d take a look
I don’t care
Baby, I’m not scared
What have you got to fight? What do you need to prove?
You’re always telling lies, and that’s the only truth
I don’t care
Baby, I’m not scared
Tonight the streets are full of actors
I don’t know why
Oh, take these dogs away from me
Before they, they bite
What have you got to say of shadows in your past?
I thought that, if you paid, you’d keep them off our backs
But I don’t care
Baby, I’m not scared
What have you got to hide? Who will it compromise?
Where do we have to be, so I can laugh and you’ll be free?
I’d go anywhere
Baby, I don’t care
I’m not scared
I don’t care
Baby, I’m not scared
Tonight the streets are full of actors
I don’t know why
Oh, take these dogs away from me
Before they, they bite
Tonight I fought and made my mind up
I know it’s right
I know these dogs still snap around us
But I can, I can fight
If I was you, if I was you
I wouldn’t treat me the way you do
I wouldn’t treat me the way you do – you
I wouldn’t treat me the way you do
I wouldn’t treat me the way you do – you
I’m not scared
Baby, I don’t care
I’d go anywhere
Baby, I’m not scared
I’m not scared
Oh, I’m not scared
mr hen-
why are spore parents spending BILLIONS $$ a year on tuition??
if the education system is so gOOd??
do t american,aussies spend billions $$$ on tuition??
tuition-a billion $$ industry -by product of the pap education
system??
May I single out one disturbingly freaky policy. Singaporean children are subject to balloting for admission to Primary One, no difference from PRs. Parents don’t need an extra ballot slip, they need a place in the school. Does the minister know how many Singapore children have been deprived of a place in a school of their choice because of a spike in the number of PRs? In recent years, primary one registration have bucked past trends and yielded “freaky” result and children of PRs have taken up places at the expense of Singaporean children. Freaky policies yield freaky results.
Freaky education policies aside, the ruling party rolls out the red carpet for PRs and foreign workers, all 900 000 of them but questions the motive of an outstanding, professionally prominent Singaporean who decides to return to serve his fellow-countrymen. FTs – (foreign talents / freaky talents ?)are accorded a warmer reception than a son of our land ? Freaky ?
Yup, let’s give this freakish hen the boot. It is obvious this freak has seen the writing on the wall – that voters have had enough of obscene, papy policies and are eagerly waiting to cast their votes for the opposition – and is making an abject attempt at pre-empting the likely outcome of the elections, the exit of many papy elites, which may of course include the hen-freak himself.
So, what’s so freakish about seeing yourself or your party members freaking out of these elections, freak-hen? Or freakish hen?
Is there such a thing as a freak result?
Its the result.Call it whatever but its still the result simple as that.
One will win and one will lose.
So please do not say its a freak result if one loses. Be a gentleman and lose graciously.
Singapore have Casino and Geylang prostitution for the Foreigner. This had change Singapore into a “Sin” city. All MP need to repent and change their policies before it is too late.
Freak results will happen : 89-0.