The front page of Straits Times today quoted PAP’s candidate George Yeo as saying “Workers Party is forcing an “emotional dilemma” on the Aljunied GRC’s voters who have to choose between “enlightened self-interest” and the opposition’s interest. He further added that many people have written on his Facebook saying that they feel uncomfortable about this.
I found what he said incredulous and was incensed to read further that he said in reference to this supposed dilemma: ”I find that it’s against the spirit of democracy”.
What Mr Yeo said and the way he said it was insidiously misleading and it reminded me of the saying “Beware the smiling tiger”. With his gentle style of speech, and the benign way he said those lines above, it is easy to be lulled into thinking he is right to the unthinking and to his supporters.
As a citizen with a stake in my country, I am affronted by what he said. First of all, we are thinking citizens and are not led by the nose by any party. Let’s get this right – the opposition parties’ cause IS OUR cause. We the people of Singapore want accountability and integrity in our government. We want a government who puts the people’s concerns before the GDP.
As for the so called sugar-coated “enlightened self-interest” that Mr Yeo refers to, is he referring to the PAP’s ‘incentive” of estate upgrading or is he implying that without PAP, the people will be bereft of benefits and the country is doomed to ruin? On the latter, it is a fallacy perpetuated by them and their hard-core believers. No one and no party is indispensable so long as there are talented and able people in the country. And to those who ask who replace Mr Yeo will should he get voted out, we need look no further than the amply qualified “dealmaker of the year” Chen Show Mao of Workers Party.
I find it ironic that Mr Yeo says that by giving people choices and getting them to think about the choices, “’it is against the spirit of democracy.” I will like to ask him: “Is it democratic to gerrymander to eliminate the opposition and deprive us of our voting rights? Is it in the spirit of democracy to use upgrading as a tool to scare people into voting for PAP? In a democratic country like ours, why is there a pervasive atmosphere of fear that has muzzled the people from speaking up over the years against the party’s policies and arrogance?”
If we go by what the PAP has been doing and saying all this while, it seems their definition of democracy is akin to a master saying to the servants: “I feed you and clothe you. so you have no right to question me as to what I do. And if you do, you are ungrateful.” Well, we are not servants and they are not our masters. They will do well to remember that Parliament members are elected to do a job.
Many of us are put off by the increasingly arrogance displayed by the ruling party and their lack of transparency and accountability. We are sick of their attempts at brainwashing us into compliance and docility.
We want changes which is why so many people are supporting opposition parties. Without our desire for change, the opposition would not survive, without our call for change, they would not have attempted to contest all constituencies. They are here because they have heeded our call for change.
What Singaporeans are facing now is not an emotional dilemma but a moral one. We need to think carefully if we want Singapore to continue the way it is. Do we continue building a shell of shining towers and gilded walkways which we have plenty already? Or do we now focus on building a soul – a real nation where the people have a true sense of ownership and belonging?
Singapore’s hardware is well in place and should continue to progress well economically and we should not fear change. Now the time is ripe to vote with our conscience in the spirit of democracy. We are not looking to replace PAP but we are seeking to vote in some different alternative voices to provide the needed checks and balance. A vote for change now is a vote for a better government, one that truly represents the views of the people and which will do what is right by the people, for the people.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

To iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair:
Sorry i dont fully understand what you have reply other than the fact that you are not too happy about my decision. I dont wish to have a long debate and getting too personal. Thks.
To Think Singapore:
Since you talk about the big picture, Let’s look at the big picture. The Marco view. We are actually in a very interesting point in world geopolitics where power is shiting from West to East. This is very exciting time and yet very dangerous times as well. Normally power does not change hand without bloodshed , but so far everything seem fine. Just to cut the long story short, We (Singapore) is facing alot of new competition from the new emerging economics which can be very cheap and gradually move up the value chain. Singapore have to be very competitive to survive or very soon our beloved country will be a thing of the past. Remember no city state actually lasted for more than a century. I hope Singapore can make History. Our democracy have to be different from other countries, i dont think that two party system can work in Singapore, in the past i thought it is a good idea since if the ruiling party fails then the next goverment can take over but after thinking further and alittle bit deeper, i dont think that is the case because Singapore a small tiny island have only 5-6million people (including foreign talent) will not have the talent to go against the number of smart people in China and India. So if we dont have a best people to run Singapore we will be at the mercy of the Bigger nations. That is why Minister George Yeo (FA) and PAP is very impt. One example they started the “Asean Charter” hoping to create a free trade zone to counter the rising of china influence in the region. If we dont make the other Asean nations work with us, singapore will have nothing to counter against China or India in the negotiation table. Once that happened our industry and jobs will disappear then Singaporean will feel the pain. We Singaporeans cant have everything we need to take short term pain for long term gain there is always a “trade-off” We need the foreigners(smart ones) to stay and make them our team members and Singapore birth rates is now 1.16 so we cant replace ourself and we have to take care of older citizen who cant produce as much (no offence) It will be very tough on the society if we let that happen. Inflation is other issue which Opposition talks about but cant give concrete solution. We Singapore have to import stuff such as food / steel / power and etc and right now world food prices are increasing it is not just in Singapore. We now have 1.4 billion chinese and 1 billion Indians. They are moving into middle income and they need more food / steel / power. Every country is fighting for resources at the moment , that is y we see all time high in oil and other commodities. Inflation will be there and it will becomes worse. America is printing money like no tommorrow and this leads to money inflow to Asia. Singapore being a open economy will feel the impact but seriously our goverment is doing a very good job just look at the other open economies in Asia (eg. Hongkong) their housing is the ones that are crazy. I want to vote for a party that have a good track record on the international stage, work for Singaporeans and create result from marco to mirco perpective. Guys rem Singapore is a very small country, we need to counter the outside changes so internally we cant fight with each other we must stay united. Thks.
To add on, GRCs in itself imposes an “emotional dilemma” on every voter in the GRC. Why? Each GRC is helmed by some heavyweight minister(s) and a group of people whom we may or may not like. Yet, in order not to lose the “valued” minister, the voter has to undergo the dillema of giving his/her vote and send the whole team in.
In doing so, has the incumbent ever given consideration of the dillema that voters have to go thru? Do they not feel, even for a second, that this is no different from holding the voters at ransom as well? So why should WP be at the receiving end of such accusations?
My fellow Singaporeans, I think it is time we tell the incumbent to start taking us, the citizens, seriously.
Conservative:
“I don’t see the ‘dilemma’. In other countries this would be called a choice. Only in Singapore is a strong Opposition slate called a ‘dilemma’. Aljunied voters and singaporeans in general must look beyond the local municipal issues. Our votes are more precious than a covered walkway, a new bus service or an exercise park. Our votes are for the future, for our children and for our country.”
——————–
@Conservative
In other countries, the opposition runs to unseat the ruling party so that they can implement their own policies which they believe would better suit their country… that is a choice…
In Singapore, the opposition runs to gets some seats, but says that they are not ready to form government… that is not a choice… what if the electorate really votes the PAP out?… should the PAP try to form a coalition government with the only opposition party that has declared themselves ready to form a government, the SPP?…
If WP team is not elected in Aljunied, we will move back to a totalitarian state. What a pity!!!People in Aljunied, you are blessed to be able to make the choice!
CD 30 April 2011
To iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair:
Sorry i dont fully understand what you have reply other than the fact that you are not too happy about my decision. I dont wish to have a long debate and getting too personal.
Guys rem Singapore is a very small country, we need to counter the outside changes so internally we cant fight with each other we must stay united. Thks.
…………….
and this erections is not personal..
it just another holiday right?
stay united?
by askin worker party to go elsewhere but aljunied…
indeed..bettin against the united football team is suredwin as well…
NEXT
theRBK
@Conservative
In other countries, the opposition runs to unseat the ruling party so that they can implement their own policies which they believe would better suit their country… that is a choice…
………..
other country that is a choice as lon as it not ajunied estate where ^outsiders^ hav no choice
bravo clap clap clapped…
Dear CD
No one is indispensible and it doesn’t mean that without George Yeo, our FTAs and DTAs start falling apart.
More likely than not, the PAP will return to power come 7th May. However, the point is whether it is in the interest of Singaporeans to have a greater representation of opposition in the parliament to scrutinise their actions and ensure greater accountability. Or do we prefer to give them a blanket mandate to run this country as they please.
This is indeed a serious matter.
I liked Sylvia Lim’s suggestion to give GY an early retirement and boost him into a cushy post-ministerial job.
Nothing more democratic than Singaporeans voting to give the guy an opportunity in the private sector (and possibly with a pay raise).
@CLY
why should there be an assumption that the PAP will return to power in this election… if people are truly dissatisfied with the PAP, why not just vote them out?… why retain them?… the vote count runs in tandem; is it not possible that enough people vote for the opposition so that the PAP does not have a majority… why not the opposition stand up and take power and form government?
To CLY:
Well i am not stupit to not know the fact that the MPs are working so hard because they are facing very tough competitors. So for the past 5years, my family in Aljunied is the benefitary of the result from the last GE. That is the main reason why the goverment did so much on the ground. But u see even if WP dont get voted into the parliment,they would still be the NCMP which can say something. As a Singaporean, i dont want people which are not proven to be serving my GRC. I know that if the Opposition were to be able to get in, most likely our property prices would go down. There are so many factors to consider and all lead to one direction.
Yes i agree no one is indispensible, so i am making a choice to get minister GY since opposition should be indispensible as well.
Btw i really dont like the WP slogan of “Towards a first world parliment” because currently the First World (America, Britian, Australia, Belgium) all have so much problem with their parliment, they are all the time fighting against one another without making any progress…..it is a scary thought that Singapore will be like them.
George Yeo is a good minister, but If he got kick out, it’s PAP to blame for implementing the GRC.
theRBK 30 April 2011
@CLY
why should there be an assumption that the PAP will return to power in this election… if people are truly dissatisfied with the PAP, why not just vote them out?… why retain them?…
……………..
indeed vote them out as lon as the pap party in aljunied is UNTOUCHED…
right wrong or maybe?
still aroun repeatin the same song?
@iPUSHleekingyouwheelchair
when I say vote them out, I include Aljunied… nowhere on this site have I said to vote the PAP out everwhere or anywhere except Aljunied…
@TheRBK:
The WP has been nothing but honest about not being prepared to form a government. With that, it’s made it’s motives clear and the votes should be based on that, it is not looking to unseat the PAP but it is looking to be the safety net for singaporeans if and when the PAP goes astray. Therefore our votes should be geared towards that. This is not a choice between a PAP government and a WP government, it is a choice between a PAP-dominated parliament and a PAP government that is held accountable through a strong opposition. That the WP has declared its stand shows that it has not tried to mislead singaporeans into thinking that it can gain power. In any case I guess my vote goes to the party that is willing to listen to my concerns and daringly reflect those in the highest forum in the land. I don’t want an MP that is too vested in the system to actively oppose a government that has gone wrong. I want my MP to demand a full explanation about why the Orchard Rd floods happened, why the YOG budget overran 3X, how Mas Selamat could have dressed up like a woman and stayed overnight in tampines, why housing prices have skyrocketed over the last five years, why hasn’t the transport infrastructure grown in tandem with the influx of foreigners, how Temasek and GIC lost their billions in bad investments and many other issues. I want my MP to press the ministers until I receive a satisfactory explanation or an apology for a mistake made. That’s what I’m looking for in an MP.
I might also add that only in Singapore is an opposition win a ‘freak result’, in other countries it’s known as the ‘will of the people’.
CD 30 April 2011
To CLY:
Well i am not stupit to not know the fact that the MPs are working so hard because they are facing very tough competitors
……………
you also ere as well..also prayin to the same god as theRBK bloke…
tough competitors? and all this while durin the last 5 ears..easy money earned
no competition @ all…
you are not stupid?
aljunied mps worked hard
tell that to the romanian government in romania..where in their country..they just sleep with draculas’ daughters till sirgeorgeyeo act blind dumb and stupid to let go 1 manslaughtered drunk driver home to romania…
so who is more stupid ere?
you or theRBK
ha ha ha…
@Conservative
and I appreciate that honesty from the WP… but even if they are not trying to unseating the PAP, there are enough opposition candidates out there to offer the electorate the choice of unseating the PAP… if that happens, would not the opposition have to form the government?… and why should they not try to unseat the PAP?… they are offering candidates with good qualifications and saying they are committed to serving the people, why should the people not vote for them?… so if the “will of the people” is exerted, would the opposition not find themselves in a tangle if they are not ready to form government?…
the true spirit of ‘DEMOCRACY’ is to be ‘CHEAPER’ like the “ones ” we ask to be ‘CHEAPER’ in order for our country to be competitive.
it is surely not paying oneself MILLIONS more with EXTRA SERVINGS of BIG FATTY BONUSES while cajoling others to be austere.
Firstly, You cannot “check and balance” a fallen house. If a house is meant to fall, it will fall whether there are “checks and balances” or not ( btw, it is a farce under the current system. more form than substance). So the question you should be asking is whether the structure of this house is sound or not. If not sound, why?
Secondly, where most of the problems seem to lie – have you put the cart before the horse?
Thirdly, you can’t talk about the kind of democracy you hope to have when there is disorder or wrong order in the house.
Fourthly, haven’t you realized by now that you have been SOLD to SIN Inc.(that’s your social contract)? Your rights in exchange for dividends?The deal here is, if you take Caesar’s coin, you bear his image. That’s western democracy.
Fourthly, when you have come to the point of revolt, you know you are at the crossroad. Where you turn at this point will decide your fate.
Lastly, PAP had it coming to them. When you exhort yourself, be prepared to be humbled by your people.
LKY himself came down to Yishun to help the Yishun MP – a relative of his – to help cover up a mess created by the MP.
Where was GY then when he saw that during the elections in the late 90s?
GY is behaving like a guy who knows his job and pay is shaky.
Nothing exceptional.
@CD
“Every country is fighting for resources at the moment , that is y we see all time high in oil and other commodities.”
Brilliant and incisive comment. But I wonder if there were other reasons for the high prices, e.g. the civil unrest in Libya or that oil is a commodity that is prone to speculation would be much more acceptable.
“Our democracy have to be different from other countries, i dont think that two party system can work in Singapore,… Singapore a small tiny island have only 5-6million people (including foreign talent) will not have the talent to go against the number of smart people in China and India”
The above comment was shortened, but again I am curious as to whether a similar form of another country’s democracy was practiced so as to be able to determine that it the two party system is unsuitable for us. Since in the absence of testing it, it could have been determined arbitrarily. i.e. I could have just made that decision based solely on my own personal whims.
In addition to that, of the comment that we are in direct competition with China and India, I am still curious to know how are we to compete? Should we lower our production costs to a level below that of both China and India? And or by importing cheaper labor from these countries thereby displacing our own workers? Why are certain industries more susceptible to competition from China and India?
There are many more legitimate concerns that you have brought up, most of them are shared perspectives with a lot of other citizens. But I find it curious that you are able to find a unifying solution; that is to be cautious and not have internal strife, and to finally choose a political party that has a proven international track record.
Please forgive me for asking, as I only know I do not know, the underlying question I have is what is the necessary condition for a political party to resolve all the concerns, when it has left it so late for it to be addressed?
Dear CD, you have instilled within my psyche the fear that the opposition might raid the coffers. But at least if the coffers were emptied out, we can seek solace that we can always vote in the incumbent to replenish it easily.
Dear Adjunied Residents:
WP A-Team not being in Parliament is a HUGE LOSS for whole S’pore progress. George Yeo not being in Parliament, Govt will still put him in other important post like Tommy Koh and Philip Yeo.
Heaven has sent us courageous and passionate souls in Chen Show Mao, Dr Vincent etc. If S’poreans dunno how to vote, no one can help us.
WP A-Team will not disappoint you I am sure.
Please vote with bigger picture in your mind. National issues vs GRC issues, is like big vs small waves.
Please vote with your conscience.
Not only is S’pore and Sporeans future in at stake, many voiceless poor wagers’ lives are also in hour hands.
If the PAP gets voted out, then there will be no majority party, and therefore it will have to go to a coalition govt. In order of size (i.e. no of elected MPs), it will probably be PAP, WP/SDP, SPP/RP, etc. So, the largest party (which most likely will still be PAP) will be “invited” by the President to form the coalition govt. And if they fail, then it will be the next largest, and so on.
Imagine if PAP capsizes badly, then LKY gets to be PM again (since he has walkover)? Whoa, that’s got to be the freakiest thing I have thought of recently.
if GY respects himself, he should withdraw from this election.
The PAP will not lose the majority.
But the opposition may become nullified.
And this is a team that is worthy opponents implying that they can do a good job as mps.
Therefore if he respects diversity of ideas, democracy, he should withdraw.
The country doesn’t lose since there are now at least 5 oppositions in parliament with voting powers.
The people of his constituency doesn’t lose since they are in good hands because CSM and gang are worthy opponents.
He doesn’t lose much as well since he has been in cabinet for a long time. i.e. pension monies in place.
All in all, what other ideas does he have for Singapore that he could possibly see through in LHL cabinet that he hasn’t proposed?
I cannot find the piece of news I was looking for. The one about this PAP Liew saying that he or someone in his family bought a flat and cheap and sold high and say its because government good … so on so forth.
I know it is not relevant to the piece here …. I am not a tech user and this is my first time posting anything on the net. But I cannot take it anymore I have to say something to counter this kind of utter gutter nonsence.
1) A property does not create employment or add value
2) Speculation in public housing is like taking money from one citizen to the next and the only “value add” are the duties and fees. On the whole, Singapore gain nothing. Our GDP does not improve because of rising housing cost.
3) The ones who lose are the younger ones who pick up the cost of the “profit” made from the selling
4) Anyway, you sell, you have to buy. The notion of buying 2nd time from HDB no longer exist and that is good. Else where does the profit oome from? Your fellow citizens. It is cannibalism. Back to sell, you have to buy. Unless you downgrade or you money bags and own more than one, who gains? Even if you gain, at whose expense?
5) Upgrade your estate, your value go up. Again … whose money used to upgrade? …. you sell … whose expense?
It is so obvious …. !!!! and I have to put up with this ding dong arguments in the media for decades (i am in my early forties). We are a nation. We should try to earn overseas money like the good maids that work here. Don’t suck each others’ blood. Or worse, be dumb enough to let the foreigners earn our money by selling the properties back to us. It is a free market and it has to be for things to work. Of course it can be tweaked a bit. But as citizens, we have to stop being so self centred (unlike what BG suggests) or what kind of country are we leaving for our kids?
If you repeat a lie many, many times, it becomes the truth.
Democracy is you giving me your money and I getting to eat steak and eat ice cream all day!
I would like to ask the following issues
1) Has GY spoken up for Sporeans on housing, healtcare, wages, foriegners etc etc?
2) I read GY suggested Casinos. Does it not contradict with his religion? Or has he gone GDP obsessed as his salary is pegged to it?
3) Wrt the Diplomat hit-and-run case, why was he allowed to leave so easily? The guy had already gone beyond his role of a diplomat when he committed a crime. What do u think will happen if the victim was a Sporean?
4) As much as GY claimed to be gentlemen, he is using the using the usual “fear and bribery”-based gutter politics. What difference does it make him vs other pap grcs/mps?
You see, in all MRT station, you can see posters mentioning that 8,000 eldery needs you
So the current govt is pushing the problem to the people !!!!
Now is the chance for him to SERVE the Country by being a DIRECTOR of 10 to 20 or 50 companies and quit politics.
Else he should still work as Opposition MP to continue serve the People , IF he is really SERIOUS about SERVING the PEOPLE. Why serve as Ruling party MP only? SERVE as Opposition MP which is badly needed in Singapore. This is called SERVING the People as a Public Servant.
@theRBK and CD
I am not assuming that the PAP will return to power (overall), I am really just being practical. The ground is “less sweet” this time round, but there are many, like CD, who will still vote for the PAP. The critical thing then, is how much ground will PAP lose this time round and not so much losing the majority to form the Govt.
As for CD, the funny thing is you talk about the need to vote for “proven” people. If you don’t vote the WP in, how would you EVER know they can do a better job for the residents of Aljunied!!!
Like I mentioned, its not about GY doing a better job. Its just that they are govt with access to public funds (controlling agencies like HDB and URA). They are using OUR money in the first place! You think the WP has the same resources to do the same thing? Only if you give them the chance to!
The PAP all along has been either “buying” votes by throwing OUR money around or “threathening” us with talk of falling property values. Is that for real? Or are these more “half-truths” and “lies”?
U face book nothing at all !no keen to post comment to u, because the supporter are yourself, pls lah ” balik kampung” with u fake democracy !
The Judas of Aljunied.
Some people feel George Yeo is a
good minister or a good Judas Iscariot.
Betray Jesus for 30pieces of silver.
Aljunied is a Holy Place in the past.
THE CHURCH OF THE NATIVITY. Founded
by missionary priest who brought about
people’s welfare and love to Malay
kampongs and Teochew speaking chinese
villages. Built Schools-CHIJ Nativity,
Holy Innocents School – founded by
Chinese business teochew faithful.
The Judas of Aljunied has to go because
he continues to pierce the 2 hearts of
Jesus and Mary and steep in Mortal sin.
1. Yeo for stem-cell research – killing
of HOLY INNOCENTS at the moment of Conception. ( Holy Innocents School )
His notorious words: ” Don’t listen to
Papal Orders ” He told Singaporeans.
Is he the Archbishop of Singapore or
represents Vatican? May 1, Pope John
Paul 2 declare BLESSED on earth as it
is in Heaven. Elections held in the
EASTER SEASON OF THE RESURRECTION OF
LIFE where the Sun and Stars shines
forth in glory. Where Lightning ceases
to exist.
2. 30pieces of Silver Yeo will favour
the golden calf of Casino then to the
wooden beads of the Rosary.
YEO – YEO ELIMINATED OFFICIALLY.
HAVE A BLESSED HOLY EASTER WEEK
ALJUNIED.
Yeo! Do you take the MRT to work? Have you? Do you know how it taste like?
Do you have to apply for WORK over the last 5 years?
Have you earned less than 3 thousand in your life?
Then, how do you know the plight of citizens?
Impress us with your answers.
@CLY
I think the idea of PAP returning to power is not a given… look at the size of the opposition rallies, look at the comments on the web… like you mentioned, the ground is “less sweet”… the thing is, with so much dissatisfaction at the PAP, why would the people not vote the PAP out?… if that is the case, should not the opposition be prepared to form government?… should not the people look at the opposition and see who is willing and able to offer a real alternative?…
as californian has pointed out, “the largest party (which most likely will still be PAP) will be “invited” by the President to form the coalition govt. And if they fail, then it will be the next largest, and so on.”… who would the PAP form a coalition with if they do not have a majority but is the party with the most seats?… if the responsibility falls on the next party, with the 2nd most seats, who amongst the opposition is ready to take up the mantle, and so forth… the opposition should seriously look at the possibility of forming government and declare their willingness to form government…
A Love Poem for the Holy Innocents
with Yeo, Yes to abortion, killing of
innocents children. Is this the
Barabas or Judas Iscariot of Aljunied
you want???
” I am conceived without Love in a dish;
14days or more to live;
Union of cells and Soul on earth;
the voiceless child of Biomedical Reseach.
Butchered for my Stem-cell they shall live;
My poor argonised soul returns to God
the Father where many of the little ones
are there.
ABBA FATHER cries for me;
My poor child torn apart by brutal men;
Mankind, what a terrible thing you have
done.
Remember what God join together, let no
man put asunder. “
YOU HAVE ALL VOTED FOR A “DUD” SINCE 1965.
WELCOME TO DUD LAND,
DUDS=DAFTS
DAFTS=DUDS
DUDS, DAFTS = PEARLY LAND = PROMISED LAND
CHINESE, INDIANS, MALAYS, ALL NOTHING BUT A BUNCH OF SELFISH, GREEDY, FEARFUL, ARROGANT, DAFTS AND DUDS.
WP has offered their best team and Aljunied voters are still undecided. What more for the lesser opposition candidates?
PAP can take heart that Aljunied is going right down to the wire and Singaporeans, after listening to slogans and bravado, are ultimately careful with their votes and do not make decisions based on emotions.
Everyone knows the importance of having more checks and balances to prevent important policies being bulldozed. This issue alone will garner votes but at some point, WP has to go local too…
Tell residents what is in it for them to vote WP, what are the plans they have to make Aljunied even better than what PAP have done.
It is tough when they are satisfied with the incumbent who has worked really hard to take care of them since the humbling 2006 election.
One Man One Vote. For the people by the people. The people will have decide no matter how hard it is. This is why it is an important time.
Whether this is macro issues such as rising cost of living or constituency issue such as estate well being – the people of Singapore will have to find a balance to decide which is by far the most important. I think GY’s comments are derived from a group of people wanting change but rather some one be the driver for change. So they can have both at the same time. Fortunately Aljunied seems to be the key driver of change. That is why the dilemna.
GY should be thankful that they still have a dilemna which means he still have done something right. But the desire to have opposition is strong. Nothing personal. Everyone has to play his role. One man one vote. Democracy at its best.
@CD
The foreign minister does not take care of aljunied. your future elected MPs do ! the workers party team is competing with the incumbent to serve u and they will be able to do so better because unlike the ruling party (which is also managing so many other constituencies and competing within their party for resources) the workers party will give you their utmost attention since aljunied will likely be their 1st or 2nd GRCs ! so you will get the better care and service from a team of dedicated and spirited WP MPs than the current fat cats ! this election is not just about aljunied athou the importance of winning aljunied cannot be under emphasised as it will serve as a beachhead like in normandy. for too long, our fellow singaporeans of potong pasir and hougang has carried the light of democracy for the rest of us. i thank them for their unselfish and committed beliefs and it is time for all of us in the other constituencies to join and support them in removing the hegemony and bring change to a country we call home and love. singaporeans who cherish unity, prosperity, and progress cannot sit idly by and selfishly expect our fellow potong pasir and hougang citizens to do the heavy lifting ! we the people need to be the courageous singa and be not meek and weak ! give the power back to where it should always belong, the people of the rebulic of singapore ! vote for change
Ironic that George yeo says we should concentrate on local issues. I doubt he knows or understands about local issues like over immigration, cost and housing pressures since as Foriegn minister, he is not in singapore most of the time and his KPI is foreign relation issues. I don’t see him making much noise over the foreign diplomat who killed and then lied about his crime while in singapore?
If PAP renewal is not Singapore renewal, I don’t see how the “Opposition Cause” is MY Cause.
If WP wants to get into parliament, attack a weaker GRC with MBT or Raymond Lim.
Don’t we all be fooled by this GY, smiling, grinning & blogging, etc.., I used to see that he seem to a good minister, how wrong I was when I experience his true-blue Ugly-S’porean attitude to commoner like us. He should be voted the best male actor in S’pore. All his public speeches are scripted and no sincerity at all. Too bad i am not in his voting GRC! Hope that all voters be aware, very aware of this GY.
The Spirit of Democracy is:
1)Every elected member of parliament must be able to stand up and win the votes of Singaporean voters by himself/herself. No elected member should have a free ride and hide under the GRC system;
2)Not redrawing the electoral boundaries time and time again at each general election to serve the interest of any particular political party;
3)A first world parliament represented by credible parties representing the voices and interests of all Singaporeans; and not dominated by any single party;
4)A spirit where if the opposition parties win 30% of the votes, they should adequately be represented in the parliament, and not just having only 2 out of 87 members, which is less than 3% represented, in the parliament.
New media has propelled a desire for political changes worldwide. Is Singapore like one of those countries, e.g. Libya?
Are you just following blindly?
Well, well, well. Do I sense another cry baby here? First LBH, next Lim Beh Say Swee Swee, now GY is crying foul? Is he trying to say LTK “you play cheat, you put strongest team here, now Aljunied residents very headache”. What sort of rubbish is he talking? Isn’t it PAP’s frequent potshot at opposition that their candidates were weak. Now they put up a strong team, again you complain. If walk-over is what you are looking for, then please move to Tanjong Pagar. Otherwise fight like a man.
Sometimes PAP asked citizens to look long term and broader national issues. Now GY is asking Aljunied residents to be selfish and take care of your own interest first. If this type of MP get voted in, whose interest will he look after first. This is utter nonsense.
Now, people pls understand LTK & his WP team are responsible politicians. You have to work your ground first before you go contest. You cannot simply say MBT or Raymond Lim are weak so you just move over to target them. You have to be responsible to the residents you want to serve. That’s why WP is disguested that PAP just simply redrew the boundary as they wish.
Dear Singaporeans,
The PAP sensed the ground swell of unhappy ordinary Singaporeans and immediately Tharman said,
“NO GST INCREASE FOR ANOTHER 5 YEARS.”
We have to thank the opposition candidates of GE 2011.
In ST, “NWC: GIVE BIGGER PAY RISES”
Lee HL: “GOVT WORKING TO EASE BURDEN ON MIDDLE-INCOME.”
We have to thank the opposition candidates of GE 2011.
WITHOUT THE OPPOSITION THE PAP WILL NOT BE SAYING THESE THINGS.
VOTE FOR YOUR SELF-INTEREST, FOR YOUR CHILDREN’S FUTURE.
The parliament was 98% PAP.
WITH MORE OPPOSITION IN PARLIAMENT, LIFE FOR YOU, ME AND OUR CHILDREN WILL BE BETTER
I have great respect for GY as a nice guy until the Jack Neo scandal erupted.
GY supported Jack Neo openly although He knew Jack was wrong morally. Jack misused his position as director to illegally practise ” old ox eating young grass ” on his subordinates under duress : a serious violation of The Women Charter. One of the misused girls was only 16 year-old then.
By throwing his weight behind Jack Neo despite public outrage of Jack’s immorality, George has shown he is adamant and oblivious of public concerns and shows no empathy for the injured girls.
Such open and unprincipled support for a wrong doer is a total disregard for the rule of propriety : of what is right and what is wrong, what is good and what is bad.
These 3 GRC lead by the following PAP ministers will lose to the oppositions:
1. Vivian Bala…highest losing votes.
2. George Yeo…opposition’s team is too
good.
3. Wong Cunt Sing: Chiam is too loved
by the people.
At least 3 more SMC could be lost to the opposition…..thus making at least 15 new opposition into parliment this time around. If the PAP gets a clean swipe then Singaporeans deserved to be screwed by the PAP for another generation!
I Agree with CD, a very rational and reasonable point of view.
Please view this video so you know what rights do you have and what rights you should demand as Singaporeans. It is very educational.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17qhGIwyGj0
It all boils down to the question: If you feel the opposition candidates or party can do a better job than the PAP ones, then by all means choose them. But touch your heart, do you think all of your problems will disappear when the opposition is elected? Are they of the Calibre to run the country, or even to provide a credible, alternative voice? I suspect only a tiny minority of them are. The rest are complainers akin to those you find in kopitiams. Anyone can do that. Till they reach the desired level, singaporeans will NOT choose them as our government.
To curious citizen 30 April 2011
“Brilliant and incisive comment. But I wonder if there were other reasons for the high prices, e.g. the civil unrest in Libya or that oil is a commodity that is prone to speculation would be much more acceptable”
CD: There is always speculation in everything, and by the way i am in a similar sector as a trader as well, we like voliadity becos if the possible up-swing is high there will be much more money to be made.We have to think where is the depress market and put money in quickly. Therefore i would say the prices of commodities will keep increasing because there is not much our goverment can do, our goverment can only control prices on a quarterly or 6months basis. There is so much players now.In the past there is only the western trader, now the emerging enconomics are in this sector as well. And mind you they have huge funds to support their position. It is not that we like to make the prices high but all factors indicate a huge demand in food/steel/power and it is real growth whereas in western parts of the world there is no growth at all.
Try asking the Americans to stop printing money then their fund would not have so much “cheap money” so the flow of money will slowly stop and inflation will reduce as well. But not possible, even their funds also want to come and invest in Asia because their is higher chances to make money. Singapore/Hongkong as the two most open economy will be the first to accept the funds. IT is PROS and CONS.
“The above comment was shortened, but again I am curious as to whether a similar form of another country’s democracy was ……. I could have just made that decision based solely on my own personal whims.”
CD: Singapore is a small country, and very fragile…I would give two possible outcome if our opposition becomes powerful. The Opposition becomes powerful and as good as PAP which had so much talent under its wing and at anypoint of time it could take over the goverment if PAP becomes weak and unable to perform. Then i would say we strike ToTo. The Opposition becomes powerful and fights with the goverment on every issue, we cant have any conclusion on the budget, spending and decision making. So what would happened? Well i think our parliament will be very exciting, you can see two minister or MP punching each other like in Taiwan or Korean which i think many people in the Forum wants to see. But at the same time the rating agency (Standard & Poor , Etc etc) will give us a downgrade so we need to pay more interest to other countries to borrow less. Which means our countries will hav slow growth. SO no growth no investment as investors wants to put money on things that have a return and it will leads to no jobs. However that is not all, education, medical care,transportation, food, etc etc cant be of the same anymore. All will be cut.
Well i think one leads to another, sooner or later the opposition will force the goverment to release our reserve to “SAVE THE COUNTRY” but that is as well destroying it. Because of our size and position it does not takes very long for us to collaspe. Remember we wont have anyone to save us and we got no natural resources that buy us time for the right goverment to return.
Tell me why do i have to take such a huge risk to support the opposition. We may all ends up becoming the “JEWS of the EAST” with no land to return to.
In addition to that, of the comment that we are in direct competition with China and India, …… Why are certain industries more susceptible to competition from China and India?
CD: This is a very good question, it is something i hope People of Singapore think carefully about. I was actually waiting for someone to ask this question in the Q&A session on TV with PM LHL. Just to give you a short input, I had a short conversation with a person working for IE Singapore and she is complaining that nowadays it is very tough to attrach foreign investors. Take for example a hard disk manufacturer(dont want to name)that wants to bulit a new plant and Singapore want the company to setup its operation here. IE Singapore are telling them that if they setup their factory here,they propose them 10 years Low tax or free tax(dont quiet remember) and they would provide jobs and spending here. But the harddisk manufacturer told her that China is offering 20years free tax and on top of that they will built the factory for them if they hire the chinese people and put their spending in China. That is Unbelievable but you can image how competitive it is out there.
At this point of time we know what are our advantages in Singapore and what we can do and the others cant. But in 50-70years time….i am quiet sure that whatever we can do, others can do in fact be much better than us. Image if we get a lousy opposition in and we had to face other emerging player…what would happened?????
Please forgive me for asking, as I only know I do not know, the …… left it so late for it to be addressed?
CD: No one can solve everything and humans being will always have things to complaint about….Try living in other countries for afew years and return. It may help. I actually been to Germany to work for a short while and was amazing how dirty it is in the street and there are more beggers there than in Singapore.I dont expect it as germany is the richest and most powerful country in the Euro Zone. In fact The Turks and Local German dont like each other and i predict massive problems in europe in the near future.
Dear CD, you have instilled within my psyche the……..we can always vote in the incumbent to replenish it easily.
CD: IT is not so easy to replace, once the things are gone it will take so much more time and effort to built it back. in Recent years we lost afew petrochemcial and port terminals to malaysia and these hard ware will be in malaysia for the many years to come. So Think carefully before voting.