Karen Tse
PAP’s strategic move to engage youths – the induction of Miss Tin Pei Ling into its fold – proved to be not so strategic after all. In fact, it has certainly backfired to a large extent.
Say hi to Tin Pei Ling’s antithesis, Nicole Seah of the NSP, who has been very well-received since her “burst” onto the political scene. To call it a “burst” is not an understatement. What do we know of Nicole apart from the snippets of videos of her responses to interviews, which started making the rounds on social media in a short few days? She seems to be genuine, thoughtful and composed in dealing with questions from the press, but are the 15,000+ likes on her Facebook page indicative of the strength of her political will, or the constructiveness of her general political agenda? Probably not. But evidently, the support for Nicole reflects the awareness and disdain for the existing exclusionary model of policy-making.
Being a keen observer of Hong Kong politics, Nicole Seah’s unassuming confidence reminds me of Hong Kong’s Crystal Chow (周澄). Crystal [picture below] ran for the 2010 Hong Kong by-elections with the student coalition “Tertiary 2012″ when she was 23. Despite being fielded in a competitive constituency, against the fiercely popular “Long Hair” Leung Kwok-hung, Crystal pulled a respectable number of votes. Nicole’s youth and eloquence, and allegiance to a party that is unsheltered remind me of Crystal.
However, there are also some stark differences pertinent to their experience. The list of Crystal’s advocacy work, the pro-democracy protests she spearheaded, as well as her involvement with civic organizations and campus-based activities runs thicker than a phonebook. On the other hand, while Nicole has explained her history and contributions, one has to acknowledge that she has principally won the public over with her conviction. Her experiences are limited, but as I pondered deeper, I realised that this is through no fault of her own.
The student community – from Egypt to South Korea, from France to Iran – is typically the most articulate, passionate and dynamic segment of a country’s population. Students have more time, and like-minded students generally have more avenues to convene. However in Singapore, politics and a student’s life is divorced and estranged. Our student unions and other campus associations are unable to express any political inclinations, or exercise any authority autonomous of the school’s administrative body. As a student, I dare say that campuses here lack the important agents of political expression. I have witnessed schoolmates’ submission to the national papers being censored, and student-organised campus events being cancelled for mysterious reasons, to not be sceptical of the “freedom” that we possess. Hence, I understand that it is futile for many interested and passionate individuals to be as politically involved, as they would likely face many closing doors if they are.
The formative years of one’s life should be utilised for an all-encompassing and well-rounded development of one’s intellect and other tendencies. Political expression will undoubtedly contribute to a crucial and essential part of one’s growth. Inhibiting political expression will restrain personal development in leadership and communication among other important career skills. And most importantly, it produces a myopic individual with a blasé attitude. What is economic progress if the people are not progressive?
Regardless of your party allegiance (or lack thereof), it is very obvious that the political environment in Singapore is stifling enough to make youths apathetic. And when youths can wear this “I am apathetic” badge on their sleeve as if it were something to be proud of, it is just embarrassing. Nicole’s popularity is nothing short of a shout of the people: you can mute us, but when the political clout is this great, you will not be able to do so forever.
The prime minister and his party seem to have a knack for distilling any opposition into a uni-dimensional caricature: all opposition members are dissidents who want to create chaos. This pre-emptive stance is such that there is no need to determine whether the opposition is viable, because any constructive contribution is perceived as destructive to party politics and hence destructive to Singapore.
However any discerning observer will tell you that this is a gross generalisation, and there is an urgent need to dismantle this belief. From all parties contesting, we see credible, assertive and confident candidates willing to work hard, capable of making a change.
Asians have a tendency to classify “obedience” as a child’s strength. However, I hope my future children will not be submissive and subservient kids; I want them to be reasonable, and to fight for what they believe in. An obedient child might be blindly adhering; they might not necessarily understand the truth. A reasonable child will be obedient if you were reasonable, and not so out of fear.
I do not care for Nicole’s academic achievements and rhetoric more than her contributions to the Campus Observer and the reasons she cited for drawing her into politics. She dared to stand for something in a society that calls for blind obedience and passivity. Although I am not eligible to vote, I give her three thumbs up. Yes, I am borrowing your thumb.
Charles Bukowski once wrote, “The difference between a democracy and a dictatorship is that in a democracy you vote first and take orders later; in a dictatorship you don’t have to waste your time voting.”
I do not want to spell the answers out, but Singaporeans, here is your shot at progress. You can’t win the lottery if you don’t buy the ticket.
—————-
The writer is a sociology undergraduate. Her area of interest is ironically, the lack of interest in civil and political discourse in Singapore.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

good article karen, i agree whole-heartedly with what you say!
there is a fine line however between standing for what you believe in and standing for what you believe in with over-aggression, as seen by a certain few past political persons.. i hope nicole continues to stand up for what she believes in within the laws
Old Timer 25 April 2011
Not since the days of Lim Chin Siong has another young Singaporean with similar passion and heart appears.
…………..
what limchinsiong did..leekingyou can never do..limchinsiong chut chut any chinese girls..and they all followed him to the jungle
in the ole days when the whole wide world was askin
who is the most beautiful primemister/president wife?
imelda marcos was crowned THE queen hands down..
and onced again the whole wide world asked which country has the most UGLY wife of a leader..
do i needs to insult further
do i need to ask you all for a lifeline
or polled the audience?
over to you
yes you
the istana a-team..do you hav the answer?
even gohkengswee giggled..his 1st wife is quite petite..rajaratnam wife is angmor..
If Nicole Seah is voted in, there is still Hope for all Singaporeans.
I want to be there at Nicole’s rally to support her. Please brother and sister be there and together we will make her a star shining bright for us, citizens of Singapore.
NICOLE SEAH is a “butterfly” whilst most of her contemporaries and many older adults are, unfortunately, mere creeping crawling unthinking “caterpillars”. Butterflies fly and discover the world around them, caterpillars get eaten up quickly by passing birds for their meals.
She has my vote for future leadership role.
Is good to have lots of fanfare with the appearance of Nicole, but will she be able to perform as well as the way she speaks? you not only must be able to speak well, you need experience and correct network not only in Singapore but also internationally. We have in Marine Parade a group of experience politicians whom have proven track records, let us not all get excited and make a wrong decision that can shaken the very foundation of our nation. It took us a long time for Singapore to reach where we are today.
The prime minister and his party seem to have a knack for distilling any opposition into a uni-dimensional caricature: all opposition members are dissidents who want to create chaos. This pre-emptive stance is such that there is no need to determine whether the opposition is viable, because any constructive contribution is perceived as destructive to party politics and hence destructive to Singapore.
However any discerning observer will tell you that this is a gross generalisation, and there is an urgent need to dismantle this belief. From all parties contesting, we see credible, assertive and confident candidates willing to work hard, capable of making a change. Karen tse.
Well said !!!!!!
@old singaporeans, with all due respect to you, your writing captures all the symptoms of “caterpillar mentality” – i.e. blindly following mindset whatever the world outside has changed.Obama is a one-term senator from remote constituent in US politics, he walked over the two Clintons together which included one former very successful President. Could McCain succeed following the footstep of George Bush dynastic politics and mindset? The election outcome was a landslide. I personally observe these characteristics of very successful investors in a very fast changing and turbulent world
- they draw mental picture of diversity in thoughts and articulate it faster, more accurately and inter-connect the puzzles clearer than everyone else
- their minds can do “regression analysis” as they talk before everyone else see the link of seemingly chaos and unrelated connections
- they learnt a lot from observation, very quick on their feet, not just at learning but ‘LEARNING TO LEARN” the unfamiliar what seems puzzling to others. That is to say – the “puzzle-solving” skills are far higher than problem solving” ( so experience is “irrelevant”) when for most, it is the opposite and given unfamiliarity of events – those “problem-solving” types are completely clueless because no prior experience of similar events.
I suspect Obama as a great orator is this kind of “puzzle-solving” variety. Nicole Seah could be our Singapore’s copy of the same material.
Elfred, 25 April 2011
you have thus far been plainly subjective in your views.
i sur-mice that MIW & frds, whichever category you fall under, is just jealous that Nicole stole Ms Tin’s thunder.
in your own words that she’s currently just another little gal, that suites me fine- compared to a big bunch of flops drawing an obscene amount of remunerations, with a bad attitude to boot.
btw, are you related to another pro-MIW poster who an ang-mo gravatar? you sing the same tune.
@anonymous
So you are here. Trying to be smart asshole?
@Titiana
Are you in the same page? This fella is full of craps.
If only we have more young people like Nicole with such commitment, passion and drive, we are sure the future of our nation is assured.
Let’s give her our full support.
Old Singapoeans
It took us a long time for Singapore to reach where we are today
…………
indeed a long long time when i was in starbuck cafe by marine parade community centre..ordered 1 simple kopi o..take more than 20 mins..pay 6 time more as well…
if you marine parade grc mps are so gooooooooooooooooooooood.. ow come the primeister retired the MALAY mp the day he took over? maybe the primeister dont liked local malay malays only 1st international malay? and since the marine parade head GRC is so gooooooooooooooood..why didn’t he slapped the primeister just liked the primeister slapped the injun deputymister
why? is the marine parade grc sufferin from braindamage? all 6 of them @ the same time from amesia?
YOU too hav the same disease…
Dear Nicole,
You are a brave young lady for Y generation. It’s not easy to fight at Marine Parade but after seeing and watching the way you answered from the interview and along the way, your passionate with your team at the walkabout, it’s not an easy job but your courage has proved to me that you are the one can be shined in the Parliment if selected as an MP and I would like to remind voters from Marine Parade to give you and your team a chance to be the voices of the nation. Please vote wisely if you have a chance to vote. All the best.
we need to support our younger citizens in their passion to be engaged and stand up for their convictions and beliefs. only then can we honestly say that we have progressed as a nation, 1st world or otherwise. Nicole Seah has soul in her political convictions which is evidently missing in PAPAYA. after 45 years uninterrupted, PAPAYA has forgotten how to campaign to win the hearts of the people by focusing on issues that matter. we need no YOG, influx of FT, best paid ministers etc, but basic logic on matters like not extending CPF withdrawal on retirement, more resources for aged sick and disadvantaged, basic housing etc.
Singaporeans should be grateful to the parents of Nicole Seah for raising her in the manner that they did, which left her the space to discover life beyond herself, allowing her to be involve in areas that others dare not tread, and where adults will even cry in fear when they signed up to be a candidate in the coming General Election.
It is sad that the PAP will lament the lack of talent in Singapore, and can end up picking a “Tin Pei Ling” – and will depend on NEW CITIZENs like Foo Mee Har and Janil Puthucheary.
It is fortunate that the PAP can miss out the large number of civil servant talents – who suppressed personal political beliefs and values, while serving the PAP leadership in the backrooms – drafting their speeches, highlighted ideas and issues, and helped the PAP leadership to be seen as the political leaders, and which they will end up believing the lie that they created for themselves.
It is good that in this coming GE-2011, Singaporeans will have the candidacy of a courageous young Nicole Seah, as well as the candidacy of experienced ex-Civil Servants in Tan Jee Say and Ang Yong Guan, and true-blue Singaporeans like Chen Show Mao and Vincent Wijeysingha.
These are the real Singaporean talents, who will reinforce the ranks of the dedicated and much maligned sons and daughters of Singapore Alternative Political Parties – all of whom have fought their lonely political battles for the last 10 to 15 years in the ruthless and hypocritical Third World political environment schemed by the PAP.
Students really do matter… in the fight of most democracies. But students and youths in SG are somewhat constructed to:
1) BE apathetic as we are pretty much powerless
2) Believe in the system because they succeed in it
As campus/student union-political activities, as long as our education system is still strongly state-centered, there’s little chance of any changes in future.
Furthermore, we have already been framed to focus on growth; so most of us already believe that it’s rational to compromise freedom and democratic principles for the sake of harmony which is translated to better economy.
In order to take a share of the pie of the good economy, children of the middle class can only focus in getting good grades and finding a good job. At this point, it’s not just about being apathetic, but more of feeling powerless. There’s already too much to deal with, for normal livelihood to even care much about policymaking.
On the other hand, there’s this group of students who had already benefited from the meritocratic system and believe in it. I had an experience with having lessons in a class filled elites, and had revealed my socialist streaks for more equality or welfare – to be slammed down for disrupting whatever economic principles.
Yes, they are the ones who find the current elitist system almost flawless. They will never want the current system to change because they are getting the biggest share of the pie.
Hence, you won’t see any kind of student movements… not even a little. On one end of the spectrum lies the helpless group who will be happy if they have the means to clear their ongoing debts before thinking of worldly endeavors. On the other end are those who don’t see a need to change.
The repercussions? An observation of ageing politicians without sufficient successors emerging. I’m grateful to have youths like Nicole standing up to take on such a heavy responsibility, something which I (and many others) would avoid. She may be young and inexperienced, but her appearance definitely injected a significant amount of hope and courage to people like me aka apathetic cowards.
I’m not confident that she’ll gain a seat in the parliament. But her emergence definitely has created an impact that’ll last a long time.
Personally, I like Nicole, since I can sense she got the drive and yes, she got some talents in the leadership business.
But this is politics, not beauty contest. I am not against her winning… But her win will also be a loss… Not because of what, but because of both timing… and the position she chooses…
And don’t bother about me with which sides… I have my own battle to prepare.
I don’t think she really understands politics… but she’d soon learn… probably the hard way. (In terms of wasting her youth…)
If you have access to facebook, you might want to check out nicole’s thesis (on democracy, journalism and the internet) before jumping to the conclusion that she does not understand politics. Granted, writing a thesis does not immediately qualify her as one who “understands politics”. Like she has said, she still has loads to learn. But I see it more as a willingness to understand what makes politics, which is much more important.
http://www.facebook.com/notes/nicole-seah-佘雪玲/an-excerpt-from-nicole-seahs-honours-thesis/140989072638839
Look… I said I like her. She got the drive, the personality for this field…
No. I did not and have not gone to her facebook.
She still has loads to learn… I think if she asked that silly Goh Meng Seng about this slippery fish Elfred, she’d know she has alot more to learn… I did watch her two clips. Yes, she is definitely a talent… but what a waste… And I am not saying she should join PAP. Hahahahahahahahahaha…
Politics is politics… power is power… Don’t fantasize too much… You either go in, win, grab the power… or you either go in, feel shiok… like Ling How Doong, mustabated once and got kicked lost…
If politics is so simple… I’d have just jumped in like my old pri cum JC school mate Mr Rao at WP.
There are a couple of chaps chatting in my blog… They are learning… I don’t care what the huat their agenda is… mock me or not, not my problem.
Nicole’s like Glenda… but Glenda is like a small girl, but Nicole has a more dynamic personality for this field. But both are really small girls in a big big jungle…
Nicole is not really fighting with Tin Pei Ling… Nicole is fighting PAP… SM Goh, an experienced well-connected guy who can run town councils… and yes, if Nicole wins… have you thot how is she going to handle Marine Parade with… NSP? How is she to handle the ministers in parliament? Will Goh Meng Seng surrender his sec-gen position to Nicole? Hahahahahahahahaha…
Does she know what politics really is? If she wins, she also loses… Once she replaces SM Goh, public expectation of her will have to be met… and like how and with what is she going to handle?
You expect MM to sayang her…
“Come Nicole, defeat my son, I’d give you my power and kneel before you…”
Democracy…
Journalism…
Interney… Hahahahahahahahahaha…
Seriously, I like Nicole for her personality, but… it’s best for a little girl to realise what she is facing. Because… soon enough, she’d be facing people… like myself.
And I won’t tolerate nosense… and expect quality. Unlike the PM, I’d kick your butt the moment you fart in the Enclave… Hahahahahahahaha…
I am closing this discussion here. Thanks.
Nicole,
a real sight for sore eyes and a breadth of fresh air compared to the sore sights and stale breadth now in parliament.
Time to open the windows and live the Dark Age behind.
A ‘RENAISSANCE’ is due this GE with the presence of
WP- Mr.Chen Show Mao
SDP- Mr.Vincent Wijey
NSP- Ms Nicole Seah
What if Nicole Seah had been fielded by the PAP? Would she be as ‘likeable’ as she is percieved to be here?
I think she’s great….but so is Tintin….problem here is that so many educated and smart voters are not being rational with their judgment of candidates.
Same thing….if Chen Sao Mao was wearing white….what would the most of you here say???
Singapore is at danger with voters who are not objective and responsible with their votes.
If this trend continues, one day we will be asking Asean and the IMF for a bailout ala ireland, portugal, etc….
Elfred, 26 April 2011
will sir, nothing is simple, even building a 3-storey shophouse isn’t that simple. if you fear difficult tasks that badly, how are you going to learn anything?
does SM Goh run town councils that hands-on? PAP is very good at outsourcing grunt work, from energy market to public transport to some Armed Forces logistics like shooting ranges (reported in papers). did that town council then loose money to toxic investment under him?
if PAP is so directly hands-on in governing the many departments, why is it so hard to trace those accountable?
what is politics? its defined by the political leaders.
anyway, its too early to judge Nicole. if she replaces SM Goh. on that count she & her team has the mandate of the people to run that GRC. & within thet GRC, there are more people with more connections than SM Goh.
with opposition parties they are now, maybe those with years of experience will ship in. they already held multi-party meeting for this GE, nothing is impossible if people put their hearts & heads together.
lol.
with opposition parties they are now, maybe those with years of experience will CHIP in (to help).
sorry for the error.
ithink2 has got it exactly right. PAP aren’t the only ones with double standards. Funny thing is, over the years, opposition candidates are becoming more and more like PAP candidates. Once they get into parliament, or, heaven forbid, government, they will become even more of the same clones. So they will then either continue to endorse and implement the same hard-nosed policies, or succumb to populism and ruin the place. And the same cycle of disenchantment with politicians, and political paralysis that is now infecting some western countries will take hold. Its inevitable perhaps, but I’d like to enjoy competent governance for as long as I can!
People seem to think voting in an opposition is a panacea for all ills. Its just a start, but can they can deliver?
by and by
People seem to think voting in an opposition is a panacea for all ills. Its just a start, but can they can deliver?
…………….
you are 1 sh it spoilt lazy singapoorium.. everythinggie OTHER people do..they MUST do it with a guranteed card…
when you raised your children..can YOU guranteed me when they reach 30 they ust be married and own a modest hdb flat
can you deliver this task or not?
or need dhl to do it for YOU?
when the senile peanut minister who was warmin the seat PROMISED you
on their logo
vote pap..many good years ahead..
ok ok..goodyear did come..but he too could not delivered @ all
Hahahahahahahaha…
No matter what, Nicole should ask Goh Meng Seng joker… after this Elfred asshole…
I’m his personal nemesis. Hahahahahahahahahahaha…
Luckily NSP is facing Tin Pei Ling, not me…
Nicole hasn’t faced the real challenge yet.
You really think those rich in Marine Parade will come to help Nicole? SM Goh runs NOL, deeply connected with commercial people, even into China.
Who is Nicole? Yeah, she’s got potential to be leader… but NSP far away from being the incumbent, and Nicole doesn’t run Temasek… Got it? Those rich will likely want to max their interests with who? A little girl? Or SM Goh?
You now how much money you need to maintain a GRC the likes of Marine Parade? Hahahahahahahahahaha…
Tell me Goh Meng Seng… Hahahahahahahahahahaha…
Hahahahahahahahahahaha…
NSP should pray to God that they never encounter me one fine day… For now… I’d just let them be, while I am preparing for the real battle… Hahahahahahahahahaha…
Serious, Nicole should find out more about this slippery fish Elfred… and know the truth about politics. Once you see Elfred… the real fight begins.
Admittedly,Nicole is young and inexperience unlike Goh.Tell me where was Goh when he was 24? and the years spent polishing his image and speech therapy.
Here we have a 24 year old active in school to university and graduating with no help but family and self support.
Tell me who would had been or will be a better PM? Mr.Goh or the possible first female PM name Nicole Seah?
My money will be on Nicole for sure.24 years and she catches the eye of CNN.
Where was PM Lees & PM Goh @ 24?
You seem to be spending a lot of time, replying on issues/someone you have no faith.
Maybe you should really spend more time preparing for your “real battle” ya?
Don’t you find it very very strange… CNN so… nice, giving Nicole the attention of her lifetime? Hahahahahahahaha…
When has Lui become so… generous? Jr, you’d lose your money if you bet on like that. Hahahahahahaahaha…
For Elfred PR, faith? You mean Nicole or NSP?
I don’t believe in faith… Faith is like democracy… I only believe in real bullets, true power… and hard brains.
I just now went to the link you gave me… Gosh… She wrote a lot… but…
Never mind, she’d grow up.
elfred
I’m his personal nemesis. Hahahahahahahahahahaha
are you?
you are still afraid of me…i am a jew by nick crucifying you is me game
do not attempt to belittle gohmengseng..
he did no istana-ateam can do..
gohmengseng admit that he is an illegal hawker sellin news…
which pap mp can admit mistakes?
@ Robert
SO IN CONVERSE, YOU ARE ADMITTING YOU ARE AN ASBOLUTE DUMB ARSE-HOLE? Your brevity says all of your emptiness.
If you can’t debate with substance, get off the board instead of attacking substance and Titiana unprovoked.
At the age of 24,against all odds,Nicole acts
ELFRED,ITHINK2,Old Singaporeans=Nato
(no action,talk only)
There4,save it and at the least,let those like Nicole to do what she believes in.
I am sure Nicole will bring about a wind of change to not only our Parliament, but Singapore’s political scene as well.
We need more people like her. She will set an example of how younger Singaporeans can play an active role to bring about a truly democratic country, our country!
Elfred
It is CNN (read) CNN (USA) not CNA mediacorp moron
Elfred, 26 April 2011
whether you believe in faith is immaterial. the world doesn’t revolve around your beliefs.
i am surprised you went from Nicole & her team (if they win) running a GRC to SM Goh & his who-knows-what connection with the wealthy residents in Marine Parade, lol… got too carried away?
your condescending tone is typical MIW.
dunno what type of fish you are, any clues?
:P
Go on and argue all you want. CNN or CNA, in Singapore books or media… well… currently it’s still PAP in charge. Dr Chee himself should know.
Hahahahahahahahahahahaha… So I become a MIW??? I don’t even know I am MIW…
Let this discussion ends here then.
Wind of change… Hahahahahahahahahahahaha…
It’s ok, I am a moron. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…
You guys have fun!
Elfred, 27 April 2011
you already said you were ending (your) discussions on the 26th. i guess you just cant resist posting.
you end the discussions when you’ve been outclassed.
moron is you ownself say wan har.
wa-hahaa…
:P
OIC… “Ending” to you is the same as “Ended”.
Besides, showing courtesy in not ignoring people’s targetted concern seems to be taken for granted…
Hahahahahahahahahaha…
Outclassed? Hahahahahahahahahahaha…
How are you going to outclass when you can’t define imasu and -shita… Hahahahahahahahahahaha…
You are a very interesting chap… discussion may be over, but my amusement seems to be just beginning…
Elfred, 29 April 2011
alright, i stand corrected. but the way you define reminds of of “Last 3-Days: Closing Down Sale”, although closing, the last 3 days seem to go on & on…
slippery fish (you called yourself that too!), you are so full of yourself. is imasu and -shita some breed of fish?
or you an eel? as in Eel-fred? :D
i do admit i do not know what they mean. so i get outclassed just because i dunno? wow, alright then. as you please…
Just when I thot there would be some fun… …
I did not call myself slippery fish… Hahahahahahahahaha…
Whatever… As long as the script goes normally, I m only out looking for amusements… before my job begins. Hahahahahahahahahahaha…
Yawnz… It’s raining… I need my beauty nap…
Nicole Seah,
You are great. Now you have made the move for the hustling, there are bound to be many opinions, and views from people of all sorts. Do not get distracted. As long as you have the heart, passion, and persistence, you will succeed.
Even if you do not get past Lau Goh, it is alright. You are a winner.
Its exactly this reason why i just couldn’t bring myself to study uni in Singapore no matter how good nus or ntu is. the only problemwith political involvement among youths is that were are, in the words of tony judt’s words, we are revolutionaries without a revolution. we have the tools to understand the issues, the means to articulate our views, the capacity to network and engage, but we simply do not have the great cause or great narrative to fight for. i admit that it would be disingenuous to say that to the Arabs in Syria or Libya or Bahrain, but when it comes to the fundamental issue of how to organise human society, to have no alternative to liberal capitalism regardless of its flaws.
SM Goh promised again that he will keep a close watch on people’s costs of living.
Why has he failed to keepp his last promises like reaching world soccer final, Swiss Standard of Living and More Good Years.
Man of his words.
Robert Teh, 30 April 2011
promising to keep a close watch does not equate to doing anything about the situation, even if action is warranted.
i also an do it for much less $$, since i dun promise to do anything to reduce the cost of living, the most i say “oh well, what to do, S’pore’s not immune to global circumstances of low crop yield, unrest in agricultural countries & global warming”.
then i also can den challenge people who criticize me & say “you think you can do better?”.
lol…
Mice is nice,
True. This is the current system. I call it hypocrisy and justification.
The country however cannot progress with lawyers’ thinking which is mainly westerner’s idea focused on legalistic tweaking and gerrymandering.
The real talent will be govern in this manner. Steve Job, and Bill Gates have been truly talented because through enabling and empowering.
We have not got this kind of leadership yet. We have leaders who because of past legal background tend to lead people into fighting.
We will become more and more divided and split up. They praise the Japanese for teamwork and cohesion but do not know the implementation. Talk only.
The only factor of success is not through leadership or excellence but through taxing and privatising accumulating redundant taxes saved for some land-based profiteering to create reserves.
They call this kind of leadership world class.
hi Robert Teh,
seems like PAP despite calling themselves A Team is like cheese filled with (loop)holes in their leadership!
a bunch of clueless dudes, hahaa…
^.^
hi Elfred.. whoever you are. initionally i tot you are a real gentleman, when u wrote “I am closing this discussion here. Thanks.”
true gentleman does not go back on thier words least of all eat it..
another PAPies in disguise..??
Rubbish~ Hahahahahahahahahahaha… When have I go back on my words?
Besides… so what I even go back on my words? Does that mean I am no true gentleman? Hahahahahahahahahaha…
Emmm… Why must PAP be in this issue of whether I am a true gentleman or not???
But don’t worry, I am indeed a true gentleman, go back or not on my words, PAP or not… Hahahahahahahahahahahaha…
Interesting.