by Khairulanwar Zaini/ photos by Jean Loo, Aaron Lim and Jing Quan

A member of the public waves the Worker's Party flag in the air/ Jean Loo

With their gunsights sharply trained on Aljunied, the Workers’ Party’s charm offensive has begun in earnest.

The party returned to Serangoon Stadium, the site of their memorable final electoral rally in 2006. That campaign concluded with a pledge recital led by party chairperson Sylvia Lim, but even that rhetorical flourish was insufficient to secure a victory then. In a candid post-election assessment, secretary-general Low Thia Khiang admitted that the party’s failure to court the minority vote – particularly the high concentration of Malay residents in the Eunos ward – was its Achilles heel. The party had to find the means to engage the Malay community, and do it fast. Last night, they may have just found the right man.

Faisal Abdul Manap (for Aljunied GRC) began his speech apologising for a sore throat (‘it’s okay, bang!’ an audience member reassured him.) But if that minor affliction was affecting him, it was not discernable. In the party’s only Malay speech for the night, Faisal burst forth with an oratorical ebullience that one would rather expect from a veteran religious speechmaker.

Assalamualaikum!’ he said, employing the usual Muslim greeting of peace. The predominantly Chinese audience enthusiastically tried to reply in kind. He grinned before quipping, ‘I’m so proud to have a lot of Muslims here!’

The 35-year old family counsellor addressed his prospective voters with a pantun: ‘Buah duku, buah laici/ lebih enak buah durian/ Mohd Faisal nama diberi/ rahmatan lil ‘alamin jadi prinsip kehidipuan!’ This lyrical introduction was greeted with applause from the audience – and it did not really matter if they did not understand. His sincerity transcended language: Faisal was calling for the blessing and mercy for all mankind. Criticising the ruling party for its ‘lack of human touch’, he reiterated this humanistic streak with his calls to develop ‘more family-oriented public policy’ and a ‘more humane and caring society’.

There is a sense that he was speaking to an invisible audience. Less a sale of the Workers’ Party than an offer of friendship and a request for trust, his candidate-centric stump speech that diverges from the party’s modus operandi clues us into an important set-piece encounter between him and the incumbent’s Zainul Abidin Rasheed. The hearts (and voting slips) of the Malay community are at stake. And the outcome of this duel will spell important ramifications for the party’s fortunes in their second Battle of Aljunied.

To complement Faisal’s tactical engagement, the party has embarked upon a strategy of concentrating their formidable firepower on George Yeo, the anchor minister in the PAP’s slate of candidates. Earlier in the day, the mainstream press had carried his criticisms of the party’s Aljunied wager. They have placed ‘a burden on Aljunied GRC … to look after the larger interest of the opposition’, alleged Yeo. He said that creating such an ‘emotional dilemma’ is very much ‘against the spirit of democracy’. And taking issue with the declaration that voters will serve as the party’s ‘secret weapon’, he further accused them of reducing the electorate into ‘instruments to be chosen or discarded’.

In his own gentle and reassuring manner, crowd favourite Chen Show Mao rubbished these claims of ‘a special burden’. Chen urged the Aljunied residents to go ahead and look after themselves and their interests. They would not need to sacrifice their interests for the cause of a larger opposition – because ‘you will be better off if you vote the Workers’ Party,’ promised Chen. For the ‘emotional dilemma’ that Yeo had alluded to, Chen’s advice was to ‘take heart, have courage, but most importantly, use your head before you vote.’

But party chiefs Sylvia Lim and Low Thia Khiang were more severe with their rebukes. Later that night, Lim wryly noted that the ruling party was the one which had exploited the electorate for its own political purposes: ‘If the PAP respects the wishes of the voters, why does it keep redrawing boundaries based on election results?’ Pointing to the residents of Kaki Bukit, who had been displaced from Eunos to Marine Parade before being reshuffled into Aljunied, she asked, ‘Who is the one using voters as instruments to be chosen or discarded?’

These gerrymandering exercises make a mockery of Yeo’s claims. In his speech, Low claimed that the ruling party was using the group representative constituency system to arrest the vote swing against them. Speaking of his first electoral contest in Tiong Bahru GRC, he described how the opposition-leaning wards of Anson and Radin Mas were consolidated with an incumbent-friendly one to neuter any opposition advantage. He also criticised the PAP for deviating from the original three-member constituency structure of 1988 to the present four- to six-member ward. Low likened the GRC system to ‘a rubber band’: not only is its numbers malleable, it can also ‘stretch from Marine Parade to Hougang!’

‘There is nothing more against the spirit of democracy than the GRC!’ declared Low.

The fifth candidate in the party’s Aljunied slate, Pritam Singh, used his maiden rally speech to dispel concerns over the future of the foreign ministry should George Yeo be defeated. For him, the answer was simple: ‘another PAP MP will become the FM lor’. He assured the civil servants that the loss of one minister will not jeopardise the operations of the civil service: ‘nobody is indispensable, everyone can be replaced’. He drove home his point with an analogy from English soccer, drawing applause from the appreciative crowd: ‘If Wayne Rooney does not play for Manchester United, does Manchester United collapse?’

But the most spirited salvo came from Sylvia Lim. Assuaging fears that Yeo’s talents would be ‘lost’ if Aljunied were to change hands, Lim insisted that his future remains ‘bright’ even in defeat: the government could easily place him in one of the many government-linked corporations or appoint him as an ambassador-at-large.

Her wit firing on all cylinders, she said, ‘So don’t think of voting for Workers’ Party as voting against George Yeo. Think of it as helping him into early retirement.’

The night may have been dominated by the Aljunied slugfest, but the party maintained their calls for a First World Parliament. Demands for oversight and accountability frequently featured, as the candidates excoriated the ruling party for the failures and gaffes of the preceding five years. And did the rally congregation thrive on these sharp barbs.

The audience was regaled when Png Eng Huat (for East Coast GRC) pithily mused that ‘when Mas Selamat escaped, the minister also escaped’. And if the candidates are raising their act on the podium as the campaign marches on, the crowd is matching them measure for measure. On the first rally night, the candidates had implored voters to give the party a ‘driving license’ to be the co-driver of the Singapore ‘vehicle’. This was literally heeded by one party supporter – a mock driving license designed on a giant placard appeared in the crowd last night. The crowd is indeed faithful, but the battle has grown: the senior minister and minister mentor has weighed in on this particular contest. This solidarity can only help the party as the election campaign enters into its third day.

To view pictures from all the rallies on Friday night, click here.

44 Responses to “Walking the road to Aljunied”

1. hasan b. pang 30 April 2011

A gerrymander is a political beast more fearsome than a mountain tiger. Singapore’s version of a gerrymander is the GRC which has been terrorizing voters for years. It is recorded in the Bible that David was able to defeat the giant Goliath with a sling and five smooth stones. An epic battle is being fought during this GE 2011 in Singapore. I hope my grandchildren will get to hear the story of how the courageous Mr Low Thia Kiang saved his country by slaying the ferocious “chicak”-like beast with a rubber band.

2. political pundit 30 April 2011

LTK is the seasoned politician who is always good for a climax to the rally but it is Sylvia Lim who made the strongest impression.. when she calls upon residents to use WP as a bargaining chip against the govt to work in their interest instead of WP using them for their political purpose.

Chen exudes a reassuring aura and his most impressive trait may not be a glib tongue but his people skills and aptitude to chip away at daunting and complex tasks in record time.

He has personally declared he will make a good MP and I am sure he don’t make statements lightly.

Faisal appeals to the Malay electorate for his passionate speech.

The weakest link could be Pritnam Singh. He doesn’t come across as too approachable. Aljunied residents like George for his clean and nice guy persona, being too aggressive will not win their hearts.

3. sweeney 38 30 April 2011

Congratulations WP for your outstanding
    performance.
    Translate the huge crowd into votes……
    WP is the winner hands down.

See all of you jin Parliament!!

4. Gerrymandering is a cheating and bullying. The wrath and wisdom of people catch up.

Dear Singaporeans, grc and boundary redrawing has been around for 20 years! We have been cheated and opposition bullied for 20 years! Is that long enough?

Vote to put a stop to this undemocractic tactic.

5. Just curious – has anyone thought of using electronic display or TVs to display the words of the speakers in various languages as he/she speak? In the US, you can see sign language interpreters in many important speeches to reach out to the hearing impaired.

6. Lee Lee 30 April 2011

I wish that WP would highlight more of this issue of “foreign talent”. It had been said in one breath all the time such that foreign = talent. These “talent” are 1) brought in carelessly without checks as to whether they have the skills and ability that our locals cannot fill. Just compare the banks UOB which employ locals vs DBS. How many of these talents have come & gone without showing the results that their pay should have guaranteed? Even in UOB, while I was there, they tried to employ a few but most had to be terminated prematurely because they could not perform! 2) allowed to bring in their own kind even at middle or exec levels, thus depriving Singaporeans of the jobs they want & need. I was shocked to see that at lunch time in Philips HQ in Toa Payoh, almost half were angmohs middle level workers going to hawker centres. Can it be that these jobs cannot be or will not be done by Singaporeans? 3)not made to realise that they are here on the goodwill of Singaporeans and not here as “lords” which PAP has painted them out to be. I had several bad experiences with these ang mohs because they treat us as idiots who are in desperate need of them because we are no where as good. 1) My angmoh neighbour could march in to my new year’s eve party at 1030 telling me to stop the party because it is her son’s bedtime, while on other days she has her parties till 12am on weekdays. 2) And a ang moh driver can dangerously cut into my lane and show me bad signs, refused to apologise and challenge me to take actions.3)an angmoh jogger sweared at me because my mum & wheelchair was on the walkway in the park just because he had to side-step onto the grass 4)an angmoh pedestrian was sauntering on the drive way for a while before I decided to give a light tap on the honk to alert him, He turned around & kicked my car. There were many more incidents and what has the government done to protect the dignity of its people? none ! all these were swept away with a “for greater good” excuse!
    There was also the flood issue, the Mas Selamat issue – how they reacted was one of arrogance, that it is inevitable and therefore no further need to look further for solutions.
    Today, I was at UOB Tampines – saw a long queue of old, disabled folks queueing up to get their “grow & share” distributions. Must the govt do this to these poor folks just to give them a few hundreds of dollars?
    And today, LKY said that voters will regret choosing opposition. It reminds me of what Lee Hsien Loong said in the last election about “fixing the opposition”. Is this why PAP is so sure that voters will regret because the constituency will be deprived of alot of goodies that comes from tax payers’ monies? PAP has done well but they will not with such arrogance & injustice! Please keep up the fight! By the way, Mah Bow Tan had only recently been franctically pushing out land parcels to build HDB flats– without opposition, would they have been forced to look at the issue? Why now and not earlier? Why the Grow & Share now & not earlier. Amy Khor recently promised her constituency new improvement programs. Why now & not earlier? Voters have to know that this is the power of having a credible opposition. House prices will not continue to appreciate if we allow this incompetence & detachment from the people to continue unchecked!

7. Reasonable Citizen 30 April 2011

Behave like thugs and talk like statesmen. Vote for them to have your intelligence insulted in the most ludicrous manner.

8. Robert Teh 30 April 2011

A for Aljunied. A for A-team, People have the future only when they are led by a true A team not a team that claims for their own glories and million-dollar self-reward through legalistic tweaking and gerrymandering.

9. californian 30 April 2011

It is a sad fact that gerrymandering exists everywhere. California Congressional District 38 (for US congress) is the most famous. See this map:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Ca38_108.gif

10. MSG to all above 21 youth 30 April 2011

The youth above 21 maybe more interested in World Cup and Olympics.
    But it comes every 4 years.They do not affect your lives.
    This WATERSHED election WILL affect your LIVES. Next shot 5 long years away.
    So please help to wake up the sports fans and the apathetic! Go attend opp rally.
    They only have 9 days to get the message to you.Do not tune to MSM.

11. iPUSHleekuanyouwheelchair 30 April 2011

Reasonable Citizen 30 April 2011
    Behave like thugs and talk like statesmen. Vote for them to have your intelligence insulted in the most ludicrous manner.
    ……………
    indeed well spoken…
    so who a thug? leekingyou?
    who a statement?wongcantsink perhaps?
    you not bad sia…
    whatever happenned
    uncle/nephew still side by side
    combined salary over $300,000/month nia

you intelligent or intelligences?
    which branch? special branch?

12. The newspapers are NOT REPORTING everything. But as Citizen Jounalist, we get to deliver the full picture.

Hear the full RALLY of each party LIVE, UNCUT, UNCENSORED at http://www.singaporematters.com TONIGHT and hear the other story

13. Uncle Sam 30 April 2011

!!!!!!!!!!!
    阿公提前派礼送上钞票
    6天之后令大家去投票
    每逢大选都耍这一老套
    大选过后才知中了圈套
    这次要决心把圈套扔掉
    避免大选过后把你上吊
    明智地使用手上一张票
    看老奸眼泪这回如何掉
    !!!!!!!!!!!

14. NOT GOOD TO HAVE MINISTER AS MP - THEY NO TIME FOR RESIDENTS 30 April 2011

SINGAPORE: Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has urged the voters of Aljunied GRC to exercise their vote carefully in the 7 May General Election.

This is because a wrong choice would mean they lose a strong team of office holders and ground parliamentarians. Mr Lee was speaking to the media after a visit to Tampines Central on Friday night.

Mr Lee’s visit there was to support Mr Heng Swee Keat, PAP’s new candidate in the Tampines GRC slate.

Mr Heng was once Minister Mentor Lee’s principal private secretary during his career in the civil service. His last post before leaving for politics was as the managing director of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS).

Mr Lee said: “He is the man who saw Singapore through the financial crisis and we recovered faster than other countries, but he’s a potential Minister for Finance or Minister for Trade and Industry and we’ve got to have people like that in reserve.”

So Mr Lee’s advice to all voters and in particular those in Aljunied GRC is to look at the track record of the candidates and the programmes they have for the constituency.

“During election time, all claims are made recklessly, but they are simplistic. Election rallies’ slogans sell,” he warned.

The Minister Mentor urged Aljunied GRC’s voters to compare the property prices of their GRC with those in the neighbouring Hougang division, an opposition stronghold.

He said they would realise the prices are not the same. “You have the wrong government, you have your property prices go right down,” he said.

Minister Mentor Lee went on to say: “If you are in Aljunied, ask yourself: do you want one MP, one non—constituency MP, one celebrity, two unknowns, to look after you? Or, have two ministers, one Speaker of Parliament, one very good ground worker (Ong Ye Kung) and Cynthia Phua to look after the place?

“What will happen to your property values and your own comfort, the drains and mosquitoes and so on in the five years? You have this celebrity, he has been away 30 years, he comes back, how does he connect with us?

“It may well happen. If they win, in which case, the people of Aljunied live with the results. The only way people learn is when they have to pay a price.”

Mr Lee was also unfazed by the large crowds at the opposition rallies, as he feels that does not translate into the final results on Polling Day.

Mr Lee also provided data to counter opposition’s claims that foreigners in Singapore were taking away jobs from Singaporeans.

He said total employment in Singapore rose by 786,000 between 2006 and last year. That’s a cumulative increase of 34 percent.

Last year alone, 115,900 jobs were added, with half going to Singaporeans.

Preliminary estimates also show that total employment grew by 23,700 in the first three months of this year.

Mr Lee pointed out that the Singapore government has no reason to look after the interest of foreigners.

He added that the PAP government has created more jobs than Singaporeans can fill.

He said no country has done that except Singapore.

Mr Lee also released data stating that the overall unemployment rate was 2.2 percent last year.

The resident jobless rate was 3.1 percent, the second lowest over the period of 2000 and 2010.

Mr Lee added that foreigners are brought into Singapore to attract investments, in turn creating even more jobs for locals.

Some examples include how the equipment supplying company, Applied Materials, employs over 500 staff, and 85 percent of them are Singaporeans.

And based on a construction manpower study done last year, which surveyed 1,000 contracting firms, two—thirds of professional, managerial, executive and technical positions are held by Singaporeans.

15. Aljunied voter 30 April 2011

I am in Minister’s Yeo ward, and

1) He’s one of the best there is as an MP – in spite of his schedule he’s always around and he’s taken care of us

2) The team on the ground is NOT arrogant at all.

3) WP, other than LTK appear once in 5 years and talk a lot. I don’t think Chen Show Mow will be on the ground at all. Faizal is a no body and Pritam as well…. Cannot compare to the PAP team….

4) WP has made no plans for Aljunied…. nothing! They want us to vote without any plans for us. Now THAT’s arrogance….

On balance, first world parliament is nice. Let’s get it from Holland Bukit Timah or Marine Parade. I am voting PAP for Aljunied

16. True Singaporean 30 April 2011

Lee Lee – your observations are spot on. i have seen at least 2 occasions where ang moh cyclists were cycling in a dangerous manner. One incident when honked by a taxi driver, he showed his 3rd finger and challenged that guy presumably to a fight. You can see many of them cycling around Bt Timah or eastern areas. Too much time in their hands for them to indulge themselves.
    Another incident – near Mustaffa, at a cross-junction, with crowd my car was edging slowly forward to make a turn. This ang moh came from nowhere and he appeared to get a shock when my car slid forward. Came to my window and showed my his 3rd finger. As he looked dishevelled and may perhaps be drunk on that afternoon, I let it be. But he was wearing office attire.
    One incident basement car park Gleneagles hospital. I went to the lift lobby and as I released the door, it slammed as the door closer was faulty. I did not realise some distance behind me was a senior ang moh couple. The way they were looking at me and making remarks among themselves that we are some 3rd world uncivilised barbarians. Hell, I don’t have eyes at the back of my head to see you coming. in the lift the lady (50s I guess) tried to provoke me. WTF….. it could have turned ugly……….. kept my cool, quietly went off.
    I have a number of ang moh friends and they are generally ok but I am seeing more and more of these undesireable ones …… whom we call talent………… and they bring with them undesirable culture, habits and attitude reminiscent of when they were colonial masters historically.

17. The above photo promptly captured a very strong statement from the supporters of Worker party. No wonder Lee Hsien Loong issued an apology to the people in today Straits Times that PAP is not a perfect party and they know the mistake they have made and prepared to change and hear the people if given the chance again. However, I doubt our arrogant PAP is sincere in listening to the people if not for the nearing of polling day. My mind is made up, I will vote for any opposition members in my town in a collective effort, as Singaporeans, to bring PAP to task.

18. Think real seriously about your vote implication 30 April 2011

Aljunied residents, if you have a problem that can only be resolved at national level via parliament, which the incumbent does not favour and have already made known their stand and policies for that last 50 years, who will be a better bet to get it changed? Do not be foolish to deny yourself that option. Secure your future with that option! Is $800 once-in-5-years better or increases in wages by $800 a month a more rational choice? SM Goh already made it clear that it is difficult to increases wages by 30 Percent for the next 10 years … But effortless to increase inflation by 5 percent annually … Approval mandate and endorsement of this policy plan is in our hands … If you disagree, how can we change it?

19. What rubbish 30 April 2011

A man who lacks humility and wisdom despite being 88. Does not impress anymore. What appears to “threats” for electing opposition may not work at all. A time for change has arrived in Singapore. Vote for change. What fear do you have of an 88 year old. Providence will be fair to everyone, death visits everyone. Someone will be gone soon

20. Commentator 1 30 April 2011

Fear what?

Dont be frightened by the words of mentor, enough is enough.

PAP formed in 1954 and got only 2 seats in 1955. Why at tthat time, in GE1959, voters no fear?

At that time in GE1959, PAP is nothing, just a new party led by Mr Lee who’s neither a successful lawyer nor politician. A 3rd world party comprising strange bedfellors –leftwing activists and rightwing students, sharing same PAP bed with dif dreams. You call PAP a credible party with only 2 seats in the house. To Lim YH, it’s just a small fly.

Perhaps PAP’s mentor has forgotten, but the underhand tactics of making use of Chinese students and community to to win votes, is still vividly in the minds and hearts of many Singaporeans, esp those above 55 yrs old.

Dont care who bring you to the polling stn, who drive you to the stn, who give you money and allowances, who tell you how to vote.. just vote for PAP. (Lee told voters before GE1959)

With fears –fear of Lim YH gov taking revenge, fear of PAP’s inexperience in politics, fear of Lee’s incompetent in governing, fear PAP’s internal rift, voters then bravely accepted a new party –PAP, and Lee Kuan Yew was given the job of PM with an unimpressive credential–Junor lawyer with little grassroot exp even not quallifiedd as a RC chairman.

Having elevated to the bench of ruling party, PAP tries to pump fears into the minds of voters.

What fear?

Lose a ministerial talent?

How Lee Kuan Yew was given the top post (PM) in 1959 when at that time, he was just a fresh and junior lawyer with NIL exp to lead the country? What talent he got? Union’s legal advisor?

We are not a kid. PAP should pay more respect to voters. Dont pump fear, let voters decide. Be a party of democratic spirit.

Let us recap the fear tactics used by the PAP.
    1960s (communist threats), 1970s ([Post-independent survival), 1980s (Maxist conpiracy to over through gov), 1990s (Freak election), 2000s (without PAP, Sg women will be maids of other countries), and GE 2011 (?)

Never listen to those nonsense.

The only fear is that PAP will use the old tactics–pump more fears into society –use underhand fear tactics to frighten voters into accepting PAP’s dynastic political vision –100% PAP controlled house with 9 NCMPs as political bridesmaids.

Think b4 you vote.

21. i was recalling these few day of campaigning, especially the “Hot fav” Aljunied GRC.

While George Yeo has been a gentleman protraying a “friendly and gentle side” to the media,voters and reporters or even to his opposition rival refuting claims from the opposition and counter claiming,

The other Minister has not been that “gentle”, especially Law Minister, SM..etc lambasting WP in every way, i.e. slogan, manifestos, co-drivers claim, etc …

I cant help but to suspect it seems to be a PAP ‘s stratgy to “fight” their menance in the parliment.

22. Is George Yeo a good FM, if he is, why are we spendings those obscene billions on defence???

23. No Hope 30 April 2011

@ Aljunied voter

I am also an Aljunied voter. Now, that is. We are in Kaki Bukit ward. As Sylvia Lim pointed out, KB ward used to be Eunos, then we were gerrymandered to Marine Parade (under MP, we had THREE walkovers), and now we are gerrymandered to Aljunied.

Why does the PAP keep doing this to us? Because Bedok estate is an Oppo stronghold. Past election results had always been very close. Once, we had TWO recounts and finally PAP won by a razor-thin margin. It was after this that we came under MP. In fact, Bedok estate is under FOUR different constituencies. You can be in one constituency on one side of a road and on the other side is a different constituency. We are actually nearer to Tampines than to either MP or Aljunied!

We know what the ulterior motive is. Together with the GRC system and the state-controlled MSM, all of these machinations are simply to cripple the Oppo and ensure that PAP always wins, so that they can maintain their control over our vast state reserves.

What the PAP has always condescendingly ignored is the effect of all this pent-up despair and anger on the people. In the last 5 to 10 years, this has been compounded with very serious social and economic problems directly affecting citizens.

The difference now is that we have the Internet, which cannot be controlled by the PAP. If you don’t agree with that, then you wouldn’t even be in here. The Internet gave us a voice and also gave the Oppo parties a means to circumvent the MSM and reach out to us.

Finally, I am disappointed with your reasons for choosing to vote PAP. This is not about comparing the personality/ies of the incumbent and WP candidates. BTW, where is your assessment of the personalities of the other 4 PAP MPs of Aljunied?

Because of the PAP’s agenda, no Oppo member can be certain where they should or could be on the ground. We do expect incumbents to be on the ground but why others?

An Oppo party’s plans would be no different than the PAP’s plans for a constituency. In any case, has the PAP really carried out all of their plans for ANY constituency? And plans are just that – plans. The question is will the plans actually be carried out? Citizens simply want decent, stress-free lives, not upgrading or showcase projects used to glorify the PAP.

The PAP has destroyed our souls. We want our souls back!

MY VOTE IS FOR OPPO. WOO-HOO! WORKERS PARTY IS CONTESTING ALJUNIED!

24. Nicole Seah Supporter 30 April 2011

Nicole Seah of NSP is the most impressive speaker for NSP other than GMS.

I am very impressed:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMgr67gh2Qo

Alas, NSP is not contesting in Punggol Pasir Ris.

Lou Tee Wu Mak?

25. No Hope 30 April 2011

PAP’s gerrymandering can also backfire on them, just as the GRC system can backfire by getting whole batches of Oppo MPs into parliament.

The gerrymandering + the GRC system have caused far too many walkovers for far too long.

Take my ward Kaki Bukit, e.g. We used to be under Eunos (and others before), always very closely fought. So they carved off KB to Marine Parade. Why MP? PM GCT’s territory, so it was a PAP stronghold. Once we were in MP, it was PAP walkovers all the way – 3 consecutive times till now. Many other constituencies also had up to several consecutive PAP walkovers. One woman in her 50s told SDP on a walkabout she had never voted in her whole life! That can only happen in PAP’s ‘democratic’ Singapore.

With the result that now, even the PAP doesn’t know where the PAP and Oppo supporters are. People move house all the time. After 3 or 4 or 5 consecutive walkovers, whether a ward is pro-PAP or pro-Oppo is anybody’s guess.

I think, when they carved off KB to Aljunied this time, they may have assumed that since we are from a pro-PAP constituency, we would dilute the Oppo bloc in Aljunied. But is KB pro-PAP now? Your guess is as good as mine, although I feel it is still Oppo-leaning.

MY VOTE IS FOR OPPO. WOO-HOO! WORKERS PARTY IS CONTESTING ALJUNIED!

26. alitheia 30 April 2011

to californian:

you wrote: “it’s a sad fact that gerrymandering exists everywhere…”

That still doesn’t make it right.

Gerrymandering dilutes the sense of community. Persistent gerrymandering destroys it.

There is grave danger in condoning cynical politics.

Cynical politics lead to a cynical polity.

A cynical polity leads to a dysfunctional society.

A dysfunctional society can only weaken and one day fail.

27. Actually I quite like George Yeo. I would rather the WP team facing MBT in Tampines.

This would be a sure win case.

Still, I would need to say sorry to George Yeo. Low and Sylvia MUST be in parliament for the BIGGER benefits of Singapore.

I happen to stay in Aljunied GRC and WP shall have my vote.

28. singapore chilli crab 1 May 2011

Dear Dumbo
    Are you an NS man? You need George Yeo so that you need not use all the hardware and equipment that your are trained to use.

29. Clear 1 May 2011

What’s really going to determine the out come of the Election goes beyond who is voting for whom, but rather;
    - How carefully the boundaries have been drawn up,
    - The GRC system effectiveness in diluting the votes for Opposition (i.e. 33.3% = 2 seats), and
    - the dilution of votes cast by people born in Singapore, by “New Citizens”

30. californian 1 May 2011

@alitheia,

I didn’t say that gerrymandering is right. I was just lamenting its existence. In fact, I have expressed elsewhere that I do not like boundaries redrawn every time, the short nomination time, etc.

31. alitheia 1 May 2011

to californian:

Good to read that. Politics can often be duplicitous. But it’s important that citizens/the electorate do not condone that.

32. Sorry pappies will still win. Cos I seeing straits times, tv and also radio they are so favourably biased towards pappies. So these traditional media greatly outnumber online internet users.

And also with grc democracy was dead. The people should observe one minute of silence in rally to mark the death of democracy. Plus the biased electorate.

Have to propagate the online websites more to more users with united websites. Also have to warn people about credibility and biase of traditional media.

I still feel oppo will lose big this time. Sorry

33. singaporean at heart 2 May 2011

MM’s comments to Aljunied to “repent” and CSM “go back to China” saddens me. CSM is a Singaporean , one of us, he is not a foreigner, a local son who studied and worked overseas and eventually came back to serve. Wasn’t this what the ruling party advocated? FOr those who have gone overseas but to be back to serve his own.

34. tiffy 2 May 2011

as far as the opposition may have better speakers, they have not proven that they can run a constituency well. See this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FY_e9ODv9jo

35. voters 2 May 2011

新加坡大选民意测验 – Aljunied GRC
    http://baijiaxing.asia/thread-19-1-1.html

36. Not privileged 2 May 2011

@ tiffy

One step at a time. No actual figures of resource how to plan anything? Wait people say they talk big. With voices ib, at least every policy has to be justified WHY it is beneficial to Singaporeans.

Just as important, ain’t it?

37. Matt 2 May 2011

All these Aljunied MPs (incl Zainal Abidin) just went along with the casino in 2005.. and George Yeo was the one who pushed very hard for it.

See which MPs were brave enough to take a stand:
    http://iamsg.blogspot.com/2011/05/who-said-yes-to-casino.html

38. iworkhardsometimes 2 May 2011

Minister Mentor Lee went on to say: “If you are in Aljunied, ask yourself: do you want one MP, one non-constituency MP, one celebrity, two unknowns, to look after you? Or, have two ministers, one Speaker of Parliament, one very good ground worker (Ong Ye Kung) and Cynthia Phua to look after the place?

2 ministers means they are very busy ppl, Foreign minister jet around the world, how many Meet the people session can he attend?

Ong Ye Kung – an unknown

Zainal – speaker of parliament – cannot speak up for u in parliament becos the speaker cannot participate in debate.

Cynthia Phua – LKY mention her the last and didn’t even bother of confer upon her any complimentary words (even unknown Ong Ye Kung was placed in front of her and bestowed the kind words of ‘good ground worker’), i guess that says a lot abt her.

39. Yeo LL 2 May 2011

As a Singaporean, I just do not understand what’s the big deal about no more George Yeo and Tan Lim Hwee Hua in the cabinet? Tell the Singaporeans, what is so importance about these two Ministers, what are their contributions? I only remember these two ministers traveled everywhere and showed no concrete results. Please tell us what so importance about George Yeo and Tan Lim Hwee Hua in concrete terms?

40. jimmy 3 May 2011

careful guys, there are people from the PAP new media committee trolling cyberspace that are meant to mislead you. dont fall for their tactics.

http://www.spp.nus.edu.sg/ips/docs/media/yr2007/ST_PAP%20moves%20to%20counter%20criticism%20of%20party%20Govt%20in%20cyberspace_030207.pdf

41. jimmy 3 May 2011

and there is no ‘dilemma’ as the PAP claims there is. the PAP only creating the illusion of one. there is no law in the constitution that says that George Yeo cannot serve as Foreign Minister if he is an NCMP. if the PAP likes the NCMP scheme so much, let their candidates become ncmps for once! What u get in return, is arguably a more qualified WP team. vote with your brain and heart!